Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.28
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPharmacy & Specialty DrugsFlorida Blue formulary Coverage & Prior Auth | Ope…
    Ask Trek AI about this page

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    CurrentFlorida BluePolicy 00026252

    BlueMedicare Complete Rx formulary (Comprehensive Formulary) — Prescription drug coverage criteria

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for Florida Blue Policy 00026252 alerts

    Get alerted when Policy 00026252 changes without checking for updates manually.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    This document governs the prescription drugs covered under the BlueMedicare Complete Rx (PDP) plan and describes coverage rules, restrictions, member rights, and how to use the formulary for plan enrollees and their prescribers.

    Policy Summary
    PayerFlorida Blue
    PolicyBlueMedicare Complete Rx formulary (Comprehensive Formulary) — Prescription drug coverage criteria
    Policy CodePolicy 00026252
    Change TypeNo material change — routine update
    Effective DateJan 1, 2026
    Last ReviewOct 15, 2025
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionObtain prior authorization when a drug is marked 'PA' before submitting the claim to avoid coverage denial.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.

    00026252Formulary ID
    10/15/2025Last updated
    31 daysTemporary supply
    $35Insulin cap
    72/24 hrsDecision timeframes

    Coverage Criteria and Policy Rules

    General coverage conditions

    Covered when ALL of the following are met

    Standard coverage conditions: Drug is listed on the formulary, is medically necessary, the prescription is filled at a BlueMedicare Complete Rx network pharmacy, and other plan rules are followed.

    From formulary general coverage statement (BlueMedicare Complete Rx)

    Temporary access during exception/transition

    Covered temporarily when ALL of the following are met

    Temporary supply provision: For drugs not on the formulary or with coverage restrictions, the plan will provide a one-time temporary 31-day supply (or refills up to a 31-day supply) while the member and prescriber pursue a coverage decision or formulary exception; applies during the first 90 days of membership or as a 31-day emergency supply for LTC admissions/discharges.31 days

    One-time temporary supply; LTC admission/discharge override of refill-too-soon edits also applies

    Policy Summary
    PayerFlorida Blue
    PolicyBlueMedicare Complete Rx formulary (Comprehensive Formulary) — Prescription drug coverage criteria
    Policy CodePolicy 00026252
    Change TypeNo material change — routine update
    Effective DateJan 1, 2026
    Last ReviewOct 15, 2025
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionObtain prior authorization when a drug is marked 'PA' before submitting the claim to avoid coverage denial.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage Criteria and Policy RulesFormulary Codes, Tiers, and Quantity RulesProvider Requirements, Prior Authorization, and DocumentationDefinitions, Background and Policy ContextQuantity Limits (QL) by Product and FormulationStep Therapy Notes and ApplicationPharmacy and Distribution NotesBiosimilars and Interchangeability

    Formulary coverage summary

    Covered as listed on the formulary with stated tier and utilization controls

    Formulary line coverage: Coverage for each listed drug is provided subject to the Drug Tier and any Requirements/Limits shown for that specific formulation (for example, Quantity Limits (QL) and Prior Authorization (PA)).See QL values per line

    Refer to each formulary row for exact tier, PA flags, and QL values

    Covered with product-specific PA and QL

    Coverage for listed outpatient drugs is provided when product-specific prior authorization and quantity limits are met as indicated in the table.

    Product-specific PA and QL compliance: Provider must obtain any product‑specific prior authorization required (including age‑based PA such as PA (>=65 yr) where indicated) and ensure dispensed quantities do not exceed the Quantity Limits specified for the strength/pack/kit.Adhere to stated QL per product; PA obtained when indicated

    Apply the exact PA and QL annotations shown on the product row (e.g., QL 1 kit/180 days; QL 270 tablets/30 days)

    Coverage conditioned on PA/QL

    Coverage indications tied to formulary table flags (PA and QL) — drugs covered contingent on meeting PA or QL constraints as listed.

    Coverage conditioned on administrative controls: Coverage for a listed drug is provided when any required prior authorization is obtained and the dispensed quantity does not exceed the stated Quantity Limit. Failure to obtain PA or exceeding QL may result in denial of coverage.PA obtained; QL not exceeded

    Based on table annotations (PA and QL) shown in formulary rows (examples: PA + QL (600 mls/30 days) for CORLANOR; PA and QL for ivabradine; PA and QL for KERENDIA)

    Drugs that have been withdrawn from the market by the manufacturer or by the Food and Drug Administration for safety or effectiveness reasons may be removed from the formulary and not covered. When such a removal occurs, the plan may immediately remove the drug from coverage and will provide notice to affected members; in other non-withdrawal changes the plan will provide at least 30 days notice or a one-time 31-day refill at the time of a refill request as described in the formulary notice procedures.

