Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.28
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPharmacy & Specialty DrugsBlue Cross Blue Shield OK Drug List Coverage | Ope…
    Ask Trek AI about this page

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    CurrentBlue Cross Blue Shield - OklahomaPolicy N/A

    2026 Drug List (Pharmacy Benefit) — Coverage Criteria

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for all Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma policy alerts

    Know when Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma releases new policies or updates existing guidance.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    This document is Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma's 2026 Drug List describing covered pharmacy drugs, tier placement, special requirements (e.g., PA, ST, QL), and how members and providers can use the list. It applies to members and prescribing providers using BCBSOK pharmacy benefits.

    Policy Summary
    PayerBlue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma
    Policy2026 Drug List (Pharmacy Benefit) — Coverage Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material changes
    Effective DateN/A
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionSubmit prior authorization requests and required documentation for drugs marked 'PA' before dispensing.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.

    2026publication year
    6member payment tiers described
    manyentries with QL/PA/SP
    ~90+distinct drug entries (excerpt)
    numerousoncology agents flagged PA/QL

    Coverage criteria and formulary controls

    Covered drugs are listed on the Drug List. Drugs not shown are not covered. In addition to product-level formulary flags, certain drugs have specific coverage requirements or utilization controls; when present these are shown in the Requirements/Limits column as PA (prior authorization), QL (quantity/dispensing limit), ST (step therapy), SP (specialty pharmacy), AC (age/clinical coverage), or other product-specific annotations.

    Formulary coverage with requirements: Covered when listed on the Drug List and when any product-level requirements below are met; drugs not listed are not covered.

    Drug list entries and coding/limits

    Policy Summary
    PayerBlue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma
    Policy2026 Drug List (Pharmacy Benefit) — Coverage Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material changes
    Effective DateN/A
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionSubmit prior authorization requests and required documentation for drugs marked 'PA' before dispensing.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage criteria and formulary controlsDrug list entries and coding/limitsPrior authorization, step therapy, documentation, and denial risksSpecialty pharmacy and dispensing requirementsSpecified quantity limits by productTerminology and flags used in the formularyInitial authorization and therapy entry conditionsContinuation and maintenance criteriaStep therapy flags and tablesBiosimilar references and insulin glargine notesBackground and scope

    Prior authorization, step therapy, documentation, and denial risks

    Prior Authorization

    Obtain prior authorization when 'PA' is listed

    Certain drugs listed with 'PA' in the Special Requirements column require prior authorization; the prescriber must submit a prior authorization request and obtain approval before the medication will be covered by the plan.

    Prior Authorization

    Submit PA for selected anti-infectives/antivirals

    Selected products in the formulary such as ARIKAYCE, TOBI PODHALER, EPCLUSA, CRESEMBA and other listed anti-infectives/antivirals are marked with PA (and often QL/SP) and require prior authorization per the formulary before coverage.

    • ARIKAYCE — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (28 vials/28 days), SP ([[chunk 28]])
    • TOBI PODHALER — QL (224 capsules/56 days), SP ([[chunk 29]])
    • EPCLUSA — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days), SP ([[chunk 37]])
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for select DAAs (hepatitis C agents)

    Direct-acting antiviral agents for hepatitis C (e.g., EPCLUSA, MAVYRET, SOVALDI, VOSEVI) are designated PA and subject to quantity limits and specialty pharmacy routing; prior authorization must be obtained before coverage.

    • EPCLUSA — PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days), SP
    • MAVYRET — PA, QL (90 tablets/30 days), SP
    • SOVALDI — PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP
    • VOSEVI — QL (30 tablets/30 days) (PA indicated in list)
    Prior Authorization

    Obtain PA for oncology and specialty drugs

    Numerous oncology and specialty agents are marked 'PA' (often with QL and SP); prescribers must obtain prior authorization for these cancer and specialty drugs before dispensing.

