Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.28
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPharmacy & Specialty DrugsBlue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma Drug List Covera…
    Ask Trek AI about this page

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    CurrentBlue Cross Blue Shield - OklahomaPolicy N/A

    2025 Drug List (Pharmacy & Specialty Drugs) — Drug List / Coverage Criteria

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for all Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma policy alerts

    Know when Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma releases new policies or updates existing guidance.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    A formulary list of preferred prescription and specialty drugs, tier placement guidance, and coverage considerations for Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma members and their providers.

    Policy Summary
    PayerBlue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma
    Policy2025 Drug List (Pharmacy & Specialty Drugs) — Drug List / Coverage Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material changes (routine update)
    Effective DateOct 1, 2025
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionSubmit prior authorization requests and required documentation for products annotated with 'PA' before dispensing.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.

    ~165+individual product entries listed in this segment
    ~200+drug lines or product entries shown in this part
    PA/ST/QLutilization controls present
    MyPrime.comwebsite for up-to-date list
    SPspecialty designation present

    Coverage Criteria and Formulary Controls

    General pharmacy coverage

    Coverage is subject to benefit plan terms and may include quantity limits, step therapy, prior authorization, and exclusions.

    Coverage baseline: Drugs are covered according to the member's benefit design; placement into up to six tiers determines member payment and coverage; drugs may be excluded if non-FDA-approved, OTC equivalents, repackaged, compounded, or indicated for cosmetic use.

    Refer to member's benefit materials and MyPrime.com for tiering and benefit-specific details.

    General product coverage with controls

    Coverage and utilization restrictions are product-specific as listed; coverage is available when payer controls (PA, QL, AC, SP, ST) are satisfied per product entry.

    Product-level coverage rule: For each listed drug, coverage is provided only when all product-level requirements are met (e.g., prior authorization when 'PA' is present; quantity does not exceed the listed 'QL'; specialty distribution when 'SP' is present; administrative/ACA designation when 'AC' is present; step therapy when 'ST' is indicated).
    Policy Summary
    PayerBlue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma
    Policy2025 Drug List (Pharmacy & Specialty Drugs) — Drug List / Coverage Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material changes (routine update)
    Effective DateOct 1, 2025
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionSubmit prior authorization requests and required documentation for products annotated with 'PA' before dispensing.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage Criteria and Formulary ControlsDrug Listings, Codes, and Quantity ExamplesWhat Providers Must Do / Authorization and DocumentationStep Therapy Indicators and NotesQuantity Limits per ProductDispensing and Administration SettingsBiosimilar Listings and HandlingPolicy BackgroundDefinitions and NotationRevision History & Document Notes

    Refer to each product line for the specific strength/form and associated limits.

    Product-level authorization and utilization controls

    Coverage and utilization controls applied at the product level as listed below

    PA flag: Products marked 'PA' require prior authorization before coverage. Examples in this document include many biologics and specialty agents (e.g., adalimumab presentations, tofacitinib/XELJANZ, migraine biologics) where 'PA' is specified next to the product.

    Providers must submit prior authorization per payer process and obtain approval prior to coverage.

    QL flag: Products with 'QL' have specific quantity limits and time windows (examples: HUMIRA QL (2 syringes/28 days); ENBREL QL (4 syringes/28 days); XELJANZ QL (60 tablets/30 days); many opioids and insulins have defined mL or tablet limits).see product line

    Exact QL per product is provided inline in the formulary listing.

    SP flag: Products marked 'SP' are managed through the specialty pharmacy channel and require specialty dispensing and handling (many biologics, coagulation factors, and complex therapies are designated 'SP').

    Specialty distribution and associated PA/QL requirements apply as listed.

    Formulary control rules

    Coverage and utilization controls applied to listed products

    General formulary controls: Products listed with 'PA' require prior authorization; products listed with 'QL' are subject to the stated quantity limits and time windows; products with 'SP' are managed as specialty pharmacy items; products with 'AC' or 'ST' carry administrative/ACA or step therapy controls respectively.

    These controls are enforced at the product/strength/form indicated in the listing; device items (e.g., DEXCOM) also carry PA/QL as shown.