    Some drugs are designated as limited distribution (indicated by an asterisk in the drug list) and may be available only at select pharmacies. Providers and members should consult the Pharmacy Directory or contact Member Services to confirm site‑of‑care availability and any special dispensing instructions for limited distribution products.

    Within the excerpted formulary there are no standalone clinical exclusions shown. Coverage in this extract is expressed through line‑item controls such as formulary tier, Quantity Limits (QL), and Prior Authorization (PA) flags rather than explicit exclusion statements; see individual product rows for applied limits and requirements.

    Coverage for listed outpatient drugs in the table is contingent on meeting any product‑specific utilization controls shown on the formulary. Specifically, coverage is provided when any required Prior Authorization (PA) is obtained and dispensed quantities do not exceed the stated Quantity Limit (QL) for that strength/pack/kit as listed on the product row.

    This extract of the formulary does not display explicit clinical exclusion lists for diagnoses or indications. Instead, clinical coverage determinations in this segment are managed through the formulary controls (tiering, PA, QL) applied per product line.

    In the provided excerpt there are no explicit statements labeled 'Not Medically Necessary.' The document does indicate that claims may be reviewed and coverage denied when formulary utilization controls (for example, PA requirements or QL exceedances) are not satisfied, but no discrete NMN criteria are shown in these chunks.

    If a required prior authorization is not obtained or the dispensed quantity exceeds the listed Quantity Limit (QL), the claim may be denied. The formulary marks affected products with PA and/or explicit QL values; providers should obtain PA and document requested quantities and member age when age‑based PA (e.g., PA (>=65 yr)) applies to avoid denials.

    Across the excerpted sections there are no explicit entries titled 'Not Medically Necessary (NMN)'. The policy emphasizes that coverage decisions in this fragment rely on meeting the utilization controls listed for each product (PA, QL) rather than on standalone NMN language.

