2025 Drug List (Pharmacy Benefit) — Formulary, Tiering, and Utilization Controls
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma policy alerts
Know when Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document is Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma's 2025 pharmacy drug list describing covered outpatient prescription drugs, tier placements, special requirements (PA, ST, QL), and instructions for members and providers about coverage and exceptions.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage criteria and formulary placement
General coverage and formulary placement
Coverage and tier placement rules described apply to drugs on the Drug List:
Tier and special requirements determine member cost-share and may vary by plan.
Check plan materials or the member ID card for plan‑specific coverage and payment amounts.
State controlled‑substance laws may further restrict quantities beyond listed dispensing limits.
Exception and expedited review
Process and timeframes for Drug List exceptions:
If denied, BCBSOK will provide the reason and offer a covered alternative when applicable.
Use expedited process when imminent harm is alleged or urgent clinical need exists.
Formulary coverage stance
Coverage and utilization controls for listed outpatient drugs are specified as follows when present:
Clinical PA criteria are not included in this excerpt; apply the presence of these controls per individual drug line.
Coverage mapping (administrative)
Coverage attributes for individual drugs in this excerpt are governed by their listed Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits.
This section maps products to administrative controls; it does not provide the detailed clinical medical‑necessity language for PA determinations.
Administrative coverage conditions
Coverage subject to drug-specific utilization controls
Providers and pharmacies must follow per‑line Requirements/Limits when submitting claims or PA requests.
Formulary utilization controls
Coverage for the listed drugs is subject to the following product-level utilization controls as listed:
Where QL is listed the exact numeric limit and time period (e.g., 30 tablets/30 days, 1 pen/28 days) must be observed; lack of PA when required may result in denial.
Formulary coverage entries
Formulary coverage and restriction indicators
This excerpt contains many product lines showing tier and utilization flags; consult the full Drug List for the specific line item details.
Formulary placement and utilization controls (partial list)
Coverage, tiering, and utilization controls as listed for specific products in this segment.
See individual product lines for any PA/QL/SP indicators.
Formulary drug coverage indicators
Formulary coverage and utilization controls (per drug) as listed in this section
This excerpt provides administrative mapping only; clinical indications and full PA criteria are not reproduced here.
Product-level coverage attributes
Coverage and limits applied per product line as listed below.
Exact QL numeric values and SP routing vary by product and formulation; consult the specific line item for presentation‑specific limits.
Product-level coverage with PA/QL
Coverage is product-specific; where PA and QL are indicated, authorization is required per plan.
Follow the exact line‑item for presentation‑specific QL and SP flags.
PA required prior to coverage.
See each product line for exact packet/tablet/pack QL and SP routing.
Formulary coverage entries with utilization management
Coverage for listed products is tied to drug tier and may be subject to utilization management; where present, QL, PA, and ST are applied as noted.
Some entries include ST (step therapy) for selected products; however, detailed step sequences are not provided in this excerpt.
The Drug List excludes certain categories from pharmacy benefit coverage. Specifically, non–FDA-approved drugs, repackaged medications, some compounded medications, and prescription products that have over‑the‑counter equivalents may not be covered under the pharmacy benefit. Providers and members should verify plan-specific coverage in benefit materials or by calling the number on the member ID card.
Within the provided excerpt there are no discrete clinical exclusion rules or diagnostic‑specific denial statements. The listing is primarily a formulary mapping (tier and Requirements/Limits) rather than a narrative of clinical exclusions; where clinical limits exist they would be captured in product‑specific PA criteria not included in these chunks.
Coverage in this document is presented as a formulary listing: each product is assigned a Drug Tier (e.g., P, NP) and may include administrative annotations in the Requirements/Limits column such as PA, QL, SP, or AC. These attributes determine member cost‑share and the utilization controls that apply for that product.
Provider actions are driven by the product-level Requirement/Limits flags. Entries marked PA indicate that a prior authorization must be obtained before the drug will be covered; entries with QL indicate numeric quantity limits that must be observed; SP flags denote specialty pharmacy routing; and AC indicates administrative coverage rules for certain vaccines or biologics.
The excerpt does not list any stand‑alone clinical exclusions (for example, indications specifically denied regardless of PA/QL). Instead, coverage is conditioned on meeting the per‑line utilization controls (PA, QL, SP, AC) shown for each drug entry.
No detailed medical necessity clinical criteria are provided in these chunks. The document segment is administrative in nature: presence of PA or other flags indicates an authorization requirement but the clinical PA criteria themselves are not included here.
There are no explicit excluded clinical indications or denial lists presented in the excerpt. Lines without Requirements/Limits appear as standard formulary entries subject to the tier in which they are placed.
Many product lines show a combination of tier assignment and utilization controls. For example, oncology and specialty agents commonly display PA and QL (quantity limits) and are frequently routed via SP (specialty pharmacy).
Several high‑cost metabolic and GLP‑1/GIP agents are listed with explicit utilization annotations. Products such as MOUNJARO and OZEMPIC are shown with PA and numeric QL values (e.g., pen limits), indicating authorization and dispensing limits apply.
Across the excerpt there are no explicit clinical exclusion criteria tied to individual drugs. The document focuses on administrative controls—tier and Requirements/Limits—rather than on listing clinical scenarios that would exclude coverage.
