Eating Disorders
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Aetna Policy 0511 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 0511 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines Aetna's coverage stance for assessment and treatment services for anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, binge-eating disorder, and related eating disorders for enrolled members, and lists services considered medically necessary versus experimental/investigational/unproven.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria and Policy Stance
Medically Necessary — Assessment and Treatment
Aetna considers the following services and procedures medically necessary for management of anorexia nervosa or bulimia nervosa when clinically appropriate:
Experimental, Investigational, or Unproven — Assessment and Treatment
The following are considered experimental, investigational, or unproven for diagnosis and treatment due to insufficient evidence:
Assessment, severity, and treatment sequencing
Guideline-based assessment and treatment recommendations; coverage decisions tie to medical necessity criteria such as severity and need for multidisciplinary care.
Evidence summaries — no explicit coverage rules in this section
Background evidence summaries; no explicit coverage rules in this section.
Investigational/Insufficient Evidence — Coverage summary
Summary coverage stance for interventions and tests discussed in background sections:
Routine screening of asymptomatic adolescents and adults for eating disorders is listed as not covered (ICD-10: Z13.21) for indications in this clinical policy bulletin; screening without symptoms or clinical concern may therefore be denied as not medically necessary.
The policy identifies specific device and neurostimulator CPT/HCPCS codes and related ICD-10 ranges used in the context of eating-disorder indications. Examples include neurostimulator programming and analysis codes (e.g., 95970–95976, 95983–95984, 96020), implantable generator and lead supply codes (e.g., C1767, C1778, C1816, C1883, C1897), and device supply ranges (L8680–L8683, L8685–L8689, L8695), as well as brain imaging and procedural codes referenced elsewhere (e.g., 70450–70553). The policy lists these codes to denote device-related services and to indicate when use for eating-disorder indications is considered not covered or investigational.
Although the excerpt does not state an explicit exclusion line-item for deep brain stimulation (DBS), the document notes the lack of FDA approval for DBS in anorexia nervosa, small sample sizes, and limited randomized data—factors that may functionally exclude routine coverage absent documented investigational use and prior authorization.
Background summaries in the policy describe numerous interventions as investigational or having uncertain clinical value. These include various device-based and biologic approaches (e.g., bright light therapy, cannabinoids, enteral nutrition practices, and commercial nutritional profiling), as well as genetic, gustatory, microbiota, and multi-sensory evaluations—most supported only by small, heterogeneous studies or preliminary reviews and therefore considered unproven for routine clinical use.
The ION™ (Individual Optimal Nutrition) analysis/profile is described as a comprehensive commercial panel measuring multiple blood and urine nutritional markers, but the policy states there is a lack of evidence regarding its clinical value in diagnosing or evaluating patients with eating disorders and therefore it is considered unproven.
The Mandometer residential program is described as a lengthy, residential treatment averaging about 12 months; the policy indicates that its clinical value has not been established and that effectiveness requires validation by well‑designed comparative trials, so routine coverage is unsupported without stronger evidence.
The policy raises specific concerns about excitatory non‑invasive brain stimulation (NIBS) in anorexia nervosa: while single‑session rTMS reliably reduces food cravings, evidence for multi‑session excitatory NIBS in AN is controversial and there is a reported trend toward iatrogenic weight loss, suggesting potential contraindication or unclear safety/efficacy in this population.
Clinical practice guidelines and the policy emphasize that transcranial magnetic stimulation (TMS) is experimental or adjunctive for eating disorders and should not replace nutritional rehabilitation or evidence‑based psychotherapy; TMS consideration should follow optimization of standard treatments.
The policy lists numerous specific procedures and codes related to neurostimulation, brain imaging, genetic/molecular testing, relaxation therapy, and other tests as investigational or not covered for the eating‑disorder indications addressed in this bulletin. Examples cited include TMS and ECT procedure codes (90867–90869, 90870), brain imaging codes (70450–70553), and molecular/genetic testing codes (81403), which are identified in the document as associated with experimental or not medically necessary services for these indications.