    Formulary Codes, Tiers, and Quantity Rules

    Formulary copay code referencesmixed
    S615Applies to Tiers 3,4 and 5 only; tier-specific copay/coinsurance structure described (examples in text)
    Formulary drug linesNDC | mixed
    hydrocodone-acetaminophen tab 5-325 mglisted with QL (180 or 240 tablets/30 days) and tier entries
    hydrocodone-acetaminophen tab 7.5-325 mglisted with QL (180-240 tablets/30 days)
    hydromorphone hcl liqd 7 mg/mlQL (1440 mls/30 days)
    hydromorphone hcl preservative free inj 10 mg/mlBD (billing descriptor) stated
    hydromorphone hcl tab 2 mgDrug Tier = 4; QL (180 tablets/30 days)
    hydromorphone hcl tab 4 mgDrug Tier = 4; QL (180 tablets/30 days)
    hydromorphone hcl tab 8 mgDrug Tier = 4; QL (180 tablets/30 days)
    ibuprofen tab 400 mgQL (240 tablets/30 days)
    ibuprofen tab 600 mgQL (150 tablets/30 days)
    ibuprofen tab 800 mgQL (120 tablets/30 days)
    1–10 of 57
    1/6
    Formulary drug entries (selected examples)NDC | mixed
    DIACOMIT stiripentol cap 250 mgDrug Tier = 5; Requirements/Limits = PA (=65 yr) , QL (60 tablets/30 days).
    DIACOMIT stiripentol cap 500 mgDrug Tier = 5; Requirements/Limits = .
    DIACOMIT stiripentol packet 250 mgDrug Tier = 5; Requirements/Limits = .
    EPIDIOLEX cannabidiol soln 100 mg/mlDrug Tier = .; Requirements/Limits = PA.
    FINTEPLA fenfluramine hcl oral soln 2.2 mg/mlRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (360 mls/30 days).
    FYCOMPA perampanel susp 0.5 mg/mlRequirements/Limits = QL (2 bottles/28 days).
    DIAZEPAM RECTAL GEL diazepam rectal gel delivery system 2.5 mgDrug Tier = 4; Requirements/Limits = QL (5 twin pack(s)/30 days).
    NAYZILAM midazolam nasal spray 5 mg/0.1 mlRequirements/Limits = QL (10 bottles/30 days).
    VALTOCO diazepam nasal spray (various doses)Requirements/Limits = QL (5 twin pack(s)/30 days).
    ZTALMY ganaxolone susp 50 mg/mlDrug Tier = 5; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (10 bottles/30 days).
    1–10 of 12
    1/2
    Formulary drug entries (partial)NDC|mixed
    bupropion hcl tab er 12hr 200 mglisted with QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    bupropion hcl tab er 24hr 150 mglisted with QL (90 tablets/30 days)
    bupropion hcl tab er 24hr 300 mgDrug Tier = 2; QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    escitalopram oxalate tab 20 mgDrug Tier = 2; QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    EMSAM selegiline td patch 6 mg/24hrDrug Tier = 5; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 patches/30 days)
    DRIZALMA SPRINKLE duloxetine 20 mgDrug Tier = 4; QL (60 capsules/30 days)
    TRINTELLIX vortioxetine hbr tab 5 mgQL (30 tablets/30 days)
    VENLAFAXINE BESYLATE ER 112.5 mgDrug Tier = 4; QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    ZURZUVAE zuranolone cap 20 mgDrug Tier = 5; QL (28 capsules/365 days)
    aprepitant capsule 40 mgDrug Tier = 4; Requirements/Limits = BD
    1–10 of 14
    1/2
    Long-acting injectable product QLsmixed
    INVEGA HAFYERA paliperidone palmitate er susp pref syr 1,092 mg/3.5mlQL (1 kit/180 days)
    INVEGA HAFYERA paliperidone palmitate er susp syr 1,560 mg/smlQL (1 kit/180 days)
    INVEGA SUSTENNA paliperidone palmitate er susp pref syr 39 mg/0.25mlQL (1 kit/28 days)
    INVEGA SUSTENNA paliperidone palmitate er susp syr 78 mg/0.5mlQL (1 kit/28 days)
    INVEGA TRINZA paliperidone palmitate er susp syr 273 mg/0.88mlQL (1 kit/84 days)
    PERSERIS risperidone subcutaneous for er susp prefilled syr 90 mgQL (1 syringe/28 days)
    Selected high-tier oral agentsmixed
    COBENFY xanomeline tartrate-trospium chloride cap 50-20 mgDrug Tier = 5; QL (60 capsules/30 days) PA,
    NUPLAZID pimavanserin tartrate cap 34 mg (base equivalent)Drug Tier = 5; QL (30 capsules/30 days); PA
    LYBALVI olanzapine-samidorphan tab 5-10 mgDrug Tier = 5; QL (30 tablets/30 days); PA (>=65 yr)
    Clozapine formulationsmixed
    clozapine orally disintegrating tab 100 mgDrug Tier = 4; PA (>=65 yr); QL (270 tablets/30 days)
    clozapine tab 100 mgDrug Tier = 4; PA (>=65 yr); QL (270 tablets/30 days)
    clozapine tab 200 mgDrug Tier = 4; PA (>=65 yr); QL (120 tablets/30 days)
    Antivirals (selected)mixed
    abacavir sulfate soln 20 mg/ml (base equiv)Drug Tier = 4; QL (960 mls/30 days)
    abacavir sulfate tab 300 mg (base equiv)Drug Tier = 4; QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    acyclovir tab 800 mgDrug Tier = 2
    Formulary drug entries (no procedure codes present)mixed
    No codes listed
    Formulary Flags and Quantity Limitsmixed
    QL (45 tablets/30 days)Quantity limit for atorvastatin calcium 40 mg
    QL (60 tablets/30 days)Quantity limit for candesartan cilexetil 4/8/16 mg
    PAPrior authorization indicated for listed products (e.g., CORLANOR solution, ivabradine, KERENDIA)
    QL (240 capsules/30 days)Quantity limit for ENTRESTO sprinkle capsules
    QL (30 tablets/30 days)Quantity limit for ezetimibe 10 mg and many other tablet entries
    QL (600 mls/30 days)Quantity limit for CORLANOR oral solution
    inv-24: Initial Coverage Supply — one-month (31-day) supply
    Initial supply periodOne-month (31-day) supply
    Applies toStandard initial coverage stage for retail & mail-order supplies
    Reference in formularyInitial Coverage Stage — copayment/coinsurance amounts shown for 31-day supply
    inv-25: Example Quantity Limits — examples such as 2700 mL/30 days; 360 tablets/30 days; 180 tablets/30 days; 15 patches/30 days
    Example QL: large-volume liquid analgesics2700 mL/30 days (e.g., acetaminophen w/ codeine solution)
