Surgical Treatment of Snoring and Obstructive Sleep
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Premera Bluecross Policy 7.01.554 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 7.01.554 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines medical necessity, site-of-service, documentation, and coding for surgical interventions to treat obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) and snoring for Premera Bluecross members; intended for providers performing or requesting coverage for these procedures.
Policy statement is added that HNS using other FDA-approved devices (e.g., Genio) is considered investigational for treating clinically significant OSA syndrome.
Removed adenotonsillectomy from the medical necessity criteria.
HNS BMI and age criteria were previously changed multiple times; most recently BMI threshold was aligned to <=35 kg/m² and adult age to >=18 in 09/01/24 update then later revised in 11/01/23 and 01/01/24 history.
Coverage Criteria — Surgical Treatments for OSA and Snoring
Palatopharyngoplasty (including UPPP) — Medical Necessity
Covered when ALL of the following are met for appropriately selected adult individuals:
Applies to palatopharyngoplasty procedures including UPPP and listed palatal surgeries
Hyoid suspension / tongue modification / maxillofacial surgery — Medical Necessity
Covered when ALL of the following are met in appropriately selected adults with objective hypopharyngeal obstruction:
Includes hyoid suspension, surgical modification of the tongue, and mandibular-maxillary advancement (MMA)
Hypoglossal nerve stimulation (Inspire) — Adult Medical Necessity
Covered when ALL of the following are met for adults:
Device‑specific (Inspire) criteria; DISE assessment required; documentation should include age, AHI, central apneas, CPAP failure/intolerance, BMI, absence of complete concentric collapse, and device name
Hypoglossal nerve stimulation — Down syndrome (adolescents) Medical Necessity
Covered when ALL of the following are met for individuals with Down syndrome aged 13–18:
Applies to Inspire device per policy; documentation of prior adenotonsillectomy required for Down syndrome patients
Investigational / Not Medically Necessary Procedures
Not covered / investigational procedures:
These procedures are considered investigational or not medically necessary for treatment of OSA/UARS per policy
Hypoglossal nerve stimulation (HNS) selection
HNS candidate selection (based on clinical input and study populations):
Derived from clinical input and HNS study populations and aligned with device labeling where noted
HNS for adolescents with Down Syndrome
HNS selection criteria (adolescents with Down Syndrome):
Based on clinical input and available Down syndrome study populations; documentation requirements include prior adenotonsillectomy for coverage
COVERAGE CRITERIA
Patient selection criteria referenced for hypoglossal nerve stimulation in clinical input and device labeling:
HNS candidate selection (clinical input / device labeling)
- Age ≥22 years noted in clinical input for adults; device labeling and supplements describe expanded indications for ages 18–21 and pediatric Down syndrome cohorts
Chunks 37,48,50
- OSA severity: Moderate to severe OSA with specified AHI range per device labeling (examples: Inspire S090: AHI ≥15 and ≤100; Genio: AHI ≥15 and ≤65)AHI ranges per device labeling
Chunks 48,50
- Central apnea proportion: Less than or equal to 25% central apneas≤25% central apneas
Chunk 37
- PAP status: Prior PAP failure or inability to tolerate PAP (PAP failure defined as residual AHI ≥15 despite PAP; intolerance defined per device labeling)
Chunks 37,49
- BMI within labeled/study limits (clinical input cited ≤32 kg/m²; device supplements updated BMI information and have noted data up to higher BMI thresholds)BMI ≤32 (clinical input) or as updated in device labeling
Chunks 37,48
- Anatomy: Favorable pattern of palatal collapse (no complete concentric collapse at the soft palate) when required by device labeling
Chunks 17,48
Notable coverage statements and historical criteria changes
Selected coverage-related statements and historical changes present in the excerpt:
Added in 03/01/26 annual review
Interim Review 08/01/26
Changes documented in policy history entries
Surgical procedures performed solely to treat snoring in the absence of documented obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) are considered not medically necessary. The policy explicitly lists such interventions—examples include LAUP (laser-assisted uvulopalatoplasty), palatal stiffening procedures, and radiofrequency volumetric tissue reduction of the palate—as not medically necessary when used for snoring alone.
Conventional open surgical approaches for OSA (for example, uvulopalatopharyngoplasty [UPPP], hyoid suspension, surgical modification of the tongue, and maxillofacial procedures such as mandibular–maxillary advancement) are recognized as established surgical options addressed separately from minimally invasive techniques. This policy notes these conventional procedures but does not cover their specific criteria in detail within the minimally invasive-surgery sections; clinical decision-making for these procedures should follow established practice and documentation requirements for medically necessary surgery in patients who have failed conservative therapy.
