Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.30
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPharmacy & Specialty DrugsPacificSource Quantity Limits Coverage | OpenPayer
    Ask Trek AI about this page
    CurrentPacificSourcePolicy CLB1234_QL_0524

    Commercial Quantity Limit Criteria

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for pacificsource Policy CLB1234_QL_0524 alerts

    Get alerted when Policy CLB1234_QL_0524 changes without checking for updates manually.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    This policy governs requests for quantities of medication that exceed the posted quantity limit for PacificSource commercial members. Providers must submit clinical support showing that the additional quantity is medically appropriate and consistent with FDA labeling, compendia, or primary literature.

    Policy Summary
    PayerPacificSource
    PolicyCommercial Quantity Limit Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy CLB1234_QL_0524
    Change TypeNo material change
    Effective DateNot specified
    Next Review DateNot specified
    Key ActionDocument the medical reason and supporting clinical evidence when requesting more than 8 at-home COVID-19 tests per 30 days.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.

    8 testsStandard at-home COVID-19 testing-kit limit
    30 daysCOVID-19 testing-kit limit period
    12 monthsStandard approval duration
    4Quantity-exception considerations

    Coverage Criteria

    General quantity-limit exception

    Quantity-limit exceptions are evaluated based on supporting clinical evidence and the following considerations:

    Clinical evidence and qualifying consideration

    • Supporting evidence

      • ONE of

        • Additional quantities are needed for dosage titration up to the FDA-approved maximum daily dose.
        • The requested dose is medically safe and effective.
        • The member has exhausted higher dosage strengths of the medication.
    Policy Summary
    PayerPacificSource
    PolicyCommercial Quantity Limit Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy CLB1234_QL_0524
    Change TypeNo material change
    Effective DateNot specified
    Next Review DateNot specified
    Key ActionDocument the medical reason and supporting clinical evidence when requesting more than 8 at-home COVID-19 tests per 30 days.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage CriteriaQuantity-Limit CodingProvider Documentation and ActionsPolicy BackgroundKey DefinitionsInitial Quantity-Limit ExceptionContinuation and ReauthorizationStandard Quantity Limits

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    The daily dosage and dosing frequency for the indication are within FDA-approved labeling.
  1. The request is supported by FDA labeling, a compendia listing, or primary literature.
  2. At-home COVID-19 testing kits

    For at-home COVID-19 testing-kit requests exceeding 8 tests per 30 days:

    Medical need for additional testing

    • The provider documents a medical reason the member needs more than 8 at-home COVID-19 tests per 30 days.>8 tests per 30 days

      At-home COVID-19 tests required by an employer are not covered by the health plan.

    Reauthorization

    Reauthorization requires:

    Continuation response

    • Documentation of treatment success and a clinically significant response to therapy is provided.

      Approval duration is 12 months unless otherwise specified.

    At-home COVID-19 tests required by an employer are not covered by the health plan.

    Quantity-Limit Coding

    At-home COVID-19 testing kits
    Applies toAt-home COVID-19 testing kits
    Exception thresholdMore than 8 tests per 30 days
    Required documentationA medical reason for needing the additional tests
    Noncovered useExtra testing required by an employer is not covered by the health plan

    Provider Documentation and Actions

    Documentation Required

    Evidence for Quantity-Limit Exception

    Support a quantity-limit exception with evidence from FDA-approved labeling, a compendia listing, or primary literature demonstrating that the requested quantity is appropriate for the member’s indication and regimen.

    • Document dosage titration up to the FDA-approved maximum daily dose, when applicable.
    • Document that the requested dose is medically safe and effective.
    • Document that the member has exhausted higher dosage strengths, when applicable.
    • Confirm that the daily dosage and dosing frequency for the indication are within FDA-approved labeling.
    Documentation Required

    Clinical Rationale and Response Documentation

    For requests for more than 8 at-home COVID-19 tests per 30 days, provide the medical reason for the additional testing and supporting clinical documentation. Reauthorization requires documentation of treatment success and a clinically significant response to therapy; approval is for 12 months unless otherwise specified.

    • Explain why the member needs more than 8 at-home COVID-19 tests per month.
    • The CDC recommends testing up to twice weekly with social distancing to reduce infection risk; because detection may take up to 14 days, people at high risk should test once weekly.
    Denial Risk

    Unsupported or Noncovered Quantity Requests

    Requests that do not meet the quantity-limit criteria may be denied. At-home COVID-19 tests required solely by an employer are not covered by the health plan.

    • Do not submit employer-only testing requirements as a medical exception.
    • The quantity limit is intended to support appropriate, cost-effective prescribing consistent with FDA labeling, manufacturer information, and peer-reviewed literature.

    Policy Background

    A quantity limit is the maximum amount of a drug that may be dispensed within a specified period. PacificSource applies quantity limits to encourage prescribing consistent with FDA-approved labeling, pharmaceutical manufacturer information, and peer-reviewed literature. Requests for quantities above the posted limit may be considered when additional medication is clinically justified, such as during dosage titration or when higher dosage strengths have been exhausted.

    Key Definitions

    Quantity limit
    DefinitionThe maximum amount of a drug that may be dispensed within a specified amount of time
    PurposeTo encourage appropriate and cost-effective prescribing
    Evaluation basisFDA labeling, compendia listings, or primary literature supporting the request
    Clinical considerationsDosage titration, medically safe and effective dosing, exhausted higher dosage strengths, and FDA-approved dosage and frequency

    Initial Quantity-Limit Exception

    Continuation and Reauthorization

    Continuation therapy

    Reauthorization requires:

    Treatment response

    • Documentation of treatment success and a clinically significant response to therapy is provided.

      Approval duration is 12 months unless otherwise specified.

    Standard Quantity Limits

    Quantity limits
    Applies toAt-home COVID-19 testing kits
    Standard limit8 tests per 30 days
    Exception requestsRequests exceeding the standard limit require documentation of a medical reason
    Approval duration12 months, unless otherwise specified