Facial Nerve Paralysis
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Aetna Policy 0745 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 0745 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines Aetna's coverage stance for diagnostic tests and surgical and non-surgical treatments for facial nerve paralysis (including Bell's palsy), specifying medically necessary services, and listing procedures considered experimental/investigational. Affects providers submitting claims to Aetna for members with facial nerve paralysis.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria for Facial Nerve Paralysis (Bell's Palsy)
Facial surgery for chronic facial paralysis (medically necessary)
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Electrophysiologic testing required to document low likelihood of recovery.
Blink reflex testing and gold weight eyelid implants (medically necessary)
Covered items
Listed as medically necessary when indicated.
Procedures considered experimental, investigational, or unproven (not covered)
The following procedures/diagnostics are considered experimental/investigational/unproven for Bell's palsy:
Effectiveness not established per policy.
Treatment coverage logic
Covered treatments with evidence-supported conditions
Level A evidence per AAN review
Mixed evidence; counsel patients on limited benefit
Evidence limited; use as first-line conservative management
Requires multidisciplinary planning and prior authorization when applicable
Surgical reanimation: approaches and decision factors
Surgical reanimation approaches and relevant clinical considerations described in these sections:
Choice depends on timing, etiology, and patient factors
Discuss goals (spontaneous mimetic function vs voluntary movement) in planning
Adjunctive therapies: evidence summaries
Adjunctive and non-surgical treatments with summarized evidence:
Interpret cautiously due to study limitations
Antivirals may be considered with counseling about limited benefit
May be used as targeted chemo-denervation for synkinesis
Not recommended as standard acute therapy
Considered investigational/adjunctive pending stronger evidence
Candidates for facial nerve decompression
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Middle cranial fossa decompression outcomes are better when performed ≤14 days; some retrospective data suggest benefit up to 90 days if earlier surgery is not possible.
Intra-tympanic steroid therapy (ITST) for Bell's palsy/Ramsay Hunt
Evidence and usage considerations
Meta-analysis pooled 3 RCTs and 2 cohorts (n≈350); methods and timing varied across studies; further well-designed RCTs needed.
Surgical management of post-paralytic synkinesis
Surgical option and expected outcomes
Reported outcomes: 96% avoided postoperative Botox; revision rate reported ~53%; evidence level IV; counsel patients on revision risk.
Rehabilitative and adjunctive therapies (informational stance)
Evidence summaries for non-surgical interventions
Recommend cautious interpretation; use as part of conservative management before irreversible surgery.
Available data are limited to small RCTs, pilot studies, and case reports.
Selective myectomy/neurectomy for synkinesis — situational criteria
Surgical selective myectomy or neurectomy may be considered when ALL of the following are met:
Considered third-line; ensure documentation of prior conservative therapies and informed consent.
Depressor anguli oris (DAO) excision — situational criteria
DAO excision may be considered when ALL of the following are met:
Cohort evidence shows modest improvements in commissure excursion and smile metrics; document outcome measures.
Free functional platysma or other muscle transfers for eye/smile reanimation — situational criteria
Free or pedicled muscle transfer for dynamic eye closure or smile restoration may be considered when ALL of the following are met:
Pedicled temporalis is often first-line for eye reanimation; free transfers may restore spontaneous blink in some patients; document counseling and follow-up.
Use of electrophysiological testing (ENoG, needle EMG, CMAP, NET, blink reflex, integrated EMG) — diagnostic/prognostic criteria
Electrophysiologic testing may be used when ALL of the following apply:
Combined use of multiple electrophysiologic tests can improve predictive accuracy (decision-tree model reported ~86% accuracy).
Surface EMG (sEMG)
sEMG may be considered as an objective assessment tool when ALL of the following are met:
Evidence is limited and heterogeneous; methodological guidelines are encouraged.
Lyftogt perineural injection therapy (LPIT)
LPIT is considered investigational/experimental when ANY of the following apply:
Single-case report only; insufficient evidence for effectiveness.
Telerehabilitation
Telerehabilitation may be used when ALL of the following are met:
Scoping review found related adverse events to be rare (~0.3% per session) and mostly mild; detailed AE reporting recommended.