Device labeling and clinical guidance for hypoglossal nerve stimulation (HNS) commonly exclude patients with a complete concentric collapse at the soft palate identified on drug‑induced sleep endoscopy (DISE). Coverage and candidate selection are tied to device-specific limitations (age range, AHI window, BMI limits and palatal collapse pattern); treatments that do not meet those device-specific anatomical or labeling criteria may not meet coverage requirements.
HCPCS code C1607 was removed from this policy and reassigned to Policy 10.01.533 (Non‑covered Experimental/Investigational Services). As a result, services billed with C1607 should be adjudicated under the non‑covered/experimental policy and may be denied under this policy's coverage rules.
Minimally invasive procedures and other listed interventions that are performed without meeting the policy's OSA diagnostic or selection criteria are considered not medically necessary. The policy specifically identifies multiple minimally invasive techniques (for example, palatal stiffening, radiofrequency volumetric tissue reduction, and others) as investigational or not medically necessary when used outside the stated OSA indications.
Certain emerging procedures—such as submucosal cryolysis (Cryosa System) and endoscopically assisted maxillary expansion—lack sufficient peer‑reviewed outcome data demonstrating safety and long‑term efficacy for OSA treatment. These procedures are therefore considered investigational or not medically necessary pending higher‑quality evidence.
The National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) in 2017 concluded that the evidence on safety and efficacy for hypoglossal nerve stimulation (HNS) was limited in both quantity and quality and recommended that the procedure be used only in the context of clinical trials. This guidance is cited to provide context for the policy’s cautious evidentiary stance regarding newer device indications and expansions.
Hypoglossal nerve stimulation (HNS) performed with other FDA‑approved devices (for example, Genio) is explicitly stated in the policy history to be investigational for treatment of clinically significant OSA. This means such devices are not considered established as medically necessary under this policy.
Coding and Clinical Thresholds
| 0978T | Submucosal cryolysis therapy; soft palate, base of tongue, and lingual tonsil (new code effective) |
| 0979T | Submucosal cryolysis therapy; soft palate only (new code effective) |
| 0980T | Submucosal cryolysis therapy; base of tongue and lingual tonsil only (new code effective) |
| 21199 | Osteotomy, mandible, segmental; with genioglossus advancement |
| 21685 | Hyoid myotomy and suspension |
| 41512 | Tongue base suspension, permanent suture technique |
| 41530 | Submucosal ablation of the tongue base, radiofrequency, 1 or more sites, per session |
| 42145 | Palatopharyngoplasty (e.g., uvulopalatopharyngoplasty, uvulopharyngoplasty) |
| 42299 | Unlisted procedure, palate, uvula |
| 42950 | Pharyngoplasty (plastic or reconstructive operation on pharynx) |
| P130008 | PMA for Inspire Upper Airway Stimulation (original PMA) |
| S039 | PMA supplement expanding indications to include patients 18–21 |
| S089 | PMA supplement expanding indications to pediatric patients with Down syndrome 13–18 |
| S090 | PMA supplement updating AHI and BMI language (e.g., AHI ≥15 and ≤100; BMI upper limit updated) |
| S098 | PMA supplement for Inspire V system approval (Aug 2024) |
| P240024 | PMA for Nyxoah Genio system (2025) noted in table |
| 21685 | CPT code listed in history (added/removed in prior updates) |
| 41512 | CPT code listed in history |
| 41530 | CPT code listed in history |
| 42950 | CPT code listed in history |
| S2080 | HCPCS/other code referenced in history |
| 64582 | CPT code added 01/01/22 |
| 64583 | CPT code added 01/01/22 |
| 64684 | CPT code added 01/01/22 |
| 0978T | T-code added 09/01/25 |
| 0979T | T-code added 09/01/25 |
Provider Actions — Authorization, Documentation, and Billing
Site-of-service prior authorization and medical necessity review
Prior authorization is required for elective surgical procedures and the site-of-service medical necessity will be reviewed; certain elective procedures are covered only in preferred sites (ambulatory surgical center or appropriate outpatient settings) unless exceptions apply (no accessible ASC within 30 miles, patient age ≤18, co-procedure requiring hospital outpatient department, or increased clinical risk).
- Verify prior authorization for elective OSA/snoring surgeries.
- Be prepared to justify choice of site of service per policy exceptions (no ASC access, patient ≤18, concurrent hospital-requiring procedure, or increased clinical risk).
HNS prior authorization criteria — confirm patient selection
Prior authorization requests for hypoglossal nerve stimulation (HNS) should confirm patient selection consistent with HNS trial populations and device labeling: documented age threshold, diagnosis of moderate–severe OSA with ≤25% central apneas, documented CPAP failure or inability to tolerate CPAP, BMI within labeled limits, and favorable palatal collapse pattern when required.
