Functional Electrical Stimulation (FES) and Neuromuscular Electrical Stimulation (NMES)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Aetna Policy 0677 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 0677 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Coverage and medical necessity criteria for FES and NMES as durable medical equipment (DME), including specific device indications, contraindications, training requirements, and devices considered experimental or unproven; applies to Aetna members under the referenced clinical policy.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria for FES and NMES
FES for ambulation - Initial therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
All items must be met for coverage.
Contraindications
Not eligible if ANY of the following contraindications are present
Presence of any one contraindication excludes FES for walking (Parastep I).
NMES for disuse atrophy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
If nerve supply is not intact or condition not listed, coverage is not supported. NMES >2 hours/day is considered not medically necessary.
Form-fitting conductive garment
Covered when ALL of the following are met
HCPCS E0731 applies; garments are considered experimental/unproven for other indications.
Diaphragmatic/phrenic pacing - Indications
Covered when ALL of the following criteria are met for each indication group
Stable, non-acute SCI members.
Device replacement
Replacement coverage
Provide operative/device history and documentation of warranty/repair attempts and reason for replacement (e.g., battery depletion).
Covered when selection criteria are met
Covered when ALL of the following are met (general framing present in document):
Refer to individual device selection/medical necessity criteria for the applicable code.
Not medically necessary / not covered categories
Not covered for CPB-listed indications:
Full code lists and excluded indications are provided in the coding section of the policy.
Indication-specific evidence summaries
Evidence summaries and situational coverage context present the following distinct indication groups and evidentiary conclusions
References include Arvidsson (1986); Lake (1992); Gotlin et al (1994); Snyder-Mackler et al (1995); Bax et al (2005).
Selection based on presence of reflexes and cystometric phasic detrusor pressure criteria.
Boone et al (1992) randomized sham-controlled trial showed no benefit.
Evidence limited to small/uncontrolled studies.
Further high-quality comparative studies are needed.
Evidence-based patient groups
Coverage considerations informed by trial populations and outcomes
RESTFUL and other randomized trials cited; TOMAC use typically limited to studied populations.
Walk2Wellness trials reported improvements at 10 and 26 weeks.
Walkasins and lower limb sensory prostheses
Summary coverage stance from evidence presented in this section
Based on narrative review and pilot/extension study limitations.
NMES adjunctive uses (emerging evidence)
Ongoing and emerging NMES indications under study
Trials are ongoing or in protocol stages; evidence not yet sufficient for routine coverage.
The policy identifies numerous devices and indications as experimental, investigational, or unproven. Examples explicitly listed include FES of the upper extremities (e.g., NESS H200/Handmaster) and a wide range of other applications for FES/NMES such as Bell’s palsy, cerebral palsy, COPD, congestive heart failure, erectile dysfunction, general muscle strengthening in healthy individuals, and improvement of ambulatory function in progressive diseases (see enumerated list in the scope). These device/indication groupings are treated as lacking established effectiveness in the evidence base and therefore are not supported for routine coverage.
The policy also lists multiple specific devices and device classes considered unproven, for example: AxioBionics wearable NMES for hemiplegia, Cala Trio (wrist-worn peripheral nerve stimulation), EMG-triggered NMES (Care ETS), implanted FES for gait after stroke, PoNS (trans‑lingual neurostimulation), TOMAC, Walkasins, wearable geko NMES devices, and a variety of FES exercise systems (MyoCycle, RT-series, SpectraSTIM). Many of these technologies are described as having insufficient or mixed evidence to establish long‑term functional benefit or to justify routine DME coverage.
Where the document details indications judged investigational, it notes either small/uncontrolled studies, absence of durable functional outcomes, or inconsistent trial results supporting that determination. Providers should therefore plan prior authorization or coverage requests for these devices on the expectation that a strong evidence package or enrollment in an approved clinical trial will be required to justify use.
The policy includes explicit lists of CPT/HCPCS and ICD‑10 codes that are not covered for the indications listed in this clinical policy bulletin (CPB). Representative HCPCS codes identified as not covered for CPB indications include A4544, E0743, L8720, L8721, E0770, E0745, among others. These codes map to external lower extremity nerve stimulators (e.g., TOMAC), external lower extremity sensory prostheses (Walkasins), and miscellaneous functional electrical stimulator systems not otherwise specified.
The ICD‑10 section similarly enumerates diagnosis codes that are either excluded or require that selection criteria be met for coverage; examples include diagnosis ranges for malignant neoplasms (C00.0‑C95.92), multiple sclerosis (G35), Bell’s palsy (G51.0), restless legs syndrome (G25.81), and various gait/mobility and neuromuscular diagnoses. The policy states that some ICD‑10 codes are covered only if the policy’s selection/medical necessity criteria are met and that other listed ICD‑10 codes are not covered for CPB‑listed indications.
Providers should note that billing of the listed HCPCS/CPT codes for indications explicitly designated as not covered in the CPB will be considered not covered / not medically necessary and may trigger claim denials unless the patient and indication align with the policy’s specified selection criteria.
Multiple background reviews and systematic reviews cited in the policy conclude there is insufficient evidence to demonstrate sustained, long‑term functional effectiveness of FES as a rehabilitative intervention after stroke. The document notes that while FES has been used to address joint contracture, maintain range of motion, and facilitate voluntary motor control, the available data do not robustly support improvements in long‑term functional outcomes or independence in activities of daily living for stroke survivors.
The policy references guideline reviews and Cochrane‑style assessments that found either no recommendation for routine post‑stroke FES or that evidence is inadequate to inform clinical use. These sources emphasize the need for higher‑quality trials addressing dose, timing, and device type before routine coverage for stroke rehabilitation can be justified.
Accordingly, practitioners seeking coverage for FES in post‑stroke rehabilitation should anticipate that the policy regards long‑term benefit as unproven and that documentation must address the evidence gaps identified in the literature if a coverage exception is sought.
Transurethral electrical bladder stimulation (TEBS) is described in the policy background as having failed to demonstrate durable benefit in multiple studies. Earlier positive reports were not replicated by more recent trials, and investigators characterized TEBS as time‑consuming, labor‑intensive, and of limited urodynamic benefit. Because of these limitations some programs no longer accept new TEBS patients.