    Example QL: high-count tablet limits360 tablets/30 days (e.g., some acetaminophen w/ codeine and oxycodone combinations)
    Example QL: common tablet limits180 tablets/30 days (multiple opioid strengths such as hydrocodone-acetaminophen, hydromorphone tabs)
    Example QL: patches15 patches/30 days (fentanyl transdermal patches)
    Example QL: insulin/pen limits20 pens/30 days or 6 vials/30 days (insulin examples)
    Example QL: specialty inhaled antibiotic28 vials/28 days (ARIKAYCE)
    Example QL: EMGALITY presentations2 pens/30 days or 3 syringes/30 days depending on presentation
    inv-26: Quantity Limits examples — e.g., QL (180 tablets/30 days), QL (90 tablets/30 days), QL (28 vials/28 days)
    QL — 180 tablets/30 daysMultiple products (e.g., hydrocodone-acetaminophen formulations; hydromorphone tabs) listed with QL (180 tablets/30 days)
    QL — 90 tablets/30 daysMorphine sulfate ER formulations: PA, QL (90 tablets/30 days)
    QL — 28 vials/28 daysARIKAYCE amikacin sulfate liposome inhalation suspension: PA, QL (28 vials/28 days)
    QL — 360 mLs/30 daysExamples for oral solutions (e.g., FINTEPLA) and other liquids noted as QL (360 mls/30 days)
    QL — 2 pens/30 daysEMGALITY pen presentation: PA, QL (2 pens/30 days)
    QL — 1 pen/28 daysOZEMPIC semaglutide pen: PA, QL (1 pen/28 days)
    inv-27: Quantity Limits examples — examples include QL (60 tablets/30 days), QL (360 mls/30 days), QL (5 twin pack(s)/30 days), QL (10 bottles/30 days)
    QL — 60 tablets/30 daysMany oral agents (e.g., celecoxib 50–200 mg, meloxicam 7.5 mg for some strengths) listed with QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    QL — 360 mls/30 daysFINTEPLA fenfluramine oral solution listed with PA, QL (360 mls/30 days)
    QL — 5 twin pack(s)/30 daysVALTOCO and diazepam nasal/rectal rescue delivery systems: QL (5 twin pack(s)/30 days)
    QL — 10 bottles/30 daysNAYZILAM midazolam nasal spray: QL (10 bottles/30 days)
    QL — 2 bottles/28 daysFYCOMPA perampanel suspension: QL (2 bottles/28 days)
    inv-28: Common quantity limits — Examples: QL (30 tablets/30 days); QL (60 tablets/30 days); QL (600 mls/30 days)
    Common QL — 30 tablets/30 daysMany tablets (e.g., escitalopram 20 mg, ezetimibe 10 mg, various cardiovascular/tablet entries) listed with QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Common QL — 60 tablets/30 daysMultiple products (e.g., bupropion ER, venlafaxine ER) show QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    Common QL — 600 mls/30 daysLiquid formulations such as CORLANOR oral solution show large-volume QL (600 mls/30 days)
    Common QL — 240 capsules/30 daysENTRESTO sprinkle capsules listed with QL (240 capsules/30 days)
    Age‑qualified PA/QL examplesSome entries include PA qualifiers (e.g., PA (>=65 yr)) alongside QLs; see clozapine, antipsychotics entries
    inv-29: Quantity limits examples — e.g., QL (8 mls/28 days); QL (2 pens/30 days); QL (18 tablets/30 days)
    QL — 8 mls/28 daysDihydroergotamine mesylate nasal spray: PA, QL (8 mls/28 days)
    QL — 2 pens/30 daysEMGALITY pen presentation: PA, QL (2 pens/30 days)
    QL — 18 tablets/30 daysSome triptan tablet formulations show QL (18 tablets/30 days)
    Examples — pens/vials limitsInsulin pen/vial examples: QL (20 pens/30 days); QL (6 vials/30 days); QL (60 mls/30 days)
    inv-30: Kit/Day supply limits for injectables — 1 kit/28 days, 1 kit/84 days, 1 kit/180 days
    Kit/Day supply limits for LAI injectables1 kit/28 days, 1 kit/84 days, 1 kit/180 days (e.g., INVEGA SUSTENNA, INVEGA TRINZA, INVEGA HAFYERA)
    Examples — 1 kit/180 daysINVEGA HAFYERA paliperidone palmitate er susp: QL (1 kit/180 days)
    Examples — 1 kit/84 daysINVEGA TRINZA paliperidone palmitate er susp: QL (1 kit/84 days)
    Examples — 1 kit/28 daysINVEGA SUSTENNA paliperidone palmitate er susp: QL (1 kit/28 days)
    inv-31: Examples of quantity limits — e.g., 20 pens/30 days; 6 vials/30 days; 60 mls/30 days
    Example QL — pens20 pens/30 days (HUMALOG KWIKPEN examples) and 4 pens/28 days (TRULICITY) shown
    Example QL — vials6 vials/30 days (HUMALOG MIX 75/25 example) and 6 vials/30 days for insulin aspart listed
    Example QL — liquid mLs60 mls/30 days shown for some insulin presentations (e.g., HUMALOG vial example)
    Example QL — pens/vials summaryCounts vary by product presentation — pens, cartridges, vials and kits have product‑specific QLs
    inv-32: Common quantity limits — examples include QL (30 tablets/30 days), QL (60 tablets/30 days), QL (4 pens/28 days), QL (1 pen/28 days)
    Common QL — 30 tablets/30 daysNumerous oral tablets across therapeutic classes show QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Common QL — 60 tablets/30 daysMany products (e.g., atorvastatin 40 mg QL 45 tablets; other agents QL 60 tablets/30 days)
    Common QL — pens/28 daysExamples include QL (4 pens/28 days) for TRULICITY and QL (1 pen/28 days) for OZEMPIC
    Common QL — 1 pen/28 daysOZEMPIC semaglutide pen: PA, QL (1 pen/28 days)
    inv-33: Quantity Limits examples — Examples include QL (30 tablets/30 days), QL (60 tablets/30 days), QL (240 capsules/30 days), QL (600 mls/30 days)
    QL — 30 tablets/30 daysMany tablet entries across sections list QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    QL — 60 tablets/30 daysMultiple entries list QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    QL — 240 capsules/30 daysENTRESTO sprinkle capsules: QL (240 capsules/30 days)
    QL — 600 mls/30 daysLarge-volume liquid example: CORLANOR oral solution: QL (600 mls/30 days)
    Comprehensive examples preservedAnalgesics, antivirals, antipsychotics, injectables and specialty items have product‑specific QLs and PA flags as listed in the table