The excerpt does not identify any listed indications as explicitly excluded. Items are presented with tiers and any applicable Requirements/Limits; absence of an exclusion statement in these chunks means any coverage limitations would be operationalized through PA/QL/SP requirements or in separate policy sections.
Where present, the Requirements/Limits column signals utilization management: many biologics and specialty products (for example NUCALA, TEZSPIRE, CF modulators) list PA and specific QL values and often the SP designation, indicating authorization, dispensing limits, and specialty routing apply.
This excerpt functions primarily as a formulary listing rather than a detailed clinical inclusion/exclusion policy. Coverage determination is driven by product tier and the listed Requirements/Limits; clinical PA criteria, if applicable, are maintained separately and are not included in these chunks.
The Drug List notes that agents indicated for cosmetic use (for example hair‑growth agents) may be excluded and some products may be limited by age or other plan‑specific safety criteria. These limitations are administratively applied per plan.
The excerpt does not identify any drugs as explicitly labeled Not Medically Necessary. No NMN determinations are present in these chunks; coverage stance is expressed via tiering and utilization controls.
There are no statements within these chunks that declare products to be Not Medically Necessary. The document segment is a formulary with PA/QL/SP indicators rather than NMN rulings.
This section is a product‑level formulary list that assigns tiers and administrative controls to each entry. It should be used to determine whether a prior authorization, quantity limit, or specialty pharmacy routing applies for a given formulation.
No statements defining items as Not Medically Necessary appear in the excerpt. Coverage limitations are operationalized by PA, QL, and other Requirements/Limits rather than by NMN declarations in these chunks.
The excerpt contains no NMN language; instead, coverage posture for each listed product is provided as a combination of Drug Tier and any associated utilization controls (PA, QL, SP, AC).
No items in these chunks are explicitly labeled Not Medically Necessary. Providers should follow the per‑line Requirements/Limits and consult plan materials for any NMN determinations that may exist elsewhere in policy.
When coverage is described, it is provided as a tier assignment plus any utilization controls. The effective coverage stance for a product in this excerpt is therefore articulated as its Drug Tier and the presence of PA, QL, or SP flags.
There are no NMN statements in these chunks. The document segment is focused on formulary placement and utilization management markers rather than on explicit not‑medically‑necessary rulings.
Fallback: This document is an administrative Drug List excerpt that maps products to member payment tiers and shows per‑line Requirements/Limits. For full clinical coverage rules, PA criteria, and any exclusion or NMN policies, refer to the complete policy or contact the plan using the number on the member ID card.
The provided chunks do not include explicit conditions or situations labeled as Not Medically Necessary. Coverage controls in the excerpts are administrative (tier, PA, QL, SP) and any NMN determinations would be documented elsewhere.
No statements in these chunks declare products as Not Medically Necessary. The Drug List uses tiering and utilization designations to describe coverage and restrictions in this excerpt.
Drug list entries and coding/tiers
| amoxicillin | amoxicillin (trihydrate) chew tab 125 mg, 250 mg |
| amoxicillin_cap_250_500 | amoxicillin (trihydrate) cap 250 mg, 500 mg |
| amoxicillin_suspensions | amoxicillin (trihydrate) for susp 125 mg/5ml, 200 mg/5ml, 250 mg/5ml, 400 mg/5ml |
| amoxicillin_tab_500_875 | amoxicillin (trihydrate) tab 500 mg, 875 mg |
| amoxicillin_clavulanate_susp_200_400 | amoxicillin & k clavulanate for susp 200-28.5 mg/5ml, 400-57 mg/5ml |
| amoxicillin_clavulanate_susp_250_600 | amoxicillin & k clavulanate for susp 250-62.5 mg/5ml; 600-42.9 mg/5ml (Augmentin es-600) |
| drug names and strengths | Multiple NDCs/Codes not listed; document provides drug names and strengths (e.g., rilpivirine hcl tab for oral susp 2.5 mg; efavirenz tab 600 mg; EPCLUSA sofosbuvir-velpatasvir 200-50 mg; etc.). |
| No CPT/HCPCS/ICD codes in excerpt | This excerpt contains drug names, tiers, and requirements but no specific procedure, diagnosis, or billing codes. |
| bosutinib 100 mg cap | BOSULIF - bosutinib cap 100 mg |
| bosutinib 100 mg tab | BOSULIF - bosutinib tab 100 mg |
| bosutinib 400 mg, 500 mg tab | BOSULIF - bosutinib tab 400 mg, 500 mg |
| ibrutinib tab 140/280/420 mg | IMBRUVICA - ibrutinib tab 140 mg, 280 mg, 420 mg |
| ibrutinib oral susp 70 mg/ml | IMBRUVICA - ibrutinib oral susp 70 mg/ml |
| ibrutinib cap 70 mg, 140 mg | IMBRUVICA - ibrutinib cap 70 mg; IMBRUVICA - ibrutinib cap 140 mg |
| none listed | This section lists drug names, strengths, tiers, and requirements; no CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes are provided in chunks 90-109. |