Given this evidence summary, TEBS is presented as a therapy with limited clinical utility and not supported for routine adoption in the treatment of neurogenic bladder dysfunction in the contexts reviewed.
The policy notes that for many wearable and external chronic stimulation technologies the long‑term effects and durability of benefit are unknown. Narrative reviews of lower‑limb sensory prostheses and other wearable devices report mixed short‑term results, small heterogeneous study populations, limited follow‑up, and difficulty separating device effects from concurrent rehabilitative interventions.
These evidence gaps mean that the long‑term clinical effectiveness and safety profile of chronic external electrical stimulation devices remain uncertain, and routine long‑term coverage is not supported by the current literature summarized in this policy.
An UpToDate review cited in the policy (Badr, 2015) did not list phrenic nerve stimulation among therapeutic options for central sleep apnea, indicating that at the time of that review phrenic nerve stimulation had limited inclusion in commonly used clinical guidance.
The document contrasts that guideline absence with later device‑specific evidence and FDA approval (see Remede System discussion), noting constrained guideline uptake despite emerging randomized and nonrandomized data.
The Remede System (implantable phrenic nerve stimulator) has specific contraindications and device limitations noted in its evidence summary and FDA documentation. The policy states the device should not be used in patients with an active infection and should not be implanted in patients who are known to require MRI, given device and lead characteristics.
These device‑specific constraints should be considered in patient selection and in pre‑implant screening and documentation for prior authorization or surgical planning.
Randomized double‑blind cross‑over trials of sacral neuromodulation (SNS) for chronic constipation reported no statistically significant difference between active and sham stimulation and a high sham responder rate (30–60%). These findings, together with reported complication rates, undermine the strength of evidence supporting SNS for constipation and make it difficult to recommend as a standard treatment within constipation algorithms.
The policy therefore reflects caution about routine implantation of SNS for constipation and highlights the need for clear test‑stimulation response and durable benefit before permanent implantation is justified.
A cited UpToDate review on lower extremity peripheral nerve syndromes does not include neuromuscular stimulation as a therapeutic option, suggesting limited or nonstandard endorsement of NMES for many peripheral nerve disorders in guidance literature.
Additionally, several clinical trials excluded patients with implanted electronic medical devices (e.g., pacemakers, defibrillators, deep brain stimulators) and those who had prior neurosurgical ET interventions, which constrains generalizability of study findings to populations with such devices or prior procedures.
Evidence for the Cala system (wrist‑worn TAPS/Cala Trio) is described as inconsistent and insufficient to support implementation as standard of care for essential tremor. Reviews and RCTs show some short‑term reductions in tremor severity and ADL improvements, but confidence in sustained benefit beyond a few months is low and direct comparisons with other ET treatments are lacking.
The policy highlights limitations including small trial sizes, open‑label designs, and uncertainty about durability of effect, indicating further investigation is needed before routine coverage can be supported.
Multiple device studies summarized in the policy explicitly excluded participants with implanted electronic medical devices (for example pacemakers, implantable cardioverter‑defibrillators, or deep brain stimulators) and those who had received certain surgical therapies for essential tremor. These exclusions limit applicability of trial results to patients with such prior devices or procedures.
Providers should therefore be aware that study populations frequently omitted these subgroups and that evidence of safety and efficacy in those patients is commonly absent.
Wearable NMES products such as the geko T‑3 and W‑3 are FDA‑cleared devices designed to stimulate the common peroneal nerve to increase calf muscle pump activity, and the policy describes their mechanism and intended indications. However, the policy also states there is a lack of evidence regarding their clinical value (i.e., insufficient high‑quality data demonstrating clinical outcomes such as wound healing or VTE prevention).
Consequently, routine coverage for these wearable NMES devices is limited by the evidence gap and decisions may require additional supporting documentation or demonstration of medical necessity.
The TOMAC (Tonic Motor Activation) trial evidence summarized in the policy is primarily specific to medication‑refractory moderate‑to‑severe restless legs syndrome. The RESTFUL randomized trial and extensions enrolled patients refractory to at least one medication; the policy notes that effectiveness in medication‑naïve or mild RLS populations has not been established.
Guideline sources cited in the document do not consistently mention TOMAC as a therapy, and the policy underscores the need for additional studies to evaluate effectiveness in broader RLS populations.
The document explicitly states that there are no published data for TOMAC use in patients with mild or previously untreated RLS; existing studies enrolled moderate‑to‑severe, medication‑refractory patients. As a result, application of TOMAC outside the studied, refractory population remains unproven.
Coverage decisions for TOMAC should therefore consider whether the patient matches the trial populations (medication‑refractory, moderate‑to‑severe RLS) before supporting routine home use.
Lower limb sensory prostheses such as Walkasins are reviewed in the policy narrative; although some studies report short‑term improvements in gait and balance measures, the overall literature is limited by small sample sizes, heterogeneous populations, combined intervention protocols, and short follow‑up. The policy concludes there is insufficient evidence to support routine coverage of lower limb sensory prostheses for sustained gait improvement.
The document recommends further comparative studies with larger samples and controlled designs before these devices can be recommended for routine DME coverage.
The policy states a clear utilization threshold for external NMES: use exceeding 2 hours per day is considered not medically necessary. Literature protocols and the policy itself recommend no more than 2 hours of NMES within any 24‑hour period, and exceeding that daily limit may lead to claim denial.
Providers should document prescribed daily regimen and ensure prescribed NMES use aligns with this ≤2 hours/day threshold when requesting coverage or supplying devices.
The policy clarifies that billing use of HCPCS/CPT codes listed as not covered for the CPB indications will be treated as not covered / not medically necessary. Examples called out in the code lists include peroneal stimulator/system codes and other HCPCS items (e.g., E0770, E0743, A4560) that are explicitly associated with non‑covered CPB indications.
When submitting claims, providers must ensure the patient diagnosis and documented medical necessity match the policy’s covered selection criteria; otherwise billing with the listed codes for excluded indications may be denied.