    Provider Requirements, Prior Authorization, and Documentation

    Prior Authorization

    Prior authorization required for PA‑flagged drugs

    Certain drugs and formulations listed in the formulary require prior authorization (PA) from the plan before the prescription can be filled; failure to obtain approval may result in the plan not covering the drug.

    • PA indicated in Requirements/Limits column must be obtained prior to dispensing.
    Prior Authorization

    Obtain PA for items marked 'PA' in the table

    Drugs annotated with 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits column must have a prior authorization submitted and approved (examples include narcotic ER formulations, tramadol ER, and ARIKAYCE).

    • Verify PA for the exact product and formulation before claim submission.
    Prior Authorization

    Confirm PA applies to the exact formulation

    Certain specific formulations and product presentations are marked 'PA' (for example, linezolid suspension and linezolid 600 mg tablets) — providers must obtain PA for those exact formulations.

    • Confirm NDC/formulation matches the PA‑flagged line when requesting authorization.
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for select products (formulation‑specific)

    Some formulations (e.g., linezolid suspension; linezolid 600 mg tablets) and other select products are explicitly marked 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits column and require prior authorization prior to coverage.

    • Include product strength/formulation on the PA request to ensure correct review.
    Prior Authorization

    Prior authorization required for listed specialty agents (e.g., EPIDIOLEX, ZTALMY)

    Several specialty agents are identified with 'PA' (examples include EPIDIOLEX cannabidiol solution and ZTALMY ganaxolone suspension); providers must submit prior authorization for these specialty/high‑tier drugs.

    • Specialty agents listed with PA will not be covered without an approved authorization.
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for selected specialty antifungals and agents

    Certain high‑tier or specialty antifungals and specific formulations (for example, CRESEMBA, posaconazole, and voriconazole) are marked 'PA' and require prior authorization before coverage.

    • Submit clinical justification and intended formulation when requesting PA for antifungals.
    Prior Authorization

    Obtain PA for products annotated 'PA' in table

    Products shown with 'PA' in the formulary table require prior authorization prior to coverage (providers must obtain PA as listed for each product).

    • Do not dispense PA‑flagged products without confirmed plan approval.
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for numerous formulary agents

    Many listed drugs carry a PA requirement as noted in the Requirements/Limits column; providers must submit and secure prior authorization before coverage will be approved.

    • PA must be in place prior to claim submission to avoid denial.
    Prior Authorization

    Verify PA for specific therapy packs and strengths

    Specific formulations (e.g., LENVIMA therapy packs, TAGRISSO 40 mg/80 mg) display PA in the Requirements/Limits column—verify and obtain PA for the exact NDC or pack prescribed.

    • Include therapy pack details or NDC when requesting authorization.
    Prior Authorization

    Obtain PA for listed PA‑marked drugs

    Numerous listed drugs are marked 'PA' in the table; providers must obtain prior authorization before benefit coverage is approved for those drugs.

    • Check the Requirements/Limits column for PA flags before prescribing/dispensing.
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for many agents (including age‑based PA)

    Many products require prior authorization and some include age‑based PA notes (e.g., 'PA (>=65 yr)'); providers must request PA as indicated and document member age when age‑based PA applies.