    Coverage under the pharmacy benefit is determined by the member's benefit design and drug tiering. Per the formulary guidance, certain categories of products may be excluded from pharmacy coverage, including drugs indicated for cosmetic purposes (for example, hair-growth agents), products that have not received FDA approval, repackaged medications, some compounded medications, and prescription drugs that have over-the-counter equivalents. Members and providers should consult plan materials or MyPrime.com to confirm whether a particular product is covered under the member's plan.

    This segment of the drug list functions primarily as a formulary index: it enumerates products and shows utilization-management flags (e.g., PA, QL, SP, AC, ST) next to individual entries rather than setting out standalone clinical coverage criteria or detailed exclusion language. For clinical coverage decisions, refer to the specific drug policy page or the member's benefit documentation identified on MyPrime.com.

    Anti‑obesity and prescription weight‑management agents are called out as a category that may be excluded depending on the member's benefit plan. Coverage for these agents is not universal and will depend on the plan's specific exclusions and prior authorization rules—review the member's plan documents for applicability.

    This portion of the index does not provide explicit exclusion criteria; entries list product names with any associated utilization flags. Absence of an exclusion statement in this excerpt indicates that exclusions, if any, are addressed in the member's benefit materials or in detailed product‑level policy pages.

    No explicit medical‑exclusion determinations are stated in this section. Lines showing 'Requirements/Limits = .' reflect entries where no special prior authorization, quantity limit, or specialty designation is listed in this excerpt and therefore represent standard coverage subject to the member's benefit terms.

    The formulary expressly states that drugs that have not received FDA approval are not covered. Providers should confirm FDA approval status and consult benefit materials before submitting coverage requests for non‑approved products.

    This extract does not include explicit 'not medically necessary' determinations. Instead, products are presented with utilization management annotations (e.g., PA, QL, SP); clinical determinations of medical necessity are made via the payer's prior authorization and review processes referenced on the individual drug policy pages.

    The excerpted index does not contain standalone 'not medically necessary' statements. Where medical necessity determinations apply, they are handled through the prior authorization process for the specific product and are documented on the applicable drug policy page.

    Drug Listings, Codes, and Quantity Examples

    Drug list entries (product names and strengths)NDC
    NDC not listedNo explicit NDC codes provided in this part; products are listed by name and strength.
    NDC/HCPCS/CPT not listed in this sectionmixed
    No codes listed
    Quantity limits examples
    QL (30 tablets/30 days)Common example quantity limit for multiple oral medications (e.g., many antiretrovirals, anticoagulants, and targeted agents).
    QL (60 tablets/30 days)Used for select agents and strengths (e.g., some oncology and antiviral tablets).
    QL (120 tablets/30 days)Applied to higher-count oral oncology or specialty tablet regimens (example: certain kinase inhibitors).
    QL (4 bottles/28 days)Example for oral suspensions/oral liquid formulations (e.g., TAFINLAR oral suspension listing).
    QL (300 mls/30 days)Used for oral solution volume limits (example: VITRAKVI oral solution).
    Example quantity limits
    QL (60 tablets/30 days)Example quantity limit applied to many oral agents (e.g., PPIs, select antivirals).
    QL (2 pens/28 days)Example limit for certain injectable pen presentations (e.g., some MOUNJARO/OZEMPIC entries show pen limits).
    QL (1 kit/180 days)Example limit used for starter or induction kits (e.g., OTEZLA and other starter packs listed as 1 pack/180 days).
    Quantity limits examples (selected specialty items)
    PYRUKYND TAPER PACK QL7 or 14 tablets per 365 days depending on pack (PYRUKYND TAPER PACK listings).
    TAKHZYRO QL2 vials (or 2 mLs) per 28 days (TAKHZYRO entries).
    REBINYN QL1 vial per 30 days (REBINYN entries).
    DEXCOM sensors QL3 sensors per 30 days for DEXCOM G6/G7 sensors (device listings).

    What Providers Must Do / Authorization and Documentation

    Prior Authorization

    Prior authorization required; submit PA before coverage

    Some medications listed in this drug list require prior authorization; prescribers must submit a prior authorization request and obtain approval before the payer will cover the medication.

    Prior Authorization

    PA required for select specialty antivirals (e.g., EPCLUSA, HARVONI, MAVYRET)

    Select specialty antivirals (examples: EPCLUSA, HARVONI, MAVYRET, SOVALDI) are designated PA and often have QL and SP flags; a prior authorization must be obtained per the product listing before coverage.