| N/A | This excerpt does not contain CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10/NDC codes; it lists medication names, strengths, tiers, and requirements. |
| levothyroxine sodium cap 13 mcg | levothyroxine sodium capsule 13 mcg (TIROSINT entry) |
| levothyroxine sodium tab 25 mcg | levothyroxine sodium tablet 25 mcg (Synthroid/SYNTHROID entry) |
| liothyronine sodium tab 5 mcg | liothyronine sodium tablet 5 mcg (Cytomel) |
| ACTHAR - corticotropin inj gel 80 unit/ml | ACTHAR corticotropin injection gel 80 unit/ml |
| OCTREOTIDE ACETATE - octreotide acetate subcutaneous soln pref syr 50 mcg/ml | Octreotide acetate subcutaneous solution, prefilled syringe 50 mcg/ml |
| SOMAVERT - pegvisomant for inj 10 mg | Pegvisomant injection 10 mg (Somavert) |
| Drug list entries | Multiple NDCs/CPT/HCPCS not listed in this excerpt; only product names, strengths, tiers and requirements are provided. |
| NUCALA - mepolizumab subcutaneous solution auto-injector 100 mg/ml | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (3 ml/28 days), SP (for some presentations) |
| NUCALA - mepolizumab pref syringe 40 mg/0.4ml | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 syringe/28 days), SP |
| TEZSPIRE - tezepelumab-ekko 210 mg/1.91ml | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 pen/28 days), SP |
| XOLAIR - omalizumab subcutaneous solution (various strengths) | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, SP |
| ALYFTREK - vanzacaftor-tezacaftor-deutivacaftor 4-20-50 mg | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (84 tablets/28 days), SP |
| KALYDECO - ivacaftor 150 mg tab | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP |
| TRIKAFTA - elexacaftor-tezacaftor-ivacaftor (various strengths) | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (56 packets/28 days or 90 tablets/30 days depending on formulation), SP |
| OFEV - nintedanib esylate cap 100 mg, 150 mg | Drug Tier = NP; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 capsules/30 days), SP |
| PIRFENIDONE - pirfenidone tab 534 mg | Drug Tier = NP; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (21 tablets/180 days), SP |
| CREON - pancrelipase DR caps (multiple strengths) | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = none listed in these chunks |
| PEG-PREP kit | Drug Tier = NP |
| PRILOSEC - omeprazole magnesium for delayed release susp packet | Drug Tier = NP+; Requirements/Limits = QL (30 packets/30 days) |
| pantoprazole sodium EC tab 20 mg, 40 mg (Protonix) | Drug Tier = p; Requirements/Limits = QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| lansoprazole cap 15 mg, 30 mg (Prevacid) | Drug Tier = np+; Requirements/Limits = QL (60 capsules/30 days) |
| hydroxyzine hcl syrup 10 mg/5ml | listed formulation |
| hydroxyzine hcl tab 10 mg, 25 mg, 50 mg | listed formulation |
| hydroxyzine pamoate cap 25 mg, 50 mg, 100 mg | listed formulation (Vistaril) |
| lorazepam conc 2 mg/ml | listed formulation |
| lorazepam tab 0.5 mg, 1 mg, 2 mg | Ativan |
| LOREEV XR lorazepam cap er 24hr 1 mg–3 mg | listed ER sprinkle formulation |
| amitriptyline hcl tab 10–150 mg | listed formulations |
| AUVELITY dextromethorphan hbr-bupropion hcl tab er 45-105 mg | listed product |
| bupropion hcl tabs (various IR/ER/XR strengths) | Wellbutrin formulations listed |
| citalopram hydrobromide cap 30 mg; tabs 10, 20, 40 mg; soln 10 mg/5ml | Celexa formulations |
What providers must do — authorizations, documentation, denials
Obtain prior authorization for PA‑designated drugs
Providers must obtain prior authorization (PA) when a medication’s Requirements/Limits field lists “PA” — approval is required before the plan will cover the drug.
- PA is noted in the Special Requirements column for medications where it commonly applies.
- If PA is not obtained when required, the claim may be denied.
PA required for inhaled aminoglycoside agents (e.g., ARIKAYCE, tobramycin)
Medications shown with “PA” in the listing require prior authorization before coverage; examples in the formulary include ARIKAYCE (amikacin liposome inhalation) and tobramycin nebulizer products.
- ARIKAYCE — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (235.2 mls/28 days), SP.
- KITABIS PAK / tobramycin nebu soln — Requirements/Limits include PA/QL/SP as shown on the line items.
Secure PA for listed antiviral/hepatitis agents (e.g., EPCLUSA)
Several antiviral and antiviral combination agents are listed with Prior Authorization (PA); providers must submit and secure PA before coverage for these agents.
- EPCLUSA (sofosbuvir‑velpatasvir) — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP.
- Other hepatitis/antiviral agents (e.g., HARVONI, MAVYRET, SOVALDI) are similarly annotated with PA.
Obtain PA for oncology/specialty agents
Numerous oncology and other specialty oral targeted agents require prior authorization; providers must request PA and provide supporting documentation per the formulary line.
- Examples: ALUNBRIG, BOSULIF, CABOMETYX, many others show Requirements/Limits = PA and QL, often with SP.
- Therapy packs and initiation kits also require PA (e.g., ALUNBRIG initiation pack = PA, QL 1 pack/180 days).
