Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.30
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPain ManagementFallon Acupuncture Coverage Policy Update | OpenPa…
    Ask Trek AI about this page
    ModifiedFallon Community Health Plan IncPolicy N/A

    Acupuncture Services Payment Policy

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for all fallon_community_health_plan_inc policy alerts

    Know when fallon_community_health_plan_inc releases new policies or updates existing guidance.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    This policy governs coverage, prior authorization, provider qualifications, reimbursement, billing, and coding for outpatient acupuncture services for eligible Fallon Health members across applicable product lines.

    Policy Summary
    PayerFallon Community Health Plan Inc
    PolicyAcupuncture Services Payment Policy
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeModified
    Effective DateDecember 1, 2026
    Last ReviewOct 1, 2026
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionDo not apply this policy to acupuncture services rendered at community health centers; route those services to the Plan's Community Health Center payment policy.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    The policy was revised to clarify that it does not apply to acupuncture services rendered at community health centers and to remove related coverage and reimbursement language.

    20

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    MassHealth ACO sessions without prior authorization
    20Fallon Medicare Plus annual treatment limit
    12 visits/90 daysInitial Medicare Plus benefit
    8Additional Medicare Plus sessions with improvement
    20NaviCare sessions without prior authorization
    4 sessionsMassHealth ACO reassessment point

    Plan-Specific Coverage Criteria

    MassHealth ACO pain treatment

    MassHealth ACO acupuncture for treatment of pain is covered when the applicable requirements are met.

    • Coverage requirements

      • The service is medically necessary acupuncture for the treatment of pain.
      • The applicable annual session limit is observed.Up to 20 sessions per calendar year without prior authorization; additional sessions require prior authorization
      • Eligible provider

        • The service is furnished by a physician, qualifying midlevel practitioner, or qualifying acupuncturist licensed to practice acupuncture under 243 CMR 5.00.

          Acupuncturists may provide covered services for dates of service on or after January 21, 2022.

    • Clinical response

      • The treatment plan addresses the member's condition and is reevaluated if no clinical benefit is appreciated after four sessions.Meaningful improvement required for further treatment

        Further treatment is not medically necessary without meaningful improvement in symptoms.

    MassHealth ACO acupuncture detoxification

    MassHealth ACO acupuncture detoxification is covered when the service meets the applicable program and facility requirements.

    Acupuncture detoxification

    • The service is acupuncture detoxification as defined by MassHealth and is provided in a substance use disorder outpatient facility licensed by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.Facility licensure requirements under 105 CMR 164.000

      The benefit is administered by the Plan's behavioral health vendor.

    MassHealth ACO anesthesia substitute

    MassHealth ACO acupuncture as a substitute for conventional anesthesia is covered when all provider requirements are met.

    Substitute for conventional anesthesia

    • The service is acupuncture used as a substitute for conventional anesthesia and is furnished by an anesthesiologist or certified registered nurse anesthetist licensed to practice acupuncture in Massachusetts under 243 CMR 5.00.

      Coverage is pursuant to MassHealth Physician Manual 130 CMR 433.454(E).

    Fallon Medicare Plus chronic low back pain

    Fallon Medicare Plus covers acupuncture for chronic low back pain when all clinical criteria are met.

    Chronic low back pain criteria

    • The pain lasts 12 weeks or longer; is nonspecific with no identifiable systemic cause; is not associated with surgery; and is not associated with pregnancy.12 weeks or longer

      All listed chronic low back pain characteristics are required.

    Treatment response and limits

    • The initial course does not exceed 12 visits in 90 days.Up to 12 visits in 90 days
    • Additional sessions are limited to members demonstrating improvement.Up to 8 additional sessions with prior authorization

    NaviCare acupuncture

    NaviCare covers medically necessary acupuncture under its annual and authorization limits.

    • The service is medically necessary acupuncture for any diagnosis, including electrical stimulation, infrared, or ultrasound services.
    • The service is within the applicable annual limit or has prior authorization for additional visits.Up to 20 sessions per year without prior authorization; additional visits require prior authorization

      The acupuncture benefit is administered by the Plan's delegated vendor.

    Summit ElderCare and Weinberg PACE

    PACE coverage requires interdisciplinary approval.