Use of the listed neurostimulator and accessory device HCPCS/CPT codes (for example C1767, C1778, L8680–L8689 and related programming/analysis codes) for the eating‑disorder indications in this clinical policy bulletin is designated as not covered when used for those indications.
Several complementary and alternative approaches are described but supported only by very low‑quality evidence; for example, the acupuncture at Sifeng trials for pediatric anorexia include many small RCTs with high or unclear risk of bias, and authors rate the overall certainty of evidence as extremely poor despite positive signals in some outcomes.
In a small clinical trial of ghrelin administration in patients with anorexia nervosa, ghrelin did not significantly affect appetite and investigators concluded that ghrelin is unlikely to be effective as a single appetite‑stimulatory treatment, limiting support for routine use.
The policy groups a range of interventions and tests as lacking sufficient evidence for routine clinical use—this includes the ION™ nutritional profiling panel, the Mandometer residential program, ghrelin agonists and other novel pharmacologic agents, and various experimental neuromodulation or sensorimotor evaluations—pending well‑designed randomized trials or higher‑quality comparative data.
Several interventions discussed in the background are supported only by very small case reports or heterogeneous small studies; examples noted in the policy include neural therapy case reports for bulimia and small, variable music‑based intervention studies, which lack sufficient size or consistency to establish generalizable clinical benefit.
Billing Codes and Coding Guidance
| 76977 | Ultrasound bone density measurement and interpretation, peripheral site(s), any method. |
| 77078 | Computerized tomography, bone mineral density study, 1 or more sites. |
| 77080 | Dual energy x-ray absorptiometry (DXA), bone density study, 1 or more sites. |
| 80047 | Basic metabolic panel (Calcium, ionized). |
| 80048 | Basic metabolic panel (Calcium, total). |
| 80050 | General health panel. |
| 80053 | Comprehensive metabolic panel. |
| 80076 | Hepatic function panel. |
| 81000 | Urinalysis. |
| 82040 | Albumin; serum, plasma or whole blood. |
| F50.00 - F50.029 | Anorexia nervosa. |
| F50.20 - F50.25 | Bulimia nervosa. |
| F50.810 - F50.819 | Binge eating disorder. |
| F50.82 | Avoidant/restrictive food intake disorder. |
| R63.0 | Anorexia. |
| 95970 | Neurostimulator-related code (device status/programming) - as listed in policy |
| 95971 | Simple spinal cord or peripheral neurostimulator pulse generator/transmitter, with intraoperative or subsequent programming |
| 95976 | Electronic analysis of implanted neurostimulator pulse generator/transmitter with simple cranial nerve programming |
| 95983 | Electronic analysis of implanted neurostimulator pulse generator/transmitter with brain neurostimulator programming, first 15 minutes |
| 95984 | Electronic analysis of implanted neurostimulator pulse generator/transmitter with brain neurostimulator programming, additional 15 minutes |
| 96020 | Neurofunctional testing selection and administration during noninvasive imaging functional brain mapping |
| C1767 | Generator, neurostimulator (implantable), nonrechargeable |
| C1778 | Lead, neurostimulator (implantable) |
| C1816 | Receiver and/or transmitter, neurostimulator (implantable) |
| C1883 | Adaptor/extension, pacing lead or neurostimulator lead (implantable) |
| F50.00 - F50.029 | Anorexia nervosa (ICD-10 range) — listed among ICD-10 codes not covered for indications in CPB |
| F50.20 - F50.25 | Bulimia nervosa (ICD-10 range) |
| not listed | No specific CPT/HCPCS/ICD codes are provided for relamorelin or ghrelin agonist administration in this section. |
| not listed | ION™ panel — commercial laboratory panel; no specific CPT/HCPCS codes specified in document. |
Provider Responsibilities, Prior Authorization, and Documentation
Prior authorization required for home enteral nutrition when selection criteria apply
Certain home enteral nutrition and enteral formula HCPCS codes are covered if selection criteria are met and may require prior authorization under this policy; providers should obtain prior authorization when billing codes such as S9340–S9343, B4034–B4036, B4102–B4162, and B9002 are used for home enteral nutrition services.