Across stroke rehabilitation literature summarized in the policy, systematic reviews and guideline assessments conclude that evidence is insufficient to support FES as an effective rehabilitative modality for stroke patients with respect to long‑term functional outcomes. Cochrane and guideline reviews emphasize the need for higher‑quality trials to define optimal device parameters, dose, and timing.
Consequently, routine coverage of FES for stroke rehabilitation is not supported by the current evidence base presented in the policy and requests should be supported by robust trial‑like evidence if exceptions are considered.
The policy cites evidence concluding that electrotherapy is not advised for management of acute idiopathic Bell’s palsy. Reviews found no advantage of electrostimulation over facial exercises or other conservative measures in the acute setting; limited and low‑quality data suggest possible benefit in chronic cases but do not support routine use in initial management.
Providers treating Bell’s palsy should therefore follow established conservative and medical therapies and recognize that electrotherapy lacks guideline endorsement for acute idiopathic Bell’s palsy.
Within the chunks referenced there are no explicit additional 'not medically necessary' determinations beyond the specific exclusions and thresholds already stated (for example, the NMES >2 hours/day rule and code‑based not‑covered lists). The document primarily provides background evidence summaries and code lists rather than standalone additional NMN rulings in these excerpts.
Coding — CPT, HCPCS, ICD-10 References
| 63655 | Laminectomy for implantation of neurostimulator electrodes, plate/paddle, epidural. |
| 63685 | Insertion or replacement of spinal neurostimulator pulse generator or receiver, direct or inductive coupling. |
| 64555 | Percutaneous implantation of neurostimulator electrodes; peripheral nerve (excludes sacral nerve). |
| 64575 | Incision for implantation of neurostimulator electrodes; peripheral nerve (excludes sacral nerve). |
| 64585 | Revision or removal of peripheral neurostimulator electrodes. |
| 64590 | Insertion or replacement of peripheral or gastric neurostimulator pulse generator or receiver, direct or inductive coupling. |
| 64595 | Revision or removal of peripheral or gastric neurostimulator pulse generator or receiver. |
| A4556 | Electrodes (e.g., apnea monitor), per pair. |
| A4557 | Lead wires (e.g., apnea monitor), per pair. |
| A4558 | Conductive gel or paste, for use with electrical device (e.g., TENS, NMES), per oz. |
| A4595 | Electrical stimulator supplies, 2 lead, per month, (e.g. TENS, NMES). |
| E0731 | Form-fitting conductive garment for delivery of TENS or NMES (with conductive fibers separated from the patient's skin by layers of fabric). |
| E0745 | Neuromuscular stimulator, electronic shock unit. |
| E0764 | Functional neuromuscular stimulator, transcutaneous stimulation of muscles of ambulation with computer control, used for walking by spinal cord injured, entire system, after completion of training program. |
| E0770 | Functional electrical stimulator, transcutaneous stimulation of nerve and / or muscle groups, any type, complete system, not otherwise specified. |
| L8680 | Implantable neurostimulator electrode, each. |
| L8681 | Patient programmer (external) for use with implantable programmable neurostimulator pulse generator. |
| E0762 | Transcutaneous electrical joint stimulation device system, includes all accessories. |
| S12.000A - S12.691S | Fracture of vertebral column |
| S12.9xxA - S12.9xxS | Fracture of vertebral column (other ranges listed) |
| S22.000A - S22.089S | Fracture of thoracic spine |
| S32.000A - S32.2xxS | Fracture of lumbar spine/pelvis |
| G12.20 - G12.9 | Motor neuron disease |
| G35 | Multiple sclerosis |
| G51.0 | Bell's palsy (facial palsy) |
| M17.0 - M17.9 | Osteoarthritis of knee |
| M21.371 - M21.379 | Foot drop (acquired) |
| 33277 | Insertion of phrenic nerve stimulator transvenous sensing lead |
| 33278 | Removal of phrenic nerve stimulator, including pulse generator and lead(s) |
| 33279 | Transvenous stimulation or sensing lead(s) only |
| 33280 | Pulse generator only |
| 33281 | Repositioning of phrenic nerve stimulator transvenous lead(s) |
| 33287 | Removal and replacement of phrenic nerve stimulator; pulse generator |
| 33288 | Transvenous stimulation or sensing lead(s) |
| 64580 | Open implantation of neurostimulator electrode array; neuromuscular |
| 93150 | Therapy activation of implanted phrenic nerve stimulator system |
| 93151 | Interrogation and programming of implanted phrenic nerve stimulator system |
| E0745 | Neuromuscular stimulator, electronic shock unit |
| E0731 | Form fitting conductive garment for delivery of TENS or NMES |
| A4556 | Electrodes (e.g., apnea monitor), per pair |
| A4557 | Lead wires (e.g., apnea monitor), per pair |
| A4595 | Electrical stimulator supplies, 2 lead, per month (e.g., TENS, NMES) |
| L8680 | Implantable neurostimulator electrode, each |
| L8681 | Patient programmer (external) for use with implantable programmable neurostimulator pulse generator |
| L8685 | Implantable neurostimulator pulse generator, single array, rechargeable, includes extension |
| L8686 | Implantable neurostimulator pulse generator, single array, non-rechargeable, includes extension |
| L8687 | Implantable neurostimulator pulse generator, dual array, rechargeable, includes extension |
| A4544 | Electrode for external lower extremity nerve stimulator for restless legs syndrome (TOMAC) |
| E0743 | External lower extremity nerve stimulator for restless legs syndrome |
| L8720 | External lower extremity sensory prosthesis (Walkasins), per leg |
| L8721 | Receptor sole for use with L8720, replacement, each |
| A4560 | Neuromuscular electrical stimulator (NMES), disposable, replacement only |
| E0770 | Functional electrical stimulator, transcutaneous stimulation of nerve and/or muscle groups, any type, complete system, not otherwise specified |
| E0734 | External upper limb tremor stimulator of the peripheral nerves of the wrist |
| A4542 | Supplies and accessories for external upper limb tremor stimulator of the peripheral nerves of the wrist |
| G71.8 | Other specified myopathies |
| M62.50 | Muscle wasting and atrophy, not elsewhere classified |
| M62.84 | Sarcopenia |
| G35 | Multiple sclerosis |
| G51.0 | Bell's palsy (facial palsy) |
| I69.351 | Hemiplegia and hemiparesis following cerebral infarction |