    Prior Authorization

    PA enforced at product/strength/form indicated

    Prior authorization is enforced at the specific product/strength/form listed in the document; products annotated with 'PA' will require submission of PA information for that exact presentation.

    Prior Authorization

    PA required for selected specialty/brand drugs (examples listed)

    Numerous specialty and brand drugs in this segment are labeled 'PA' and require prior authorization — examples shown include ENTRESTO, UPTRAVI, VERQUVO, VYNDAMAX/VYNDAQEL and others; obtain PA before dispensing.

    Prior Authorization

    PA required for listed specialty biologics and injectables

    Many biologics and specialty injectable agents are noted with 'PA' and require prior authorization; providers must secure approval prior to dispensing (examples include ENTYVIO PEN, OMVOH, SKYRIZI, TREMFYA).

    Prior Authorization

    PA required for identified PA products (biologics/specialty agents)

    Biologic and specialty oral agents shown with 'PA' (e.g., PYRUKYND TAPER PACK, REBINYN, TAKHZYRO) require prior authorization and may also have quantity limits and specialty pharmacy designations; obtain PA before coverage.

    Prior Authorization

    PA required for many specialty/biologic agents (PA, QL, SP present)

    Many listed specialty/biologic agents (examples: PYRUKYND TAPER PACK, REBINYN, DUPIXENT, COSENTYX) carry 'PA' and 'SP' flags; prescribers must submit PA requests and follow QL/SP requirements on the product line.

    Note

    Index only — no PA rules in this chunk

    This index chunk contains only navigational/index entries and does not include prior authorization rules or product-specific PA triggers.

    Note

    Index listing — see individual drug pages for PA

    This segment is an index and does not include product-level prior authorization requirements; providers should refer to the individual drug policy pages for PA instructions.

    Note

    No PA rules in this index segment

    No prior authorization rules are provided in these index chunks; consult the detailed product listings elsewhere in the document for PA requirements.

    Step Therapy

    Step therapy may be required — look for 'ST' indicator

    Step therapy (ST) may apply to some medications; drugs commonly subject to step therapy are marked with 'ST' in the Special Requirements column and require trying preferred alternatives first.

    Note

    AC indicator — administrative/ACA preventive designation

    Some entries are marked 'AC', which may indicate ACA preventive coverage or administrative/alternative coverage requirements; 'AC' may appear alongside QL and PA flags and affect request processing.

    Step Therapy

    Step therapy applies for select agents (e.g., KERENDIA marked 'ST')

    Where products are annotated 'ST' (for example, KERENDIA), step therapy requirements apply and the provider must follow the payer's step sequence as specified by the plan.

    Note

    Index-only — no explicit provider actions in this chunk

    Some index chunks contain only navigational listings with no explicit provider actions, authorizations, or documentation requirements; refer to the full product entries for actionable requirements.

    Step Therapy

    Step therapy present for select agents (e.g., antipsychotics, BELSOMRA)

    Certain agents are annotated 'ST' (e.g., select antipsychotics, BELSOMRA) indicating step therapy applies; providers must comply with required trials of alternatives before coverage for ST drugs is available.

    Note

    Index only — no step therapy details here

    This index-only portion of the document does not list step therapy sequences or explicit step requirements; providers should view the detailed drug lines for step therapy instructions.

    Documentation Required

    PA/QL present for dermatologics; step sequences not specified

    For oral dermatologic systemic agents and some biologics (e.g., CIBINQO, SOTYKTU), PA and QL are indicated but specific step therapy sequences are not specified in this excerpt; submit PA documentation per product page.

    Documentation Required

    Copay waiver/coverage exception process for ACA preventive meds

    You or the prescriber may submit copay waiver or coverage exception requests for ACA preventive medicines; forms and process information are available at bcbs.com/provider or myprime.com.

    Documentation Required

    Submit PA and QL documentation when indicated (drug/dose/indication/quantity)

    Several agents are listed with 'Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP' — when PA or QL is specified, providers must submit documentation sufficient to meet the payer's prior authorization criteria (drug name, dose, quantity, and indication).

