Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.28
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPharmacy & Specialty DrugsBlue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma Drug List Covera…
    Ask Trek AI about this page
    CurrentBlue Cross Blue Shield - OklahomaPolicy N/A

    2025 Drug List (Pharmacy formulary) — Coverage Criteria

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for all Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma policy alerts

    Know when Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma releases new policies or updates existing guidance.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    A formulary drug list that describes covered outpatient prescription drugs, tiers, special requirements, and coverage processes for Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oklahoma members and their providers.

    Policy Summary
    PayerBlue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma
    Policy2025 Drug List (Pharmacy formulary) — Coverage Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material changes
    Effective DateN/A
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionSubmit and obtain prior authorization for drugs labeled 'PA' before dispensing to ensure coverage.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.

    6member payment tiers described
    30/90day supply coverage
    PA/ST/QL/ACutilization flags present
    severalPA/SP for high-cost agents
    20+vaccine & biologic entries
    ~170+drug entries (partial)

    Coverage Criteria and Formulary Rules

    Formulary inclusion

    Covered when ALL of the following are met

    Formulary coverage basics: The drug must be listed on the Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma Drug List to be covered; drugs that are not shown are not covered. Drugs on the list are selected by a committee of physicians and pharmacists based on FDA approval, safety, efficacy, cost, and comparisons to other drugs on the list.

    Members and prescribers should consult the most current Drug List at MyPrime.com or bcbsok.com for updates.

    Utilization management requirements

    Coverage may be conditional on utilization management requirements

    Utilization management: When a drug line includes Special Requirements (for example: PA = prior authorization; ST = step therapy; QL = quantity limit; DL = dispensing limit; AC = administrative coverage), those requirements must be satisfied for coverage. Prior authorization must be approved before the medication is covered; step therapy requires trial of specified alternatives first; quantity/dispensing limits restrict the allowed amount per time period.

    Special Requirements flags appear next to medications on the Drug List.

    Coverage stance by drug entry

    Coverage status is implicit per drug line as Tier, and Requirements/Limits indicating PA, QL, and SP where applicable.

    Coverage stance by drug entry: Each formulary line shows a Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits. Entries marked 'PA' require prior authorization; 'QL' denotes the permitted quantity and timeframe; 'SP' indicates specialty pharmacy handling. These flags govern coverage, access, and any required pre-approval or specialty dispensing channel.

    Specific clinical eligibility criteria for PA (e.g., diagnosis codes, prior therapy) are not provided within these drug-line chunks and must be obtained via the PA process when applicable.

    Formulary coverage flags (by drug)

    Drugs are listed with their formulary tier and any Requirements/Limits; coverage is governed by those flags (PA, QL, SP).

    Formulary entry controls: Each drug line pairs product name and strength with a Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits (examples shown in the Drug List include PA, QL, SP, AC, ST). Coverage and claims adjudication follow the flags shown on the drug line; failure to obtain required PA or to adhere to QL/ST/SP requirements may result in denial or out-of-pocket responsibility.

    See the Drug List entries for the exact Requirements/Limits per product (examples include TRIKAFTA PA, QL (56 packets/28 days), SP; ZYMFENTRA PA, QL (2 kits/28 days), SP).

    Formulary entries (coverage with utilization controls)

    Coverage entries are product-level with associated controls; listed as Covered with utilization controls where applicable.

    Product-level coverage controls: Formulary lines list product presentation and any associated controls (PA, QL, ST, SP, AC). Starter and titration packs are also represented with their own QL/PA controls. Coverage of a specific product is subject to the controls shown for that product on the Drug List.

    Examples in the Drug List include starter/titration packs (MAYZENT STARTER PACK Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (7 tablets/180 days), SP) and therapy packs with QL/PA noted (e.g., MAVENCLAD therapy packs).

    Drugs that are not shown on the BCBSOK Drug List are not covered. The formulary is updated regularly and coverage decisions reflect FDA approval, safety, efficacy, and comparative reviews by a clinical committee; for current listings consult MyPrime.com or the BCBSOK provider portal. Certain product categories may be expressly excluded by plan materials (examples noted include some over‑the‑counter equivalents, repackaged medications, compounded preparations, and non‑FDA‑approved drugs).

    When a product entry shows Special Requirements (for example PA, QL, SP, ST, or AC), those utilization management controls must be met for coverage — see the product line for the specific flags and limits.

