Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.28
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPreventive Services & Screeningkernfamilyhealthcare Diabetes Prevention Program C…
    Ask Trek AI about this page
    CurrentkernfamilyhealthcarePolicy N/A

    Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP) coverage criteria

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for all kernfamilyhealthcare policy alerts

    Know when kernfamilyhealthcare releases new policies or updates existing guidance.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    Defines Kern Family Health Care's implementation of a Diabetes Prevention Program benefit for members, describing eligibility and program features for providers and network partners.

    Policy Summary
    Payerkernfamilyhealthcare
    PolicyDiabetes Prevention Program (DPP) coverage criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNew benefit added (DPP)
    Effective DateJan 1, 2019
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionRefer eligible members (age ≥18 with HbA1c 5.7–6.4 or high risk) to the one-year Diabetes Prevention Program per DHCS APL 18-018.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    Effective January 1, 2019, Kern Health Systems will implement a Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP) as a benefit available to members.

    Program eligibility includes members over age 18 with HbA1c 5.7–6.4 or those considered high risk for developing diabetes.

    The program lasts one year with the option to continue for an additional qualifying year.

    >=18member age eligibility
    5.7-6.4HbA1c threshold
    1 yr (+1)program duration

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    APL18-018
    regulatory ref

    Coverage Criteria for Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP)

    inv-01: Initial Eligibility

    Covered when ALL of the following are met

    DPP eligibility: Member is over age 18 AND has HbA1c 5.7 to 6.4 OR is considered high risk for developing diabetes per DHCS guidance.age >=18; HbA1c 5.7-6.4

    Program follows DHCS All Plan Letter 18-018

    inv-02: Duration / Continuation

    Program duration and continuation

    Duration: Program is provided for one year and may continue for an additional year for members who qualify.1 year (+1 optional)

    Qualification criteria for the second year are not specified in this document; refer to DHCS All Plan Letter 18-018.

    This document does not list any explicit exclusions for the Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP).

    No additional coverage limitations or "not medically necessary" items are specified in this policy.

    Coding, Laboratory and Demographic Criteria

    inv-06: HbA1c — laboratory eligibility threshold
    HbA1c threshold5.7 to 6.4%
    Purpose of thresholdIdentifies members with prediabetes eligible for DPP participation
    Source referenceDocument states members with an HgA1c level of 5.7 to 6.4 are eligible
    inv-07: Age — member age eligibility
    Minimum age>= 18 years
    Population coveredAll members aged 18 and older may be considered for DPP if other eligibility criteria are met
    Effective date

    Provider Actions and Administrative Notes

    Prior Authorization

    Prior authorization not required / Not stated

    The policy does not specify any prior authorization requirement for enrolling members in the Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP). No forms, authorization processes, or PA codes are listed in this document.

    Step Therapy

    No step therapy described

    The document does not describe any step therapy or sequencing requirements before a member may participate in the DPP benefit.

    Documentation Required

    Documentation and program reference (DHCS APL 18-018)

    Background

    The Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP) is an evidence-based, year-long lifestyle education benefit implemented by Kern Health Systems effective January 1, 2019 in accordance with DHCS direction. The program is intended for adults at increased risk for type 2 diabetes and focuses on weight management and behavior change through structured activities such as peer coaching, self-monitoring and problem solving, routine weigh-ins, feedback and encouragement, and provision of informational materials to support goals. Participation criteria include being aged >= 18 years with an HbA1c of 5.7–6.4 or being otherwise considered high risk for developing diabetes per DHCS guidance. The program is provided for one year and may continue for an additional qualifying year.

    Definitions

    inv-13: DPP — definition of Diabetes Prevention Program (year-long lifestyle education program)
    Program nameDiabetes Prevention Program (DPP)
    DurationOne year (with option to continue for an additional qualifying year)
    Core componentsYear-long lifestyle education using approved lifestyle changes, peer coach, self-monitoring, problem solving, informational materials, and routine weigh-ins
    Regulatory referenceProgram implemented per DHCS All Plan Letter 18-018
    inv-14: High risk — definition of 'high risk' for developing diabetes as referenced
    Definition of high riskMembers with HbA1c 5.7 to 6.4 or those considered high risk for developing diabetes per DHCS guidance
    Policy Summary
    Payerkernfamilyhealthcare
    PolicyDiabetes Prevention Program (DPP) coverage criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNew benefit added (DPP)
    Effective DateJan 1, 2019
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionRefer eligible members (age ≥18 with HbA1c 5.7–6.4 or high risk) to the one-year Diabetes Prevention Program per DHCS APL 18-018.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage Criteria for Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP)Coding, Laboratory and Demographic CriteriaProvider Actions and Administrative NotesBackgroundDefinitions
    Effective January 1, 2019 per policy implementation

    Providers should refer to DHCS All Plan Letter 18-018 for program standards and potential documentation requirements related to the DPP benefit.

    • Source reference: DHCS All Plan Letter 18-018 (link provided in the policy).
    Denial Risk

    Denial triggers / denial details not specified

    The policy does not define specific denial triggers or denial details for DPP enrollment or continuation; denial criteria are not specified in this document.

    • Policy lists eligibility criteria (age ≥18 and HbA1c 5.7–6.4 or high-risk status) but does not state which failures would lead to benefit denial.
    • Refer to DHCS APL 18-018 for regulatory standards that may include denial or appeals procedures.
    ImplicationMembers meeting high-risk criteria may be eligible for enrollment in the DPP even if other specific thresholds vary
    ReferenceHigh-risk definition referenced to DHCS guidance (All Plan Letter 18-018)