- Age and OSA severity per device and clinical input (examples: adults ≥22 years or device-expanded ages).
- Document CPAP failure/intolerance and proportion of central apneas (≤25%).
- Document BMI within the device-labeled limit and palatal collapse pattern (no complete concentric collapse when required).
Prior authorization expected for HNS procedures
Prior authorization is implied and expected for device-based hypoglossal nerve stimulation given device-specific indications (age, AHI range, BMI, palatal collapse criteria) and the requirement to document prior PAP failure or intolerance.
- Include device name and confirm patient meets device indication ranges (e.g., AHI and BMI per labeling).
- Provide documentation of PAP failure or intolerance as defined by device labeling.
Code-specific prior authorization guidance — use revised code set
Prior authorization reviewers should use the revised CPT/HCPCS code set noted in the policy history; several HCPCS/CPT codes were added or removed in recent updates and C1607 was reassigned to a non-covered/experimental policy.
- Confirm coding aligns with the current policy code list (new C8007–C8013 entries and recent CPT additions).
- Do not rely on codes that were removed or reassigned (e.g., C1607 moved to policy 10.01.533).
Conservative therapy trial required before surgery
Documentation must show failure of an adequate trial of CPAP or an oral appliance prior to approval for most surgical treatments; HNS specifically requires documented CPAP failure or intolerance per device labeling.
- For HNS, document CPAP failure (residual AHI ≥15 despite PAP) or inability to tolerate CPAP (per device definitions).
- For palatal, hypopharyngeal, or maxillofacial surgeries, show an adequate trial of CPAP or oral appliance has failed.
Conservative therapy prerequisite — attempt CPAP and document intolerance
Attempt and document conservative therapy, including CPAP, before considering minimally invasive surgical options; records should note attempts and reasons for intolerance or failure.
- Record duration and adherence of CPAP use and objective measures of failure or intolerance.
- Document trials of oral appliances where applicable.
PAP is initial therapy — surgery after PAP failure/intolerance
The policy references PAP (CPAP/BiPAP) as first-line therapy; surgical interventions are considered when PAP fails, is not tolerated, or is not accepted by the individual.
- Confirm that PAP was offered and either failed or was not tolerated before surgical planning.
- Include PAP adherence data or documentation of refusal/intolerance in the record.
Step therapy not specified in excerpt — no explicit algorithm provided
The policy references CPAP tolerance and prior requirements historically but does not specify a formal step-therapy algorithm in this excerpt; reviewers should not assume an explicit step sequence beyond documented CPAP or oral appliance failure/intolerance.
- Provide explicit documentation of prior conservative therapy rather than relying on an assumed step sequence.
- If in doubt, include detailed CPAP adherence/failure information to support authorization.
Medical records documentation requirements — OSA severity and prior therapy
Medical records must document clinically significant OSA with AHI/RDI and prior failure or intolerance of nasal CPAP (or oral appliance where applicable); for HNS include age, AHI, percent central apneas, CPAP failure details, BMI, absence of complete concentric palatal collapse on DISE, and the device name. For Down syndrome patients, document prior adenotonsillectomy.
- Include AHI value and method of testing, proportion of central apneas, and BMI.
- Provide DISE findings regarding palatal collapse when required and the specific device to be implanted.
- For Down syndrome adolescents, include documentation of prior adenotonsillectomy.
Clinical selection documentation — support HNS trial-population criteria
Documentation should support that the patient meets HNS selection criteria referenced in studies and device labeling: age, AHI severity, CPAP failure/intolerance, BMI within labeled limits, and favorable palatal collapse pattern.
- State the age used for device indication (e.g., adult age per device or clinical input).
- Provide AHI range and central apnea percentage (≤25%), CPAP adherence/failure details, and BMI measurement.
Required clinical documentation for surgical candidacy — device-specific criteria
Prior authorization and surgical candidacy documentation must include device-specific selection criteria: patient age, AHI range, proportion of central apneas, documented prior PAP failure or intolerance, BMI within the labeled limit, and absence of complete concentric collapse on DISE where required.
- List the device to be implanted and cite the labeling criteria met (AHI, BMI, age limits).
- Document DISE results confirming no complete concentric collapse at the soft palate if required by the device.
Follow coding updates in history — verify current CPT/HCPCS
Follow the coding updates noted in the policy history when submitting claims; providers should be aware that codes have been added and removed (e.g., C1607 was added then removed and reassigned to a non-covered policy) and use current CPT/HCPCS listings for adjudication.
