Temporomandibular Disorders (TMD/TMJ) Management
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Aetna Policy 0028 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 0028 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Governs diagnostic, non-surgical, and surgical management of temporomandibular disorders for Aetna medical plans, including documentation and review requirements for TMJ surgery and coverage stance on various therapies.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria and Medical Necessity
Surgical Medical Necessity Criteria
TMJ surgery and specific procedures are considered medically necessary when ALL general criteria are met and the procedure-specific criteria are satisfied:
Exceptions for immediate surgical intervention (e.g., bony ankylosis, failed TMJ prosthetic implants).
Definition of arthrocentesis provided.
Examples of approved prostheses listed.
Non-surgical Management
Medically necessary non-surgical management — comprehensive conservative care includes ALL of the following unless contraindicated:
Appliances for bruxism typically excluded under medical plans; only one oral splint considered medically necessary for TMD/TMJ therapy; prolonged use >6 months not routinely necessary without individual review.
Policy sections (headers only)
Policy contains these titled sections that define coverage and medical necessity:
Section headers only in this excerpt; detailed criteria appear elsewhere in the policy.
Surgical intervention criteria
Covered when ALL of the following are met
NIH and specialty guidance emphasize conservative and reversible therapy first
Surgical intervention indicated only when nonsurgical therapy ineffective
Imaging and diagnostic criteria
Covered when ALL of the following are met
MRI is useful for disc morphology assessment though diagnostic efficacy evidence is limited; additional X‑rays beyond a panoramic view are typically reserved for surgical planning.
Alloplastic joint prosthesis
Policy considerations / coverage stance
Partial prosthesis safety/effectiveness questioned
Device‑specific outcomes and follow‑up completeness vary; certain older devices (eg, Vitek‑Kent, silastic implants) are not considered medically necessary.
Evidence-based coverage considerations (background)
Evidence summaries and implied coverage considerations
Derwich et al (2021) concluded adjunctive injections did not improve final outcomes and CS may have negative effects on cartilage.
Systematic reviews rate evidence quality as low and heterogeneous, limiting firm conclusions and supporting cautious use and documentation when requested.
Evidence insufficient to recommend widespread use; consider individual case documentation.
Clinical justification and prior therapy documentation advised for such interventions.
Evidence summaries and coverage considerations
Key evidence-based conclusions and considerations from cited systematic reviews and trials
Supports inclusion of manual therapy as part of conservative care but benefits modest and require documentation of response.
Both approaches may be used; document rationale if selecting combination therapy.
Comparative effectiveness remains uncertain; additional high‑quality trials needed.
Telemedicine may be appropriate for select patients but not replace in‑person exam when complexity warrants.
Recommend prior authorization and robust supporting evidence for use outside trials.
The policy lists multiple therapies and diagnostic technologies that Aetna considers experimental, investigational, or unproven for TMD/TMJ because of insufficient or low‑quality evidence. Examples include: artificial intelligence diagnostic algorithms; cephalometric or lateral skull x‑rays; computerized mandibular scan/kinesiography/jaw tracking; diagnostic study models; electromyography (EMG) / surface EMG; electronic registration devices (Myomonitor); genetic testing; joint vibration analysis; salivary stress biomarkers and circulating omentin‑1 measurements; thermography; autologous blood injections (including plasma rich in growth factors/PRGF and platelet‑rich plasma/PRP); bio‑oxidative ozone therapy; magnetic neurostimulator devices; MIRO therapy; gallium aluminum arsenide (GaAlAs) laser / photobiomodulation; cryo‑analgesia; intra‑articular injections of hyaluronic acid, bone marrow aspirate concentrate (BMAC), rituximab, or other biologics; stem cell therapies; and numerous other listed modalities (see policy for full enumeration).
The policy notes that some small preliminary trials report positive signals for certain modalities (for example, limited small trials of ozone therapy or magnetic stimulation), but emphasizes these findings are preliminary and require validation in well‑designed, larger studies before the treatments can be considered established.