    • Abiraterone — PA, QL (examples shown) ([[chunk 70]])
    • ALECENSA (alectinib) — PA, QL (240 capsules/30 days), SP ([[chunk 71]])
    • Various antineoplastics listed with PA and QL ([[chunk 72]])
    Prior Authorization

    PA plus quantity limits for specialty/oncology products

    Many oncology and specialty products combine prior authorization with explicit quantity limits (e.g., PA, QL X units/Y days); providers must submit PA requests and ensure dispensing adheres to the stated QL.

    • PA and QL shown per product (e.g., BRAFTOVI — PA, QL (180 capsules/30 days))
    • Claims exceeding QL may require additional review or be denied
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for many specialty oncology agents

    Many oral oncology/specialty agents are designated 'PA' (examples include pazopanib, pemigatinib, alpelisib packs); prior authorization is required before coverage.

    • Pazopanib — PA, QL (120 tablets/30 days) ([[chunk 92]])
    • PEMAZYRE (pemigatinib) — PA, QL (14 tablets/21 days) ([[chunk 92]])
    • PIQRAY (alpelisib) — PA, QL (various) ([[chunk 92]])
    Prior Authorization

    Submit PA for select specialty/high-use products

    Several other non-oncology specialty products require prior authorization as listed (examples include testosterone enanthate formulations, MYFEMBREE, ORIAHNN); providers must submit PA per payer processes.

    • TESTOSTERONE ENANTHATE — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (5 mls/28 days) ([[chunk 111]])
    • ELAGOLIX-ESTRAD-NORETH pack (MYFEMBREE/ORIAHNN packages) — PA, QL ([[chunk 116]])
    • Metformin ER osmotic forms — PA, QL (examples in list) ([[chunk 131]])
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for selected branded products

    Certain branded products are noted with PA in the formulary and require prior authorization before coverage; follow the product line entry for PA designation and limits.

    • MOUNJARO — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days depending on presentation) ([[chunk 132]])
    • OZEMPIC — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 pen/28 days) ([[chunk 132]])
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for endocrine and specialty metabolic drugs

    Multiple endocrine and specialty endocrine agents (e.g., FARXIGA, GLP‑1 agents, various insulins) list PA and/or QL; prescribers must obtain prior authorization where 'PA' is indicated before dispensing.

    • FARXIGA — QL (30 tablets/30 days) (PA indicated on some entries) ([[chunk 127]])
    • MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, TRULICITY — PA and QL examples provided ([[chunk 132]])
    • Insulin glargine products (reference and biosimilars) — QL (100 mLs/30 days) and tier P ([[chunk 143]])
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for listed specialty biologics

    Multiple biologic and specialty agents (e.g., STRENSIQ, TRYNGOLZA, VOXZOGO, YORVIPATH, TYMLOS) are listed with 'PA' and require prior authorization prior to coverage; specialty pharmacy routing (SP) may also apply.

    • STRENSIQ — PA, SP ([[chunk 162]])
    • VOXZOGO — PA, QL (30 vials/30 days), SP ([[chunk 163]])
    • YORVIPATH — PA, QL (2 pens/28 days), SP ([[chunk 163]])
    Prior Authorization

    Check product entries and obtain PA when shown

    The formulary denotes prior authorization where required; providers must check each product entry and obtain PA when 'PA' appears in the Requirements/Limits column before dispensing.

    Prior Authorization

    Submit PA documentation as indicated

    When a product entry indicates 'PA' the prescriber must submit prior authorization documentation per BCBSOK processes before the plan will cover the medication.

    Prior Authorization

    PA required for select specialty/high-cost drugs

    Select specialty and high-cost drugs such as NUCALA, TEZSPIRE, XOLAIR and CF modulators are designated 'PA' (and often QL/SP); prescribers must obtain prior authorization and adhere to QL/SP requirements.

    • NUCALA — PA, QL (3 pens/28 days or 1 syringe/28 days), SP ([[chunk 217]])
    • TEZSPIRE — PA, QL (1 pen/28 days), SP ([[chunk 220]])
    • XOLAIR — PA, SP ([[chunk 221]])
    Prior Authorization

    PA required for listed specialty and select drugs

    Multiple specialty and select drugs (BYLVAY, CIMZIA, ENTYVIO PEN, SKYRIZI, TREMFYA, ZYMFENTRA, etc.) are subject to prior authorization; prescribers must submit documentation to support medical necessity and dosing with PA requests.