    • Provide member age in the PA request for age‑based PA entries.
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for flagged injectable and anxiolytic drugs

    Products flagged 'PA' (examples include injectable ziprasidone vials and certain anxiolytic oral solutions) require prior authorization; do not assume coverage without PA approval.

    • Confirm PA status for injectable and anxiolytic formulations before administration or dispensing.
    Prior Authorization

    Obtain age‑based PA for entries marked 'PA (>=65 yr)'

    Some products require age‑based prior authorization for members aged 65 years or older (many benzodiazepines, antipsychotics and related agents show 'PA (>=65 yr)'); providers must submit PA with age documentation where noted.

    • Include clinical rationale specific to older adults when requesting PA for age‑based entries.
    Prior Authorization

    PA applies to selected injectable and specialty products

    Certain injectable and specialty products (e.g., TRULICITY, GRANIX, eltrombopag, PROCRIT/RETACRIT) are subject to prior authorization as shown in the table; obtain PA before initiating therapy.

    • Include indication, dose and administration site when submitting PA for injectables/specialty drugs.
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for cardiovascular and related agents annotated 'PA'

    Products explicitly annotated with 'PA' (examples: CORLANOR oral solution, ivabradine tablets, KERENDIA) require prior authorization before coverage will be provided.

    • Requests lacking PA for these products may be denied; include product and quantity information on PA request.
    Prior Authorization

    REPATHA (evolocumab) requires PA

    REPATHA SURECLICK evolocumab auto‑injector (140 mg/ml) is listed with 'PA' — prior authorization must be obtained before benefit coverage.

    • REPATHA SURECLICK also shows a quantity limit (QL 6 pens/28 days) that must be respected or justified.
    Step Therapy

    Step therapy applies when ST is indicated

    Step therapy (ST) may require the prescriber to document that a specified first‑line drug was tried and found ineffective or not tolerated before the plan will cover an alternative drug; step therapy applies when 'ST' is indicated in the Requirements/Limits column.

    • When ST is indicated, include prior therapy details in the authorization or exception request.
    Note

    Step‑therapy sequences not specified in this excerpt

    No explicit step therapy sequences or failure criteria are detailed in this formulary excerpt; the table focuses on PA and QL flags rather than step‑by‑step ST rules.

    • If step therapy is relevant, follow the plan's ST guidance and document trials of first‑line agents when requesting exceptions.
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Documentation Required

    Prescriber supporting statement required for exceptions; decision timeframes

    Exception requests require the prescriber’s supporting statement explaining the medical reason for the formulary exception; standard decisions are generally made within 72 hours and expedited decisions within 24 hours when applicable.

    • Include clinical rationale, prior therapies tried, and any relevant diagnostics in the exception request.
    Documentation Required

    Provide site‑of‑care and clinical info for limited distribution/BD drugs

    When a drug is limited distribution or marked 'BD', providers or pharmacies may need to supply site‑of‑care information or additional clinical details to determine coverage and dispense location.

    • Contact Member Services or consult the Pharmacy Directory for limited distribution access instructions.
    Documentation Required

    Document PA/QL/ST fields from the formulary table on requests

    Formulary table entries include Requirements/Limits fields (PA, QL, ST, age qualifiers) that must be met and documented when requesting coverage or submitting claims for the listed products.

    • Supply diagnosis, prior therapy, product strength/formulation, quantity and member age (when age‑based PA applies) with PA requests.
    Documentation Required

    Include clinical justification and quantity details for PA/QL requests

    Providers must provide documentation to support prior authorization requests for PA‑flagged medications (examples include diagnosis and prior therapy); quantity limits (QL) must also be documented or justified if exceeded.

    • When QL applies, include requested quantity and intended days’ supply in the authorization.
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Prior Authorization

    EPIDIOLEX requires prior authorization

    EPIDIOLEX cannabidiol solution is listed with 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits column; providers must obtain prior authorization to avoid coverage denial.

    • Include indication and prior treatment history when requesting PA for EPIDIOLEX.
    Prior Authorization

    ZTALMY requires PA and is subject to QL

    ZTALMY ganaxolone suspension is listed with both 'PA' and a quantity limit (QL 10 bottles/30 days); providers must obtain PA and ensure requested quantity does not exceed the stated QL.

    • PA approval and adherence to QL are required to avoid claim denial for ZTALMY.
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Denial Risk

    Denial risk if PA not obtained or QL exceeded

    Requests exceeding specified quantity limits (QL) or lacking required prior authorization (PA) may be denied; when PA or QL flags are present on the formulary line, submit authorization or an exception prior to fill to avoid denial.