| G82.51 | Quadriplegia C1-C4 complete |
| Z94.2 | Lung transplant status |
| 0424T | Insertion or replacement of neurostimulator system for treatment of central sleep apnea |
| 0427T | Insertion or replacement of neurostimulator system for treatment of central sleep apnea (series 0424T-0427T referenced) |
| C1823 | Generator, neurostimulator (implantable), non-rechargeable, with transvenous sensing and stimulation leads |
| Empi 300 PV | Example of NMES device (device name, not a billing code) |
| NexWave | Example of NMES device (device name, not a billing code) |
| R2i muscle stimulator | Example of NMES device (device name, not a billing code) |
| Care ETS | EMG-triggered NMES device (device name) |
| VitalStim Therapy | NMES system proposed for dysphagia treatment |
| Guardian dysphagia dual chamber | Device proposed for pharyngeal muscle re-education |
| Empi Phoenix | Combination NMES and TENS device |
| QB1 powered muscle stimulator | Combination NMES and TENS device |
| RS-4i sequential stimulator | Combination/interferential + muscle stimulator |
| Kneehab XP / KneeHAB II | Garment-integrated NMES device for knee rehabilitation |
| Remede System | Implantable phrenic nerve stimulation system approved by FDA for adult moderate-to-severe CSA |
| G25.0 | Essential tremor |
| No codes listed |
Provider Actions, Prior Authorization & Documentation
DME prior authorization for FES/NMES
When billing for listed FES/NMES DME items (for example HCPCS E0764, E0745, E0731, A4595), prior authorization is implied — coverage is contingent on meeting the policy’s selection/medical necessity criteria for the specific device and indication.
- Covered HCPCS/ CPT/ ICD codes are conditional on meeting device-specific selection criteria.
- Provide documentation that the patient meets the clinical criteria referenced in the policy when requesting authorization.
Prior authorization for implantable and external NMES/FES
Certain implantable and external neuromuscular stimulator devices (examples include HCPCS E0745 and implantable neurostimulator codes L8685–L8689) are covered only if selection criteria are met — prior authorization is implied when those criteria apply.
- Include device model and evidence the patient meets the policy’s selection criteria with the PA request.
- Implantable device claims (L8685–L8689) require documentation of indication and candidacy.
Prior authorization — implanted diaphragmatic pacing
For diaphragmatic/diaphragm pacing implants, if prior authorization is requested include documentation of laparoscopic diaphragm motor‑point mapping and pre‑implant respiratory function (e.g., FVC) and evidence of candidacy per the policy’s selection criteria.
- Document motor point mapping and intra‑muscular electrode stimulation testing performed during implantation.
- Provide baseline respiratory measures and justification that pacing would allow ≥4 continuous hours off mechanical ventilation when applicable.
Implanted sacral root stimulator prior authorization
Implanted sacral anterior root stimulators (e.g., Vocare/Finetech‑Brindley) are supported in selected supra‑sacral SCI patients; prior authorization requests should include evidence of reflex testing and cystometry consistent with implant candidacy.
- Provide documentation that 3 of 4 non‑vesical sacral segment reflexes are present.
- Include cystometry showing phasic detrusor pressure rise (≥35 mm H2O female; ≥50 cm H2O male) and trial response data.
Prior authorization not specified in this section
The policy text contains no explicit payer prior‑authorization code requirements for many background device discussions; when PA processes are used, the document supplies evidentiary context rather than administrative code triggers.
- Absence of explicit PA codes in these sections means PA expectations derive from covered‑when‑selection‑criteria‑met language elsewhere.
- Use the device‑specific selection criteria and codes elsewhere in the policy to determine PA needs.
Clinical trial eligibility noted
Clinical trial eligibility criteria (e.g., AHI ≥20 events/hour for phrenic nerve stimulation trials) are described for research enrollment but do not substitute for payer prior authorization; include trial‑level evidence only as supporting documentation when applicable.
- Trial enrollment criteria (AHI ≥20, medically stable ≥30 days) are informational — provide diagnostic testing and prior therapy documentation for PA.
- Do not assume trial criteria equal PA criteria unless payer explicitly adopts them.
Prior authorization for implantable phrenic nerve stimulators
For implantable phrenic nerve stimulators (Remede System), prior authorization requests should document diagnosis of moderate‑to‑severe central sleep apnea, prior standard therapies attempted, and device candidacy (sleep testing distinguishing central vs obstructive events).
- Include PSG/AHI results and prior trials of mask‑based therapy, oxygen, or pharmacotherapy.
- Note the Remede System contraindications (active infection, MRI dependence) when assessing candidacy.
Prior authorization expectations for SNS
Given mixed or unfavorable evidence for sacral neuromodulation (SNS) in chronic constipation and reported complication rates, prior authorization should require documentation of refractory symptoms, prior conservative therapies tried, and explicit discussion of uncertain benefit.
- Provide bowel diaries, standardized constipation scores, record of prior therapies attempted, and test‑stimulation response if available.
- Highlight known device‑related adverse events and prior trial outcomes in the PA submission.
Prior authorization for chronic device use (wrist‑worn PNS)
When requesting long‑term/home use coverage for wrist‑worn peripheral nerve stimulation devices (e.g., Cala/TAPS), consider prior authorization supported by baseline and follow‑up objective clinician‑ and device‑recorded measures demonstrating benefit.
- Submit baseline TETRAS and BF‑ADL scores and device accelerometer usage logs showing improvements over time.
- Document prescribed regimen (e.g., twice‑daily use), duration of home trial, and clinician assessments.
Prior authorization expectation (Cala/TAPS)
Studies of Cala/TAPS included prescription processes and collection of device logs and patient‑reported outcomes; PA requests for similar devices should supply diagnosis confirmation, device usage logs, and measured benefit as documented in trials.