- Verify the current code list before submission (recent additions: C8007–C8013; removal/reassignment: C1607).
- Use the policy-specific coding table to determine appropriate codes for authorization and billing.
Denial risk — surgeries for snoring without documented OSA
All surgical interventions for snoring in the absence of documented OSA are considered not medically necessary and will be denied.
- Do not submit claims or authorization requests for procedures intended to treat snoring alone without documented OSA.
- Procedures listed (e.g., LAUP, palatal stiffening, radiofrequency palatal reduction) are specifically considered not medically necessary for snoring alone.
Denial risk — procedures lacking sufficient evidence may be denied
Procedures that lack sufficient peer‑reviewed evidence of net health benefit (for example, submucosal cryolysis or endoscopically assisted maxillary expansion) may be denied as investigational or not medically necessary.
- Provide robust peer-reviewed outcome data when requesting coverage for minimally invasive or newer procedures.
- Expect investigational determinations for procedures explicitly listed as investigational in the policy.
Coverage tied to device labeling and candidate selection — out-of-label treatments risk non-coverage
Coverage is contingent on meeting device labeling and candidate selection criteria; treatments outside labeled indications (age, AHI range, BMI limits, or presence of complete concentric palatal collapse) or without documented PAP failure/intolerance may be non‑covered.
- Confirm and document that the patient meets the device's labeled indications before authorization.
- If anatomy (complete concentric palatal collapse) or other labeling exclusions are present, expect potential non-coverage.
Background and Evidence Context
Obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) results from repetitive upper airway collapse during sleep and can involve anatomical sites such as the soft palate, tongue base, and hypopharynx. While positive airway pressure (PAP) therapy is the preferred first‑line treatment, surgical options are considered for individuals who have failed or cannot tolerate conservative therapy. The policy distinguishes conventional open surgical approaches from minimally invasive techniques and describes the latter as investigational or conditionally covered only when device and patient selection criteria are met.
Several procedures identified in the policy have evidence gaps that support their investigational status. Examples highlighted include submucosal cryolysis—which lacks peer‑reviewed outcome data—and endoscopically assisted maxillary expansion, for which available studies do not provide sufficient long‑term OSA outcome measures or durability. These evidence limitations underlie the policy’s classification of these procedures as investigational or not medically necessary.
NICE's 2017 assessment that evidence for HNS was limited supports the policy's conservative approach: HNS should be considered within the context of clinical trials when evidence is sparse, and broader adoption for labels or populations not supported by high‑quality data should be approached cautiously.
Definitions and Clinical Terms
Policy Revision History
Removed adenotonsillectomy from the medical necessity criteria; minor edits and formatting changes made.
Added header to indicate that site-of-service review does not apply to certain cases (administrative/minor wording changes).
Added new HCPCS codes C8007–C8009 and C8011–C8013 effective April 1, 2026.
Added policy statement that HNS using other FDA‑approved devices (e.g., Genio) is considered investigational and removed HCPCS code C1607 from this policy (moved to non‑covered/experimental policy).
Added new HCPCS code C1607 effective January 1, 2026 (later removed from this policy).
Added policy statement that submucosal cryolysis is considered investigational and added CPT/HCPCS codes 0978T, 0979T, and 0980T.
Replaced related Site of Service policy reference (11.01.524 replaced with 11.01.525) and added ASC site-of-service criteria effective November 7, 2025.
Policy 7.01.101 was deleted and replaced with policy 7.01.554 (Surgical Treatment of Snoring and Obstructive Sleep Apnea Syndrome) with literature updates through May 6, 2024.
Added endoscopically assisted nasomaxillary expansion to the list of minimally invasive surgical procedures considered investigational.
HNS BMI criterion was changed from ≤32 kg/m² to ≤40 kg/m² to align with expanded FDA indication approved June 8, 2023; other minor edits made.
Policy updated with literature review through May 8, 2022; minor editorial refinements to policy statements; intent unchanged.
Changed HNS CPAP failure criterion from residual AHI ≥20 to ≥15 for consistency with other policies.
Added new CPT codes 64582, 64583, and 64684 and updated description of CPT code 64568.
Policy updated with literature review through April 26, 2021; references added and CPT codes 21685, 41512, 41530, 42950 and HCPCS S2080 added.
The policy history documents coding updates and reassignments over time. Notably, HCPCS code C1607 was added on 01/01/26 and subsequently removed from this policy and moved to the non‑covered/experimental policy (Policy 10.01.533) per the 03/01/26 update; additional HCPCS codes (C8007–C8009, C8011–C8013) were added effective 04/01/26. Reviewers and providers should use the current code set when requesting prior authorization or submitting claims.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.