The policy lists specific CPT and HCPCS codes that are covered only when selection criteria are met (for example, 95933 for blink reflex testing and 67912 for gold weight eyelid implant) and identifies a set of procedure and supply codes that are not covered for the indications addressed in this document. Examples of codes called out as not covered for listed indications include the PRP injection code 0232T and multiple HCPCS device/supply codes for topical hyperbaric oxygen, TENS/NMES devices and supplies (e.g., A4575, A4595, E0720, E0730), botulinum toxin J-codes (e.g., J0585, J0587), and hyperbaric oxygen session code G0277. Providers should confirm coverage by matching the submitted code to the policy's listed covered and not-covered code groups and follow prior-authorization requirements where applicable.
The document states that several adjunctive therapies lack sufficient high-quality evidence to be recommended for Bell's palsy. Specifically, hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT), acupuncture, electrostimulation (electrotherapy), and chiropractic/osteopathic manipulation are described as having unestablished effectiveness and are listed among interventions without proven benefit. Systematic reviews and Cochrane-style evaluations cited in the policy emphasize heterogeneity, high risk of bias, and inadequate trial quality for these modalities, and the policy notes that further well-designed RCTs are needed before these therapies can be considered supported.
The policy explains a limitation of techniques that rely on motor nerves or muscles outside the facial-nerve territory: procedures using non-facial donor motor nerves (for example, temporalis transposition, hypoglossal or spinal accessory neurotization) generally do not restore a truly spontaneous smile. Such approaches may be acceptable alternatives when facial-nerve neurotization is not feasible, but expectations for spontaneous mimetic function should be tempered when motor donors other than the facial nerve are employed.
Delayed trans-mastoid decompression (TMD) was not associated with improved facial outcomes compared with medical management in the cited meta-analysis. The policy highlights that middle cranial fossa decompression (MFD) performed ≤14 days after symptom onset showed better outcomes than MFD performed after 14 days, but TMD — typically performed after 15 days in the reviewed studies — did not demonstrate benefit over non-surgical care, indicating limited support for TMD when performed late.
Lyftogt perineural injection therapy (LPIT) for facial nerve palsy is supported in the document only by a single-case report. The policy therefore characterizes LPIT as unproven/experimental for chronic Bell's palsy and states that the promising single-case findings require validation in well-designed studies before LPIT can be considered an evidence-based therapy.
The scoping reviews of telerehabilitation cited in the policy note several methodological limitations: heterogeneous nomenclature and inclusion criteria across digital-health studies, the potential for missed studies due to variable search terms, and the absence of critical appraisal in some reviews. These limitations restrict the certainty of conclusions about effectiveness and safety and the reviews recommend standardized, detailed reporting of interventions and adverse events (e.g., using TIDieR guidelines) for future work.
Aetna provides links to external websites for convenience and explicitly states that it is not responsible for the content, accuracy, or privacy practices of those linked non-Aetna sites. Users are notified they are leaving the Aetna website and that Aetna disclaims liability for external site material.
The policy and cited literature advise against routine use of electrotherapy/electrical stimulation and hyperbaric oxygen therapy for acute Bell's palsy. Historic reviews and systematic evaluations found no consistent evidence of benefit for electrical stimulation in acute cases and recommended against its routine use in the absence of controlled-trial evidence; similarly, HTA and review articles have concluded that HBOT is not supported for Bell's palsy.
Randomized and quasi-randomized trials of surgical intervention for Bell's palsy provide very low-quality evidence and do not demonstrate clear benefit over medical management. The Cochrane-style reviews and updates cited in the policy conclude that evidence is insufficient to support routine early surgical intervention for Bell's palsy and that spontaneous recovery in most patients limits the feasibility and interpretation of further trials.
The document reports that electrical stimulation applied during the acute phase of Bell's palsy lacks controlled-trial evidence of benefit. Case series and small studies offer mixed results and guideline reviews (including UpToDate summaries) recommend against electrical nerve stimulation in acute Bell's palsy until controlled, safety-focused trials demonstrate clear benefit.
