Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.28
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPharmacy & Specialty DrugsMedImpact specialty drug PDL coverage & Prior Auth…
    Ask Trek AI about this page
    CurrentmedimpactPolicy N/A

    New specialty drug PDL additions and coverage criteria

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for all medimpact policy alerts

    Know when medimpact releases new policies or updates existing guidance.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    This document summarizes new products added to the Preferred Drug List (PDL) with their formulary status, approval durations, and specific initial and renewal coverage criteria affecting prescribers, pharmacists, and prior authorization staff.

    Policy Summary
    Payermedimpact
    PolicyNew specialty drug PDL additions and coverage criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material change
    Effective DateN/A
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionObtain prior authorization with required prescriber attestation and supporting documentation per agent-specific criteria (e.g., treatment-resistant hypertension, ursodiol trial/intolerance, genetic confirmation for WHIM, dialysis and hemoglobin criteria for CKD).
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.

    6 months / 1 yearapproval durations stated for at least one agent
    1 yearcommon approval/renewal duration
    1 tablet/dayexample quantity limits
    150 mg / 300 mgquantity limit examples (tablet counts)

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    manytopical acne non-preferred agents listed (extensive list)

    Coverage Criteria Summary

    inv-01: Tryvio Initial Therapy

    Tryvio (aprocitentan) — Initial Approval

    Tryvio initial criteria: Diagnosis of treatment resistant hypertensionBP > 140/90 mmHg

    AND patient failed optimal dosing of at least three antihypertensive medications concurrently from different classes for ≥4 weeks including a diuretic; prescribed by or in consultation with a cardiologist or other disease-state specialist; prescriber attests other causes of uncontrolled hypertension have been ruled out; prescriber attests baseline serum aminotransferase and total bilirubin measured prior to initiation and will be repeated periodically during treatment; will be used in combination with ≥3 other antihypertensive drugs at maximally tolerated doses; patient meets the minimum age recommended by the package insert

    inv-02: Tryvio Renewal Therapy

    Tryvio Renewal

    Tryvio renewal criteria: Prescriber attestation of clinically significant improvement or stabilization in clinical signs and symptoms

    Continued use in combination with at least three other antihypertensive drugs at maximally tolerated doses; quantity limit 1 tablet per day

    inv-03: Iqirvo Initial Therapy

    Iqirvo (elafibranor) — Initial Approval

    Iqirvo initial criteria: Diagnosis of primary biliary cholangitis (PBC)ALP > 200 IU/L

    Prescribed by or in consultation with a gastroenterologist/hepatologist or other disease-state specialist; AND patient has either had a 12-month trial and failure of ursodiol and will take Iqirvo in addition, OR has a contraindication or intolerance to ursodiol and will take Iqirvo as monotherapy; patient does not have decompensated cirrhosis; patient meets the minimum age recommended by the package insert; approval duration 1 year; quantity limit 1 tablet per day

    inv-04: Iqirvo Renewal Therapy

    Iqirvo Renewal

    Iqirvo renewal criteria: Documentation (e.g., progress notes, laboratory reports) of improvement or stabilization in alkaline phosphatase (ALP)

    Must continue to meet the initial pathway regarding ursodiol trial and failure or documented contraindication/intolerance; approval duration: 1 year

    inv-05: Xolremdi Initial Therapy

    Xolremdi (mavorixafor) — Initial Approval

    Xolremdi initial criteria: Diagnosis of WHIM syndrome with genetic confirmation of a CXCR4 gene mutation

    Prescribed by or in consultation with a hematologist, immunologist, infectious disease specialist, or other relevant specialist; patient meets the minimum age recommended by the package insert; approval duration: 1 year; quantity limit 4 capsules per day

    inv-06: Xolremdi Renewal Therapy

    Xolremdi Renewal

    Xolremdi renewal criteria: Clinically significant improvement or stabilization in signs and symptoms