Follow AC vs PA designations for vaccines
Vaccines listed with “AC” are administrative coverage items and do not use PA; when a vaccine line shows PA instead of AC, prior authorization must be obtained before coverage.
- Most vaccine entries in the excerpt show Requirements/Limits = AC (administrative coverage).
- If a vaccine/formulation lists PA, follow the PA process prior to dispensing.
PA required for oral oncology agents
Oral oncology and other specialty oral agents are frequently listed with PA; providers must obtain prior authorization before coverage for these oral specialty agents.
- Many oral oncology agents show Requirements/Limits = PA and QL (e.g., BOSULIF, OGSIVEO).
- Check each drug line for presentation‑specific QL and PA requirements.
Request PA and route through specialty pharmacy when SP indicated
Many high‑cost or specialty products in the formulary are designated as PA (prior authorization) and/or SP (specialty pharmacy); providers must initiate PA requests and, if SP is indicated, route dispensing through the specialty pharmacy channel.
- Examples include CIMZIA, ENTYVIO PEN, OCTREOTIDE ACETATE — Requirements/Limits include PA and SP.
- Specialty routing (SP) may require specific specialty pharmacy documentation.
Obtain PA and observe QL for testosterone products
Selected testosterone and androgen products list PA and numeric QL values; prescribers must obtain prior authorization when PA is shown and ensure dispensing does not exceed the listed QL.
- METHITEST (methyltestosterone) — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (600 tablets/30 days).
- Testosterone gels, injectables and auto‑injectors show PA and specific QLs (see each line).
PA required for selected GLP‑1/GIP agents (e.g., MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC)
Certain GLP‑1/GIP agents require prior authorization as indicated in the formulary; providers must submit PA for coverage of these agents.
- MOUNJARO — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days depending on strength).
- OZEMPIC — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 pen/28 days or 3 mls/28 days depending on presentation).
Obtain PA for select injectables/biologics (e.g., ACTHAR, octreotide)
Prior authorization is required for certain specialty injectables and biologics (e.g., ACTHAR, octreotide acetate); providers must obtain PA and comply with any QL/SP designations on the product line.
- ACTHAR — Requirements/Limits include PA (see line for exact QL if present).
- OCTREOTIDE ACETATE — Requirements/Limits = SP; obtain prior authorization per formulary entry.
Obtain PA for listed cardiovascular/pulmonary products
Selected formulary drugs are annotated with PA; providers must secure prior authorization before coverage and follow any listed QL or SP requirements.
- Examples include CORLANOR, ENTRESTO sprinkle, ORENITRAM, OPSUMIT — check each product line for PA and QL.
- Failure to obtain PA when required may result in claim denial.
Secure PA for specialty biologics (e.g., REPATHA, TRYVIO)
Prior authorization is required for many specialty biologics and injectables (e.g., TRYVIO, REPATHA, ATTRUBY); providers must submit PA requests and adhere to any specified quantity limits and specialty dispensing rules.
- REPATHA — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (6 syringes/28 days or 2 cartridges/30 days depending on presentation).
- TRYVIO — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP.
Obtain PA for cardiovascular/pulmonary agents
PA is required for multiple cardiovascular and pulmonary agents listed with Requirements/Limits = PA; obtain prior authorization and observe QL per product line.
- CORLANOR — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (600 mls/30 days for oral solution; 60 tablets/30 days for tablets).
- TYVASO, UPTRAVI, ORENITRAM, TRACLEER and others are PA‑designated with QLs and often SP.
NUCALA — obtain PA and follow QL
NUCALA (mepolizumab) formulations are listed with Prior Authorization and quantity limits that vary by presentation; providers must obtain PA and adhere to the specified QL (e.g., 1 syringe/28 days or 3 ml/28 days depending on presentation).
- NUCALA pref syringe 40 mg/0.4 ml — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 syringe/28 days), SP.
- NUCALA 100 mg/ml presentations — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (3 ml/28 days), SP.
TEZSPIRE — PA required and QL 1 pen/28 days
TEZSPIRE (tezepelumab) is listed with Prior Authorization and a quantity limit of 1 pen/28 days; providers must obtain PA and comply with the QL.
- TEZSPIRE — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 pen/28 days), SP.
XOLAIR — PA required and specialty pharmacy handling
XOLAIR (omalizumab) requires prior authorization and is designated SP; providers must obtain PA and route dispensing per specialty pharmacy/site‑of‑care requirements.
- XOLAIR — Requirements/Limits = PA, SP (various presentations).
- Specialty pharmacy handling and PA documentation are required for coverage.
Submit PA for many specialty agents and include supporting documentation
Many specialty biologics and select oral agents across the formulary require prior authorization; providers must submit PA requests and include supporting clinical documentation for approval.
- Examples: CIMZIA, ENTYVIO PEN, various oncology and rare‑disease agents show Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP.
- PA requests for specialty oncology agents should include supporting clinical information per the formulary line items.
PA required for selected CNS/psychiatric products (e.g., NUPLAZID)
Certain products such as NUPLAZID (pimavanserin) and selected hypnotics/phenobarbital formulations are noted with “PA”; providers must request prior authorization before coverage.
- NUPLAZID — Requirements/Limits = PA and QL as listed on the formulary.
- Phenobarbital elixir and some hypnotic agents may require PA and have QL (e.g., phenobarbital elixir PA, QL 158 ml/30 days).