Cochrane and systematic-review updates concluded that evidence for early surgical intervention in Bell's palsy is of very low certainty. Current randomized/quasi-randomized trials are insufficient to determine whether early surgery is beneficial or harmful, and because most patients experience spontaneous or medically supported recovery, routine early surgical decompression remains unsupported.
Selective myectomy or neurectomy for post-paralytic synkinesis is presented as a third-line, situational option. The policy emphasizes that routine use of these surgical procedures without prior trials of first- and second-line therapies (such as botulinum toxin chemo-denervation and neuromuscular retraining) is not supported; decisions for surgery should be individualized, follow documented conservative management attempts, and include counseling about limited long-term evidence and potential for revision.
Within the cited excerpts there is no single explicit list labeled as 'not medically necessary.' Instead, the policy describes interventions that are considered experimental, unproven, or not advised for routine use (for example, electrotherapy and HBOT for acute Bell's palsy) and indicates that surgical procedures without clear indications or without demonstrated failure of conservative therapy may not be supported by the evidence.
Coding and Key Thresholds
| 15756 | Free muscle or myocutaneous flap with microvascular anastomosis. |
| 15758 | Free fascial flap with microvascular anastomosis. |
| 15840-15845 | Graft for facial nerve paralysis. |
| 20920-20922 | Fascia lata graft. |
| 61590 | Infratemporal pre-auricular approach to middle cranial fossa (parapharyngeal space, infratemporal and midline skull base, nasopharynx), with or without disarticulation of the mandible, including parotidectomy, craniotomy, decompression and/or mobilization of the facial nerve and/or petrous carotid artery. |
| 64716 | Neuroplasty and/or transposition; cranial nerve (specify). |
| 64742 | Transection or avulsion of; facial nerve, differential or complete. |
| 64864-64865 | Suture of facial nerve. |
| 64866-64868 | Anastomosis; facial-spinal, facial-hypoglossal or facial-phrenic. |
| 64885-64886 | Nerve graft (includes obtaining graft), head or neck. |
| 0232T | Injection(s), platelet rich plasma, any site, including image guidance, harvesting and preparation when performed. |
| 0232T | (listed among CPT codes not covered for indications in the CPB). |
| 76536 | Ultrasound, soft tissues of head and neck (eg, parotid) [neuromuscular ultrasound] (listed among items considered experimental/unproven). |
| 97810-97814 | Acupuncture codes (with/without electrical stimulation) (listed among items not covered/experimental). |
| 99183 | Physician attendance and supervision of hyperbaric oxygen therapy, per session (listed among HCPCS not covered for indications in the CPB). |
| A4575,A4595,A4639,E0221,E0446,E0720,E0730,E0745,G0277,J0585,J0587,J3420,J3425,P9020,S2150 | Various HCPCS/Drug/Supply codes listed as not covered for indications in the CPB (e.g., topical hyperbaric oxygen, TENS devices, botulinum toxins, vitamin B-12 injections, PRP, stem cell-related codes). |
| G51.0 | Bell's palsy [facial palsy]. |
Provider Actions, Prior Authorization, and Documentation
Prior authorization required when selection criteria are met
Obtain prior authorization for the listed CPT/HCPCS codes when the policy selection criteria are met; authorization is required when submitting claims for covered facial surgery and diagnostic testing codes noted as covered only if selection criteria apply.
Prior authorization: document failed spontaneous recovery and objective findings
For reconstructive or reanimation procedures, prior authorization should document failure of expected spontaneous recovery and provide objective electrophysiologic evidence and a proposed surgical plan.
- Document lack of return of function after an observation period (commonly ~12 months) or objective evidence of no reinnervation (EMG/ENoG).
- Include the proposed reconstructive procedure and planned staging (e.g., CFNG followed by FFMT).
Prior authorization recommended for complex reconstruction
Prior authorization is recommended for complex reconstructive procedures and should include paralysis chronicity, prior conservative therapy, and the detailed surgical plan because these techniques are often staged and microvascular.
- Examples include free functional muscle transfer, cross-face nerve grafting, and temporalis transfer.