    Approval duration: 1 year; age limit: 12 years or older

    inv-07: Vafseo Initial Therapy

    Vafseo (vadadustat) — Initial Approval

    Vafseo initial criteria: Diagnosis of chronic kidney disease (CKD)Pretreatment hemoglobin ≤ 11 g/dl; patient receiving dialysis ≥ 3 months

    Patient does not have uncontrolled hypertension; patient is not receiving other erythropoiesis-stimulating agents; prescribed per package insert minimum age; approval duration: 6 months; quantity limits per product labeling (e.g., 150 mg four tablets/day or 300 mg two tablets/day)

    inv-08: Vafseo Renewal Therapy

    Vafseo Renewal

    Vafseo renewal criteria: Documentation (e.g., progress notes, laboratory report) of a positive response to therapy (for example, hemoglobin response)

    Approval duration for renewal: 6 months; quantity limits apply (150 mg four tablets/day or 300 mg two tablets/day)

    inv-09: Initial Therapy

    Covered when ALL of the following are met:

    Diagnosis of moderate to severe chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD)
    Prior therapy failure: Trial and failure of at least a 2-week trial of standard of care inhaled therapy: either triple therapy (ICS + LABA + LAMA) OR dual therapy (LABA + LAMA)2-week trial
    Age requirement: Patient meets the minimum age recommended by the package insertper PI

    inv-10: Renewal Therapy

    Renewal requires:

    Clinical response: Clinically significant improvement or stabilization in signs and symptoms

    Documentation required (e.g., progress notes); age and quantity limits as noted in product-specific sections (e.g., ensifentrine age ≥ per PI; Vafseo quantity limits)

    inv-11: Class selection & PA

    Class selection and PA policy applies as follows:

    Class selection and PA requirements: DMS selects preferred agent(s) based on economic evaluation; at least two unique chemical entities should be preferred. Agents not selected as preferred are considered non-preferred and require prior authorization. Any new chemical entity in the class requires prior authorization until reviewed by the P&T Committee.

    Applies to listed drug classes in this document (examples include topical antifungals, antipsoriatics, cytokine and CAM antagonists, gastrointestinal motility agents, colony stimulating factors, growth hormones, acne agents).

    Products identified on the class selection lists as Non-Preferred Agents are not selected as preferred options and, per the policy, will be treated as non-preferred. Use of these agents may require prior authorization or substitution to a preferred agent according to the plan's formulary management practices. Examples of items designated as non-preferred in this section include multiple topical dermatologic preparations (e.g., Retin-A Micro gel, Onexton, Ovace products, Neuac gel and kits, Klaron, and numerous cleansers and gels).

    The document lists numerous topical products and repeatedly identifies a set of items as Non-Preferred Agents. Where a product is designated non-preferred, coverage and prior authorization requirements follow the plan’s class-level rules: non-preferred status typically triggers prior authorization or formulary substitution until a preferred alternative is authorized by the plan.

    Ensifentrine (Ohtuvayre) is covered for patients with moderate to severe COPD only when all initial criteria are met, including documented trial and failure of at least a 2-week course of standard-of-care inhaled therapy — either triple therapy (ICS + LABA + LAMA) or dual therapy (LABA + LAMA) — and when the patient meets the package-insert minimum age. Failure to document the required prior inhaled therapy trial will render use inconsistent with the stated initial approval criteria.

    Agent-specific Initial Therapy Criteria

    inv-60: Tryvio initial therapy

    Tryvio (aprocitentan) — Initial Approval

    Tryvio initial: See Tryvio initial criteria in coverage criteriaBP > 140/90 mmHg

    Approval duration: 6 months initial; quantity limit: 1 tablet per day; prescribed by or in consultation with cardiologist or other disease-state specialist

    inv-61: Iqirvo initial therapy

    Iqirvo (elafibranor) — Initial Approval

    Iqirvo initial: See Iqirvo initial criteria in coverage criteriaALP > 200 IU/L

    Approval duration: 1 year; quantity limit: 1 tablet per day; requires 12-month ursodiol trial and failure or documented contraindication/intolerance to ursodiol

    Renewal and Continuation Requirements

    inv-66: Agent-specific continuation rules

    Renewal/continuation requires documentation of clinical benefit or stabilization as specified per agent.

