Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.30
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesOphthalmology/OptometryUnitedHealthcare Glaucoma Coverage | OpenPayer
    Ask Trek AI about this page

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    CurrentUnitedHealthcarePolicy CSNCT0443.05

    Glaucoma Surgical Treatments (for North Carolina Only)

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for UnitedHealthcare Policy CSNCT0443.05 alerts

    Get alerted when Policy CSNCT0443.05 changes without checking for updates manually.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    Coverage of glaucoma surgical and laser procedures for UnitedHealthcare Community Plan members in North Carolina, including adult, pediatric, refractory glaucoma, and cataract-associated procedures.

    Policy Summary
    PayerUnitedHealthcare
    PolicyGlaucoma Surgical Treatments (for North Carolina Only)
    Policy CodePolicy CSNCT0443.05
    Change TypeNo material clinical or coverage change
    Effective DateOctober 1, 2026
    Next Review DateNot specified
    Key ActionDocument the glaucoma diagnosis and severity, baseline and follow-up IOP, medication use, cataract surgery status, treatment response, and clinical rationale when requesting review for newer laser or MIGS procedures.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.

    NCApplicable state
    19+ yearsAdult threshold for specified combined procedures
    ≤18 yearsPediatric threshold for goniotomy or trabeculotomy
    Mild–moderateCovered adult glaucoma severity
    Not medically necessaryOther FDA-approved laser procedures

    Covered and Noncovered Glaucoma Procedures

    Adult glaucoma procedures with cataract surgery

    The following are proven and medically necessary:

    Covered adult procedures combined with cataract surgery

    • Adult goniotomy, trabeculotomy, or canaloplasty pathway: Goniotomy, trabeculotomy, ab interno canaloplasty, or combined ab interno canaloplasty and trabeculotomy is performed in combination with cataract surgery for an adult age 19 years or more with mild to moderate open-angle glaucoma and cataract who is currently being treated with ocular hypotensive medication.Age 19 years or more; mild to moderate open-angle glaucoma; current ocular hypotensive medication

      Examples include the OMNI Surgical System and Streamline Surgical System.

    • Trabecular microstent pathway: An iStent, iStent inject, or Hydrus Microstent is used in combination with cataract surgery for an adult with mild to moderate open-angle glaucoma and cataract who is currently being treated with ocular hypotensive medication.Mild to moderate open-angle glaucoma; current ocular hypotensive medication
    Policy Summary
    PayerUnitedHealthcare
    PolicyGlaucoma Surgical Treatments (for North Carolina Only)
    Policy CodePolicy CSNCT0443.05
    Change TypeNo material clinical or coverage change
    Effective DateOctober 1, 2026
    Next Review DateNot specified
    Key ActionDocument the glaucoma diagnosis and severity, baseline and follow-up IOP, medication use, cataract surgery status, treatment response, and clinical rationale when requesting review for newer laser or MIGS procedures.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Covered and Noncovered Glaucoma ProceduresRelated Codes, Devices, and Clinical IdentifiersDocumentation and Review ConsiderationsGlaucoma OverviewClinical Terms and Procedure Definitions

    Glaucoma drainage devices for refractory glaucoma

    The procedure is proven and medically necessary when the stated clinical condition is present.

    Refractory glaucoma drainage device: A glaucoma drainage device is used to treat refractory glaucoma when medical or surgical treatments have failed or are inappropriate.Prior medical or surgical treatment failure or inappropriateness

    Examples include the XEN System, EX-PRESS, Molteno implant, Baerveldt tube shunt, Ahmed Glaucoma Valve implant, and Krupin-Denver valve implant.

    Pediatric goniotomy or trabeculotomy

    The procedure is proven and medically necessary.

    Pediatric angle surgery: Goniotomy or trabeculotomy is used for pediatric glaucoma.Patient age 18 years or less

    Covered laser procedures

    The following laser procedures are proven and medically necessary; all other FDA-approved laser procedure types are unproven and not medically necessary.

    • Laser trabeculoplasty is performed.

      Argon or selective laser may be used.

    • Laser iridotomy or iridectomy is performed.