    The vaccine product VIVOTIF (typhoid vaccine, delayed‑release capsule) is listed with a Drug Tier = NP and no Requirements/Limits recorded in this excerpt. The presence of a nonpreferred tier does not itself state an exclusion; check the full drug list and the member’s plan materials for any plan‑specific coverage or utilization controls.

    The provided formulary excerpts do not include explicit clinical exclusion criteria tied to the listed specialty products; entries instead show Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits (for example, many specialty agents are marked SP or PA). Where clinical eligibility criteria for prior authorization exist, those criteria are documented in the payer’s authorization processes rather than on the line‑item excerpts shown here.

    Within the chunks shown there are no explicit coverage exclusions described for the product groups; the entries report Drug Tier and any Special Requirements (e.g., PA, QL, SP) that govern access. For plan‑specific exclusions, refer to the member’s benefit materials.

    These drug‑line extracts do not state explicit product exclusions. Coverage is presented at the product level with tier assignments and utilization flags; absence of an exclusion statement in these chunks does not imply unrestricted coverage — applicable limits or prior authorization requirements shown on the line must be met.

    No explicit exclusions for specific products are listed in the referenced chunk. Entries for titration packs, nicotine replacement products, and memantine formulations show tiers and Requirement/Limits codes (for example AC or QL) but do not include line‑level exclusion language in this excerpt.

    Medications used off‑label beyond FDA‑approved labeling or not supported by recognized evidence‑based clinical practice guidelines may be limited to FDA‑approved indications per the plan. Coverage decisions consider FDA labeling and recognized guidelines; where off‑label use is requested, documentation supporting medical necessity consistent with plan rules will be required.

    In the provided excerpts there are no explicit statements labeling therapies as not medically necessary. The document instead records product tiers and utilization controls; any determinations of not medically necessary would be made through the payer’s coverage review and exception processes as reflected in plan materials.

    These chunks do not contain explicit 'not medically necessary' (NMN) declarations. Coverage stance for products is communicated via Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits (e.g., PA, QL, SP); NMN determinations, when applicable, are handled through prior authorization and exception review processes described elsewhere in plan documentation.

    This portion of the formulary does not include explicit 'not medically necessary' language. Product entries list tiers and special requirements (for example, QL and ST) that define access controls rather than blanket NMN statements.