    Tryvio continuation: Prescriber attestation of clinically significant improvement or stabilization; continued combination with ≥3 other antihypertensives

    Approval duration for renewal: 1 year

    Iqirvo continuation: Documentation of ALP improvement or stabilization; continued ursodiol failure/intolerance pathway met

    Approval duration: 1 year

    Xolremdi continuation: Clinically significant improvement or stabilization in signs and symptoms

    Approval duration: 1 year; age ≥ 12 years

    Prior Authorization, Documentation, and Denial Risks

    Prior Authorization

    Tryvio prior authorization & prescriber attestation

    Prior authorization is required for Tryvio (aprocitentan). The prescriber must attest the patient meets treatment‑resistant hypertension criteria (BP >140/90 mmHg), has failed optimal dosing of ≥3 antihypertensives concurrently for ≥4 weeks including a diuretic, will use Tryvio in combination with ≥3 other antihypertensives at maximally tolerated doses, has had baseline and periodic liver tests, and the prescription is written by or in consultation with a cardiologist or other disease‑state specialist.

    • Prescriber attestation that other causes of uncontrolled hypertension have been ruled out
    • Prescriber attests serum aminotransferase and total bilirubin measured prior to initiation and will be repeated periodically
    • Approval duration: 6 months initial; renewal requires prescriber attestation of clinical improvement/stabilization
    Prior Authorization

    Iqirvo prior authorization — ursodiol trial/intolerance & ALP threshold

    Prior authorization is required for Iqirvo (elafibranor) for primary biliary cholangitis. The prescriber must be a gastroenterologist/hepatologist (or consult one) and document either a 12‑month trial and failure of ursodiol or a documented contraindication/intolerance to ursodiol, and that the patient has an ALP >200 IU/L and no decompensated cirrhosis.

    Clinical Thresholds and Key Values

    Hypertension threshold
    Hypertension thresholdPersistent blood pressure above 140/90 mmHg
    Failure requirementFailed optimal dosing of ≥3 antihypertensive medications concurrently from different classes for ≥4 weeks, including a diuretic
    Specialist involvementPrescribed by or in consultation with a cardiologist or disease-state specialist
    Alkaline phosphatase (ALP)
    ALP threshold> 200 IU/L
    Indication contextRequired for diagnosis of primary biliary cholangitis (PBC) when requesting Iqirvo
    Specialist involvement

    Step Therapy / Trial Requirements

    StepRequirementNotes
    1
    Trial and documented failure of ursodiol for 12 months OR documented contraindication/intolerance to ursodiol
    Iqirvo (elafibranor) initial approval requires ALP > 200 IU/L and prescriber is a gastroenterologist/hepatologist or consultation with specialist; renewal requires documentation of ALP improvement or stabilization and continued meeting of the ursodiol trial/intolerance pathway
    StepRequirementNotes
    1
    Trial and failure of at least a 2-week trial of standard of care inhaled therapy: either triple therapy (ICS + LABA + LAMA) OR dual therapy (LABA + LAMA)
    Patient must meet minimum age per package insert; renewal requires documentation of clinically significant improvement or stabilization in signs and symptoms
    ImplicationPolicy impactAction required
    Preferred-first selection implied
    DMS selects preferred agents based on economic evaluation; at least 2 unique chemical entities should be preferred
    Prescribers should expect use of preferred agents first; non-preferred agents will require prior authorization
    ImplicationExamples / evidencePolicy action
    Preferred‑first step therapy is effectively implied for many topical dermatologic products though explicit step edits are not listed
    Multiple products are identified as Non-Preferred Agents (e.g., Neuac gel, Onexton, Ovace wash/cream/lotion/shampoo, Retin-A Micro gel, Generic Clindagel) in the class selection lists
    Use of listed non‑preferred topical agents will generally require prior authorization or substitution to a preferred agent per formulary policy