    • Check the product’s QL (e.g., 30 tablets/30 days, pen/vial limits) and request PA for exceptions before dispensing.
    Denial Risk

    Denial triggers: missing PA or age‑based PA not documented

    Requests for products marked 'PA' or 'QL' (including age‑based PA such as 'PA (>=65 yr)') may be denied if prior authorization is not obtained or quantity limits are exceeded; include member age on requests when age qualifiers apply.

    • Age‑based PA entries (e.g., many antipsychotics, benzodiazepines) require age documentation on PA requests.
    Note
    Note
    Note

    Definitions, Background and Policy Context

    This formulary lists covered Medicare Part D drugs including brand, generic, biological products and biosimilars, organized by therapeutic condition and alphabetically. Each listed product shows a Drug Tier and any utilization controls (for example, PA or specific QL values) that govern coverage and member cost‑sharing under the BlueMedicare Complete Rx plan.

    inv-98: Generic drugs — definition and cost implication
    Generic drugs — definitionFDA-approved drugs having the same active ingredient as brand-name drugs; generally equivalent in effect and usually less costly.
    SubstitutionGeneric drugs usually can be substituted for the brand-name drug at the pharmacy without needing a new prescription, depending on state laws.
    Cost implicationTypically lower cost to members compared with brand-name products.
    inv-99: Original biological products and biosimilars — definition and note on interchangeability
    Original biologic vs biosimilarBiological products are complex drugs; biosimilars are highly similar alternatives to original biological products.
    Interchangeability noteSome biosimilars are interchangeable and may be substituted for the original biological product at the pharmacy without a new prescription depending on state law.
    Cost implicationBiosimilars may cost less than the original biological product.
    inv-100: Limited distribution drug — definition and asterisk notation
    Limited distribution drug — definitionDrugs indicated with an asterisk that may be available only at select pharmacies; access may require contacting Member Services or Pharmacy Directory.
    Access implicationMay limit where the drug can be dispensed (site-of-care restriction).
    Provider actionContact Member Services or consult Pharmacy Directory for site-specific access information.
    inv-101: High Risk Medication (HRM) — definition and age-related advisory
    High Risk Medication (HRM) — definitionMedications that may be unsafe in patients greater than 65 years; marked with '#'.
    AdvisoryAlternatives may be available in lower copay tiers; discuss with prescriber if appropriate.
    LabelingHRM flagged items are identified in the formulary symbol key.
    inv-102: Split fill — definition and purpose for high-cost meds
    Split fill — definitionAllows a 2-week partial fill (partial supply) for certain high-cost medications to reduce out-of-pocket cost if therapy is discontinued early.
    PurposePermits dispensing a 2-week supply initially rather than a full month to limit member cost exposure for new high-cost therapies.
    IndicationMarked with 't' symbol in the formulary where applicable.
    inv-103: QL — Quantity Limits definition and examples
    Quantity Limits (QL) — definitionMaximum quantity allowed per specified time period (e.g., QL (180 tablets/30 days)).
    ExamplesShown inline with product rows such as QL (30 tablets/30 days), QL (2 bottles/28 days), QL (6 pens/28 days).
    Provider implicationPrescriptions must not exceed the listed QL or a prior authorization/exception is required.
    inv-104: PA — Prior Authorization definition
    Prior Authorization (PA) — definitionInsurer approval required before coverage; drugs marked 'PA' require prior authorization to be obtained before the prescription is filled.
    Age qualifiersSome PA entries include age qualifiers (e.g., PA (>=65 yr)).
    ConsequenceClaims submitted without required PA may be denied or delayed.
    inv-105: Drug Tier — Formulary tier designation explanation
    Drug Tier — explanationFormulary tier designation indicating cost-sharing or coverage category (tiers 1-6).
    Tier mappingTiers referenced across the formulary (e.g., Tier 2 = generics; Tier 5 = specialty drugs).
    Member impactTier determines copay/coinsurance for initial one-month (31-day) supply.
    inv-106: Requirements/Limits — field in formulary table indicating utilization management controls
    Requirements/Limits field — meaningIndicates utilization management controls applied to a product (e.g., PA, QL, ST, BD).
    Where shownDisplayed in the formulary 'Requirements/Limits' column adjacent to each product/strength.
    Provider actionProviders must follow documented requirements when submitting prescriptions or PA requests.
    inv-107: PA — Prior Authorization definition (table-specific)
    PA (table-specific)Marked 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits column to indicate prior authorization required for that product.
    Age qualifiers possibleTable entries may include age-based PA notes (e.g., PA (>=65 yr)).
    DocumentationPA requests should include diagnosis and supporting clinical information per plan process.
    inv-108: QL — Quantity Limit (table-specific)
    QL (table-specific)Shown as QL (quantity/period) next to product rows (e.g., QL (5 twin pack(s)/30 days)).
    Unit typesMay specify tablets, capsules, pens, vials, bottles, kits, patches or mLs with a days-based period.
    EnforcementDispensed quantity must not exceed the listed QL without prior authorization or exception.
    inv-109: QL — Quantity Limit examples (alternate chunks)
    QL examples (alternate)Examples in table include QL (2 bottles/30 days), QL (60 tablets/30 days), QL (10 bottles/30 days).
    Specific product examplesBRIVIACT oral solution QL (2 bottles/30 days); ZTALMY QL (10 bottles/30 days).
    Period unitsSome QLs use 28-day periods for kits or specific packs (e.g., kit/28 days).
    inv-110: PA — Prior Authorization definition with age qualifiers
    PA with age qualifiersPA entries may include age qualifiers such as 'PA (>=65 yr)' indicating age‑based authorization requirements.
    Table shorthandThe table uses abbreviations (PA, QL, BD) that imply required actions for coverage.
    Provider implicationClaims for age-qualified items need member age documented on claim or PA request.
    inv-111: BD — Table BD designation (meaning not fully defined in fragment)
    BD — table designation'BD' appears in the table for some items (e.g., antiemetics); it indicates drugs that may be covered under Medicare Part B or Part D depending on circumstance and often requires prior authorization to determine coverage.
    ActionAdditional information (site of care, use) may be requested to determine Part B vs Part D coverage.
    Provider noteProviders should supply necessary documentation when BD is indicated to establish correct benefit coverage.
    inv-112: Table abbreviation key — PA = Prior Authorization; QL = Quantity Limit
    Table abbreviation keyPA = Prior Authorization; QL = Quantity Limit
    Other abbreviationsBD = may be covered under Part B or Part D; ST = Step Therapy
    UsageSee column headings for these abbreviations; they indicate utilization management controls applied to each product.
    Note
    Note