    PACE acupuncture services

    • The acupuncture service is approved by the member's Interdisciplinary Team.Approval required before service except emergency and out-of-area urgently needed care

      PACE may provide additional medically necessary care beyond Medicare and Medicaid benefits when approved by the team.

    Place of Service

    This policy applies to acupuncture services provided in an outpatient setting.

    Outpatient place of service

    • Acupuncture services must be provided in an outpatient setting for this policy to apply.

    Acupuncture is not covered for Community Care members.

    For Fallon Medicare Plus, acupuncture, including dry needling, is not covered for conditions other than chronic low back pain.

    Do not report CPT 97810, 97811, 97813, or 97814 in conjunction with CPT 20560 or 20561. When acupuncture and dry needling are both performed, report only the acupuncture code(s).

    Electrical stimulation, such as CPT 97032, is not separately reported when it is included in acupuncture services CPT 97813 or 97814.

    Acupuncture needles are inherent to the acupuncture service and are not separately billable.

    This payment policy does not apply to acupuncture services rendered at community health centers. Those services are addressed under the Plan's Community Health Center payment policy.

    Further MassHealth ACO acupuncture treatment is not medically necessary when the member does not demonstrate meaningful improvement in symptoms. If no clinical benefit is appreciated after four sessions, the treatment plan must be reevaluated.

    Fallon Medicare Plus acupuncture treatment must be discontinued if the member is not improving or is regressing.

    Coding and Billing Rules

    Dry needlingCPT
    20560Needle insertion without injection into 1 or 2 distinct muscles during a single session.
    20561Needle insertion without injection into 3 or more distinct muscles during a single session.
    Acupuncture servicesCPT
    97810Acupuncture, 1 or more needles; without electrical stimulation, initial 15 minutes of personal one-on-one contact with the patient.
    98811Acupuncture, 1 or more needles; without electrical stimulation, each additional 15 minutes of personal one-on-one contact with the patient, with re-insertion of needle(s).
    97813Acupuncture, 1 or more needles; with electrical stimulation, initial 15 minutes of personal one-on-one contact with the patient.
    97814Acupuncture, 1 or more needles; with electrical stimulation, each additional 15 minutes of personal one-on-one contact with the patient.
    MassHealth acupuncturist office visitsCPT
    99202Office visit code referenced for one MassHealth acupuncturist office visit per member every four weeks.
    99212Office visit code referenced for one MassHealth acupuncturist office visit per member every four weeks.
    Evaluation and management modifierModifier
    25Modifier 25 appended to a separately identifiable evaluation and management or office visit service.
    Electrical stimulation billing restrictionCPTNot Covered
    97032Electrical stimulation; not reported separately when electrical stimulation is included in acupuncture services 97813 or 97814.
    Acupuncture ServicesCPT
    20560Needle insertion without injection into 1 or 2 distinct muscles during a single session.
    20561Needle insertion without injection into 3 or more distinct muscles during a single session.
    97810Acupuncture, 1 or more needles; without electrical stimulation, initial 15 minutes of personal one-on-one contact with the patient.
    98811Acupuncture, 1 or more needles; without electrical stimulation, each additional 15 minutes of personal one-on-one contact with the patient, with re-insertion of needle(s).
    97813Acupuncture, 1 or more needles; with electrical stimulation, initial 15 minutes of personal one-on-one contact with the patient.
    97814Acupuncture, 1 or more needles; with electrical stimulation, each additional 15 minutes of personal one-on-one contact with the patient.
    Medicare Plus Chronic Low Back Pain Duration
    Qualifying duration12 weeks or longer
    Clinical characteristicsNonspecific pain with no identifiable systemic cause, including no metastatic, inflammatory, or infectious disease
    Additional requirementsNot associated with surgery and not associated with pregnancy
    Acupuncture Time Increment
    Reporting increment15 minutes
    Required contact

    Provider Actions and Payment Safeguards

    Prior Authorization

    MassHealth ACO Additional Sessions

    For MassHealth ACO members, provide up to 20 medically necessary acupuncture sessions for pain per calendar year without prior authorization. Request prior authorization from Fallon Health for additional medically necessary sessions when the member’s condition, treatment, or diagnosis changes, and submit supporting documentation.

    Prior Authorization

    Medicare Plus Continuation Benefit

    For Fallon Medicare Plus members, provide up to 12 medically necessary acupuncture sessions for chronic low back pain, with up to 8 additional sessions for members demonstrating improvement, subject to the 20-session annual maximum. The policy states that prior authorization is not required for the additional 8 sessions.