Follow step therapy (ST) when listed
Some drugs and drug classes may be subject to step therapy (ST); when step therapy applies the formulary will show “ST” in the Special Requirements column and the provider must follow any required step sequence before the drug will be covered.
- Step Therapy (ST) is noted where applicable (e.g., AUVELITY, FETZIMA, KERENDIA shows ST on its line).
- Refer to benefit plan materials for plan‑specific step therapy details.
Adhere to utilization management flags (PA, QL, SP, AC)
The formulary shows utilization management indicators (PA, QL, SP, AC, ST) on product lines; providers should interpret SP/AC flags as additional controls and follow plan processes for PA or specialty routing when present.
- Some entries include 'SP' or 'AC' in addition to PA/QL — these denote specialty pharmacy routing or administrative coverage requirements.
- If an item is SP, route dispensing via specialty pharmacy and include required documentation with PA requests.
No explicit step therapy sequences provided in this excerpt
This excerpt does not provide explicit step‑therapy sequencing or detailed step algorithms for most products; when “ST” is not shown, PA and QL are the primary utilization controls to follow.
- Where ST is absent, obtain PA if PA is listed and observe QL.
- If ST is shown, follow the formulary note and plan materials for required prior steps.
Step therapy algorithms not specified here — follow plan materials
No additional explicit step therapy rules for individual products are specified in these chunks; providers must rely on the Special Requirements flags (PA, QL, SP, ST) and plan materials for detailed step requirements.
- Contraceptive products list AC and PA together but do not include a step algorithm in this excerpt.
- For products showing ST (e.g., KERENDIA, AUVELITY), follow the ST flag and plan procedures.
When ST flag present (e.g., KERENDIA) provide required prior therapy evidence
Step therapy is not specified for most agents in this section; providers should check the Special Requirements column for an “ST” flag and follow the payer’s step therapy process when present.
- KERENDIA — Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days), ST (step therapy applies).
- If ST applies, documentation of prior therapy trials may be required with PA.
Limited ST flags — follow plan guidance when ST is shown
Step therapy is not described for the majority of products in this excerpt; only a limited set of agents are annotated with ST and those require following the step therapy flag and plan guidance.
- Examples of agents with ST include AUVELITY, desvenlafaxine ER, FETZIMA and select antipsychotic titration packs.
- Absent explicit ST language, follow PA and QL controls listed on the product line.
Follow AC/SP/PA indicators shown on formulary lines
Utilization management markers (AC, SP, PA) are present on many lines; providers must follow the process tied to each marker — e.g., AC indicates administrative coverage rules for vaccines, SP indicates specialty pharmacy routing, and PA indicates prior authorization is required.
- Vaccines commonly show AC (administrative coverage) rather than PA.
- SP lines (e.g., many biologics) require specialty pharmacy dispensing and appropriate documentation.
Route SP‑designated drugs through specialty pharmacy
Specialty (SP) designation implies specialty pharmacy handling and may affect routing, dispensing, and documentation; providers should arrange specialty pharmacy dispensing when SP is indicated on the product line.
- Products with SP (e.g., many biologics, CF modulators) must be dispensed through specialty pharmacy channels as required.
- Specialty pharmacy routing may necessitate additional documentation for PA submissions.
PA and SP required for CF modulators and antifibrotics
CF modulators and other cystic fibrosis/pulmonary antifibrotic agents are designated SP and PA; providers must obtain prior authorization and route through specialty pharmacy per the formulary lines.
- Examples: TRIKAFTA, ALYFTREK, KALYDECO, ORKAMBI, SYMDEKO — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP.
- Ensure PA documentation supports medical necessity for these high‑cost specialty products.
Document prior therapy when ST flag is present
Step therapy applies to some agents annotated with “ST” in the Special Requirements column; providers must follow the step requirement and document prior therapy failures where applicable.
- Examples with ST: AUVELITY, FETZIMA, carious antipsychotic titration packs show ST on their lines.
- Aripiprazole, quetiapine and other psychiatric agents may list ST and QL — provide evidence of step completion as required.
Follow exception request process and timing
For Drug List exceptions, the prescriber or member must call the number on the member’s ID card to request a review; BCBSOK will notify the decision within 15 calendar days for standard requests and within 72 hours for expedited requests when life/health/function is jeopardized.
- Standard exception decision timeframe = 15 calendar days.
- Expedited (urgent) timeframe = 72 calendar hours.
Adhere to quantity limits (QL) on formulary lines
Quantity limits (QL) listed on product lines must be observed when submitting claims; exceeding a QL may lead to claim denial or require an exception — providers should verify the QL for each product prior to dispensing.
- Examples: azithromycin tab QL (60 tablets/180 days); many products use common QL formats (e.g., 30 tablets/30 days).
- If prescribing beyond the QL, submit an exception request per plan procedures.
Submit required documentation with PA/QL/SP requests
Providers must supply documentation to support prior authorization and quantity‑limit requests for PA/QL/SP items; for specialty oncology and biologic agents include clinical rationale and dosing details with the PA submission.
- PA and QL documentation should demonstrate medical necessity, diagnosis, dosing and prior therapies where applicable.