    Quantity Limits and Examples

    Tryvio — quantity limit example
    Tryvio quantity limit1 tablet per day (Quantity Limit: 1/day)
    Approval duration (initial)6 months initial approval (context)
    Renewal requirementPrescriber attestation of clinical improvement or stabilization for renewal
    Iqirvo — quantity limit example
    Iqirvo quantity limit1 tablet per day (Quantity Limit: 1/day)
    Step therapy noteRequires 12-month trial and failure of ursodiol unless contraindicated/intolerant
    Renewal requirement

    Prescriber and Site-of-Care Requirements

    Documentation Required

    Office: specialist prescriber or consultation required

    Prescriptions for these agents should be written by, or in consultation with, the specified specialist for each indication (e.g., cardiology for resistant hypertension; gastroenterology/hepatology for PBC; hematology/immunology/infectious disease for WHIM; nephrology for CKD/ESAs).

    • Specialist involvement is a stated requirement for initial approval for several agents

    Definitions and Terminology

    Treatment-resistant hypertension — definition and criteria
    DefinitionPersistent blood pressure above 140/90 mmHg despite optimal dosing of at least three antihypertensive medications concurrently from different classes for a minimum of 4 weeks, including a diuretic
    Documentation neededPrescriber attestation that other causes of uncontrolled BP have been ruled out
    Specialist involvementPrescribed by or in consultation with a cardiologist or other disease-state specialist
    WHIM syndrome — definition and genetic confirmation requirement
    DefinitionWHIM syndrome: Warts, Hypogammaglobulinemia, Infections, and Myelokathexis
    Genetic confirmationDiagnosis must be confirmed through genetic testing identifying a CXCR4 gene mutation

    Background and Scope

    This update adds several recently marketed agents and clarifies class-selection rules. Notably, multiple topical dermatologic products are listed as Non-Preferred Agents, meaning they will generally require prior authorization or substitution to preferred alternatives under the plan’s formulary. In the respiratory space, the first-in-class agent ensifentrine is subject to targeted coverage criteria: it is covered for moderate to severe COPD when the patient has failed a documented 2‑week trial of standard inhaled therapy and meets the package-insert age requirement. These changes emphasize prescriber documentation of prior therapy trials and support prior authorization review for non-preferred and new chemical entities.

    Policy Summary
    Payermedimpact
    PolicyNew specialty drug PDL additions and coverage criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material change
    Effective DateN/A
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionObtain prior authorization with required prescriber attestation and supporting documentation per agent-specific criteria (e.g., treatment-resistant hypertension, ursodiol trial/intolerance, genetic confirmation for WHIM, dialysis and hemoglobin criteria for CKD).
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage Criteria SummaryAgent-specific Initial Therapy CriteriaRenewal and Continuation RequirementsPrior Authorization, Documentation, and Denial RisksClinical Thresholds and Key ValuesStep Therapy / Trial RequirementsQuantity Limits and ExamplesPrescriber and Site-of-Care RequirementsDefinitions and TerminologyBackground and Scope

    inv-62: Xolremdi initial therapy

    Xolremdi (mavorixafor) — Initial Approval

    Xolremdi initial: See Xolremdi initial criteria in coverage criteria

    Approval duration: 1 year; age limit ≥ 12 years; quantity limit: 4 capsules per day; requires genetic confirmation of CXCR4 mutation and specialist involvement

    inv-63: Vafseo initial therapy

    Vafseo (vadadustat) — Initial Approval

    Vafseo initial: See Vafseo initial criteria in coverage criteriaPretreatment hemoglobin ≤ 11 g/dl; dialysis ≥ 3 months