- HCPCS codes referenced: S9340–S9343, B4034–B4036, B4102–B4103, B4149–B4162, B9002
Use listed CPT/HCPCS device and procedure codes and note coverage designations
The policy lists specific CPT/HCPCS codes for device-based and neurostimulation procedures and notes some codes are designated not covered for the indications in this CPB; use the listed codes when requesting authorization and beware of not‑covered designations.
Prior authorization and detailed clinical data required for DBS and other invasive experimental procedures
Invasive or experimental procedures such as deep brain stimulation (DBS) generally require prior authorization with submission of patient‑level data demonstrating treatment‑refractory status, prior therapies tried, and rationale for the chosen stimulation target.
- DBS described as experimental/under study; systematic reviews included patient‑level data and highlighted safety/adverse event concerns and small sample sizes.
- Prior authorization should include documentation of prior attempts and rationale for DBS target selection.
Background evidence summaries do not substitute for prior‑authorization rules
Background and evidence summary sections do not by themselves state specific prior authorization requirements; they summarize evidence that may inform coverage determinations but do not replace administrative PA rules.
- Evidence summaries in background may influence but do not specify PA code or process.
- Administrative prior‑authorization requirements are addressed elsewhere in the policy.
Prior authorization likely required for investigational interventions (relamorelin, ION™, Mandometer)
Interventions characterized as investigational or with insufficient evidence (for example, relamorelin, the ION™ panel, and the Mandometer residential program) may require prior authorization with supporting clinical rationale and documented trial data before coverage is considered.
- Relamorelin (ghrelin agonist) studied in small RCTs; long‑term safety/efficacy not established.
- ION™ analysis/profile lacks evidence of clinical value.
- Mandometer residential program clinical value not established; may be considered investigational.
Require prior authorization and clinical rationale for novel neuromodulation
Novel neuromodulation treatments (multi‑session rTMS, tDCS, and similar) remain investigational with mixed evidence; prior authorization should require documentation of rationale, informed consent, and evidence of prior standard therapies.
- Multi‑session rTMS/tDCS evidence is preliminary and mixed; excitatory NIBS in anorexia may be contraindicated.
- PA should document prior attempts at nutritional rehabilitation and evidence‑based psychotherapy, rationale for neuromodulation, and monitoring plans.
Prior authorization must justify TMS as adjunctive/experimental therapy
When TMS is considered for eating disorders it should be treated as adjunctive/experimental; prior authorization should request justification that TMS is being used as adjunctive treatment and documentation of failure or intolerance of established treatments, plus a monitoring plan for outcomes and adverse events.
- Guidelines state TMS is not an established treatment and should not replace nutritional rehabilitation or evidence‑based psychotherapy.
- PA should include prior treatment history, rationale for TMS, stimulation protocol/site, and monitoring plan.
No specific PA codes listed in this excerpt — follow plan PA processes
This administrative excerpt does not state specific prior authorization code requirements; providers should follow plan‑level PA processes and use the policy’s listed codes when applicable.
- The CPB is an administrative aid and does not list a separate PA code table in this excerpt.
- Follow member plan provisions and Aetna PA procedures for submission.
No explicit step‑therapy algorithm provided in this excerpt
No explicit step‑therapy algorithm is specified in this portion of the document; the policy does not define a formal step‑through sequence here.
Document sequencing: pharmacotherapy is adjunctive (fluoxetine for BN; lisdexamfetamine for BED)
Pharmacotherapy is described as adjunctive to nutritional rehabilitation and psychotherapy; fluoxetine is recommended for bulimia nervosa (e.g., 60 mg) and lisdexamfetamine is an FDA‑approved option for binge‑eating disorder.
- Fluoxetine recommended for BN (60 mg daily) as first‑line pharmacotherapy.
- Lisdexamfetamine is an option for BED; medications are adjunctive and not first‑line for AN.