      Example: Nd:YAG.

    • Laser ciliary body destruction is performed.
    • Laser iridoplasty is performed.

    Other laser procedures: insufficient or unclear evidence

    Other laser procedures for glaucoma have limited, insufficient, or unclear evidence in this policy.

    Other laser procedures for glaucoma, including excimer laser trabeculostomy or trabeculotomy (ELT), femtosecond laser trabeculotomy, and OCT-guided laser trabeculotomy, are not supported by sufficient high-quality clinical evidence.

    Certain procedures are not currently U.S. FDA approved for glaucoma treatment; support for OCT-guided laser trabeculotomy is unclear. Evidence for ELT and femtosecond laser trabeculotomy is limited by study-design and follow-up limitations.

    FDA status does not independently establish coverage

    FDA information is provided for informational purposes only.

    FDA status and coverage: FDA approval or clearance identifies device indications but, by itself, does not establish coverage.

    Device-specific indications include cataract-surgery requirements for iStent, iStent inject, and Hydrus Microstent, and selective laser trabeculoplasty use for the Eagle and OPTIMIS FUSION systems.

    All other FDA-approved laser procedures are considered unproven and not medically necessary for treating any type of glaucoma because of insufficient evidence regarding efficacy and/or safety.

    Evidence is insufficient to determine the safety and efficacy of other glaucoma laser procedures, including excimer laser trabeculostomy/trabeculotomy (ELT), femtosecond laser trabeculotomy, and OCT-guided laser trabeculotomy. These procedures are not currently FDA-approved for glaucoma treatment in the United States.

    FDA approval alone does not establish medical necessity. FDA-approved laser procedures that are not specifically identified in this policy as proven are not medically necessary for treating any type of glaucoma.

    Related Codes, Devices, and Clinical Identifiers

    Related CPT and HCPCS codesmixed
    0253TInsertion of anterior segment aqueous drainage device, without extraocular reservoir, internal approach, into the suprachoroidal space
    0449TInsertion of aqueous drainage device, without extraocular reservoir, internal approach, into the subconjunctival space; initial device
    0621TTrabeculostomy ab interno by laser
    0671TInsertion of anterior segment aqueous drainage device into the trabecular meshwork, without external reservoir, and without concomitant cataract removal, one or more
    0730TTrabeculotomy by laser, including optical coherence tomography (OCT) guidance
    1012TMotorized ab interno trephination of sclera (sclerostomy), or trabecular meshwork (trabeculostomy), 1 or more, including injection of antifibrotic agents, when performed
    65820Goniotomy
    66174Transluminal dilation of aqueous outflow canal (e.g., canaloplasty); without retention of device or stent
    66179Transluminal dilation of aqueous outflow canal (e.g., canaloplasty); with retention of device or stent
    66180Aqueous shunt to extraocular equatorial plate reservoir, external approach; without graft
    1–10 of 17
    1/2
    FDA device and product identifiers for canaloplasty and related ophthalmic systemsmixed
    HMXCannula, ophthalmic
    MPAEndoilluminator
    MRHPump, infusion, ophthalmic
    K062259Canaloplasty Ophthalmic Microcannula or iTRACK
    HMZTrabeculotomy
    K211680Streamline Surgical System, also known as the Streamline Viscoelastic Injector
    FDA-approved glaucoma drainage devices and trabecular microbypass systemsmixed
    K030350EX-PRESS mini glaucoma shunt
    K890598Molteno implant
    K902489Molteno implant
    K905129Baerveldt glaucoma implant
    K955455Baerveldt glaucoma implant
    K885125Krupin Eye Valve
    K905703Krupin Eye Valve
    K925636Ahmed Glaucoma Valve implant
    KYFImplant, eye valve
    GTS100R/LiStent trabecular microbypass stent system
    1–10 of 12
    1/2
    FDA-approved glaucoma drainage and laser treatment devicesmixed
    P170034Hydrus Microstent
    K161457XEN Glaucoma Treatment System
    K230722Eagle device
    FDA-approved Nd:YAG and SLT laser systemmixed
    K140336OPTIMIS FUSION ophthalmic laser systems, delivery device, and accessories
    Clinical trial identifiermixed
    NCT06246136Prospective multicenter randomized clinical trial comparing ELIOS or a competitor device in participants with open-angle glaucoma undergoing cataract surgery
    Medication reduction after combined phaco-ELIOS
    Baseline medications1.8 ± 0.8 medications
    12-month medications0.4 ± 0.7 medications
    Reduction1.5 ± 1.0 medications
    FLIGHT IOP reduction
    Follow-up24 months
    Mean IOP reduction34.6%
    Eyes achieving at least 20% IOP reduction14 of 17 eyes (82.3%)
    ELT failure criteria
    Additional procedureNeed for another surgical glaucoma procedure
    IOP criterionIOP greater than 21 mm Hg
    Reduction criterionFailure to achieve a 20% reduction from baseline