Reversible intra‑oral appliances (occlusal splints) may be considered medically necessary for selected TMD/TMJ patients when there is documented clinically significant masticatory impairment with pain and/or loss of function. Only one oral splint or appliance is considered medically necessary for TMD/TMJ therapy. Appliances specifically for bruxism are typically excluded under Aetna medical plans and may be covered under dental plans; check benefit plan descriptions. Prolonged use greater than 6 months is not considered routinely medically necessary unless individual case documentation justifies continued use. Replacement of lost or stolen appliances is not covered; repairs or other replacements are subject to review.
The policy identifies specific CPT/HCPCS and dental codes that are either not covered for the indications listed or are subject to coverage conditions. Notable examples include 0232T (PRP injection) and 0481T (autologous white blood cell concentrate) as codes called out for non‑covered indications in the bulletin; other codes (e.g., certain 2056x trigger‑point codes, 20560/20561) and numerous surgical/reconstructive CPT ranges and dental procedure codes are likewise listed as not covered for TMD indications in this policy excerpt. See the coding section for the complete code lists and specific coverage status.
The policy states that certain total joint prostheses removed from the market (for example, the Vitek‑Kent total joint prosthesis) and silastic implants are not considered medically necessary due to historical problems with biocompatibility, fragmentation, wear, and foreign‑body reactions. By contrast, FDA‑approved systems such as the W. Lorenz total TMJ replacement have specific approved indications and supporting case‑series data, and are considered under the policy when prosthesis‑specific criteria and prior treatment documentation are met.
The policy characterizes irreversible mandibular repositioning procedures — including equilibration, orthodontics aimed at occlusal change, full‑mouth reconstruction, and orthognathic surgery — as generally indefensible as medically necessary for most TMDs. Authors cited argue biologic homeostasis of the stomatognathic system supports conservative care and therefore irreversible repositioning procedures are at risk for denial unless strong, case‑specific medical justification is provided.
The policy does not support routine coverage of intra‑articular biologics or adjuncts (for example, PRGF/PRP, hyaluronic acid, or other intra‑articular biologic agents) for TMD/TMJ without robust clinical justification. Systematic reviews and RCTs cited show heterogeneous and inconsistent results: arthrocentesis alone often improves pain and function and additional intra‑articular supplements have not consistently produced durable added benefit (one RCT of PRGF showed no added improvement at 2 years), and overall evidence quality is low or inconsistent for routine adoption.
Background excerpts in the policy do not assert any single blanket coverage exclusion beyond the enumerated experimental/unproven therapies and code‑level restrictions; clinical applicability and plan benefit language determine final coverage scope. The document therefore contains no separate explicit universal exclusion statement in the background snippets provided.
Evidence for cryo‑analgesia in TMJ pain is very limited and derives mainly from small retrospective series; the policy notes a 17‑patient retrospective report with mixed duration of relief and that major clinical overviews (e.g., UpToDate) do not list cryo‑analgesia as a standard management option. Thus cryo‑analgesia is not established as standard care for TMD.
Telemedicine may be useful for certain TMD assessments, but the policy cautions that remote evaluation lacks direct physical examination of jaw range of motion and muscle strength. Therefore telemedicine may be unsuitable for severe or complex TMD cases that require comprehensive in‑person examination and imaging to establish surgical or invasive treatment indications.
Procedures such as disc plication, orthognathic surgery, and other permanent mandibular repositioning approaches are described with coverage caveats: disc plication outside specified indications and permanent mandibular repositioning (e.g., full‑mouth reconstruction, orthognathic surgery) are listed among interventions that are generally not medically necessary for typical TMD presentations, and therefore require strong, documented justification when requested.
Multiple technologies and procedures are explicitly categorized as experimental or unproven due to preliminary or limited data. Examples called out include bio‑oxidative ozone therapy, magnetic neurostimulator devices, MIRO therapy, and other novel modalities; the policy emphasizes that available studies are small and preliminary and that effectiveness has not been established.
The policy states that specialized radiological studies (for example, cephalometric x‑rays, tomograms, submental vertex views) are not medically necessary for routine evaluation of TMD unless surgery is being considered; advanced imaging is appropriate when it will affect surgical planning or management.