- Provide rationale for staging (e.g., CFNG then FFMT) or single-stage alternatives (e.g., masseteric nerve transfer).
Prior authorization: capture severity evidence and timing for decompression
When requesting authorization for facial nerve decompression, include severity evidence and timing rationale such as complete paralysis, >90% degeneration on ENoG, absent voluntary EMG, and the timing since onset to support the surgical approach.
- ENoG showing >90% degeneration and absent voluntary EMG (within ~14 days) are cited candidate criteria.
- Document timing since symptom onset and rationale if decompression is being considered beyond typical early windows (references discuss ≤14 days vs up to 90 days in select cases).
Prior authorization: confirm prior conservative therapies before selective neurectomy/myectomy
Prior authorization for selective neurectomy or myectomy should verify that conservative first- and second-line therapies were attempted and documented before approving surgery.
- Document trials of chemo-denervation (Botox) and neuromuscular retraining and their outcomes.
- Authorization decisions should reflect individualized consideration given limited long‑term evidence.
No other prior authorization rules specified in this excerpt
This excerpt does not specify additional prior authorization rules beyond those described elsewhere in the policy.
- Background sections and some supplemental chunks provide evidence reviews but do not add new prior authorization requirements.
Supplemental information: no prior authorization specified
No prior authorization requirements are specified in the supplemental information section of the policy.
- The Additional Information section lists external resources and does not state authorization requirements.
No explicit step therapy sequence specified
The policy does not define an explicit step therapy sequence for Bell's palsy treatments.
- Treatment recommendations and evidence summaries are provided, but no mandated stepwise medication or procedure sequence is specified.
Conservative/physical therapies preferred as initial approach
Conservative and physical therapies (tailored facial exercises, neuromuscular retraining) are supported by low-quality evidence and are reasonable initial management prior to considering invasive procedures.
- Physical therapy evidence is mixed; tailored facial exercises may help selected patients, particularly chronic or moderate paralysis.
- These approaches are generally preferred initial options before surgical reconstruction when feasible.
Document staged vs single-stage reconstruction considerations
Document rationale when choosing staged versus single-stage reconstruction; staged approaches (e.g., CFNG then FFMT) are described as a common strategy while single-stage masseteric nerve transfers are an alternative in selected patients.
- Staged CFNG with FFMT may restore spontaneous mimetic function; masseteric or temporalis transfers may be chosen for single-stage reconstruction or limited life expectancy.
Document prior non-surgical therapies and outcomes before invasive procedures
Before elective invasive procedures, document prior non-surgical therapies and their outcomes so that authorization and clinical decisions can confirm appropriate stepwise management.
- Include facial retraining, physical therapy, PNF, and botulinum toxin treatments and the clinical response.
- Objective functional measures and symptom duration should be recorded.
Synkinesis: chemo-denervation and retraining first; surgery third-line
For management of synkinesis, initial treatment typically uses chemo-denervation (Botox) and neuromuscular re-training; surgery (selective myectomy/neurectomy) is considered a later, third-line option.
- Clinical practice recommendations designate surgery as third-line and stress individualized decision-making after discussing complications and limited success rates.
- Document prior Botox use and retraining attempts when seeking authorization for surgical synkinesis interventions.
Surgical coverage: document duration >12 months, functional deficit, and electrophysiology
Documentation supporting surgical coverage must show paralysis duration greater than 12 months, an impaired functional deficit (mastication, speech, or vision), and electrophysiologic testing indicating low likelihood of spontaneous recovery.
- Electromyography or electroneuronography findings demonstrating no reasonable likelihood of recovery are required.
- These elements are necessary for facial surgery to be considered medically necessary.
Surgical planning: include duration, EMG/ENoG, prior therapy, and technique rationale
For surgical planning and authorization, include duration of paralysis, prior EMG/ENoG results, prior conservative management, and the rationale for the chosen reconstructive technique.
- Specify timing since onset because timing and etiology influence choice and expected outcomes.
- Describe planned staging (e.g., nerve grafting then muscle transfer) and expected goals (spontaneous mimetic function vs voluntary movement).