    • BYLVAY — Requirements/Limits = PA, SP ([[chunk 236]])
    • CIMZIA — PA, QL (2 kits/28 days or 4 syringes/28 days), SP ([[chunk 236]])
    • ENTYVIO PEN — PA indicated in list ([[chunk 235]])
    Prior Authorization

    PA and step therapy may both apply — confirm requirements

    Certain drugs are marked with 'PA' or 'ST' indicating prior authorization or step therapy is required before coverage; providers should confirm whether step therapy applies in addition to PA.

    • AUVELITY — Requirements/Limits = ST ([[chunk 255]])
    • CLOZAPINE ODT entries — ST/QL noted for some formulations ([[chunk 263]])
    • NUPLAZID — PA, QL (30 capsules/30 days) and other entries with ST/PA flags ([[chunk 266]])
    Step Therapy

    Adhere to step therapy when 'ST' is shown

    Some benefit plans include step therapy (ST); drugs noted with 'ST' require the member to try specified alternative medications first per plan rules before the listed product is covered.

    • ST flag indicates a required trial of an alternative agent before coverage (document notes ST appears in Special Requirements column).
    Step Therapy

    No explicit ST sequences in extract — confirm with payer

    The document extract does not provide explicit step-by-step sequences for most ST entries; where 'ST' appears (product line), providers must follow payer step edit logic and confirm required prior steps with BCBSOK.

    Step Therapy

    Step therapy/SP indicated for select antivirals/biologics

    Certain high-cost antiviral and biologic agents (e.g., EPCLUSA, HARVONI, MAVYRET, SOVALDI, PEGASYS) are indicated with step/special program flags (SP/ST) in addition to PA; prescribers should confirm if step therapy applies.

    • PEGASYS — Requirements/Limits = PA, SP ([[chunk 43]])
    • EPCLUSA — PA, QL, SP ([[chunk 37]])
    Step Therapy

    Step therapy sequences not specified — verify with payer

    Where step therapy details are not specified in the document, prescribers must verify the required step sequence with the payer prior to submitting an authorization request.

    Note

    Follow specialty program (SP) requirements when flagged

    The formulary includes entries with 'SP' (special program/specialty) indicating specialty plan or program requirements; providers should follow specialty program rules where 'SP' is noted.

    • SP indicates specialty pharmacy management or special program routing for the product.
    Note

    Observe administrative controls (AC) and possible step edits

    Some contraceptives and related products are flagged with 'AC' (administrative control) which may represent administrative coverage controls or potential step edits; follow payer administrative procedures where AC is shown.

    • ANNOVERA, many oral contraceptives — Requirements/Limits include AC and QL (e.g., 1 ring/365 days or 28 tablets/21 days) ([[chunk 116]], [[chunk 117]])
    Step Therapy

    No explicit step order shown — confirm before submission

    Where step therapy is not detailed for a product entry, the formulary still flags PA and QL but does not specify an ordered step sequence; confirm step requirements with the payer as needed.

    Step Therapy

    KERENDIA flagged for step therapy (ST)

    KERENDIA (finerenone) is annotated with 'ST' indicating a step therapy requirement may apply; providers should confirm the required prior steps and include documentation when requesting coverage.

    • KERENDIA — Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days), ST ([[chunk 154]])
    Step Therapy

    Step therapy not specified in excerpt — contact payer

    In many sections the extract does not specify step therapy sequences or failures required prior to coverage; providers must check plan-specific rules or contact the number on the member ID card for details.

    Step Therapy

    ST flagged medications — follow step requirements

    Multiple branded agents are specifically marked 'ST' in the list (examples: AUVELITY, DESVENLAFAXINE ER, ESCITALOPRAM OXALATE, FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR, and certain clozapine forms); when ST is present providers must follow the plan's step requirements.