The policy reports that low‑level laser therapy (LLLT), peripheral or intra‑articular ketamine injections, and certain local NMDA‑targeted injections have not demonstrated reliable clinical benefit in controlled trials. LLLT randomized trials cited showed no significant advantage over placebo in several studies, and intra‑articular or peripheral ketamine did not demonstrate clinically meaningful effects, leading the policy to not support these as established treatments.
Electromyography (EMG) and joint vibration analysis (JVA) lack sufficient diagnostic accuracy for TMD. Systematic reviews cited in the policy found poor sensitivity, inconsistent specificity, and methodological limitations, concluding there is no evidence to support routine use of EMG or JVA as reliable diagnostic tests for TMD.
The policy highlights treatments with insufficient or low‑quality evidence of durable benefit. Examples include PRGF/PRP where randomized data show inconsistent or transient improvements (one RCT found no added benefit at 2 years), and botulinum toxin A (BTX‑A) where systematic reviews report small short‑term effects but overall low‑quality, inconsistent evidence insufficient to support routine use. Intra‑articular biologic agents such as infliximab in refractory JIA TMJ disease showed progression in many patients in retrospective series.
MIRO therapy is noted in the policy as having a lack of evidence regarding its effectiveness for TMD/TMJ dysfunctions; available descriptions are informational and the policy states that evidence is insufficient to support its routine use.
Bio‑oxidative ozone therapy and magnetic neurostimulator treatments are supported only by small preliminary studies; the policy views their effectiveness as not established and calls for validation in well‑designed trials before coverage as standard care.
Low‑level GaAlAs laser therapy (a form of photobiomodulation) has mixed and generally insufficient evidence: meta‑analyses and randomized trials report variable results depending on device parameters and dosing, and the policy concludes current evidence is inadequate to draw strong conclusions about benefits for masticatory muscle pain or maximal mouth opening.
Artificial intelligence diagnostic algorithms for TMD have been studied in small retrospective and case‑control series; a systematic review found pooled accuracy but rated the certainty of evidence as very low because of heterogeneity and high risk of bias, and the policy does not regard AI algorithms as established standalone diagnostic tools.
Procedures with only preliminary evidence — for example, intra‑articular bone marrow aspirate concentrate (BMAC) injections for TMJ osteoarthritis — are considered investigational. A small pilot trial (24 patients) reported trends toward joint repair at 12–18 months versus HA, but the policy emphasizes these findings are preliminary and larger confirmatory trials with longer follow‑up are required before widespread adoption.
Billing, Codes, and Diagnosis
| 20552 | Injection(s); single or multiple trigger point(s), 1 or 2 muscle(s). |
| 20553 | Injection(s); single or multiple trigger point(s), 3 or more muscles. |
| 20605 | Arthrocentesis, aspiration and/or injection, intermediate joint or bursa; without ultrasound guidance [not covered for viscosupplementation injection] [not covered for intra-articular injections of rituximab] [not covered for Intra-articular injection of analgesic]. |
| 20611 | Arthrocentesis, aspiration and/or injection, major joint or bursa; with ultrasound guidance, with permanent recording and reporting. |
| 20910 | Cartilage graft; costochondral [autologous]. |
| 21010 | Arthrotomy, tempomandibular joint. |
| 21050 | Condylectomy, tempomandibular joint (separate procedure). |
| 21060 | Meniscectomy, partial or complete, tempomandibular joint (separate procedure). |
| 21070 | Coronoidectomy (separate procedure). |
| 21073 | Manipulation of temporomandibular joint(s) (TMJ), therapeutic, requiring an anesthesia service (ie, general or monitored anesthesia care). |
| 21193 | Reconstruction of mandibular rami, horizontal, vertical, C, or L osteotomy; without bone graft. |
| 21198 | Osteotomy, mandible, segmental. |