CBT is guideline‑preferred first‑line psychotherapy before alternatives
Practice guidelines and major reviews recommend CBT as first‑line psychotherapy for bulimia and BED; payers may expect a trial of CBT before covering adjunctive or alternative psychotherapies in many cases.
- DBT is considered adjunctive/alternative and has not shown superiority to CBT in systematic reviews; CBT remains first‑line.
- Document trials of CBT when seeking coverage for alternative psychotherapies.
No step‑therapy rules described; ghrelin agonists are investigational
No formal step‑therapy requirements are described in these background sections; ghrelin agonists and similar agents are noted as investigational and lack sufficient evidence to define sequencing rules.
- Ghrelin administration did not significantly affect appetite in a small trial and relamorelin has limited short‑term data.
- No step‑therapy sequencing is specified for these agents in the excerpt.
No step‑therapy rules specified in background sections
Background sections do not specify step‑therapy rules; the document states no formal step‑therapy algorithms are provided in this excerpt.
Require trial of lower‑intensity interventions (guided self‑help/psychotherapy) before higher‑intensity BED treatments
For BED, evidence supports guided self‑help and certain pharmacotherapies; consider requiring trials of lower‑intensity guided self‑help or psychotherapy before authorizing higher‑intensity pharmacotherapy or surgical interventions.
- Guided self‑help showed benefit for BED in referred populations.
- Lisdexamfetamine and topiramate reduced BED symptom severity but have associated harms and require monitoring.
Neuromodulation only after optimization of nutrition and evidence‑based psychotherapies
Neuromodulation (including TMS) should be considered only after optimization of nutritional rehabilitation and evidence‑based psychotherapies; documentation of prior optimization is expected when seeking authorization.
- Guidelines emphasize TMS should not replace nutritional rehabilitation or evidence‑based psychotherapy.
- PA/authorization should show attempts to optimize nutrition and psychotherapy prior to neuromodulation.
No formal step‑therapy protocol specified in this excerpt
Reiterating the document’s content, no formal step‑therapy protocol is specified within this excerpt; providers must follow plan‑specific step rules if present elsewhere.
Document complete medical evaluation and recommended laboratory testing
Clinical documentation must include a complete medical history and physical examination and relevant laboratory testing (e.g., CBC, electrolytes, liver function tests, TSH, ECG) when managing anorexia nervosa or bulimia nervosa.
- Document CBC and comprehensive metabolic panel including electrolytes, liver and renal tests.
- Obtain ECG for restrictive disorders, severe purging, or QTc‑prolonging medications.
Document comprehensive initial psychiatric and physical evaluation including height/weight history
Initial psychiatric and physical evaluations should document height/weight history, patterns of restrictive and binge/purge behaviors, compensatory behaviors, psychosocial impairment, prior treatment response, and a comprehensive review of systems as part of the initial workup.
- Record maximum/minimum weight, recent weight changes, and quantify eating/weight control behaviors.
- Identify co‑occurring psychiatric and medical conditions and include a comprehensive review of systems.
Document indication, malnutrition evidence, feeding method and monitoring for enteral nutrition
For enteral nutrition (nasogastric feeding) document the indication for weight restoration, evidence of malnutrition or refractory oral intake, details of the feeding method and monitoring (including prophylactic electrolyte/phosphate supplementation where used), and whether care is inpatient versus outpatient.
- Document objective evidence of inadequate oral intake and weight restoration goals.
- Include details of NG feeding method, monitoring plans, and any prophylactic electrolyte management.
Provide clear clinical rationale and document study limitations when using limited‑evidence interventions
When submitting evidence or studies for limited‑evidence interventions, note methodological limitations (small samples, lack of dietary control, female‑only cohorts); include a clear clinical rationale tied to member‑level data when using such interventions.
- Describe study limitations if relying on literature to support coverage requests.
- Provide member‑specific clinical justification beyond limited studies.
Document baseline diagnosis, BMI, gastric emptying testing, and monitoring for ghrelin agonist use
For trials or off‑label use of ghrelin agonists (e.g., relamorelin) document DSM‑5 diagnosis, baseline weight/BMI, gastric emptying testing if used (GEBT), and monitoring of weight change and adverse effects during treatment.