    • AUVELITY — Requirements/Limits = ST ([[chunk 255]])
    • DESVENLAFAXINE ER — Requirements/Limits = ST ([[chunk 256]])
    • ESCITALOPRAM OXALATE — Requirements/Limits = ST ([[chunk 257]])
    Documentation Required

    Request Drug List exceptions via ID-card number (timelines apply)

    For a Drug List exception, the prescriber or member must call the number on the ID card to request review; BCBSOK will notify the prescriber or authorized representative of the decision within 15 calendar days (or 72 hours for expedited requests).

    Documentation Required

    Provide documentation supporting PA/QL requests

    When a product is listed with 'PA' or 'QL', providers must supply required authorization documentation to support medical necessity, dosing, and requested quantity in the PA request.

    • Include diagnosis, dosing regimen, and quantity requested when submitting PA for PA/QL products.
    Documentation Required

    PA documentation required when SP is indicated

    For products with both 'PA' and 'SP' designations, providers must submit prior authorization documentation per payer processes and may be required to have the medication dispensed through a specialty pharmacy.

    • Confirm specialty pharmacy routing (SP) and include any required specialty documentation with the PA.
    Documentation Required

    Follow AC (administrative) requirements for vaccines

    Some vaccine products are annotated 'AC' in Requirements/Limits; administrative coverage conditions apply and providers should follow the AC guidance when seeking coverage or exception.

    • ABRYSVO, ACTHIB, AFLURIA and other vaccines show Requirements/Limits = AC in the list.
    Documentation Required

    Include diagnosis, dosing and QL adherence for specialty PA

    Specialty medications frequently require specific authorization documentation; prescriptions for SP-designated agents must include documentation of diagnosis, dosing, and adherence to quantity limits when requesting PA.

    • Examples: specialty cardiovascular and pulmonary agents require PA and documentation consistent with formulary rules.
    Documentation Required

    Document adherence to PA and QL in authorization requests

    When a drug entry shows 'PA, QL' the prescriber must document both the prior authorization rationale and that the requested quantity is appropriate per the listed quantity limit.

    Billing Rule

    Adhere to quantity limits or obtain authorization

    Quantity limits shown in the formulary are enforceable — providers must ensure dispensing requests match the QL or obtain authorization to exceed the limit; claims exceeding QL may be denied or require documentation.

    • Example QLs: 30 tablets/30 days, 60 tablets/30 days, 1 pen/28 days, 100 mLs/30 days (varies by product).
    Documentation Required

    Support PA/QL with product-specific documentation

    Provide supporting documentation with PA/QL requests for products that list specific limits or special handling (examples: metformin oral solution, MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC list PA/QL and require supporting evidence).

    • Metformin ER osmotic forms — PA, QL (150 tablets/30 days) ([[chunk 131]])
    • MOUNJARO — PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days) ([[chunk 132]])
    Documentation Required

    Reference product-specific QL values in PA requests

    When submitting PA requests include documentation of the specific quantity limit applicable to the product (e.g., X units per Y days) to demonstrate medical necessity within the QL.

    • Examples of QL values are provided in the formulary and should be referenced in requests.
    Documentation Required

    Include medical necessity, dosing and quantity in PA requests

    Authorization requests for PA/QL/SP products must include documentation of medical necessity, dosing frequency, and the requested quantity to support coverage decisions.

    Documentation Required

    Supply disease-specific and dosing documentation with PA for specialty agents

    Provide documentation supporting PA for specialty agents (e.g., BYLVAY, CIMZIA, ENTYVIO PEN) including diagnosis, prior treatments tried, dosing, and quantity limits when required by the formulary.

    • BYLVAY — PA, SP ([[chunk 236]])
    • CIMZIA — PA, QL, SP ([[chunk 236]])
    • ENTYVIO PEN — PA indicated in list ([[chunk 235]])
    Documentation Required

    Examples of documentation required with PA requests

    Examples of documentation to include with PA requests: diagnosis, prior therapy history, dosing schedule, anticipated duration, and the specific quantity requested to match QL.