- Provide physician confirmation of neurologic diagnosis on the prescription form and screening questionnaire results.
- Attach device‑recorded tremor power and ADL changes from the monitored trial period.
Prior authorization likely required for FDA‑cleared wearable devices
Coverage decisions for FDA‑cleared wearable NMES or FES technologies (e.g., geko, MyoCycle Home) may require prior authorization with documentation of the indication, device model/FDA status, and supporting clinical evidence aligned to the policy criteria.
- Include device model, FDA clearance information, indication being treated, and objective baseline and follow‑up functional or metabolic measures.
- For disposable wearable devices (e.g., geko), note intended use period and any device log data collected.
TOMAC prior authorization evidence
For TOMAC (Tonic Motor Activation) prior authorization include the RESTFUL randomized trial and extension study results (CGI‑I responder rates, IRLS score changes) and documentation that the patient is medication‑refractory when applicable.
- Attach RESTFUL trial outcomes (45% vs 16% CGI‑I responder at 4 weeks) and extension study durability data to support the PA.
- Document prior medication trials and refractory status in the medical record.
Device use should align with trial inclusion criteria
Prior authorization requests for devices studied in trials should demonstrate that the patient matches trial inclusion criteria (for example, TOMAC: medication‑refractory moderate‑to‑severe RLS; Walkasins: impaired plantar sensation plus FGA <23) and include relevant outcome measures and prior treatment history.
- Provide baseline functional measures (e.g., IRLS for RLS or FGA for Walkasins) and documentation of prior therapies attempted.
- When device use deviates from trial populations, include justification and supporting evidence.
Prior authorization may be required for Walkasins
Because evidence for lower‑limb sensory prostheses (e.g., Walkasins) is limited, prior authorization may be required; include documentation of peripheral neuropathy with impaired plantar sensation, FGA <23, ability to perceive tactile cues above the ankle, and baseline/follow‑up gait outcomes.
- Submit FGA, gait speed, TUG and documentation of impaired plantar sensation and ability to sense device cues.
- If long‑term benefit is asserted, provide trial data or study participation details to support ongoing coverage.
Step therapy for diaphragmatic/phrenic pacing
Diaphragmatic/phrenic pacing is reserved for refractory respiratory indications after failure of other therapies (mask‑based therapies, oxygen, pharmacotherapy); document prior conservative therapy attempts and rationale for implantable pacing.
- Show prior use and intolerance/failure of mask‑based therapies or other standard treatments.
- Provide objective respiratory testing and evidence supporting diaphragmatic pacing candidacy.
Conservative therapy prior to FES
For foot‑drop FES, payers may expect a trial of standard conservative therapy (AFO or exercise) before approving FES devices because some trials show comparable or superior effects with these conservative options.
- Document prior use of an AFO or supervised exercise therapy and clinical response.
- Include rationale if FES is sought without prior conservative therapy.
Comparative device sequencing (FES vs AFO)
Comparative trials often evaluate FES versus ankle‑foot orthoses (AFO); when sequencing devices, document prior orthotic trials and patient preference or demonstrated orthotic limitations to support progression to FES.
- Provide results of prior AFO use, device preference assessments, and functional test results (10‑m walk, 6‑min walk).
- If FES is requested after AFO, include objective measures showing inadequate function with orthosis.
Test stimulation before permanent implant
Clinical trial designs for implantable neuromodulation commonly required test stimulation and demonstration of benefit before permanent implantation; include test‑stimulation records and documented response when seeking coverage for permanent implants.
- Attach test‑stimulation monitoring results, symptom diaries, and documented clinical response prior to permanent implant request.
- Provide records of prior conservative management and why permanent implantation is indicated.
Step: prior PT trial (TLNS/PoNS)
For TLNS/PoNS adjunctive use, document a prior plateau on conventional physical therapy and provide objective baseline and follow‑up balance assessments (e.g., SOT, DGI) to support coverage.
- Include documentation of a documented plateau in PT and pre/post SOT or DGI scores.
- Show the course and duration of prior PT and objective evidence of persistent deficit.
Training completion and prior device necessity
Document completion of at least 32 physical therapy sessions over a 3‑month Parastep training program and evidence that the original device met medical necessity when requesting FES for ambulation or device replacement.
- Provide PT session logs showing ≥32 sessions over 3 months.
- For replacements, include warranty/repair attempts and that the original device met policy criteria.
Form‑fitting garment documentation
When a form‑fitting conductive garment (HCPCS E0731) is used to deliver NMES, include a physician prescription stating the garment is FDA‑marketed and justification why conventional electrodes are impractical or contraindicated.
- Attach documentation that the garment is FDA‑approved for marketing.
- Provide clinical justification (large stimulation area, skin condition, stimulation under cast) for garment use.
Medical necessity documentation for billed codes
When billing HCPCS/CPT codes for stimulators, electrodes, leads, or implantable components that are conditioned on selection criteria, include supporting medical necessity documentation demonstrating the patient meets the policy’s criteria for the specific code and device.
- Correlate each billed HCPCS/CPT code with the policy criterion satisfied in the medical record.
- Include objective outcome measures and prior therapy history relevant to the coded device.
Device prescription and procedural documentation (DPS)
Series of diaphragm pacing implantations reported laparoscopic diaphragm motor‑point mapping and intra‑muscular electrode implantation with perioperative assessments; include operative notes and motor‑point mapping/stimulation testing in records when submitting implant or PA requests.
- Submit operative reports documenting laparoscopic motor‑point mapping and intra‑muscular electrode placement.
- Include perioperative respiratory measures (e.g., FVC) and stimulation testing results.
Implant selection documentation (sacral stimulators)
For implanted sacral anterior root stimulation, document the presence of 3 of 4 non‑vesical sacral reflexes and cystometry demonstrating the phasic detrusor pressure rise thresholds specified in the policy.
- Provide cystometry results showing phasic detrusor pressure rise (≥35 mm H2O female; ≥50 cm H2O male).
- Document presence of ankle jerks, bulbocavernosus reflex, anal skin reflex, or reflex erection as applicable.