    Documentation and Review Considerations

    Documentation Required

    Clinical Evidence and Treatment History

    For review of newer laser or MIGS procedures, submit the patient’s diagnosis and severity, treatment history, current ocular hypotensive medication use, prior medical or surgical response, and the proposed procedure. Include relevant clinical evidence and explain whether the procedure will be performed with cataract surgery or as a standalone treatment.

    • Document the glaucoma type and severity, cataract status, current medications, prior treatments, treatment failures or contraindications, and the clinical rationale for the requested procedure.
    • For procedures such as ELT, ELIOS, or FLIGHT, include the available supporting evidence and acknowledge that evidence may be limited by small samples, nonrandomized designs, lack of controls, short follow-up, or incomplete safety data.
    Documentation Required

    Identify the Device and Intended Use

    Identify the exact device and intended use in the request, and document whether it is FDA-approved for the proposed glaucoma indication. For iStent, iStent inject, and Hydrus, document that the device is being used in conjunction with cataract surgery and that the patient meets the applicable adult mild-to-moderate open-angle glaucoma criteria.

    • Name the device, model when available, FDA approval or clearance information, intended use, and proposed procedure.
    • Document the planned combination with cataract surgery when required; standalone use of iStent inject is off label.
    Denial Risk

    Unlisted FDA-Approved Laser Procedure

    All other FDA-approved types of laser procedures that are not specifically identified as proven are considered unproven and not medically necessary for treating any type of glaucoma. Verify that the requested laser procedure is one of the covered procedures before submitting for review.

    • Covered laser procedures identified in the policy include laser trabeculoplasty, laser iridotomy or iridectomy, laser ciliary body destruction, and laser iridoplasty.
    • An FDA approval alone does not establish coverage when the laser procedure is not specifically identified as proven in the policy.
    Denial Risk

    Adult Combined-Procedure Criteria Not Met

    For adult combined goniotomy, trabeculotomy, canaloplasty, combined canaloplasty and trabeculotomy, or covered trabecular microstent procedures, coverage requires that the procedure be performed with cataract surgery for mild to moderate open-angle glaucoma and cataract in an adult age 19 or older who is currently receiving ocular hypotensive medication.

    • If any specified criterion is not met, document the reason and do not represent the procedure as meeting the policy’s proven and medically necessary criteria.
    • Include patient age, glaucoma severity and type, cataract diagnosis, current ocular hypotensive therapy, and the planned cataract-surgery combination.
    Denial Risk

    Refractory Glaucoma Requirement Not Met

    Glaucoma drainage devices are covered for refractory glaucoma only when medical or surgical treatments have failed or are inappropriate. If refractoriness is not established, document the clinical rationale for the requested device or expect review concerns.

    • Describe the medical and surgical treatments tried, the response or failure of each treatment, and the dates or duration when available.
    • If treatment is inappropriate, explain the patient-specific contraindication or clinical reason it cannot be used.
    Denial Risk

    Insufficient Evidence or Lack of U.S. FDA Approval

    Other laser procedures for glaucoma may be denied when published evidence is insufficient to establish safety and efficacy or when the procedure is not FDA approved for glaucoma treatment in the United States. This includes procedures such as ELT, femtosecond laser trabeculotomy, and OCT-guided laser trabeculotomy.