    • When PA/QL is specified, provide medical necessity rationale and that the requested quantity aligns with the stated QL.
    Documentation Required

    Document requests to exceed quantity limits

    For products listed with QL, prescribers should document the clinical rationale when requesting quantities exceeding the stated limit; without appropriate documentation claims may be denied.

    Documentation Required

    Provide medical necessity and dosing documentation for BYLVAY/CIMZIA/ENTYVIO PEN

    For BYLVAY, CIMZIA, and ENTYVIO PEN examples in the formulary, include documentation supporting medical necessity and dosing frequency when submitting prior authorization requests.

    • BYLVAY — PA, SP ([[chunk 236]])
    • CIMZIA — PA, QL (2 kits/28 days or 4 syringes/28 days), SP ([[chunk 236]])
    • ENTYVIO PEN — PA indicated ([[chunk 235]])
    Documentation Required

    State QL units and timeframe in PA requests

    Follow quantity limit guidance when requesting PA for dispensing amounts; specify units and timeframe (e.g., tablets/30 days, pens/28 days, mLs/30 days) in the authorization.

    • Common formats: QL (30 tablets/30 days), QL (1 pen/28 days), QL (100 mLs/30 days).
    Denial Risk

    Risk of denial if PA not submitted for PA-designated drugs

    Requests for medications not listed on the Drug List or for drugs that require prior authorization may be denied if a PA is not submitted and approved; providers should obtain PA where indicated to avoid denial.

    Denial Risk

    Denial triggers for anti-infective/selected agents if PA/QL/SP unmet

    Select anti-infective agents with QL, PA, or SP designations (e.g., azithromycin, voriconazole, ARIKAYCE, TOBI PODHALER) may be subject to denial if those requirements or quantity limits are not met.

    • Azithromycin — QL (60 tablets/180 days) ([[chunk 23]])
    • Voriconazole — Requirements/Limits noted in antifungals section ([[chunk 31]])
    • TOBI PODHALER — QL (224 capsules/56 days), SP ([[chunk 29]])
    Denial Risk

    PA required for select antivirals — denial possible without PA

    Use of select antivirals (EPCLUSA, HARVONI, MAVYRET, SOVALDI, VOSEVI) is designated PA and may trigger denial if prior authorization and any QL/SP requirements are not met.

    • EPCLUSA — PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days), SP ([[chunk 37]])
    • VOSEVI — QL (30) in quantity limits section ([[chunk 164]])
    Denial Risk

    PA plus SP may cause specialty routing or denial without documentation

    Some biologic and antiviral products list both PA and specialty (SP) designations; without required PA and specialty routing, claims may be denied or redirected to specialty pharmacy channels.

    • PEGASYS — PA, SP ([[chunk 43]])
    • SOVALDI — PA, QL, SP ([[chunk 37]])
    Denial Risk

    PA/QL/SP noncompliance may trigger claim denial

    Drugs listed with 'PA' or 'QL' or 'SP' may be denied at point of claim if prior authorization is not obtained or quantity limits are exceeded; providers should confirm and comply with these requirements.

    Denial Risk

    PA absence can trigger denial at claim

    If a formulary entry shows 'PA' the absence of required prior authorization may result in claim denial at the point of sale; obtain PA before dispensing to avoid denial.

    Denial Risk

    Exceeding QL may cause denial

    Exceeding stated quantity limits (e.g., listed QL such as 30 tablets/30 days) may trigger claim denial or require prior authorization to cover the excess quantity.

    • Examples: RAYOS — QL (360 tablets/30 days) for some strengths; testosterone gels — various QLs ([[chunk 110]], [[chunk 111]])
    Denial Risk

    PA and QL enforcement may result in denial

    The formulary enforces PA and QL for many products; claims for listed drugs may be denied if prior authorization or quantity limits indicated for the product are not met.

    Denial Risk

    Missing PA for hormone/testosterone products may trigger denial

    Examples in the formulary (testosterone enanthate, XYOSTED, contraception products) show that missing required PA may lead to denial at point of claim; confirm PA prior to dispensing.