Clinical outcome documentation
Include objective clinical outcome measures (e.g., 10‑m walk, 6‑min walk, gait speed, FGA, Stroke Impact Scale) and device‑recorded metrics when submitting evidence of benefit for FES/NMES devices.
- Attach baseline and follow‑up gait/mobility measures and device logs demonstrating functional change.
- Report adverse events and therapy adherence as part of follow‑up documentation.
Provide operative/device history and replacement justification
When requesting replacement of an implanted device (e.g., Remede generator), provide operative/device history and justification for replacement such as documented battery depletion or device end‑of‑life evidence (mean Remede battery life ~4.2 years reported).
- Include prior implant operative report, device interrogation showing battery status, and reason for replacement.
- Cite observed mean battery life data if relevant to timing of replacement.
Documentation of test stimulation response and prior conservative management
For permanent implantable neuromodulation devices (e.g., SNS for constipation), provide test‑stimulation records, symptom diaries, validated symptom scores, and documentation of prior conservative management as prerequisites for coverage review.
- Attach test‑stimulation response documentation and bowel diaries or standardized constipation/incontinence scores.
- Detail prior therapies attempted and duration of conservative management.
Include device usage logs and objective tremor outcomes
To support continued home‑use coverage of wrist‑worn tremor devices, include device usage logs, on‑board accelerometry tremor power metrics, clinician‑rated TETRAS and patient BF‑ADL scores at baseline and follow‑up demonstrating benefit.
- Provide device session logs, objective accelerometer tremor power pre/post metrics, and clinician/patient rated outcome scales over the home‑use period.
- Report adverse events (e.g., skin irritation) and adherence rates.
Use of ICD‑10‑CM G25.0 and diagnostic documentation
When using the ET diagnosis code (ICD‑10‑CM G25.0) as part of enrollment or coverage logic, ensure at least two diagnostic claims or equivalent diagnostic documentation are present and that the physician confirmed the neurologic diagnosis on the prescription form, as done in cited trials.
- Provide ≥2 medical claims with ICD‑10‑CM G25.0 separated by ≥7 days within the last 3 years or equivalent documentation.
- Include physician confirmation of diagnosis on prescription and screening questionnaire results.
FES ambulation selection criteria not met — denial risk
Failure to meet all Parastep (FES ambulation) selection criteria (intact lower motor units, ability to transfer/stand, completion of ≥32 PT sessions over 3 months, etc.) will render FES for walking not medically necessary and is a basis for denial.
- Confirm intact lower motor units (L1 and below), ability to transfer independently and stand ≥3 minutes, hand function to operate controls.
- Provide PT training records showing completion of ≥32 sessions over 3 months.
Excessive NMES daily use (>2 hours) — denial risk
Use of NMES for more than 2 hours within a 24‑hour period is considered not medically necessary per the policy; claims documenting excessive daily use risk denial.
- Ensure prescribed and documented daily NMES use does not exceed 2 hours in any 24‑hour period.
- If longer use is proposed, provide explicit supporting clinical justification and trial evidence.
Not‑covered HCPCS triggers — denial risk
Billing with HCPCS codes that the policy lists as 'not covered for indications listed in the CPB' (examples include A4544, E0743, L8720/L8721, A4560) may trigger claim denials; ensure codes align with covered indications and documented selection criteria.
- Verify the HCPCS billed matches a covered indication and that selection criteria supporting coverage are documented.
- Avoid using HCPCS flagged as not covered for the CPB indications unless coverage criteria are explicitly met.
Not‑covered peroneal stimulator/system codes (e.g., E0770) — denial risk
Use of peroneal stimulator/system HCPCS codes explicitly listed as not covered for CPB indications (for example E0770) may trigger denials; submit detailed clinical justification and evidence if using these codes for off‑label or non‑CPB indications.
- If E0770 or similar codes are submitted, include documentation that the indication falls within a covered exception and meets policy criteria.
- Provide trial data or device‑specific evidence to support medical necessity for non‑covered code use.
TEBS limited utility — denial risk
Transurethral electrical bladder stimulation (TEBS) has limited clinical benefit and programs have ceased accepting new patients; requests for TEBS as effective therapy are at risk for denial due to time‑intensive procedure and lack of durable benefit in trials.
- Provide rigorous objective evidence if asserting benefit for TEBS in a specific patient; otherwise, expect nonsupport for coverage.
- Highlight that TEBS trials demonstrated limited urodynamic and functional improvement.
No explicit administrative prior authorization triggers present
There is no explicit administrative prior authorization or coding denial trigger in many background sections — reviewers should rely on the policy’s coverage statements (covered when selection criteria are met) and the listed code tables to determine PA needs.
- Use the policy’s covered‑when‑selection‑criteria language and specific code lists to decide when PA is required.
- Background evidence summaries alone do not constitute administrative PA rules.
Remede System contraindications — denial risk
Claims for the Remede System submitted for patients with active infection or those requiring MRI are contraindicated and may be denied; verify contraindications before authorization and document absence of active infection and MRI dependence.
- Document absence of active infection and whether the patient requires MRI before approving Remede device implantation.
- Include PSG/AHI data and prior therapy attempts to support device candidacy.
Adverse events and limited efficacy (SNS) — denial risk
High device‑related adverse event rates and inconsistent efficacy for sacral neuromodulation in constipation are documented; lack of demonstrated benefit or complications may lead to coverage denial for SNS in chronic constipation.
- Provide long‑term follow‑up data, complication history, and objective symptom measures to support a PA for SNS.
- Be aware that RCTs for constipation have not consistently shown benefit and reported substantial AEs.
Evidence limitations may affect coverage — denial risk
Single‑session, open‑label, or small uncontrolled studies without durability data may not support long‑term coverage decisions; absence of randomized or durable evidence is a common basis for denial of chronic home‑use claims.
- Attach randomized controlled trial data or longer‑term controlled follow‑up when available.
- If only single‑session or open‑label evidence exists, expect additional documentation requests or denial for long‑term coverage.