    Codes, Supply Durations, and Program Flags

    Formulary drug entriesmixed
    N/ADrug list entries (no billing or procedure codes present in this section)
    NDC/CPT/HCPCS codesmixed
    No codes listed
    Formulary product presentations (vaccines/biologicals)mixed
    NDC-like / presentation textVaccine and biologic product presentations as listed (e.g., FLUAD 2025-2026 influenza vac pref syr 0.5 ml); exact billing codes not provided in the excerpt.
    Palforzia product entriesmixed
    PALFORZIA_LEVEL_XPalforzia product level entries (Initial Dose, Level 0-11) with specified mg doses; Requirements/Limits = SP.
    Antineoplastic / oncology drug presentationsmixed
    drug_strength_entriesAntineoplastic and targeted therapy drug entries with strengths (e.g., abiraterone acetate 250 mg, 500 mg; IBRANCE palbociclib 75/100/125 mg). No CPT/HCPCS/ICD codes provided.
    Drug list flags and program codesmixed
    ACAccess control / administrative requirement
    PAPrior authorization required
    QLQuantity limit (amount/unit specified alongside drug)
    SPStep therapy / specialty program flag
    Formulary drug entries (no CPT/ICD codes present)mixed
    N/AThis section lists NDCs and formulary entries but no procedure/diagnosis codes in these chunks.
    Drug list (no billing codes present)mixed
    N/AThis portion contains drug names, tiers, and requirements but no procedure/CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10/NDC codes in these chunks.
    NDC/Codes not listedmixed
    No codes listed
    Supply duration
    Standard days' supply30-day supply is standard for most outpatient prescriptions
    Maintenance 90-day optionSome plans provide coverage for up to a 90-day supply for maintenance medications (e.g., hypertension, diabetes, hyperlipidemia)
    Definition sourceSupply duration guidance is referenced in Coverage considerations (Supply = 30 days standard; 90 days for maintenance)
    Quantity limits (examples)
    Common capsule/tablet rangesExamples include QL (30 capsules/30 days), QL (60 tablets/30 days), QL (300 tablets/30 days)
    Therapy-pack/pen examplesSome therapy packs/pens shown with month or 28/180-day limits (e.g., QL 64 tablets/28 days for TRUQAP; QL 120 tablets/30 days for certain agents)
    Oncology/specialty rangesSpecialty oncology products often list higher QLs (examples shown across oncology entries)
    Quantity limits examples — assorted presentations
    Contraceptives (tablets)QL typically 28 tablets (example entries list QL 28 tablets/21 days)
    Emergency levonorgestrelLevonorgestrel 1.5 mg (emergency) listed with QL 2 tablets/365 days
    Transdermal patches and ringsExamples include QL 3 patches/21 days (transdermal contraceptives) and NUVARING QL 1 ring/21 days
    Antidiabetic pens/packsSome antidiabetic entries list QL like 4 pens/28 days or 120 tablets/30 days (see antidiabetic section)
    Quantity Limits — inhaler and nebulizer examples
    Inhalers (monthly)Many inhalers list QL as inhaler/30 days (e.g., ADVAIR HFA = QL inhaler/30 days)
    Multiple inhalers allowedSome products list QL 2 inhalers/30 days or QL 3 inhalers/30 days (AIRSUPRA example QL 3 inhalers/30 days)
    Nebulizer containers and vialsExamples include QL 125 containers/30 days and QL 120 vials/30 days for nebulized solutions
    Nebulizer mL limitsSome nebulizer solutions specify mL limits, e.g., QL 60 mL/30 days for select formulations
    Quantity limits examples — assorted pack/tablet entries
    Tablet examplesEVOTAZ listed with QL 60 tablets/30 days (alternate EVOTAZ entry QL 30 tablets/30 days)
    Chew/pellet/packet examplesISENTRESS chew tabs QL 180 tablets/30 days; ISENTRESS packets QL 60 packets/30 days
    Powder packetsREYATAZ atazanavir oral powder packet 50 mg listed with QL 240 packets/30 days
    Inhalation kitCAYSTON aztreonam lysine inhalation listed with QL 1 kit/56 days
    Examples of Quantity Limits — mixed formulations
    Suspension and oral solution limitsLinezolid suspension 100 mg/mL: QL 600 mL/180 days; aripiprazole oral solution QL 900 mL/30 days
    Tablet QL examplesLinezolid tablets 600 mg: QL 56 tablets/180 days; XIFAXAN 200 mg: QL 9 tablets/30 days; XIFAXAN 550 mg: QL 60 tablets/30 days
    Therapy packs and titration QLXPOVIO selinexor therapy packs vary by pack (e.g., QL 16 tablets/28 days; QL 4 tablets/28 days); FANAPT titration packs have QL per 180 days
    Oral corticosteroids common QLCorticosteroids frequently listed with QL 90 tablets/30 days

    Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, Documentation, and Denial Risk

    Prior Authorization

    Prior Authorization Required

    Prior Authorization (PA) is required for many medications listed in this document. When a PA is indicated, the prescriber must submit and receive approval before the drug will be covered. Items marked with “PA” or shown with PA/SP/QL flags in the formulary may be denied at point-of-sale or returned if authorization is not obtained.

    • Obtain PA prior to dispensing for drugs noted with PA or PA, SP flags (e.g., many specialty and oncology agents).
    • PA denials: BCBSOK will notify the prescriber and offer a covered alternative when applicable.
    Prior Authorization

    Prior Authorization for Select Antivirals

    Several high-cost antivirals and hepatitis C agents require prior authorization and often have additional program flags (SP, QL). Examples include MAVYRET, VOSEVI, SOVALDI, HARVONI, and other direct-acting antivirals — claims may deny without PA.

    • Commonly PA-required antivirals: MAVYRET, VOSEVI, SOVALDI, HARVONI.
    • Expect quantity limits (QL) and specialty program (SP) flags alongside PA for these agents.
    Billing Rule

    Administrative Coverage (AC) for Vaccines

    Some vaccines and certain administration products are flagged with an Administrative Coverage (AC) requirement. Confirm appropriate administration and billing codes before submission to ensure coverage.

    • Vaccines commonly marked AC include seasonal influenza products, COVID-19 vaccine formulations, HPV (GARDASIL 9), and pediatric conjugate vaccines.
    • Verify CPT/administration coding and member eligibility prior to billing.
    Prior Authorization

    PA for Select Antidiabetic / Weight-Management Products

    Select antidiabetic and weight-management agents require prior authorization and may have QL/SP constraints. Examples include MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, RYBELSUS, SAXENDA, WEGOVY and similar GLP-1 or dual-agonist products.