| 21240 | Arthroplasty, temporomandibular joint, with or without autograft (includes obtaining graft). |
| 21242 | Arthroplasty, temporomandibular joint, with allograft. |
| 21243 | Arthroplasty, temporomandibular joint, with prosthetic joint replacement. |
| 21255 | Reconstruction of zygomatic arch and glenoid fossa with bone and cartilage (includes obtaining autografts). |
| 21440 | Closed treatment of mandibular or maxillary alveolar ridge fracture (separate procedure). |
| 21445 | Open treatment of mandibular or maxillary alveolar ridge fracture (separate procedure). |
| 21450 | Closed treatment of mandibular fracture; without manipulation. |
| 21451 | Closed treatment of mandibular fracture; with manipulation. |
| 70355 | Orthopantogram (eg, panoramic x-ray). |
| 76536 | Ultrasound, soft tissues of head and neck; real time with image documentation [ultrasonography of temporomandibular joints]. |
| 90832-90840 | Psychotherapy codes. |
| 90901 | Biofeedback training by any modality. |
| 97010 | Application of a modality; hot or cold packs. |
| 97110 | Therapeutic procedure; therapeutic exercises. |
| 97810-97814 | Acupuncture codes (initial and additional 15-minute units, with/without electrical stimulation). |
| J0585 | Botulinum toxin type A, per unit. |
| E0720 | Transcutaneous electrical nerve stimulation (TENS) device, 2 lead. |
| D0330 | Panoramic radiographic image. |
| 0232T | Injection(s), platelet rich plasma, any site, including image guidance, harvesting and preparation when performed. |
| 0481T | Injection(s), autologous white blood cell concentrate (autologous protein solution), any site, including image guidance, harvesting and preparation, when performed. |
| 20560 | Needle insertion(s) without injection(s); 1 or 2 muscle(s). |
| 20561 | Needle insertion(s) without injection(s); 3 or more muscles. |
| 70328 | Radiologic examination, temporomandibular joint, open and closed mouth; unilateral [covered only when used in conjunction with anticipated surgical management]. |
| 70486 | Computerized tomography, maxillofacial area; without contrast material [covered only when used in conjunction with anticipated surgical management]. |
| A4556 | Electrodes (e.g., apnea monitor), per pair. (listed as HCPCS not covered for indications in CPB) |
| A4595 | Electrical stimulator supplies, 2 lead, per month, (e.g., TENS, NMES). (listed as HCPCS not covered for indications in CPB) |
| D5110-D5899 | Prosthodontics (removable) — ranges listed as not covered for indications in CPB. |
| D7899 | Unspecified TMD therapy, by report. (listed) |
| D0702 | 2-D cephalometric radiographic image – image capture only. |
| D5931 | Obturator prostheses. |
| D5933 | Obturator prostheses. |
| D5936 | Obturator prostheses. |
| D5934 | Mandibular resection prosthesis with guide flange. |
| D5982 | Surgical stent. |
| D5988 | Surgical splint. |
| D7630 | Mandible, open reduction (teeth immobilized, if present). |
| D7640 | Mandible, closed reduction (teeth immobilized, if present). |
| D7730 | Mandible, open reduction. |
| J0702 | Injection, betamethasone acetate 3 mg and betamethasone sodium phosphate 3 mg. |
| J1100 | Injection, dexamethasone sodium phosphate, 1 mg. |
| J1700 | Injection, hydrocortisone acetate, up to 25 mg. |
| J1720 | Injection, hydrocortisone sodium succinate, up to 100 mg. |
| J2650 | Injection, prednisolone acetate, up to 1 ml. |
| J3300 | Injection, triamcinolone acetonide, preservative free, 1 mg. |
| M26.601 - M26.69 | Temporomandibular joint disorders. |
| S02.400A - S02.413S S02.42xA - S02.42xS S02.600A - S02.69xS | Fracture of mandible, closed or open, or malar and maxillary bones closed or open. |
| S03.00xA - S03.02xS | Dislocation of jaw (closed or open). |
Provider Requirements, Prior Authorization, and Documentation
TMJ surgery precertification review required
All TMJ surgical precertification requests or claims are reviewed by Aetna's Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery (OMS) Patient Management Unit; submit a problem-specific history (Aetna TMJ Questionnaire), physical exam, TMJ imaging reports, records documenting 3–6 months of non-surgical management (nature, results, and findings), and the proposed treatment plan for review.