    • TESTOSTERONE ENANTHATE — PA, QL (5 mls/28 days) ([[chunk 111]])
    • XYOSTED — listed with Requirements/Limits and PA references ([[chunk 111]])
    Denial Risk

    PA/QL noncompliance risks denial (metformin example)

    Noncompliance with PA/QL requirements (e.g., for metformin oral solution, extended-release metformin) may result in denial; ensure required authorizations and QL adherence are documented.

    • Metformin ER osmotic 500 mg — PA, QL (150 tablets/30 days) ([[chunk 131]])
    Prior Authorization

    Obtain PA for any product showing 'PA' to avoid denial

    Drugs listed with 'PA' will require prior authorization; failure to obtain PA prior to dispensing may trigger claim denial.

    Denial Risk

    Denial triggers include missing PA, exceeding QL, failing SP routing

    Formulary entries may trigger denial when required prior authorization, quantity limits, or specialty pharmacy requirements are not followed; confirm and comply with listed Requirements/Limits.

    Denial Risk

    QBRELIS example — PA and QL enforcement

    Products with PA and QL designations (e.g., QBRELIS lisinopril oral solution) require prior authorization and adherence to the specified quantity limit; lack of compliance may result in denial.

    • QBRELIS — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (2400 mls/30 days) ([[chunk 184]])
    Denial Risk

    Specialty PA required — risk of denial without documentation

    Specialty agents (e.g., REPATHA, TRYVIO, ATTRUBY) list PA and QL; requests without required authorization documentation risk denial or referral to specialty pharmacy.

    • REPATHA — PA, QL (6 syringes/28 days) ([[chunk 195]])
    • TRYVIO — PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days) ([[chunk 195]])
    Denial Risk

    PA-designated biologics require authorization to avoid denial

    Coverage may be denied or require prior authorization when a product is marked 'PA' in the formulary (examples include NUCALA, TEZSPIRE, XOLAIR); obtain PA to secure coverage.

    • NUCALA — PA, QL, SP ([[chunk 217]])
    • TEZSPIRE — PA, QL, SP ([[chunk 220]])
    • XOLAIR — PA, SP ([[chunk 221]])
    Prior Authorization

    PA is required for PA-designated drugs

    Prior authorization is required for PA-designated drugs; providers must obtain and document PA to prevent coverage denial at claim adjudication.

    Denial Risk

    Missing PA/QL commonly triggers denials

    Requests lacking required PA or exceeding QL are common denial triggers noted throughout the formulary; providers should confirm Requirements/Limits before dispensing.

    Denial Risk

    Comply with utilization management (PA/ST/QL) to avoid denial

    Utilization management flags (PA, ST, QL) are applied widely; medications flagged with any of these require compliance with the respective program or prior authorization/step edits to avoid denial.

    Specialty pharmacy and dispensing requirements

    Note

    Use specialty pharmacy when 'SP' is indicated

    Many specialty drugs in the list must be dispensed through an approved specialty pharmacy (SP); prescribers should route prescriptions accordingly and include SP instructions with PA requests.

    • SP designation indicates specialty pharmacy distribution is required for the product.
    Note

    SP flag denotes specialty pharmacy requirement

    The 'SP' flag identifies products that require specialty pharmacy handling or management; providers must ensure SP routing for those agents to comply with formulary distribution requirements.

    Note

    Specialty pharmacy designation applies to CF modulators and injectables

    Some agents (for example CF modulators and certain injectables) are designated SP and must be managed through specialty pharmacy channels; include SP details on PA requests.