    • PA is required before coverage for many GLP-1 and weight-management agents.
    • Quantity limits (pens/doses per days supply) and specialty program flags commonly apply.
    Prior Authorization

    Prior Authorization for Many Specialty and Oncology Agents

    Many specialty, biologic, and oncology agents require prior authorization and are often subject to quantity limits and specialty program management. Examples include TALZENNA, REPATHA, OMNITROPE, SKYTROFA, NUCALA, FASENRA, TEZSPIRE, TRIKAFTA and numerous oncology therapies.

    • Obtain PA for listed specialty and oncology drugs prior to dispensing to avoid denial.
    • Specialty program (SP) and quantity limits (QL) are frequently applied and must be documented.
    Documentation Required

    Prior Authorization and Exception Submissions; Documentation Required

    Prior authorization requests and exception submissions must include adequate supporting documentation of medical necessity. Providers should use the contact information on the member ID card to initiate PA or exception requests and may request expedited review when the condition is urgent.

    • Include diagnosis, prior medication trials (when applicable), relevant labs or imaging, and intended quantity/days' supply when submitting PA.
    • Expedited review available for conditions that jeopardize life, health, or function (72-hour decision timeframe).
    Note

    Formulary Requirement Fields and How to Interpret Flags

    Formulary requirement fields include flags such as PA (Prior Authorization), QL (Quantity Limits), SP (Specialty Program), AC (Administrative Coverage), and ST (Step Therapy). These indicators signal additional actions required by the provider or risks at point-of-sale.

    • PA = prior authorization required; QL = quantity or dispensing limit; SP = specialty program; AC = administrative coverage (often vaccines/administration); ST = step therapy required.
    • Failure to adhere to flagged requirements may result in claim denial or non-covered dispensing.
    Documentation Required

    Quantity Limit and Step Therapy Documentation

    Quantity limits (QL) and step therapy (ST) requirements commonly accompany PA. When requesting PA or exceptions, include documentation to support requests to exceed QL or to bypass ST (prior trials, rationale, and clinical records).

    • Document prior medication trials, clinical rationale to exceed QL, and the specific days' supply requested.
    • When step therapy applies, include evidence of intolerance or failure of required prior agents to request exception.
    Step Therapy

    Step Therapy — When It Applies and When Details May Be Absent

    Step therapy (ST) is applied to selected agents across multiple classes (e.g., certain CNS/antipsychotic agents, migraine, and others). Some entries in this segment do not specify a step sequence — review plan materials for exact ST requirements.

    • If ST is indicated (ST flag), providers must document that required prior agents were tried and failed or were not tolerated before PA will be approved.
    • When step details are not specified in the formulary document, use the member’s benefit plan materials or PA criteria to determine required prior steps.
    Denial Risk

    Denial Risk and Consequences

    Failure to obtain required prior authorization or to adhere to quantity limits/step therapy may result in denial or a requirement to pay the full cost of the medication. BCBSOK will notify the prescriber and (when applicable) offer a covered alternative if a PA or exception is denied.

    • Claims presented without required PA may be denied at point-of-sale.
    • If dispensed in excess of QL (including certain controlled substances), state law or plan rules may prevent coverage and member may be responsible for full cost.

    Initial Coverage and Initiation Controls

    Initial coverage by drug line

    Formulary entries include tiering and utilization controls that guide initial access

    General initial coverage rules: At initiation, drugs are provided according to the Drug Tier and the Requirements/Limits listed. Agents labeled 'PA' require prior authorization before the initial dispensing; agents with 'QL' are limited to the stated initial quantity; agents labeled 'SP' are managed through specialty pharmacy channels at initiation.

    No additional diagnosis-specific initiation criteria are included in these chunks; providers should follow PA documentation requirements when submitting initial authorization requests.

    Initiation flags

    Formulary flags for initiating therapy

    Initiation: Prescriptions for agents marked 'PA' require prior authorization prior to coverage. Products with 'QL' are subject to quantity constraints at initiation. Products marked 'SP' are routed to specialty pharmacy and may have specialty program enrollment requirements prior to first fill.

    Examples: CREON and ZENPEP are listed with tier and may have Requirements/Limits; specific PA clinical criteria are managed through the PA process.