- Include Aetna Temporomandibular Disorder Questionnaire and problem-specific history
- Provide TMJ radiographs/diagnostic imaging reports and physical examination findings
- Document 3–6 months of non-surgical management with results and the proposed surgical plan
Imaging covered only if tied to anticipated surgery
Certain imaging studies (e.g., CT, MRI, specified TMJ radiographs) are considered medically necessary only when used in conjunction with anticipated surgical management; when submitting imaging, link the study to planned surgery or surgical evaluation.
Prior authorization for total TMJ replacement — document indication and prior treatments
Requests for total TMJ replacement must document FDA‑approved indication and prior unsuccessful conservative and surgical treatments; provide imaging demonstrating the device‑level criteria (e.g., loss of smooth fossa, damaged condyles, recurrent ankylosis) and prior treatment history.
- Document prior conservative management and other surgical attempts
- Include imaging showing one or more device indication findings (e.g., non–ball-shaped condyles, loss of articular fossa)
Irreversible mandibular repositioning — strong justification required
Irreversible mandibular repositioning procedures (equilibration, orthodontics, full‑mouth reconstruction, orthognathic surgery) are generally not considered medically necessary for most TMDs and will require strong, case-specific justification if prior authorization is sought.
- Provide clear documentation of conservative‑treatment failure and specific medical necessity if requesting authorization
- Anticipate high risk for denial when irreversible repositioning is proposed without robust justification
PA recommended for intra‑articular biologics and adjuncts (PRGF/PRP/HA)
Prior authorization is recommended for intra‑articular biologic or adjunctive injections (PRGF/PRP, hyaluronic acid, other intra‑articular biologics) because evidence is inconsistent; include prior conservative care and rationale when requesting coverage.
- Include prior conservative treatment attempts and results
- Provide trial-level evidence or rationale supporting off‑label/adjunctive IA biologic use
No explicit prior authorization code requirements in this section
This background section summarizes diagnostic and procedural evidence (ultrasound guidance, CT confirmation, imaging sensitivity/specificity) but does not specify explicit prior authorization code requirements or instructions.
- Use the documented imaging and technique evidence to support clinical submissions, but do not expect code‑level PA rules here
Document imaging guidance and confirmation for image‑guided TMJ injections/surgery
When planning image‑guided intra‑articular injections or TMJ surgery, document the imaging guidance modality (e.g., ultrasound), CT confirmation if used, laterality/number of injections, and accuracy of needle placement to support the procedure.
- Record imaging guidance modality (US, CT) and whether CT confirmation was performed
- Document needle placement accuracy (CT‑confirmed intra‑articular placement rates) and sterile technique
PA recommended for experimental biologic IA injections (e.g., BMAC)
Emerging intra‑articular biologic procedures (for example, BMAC for TMJ osteoarthritis) are preliminary; obtain prior authorization and submit supporting trial data, rationale, and outcomes when requesting coverage.
- Provide the small‑trial data, follow‑up intervals, and justification for use in the individual patient
- Anticipate investigational review and potential denial without strong supporting evidence
No specific prior authorization code instructions in this portion
This portion of the policy provides background evidence and does not list specific prior authorization codes, numeric PA rules, or code‑level submission instructions.
- Refer to other sections for code lists and PA procedures; no new code requirements are stated here
Surgery only after failure of comprehensive non‑surgical management (≥3 months)
Surgery is considered only after documented failure of comprehensive non‑surgical management — include documentation of at least 3 months (typically 3–6 months) of professional physical therapy, pharmacologic therapy, behavioral therapy, manipulation (if indicated), and reversible intra‑oral appliances where appropriate.
- Document nature and results of non‑surgical treatments over 3–6 months
- Confirm that surgery is being considered only after these measures have been exhausted except in urgent cases (e.g., bony ankylosis)
Document conservative therapies and trials before surgery
Non‑surgical conservative therapies (occlusal appliance therapy, physical therapy, medical management, behavioral therapy) should be tried and documented prior to consideration of surgical interventions.