- Specialty oncology PA requests should include supporting clinical information (e.g., for selpercatinib, revumenib examples).
Coordinate specialty pharmacy handling for SP items
Products designated SP require specialty pharmacy dispensing and associated documentation; providers should coordinate with the specialty pharmacy and include necessary clinical and administrative information in PA requests.
- Examples: OCTREOTIDE ACETATE, FASENRA PEN, many biologics list SP and PA.
- Specialty pharmacy routing affects site‑of‑care and claim submission processes.
Follow administrative coverage (AC) for AC‑designated vaccines
Vaccines and biologicals with Requirements/Limits = AC are handled under administrative coverage rules; when AC is present follow administrative coding/coverage procedures rather than PA.
- Many vaccine lines (e.g., ABRYSVO, AFLURIA, COMIRNATY) show Requirements/Limits = AC.
- If a vaccine line shows PA instead of AC, obtain PA per the formulary line.
Provide evidence that utilization controls are met on claims
Pharmacy claims must include evidence that utilization controls (PA, QL, SP) have been met for the product; when QL values are specified ensure the dispensed quantity falls within the listed limit or an exception/PA is obtained.
- Quantity limits are expressed as amounts per time period (e.g., 30 tablets/30 days, 1 pen/28 days, 1920 ml/30 days).
- Claims exceeding listed QL require prior authorization or an exception to avoid denial.
Include clinical support when requesting PA for oncology agents
When requesting PA for specialty oncology agents, prescribers must submit supporting clinical information (e.g., diagnosis, prior therapies, dosing) to justify the authorization per the formulary line‑item.
- RETEVMO, SCEMBLIX, and other oncology agents show Requirements/Limits = PA and QL — include clinical justification with PA.
- Supporting documentation expedites review and aligns with the formulary’s PA expectation.
Follow AC/PA and QL for contraceptives
Some contraceptive products list AC and QL (and occasionally PA); when these administrative controls are present, providers should follow the AC/PA process and supply documentation to justify dispensing within the QL.
- Combined oral contraceptives show AC and QL (e.g., 28 tablets/21 days).
- If PA is also listed for a contraceptive line, obtain PA per formulary instructions.
Document medical necessity for PA and adhere to QL
For items with PA or QL designations, prescribers must provide documentation supporting the prior authorization and ensure dispensing adheres to the listed quantity limits (e.g., per‑30‑day QLs shown on product lines).
- PA and QL documentation should include diagnosis, dosing, and prior therapy history where applicable.
- Examples of QL formats: 30 tablets/30 days, 1 syringe/28 days, 4 pens/180 days.
Ensure PA documentation for specialty injectables/infusions
Specialty injectable and infusion products listed with SP or PA require specialty pharmacy handling and authorization documentation; providers should route these through the specialty channel and include necessary PA paperwork.
- Examples: OCTREOTIDE ACETATE, FASENRA PEN, many biologics list PA and SP.
- Specialty products often have presentation‑specific QLs (e.g., 1 pen/28 days, 1 syringe/28 days).
Observe QL volumes for oral solutions/liquids
For oral solutions and liquid formulations that include explicit QL volumes, providers must document and bill only within the stated volume limits or obtain prior authorization/exception if more is needed.
- Epaned (enalapril oral solution) — QL 1200 mls/30 days; QBRELIS lisinopril oral soln — QL 2400 ml/30 days.
- KATERZIA/NORLIQVA and other oral solution QLs are specified and must be observed.
Submit exception if dispensing exceeds listed QLs (e.g., Epaned, QBRELIS)
Examples of products with explicit QLs (e.g., Epaned, QBRELIS) must be dispensed within those limits; if the prescription exceeds the numeric QL, submit an exception or PA per plan process.
- Epaned — QL 1200 mls/30 days.
- QBRELIS — QL 2400 mls/30 days.
Provide PA documentation for biologic agents (e.g., FASENRA, NUCALA)
Authorization documentation is required for biologic agents that list PA and QL (e.g., FASENRA PEN, NUCALA); providers must include clinical justification and dosing details with PA submissions.
- FASENRA PEN — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 pen/28 days), SP.
- NUCALA presentations show PA and QL that differ by presentation; include presentation‑specific details in PA requests.
Submit complete clinical documentation with PA for specialty biologics
Prescribers must submit documentation to support PA for specialty injectables and biologics where PA is listed; include diagnosis, prior treatments, and proposed dosing to support medical necessity.
- Examples: NUCALA, TEZSPIRE, XOLAIR require PA and often SP handling — include clinical notes with PA.
- Timely and complete documentation helps avoid denials and expedites review.
Bill within specified QLs for cartridge/kit products (e.g., SKYRIZI, ZYMFENTRA)
Quantity limits are specified for many products (e.g., SKYRIZI QL 1 cartridge/56 days; ZYMFENTRA QL 2 kits/28 days); providers must bill within these limits or obtain prior authorization/exception.
- SKYRIZI — QL 1 cartridge/56 days.
- ZYMFENTRA 2‑syringe kit — QL 2 syringes/28 days.
Include clinical supporting documentation for PA/QL requests
Provide supporting documentation (diagnosis, dosing, prior therapies) with PA and QL requests; the formulary indicates that products with PA/QL entries require supporting evidence to justify approval.