    Prior Authorization

    NaviCare Additional Visits

    For NaviCare members, provide up to 20 medically necessary acupuncture sessions per calendar year without prior authorization. Additional medically necessary visits require prior authorization; although the benefit is administered by the delegated vendor, requests are reviewed by Fallon Health.

    Policy Background

    This policy addresses outpatient acupuncture services, including dry needling in specified Fallon Medicare Plus coverage, for pain-related conditions and other product-specific indications. Coverage, authorization, provider, documentation, reimbursement, and coding requirements vary by product. Fallon Medicare Plus limits covered acupuncture and dry needling to qualifying chronic low back pain; related billing rules include reporting services in 15-minute increments of personal face-to-face contact and observing applicable code-reporting restrictions.

    Key Definitions

    Chronic Low Back Pain
    DurationPain lasting 12 weeks or longer
    EtiologyNonspecific pain with no identifiable systemic cause, including no metastatic, inflammatory, or infectious disease
    Exclusions from the definitionPain is not associated with surgery or pregnancy
    Midlevel Practitioner
    Certified nurse practitionerIncluded as a midlevel practitioner
    Certified nurse midwife or certified registered nurse anesthetistIncluded as a midlevel practitioner
    Other qualifying practitioners

    Visit and Treatment Limits

    MassHealth ACO Acupuncture for Treatment of Pain
    Annual sessions without prior authorizationUp to 20 medically necessary acupuncture sessions for treatment of pain per calendar year
    Additional sessionsAdditional medically necessary sessions may be covered with prior authorization
    Authorization submissionSubmit the prior authorization request and supporting documentation to Fallon Health
    Fallon Medicare Plus Chronic Low Back Pain
    Initial visits12 sessions of medically necessary acupuncture in 90 days
    Additional visits8 additional sessions for members demonstrating improvement; prior authorization is not required

    Non-Covered Services and Indications

    Acupuncture is not covered for Community Care members. For Fallon Medicare Plus, acupuncture or dry needling is not covered for conditions other than chronic low back pain.

    Policy Summary
    PayerFallon Community Health Plan Inc
    PolicyAcupuncture Services Payment Policy
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeModified
    Effective DateDecember 1, 2026
    Last ReviewOct 1, 2026
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionDo not apply this policy to acupuncture services rendered at community health centers; route those services to the Plan's Community Health Center payment policy.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Plan-Specific Coverage CriteriaCoding and Billing RulesProvider Actions and Payment SafeguardsPolicy BackgroundKey DefinitionsVisit and Treatment LimitsNon-Covered Services and Indications
  1. Total treatment does not exceed 20 acupuncture treatments per calendar year.No more than 20 treatments per calendar year

    Treatment must be discontinued if the member is not improving or is regressing.

  2. Eligible furnishing provider

    • A physician, qualified nonphysician practitioner, or qualified auxiliary personnel furnishing the service incident to an eligible practitioner may provide the service under applicable requirements.Applicable state requirements and, for auxiliary personnel, required education, licensure, and supervision

      Acupuncturists are not eligible to bill Medicare directly.

    Personal face-to-face contact with the patient
    Time basisReport based on personal face-to-face contact, not the duration of acupuncture needle placement
    MassHealth ACO Annual Session Limit
    Annual limit without prior authorizationUp to 20 medically necessary acupuncture sessions per calendar year
    ServiceAcupuncture for the treatment of pain
    Additional sessionsAdditional medically necessary sessions may be covered with prior authorization
    Medicare Plus Initial Visit Limit
    Initial courseUp to 12 visits
    Time period90 days
    Covered conditionChronic low back pain meeting the policy definition
    Medicare Plus Annual Treatment Limit
    Annual maximumNo more than 20 acupuncture treatments per calendar year
    Additional sessionsUp to 8 additional sessions may be covered for members demonstrating improvement
    Prior authorization for additional sessionsNot required for the additional 8 sessions
    Prior Authorization

    PACE Interdisciplinary Approval

    For Summit ElderCare PACE and Fallon Health Weinberg PACE members, obtain approval from the member’s Interdisciplinary Team before providing care or services. Only emergency care and out-of-area urgently needed care are exempt from this approval requirement.