    • Include drug name, formulation/strength, dose, quantity requested and clinical indication in PA requests
    Documentation Required

    Follow PA process and respect QL limits for annotated products

    When a product line includes 'PA', providers must follow the payer's prior authorization process; when 'QL' is listed, do not exceed the stated quantity limit or the claim may be reduced or denied.

    • Adhere to the exact product/strength/form listed for PA enforcement
    • Ensure requested quantity does not exceed the product's QL
    Documentation Required

    Documentation required for PA/QL requests (medical necessity, prior therapy)

    Provide prior authorization documentation that demonstrates medical necessity (drug name, dose, diagnosis, prior therapy) for drugs marked 'PA' or with QL to support approval.

    • Document prior therapy failures or contraindications when applicable
    Billing Rule

    Provide PA, adhere to QL and route 'SP' items through specialty pharmacy

    Prescribers must supply PA documentation for drugs marked 'PA' and adhere to specified quantity limits and specialty pharmacy requirements where indicated; products marked 'SP' must be dispensed via specialty pharmacy.

    • Ensure dispensing channel is specialty pharmacy for 'SP' items
    Billing Rule

    Specialty (SP) products must be dispensed via specialty pharmacy

    Products designated 'SP' indicate specialty pharmacy distribution is required; prescribing providers must ensure dispensing via the specialty channel to meet coverage requirements.

    Documentation Required

    CGM device PA/QL — submit medical necessity documentation (DEXCOM G6/G7)

    Requests for continuous glucose monitoring devices (DEXCOM G6/G7) list PA and QL (e.g., 3 sensors/30 days, 1 receiver/365 days); submit supporting documentation of medical necessity when requesting coverage.

    • Include clinical rationale and prior monitoring data as applicable
    Note

    Index-only content — no PA/documentation rules in this part

    This part contains only index listings and does not include authorization, documentation, or prior authorization requirements; consult the product-specific sections for actionable requirements.

    Note

    Index-only — no documentation/PA instructions present

    Index-only chunks do not include documentation or prior authorization instructions; providers must refer to detailed drug entries for requirements.

    Note

    Index chunk — no documentation requirements here

    No documentation requirements are present in these index chunks; see the full product listings for documentation expectations when PA/QL/SP apply.

    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — claims may be denied without PA

    Prior authorization is required for certain drugs; claims for products labeled 'PA' may be denied without an approved prior authorization.

    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — PA/QL/SP flags require compliance

    Many entries show 'Requirements/Limits = PA' or 'QL' or 'SP'; prescribing or dispensing without meeting those requirements may trigger denial or processing limits.

    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — obtain PA when 'PA' is noted or claim may deny

    Claims for products with 'PA' specified next to the product may be denied if prior authorization is not obtained; verify PA status before dispensing.

    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — PA + SP products risk denial without approved PA and specialty dispensing

    Products labeled with both 'PA' and 'SP' indicate specialty products that are at risk of denial if dispensed without an approved prior authorization and correct specialty routing.

    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — biologic respiratory agents require PA (examples listed)

    Biologic respiratory therapies (for example, FASENRA, NUCALA, TEZSPIRE, XOLAIR) list 'PA' and 'SP' — claims may be denied if an approved prior authorization and specialty dispensing are not documented.

    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — PA required for many specialty biologics

    Many specialty biologics (e.g., CREON, ZENPEP, ENTYVIO PEN, SKYRIZI, TREMFYA) are subject to prior authorization; lack of an approved PA may result in denial of coverage.

    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — confirm PA to avoid claim denial

    Claims for products labeled 'PA' may be denied without an approved prior authorization; confirm authorization prior to dispensing high-cost or specialty medications.

    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — claims may be reduced or denied if QL exceeded

    Claims exceeding stated quantity limits ('QL') may be rejected or partially paid if the requested quantity exceeds the documented limit; adhere to QL values in the product entry.

    Denial Risk

    Denial risk — failure to obtain PA may result in denial

    Products listed with 'PA' will be subject to prior authorization; failure to obtain PA may result in denial of coverage for the drug.

    Note

    Index-only — no authorization triggers here

    This index section contains only navigational entries and does not provide authorization triggers; consult the detailed product pages for PA requirements.

    Note

    Index segment — no PA/denial criteria stated

    No prior authorization or denial criteria are explicitly stated in this index segment; providers must use the product-level entries for actionable guidance.