- Include baseline BMI and GEBT results when used to support relamorelin use.
- Monitor and record weight change and any adverse events during therapy.
Document diagnosis, setting, outcomes, and concurrent treatments for I‑ERP programs
For I‑ERP programs record the diagnosis, treatment setting (inpatient vs outpatient), concurrent treatments, pre‑ and post‑intervention outcome measures (e.g., EDE‑Q, anxiety/depression scales), and follow‑up plans.
- Document outcome measures and follow‑up; note that existing I‑ERP evidence is pilot‑level and often adjunctive to inpatient care.
- Specify program structure and concurrent therapies.
Document prior trials and monitor adverse effects for BED pharmacotherapies
When using pharmacotherapies for BED (e.g., lisdexamfetamine or topiramate), document prior trials, rationale for selection, and actively monitor for known adverse effects (dry mouth, headache, insomnia for lisdexamfetamine; paresthesia, taste perversion, confusion for topiramate).
- Record prior psychotherapy/guided self‑help trials and justify medication initiation.
- Monitor and document adverse effects reported in RCTs.
Document rationale, stimulation parameters, and monitoring when using TMS/neuromodulation
Clinical documentation for neuromodulation (including TMS) should state that TMS is being used adjunctively/experimentally, include the rationale and targeted symptoms, specify stimulation site/protocol and parameters, and describe plans for monitoring adverse events and outcomes.
- Include stimulation protocol, site (e.g., dorsolateral prefrontal cortex), session duration and frequency.
- Document informed consent and plan for outcome monitoring and adverse event surveillance.
Providers must follow plan provisions and monitor CPB updates
Treating providers are responsible for medical advice and treatment of members; Clinical Policy Bulletins may be updated and are a partial description of plan benefits—verify plan provisions and follow any updated CPB guidance.
- CPBs do not constitute a contract; coverage outcomes are determined by plan provisions.
- Providers must follow current CPB updates and member benefit details.
Denial risk when billing codes for experimental/unproven services
Use of CPT/HCPCS codes for services explicitly listed as experimental/investigational or not covered (for example brain imaging, EEG, rTMS, ECT, fecal microbiota procedures, certain molecular/genetic tests) may trigger claim denials; verify coverage status before billing.
Device/neurostimulator codes and certain ICD‑10 ranges are designated not covered for CPB indications
Specific HCPCS/CPT device and implantable neurostimulator codes and related ICD‑10 ranges are listed as not covered for indications in this CPB; billing these codes for the listed eating‑disorder indications risks denial unless an approved exception/PA is obtained.
DBS for anorexia nervosa has limited evidence and safety concerns—denial risk without strong documentation
Deep brain stimulation for anorexia nervosa is experimental and studied in small cohorts with reported adverse events (including a serious seizure); limited randomized data and safety concerns may lead to medical necessity denials or requests for additional documentation.
- DBS studies pooled 36 patients across 11 studies; adverse events included a seizure and other surgical complications.
- Provide robust patient‑level evidence of refractory illness and justification to avoid denial.
Background evidence summaries do not mandate specific authorization actions
Background sections do not mandate specific authorization actions; they summarize evidence and research gaps that may inform but do not dictate coverage or PA outcomes.
ION™ nutritional profiling lacks evidence—coverage may be denied as unproven
The ION™ (Individual Optimal Nutrition) analysis/profile lacks evidence of clinical value in eating disorders; ordering or billing for this panel without supporting evidence may be at risk for denial as medically unproven.
- ION™ measures multiple blood and urine nutritional markers but clinical utility in EDs is unproven.
- Provide strong clinical justification and prior evidence if requesting coverage.
Mandometer residential program is investigational—coverage may be denied without strong evidence
The Mandometer residential program is investigational with insufficient well‑designed comparative trials to establish clinical value; coverage may be denied absent strong comparative evidence and clear medical necessity.
- Program duration and remission claims derive largely from non‑randomized or small studies; randomized evidence is limited.
- Document comparative benefit and clinical necessity when requesting coverage for residential Mandometer treatment.