    Documentation Required

    Submit Prior Authorization and Documentation

    Submit MassHealth ACO and NaviCare prior authorization requests, together with supporting clinical documentation, to the designated Fallon Health review function. MassHealth ACO requests go to Fallon Health; NaviCare additional-visit requests go to Fallon Health Care Review.

    Documentation Required

    Send Treatment Reports to the PCP

    Acupuncturists furnishing acupuncture services to MassHealth members must report treatment results to the member’s primary care provider in writing. An initial telephone report may be used, but a written report of the initial consultation and subsequent periodic reevaluations must follow.

    Billing Rule

    Link the Qualifying Diagnosis

    For Fallon Medicare Plus professional claims, link the CMS-qualifying chronic low back pain diagnosis to the acupuncture service at the line level using the diagnosis-code pointer. For outpatient facility claims, report the qualifying diagnosis at the claim-header level.

    Documentation Required

    Document Face-to-Face Time

    Report acupuncture services in 15-minute increments of personal, face-to-face contact with the patient—not based on the duration of needle placement. Use the applicable acupuncture code for each qualifying increment and do not separately report electrical stimulation when it is included in the acupuncture code.

    Billing Rule

    MassHealth Office Visit Limit

    An acupuncturist eligible to submit claims for acupuncture services provided directly to MassHealth members may bill only one office visit—99202 or 99212—per member every four weeks. The office visit and acupuncture treatment may be billed on the same day when permitted by 130 CMR 447.413(B).

    Unsupported block type: documentation

    Note

    Community Health Center Exclusion

    Do not apply this policy to acupuncture services rendered at community health centers. Route coverage and reimbursement questions for those services to the Plan’s Community Health Center payment policy.

    Denial Risk

    Medicare Plus Non-Covered Indications

    Under Fallon Medicare Plus, acupuncture—including dry needling—is covered for chronic low back pain meeting the policy definition. Acupuncture, including dry needling, for any condition other than chronic low back pain is not covered.

    Denial Risk

    Reevaluate When Improvement Is Absent

    MassHealth ACO acupuncture for pain must address the member’s condition. If no clinical benefit is appreciated after four sessions, reevaluate the treatment plan; further treatment is not medically necessary when the member does not demonstrate meaningful improvement in symptoms.

    Denial Risk

    Discontinue for Failure to Improve

    Discontinue Fallon Medicare Plus acupuncture treatment if the member is not improving or is regressing. Additional continuation sessions are supported only for members demonstrating improvement.

    Prior Authorization

    PACE Team Approval Required

    With the exception of emergency care and out-of-area urgently needed care, all care and services provided to Summit ElderCare PACE and Fallon Health Weinberg PACE members must be approved by the member’s Interdisciplinary Team before delivery.

    Denial Risk

    Billing Compliance Review

    Verify that charges are supported by the applicable policy, member benefit, provider contract, and medical record before billing. The Plan may conduct post-payment audits and retract overpayments when charges are noncompliant or unsupported.

    Denial Risk

    Avoid Unsupported Billing

    The Plan routinely verifies that billed charges comply with the policy and are appropriately documented in the medical record. Noncompliant or unsupported claims may be denied or subject to post-payment audit and overpayment retraction.

    Clinical nurse specialist, psychiatric clinical nurse specialist, or physician assistant
    Acupuncture Detoxification
    Regulatory definitionDefined in 130 CMR 418.02
    Manual descriptionDescribed in the MassHealth Substance Use Disorder Treatment Manual at 130 CMR 418.406(D)(4)
    Program contextAcupuncture detoxification is a MassHealth substance use disorder treatment service
    Medicare Acupuncture Provider Status
    CMS recognitionAcupuncturists are not currently recognized by CMS as Medicare providers
    Direct billingAcupuncturists are not eligible to bill Medicare directly for acupuncture services
    Permitted furnishing arrangementAcupuncturists may provide acupuncture as auxiliary personnel incident to a physician or qualified nonphysician practitioner service in certain settings
    Annual maximumNo more than 20 acupuncture treatments per calendar year
    NaviCare Acupuncture
    Annual limit without prior authorizationUp to 20 medically necessary acupuncture sessions per calendar year
    Additional visitsAdditional medically necessary sessions may be covered with prior authorization
    Authorization pathwaySubmit requests and supporting documentation to Fallon Health Care Review; requests are reviewed by Fallon Health