    Note

    Index chunks — no authorization/denial rules included

    No authorization or denial criteria are present in these index chunks; refer to the full drug listings for PA/QL/SP requirements and denial risk details.

    Note
    Note
    Note

    Step Therapy Indicators and Notes

    ItemInterpretation
    Entries annotated 'AC', 'PA', or 'QL' in the drug list
    May indicate administrative/alternative coverage (AC) or utilization management requiring prior authorization (PA) and/or quantity limits (QL); these flags are applied per product/strength rather than as an explicit step sequence
    ProductStep therapy (ST) designationImplication
    KERENDIA (finerenone) 10 mg, 20 mg
    ST
    Annotated 'ST' indicating the product is subject to step therapy requirements as specified by the payer; providers should follow payer ST procedures
    ObservationNotes
    ST references appear as flags in the Special Requirements column
    The document provides utilization management flags (PA, QL, SP, ST) but does not list detailed sequential step-therapy algorithms in these excerpts
    Example agentFlag shownComment
    BELSOMRA (suvorexant) tab 5–20 mg
    ST
    Listed with QL (30 tablets/30 days) and 'ST' indicating step therapy applies
    FindingPolicy implication
    No explicit step-by-step algorithms present in these sections
    Products are primarily tagged with PA/QL/SP (and occasional ST) flags; specific required prior agents, failure criteria, or sequence details are not provided in this excerpt
    Product groupControls shownStep therapy specified?
    Systemic dermatology agents (examples: CIBINQO, SOTYKTU, risankizumab, guselkumab, ustekinumab)
    PA and QL are listed for many of these agents; SP designation applies to biologics
    Step therapy sequences are not specified in these excerpts; only PA/QL/SP flags are provided