    Approval duration: 6 months; patient must not have uncontrolled hypertension and must not be receiving other ESAs; quantity limits: 150 mg four tablets/day or 300 mg two tablets/day

    inv-64: Ensifentrine (Ohtuvayre) Initial Therapy

    Ensifentrine (Ohtuvayre) — Initial Approval

    Ensifentrine initial: See Ensifentrine initial criteria in coverage criteria

    Initial approval requires diagnosis of moderate to severe COPD, trial and failure of at least a 2-week trial of standard inhaled therapies (ICS+LABA+LAMA or LABA+LAMA), and meets package insert minimum age; approval duration: 6 months initial, 1 year renewal; quantity limit example: 5 mL per day

    inv-65: Initial class selection policy

    Initial class selection policy

    Class selection and PA rules: DMS selects preferred agent(s) based on economic evaluation; however, at least two unique chemical entities should be preferred. Agents not selected as preferred will be considered non-preferred and require prior authorization. Any new chemical entity in the specified classes requires prior authorization until reviewed by the P&T Committee.

    Applies across listed classes (e.g., Colony Stimulating Factors, Growth Hormones, Acne Agents).

    Vafseo continuation:
    Documentation of positive hemoglobin response to therapy

    Approval duration for renewal: 6 months

    inv-67: Renewal/Continuation

    Renewal/continuation requirements noted in document

    Renewal documentation: Documentation of a positive response to therapy (e.g., progress notes, laboratory report) or clinically significant improvement/stabilization in signs and symptoms

    Approval durations vary by agent (examples: Vafseo renewal 6 months; Tryvio/Iqirvo/Xolremdi renewal 1 year)

    • If ursodiol trial required: document 12‑month trial and failure (renewal requires continued ursodiol failure/intolerance pathway and ALP improvement/stabilization)
    • Approval duration: 1 year
    Prior Authorization

    Xolremdi prior authorization — genetic confirmation & specialist prescriber

    Prior authorization is required for Xolremdi (mavorixafor) and the diagnosis must be genetically confirmed WHIM syndrome. The drug must be prescribed by or in consultation with a hematologist, immunologist, infectious disease specialist, or other appropriate specialist.

    • Documentation of genetic testing identifying a CXCR4 mutation is required
    • Age limit and quantity limits apply per package insert (renewal requires clinically significant improvement/stabilization)
    Prior Authorization

    Vafseo prior authorization — CKD on dialysis hemoglobin & duration criteria

    Prior authorization is required for Vafseo (vadadustat) for ESA‑eligible CKD patients on dialysis. The provider must document pretreatment hemoglobin ≤11 g/dL, that the patient has been on dialysis ≥3 months, is not receiving other ESAs, and does not have uncontrolled hypertension.

    • Renewal requires documentation (progress notes or laboratory report) of a positive hemoglobin response to therapy
    • Approval duration: 6 months; quantity limits stated in policy
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for new chemical entities and non‑preferred agents

    Prior authorization is required for agents designated as non‑preferred and for any new chemical entity in listed classes until review by the P&T Committee. Agents not selected as preferred will be considered non‑preferred and require PA.

    • Applies across multiple classes (e.g., Muscular Dystrophy Agents, Stimulants, Colony Stimulating Factors, topical classes)
    • New chemical entities remain subject to PA until P&T Committee review
    Step Therapy

    Ensifentrine prior authorization — step requirement & trial/failure documentation for COPD

    Prior authorization for Ensifentrine (Ohtuvayre) requires documentation of a diagnosis of moderate to severe COPD and a documented trial and failure of at least a 2‑week trial of standard‑of‑care inhaled therapy (either ICS+LABA+LAMA or LABA+LAMA).

    • Patient must meet the minimum age per the package insert
    • Renewal requires clinically significant improvement or stabilization with documentation (e.g., progress notes)
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for non‑preferred agents and new chemical entities until P&T review

    Non‑preferred agents and any new chemical entity in the listed classes require prior authorization until reviewed by the P&T Committee; providers should submit standard PA documentation when requesting these agents.

    • This is a class‑level requirement that applies to topical, biologic, and specialty classes listed in the policy
    • Documentation supporting medical necessity may be requested during the PA process
    Prior Authorization

    Non‑preferred topical agents may require prior authorization

    Certain topical dermatologic products are listed as Non‑Preferred Agents; prescribing these non‑preferred topical agents may require prior authorization per formulary policy.