    • The policy notes insufficient quality evidence for other laser procedures, including limited or unclear support for OCT-guided laser trabeculotomy.
    • Approval for refractive or other surgical uses does not establish FDA approval for glaucoma treatment in the United States.
    Note

    Limited Evidence Base

    The evidence base for ELT, ELIOS, and FLIGHT remains limited and may not establish durable comparative safety or efficacy. Requests should address these limitations and provide patient-specific justification and supporting clinical documentation.

    • ELIOS evidence is based on a combined phaco-ELIOS series without a control group, with no reported safety data and only 1-year follow-up; the individual effects of phacoemulsification and ELIOS could not be separated.
    • FLIGHT evidence comes from a small, single-arm, nonrandomized study with 18 eyes initially and risk of bias; larger multicenter randomized studies are needed.
    • ELT evidence includes small or nonrandomized studies, limited reporting of complications, variable loss to follow-up, lack of controls, and failure to demonstrate a long-lasting response; the policy also notes pending U.S. clinical studies.
    Denial Risk

    Device Indication or Off-Label Use

    Confirm that the device’s FDA-labeled indication matches the proposed use. iStent, iStent inject, and Hydrus are approved in conjunction with cataract surgery for specified adult glaucoma populations, while standalone iStent inject use is off label and may not meet policy requirements.

    • iStent is indicated with cataract surgery for adults with mild to moderate open-angle glaucoma and cataract who are currently treated with IOP-lowering medication.
    • iStent inject is approved only with cataract surgery; standalone use is off label.
    • Hydrus is indicated with cataract surgery for adults with mild to moderate primary open-angle glaucoma.
    • The Eagle device is intended for selective laser trabeculoplasty, and OPTIMIS FUSION systems have specified uses including iridotomy and SLT; do not infer coverage for other laser applications.

    Glaucoma Overview

    Glaucoma comprises a group of eye diseases commonly associated with elevated intraocular pressure. Without treatment, it can damage the optic nerve and retinal ganglion cells, causing progressive visual field loss and potentially irreversible blindness.