    Starter/titration pack controls

    Starter packs and titration packs are listed with QL and PA controls

    Starter/Titration pack controls: Starter and titration pack presentations (for example, MAYZENT STARTER PACK, MAVENCLAD therapy packs, LUMRYZ STARTER PACK) are listed with specific Requirements/Limits such as QL and often PA; these controls apply to those branded starter/titration pack presentations at initiation and ongoing therapy.

    Example entries: MAYZENT STARTER PACK Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (7 tablets/180 days), SP; LUMRYZ STARTER PACK Requirements/Limits = QL (28 packets/180 days), SP PA.

    Step Therapy Rules and Affected Products

    SummarySource detail
    Step therapy (ST) may require trial of a proven, cost‑effective medication before coverage of the requested drug is available.
    Document: 'Step Therapy (ST): Your benefit plan may include a step therapy program... if a step therapy is commonly required, it will generally be noted next to the medication with an "ST" under the Special Requirements column.'
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    Several hepatitis C and other antiviral agents are managed with prior authorization and specialty designations; explicit step sequences are not provided in the drug list excerpt.
    Example: MAVYRET marked 'PA, QL (90 tablets/30 days), SP' (MAVYRET shown with PA/SP flags). Document notes explicit step sequences are not present in these chunks.
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    Many oncology and antineoplastic products carry utilization controls (PA, QL, SP) but the document does not list multi‑step therapy sequences in the excerpt.
    Examples: abiraterone acetate listed with 'PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP'; multiple oncology agents show PA/QL and SP designations without step sequences.
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    Contraceptive products frequently include administrative coverage (AC) and quantity limits; some entries also show PA — these flags imply formulary management though explicit step therapy rules are not provided.
    Examples: multiple oral contraceptives and patches listed with 'AC' and 'QL (28 tablets/21 days)'; some entries include 'AC, PA, QL' (e.g., ELLA listed with AC, QL (2 tablets/365 days), and some products show AC, PA, QL).
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    Certain agents are designated 'SP' or managed via a step/specialty program; the presence of 'SP' indicates specialty program handling that may include step components.
    Examples: MIGLITOL and MOUNJARO entries list 'PA, QL, SP' indicating specialty program/step program flags (MOUNJARO shows PA, QL, SP in the Requirements/Limits).
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    Step program / specialty program (SP) designations appear for select agents; these entries typically also carry PA and QL constraints, but the document does not specify full step sequences.
    Examples: MOUNJARO listed with 'PA, QL, SP'; Palforzia product levels are listed with 'SP' indicating specialty program handling without explicit step sequencing in the excerpt.
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    Several products are designated NP (nonpreferred) and/or require prior authorization; explicit multi‑step sequences are not shown in these chunks.
    Examples: NULIBRY and OCTREOTIDE entries show 'SP' (specialty) and OMNITROPE shows 'PA, SP'; NEXLETOL listed with 'PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days)'.
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    Specialty pharmacy (SP) designations are used for many biologic and specialty agents; these entries commonly include PA and QL as utilization controls rather than detailed step therapy sequences.
    Examples: BYLVAY listed with 'PA, SP'; CIMZIA shows 'PA, QL (2 kits/28 days), SP'; OMVOH listed with 'PA, QL (2 pens/28 days), SP'.
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    The document applies utilization management primarily via prior authorization (PA) and quantity limits (QL); explicit step therapy sequences are not provided in these sections.
    Examples: inhaler and nebulizer products show QL limits (e.g., ADVAIR HFA QL inhaler/30 days); NUCALA shows 'PA, QL (3 ml/28 days), SP' — controls are applied without step sequences listed.
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    Biologics and other specialty agents are frequently subject to specialty program or step designations (SP) and prior authorization; specific step requirements are not enumerated in the excerpt.
    Examples: CIMZIA, OMVOH, and other biologics show 'PA' and 'SP' with QL limits (e.g., CIMZIA 'PA, QL (2 kits/28 days), SP').
    ObservationExample entries / flags
    Step therapy (ST) is explicitly applied to certain CNS and antidepressant agents in the list; products marked 'ST' require a step‑therapy trial prior to coverage as noted.
    Examples: FETZIMA (levomilnacipran) therapy pack and other antidepressant therapy packs show 'QL (150 tablets/30 days) = ST'; aripiprazole formulations and clozapine entries include 'ST' alongside QL limits (aripiprazole entries show 'QL... , ST').
    ObservationSource detail / examples
    Products flagged with 'ST' in the Special Requirements column require step therapy before coverage of the listed product will be available.
    Document basis: 'if a step therapy is commonly required, it will generally be noted next to the medication with an "ST" under the Special Requirements column.' Examples in the list include antidepressant/antipsychotic entries where 'ST' is shown (e.g., levomilnacipran therapy pack = ST; aripiprazole entries list ST).