    Quantity Limits per Product

    azithromycin tab — quantity limit
    azithromycin tab60 tablets per 180 days.
    formTablets; listed under MACROLIDES.
    reference brandZithromax (reference shown in source).
    BIKTARVY — quantity limit
    BIKTARVY30 tablets per 30 days.
    strengths listedbictegravir-emtricitabine-tenofovir AF tab 30-120-15 mg and 50-200-25 mg.
    requirementsRequirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days).
    Specialty antivirals — quantity limits
    Specialty antivirals (EPCLUSA, HARVONI, MAVYRET, SOVALDI)Typically limited to 30 tablets per 30 days (varies by product/pack); many products also list PA and SP designations.
    EPCLUSA pellet packExample: EPCLUSA pellet pack listed with QL (28 tablets/28 days) in one presentation.
    MAVYRETListed with PA and QL (90 tablets/30 days) or pellet pack QL (140 tablets/28 days) depending on presentation.
    TABRECTA — quantity limit
    TABRECTA (capmatinib) 150 mg, 200 mgQuantity limit = 120 tablets.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (120 tablets/30 days), SP.
    product classOral targeted oncology agent (capmatinib).
    TAFINLAR — capsules quantity limit
    TAFINLAR (dabrafenib) capsulesQuantity limit = 120 capsules.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (120 capsules/30 days), SP.
    alternative formulationOral suspension listed separately with its own QL (4 bottles/28 days).
    TAFINLAR — oral suspension limit
    TAFINLAR oral suspensionQuantity limit = 4 bottles (per 28 days).
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 bottles/28 days), SP.
    formOral suspension for patients unable to take capsules.
    TAGRISSO — quantity limit
    TAGRISSO (osimertinib)Quantity limit = 30 tablets.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP.
    strengths40 mg and 80 mg strengths are listed in source.
    TALZENNA 0.25 mg — quantity limit
    TALZENNA 0.25 mgQuantity limit = 90 capsules.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (90 capsules/30 days), SP.
    strength examplesMultiple capsule strengths (0.25 mg among others) listed in source.
    TASIGNA — quantity limit
    TASIGNA (nilotinib)Quantity limit = 120 capsules.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (120 capsules/30 days), SP.
    strengthsIncludes 50 mg, 150 mg, 200 mg capsule presentations listed in source.
    TIBSOVO — quantity limit
    TIBSOVO (ivosidenib)Quantity limit = 60 tablets.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP.
    indicationOral oncology agent (ivasidenib) listed under targeted therapies.
    VENCLEXTA — strength-specific limits
    VENCLEXTA 10 mgQuantity limit = 60 tablets.
    VENCLEXTA 50 mgQuantity limit = 30 tablets.
    VENCLEXTA 100 mgQuantity limit = 180 tablets.
    VENCLEXTA STARTING PACKQuantity limit = 1 pack (starter pack), Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 pack/180 days).
    VERZENIO — quantity limit
    VERZENIO (abemaciclib)Quantity limit = 60 tablets.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP.
    strengthsListed strengths include 50 mg, 100 mg, 150 mg, 200 mg in source.
    VITRAKVI — solution and capsule limits
    VITRAKVI oral solutionQuantity limit = 300 mls per 30 days.
    VITRAKVI capsules 25 mgQuantity limit = 180 capsules per 30 days.
    VITRAKVI capsules 100 mgQuantity limit = 60 capsules per 30 days.
    VORANIGO — quantity limits
    VORANIGO 10 mgQuantity limit = 60 tablets.
    VORANIGO 40 mgQuantity limit = 30 tablets.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (per strength), SP.
    XALKORI — quantity limits
    XALKORI caps 200/250 mgQuantity limit = 60 capsules.
    XALKORI sprinkle 20/50 mgQuantity limit = 120 capsules.
    XALKORI sprinkle 150 mgQuantity limit = 180 capsules.
    MYFEMBREE — quantity limit
    MYFEMBREEQuantity limit = 30 tablets per 30 days.
    formulationrelugolix-estradiol-norethindrone acetate tablet listed under estrogens/contraceptives.
    requirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days).
    ORIAHNN — quantity limit
    ORIAHNNQuantity limit = 56 capsules per 28 days (elagolix pack & cap pack).
    formelagolix-estradiol-norethindrone pack & 300 mg cap pack listed with PA and QL.
    requirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (56 capsules/28 days).
    Contraceptives — example quantity limits
    Contraceptive tablet forms (examples)Quantity limit commonly listed as 28 tablets per 21 days for multiple oral contraceptive formulations (AC, QL applied).
    NUVARINGQuantity limit = 1 ring per 21 days (AC, QL).
    designationEntries often show AC (administrative control) with QL (28 tablets/21 days) for many contraceptives.
    NUVARING — quantity limit
    NUVARINGQuantity limit = 1 ring per 21 days.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = AC, QL (1 ring/21 days).
    formVaginal ring (etonogestrel-ethinyl estradiol).
    FARXIGA / GLYXAMBI / JANUMET — quantity limits
    FARXIGAQuantity limit = 30 tablets per 30 days.
    GLYXAMBIQuantity limit = 30 tablets per 30 days.
    JANUMETQuantity limit = 60 tablets per 30 days.
    JANUMET XR — quantity limit variations
    JANUMET XRQuantity limit = 30 or 60 tablets depending on strength (listed in source).
    JANUMETStandard JANUMET listed with QL (60 tablets/30 days).
    requirementsRequirements/Limits = QL per listing; strength-dependent for XR formulations.
    GLP-1 agonist pen quantity limits
    MOUNJARO standard pensQuantity limit = 4 pens (various listings show 4 pens/28 or 180 days).
    OZEMPIC pensQuantity limit = 1 or 3 pens depending on presentation (source lists both 1 pen/28 days and 3 mls/28 days entries).
    TRULICITYQuantity limit = 4 pens per 28 days.
    GENOTROPIN / OMNITROPE — designation
    GENOTROPIN, OMNITROPE (somatropin)Designation includes PA and SP for certain presentations (somatropin entries show PA, SP).
    presentationsCartridges and prefilled syringes listed with PA/SP depending on formulation.
    siteManaged as specialty product in many presentations.
    ORILISSA — strength-specific limits