    • Examples of non‑preferred topical agents are listed explicitly (e.g., Neuac gel, Onexton, Ovace products, Retin‑A Micro gel)
    • Use of listed non‑preferred topical products may require documentation of medical necessity
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for non‑preferred and new agents (reiteration)

    Agents not selected as preferred will be considered non‑preferred and require prior authorization; this policy is reiterated across multiple therapeutic classes in the document.

    • Preferred‑first selection is based on economic evaluation; providers may be required to try preferred agents first where applicable
    Note

    Prior authorization — not specified in some excerpts

    The document includes PA statements for many lists, but for some excerpts specific prior authorization requirements are not specified; providers should refer to the agent‑specific criteria elsewhere in the policy when PA language is absent.

    • When PA requirements are not specified in an excerpt, no additional PA instruction is provided in that section
    Step Therapy

    Iqirvo ursodiol trial/failure or contraindication — step & denial risk

    Iqirvo approval requires documentation of either a 12‑month trial and failure of ursodiol or a documented contraindication/intolerance to ursodiol; absence of this documentation may lead to denial.

    • Renewal also requires documentation of improvement or stabilization in ALP
    • ALP must be >200 IU/L at baseline
    Step Therapy

    Ensifentrine step requirement — documented trial/failure of standard COPD therapy

    Providers must document trial and failure of at least a 2‑week course of standard COPD inhaled therapy (either triple‑therapy ICS+LABA+LAMA or dual LABA+LAMA) before Ensifentrine will be approved; failure to document this trial may result in denial.

    • Minimum age per package insert must be met
    • Renewal requires documentation of clinically significant improvement or stabilization
    Note

    Preferred‑first implied — economic selection influences PA

    The policy selects preferred agents based on economic evaluation and implies preferred‑first use; providers should expect formulary preference to influence authorization decisions and may be required to try preferred agents first.

    • At least two unique chemical entities should be preferred per class
    • Non‑preferred status typically triggers PA requirements
    Note

    Provider actions — follow agent‑specific criteria when unspecified

    Where specific provider actions are not explicitly stated in a section, follow the agent‑specific coverage and PA criteria elsewhere in the policy and submit standard PA documentation when requesting non‑preferred or new agents.

    • If guidance is absent, rely on class‑level PA rules and agent‑specific criteria throughout the document
    Note

    No step therapy described in certain sections

    Some sections state no step therapy requirements; when no step edits are described, providers should not assume additional step trials beyond the agent‑specific criteria.

    • Verify agent‑specific step requirements (e.g., Iqirvo, Ensifentrine) rather than assuming a general step policy
    Documentation Required

    Documentation required — baseline and lab results for response/stabilization

    For renewals across multiple agents, providers must submit progress notes and laboratory results documenting baseline and follow‑up response or stabilization (examples: blood pressure control for Tryvio; ALP improvement/stabilization for Iqirvo; hemoglobin response for Vafseo).

    • Renewal documentation is required to demonstrate clinically significant improvement or stabilization
    • Examples of acceptable documentation include progress notes and laboratory reports
    Documentation Required

    Renewal documentation — progress notes or labs showing response

    Renewal requests require documentation (progress notes or laboratory reports) showing a positive clinical response or stabilization; renewals for some agents also require continued adherence to the initial pathway (e.g., continued ursodiol failure/intolerance pathway for Iqirvo).

    • Renewal durations vary by agent (e.g., Tryvio renewal: 1 year; Vafseo renewal: 6 months)
    • Documentation must demonstrate clinically significant improvement or stabilization
    Documentation Required

    PA documentation — supporting documentation may be required until P&T review

    Documentation supporting a PA for non‑preferred agents and new chemical entities may be required until the P&T Committee has reviewed the agent; submit standard PA medical necessity documentation as part of the request.