    Quantity Limits by Product (examples)

    EVOTAZ — Quantity limit
    ProductEVOTAZ (atazanavir sulfate-cobicistat) 300-150 mg — 60 tablets/30 days
    EVOTAZ — Alternate QL entry
    Alternate product entryEVOTAZ (atazanavir sulfate-cobicistat) 300-150 mg — alternate listing QL 30 tablets/30 days
    ISENTRESS chew — Quantity limit
    ProductISENTRESS (raltegravir) chew 25 mg — 180 tablets/30 days
    MAVYRET — Quantity limit
    ProductMAVYRET (glecaprevir-pibrentasvir) 100-40 mg — 90 tablets/30 days
    PAXLOVID — Quantity limit
    Product packPAXLOVID (nirmatrelvir + ritonavir) — QL 11 tablets/30 days for 6x150 mg pack listing
    REYATAZ — Quantity limit
    ProductREYATAZ (atazanavir) oral powder packet 50 mg — 240 packets/30 days
    CAYSTON — Quantity limit
    ProductCAYSTON (aztreonam lysine for inhalation) 75 mg — 1 kit/56 days
    Linezolid suspension — Quantity limit
    Product (suspension)Linezolid suspension 100 mg/mL — QL 600 mL/180 days
    Linezolid tablets & Vancomycin — Quantity limits
    Tablet formLinezolid tablets 600 mg — QL 56 tablets/180 days
    Vancomycin capsulesVancomycin capsules 125/250 mg — QL 120 capsules/30 days
    Vancomycin capsules — Quantity limit
    ProductVancomycin capsules (125 mg / 250 mg) — 120 capsules/30 days
    XIFAXAN 200 mg — Quantity limit
    ProductXIFAXAN (rifaximin) 200 mg — QL 9 tablets/30 days
    XIFAXAN 550 mg — Quantity limit
    ProductXIFAXAN (rifaximin) 550 mg — QL 60 tablets/30 days
    Assorted QL examples — additional specialty and CNS agents
    FANAPT titration packFANAPT titration packs: QL examples include QL 8 tablets/180 days or 1 pack/180 days depending on pack
    FILSPARIFILSPARI listed with QL 30 tablets/30 days
    Antidepressant common QLMany antidepressant entries list QL 150 tablets/30 days
    TALZENNA — Quantity limit
    ProductTALZENNA (talazoparib) 0.25 mg — QL 90 capsules/30 days
    TRUQAP — Quantity limit
    ProductTRUQAP (capivasertib) 200 mg — QL 64 tablets/28 days
    VENCLEXTA — Quantity limit
    ProductVENCLEXTA (venetoclax) 100 mg — QL 180 tablets/30 days
    XPOVIO — Therapy pack QLs
    Product packsXPOVIO (selinexor) therapy packs — QL varies by pack (examples include QL 16 tablets/28 days and QL 4 tablets/28 days)
    Oral corticosteroids — Quantity limit
    Oral corticosteroidsCommon QL applied: 90 tablets/30 days
    ExamplesMultiple corticosteroid entries list PA, QL (90 tablets/30 days) as Requirements/Limits
    Contraceptives — Quantity limits
    Oral contraceptives (tablets)Most oral contraceptives list QL 28 tablets (commonly shown as QL 28 tablets/21 days)
    Emergency contraceptiveLevonorgestrel emergency tablet listed with QL 2 tablets/365 days
    Transdermal and ring examplesTransdermal patches QL 3 patches/21 days (TWIRLA); NUVARING QL 1 ring/21 days
    Levonorgestrel / contraceptive patches / ring — QLs
    Levonorgestrel emergencyLevonorgestrel 1.5 mg — QL 2 tablets/365 days
    Transdermal QLTransdermal contraceptive patches example QL 3 patches/21 days
    NUVARINGNUVARING — QL 1 ring/21 days
    Antidiabetic tablets & pens — QLs
    Antidiabetic examplesSelect antidiabetic entries list QL like 30 tablets/30 days and 4 pens/28 days (examples vary by product)
    Higher tablet QLCertain antidiabetic combinations list QL 120 tablets/30 days (product dependent)
    Insulin products — Quantity limit
    Insulin volume limitMost insulin products are listed with QL 100 mL/30 days
    Applies to pens and cartridgesRapid- and short-acting insulins and pen/cartridge presentations reference the same 100 mL/30 days QL
    ORILISSA — Quantity limits
    ORILISSA 150 mgQL 30 tablets/30 days
    ORILISSA 200 mgQL 60 tablets/30 days
    ORILISSA 200 mg — Quantity limit
    ORILISSA 200 mgQL 60 tablets/30 days
    ORILISSA 150 mgQL 30 tablets/30 days