- Document occlusal appliance use, physical therapy courses, medications, and behavioral therapy sessions and outcomes
- Appliance therapy trials for intracapsular problems should be provided for at least 2–3 months when tolerated
Conservative‑first approach — document manual therapy and therapeutic exercise
Conservative, low‑cost, reversible therapies such as manual therapy, therapeutic exercise, and related non‑invasive modalities are primary management options and should be documented as tried prior to invasive or irreversible procedures.
- Record dates, frequency, and response to manual therapy, therapeutic exercise, and counseling
- Include objective outcome measures (pain VAS, MMO/MMI) when available
Consider arthrocentesis as first invasive step; document response before adjuncts
Given consistent evidence that arthrocentesis alone reduces pain and improves jaw function and that adjunctive intra‑articular supplements have not consistently improved outcomes, clinicians should consider arthrocentesis before adding intra‑articular supplements and document the rationale.
- Document indication for arthrocentesis and clinical response before pursuing adjunctive IA injections
- If adjunctive IA agents are used, include justification and prior arthrocentesis outcomes
No formal step‑therapy rules specified
No formal step‑therapy program is prescribed in the policy; evidence summaries note arthrocentesis alone often provided benefit and that adjunctive IA supplements did not consistently add durable improvement.
- Although no mandated step‑therapy algorithm exists, document prior treatments and responses when requesting advanced therapies
- Use evidence summaries to support clinical decision‑making rather than relying on a formal step protocol
Document trials of conservative therapy before invasive procedures
Evidence supports conservative first‑line treatments (NSAIDs, non‑biologic DMARDs where applicable, counseling, manual/physical therapy, splints) prior to more invasive procedures; document trials, duration, and outcomes.
- Record medication trials (agents, doses, duration) and response
- Include objective outcome measures and timeframes (e.g., 1, 3, 6 months) when available
Conservative combination therapies should be documented prior to escalation
Combination conservative therapies (counseling, manual therapy, physical therapy, splint therapy) have small effect sizes but are supported as initial care; document use of combination approaches before escalating to invasive or experimental treatments.
- Provide records of combined conservative modalities and objective measures of improvement or lack thereof
- Note duration and adherence to combination therapy when included in surgical review
No step‑therapy mandates in these excerpts — still document prior care
There are no formal step‑therapy mandates in the cited sections; however, document prior non‑surgical care and responses when submitting requests for advanced or experimental treatments.
- Include clear chronology of prior therapies and objective outcomes when seeking authorization for non‑standard procedures
Submit Aetna TMJ Questionnaire, exam, imaging, and 3–6 months non‑surgical therapy documentation
Submit the Aetna Temporomandibular Disorder Questionnaire, a focused physical exam, TMJ imaging reports, and records documenting 3–6 months of non‑surgical therapy (nature, results, and findings) along with the proposed treatment plan for surgical reviews.
- Attach completed Aetna TMJ Questionnaire and problem‑specific history
- Provide detailed documentation of non‑surgical therapy trials, including dates, providers, interventions, and outcomes
Imaging codes covered only with anticipated surgical management — document linkage
Certain imaging CPT codes (e.g., 70328, 70330, 70336, 70355, 70486, 70487, 70488, 70540–70543) are covered only when performed in conjunction with anticipated surgical management; when billing these codes, include documentation linking the imaging to planned surgery.
- When submitting claims for these imaging codes, include the surgical plan or indication for operative management
- If imaging is for initial evaluation without surgical intent, these codes may not be considered medically necessary
Use and document appropriate procedure/HCPCS/CPT/Dental and ICD‑10 codes
Bill using the appropriate procedure and HCPCS/CPT/dental codes listed in the policy and include relevant ICD‑10 diagnosis codes (e.g., M26.601–M26.69) when selection criteria are met; ensure coding matches documented indication and imaging.
- Use covered CPT/HCPCS/D codes from the policy when submission aligns with medical necessity criteria
- Include ICD‑10 diagnosis codes for TMJ disorders when selection criteria are satisfied
Documentation expectations for orthodontic TMD interventions — ≥2 baseline signs/symptoms
Orthodontic TMD intervention studies require clear diagnostic criteria and documentation of at least two signs or symptoms of TMD at baseline; when submitting orthodontic interventions for TMD, include baseline signs/symptoms and trial details.