    Quantity Limits (QL) by Product and Formulation

    Step Therapy Notes and Application

    Step therapy requirementSource summary
    Must try specified first-line drugs before coverage of alternate drug is approved
    Step therapy may require trying specified first-line drugs before the plan will cover an alternative for the same condition; if the first-line drug fails, the alternate may be covered
    When ST appliesSource summary
    Step therapy applies when ST is indicated in the Requirements/Limits column of the formulary table
    The formulary uses 'ST' (Step Therapy) in the Requirements/Limits field to denote when the requirement applies
    Specified sequences present?Source summary
    No explicit step therapy sequences or step-fail rules are specified in the provided excerpt
    The table focuses on Drug Tier, PA, QL and other annotations; explicit ST sequences are not detailed in these chunks
    Antiemetic BD/step rulesSource summary
    Some antiemetic entries are designated 'BD' (benefit designation) in the Requirements/Limits column
    No explicit step‑failure or step‑through rules for antiemetics are provided in this fragment
    Oncology agents — step therapySource summary
    Many oncology agents list Prior Authorization (PA) and Quantity Limits (QL) in Requirements/Limits
    Step therapy specifics or sequences for oncology agents are not present in these chunks
    PA for older patientsSource summary
    Prior authorization is required for certain formulations when the member is age 65 years or older (PA (>=65 yr))
    Multiple product lines (e.g., antipsychotics, clozapine, aripiprazole formulations) show PA (>=65 yr) as an additional utilization control
    Higher-tier products and STSource summary
    Some products are assigned higher formulary tiers (e.g., Tier 5) and may require Prior Authorization (PA) before coverage
    No explicit step therapy sequence linking lower-tier to higher-tier products is provided in the excerpt
    Step therapy presenceSource summary
    Step therapy requirements are not specified for the items shown in this excerpt
    Formulary entries in these chunks emphasize PA, QL and tiering rather than ST sequences
    MOUNJARO coverage flagsSource summary
    MOUNJARO (tirzepatide) pen formulations are listed with Prior Authorization (PA) for certain strengths
    Quantity Limit shown for selected MOUNJARO pen strengths: QL (4 pens/28 days)
    Specialty products and UM enforcementSource summary
    Some specialty products (e.g., KERENDIA, ivabradine, REPATHA evolocumab) are flagged with PA and QL in the Requirements/Limits column
    PA and QL flags on specialty/ high‑tier products indicate utilization management controls that may be enforced (prior authorization and quantity limits)

    Pharmacy and Distribution Notes

    Note

    Biosimilars and Interchangeability

    Note