    OVIDREL / PREGNYL — Quantity limits
    OVIDREL prefilled syringeQL 2 syringes/30 days
    PREGNYL 10000 unit vialQL 20 vials/30 days
    PREGNYL, TYMLOS, YORVIPATH — Quantity limits
    PREGNYLQL 20 vials/30 days
    TYMLOS penQL 1.56 mL (1.56 mls/30 days)
    YORVIPATH pensQL 2 pens/28 days
    TYMLOS / REPATHA — Quantity limits
    TYMLOS penQL 1.56 mL per listing
    REPATHA prefilled syringeQL 6 syringes/28 days
    REPATHA PUSHTRONEX cartridgeQL 2 cartridges/30 days
    REPATHA — Quantity limits
    REPATHA prefilled syringe 140 mgQL 6 syringes/28 days
    REPATHA PUSHTRONEX 420 mg cartridgeQL 2 cartridges/30 days
    REPATHA SURECLICK / NEXLETOL — QLs
    REPATHA SURECLICK pensQL 6 pens (per 28 days)
    NEXLETOL 180 mgQL 30 tablets/30 days
    ORENITRAM / TYVASO — Quantity limits
    ORENITRAMQL 300 tablets (listed) — per entry
    TYVASOQL listed as ampules/28 days (count unspecified in chunk)
    UPTRAVI / VENTAVIS — QLs
    UPTRAVI TITRATION PACKListed as pack with QL pack/180 days (count unspecified in chunk)
    VENTAVISQL 9 packs/30 days
    VENTAVIS / VERQUVO / VYNDAMAX — QLs
    VENTAVISQL 9 packs/30 days
    VERQUVOQL 30 tablets/30 days
    VYNDAMAXQL 30 capsules/30 days
    VYNDAQEL / REPATHA SURECLICK — QLs
    VYNDAQELQL 120 capsules/30 days
    REPATHA SURECLICK pensQL 6 pens/28 days
    NEXLIZET / NEXLETOL — QLs
    NEXLIZETQL 30 tablets/30 days
    NEXLETOLQL 30 tablets/30 days
    FUROSCIX — Quantity limit
    FUROSCIX kitFUROSCIX furosemide subcutaneous cartridge kit 80 mg/10 mL — QL 8 kits/180 days
    ORENITRAM TITRATION KIT — QL
    ORENITRAM TITRATION KIT MQL 1 pack/180 days
    Revatio / Adcirca — QLs
    sildenafil (Revatio) 20 mgQL 90 tablets/30 days
    tadalafil (Adcirca) 20 mgQL 60 tablets/30 days
    Multiple inhalers / nebulizers — QL examples
    Inhaler/nebulizer varietyMultiple inhalers and nebulizer products list QLs that vary by product (examples: inhaler/30 days; 2 inhalers/30 days; 125 containers/30 days; 120 vials/30 days; 60 mL/30 days)
    Ellipta/Blister examplesSome products list QL 60 blisters/30 days or QL 30 blisters/30 days depending on product
    CF modulators / TRIKAFTA — QLs
    CF modulators examplesCF modulators list examples such as QL 56 packets/28 days; QL 60 tablets/30 days; QL 120 tablets/30 days
    TRIKAFTA specificsTRIKAFTA entries include QL 56 packets/28 days (packet presentations) and other pack/tablet limits
    TRIKAFTA and large annual QL examples
    TRIKAFTA — example limitsTRIKAFTA examples include QL 56 packets/28 days and other formulations with QL 60 capsules/30 days or large annual tablet QLs (e.g., 1080 tablets/365 days)
    Large annual QLsSome GI and phosphate binder agents list large annual QLs such as QL 1080 tablets/365 days or QL 540 packs/365 days
    SEVELAMER / FERRIC CITRATE / FOSRENOL — Annual QLs
    Large annual tablet QLsExamples include FOSRENOL (lanthanum carbonate) with QL 540–810–1080 tablets/365 days depending on strength
    SEVELAMER / FERRIC CITRATE examplesEntries list QLs such as 1530 packets/365 days and 1080 tablets/365 days for certain formulations
    Aripiprazole — QLs
    Aripiprazole oral solutionAripiprazole oral solution QL listed as 900 mL/30 days
    Aripiprazole tablets/ODTTablets/ODT presentations show QLs of 30–60 tablets/30 days depending on strength
    Aripiprazole & Clozapine — QLs
    Aripiprazole tablets/ODTAripiprazole tablets/ODT: QL 30–60 tablets/30 days (strength dependent)
    Clozapine rangesClozapine ODT/tabs list various QLs (90–270 tablets/30 days depending on strength)
    Clozapine / FANAPT — QLs
    Clozapine ODT/tabsClozapine ODT and tabs: QLs vary by strength (examples include 90, 120, 150, 180, 270 tablets per 30 days)
    FANAPT titration packsFANAPT titration packs have specified QL per 180 days (pack counts vary by pack)