Residential/PHP continued‑stay coverage may be limited by lack of long‑term controlled evidence
Residential and PHP settings show short‑term improvements at discharge but lack controlled long‑term trial evidence and have high loss to follow‑up; continued‑stay or ongoing coverage decisions should document objective clinical response and nutritional markers.
- Few controlled long‑term outcome studies exist; document response at discharge and objective markers to support continued coverage.
- High drop‑out rates in studies complicate long‑term benefit claims.
Using TMS outside established indications requires clear justification to avoid denial
TMS is described as experimental/adjunctive and not an established treatment for eating disorders; use of TMS outside established indications should be justified in the medical record to reduce denial risk.
- Guidelines advise TMS should not replace nutritional rehabilitation or evidence‑based psychotherapy.
- Document rationale, prior therapy failures, and monitoring plans when using TMS.
CPBs are administrative guides; final coverage is determined by plan provisions
Clinical Policy Bulletins assist in administering plan benefits and provide only a partial description of benefits; coverage determinations are made according to the member's plan provisions and are not guaranteed by the CPB.
Background, Evidence Summaries, and Definitions
This policy addresses major eating‑disorder diagnoses including anorexia nervosa and bulimia nervosa and provides an overview of management: guideline‑based assessment (medical history, weight/BMI, laboratory testing, ECG when indicated), outpatient first‑line care with nutritional rehabilitation and psychotherapy (CBT, family‑based therapy, interpersonal therapy), pharmacotherapy as adjunctive where evidence supports it (e.g., fluoxetine for bulimia, lisdexamfetamine for binge‑eating disorder), and escalation to enteral nutrition or higher levels of care for severe medical instability. The background sections also summarize evidence gaps for many novel and device‑based interventions and stress the need for multidisciplinary care and documentation when invasive or investigational therapies are considered.
Level-of-Care and Setting Criteria
Residential / Partial Hospitalization (PHP)
Outpatient/Youth talking therapies
Treatment Modalities and Evidence-Based Status
Psychotherapy
Psychotherapy services are considered medically necessary when delivered as eating disorder–focused treatments.
Device-based neuromodulation and procedural therapies
Device-based neuromodulation and procedural therapies are generally considered investigational or unproven for eating disorder indications unless robust supporting evidence is provided.
Psychotherapy
Eating disorder–focused psychotherapies are first‑line treatments and should be prioritized in coverage decisions.
Medication therapy
Pharmacotherapy is adjunctive and disorder‑specific.
Other biological/behavioral interventions
Other biological or behavioral adjuncts have preliminary data but lack definitive evidence for routine coverage.
Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)
DBT may be used as an alternative or adjunctive psychotherapy in selected patients.
Bright light therapy
Bright light therapy is experimental with limited short‑term effects noted in small studies.
Deep brain stimulation (DBS)
Deep brain stimulation has been studied in small, treatment‑refractory cohorts and remains investigational.
e-therapy, biofeedback/neurofeedback, behavioral inhibition training
Digital and behavioral training interventions have limited but emerging evidence.
Imaginal Exposure Response Prevention (I-ERP)
Imaginal exposure programs have pilot‑level evidence only.
Music-based interventions
Music-based interventions show small, heterogeneous positive findings but insufficient evidence for routine coverage.
rTMS / tDCS / DBS
Neuromodulation evidence is mixed; most device‑based neuromodulation remains investigational for eating disorders.
Talking therapies (CBT, DBT, IPT, FB-IPT, schema therapy)
Talking therapies are the evidence‑based core of psychological treatment for eating disorders.
Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation (TMS)
TMS is experimental/adjunctive with mixed outcomes and safety considerations.
Neuromodulation (DBS, rTMS, etc.)
Overarching neuromodulation stance:
Visit Limits, Duration, and Utilization Notes
Definitions and Terminology
Policy Revision History
Policy last reviewed; review entry recorded in policy history.
Policy originally became effective on this date.
Policy last reviewed; references and bibliography updated as of this review date.
Policy originally became effective on this date.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.