    ORILISSA 150 mgQuantity limit = 30 tablets per 30 days.
    ORILISSA 200 mgQuantity limit = 60 tablets per 30 days.
    RequirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (per strength) for ORILISSA formulations.
    ENTRESTO — quantity limits and alternatives
    ENTRESTO112 tablets per 28 days (alternate entries show 2 cartridges/30 days or 600 mL/30 days).
    form variantsENTRESTO listed as tablets and also cartridge/mL alternatives with respective QLs.
    requirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP for selected presentations.
    UPTRAVI titration pack — quantity limits
    UPTRAVI TITRATION PACKQuantity limits include 1 pack per 180 days or 30 tablets per 30 days (multiple entries in source).
    formTitration pack and tablet presentations listed with differing QLs.
    requirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP for UPTRAVI titration pack entries.
    VYNDAMAX / VYNDAQEL / VERQUVO — quantity limits
    VYNDAQEL (tafamidis) / VYNDAMAXVYNDAQEL: 120 capsules per 30 days; VYNDAMAX entries show similar QL (120 capsules/30 days).
    VERQUVO (vericiguat)Quantity limit = 30 tablets per 30 days (source lists 30 tablets/30 days).
    requirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL (per product), SP for these cardiology agents.
    FASENRA / NUCALA — quantity limits
    FASENRAQuantity limit = 1 pen per 28 days.
    NUCALAQuantity limit = 1 syringe per 28 days or 3 mL per 28 days depending on presentation.
    requirementsBoth entries are listed with PA and SP designations.
    Inhalers — typical quantity limits
    Inhaler typical QLsExamples include 1 inhaler/30 days, 3 inhalers/30 days, or 60 blisters/30 days for devices such as BREO, TRELEGY, BREZTRI, SYMBICORT.
    BREZTRIListed with QL (1 inhaler/30 days) in source.
    BREO ELLIPTAListed with QL (60 blisters/30 days) in source.
    PPIs — quantity limits (examples)
    PPIs (esomeprazole, lansoprazole, omeprazole, pantoprazole, rabeprazole)Quantity limit = 60 capsules/tablets per 30 days for multiple agents (e.g., omeprazole, esomeprazole entries).
    omeprazole (Prilosec)Listed with QL = 60 (tablets) in source.
    esomeprazole (Nexium)Listed with QL = 60 (tablets) in source.
    ALYFTREK — quantity limits
    ALYFTREKQuantity limit = 84 tablets/28 days or 56 tablets/28 days depending on strength.
    requirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP listed for ALYFTREK in source.
    indicationCF modulator product with strength-dependent QLs.
    omeprazole / esomeprazole / Tobramycin limits
    omeprazole (Prilosec)Quantity limit = 60 tablets per 30 days (listed in source).
    esomeprazole (Nexium)Quantity limit = 60 tablets per 30 days (listed in source).
    tobramycin ophthalmic solution 0.3%Quantity limit = 15 mL per 30 days.
    ENTYVIO / SKYRIZI / DEXCOM devices limits
    ENTYVIO PEN (vedolizumab)Quantity limit = 2 pens per 28 days.
    SKYRIZI (risankizumab)Quantity limit = 1 cartridge per 56 days.
    DEXCOM G6/G7 sensorsQuantity limit = 3 sensors per 30 days (device listing).
    HUMIRA / ENBREL — biologic syringe limits
    HUMIRA (adalimumab) prefilled syringe kitQuantity limit examples include 2 syringes (some presentations) or 3 pens/180 days for starter kits per source listings.
    ENBREL prefilled syringeQuantity limit = 4 syringes per 28 days (listed in source).
    requirementsBoth products listed with PA and SP designations in source.
    Selected immunomodulators / JAK inhibitors limits
    OTEZLA (apremilast)Quantity limit = 60 tablets per 30 days (OTEZLA listing).
    RINVOQ (upadacitinib) 15 mg ERQuantity limit = 30 tablets per 30 days.
    XELJANZ (tofacitinib) 5 mgQuantity limit = 60 tablets per 30 days.
    PYRUKYND / REBINYN / TAKHZYRO / DEXCOM — quantity limits
    PYRUKYND TAPER PACKQL = 7 or 14 tablets per 365 days depending on pack (source lists both 7 and 14 tablets/365 days).
    REBINYNQL = 1 vial per 30 days (coagulation factor entries).
    TAKHZYROQL = 2 vials (or 2 mLs) per 28 days.
    DEXCOM G6/G7 sensorsQL = 3 sensors per 30 days (device listing).
    REBINYN — quantity limit
    REBINYN (various vial sizes)Quantity limit = 1 vial per 30 days as listed in source.
    RECOMBINATE / RIXUBISListed with PA and QL (1 mL/30 days) for certain coagulation factor presentations.
    TAKHZYROAlso listed with QL (2 vials/28 days) and PA/SP designations.
    TAKHZYRO — quantity limit
    TAKHZYROQuantity limit = 2 vials (or 2 mLs) per 28 days.
    formulationsListed both as vial and prefilled syringe presentations with same QL in source.
    requirementsRequirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP.
    Ophthalmic solutions — quantity limits
    Latanoprost / LUMIGANQuantity limit = 2.5 mLs per 20 days (ophthalmic solution listings).
    Tobramycin ophthalmic solution 0.3%Quantity limit = 15 mLs per 30 days (source lists Tobrex with QL 15 mL/30 days).
    ST site noteLUMIGAN listed with ST indicating site-of-therapy considerations for some ophthalmic agents.
    Tobramycin / DEXCOM / diagnostic limits
    Tobramycin ophthalmic solution 0.3%Quantity limit = 15 mLs per 30 days (Tobrex listing).
    DEXCOM sensorsQuantity limit = 3 sensors per 30 days (device listing).
    devices/test stripsGlucose test strips listed with QL (204 strips/30 days) in source.
    DEXCOM devices and glucose supplies limits
    DEXCOM G6/G7 sensorsQuantity limit = 3 sensors per 30 days (Requirements/Limits = PA, QL listed in source).
    DEXCOM receivers/transmittersReceivers: PA, QL (1 receiver/365 days); transmitters: PA, QL (1 box/90 days).
    Glucose test stripsCommon QL = 204 strips per 30 days for multiple brands listed in source.
    Glucose test strips & related supply limits
    Glucose test strips (multiple brands)Quantity limit = 204 strips per 30 days (listed for CONTOUR, FREESTYLE, PRECISION, OPTIUMEZ, etc.).
    pen needles / syringesInsulin pen needles and syringes listed with QL 300 needles/30 days and 300 syringes/30 days respectively.
    device kitsSome insulin pump kits listed with longer QL windows (e.g., 1 kit/720 days).