    Clinical Terms and Procedure Definitions

    Mild glaucoma
    Structural findingDefinite optic disc, retinal nerve fiber layer, or macular imaging abnormalities consistent with glaucoma
    Visual fieldNormal visual field
    Testing methodStandard automated perimetry
    Moderate glaucoma
    Structural findingDefinite optic disc, retinal nerve fiber layer, or macular imaging abnormalities consistent with glaucoma
    Visual fieldAbnormalities in one hemifield, not within 5° of fixation
    Testing methodStandard automated perimetry
    Severe glaucoma
    Structural findingDefinite optic disc, retinal nerve fiber layer, or macular imaging abnormalities consistent with glaucoma
    Visual fieldAbnormalities in both hemifields and/or loss within 5° of fixation in at least one hemifield
    Testing methodStandard automated perimetry
    Indeterminate glaucoma
    Structural findingDefinite optic disc, retinal nerve fiber layer, or macular imaging abnormalities consistent with glaucoma
    Visual field testingUnable to perform, unreliable, or uninterpretable
    Testing statusVisual field testing has not yet been performed
    Microinvasive or minimally invasive glaucoma surgery (MIGS)
    ApproachTypically performed through an ab interno approach
    Common settingUsually combined with phacoemulsification surgery
    Expected effectShould offer at least a 20% IOP reduction or a reduction of at least one medication
    Laser peripheral iridotomy
    ProcedureLaser creates a hole in the iris
    Fluid pathwayAllows aqueous humor to move directly from the posterior to the anterior chamber
    PurposeRelieves pupillary block
    Laser iridoplasty
    LaserLow-energy argon laser photocoagulation
    Tissue effectContracts peripheral iris tissue away from the trabecular meshwork
    PurposeOpens the anterior chamber angle and lowers IOP
    PCG
    AbbreviationPCG
    MeaningPrimary congenital glaucoma
    Clinical contextA pediatric glaucoma condition discussed in relation to angle surgery
    GATT
    AbbreviationGATT
    ExpansionCircumferential gonioscopy-assisted transluminal trabeculotomy
    Pediatric context360° or 180° angle surgery described in children with primary congenital glaucoma
    JOAG
    AbbreviationJOAG
    MeaningJuvenile open-angle glaucoma
    Patient contextOpen-angle glaucoma occurring in juvenile patients
    OAG
    AbbreviationOAG
    MeaningOpen-angle glaucoma
    Angle statusThe anterior chamber angle remains open
    Primary angle closure
    ConditionDevelopment of peripheral anterior synechiae and/or IOP greater than 21 mm Hg
    Peripheral anterior synechiaeMay be present
    IOP thresholdGreater than 21 mm Hg
    Primary angle-closure suspect (PACS)
    IOPNormal
    Angle findingAt least 180° of appositional contact
    Absent findingsNo synechiae or optic nerve abnormalities
    Primary angle-closure glaucoma (PACG)
    Underlying angle statusPrimary angle closure
    Optic nerve findingGlaucomatous optic neuropathy
    Alternative findingVisual field defects
    Acute angle closure (AAC)
    IOPAcutely elevated above 30 mm Hg
    Associated findingsCharacteristic anterior segment findings
    ConditionAcute angle closure
    OAG
    AbbreviationOAG
    MeaningOpen-angle glaucoma
    Evidence populationAdults with OAG, including primary open-angle glaucoma and other open-angle subtypes
    POAG
    AbbreviationPOAG
    MeaningPrimary open-angle glaucoma
    Disease range discussedMild to moderate disease in comparative Streamline and OMNI studies
    IOPR
    AbbreviationIOPR
    MeaningIntraocular pressure reduction from baseline
    Measurement basisChange in IOP relative to the pretreatment baseline
    ABiC
    AbbreviationABiC
    ExpansionAb interno canaloplasty
    Procedure contextDescribed with the OMNI device before trabeculotomy
    KDB goniotomy
    ProcedureKahook Dual Blade goniotomy
    DeviceKahook Dual Blade
    Common contextGenerally discussed when combined with phacoemulsification
    GATT
    AbbreviationGATT
    ExpansionGonioscopy-assisted transluminal trabeculotomy
    Clinical contextEvaluated in medically uncontrolled secondary open-angle glaucoma after silicone oil removal
    Trabectome
    PlatformElectrosurgical platform with a single-use handpiece, irrigation/aspiration unit, and high-frequency generator
    MechanismAblates the trabecular meshwork along Schlemm canal
    AccessPerformed through a small corneal incision; alone or with cataract surgery
    Ab interno trabecular bypass surgery
    ProcedureAb interno trabecular bypass surgery
    TechniqueUses the Trabectome procedure
    Indication contextTreats open-angle glaucoma
    GATT
    AbbreviationGATT
    ExpansionGonioscopy-assisted transluminal trabeculotomy
    Evidence contextAn ab interno trabeculotomy evaluated for various forms of open-angle and secondary glaucoma
    KDB goniotomy
    Procedure typeKahook Dual Blade excisional goniotomy or ab interno trabeculectomy
    Stand-alone useMay be performed as a stand-alone procedure
    Combined useMay be combined with cataract surgery
    MIGS
    MeaningMinimally invasive glaucoma surgery
    Trabecular targetProcedures may target the trabecular meshwork or Schlemm canal
    Other target spacesProcedures may target the subconjunctival space and are commonly combined with phacoemulsification
    Aqueous shunts
    Device typeGlaucoma drainage devices
    ReservoirExtraocular reservoir
    Reservoir typesValved or nonvalved
    Aqueous shunt
    ImplantGlaucoma implant with an extraocular reservoir
    TypesValved and nonvalved devices
    PurposeLowers intraocular pressure
    ELIOS
    Laser308-nm excimer laser
    CombinationUsed with phacoemulsification
    EffectCreates 10 microchannels in the trabecular region
    FLIGHT
    ExpansionFemtosecond laser, image-guided, high-precision trabeculotomy
    Laser typeFemtosecond laser
    Guidance and precisionImage-guided and high precision