- General supporting documentation is expected for PA/QL items to demonstrate medical necessity.
- Failure to provide required documentation may result in denial or delay.
Risk of denial for non‑formulary, non‑FDA, or PA/QL noncompliance
Coverage can be denied for drugs not on the Drug List, for non‑FDA‑approved products, for repackaged/compounded items excluded by the plan, or when dispensing exceeds listed QLs — providers should confirm formulary placement and limits before prescribing.
- Non‑FDA‑approved drugs and repackaged medications are not covered under the pharmacy benefit.
- Claims for quantities beyond QL or without required PA may be denied.
Denial risk if PA not obtained for PA‑designated drugs
Failure to obtain prior authorization for products marked “PA” (e.g., ARIKAYCE, posaconazole formulations, EPCLUSA) may trigger claim denials; providers must secure PA before dispensing these medications.
- ARIKAYCE and posaconazole lines show Requirements/Limits = PA and QL.
- If PA is required but not obtained, the claim may be denied.
PA/SP designation creates denial risk if controls not met
Drugs labeled with PA or SP indicate that prior authorization or specialty pharmacy routing is required; absence of required authorization or improper routing may lead to denial.
- Many entries use PA and SP together (e.g., oncology and biologic agents) — follow both authorization and specialty routing requirements.
- Claims lacking PA or routed outside specialty pharmacy when SP is required may be denied.
Claims without PA for PA‑listed products risk denial
Products with Requirements/Limits = PA may be denied without prior authorization per the formulary; providers must request and obtain PA before coverage is approved.
- Many antineoplastic and specialty drugs list PA and will be denied if PA is not on file.
- Check the product line for PA and QL before dispensing.
Exceeding QL may trigger denial or need for exception
Quantity limits (QL) listed on the formulary are enforced; claims exceeding the stated QL may be denied or require an exception/PA to cover the excess quantity.
- Examples: REPATHA QL 6 syringes/28 days; many agents use QL 30 tablets/30 days.
- If dispensing exceeds the QL, submit an exception/PA to avoid denial.
Denial risk for specialty drugs without PA
Prior authorization (PA) is required for many specialty drugs in the listing; failure to obtain PA when indicated will likely result in denial of coverage for those drugs.
- Most specialty oral and injectable oncology and endocrine agents are PA‑designated.
- Obtain PA before dispensing to prevent coverage denial.
High denial risk for specialty biologics without PA/QL/SP compliance
Many specialty agents and biologics are PA‑designated; providers must obtain PA to prevent coverage denial and follow any SP and QL constraints listed on the product line.
- CIMZIA, ENTYVIO PEN, GATTEX and similar agents require PA and QL; SP routing often applies.
- Noncompliance with PA/QL/SP increases risk of denial.
PA required for many testosterone formulations — denial risk if missing
Testosterone products and related androgen agents list PA on multiple formulations; failing to obtain PA for these products may result in claim denial.
- METHITEST and many testosterone gels/injectables show PA in Requirements/Limits.
- Confirm PA prior to dispensing to avoid denial.
PA/QL noncompliance may cause denials
Noncompliance with PA or QL (“PA/QL noncompliance”) for products that list these controls may lead to coverage denial or limitation; providers must ensure PA approvals are in place and dispensing adheres to QL.
- Claims lacking PA or exceeding QL are at risk for denial.
- Submit necessary documentation or request an exception when needed.
Address all UM triggers (PA, QL, SP, ST) to avoid denial
Products listed with PA, QL, SP or ST represent utilization management triggers; providers should obtain PA, adhere to QL, and follow SP routing when indicated to avoid denials.
- Examples: ACTHAR (PA), CRENESSITY (QL), GALAFOLD (PA, QL, SP).
- When multiple controls apply, address each requirement in the authorization and claim process.
Verify PA and QL to prevent denials
Claims for listed products may be denied or limited if PA is not obtained or QLs are exceeded; providers should verify authorization status and quantity allowances prior to dispensing.
- PA absence or QL exceedance are common reasons for denial across product groups.
- Confirm PA and QL compliance at the point of prescribing/dispensing.
Follow PA procedures per formulary to ensure coverage
Formulary enforcement requires prior authorization for PA‑designated drugs; providers must follow the PA process detailed in member plan materials to secure coverage.
- PA will be indicated in the Special Requirements column for affected products.
- If PA is required and not obtained, the claim is subject to denial.
Obtain PA for select cardio/pulmonary agents and observe QL
Cardiovascular and pulmonary agents listed with PA and/or QL (e.g., CORLANOR, ORENITRAM, TYVASO) require prior authorization and adherence to quantity limits; providers should confirm PA before dispensing.
- CORLANOR — PA, QL (600 mls/30 days for solution; 60 tablets/30 days for tablets).
- ORENITRAM and TYVASO lines include PA, QL and SP designations.
PA required for NUCALA, TEZSPIRE, XOLAIR — follow QL/SP
Several products specifically call out PA, QL, or SP (e.g., NUCALA, TEZSPIRE, XOLAIR) and failure to meet those requirements may result in denial; providers must obtain PA and adhere to QL/SP as applicable.
- NUCALA, TEZSPIRE, XOLAIR — all list PA and have presentation‑specific QLs and/or SP flags.