Required clinical rationale: etiology, duration, prior treatments, and method justification
Clinical rationale submitted for authorization should state etiology, duration of paralysis, prior treatments, and why the chosen reconstruction method is appropriate (e.g., direct repair, CFNG+FFMT, temporalis transfer).
- Clarify whether the surgical goal is restoration of spontaneous mimetic function or provision of voluntary movement.
- Relate the chosen method to patient factors such as age, comorbidity, and soft tissue deficits.
Preoperative documentation: ENoG/EMG, imaging, HB grade, and timing rationale
Preoperative documentation should include ENoG, EMG, imaging, and House‑Brackmann grading, with timing from symptom onset and the rationale for the selected surgical approach (e.g., middle cranial fossa vs trans‑mastoid).
- Record electrophysiologic results (e.g., >90% degeneration on ENoG where applicable) and absent voluntary EMG when relevant to decompression candidacy.
- Document days since onset to support timing-based decisions.
Document prior synkinesis treatments (Botox, retraining) and outcomes
When documenting prior synkinesis treatments for authorization, include details of prior Botox/chemo‑denervation, neuromuscular retraining, the types used, duration, and clinical response.
- Note objective pre- and post-treatment assessments and any need for repeat injections.
- For surgical synkinesis requests, demonstrate failure or inadequate response to first- and second-line therapies.
Telerehabilitation: recommend detailed intervention and AE reporting
Although no mandatory telerehabilitation documentation is specified, the policy recommends detailed reporting of telerehabilitation interventions and adverse events using standardized reporting frameworks.
- Use TIDieR-style detail for interventions and record adverse event characteristics to support safety and outcomes reporting.
- Maintain session documentation and AE logs even though not currently prescriptive for authorization.
Supplemental resources: reference links for providers
The Additional Information section provides links to Aetna resources (glossary, app, legal notices) that providers may reference but does not impose specific documentation or authorization requirements.
- Providers may consult listed resources for administrative and general guidance; these links do not change clinical documentation expectations.
Denial risk: experimental, investigational, or unproven procedures
Claims for procedures listed as experimental, investigational, or unproven (such as acupuncture, antivirals, botulinum toxin, electrical stimulation, facial nerve decompression, facial retraining therapy, PRP, neuromuscular ultrasound, telerehabilitation, TMS, Vitamin B‑12) may be denied because effectiveness has not been established.
- The policy explicitly labels numerous diagnostics and treatments as experimental/investigational/unproven and at risk for denial.
- Review the policy's experimental/unproven list before submitting claims for these services.
Denial risk: limited randomized evidence for surgical interventions
Surgical interventions for Bell's palsy are supported by very low‑quality randomized evidence and trials have not demonstrated clear benefit; lack of demonstrated benefit may lead to denial when surgery is requested solely for Bell's palsy without specific indications.
- Cochrane and systematic review data cite very low‑quality RCT evidence insufficient to conclude benefit of surgical intervention for routine Bell's palsy management.
- Authorization should be supported by documented indications and failed conservative management where appropriate.
Caution: limitations of procedures using non‑facial motor nerves
Procedures that rely on motor nerves other than the facial nerve (e.g., temporalis transposition, hypoglossal or spinal accessory neurotization) have limitations and do not restore a truly spontaneous smile; these limitations should be acknowledged in planning and documentation.
- Neurotization by the contralateral facial nerve is associated with recovery of spontaneous smile more often than transfers using non‑facial motor nerves.
- Document expected functional outcomes and patient counseling when non‑facial nerve neurotization is proposed.
Preoperative counseling: document discussion of hearing loss risk before decompression
Prior to facial nerve decompression, discuss and document the risk of postoperative hearing loss (reported ~2–5%) and perform appropriate preoperative assessments; absence of documented counseling or assessments may affect coverage decisions.
- Counsel patients on risks (including possible hearing loss) and record this discussion in the medical record.
- Include hearing assessment data where available when seeking authorization for decompression.