- Document at least two baseline TMD signs/symptoms and exclude splint‑only or prior surgical cases if applicable
- Include study‑like criteria if relying on orthodontic intervention evidence
Suggested documentation for IA biologic/adjunct requests (include prior operative details and outcomes)
When requesting intra‑articular biologic or adjunctive injections (PRGF/PRP/HA/other biologics), include prior operative details (arthroscopy/arthrocentesis), randomized trial‑level justification if available, baseline pain and mandibular opening measurements, imaging findings, prior conservative therapy attempts, and rationale for off‑label or adjunctive use.
- Provide prior operative reports (arthroscopy/arthrocentesis) and outcomes
- Include baseline and follow-up outcome measures (pain VAS, MMO/MMI) and relevant trial evidence
Document imaging guidance modality and CT confirmation for image‑guided injections
Document the imaging guidance modality (e.g., ultrasound) and any CT confirmation used for image‑guided TMJ injections, and specify laterality and number of injections to support accuracy and appropriateness.
- Record use of US guidance and whether CT confirmation was performed
- Indicate laterality, number of injections, agent and dose when applicable
Required procedural and outcomes documentation for IA TMJ injections
For intra‑articular TMJ injections, record the indication (e.g., JIA with MRI evidence of TMJ inflammation), imaging guidance used (US, CT), agent and dose (e.g., triamcinolone hexacetonide/acetonide), and pre/post outcome measures (pain, maximal incisal opening, MRI findings); lack of these procedural and outcomes data may risk denial.
- Include agent name and dose, imaging guidance, and objective pre/post measures (pain VAS, MIO/MMO)
- Attach MRI findings when used to justify indication (e.g., JIA inflammation)
Document trial design and outcomes when relying on evidence for biologics or BMAC
When relying on clinical evidence to justify manual therapy, IA biologics (PRP/PRF), or BMAC, document trial design, outcomes, follow‑up intervals (e.g., 1, 3, 6, 12, 18 months), and specific outcome measures (pain VAS, MMO) from cited RCTs or studies to support medical necessity.
- Provide cited trial details (design, sample size, follow‑up) and link trial outcomes to the patient’s clinical course
- Include objective measures and timepoints used in the supporting studies
Administrative/contact info — no new clinical documentation requirements
Administrative and contact information is provided in this policy; this section does not add additional clinical documentation requirements beyond those specified elsewhere in the bulletin.
- Use the contact and administrative references in the policy for submission queries
- Follow the documentation lists in the surgical and procedural sections for clinical requirements
Provide complete problem‑specific documentation for OMS surgical review
Requests for TMJ surgery undergo OMS patient management unit review and must include problem‑specific history, exam, imaging, documentation of 3–6 months of non‑surgical management, and the proposed surgical plan; failure to provide these items may delay or result in denial.
- Attach Aetna TMJ Questionnaire and detailed non‑surgical treatment chronology
- Provide imaging and explicit surgical rationale tied to failed conservative care
Some CPT codes not covered for specified indications — check policy lists
Certain CPT codes are listed as not covered for specified indications in the policy (for example, arthrocentesis for viscosupplementation injection and some intra‑articular injection indications); follow the policy code exclusions to avoid claim denials.
- Do not bill covered benefits for indications explicitly listed as not covered (e.g., viscosupplementation via arthrocentesis)
- Review the policy’s CPT/HCPCS lists before submission
Certain CPT/HCPCS/Dental codes are not covered for listed indications
Specific CPT/HCPCS/dental codes (e.g., 0232T, 0481T and multiple dental/prosthodontic codes) are identified as not covered for indications listed in the CPB; do not submit claims for these codes for excluded indications.
- Verify that the billed code is not among those listed as not covered for the requested indication
- If using an investigational/experimental procedure, expect prior authorization denial without compelling supporting evidence
Specialized radiology not necessary unless surgery planned — document surgical intent
Specialized radiological studies (e.g., cephalometric x‑rays, tomograms) are not medically necessary for evaluating TMD unless surgery is being considered; if performed for surgical planning, document the surgical intent.