Data insufficiency may affect coverage decisions
Missing or poor‑quality device measurement data (e.g., incomplete accelerometry, voluntary survey nonresponse) in real‑world datasets can prevent demonstration of effectiveness and may result in denial or requests for additional documentation.
- Ensure device‑recorded data are complete and linked to clinician assessments when submitted for PA or continued coverage.
- Provide objective pre/post device metrics rather than solely voluntary surveys.
Evidence insufficiency for wearable NMES — denial risk
Lack of robust clinical evidence for wearable NMES devices (e.g., geko T‑3/W‑3) may trigger coverage denial or requests for supporting documentation demonstrating clinical value for the specific indication.
- When seeking coverage for wearable NMES, include device‑specific FDA clearance details and clinical evidence supporting the intended use.
- Be prepared to supply device logs, outcome measures, and rationale when evidence is limited.
Insufficient group‑level efficacy in intermittent claudication trial — denial risk
A multicenter RCT of NMES for intermittent claudication failed to show statistically significant improvement in absolute walking distance across the whole cohort at 3 months; lack of group‑level efficacy can be cited to deny broad coverage for IC populations.
- Document why the patient may differ from trial populations (e.g., mild claudication subgroup) if asserting benefit.
- Consider supervised exercise therapy (SET) evidence and prior SET attempts in the record.
Evidence limited outside studied populations — denial risk
Lack of evidence for populations outside those studied (for example, TOMAC data largely in medication‑refractory moderate‑to‑severe RLS) may lead to denial when patients do not match trial populations; ensure alignment with trial inclusion or provide robust justification.
- If treating medication‑naïve or mild RLS patients with TOMAC, provide explicit supportive evidence as trials focused on refractory moderate‑to‑severe cases.
- For devices studied in specific cohorts, include matching baseline severity and prior therapy history in PA documentation.
Medical Necessity Considerations & Decision Nodes
Rental, Purchase and Replacement Rules
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| FES devices for walking (e.g., Parastep I) | |
| Purchase — replacement allowed if original device met medical necessity, is no longer under warranty, and cannot be repaired | |
| Diaphragmatic/phrenic stimulation systems | |
| Purchase — replacement permitted when original device met medical necessity and is no longer under warranty and cannot be repaired |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| External NMES units (HCPCS examples: E0745, E0731, A4556-A4595) | |
| Purchase vs rental not specified in excerpt | |
| Implantable neurostimulators and components (HCPCS examples: L8680-L8689) | |
| Purchase vs rental not specified in excerpt |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| NESS H200 / Handmaster (upper‑extremity surface neuroprosthesis) | |
| Purchase |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| Vocare / Finetech‑Brindley (sacral anterior root stimulator with posterior rhizotomy) | |
| Purchase (implantable system) — intended as an implanted device rather than rented DME |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| WalkAide (peroneal nerve stimulator) | |
| Purchase | |
| NESS L300 / BioNESS L300 (peroneal/foot‑drop stimulators) | |
| Purchase |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| Various foot‑drop and wearable neuromodulation devices discussed in these sections | |
| No rental vs purchase rules specified in these chunks |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| Remede phrenic nerve stimulator (transvenous phrenic nerve stimulation) | |
| Purchase — implantable system; replacements documented for battery depletion |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| Remede System (implantable PNS system) | |
| Purchase — implantable device pathway; generator replacement described for battery depletion (mean battery life ~4.2 years) |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| Garment‑integrated NMES (e.g., KneeHAB II) | |
| Rental or purchase (both rental and purchase noted) | |
| Portable NMES units / combination NMES-TENS devices (e.g., Empi Phoenix, QB1, Kneehab XP) | |
| Rental or purchase (both rental and purchase noted) |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| Wearable multi‑channel NMES and surface FES devices (multi‑channel wearable systems) | |
| Purchase |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| Cala Trio / TAPS (wrist‑worn peripheral nerve stimulator) | |
| Purchase — prescribed for home use; device is FDA‑cleared and described as prescribed home device |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| geko T‑3 and geko W‑3 (wearable NMES OnPulse devices) | |
| Capped rental — disposable after use and replaced as required (device applied and discarded after use) |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| geko (disposable adhesive wearable NMES) | |
| Purchase for single‑use consumable application (device removed/discarded after use) | |
| MyoCycle Home (FES cycle device) | |
| Purchase — FDA‑cleared home‑use therapeutic device |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| TOMAC (Tonic Motor Activation) system — wearable peroneal nerve stimulation | |
| No explicit rental vs purchase rules provided in excerpt — described as wearable system for ongoing home use | |
| Walkasins lower‑limb sensory prosthesis | |
| No explicit rental vs purchase rules provided in excerpt — described as wearable system for ongoing home use |
| Device / System | Purchase vs Rental Rule |
|---|---|
| Walkasins and similar lower‑limb wearable neuromodulation/sensory prostheses | |
| Purchase (policy notes devices intended for ongoing home use; purchase rule indicated in rental/purchase inventory) |
Replacement and Consumables
Required Documentation to Support Coverage
Supply documentation of criteria, training completion, and device warranty/repair history
Provide clinical documentation showing the patient meets device‑specific medical necessity criteria, evidence of training completion (e.g., ≥32 PT sessions for Parastep), and device warranty/repair attempts for replacement requests.
- Attach PT training logs, device repair history, and statements regarding warranty status for replacement claims.
- Ensure clinical notes explicitly map patient findings to the policy's selection criteria.
Physician prescription and justification required for form‑fitting garments
When a form‑fitting conductive garment is used, include a physician prescription and justification describing why conventional electrodes are impractical and documentation that the garment is FDA‑marketed (HCPCS E0731).
- Prescriber statement explaining large stimulation area, skin issues, or cast application that preclude conventional electrodes.
- Evidence of FDA marketing/clearance for the specific garment model.
Support all stimulator/lead/implant claims with medical necessity documentation
When billing covered HCPCS/CPT for stimulators, electrodes, leads, or implantable components, include medical necessity documentation that demonstrates the patient meets the policy's selection criteria for the specific code/device billed.
- Tie each billed code to the policy's listed covered codes and include clinical evidence that selection criteria are satisfied.
- Exclude billing codes that the policy lists as not covered for the indication.