    Dispensing and Administration Settings

    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note
    Note

    Biosimilar Listings and Handling

    Note

    Policy Background

    The drug list and index were developed by a clinical review process to identify preferred brand and representative generic agents. Selection reflects FDA approval status and clinical evidence; specialty drugs and agents requiring administration by a health care professional are identified and may be managed differently (for example, routed to the medical benefit or dispensed via specialty pharmacy). Refer to individual product lines for specific utilization controls (PA, QL, SP) and to MyPrime.com for the most current formulary.

    Definitions and Notation

    Drug name formatting convention
    Drug name formattingPreferred brand and generic formatting convention: generic drugs are shown in lower-case boldface and brand drugs in ALL CAPITALS followed by the generic name (per 'How to use this list').
    exampleExample given: atorvastatin (Lipitor); NOVOLOG - Insulin aspart inj 100 unit/ml.
    purposeFormatting guides help distinguish preferred generics from brand references in the list.
    Generic types definitions
    Generic equivalent vs alternativeGeneric equivalent: same active ingredient and dosage as reference brand. Generic alternative: different active ingredient used to treat same condition. (definitions per source).
    FDA standardsGeneric drugs must be FDA-approved and meet the same safety and efficacy standards as brand drugs.
    cost implicationGenerics typically have lower member cost-share; requesting brand may incur additional member payment.
    Coverage control definitions (PA / QL / SP / AC)
    PA (Prior Authorization)Prior Authorization — coverage requires prior approval as indicated by 'Requirements/Limits = PA'; prescribers must submit a PA request and obtain approval before payer will cover the medication.
    QL (Quantity Limit)Quantity Limit — a maximum amount allowed over a specified time period (examples: 30 tablets/30 days, 2 vials/28 days).
    SP (Specialty)Specialty — medication designated as a specialty drug and typically requiring specialty pharmacy dispensing (noted as 'SP').
    AC (Administrative control)Administrative control (AC) — utilization designation used for some products (e.g., contraceptives) indicating plan-specific handling; often paired with QL.

    Revision History & Document Notes

    2025-10-01policy_effective_dateLatest

    Document effective date for the 2025 Drug List (pharmacy & specialty drugs).