- When ordering specialized radiology, include statement linking imaging to anticipated surgery
- Routine use of these studies for non‑surgical evaluation may not be supported
High denial risk for irreversible mandibular repositioning procedures
Irreversible mandibular repositioning procedures are argued not medically necessary for most TMDs and are at high risk for denial when not supported by documented conservative‑treatment failure and compelling medical necessity.
- Provide exhaustive prior conservative treatment documentation if requesting authorization
- Anticipate denials if the procedure is irreversible and lacks strong, case‑specific justification
Potential denial triggers when evidence of durable benefit is limited
Interventions lacking clear or durable benefit in cited studies (for example, PRGF showing no added improvement at 2 years; inconsistent benefits of adjunctive IA supplements) may trigger medical necessity review or denial if submitted without strong supporting clinical justification.
- Include long‑term outcome data and justification when requesting coverage for adjunctive IA agents
- Be prepared for investigational review for biologics with limited or mixed evidence
Document image‑guided injection accuracy and confirmation
Ultrasound guidance with CT confirmation achieved high intra‑articular needle placement accuracy in cited cohorts; document image‑guided technique and confirmation to support claims of accurate intra‑articular delivery.
- Report whether CT confirmation was used and CT‑confirmed intra‑articular placement rates if available
- Document sterile technique and any complications
Image‑guided injection documentation required — accuracy and sterile technique
For image‑guided TMJ injections, document needle placement accuracy, use of sterile technique, imaging guidance modality, and any complications; failure to document technique or outcomes may prompt medical necessity review or denial.
- Include CT confirmation or other imaging evidence of intra‑articular placement when available
- Record procedural details (needle approach, guidance used, agent/dose, sterile field) in the operative note
Telemedicine documentation risk — remote assessment may be insufficient for complex TMD
Telemedicine evaluations lack a physical examination component and may be insufficient for complex or severe TMD cases; claims relying solely on remote assessment could be at risk for denial if documentation does not justify remote‑only management.
- When using telemedicine for TMD management, document why in‑person exam was not necessary or feasible
- Provide supplemental objective data (imaging, prior in‑person exams) to support management decisions
No explicit authorization/denial criteria in this policy history section
This background/policy history portion does not specify explicit authorization or denial criteria; refer to the policy’s clinical sections for actionable prior authorization and documentation requirements.
- Use the clinical criteria and documentation sections to prepare submissions; policy history contains administrative details
Background and Evidence Summaries
Temporomandibular disorders (TMD) encompass a range of intracapsular (e.g., disc displacement, degenerative joint disease, synovitis) and extracapsular (muscle pain/myospasm) conditions affecting the masticatory system. Management emphasizes a conservative first‑line approach — professional physical therapy, pharmacologic management, behavioral therapies, manipulation when indicated, and reversible intra‑oral appliances — with surgery reserved for intracapsular pathology confirmed on imaging and after failure of appropriate non‑surgical care.
Evidence-based coverage considerations (background)
Evidence summaries and implied coverage considerations
Derwich et al (2021) emphasized lack of added benefit from adjunctive injections in many studies.
Fernandez Sanroman (2016), Gutierrez (2022), Manfredini (2010), and Derwich (2021) summarize inconsistent and low‑quality evidence.
Evidence reviews (Chen 2015; Keenan 2015; Machado 2020) found variable trial results and limited high‑quality data.
Evidence summaries and coverage considerations
Key evidence-based conclusions and considerations from cited systematic reviews and trials
Vieira et al (2023) and Kelemen et al (2024) provide the summarized evidence.
Use of these agents should be supported by prior conservative care, trial data, and detailed documentation when requested for coverage.
Prior authorization and robust evidence recommended for experimental biologic IA injections.
The background sections reiterate that several treatments have limited or low‑quality evidence: intra‑articular biologics like PRGF/PRP show inconsistent benefit and limited durability in some trials, and BTX‑A trials are small and heterogenous with low overall quality. These evidence limitations underpin the policy’s cautious stance toward routine coverage of such interventions.
Definitions and Key Terms
Revision History and Administrative Dates
Policy originally became effective on 1995-08-01.
Policy last reviewed on 2026-03-12.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.