    Site-of-Care and Specialty Pharmacy Notes

    Billing Rule

    Verify site‑of‑care billing for provider‑administered drugs

    Drugs administered by a health care professional (e.g., in hospital outpatient or clinic) may be covered under the medical benefit rather than the pharmacy benefit; verify site‑of‑care billing before submitting claims.

    • Provider‑administered drugs may need to be billed to medical benefit (hospital outpatient) instead of pharmacy.
    • Confirm benefit channel and billing prior to administration.
    Step Therapy

    Palforzia handled via specialty program (SP)

    Palforzia product levels are designated with Requirements/Limits = SP; providers must route dispensing via the specialty program and follow specialty handling processes.

    • Palforzia Initial Dose and Level entries list Requirements/Limits = SP.
    • Specialty program handling applies; follow specialty pharmacy procedures for dispensing.
    Billing Rule

    Use specialty pharmacy for SP‑flagged agents

    Many specialty/oncology oral agents are designated 'SP' indicating specialty pharmacy handling; providers must use specialty pharmacy channels for SP‑flagged drugs.

    • Examples include multiple oncology agents with SP and PA flags.
    • SP designation implies specialty channel dispensing and associated PA processes.
    Billing Rule

    Dispense SP‑designated drugs through specialty channels

    Drugs marked 'SP' must be dispensed via specialty pharmacy channels per the formulary; ensure prescriptions for SP products are routed to the specialty pharmacy.

    • SP designation appears on many high‑cost and specialty products (e.g., OMNITROPE, TRIKAFTA).
    • Coordinate with the specialty pharmacy for enrollment and dispensing.
    Billing Rule

    Follow specialty pharmacy management for SP products

    Specialty products flagged SP are managed under specialty pharmacy channels and may have additional PA and QL requirements; providers must follow specialty program processes.

    • Biologics and CF therapies with SP require specialty management and PA.
    • Confirm specialty pharmacy routing and PA requirements before prescribing.
    Billing Rule

    Coordinate PA and specialty dispensing for SP‑flagged injectables/pens

    SP‑marked drugs (including certain injectables and pens) are managed under specialty pharmacy channels and may require specialty handling and prior authorization.

    • Certain auto‑injectors and pens (e.g., REPATHA pens, ZYMFENTRA auto‑injectors) are SP‑flagged.
    • Coordinate PA and specialty pharmacy dispensing to secure coverage.

    Definitions and Flag Key

    Background and Context

    Specialty drugs are used to treat complex chronic conditions and may be self‑administered or administered by a clinician. Provider‑administered specialty products given in a clinic or hospital may be covered under the medical benefit rather than the pharmacy benefit — check the plan’s site‑of‑care rules. The formulary classifies specialty agents by Drug Tier and often applies utilization controls such as PA, QL, or SP (specialty pharmacy handling) to manage access and ensure appropriate use.

    Policy Summary
    PayerBlue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma
    Policy2025 Drug List (Pharmacy formulary) — Coverage Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material changes
    Effective DateN/A
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionSubmit and obtain prior authorization for drugs labeled 'PA' before dispensing to ensure coverage.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage Criteria and Formulary RulesCodes, Supply Durations, and Program FlagsPrior Authorization, Step Therapy, Documentation, and Denial RiskInitial Coverage and Initiation ControlsStep Therapy Rules and Affected ProductsQuantity Limits by Product (examples)Site-of-Care and Specialty Pharmacy NotesDefinitions and Flag KeyBackground and Context

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.