Include laparoscopic motor point mapping and stimulation testing records for DPS
DPS implantation series referenced laparoscopic motor point mapping and intra‑muscular electrode implantation with perioperative assessments; include operative notes and stimulation testing records as applicable when seeking authorization.
- Attach laparoscopic motor point mapping reports, intra‑operative stimulation findings, and perioperative respiratory assessments.
- Include post‑operative conditioning/stimulation plans when available.
Document reflexes and cystometry thresholds for implant selection
For implanted sacral anterior root stimulation, document the presence of 3 of 4 non‑vesical sacral segment reflexes and cystometry showing phasic detrusor pressure thresholds (≥35 mm H2O female; ≥50 cm H2O male) to support implant candidacy.
- Provide cystometry reports and reflex testing documentation used to determine intact efferent supply to the bladder.
- Include trial stimulation/voiding trial results if performed.
Submit trial‑used objective outcome measures to support device benefit
Include objective functional outcome measures used in trials (e.g., 10‑m walk, 6‑minute walk, GaitRite FAP, mEFAP, Berg Balance Scale, TUG) when submitting medical necessity evidence for FES or wearable gait devices.
- Provide baseline and follow‑up scores for relevant functional tests to demonstrate treatment effect.
- If device is for balance/gait, include validated scales such as FGA or TUG as applicable.
Provide device history and battery depletion evidence for replacements
Provide operative/device history and justification for replacement claims (for example, evidence of battery depletion or device end‑of‑life such as mean Remede battery life ~4.2 years) to support implantable device replacement coverage.
- Attach prior implant operative reports, device interrogation showing battery status, and clinical rationale for replacement.
- Cite documented mean battery life where relevant (Remede ~4.2 years) to justify timing of replacement.
Provide test‑stimulation response and prior conservative management records for implants
When requesting coverage for permanent implantable neuromodulation, include documentation of test stimulation response and evidence of prior conservative management per trial designs and device selection practices.
- Attach test stimulation logs, symptom diaries, validated symptom scores, and a record of prior therapies and outcomes.
- Document any complications or reasons for proceeding to permanent implantation.
Include device usage logs and objective tremor metrics to support ongoing home‑use coverage
For continued home‑use coverage of tremor‑targeting devices, include device usage logs and objective outcome measures (e.g., TETRAS, BF‑ADL, wrist accelerometer tremor power) to document benefit over time.
- Submit device‑recorded accelerometry pre/post session metrics, clinician TETRAS scores, and patient BF‑ADL reports.
- Provide periodic follow‑up data showing sustained functional improvement to justify ongoing coverage.
Provide pre/post accelerometry and ADL assessments when using device logs in coverage decisions
If device logs or objective tremor measurements are used for coverage decisions, include pre/post postural hold accelerometry and ADL assessments as done in trials and post‑market studies.
- Provide examples of pre/post session accelerometry snapshots and associated ADL score changes.
- Include adherence data (frequency/duration of sessions) from device logs.
Not Covered / Experimental / Investigational Uses
The policy explicitly classifies a set of FES exercise devices — including the FES Power Trainer, ERGYS/REGYS systems, MyoCycle, RT series (RT200/RT300/RT600), and SpectraSTIM — as exercise equipment. These stationary FES exercise systems are considered excluded by most benefit plans and are treated as non‑covered exercise equipment rather than medically necessary DME.
The policy contains an explicit list of HCPCS, CPT and ICD‑10 codes and device categories that are not covered for the CPB‑listed indications. Representative HCPCS entries flagged as not covered include A4544, E0743, E0770, E0745 and codes for Walkasins (L8720/L8721); corresponding ICD‑10 diagnosis ranges (e.g., C00.0–C95.92) and neurologic codes such as G35 are detailed in the code tables and described as not covered when used for the listed indications.
TEBS is described in the policy as not producing beneficial effects in multiple studies; investigators reported limited urodynamic benefit and practical limitations (time‑consuming, labor intensive), and some programs stopped accepting new patients, supporting a not‑covered stance for TEBS as effective therapy.
The policy cites randomized studies of threshold electrical stimulation (TES) and transcutaneous electrical therapies in children with spastic diplegic cerebral palsy that showed no significant objective motor or ambulatory benefit. Based on these trial data, TES for spastic diplegic CP is listed among indications lacking demonstrated clinical benefit.
Wearable NMES devices (e.g., geko T‑3 and W‑3) are discussed as FDA‑cleared technologies but the policy emphasizes that clinical benefit has not been demonstrated for many indications. The document states a lack of evidence regarding their clinical value and identifies this as a reason to consider such devices not covered for some uses.
For postoperative recovery indications, the policy highlights systematic review findings that evidence for NMES is of low‑to‑very‑low certainty across many outcomes. Heterogeneous controls and low certainty of evidence limit confidence that NMES provides consistent postoperative benefit, supporting not‑covered or investigational designations for many recovery uses.
Definitions and Device Descriptions
Background and Clinical Evidence Summary
The policy provides an overview of mechanisms and categories of FES and NMES devices, noting that these systems deliver electrical stimulation to elicit muscle contraction for functional activities (FES) or to treat disuse atrophy (NMES). Representative device types described include transcutaneous FES for ambulation (Parastep I), garment‑integrated NMES, implantable diaphragmatic/phrenic pacing systems, peripheral stimulators (peroneal/foot‑drop devices), and wearable neuromodulation technologies.
The policy’s evidence commentaries repeatedly emphasize limitations: heterogeneity of trials, small sample sizes, short follow‑up, and insufficient high‑quality randomized data to demonstrate long‑term functional effectiveness for many indications (for example, FES after stroke). These limitations are cited as the reason further robust research is needed and as the basis for investigational or not‑medically‑necessary positions in several indication areas.
Policy Revision History
Policy 0677 became effective.
FDA approved the Remede System for treatment of moderate-to-severe central sleep apnea.
TOMAC (tonic motor activation) system received FDA marketing approval (April 2023) for treatment of medication-refractory restless legs syndrome.
Clinical Policy Bulletin 0677 last reviewed and updated.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.