Selective myectomy/neurectomy: third‑line caution and documentation requirement
Selective myectomy or neurectomy should be considered a third‑line, individualized option and is recommended only after failed conservative management; inadequate prior management or lack of individualized risk discussion could lead to denial.
- Ensure prior Botox and neuromuscular retraining are documented and that the informed consent discussion addresses limited long‑term evidence and potential complications.
- Authorization reviewers will expect demonstration of prior conservative trials.
Background sections: no explicit authorization rules
Several background and evidence review sections do not add explicit authorization rules; they provide context and references for clinical decision‑making but are not prescriptive for prior authorization.
- Use these sections for clinical context; rely on the policy's prior_auth and documentation sections for authorization requirements.
Additional information: no authorization triggers specified
Supplemental information in the Additional Information section does not state authorization or clinical denial triggers; it lists general resources and links only.
- Providers should not infer authorization rules from these supplemental links; follow the policy's coverage and prior authorization guidance.
Background and Evidence Summary
Bell's palsy is described as an acute, idiopathic peripheral facial neuropathy (cranial nerve VII) characterized by rapid-onset, unilateral facial paralysis that is usually self-limiting. Most patients recover within months (commonly by 6 months), although a minority experience delayed or incomplete recovery resulting in residual deficits such as synkinesis, impaired eyelid closure, or functional impairment of mastication, speech, or vision.
The policy references several randomized trials and meta-analyses as key evidence sources. Notably, Sullivan et al. (a large randomized factorial trial enrolling patients within 72 hours) demonstrated a significant benefit of early prednisolone for facial recovery at 3 and 9 months. de Almeida and colleagues pooled 18 trials (n=2,786) showing corticosteroids reduce the risk of unsatisfactory recovery and that combined corticosteroid/antiviral therapy may yield additional, but inconsistent, benefit. Cochrane and other systematic reviews summarized multiple RCTs and concluded corticosteroids have the strongest evidence; antiviral benefit is uncertain and surgical evidence is very low quality.
The policy summarizes evidence for multiple adjunctive therapies. Acupuncture meta-analyses reported higher effective response rates but were limited by study heterogeneity and bias. Antiviral trials and Cochrane reviews found no consistent additional benefit over steroids, though some subgroup or combined-treatment analyses suggested modest effects. Intra-tympanic steroid therapy (ITST) meta-analysis (3 RCTs + 2 cohorts, n≈350) suggested potential reduction in non-recovery with daily regimens but methods varied. Trials and reviews of telerehabilitation, electrotherapy, and other modalities are cited but generally graded as low-quality or needing further RCT validation.
Electrophysiologic testing thresholds and multi-test decision models are discussed. The policy cites study-derived metrics including an ENoG degeneration index cutoff of 71.72% (orbicularis oculi), a NET difference threshold of 4.50 mA, a CMAP latency threshold of 3.80 ms in frontalis, and integrated EMG/ENoG cutoffs used in pediatric studies (e.g., 25% integrated EMG, 10% ENoG). Combined use of multiple electrophysiologic tests improved prognostic accuracy in the referenced decision-tree analysis.
Surgical cohort evidence is summarized for reconstruction approaches. Large institutional series of gracilis free functional muscle transfer (e.g., hundreds of cases in some centers) and cohort studies of combined myectomy/neurectomy plus free muscle transfer report functional improvements; for example, a combined myectomy/neurectomy cohort (Chuang et al.) reported that 96% of patients did not require postoperative Botox, though revision rates were high. These reports are primarily Level IV cohort evidence and underscore variability in outcomes and the need for individualized surgical planning.
Scoping reviews of telerehabilitation for facial palsy identified a growing body of literature (e.g., Yau et al. included 81 studies, 3,057 participants) and reported that adverse events related to telerehabilitation were rare (0.3% per session) and mostly mild. However, reviewers highlighted heterogeneity in study design, technologies, and reporting and recommended standardized, detailed AE reporting and use of reporting frameworks (e.g., TIDieR) to strengthen the evidence base.
Definitions and Additional Resources
Revision History
Policy effective date recorded.
Policy underwent most recent review (documented as last review).
Next scheduled policy review date recorded.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.