- Obtain PA and coordinate specialty pharmacy dispensing when SP is indicated.
PA required for CF modulators and pulmonary antifibrotics
PA is required for cystic fibrosis modulators and pulmonary antifibrotics (e.g., ALYFTREK, KALYDECO, ORKAMBI, PIRFENIDONE, OFEV, TRIKAFTA); providers must obtain PA and observe QL/SP noted on each line.
- ALYFTREK, TRIKAFTA, KALYDECO, ORKAMBI — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP in many presentations.
- High‑cost CF agents require PA and specialty routing; include clinical rationale with PA requests.
PA/QL/SP requirements are enforceable — secure authorizations and document compliance
The formulary includes PA, QL and SP requirements for many products; providers must secure prior authorization where indicated and ensure claims document compliance with quantity and specialty requirements to avoid denial.
- Examples across sections include CIMZIA, ENTYVIO PEN, FERRIC CITRATE, and numerous biologics with PA/QL/SP.
- Failure to meet these requirements can result in claims being denied or limited.
PA indicated for select psychotropic/hypnotic products (e.g., NUPLAZID)
Certain products such as NUPLAZID and select hypnotics/phenobarbital formulations are noted with “PA”; providers must obtain prior authorization and adhere to listed QL to secure coverage.
- NUPLAZID (pimavanserin) — Requirements/Limits = PA and QL as shown on the product line.
- Phenobarbital elixir and related formulations list PA and QL (158 ml/30 days).
Quantity‑limit exceedance may trigger denial — request exception if needed
Exceeding quantity limits specified on the formulary (e.g., 30 tablets/30 days or 60 tablets/30 days) can trigger denials or require an exception; providers should confirm QL and submit exceptions when clinically necessary.
- Common QLs include 30 tablets/30 days and similar month‑based limits.
- If greater quantity is clinically needed, submit an exception request per the exception process.
Initial therapy and authorization criteria
PA for selected GLP-1/GIP/other agents
Prior authorization indicators for certain agents
This excerpt does not include the specific clinical criteria used to adjudicate PA requests for these agents; refer to the payer’s PA documentation for required clinical information.
Step therapy requirements
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| No explicit step therapy algorithm provided in this excerpt | Entries show Requirements/Limits flags (e.g., PA, QL, SP, AC) but do not define step sequences for individual drugs; some lines include 'SP' or 'AC' which may imply specialty routing or administrative handling. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| Step therapy not specified for listed agents | Formulary lines for oncology and other agents list PA, QL, SP but do not specify a required prior agent or step sequence for coverage. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| No explicit step-therapy steps listed | Product entries include PA and numeric QL values and SP designation; step-therapy is not enumerated as part of these Requirements/Limits fields. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| No explicit step therapy sequences listed | Specialty oncology products are listed with PA/QL/SP; the excerpt does not present a multi-step sequence or required prior therapies. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| AC and PA co-listed for some contraceptives | Certain contraceptive products show Requirements/Limits = AC and in some cases PA plus QL (e.g., 28 tablets/21 days); this suggests administrative and authorization controls but no step-therapy algorithm is given. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| Step therapy not specified in excerpt | Listings emphasize PA, QL, and SP as utilization controls; step therapy requirements are not described for most lines in this segment. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| KERENDIA — ST indicated | KERENDIA (finerenone) is listed with Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) and ST, indicating a step therapy requirement applies to this product in the formulary excerpt. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| High-cost/specialty agents subject to PA/SP | Many specialty or high-cost products list Requirements/Limits = PA and SP (e.g., REPATHA entries), which are primary utilization controls; the excerpt does not show multi-step sequences for these agents. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| AC/PA/SP markings present without step details | Some lines combine AC, PA, and SP designations implying administrative edits, prior authorization, or specialty pharmacy routing, but explicit step therapy requirements or sequences are not provided in this excerpt. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| Products marked SP and PA (example: Uptravi) | UPTRAVI entries include Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days) and SP; the titration pack is listed with PA, QL (1 pack/180 days) and SP — indicating specialty routing and PA are primary controls rather than a step-therapy sequence in the excerpt. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| Step therapy not explicitly specified; PA/SP are primary controls | Across oncology and specialty listings, Requirements/Limits fields predominantly show PA, QL, and SP as the mechanisms for utilization management; explicit ST sequences are generally absent in these chunks. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| PA and SP designated products may imply specialty handling | Entries with PA and SP suggest specialty pharmacy dispensing and prior authorization requirements (e.g., REPATHA, UPTRAVI), but the document does not provide explicit step therapy sequences or failure criteria for coverage. |
| Coverage control | Notes |
|---|---|
| Certain products flagged with ST (examples) | Some medications are explicitly annotated with 'ST' in the Requirements/Limits (examples in the excerpt include AUVELITY, desvenlafaxine ER entries, FETZIMA and certain antipsychotic/titration packs), indicating step therapy requirements apply to those specific products. |
Quantity limits by product
Site-of-care and specialty routing
Terminology and abbreviations
Background and context
Specialty drugs treat complex, often chronic conditions and may require special handling or administration; many are dispensed via specialty pharmacy or covered under the medical benefit when provider‑administered. The Drug List and the plan’s provider guidance should be used to determine benefit routing and any authorization requirements.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.