    • Class‑level PA documentation expectations apply across listed therapeutic classes
    • Be prepared to supply clinical rationale and supporting labs or notes
    Note

    Non‑preferred topical product listings — coverage implications

    The policy lists numerous non‑preferred topical agents (examples: Neuac gel, Onexton, Ovace wash/cream/lotion/shampoo, Retin‑A Micro gel); use of these listed non‑preferred products may trigger PA or require substitution to a preferred agent.

    • Providers should check formulary preference and submit PA documentation for listed non‑preferred topical items when requested
    Documentation Required

    PA documentation — standard PA documentation for non‑preferred/new agents

    When requesting coverage for non‑preferred or new chemical entities, follow standard PA documentation procedures and be prepared to provide clinical justification and supporting records per the class‑level PA rules.

    • PA documentation requirement is a standard part of the prior authorization process for non‑preferred/new agents
    Note

    No documentation requirements specified in some sections

    Some policy sections do not specify documentation requirements for the agents listed; in those cases, providers should follow agent‑specific guidance elsewhere in the policy or submit a standard PA with supporting clinical records if seeking non‑preferred agents.

    • Absence of explicit documentation instructions in a section does not negate agent‑specific documentation requirements
    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — missing antihypertensive trials/attestation for Tryvio

    Lack of documentation that the patient failed optimal dosing of at least three antihypertensive medications (including a diuretic), or absence of the required prescriber attestations, may result in denial of Tryvio.

    • Prescriber attestation that other causes of uncontrolled hypertension have been ruled out is required to avoid denial
    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — missing ursodiol trial documentation for Iqirvo

    Absence of documentation of a 12‑month trial and failure of ursodiol, or lack of a documented contraindication/intolerance to ursodiol when applicable, may lead to denial for Iqirvo.

    • Renewal also requires documentation of ALP improvement/stabilization
    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — missing genetic confirmation or specialist prescribing for Xolremdi

    For Xolremdi, failure to provide genetic confirmation of a CXCR4 mutation or to show the prescription was written by (or in consultation with) an appropriate specialist may result in denial.

    • Documentation of genetic testing identifying the CXCR4 mutation is required
    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — missing dialysis/hemoglobin/ESA documentation for Vafseo

    For Vafseo, missing documentation that the patient has been on dialysis ≥3 months, a pretreatment hemoglobin ≤11 g/dL, or that the patient is not receiving other ESAs may trigger denial.

    • Also required: documentation that the patient does not have uncontrolled hypertension
    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — lack of documented trial/failure of standard COPD therapy for Ensifentrine

    Failure to document trial and failure of the required standard COPD therapies (2‑week trial of triple or dual inhaled therapy) may result in denial of Ensifentrine.

    • Documentation should include duration and response to the prior inhaled therapies
    Billing Rule

    Non‑preferred agents require PA

    Agents not selected as preferred will be considered non‑preferred and will require prior authorization; providers should expect PA edits for non‑preferred agents.

    • This applies across the multiple classes listed in the policy
    Prior Authorization

    New chemical entities require PA until P&T review

    Any new chemical entity in the specified classes requires prior authorization until the P&T Committee has reviewed the agent; submit PA requests and supporting documentation accordingly.

    • This rule is applied to classes such as Colony Stimulating Factors, Growth Hormones, Acne Agents, Antimigraine CGRP inhibitors, etc.
    Note

    Coverage implications — many non‑preferred topical agents listed

    Use of many listed non‑preferred topical agents may lead to non‑coverage or formulary substitution; providers should consult the formulary and submit PA when prescribing listed non‑preferred topical products.

    • Examples include numerous named topical acne and dermatologic products repeated in the non‑preferred lists
    Prior Authorization

    Non‑preferred agents require PA (reiterated)

    The policy reiterates that agents not selected as preferred will require prior authorization; providers should plan to request PA for non‑preferred agents.

    • Preferred status is determined by DMS based on economic evaluation
    Prior Authorization

    New chemical entities require PA (reiterated)

    The policy reiterates that any new chemical entity in a listed class requires prior authorization until reviewed by the P&T Committee; providers must submit PA for newly introduced agents.

    • This applies across multiple therapeutic classes as enumerated in the document
    Note

    Provider actions — none stated in some chunks; follow full policy

    For sections where provider actions are not stated, follow the agent‑specific coverage, step, and PA criteria elsewhere in the policy and provide supporting clinical documentation when submitting PA requests.

    • When unspecified, rely on class‑level rules and agent‑specific nodes within the policy
    Note
    Prescribed by or in consultation with a gastroenterologist, hepatologist, or other disease-state specialist
    Hemoglobin
    Hemoglobin threshold≤ 11 g/dl
    Dialysis requirementPatient has been receiving dialysis for at least 3 months (context for Vafseo)
    Exclusion notePatient must not have uncontrolled hypertension
    Minimum age
    Minimum agePer package insert for ensifentrine (Ohtuvayre)
    Indication contextApplies when ensifentrine is being used for moderate to severe COPD
    Step requirement tie-inMinimum age must be met in addition to trial/failure of required inhaled therapies
    Documentation of ALP improvement or stabilization required for renewal
    Xolremdi — quantity limit example
    Xolremdi quantity limit4 capsules per day (Quantity Limit: 4/day)
    Age limitAge 12 years or older for use
    Specialist requirementPrescribed by or in consultation with hematology/immunology/infectious disease specialist
    Vafseo — tablet quantity examples
    Vafseo tablet examples150 mg: four tablets per day; 300 mg: two tablets per day
    Renewal documentationDocumentation of positive response to therapy required for renewal
    Approval durationInitial approval duration noted as 6 months (context)
    Unspecified tablet examples
    Tablet dosing examples150 mg: four tablets per day; 300 mg: two tablets per day
    Applies toUsed as quantity-limit examples for unspecified tablet products in document
    Renewal noteQuantity limits apply and may be enforced at renewal
    Unspecified liquid example
    Liquid example5 mL per day
    ContextQuantity limit example for ensifentrine renewal (5 mL/day) or other inhalation solutions listed
    Renewal requirementClinically significant improvement or stabilization required for renewal
    Specialist involvementPrescribed by or in consultation with a hematologist, immunologist, infectious disease specialist, or other specialist
    Ensifentrine — brief definition
    Short definitionEnsifentrine: first-in-class dual phosphodiesterase (PDE)-3 and PDE-4 inhibitor
    Mechanism summaryInhibits PDE4 to reduce inflammatory signaling and PDE3 to regulate airway smooth muscle, promoting bronchial relaxation
    Indication contextUsed for moderate to severe COPD per document
    Non-Preferred Agents — topical dermatologic
    DefinitionNon-Preferred Agents: topical dermatologic products (gels, creams, lotions, shampoos, washes, kits) designated non-preferred within the class selection
    ImplicationUse of listed non-preferred topical agents may require prior authorization or substitution to preferred agents
    ExamplesIncludes products such as Neuac gel, Onexton, Ovace wash, Retin-A Micro gel (extensive list provided)
    Preferred agent — selection rule
    DefinitionPreferred agent: an agent selected by DMS based on economic evaluation; at least two unique chemical entities should be preferred per class
    Policy implicationPreferred agents are expected to be used first where applicable; selection is class-level and economics-driven
    Minimum requirementAt least 2 unique chemical entities preferred per class
    Non-preferred agent — definition
    DefinitionNon-preferred agent: agents not selected as preferred; will require prior authorization
    Coverage impactNon-preferred status typically triggers PA and may require documentation of medical necessity
    Class-level ruleApplies across listed drug classes until P&T designation changes
    Preferred / Non-Preferred agents — general note
    General notePreferred vs Non-Preferred status is determined by DMS based on economic evaluation; non-preferred agents require prior authorization
    New chemical entitiesAny new chemical entity in listed classes requires PA until reviewed by the P&T Committee
    Topical productsExtensive lists of topical non-preferred agents are provided; formulary management may require substitution to preferred items