    • CF modulators (TRIKAFTA, KALYDECO, ORKAMBI, SYMDEKO) — PA, QL, SP ([[chunk 222]], [[chunk 225]])
    Note

    Specified quantity limits by product

    inv-162: Examples of QL from list (azithromycin, ARIKAYCE, EPCLUSA, etc.)
    Antibiotic QLs examplesazithromycin tab QL (60 tablets/180 days); tobramycin TOBI PODHALER QL (224 capsules/56 days); ARIKAYCE QL (28 vials/28 days)
    Antiviral/DAA QLsEPCLUSA QL (28 tablets/28 days); VOSEVI QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Formulary enforcementThese examples illustrate how QLs are specified per product in the list
    inv-163: efavirenz-emtricitabine-tenofovir df tab 600-200-300 mg — QL
    Productefavirenz-emtricitabine-tenofovir df tab 600-200-300 mg — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    ContextListed with QL alongside other HIV regimens in formulary extract
    ImplicationDispensing limited to 30 tablets per 30-day period unless authorized
    inv-164: EPCLUSA - sofosbuvir-velpatasvir — QL
    ProductEPCLUSA (sofosbuvir-velpatasvir) — QL (28 tablets/28 days)
    RequirementAlso designated PA and SP per formulary entry
    Dispense notePack-based QL shown for pellet/pack presentations (28 packs/28 days)
    inv-165: SUNLENCA — lenacapavir therapy pack — QL
    ProductSUNLENCA (lenacapavir) therapy pack — QL (4 tablets/365 days)
    FormatTherapy pack counts used (annual denominator) for long-acting regimens
    Specialty noteListed with QL and specialty designation
    inv-166: VOSEVI — QL
    ProductVOSEVI (sofosbuvir-velpatasvir-voxilaprevir 400-100-100 mg) — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    RequirementAlso marked PA and SP in formulary entry
    Pack/Tablet distinctionApplies to tablet presentation; pellet pack shown separately with pack-based QL
    inv-167: vancomycin hcl caps (Vancocin) — QL
    Productvancomycin hcl caps (Vancocin) — QL (120 capsules/30 days)
    Formulation noteCapsule formulation has 120/30-day limit; oral solutions listed separately
    Use caseApplied for C. difficile oral therapy formulations
    inv-168: XIFAXAN — rifaximin 550 mg — QL
    ProductXIFAXAN (rifaximin) 550 mg — QL (126 tablets/365 days)
    Alternate strengthXIFAXAN 200 mg — QL (9 tablets/30 days)
    Therapeutic contextDifferent strengths have distinct QLs reflecting indications (e.g., IBS vs. hepatic encephalopathy)
    inv-169: tedizolid (SIVEXTRO) — QL
    Producttedizolid (SIVEXTRO) 200 mg — QL (6 tablets/180 days)
    DurationLonger interval (180 days) for limited short-course indications
    ImplicationDispensing limited to small total count over extended period
    inv-170: vancomycin hcl capsules — QL
    Productvancomycin hcl capsules — QL (120 capsules/30 days)
    Related formulationOral solution (Firvanq) listed separately without same capsule QL
    Use noteCapsule QL supports oral CDI treatment supply limits
    inv-171: XIFAXAN 200 mg — QL
    ProductXIFAXAN 200 mg — QL (9 tablets/30 days)
    Higher-strength comparison200 mg formulation limited per 30 days vs 550 mg annual total limit
    Clinical implicationStrength-specific QLs reflect indication-specific dosing
    inv-172: XIFAXAN 550 mg — QL
    ProductXIFAXAN 550 mg — QL (126 tablets/365 days)
    Annual denominatorUses 365-day denominator for certain long-term indications
    Formulary statusListed as Drug Tier = P for the 550 mg strength
    inv-173: ALECENSA — QL
    ProductALECENSA (alectinib) — QL (240 capsules/30 days)
    Specialty pairingShown with PA and SP for oncology management
    High-monthly countReflects dosing and capsule strength pack sizes
    inv-174: avapritinib — QL
    Productavapritinib — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    RequirementEntry includes PA and SP annotations
    ContextStandard 30/30 QL for many oral oncology agents
    inv-175: encorafenib — QL
    Productencorafenib — QL (180 capsules/30 days)
    High-count exampleReflects capsule-based dosing and pack sizes for oncology therapy
    PA/SPListed alongside PA and SP in formulary
    inv-176: lenvatinib — QL
    Productlenvatinib 10 mg therapy pack — QL (30 capsules/30 days)
    Therapy pack formatPack-based therapy dosing expressed as monthly capsule count
    Oncology enforcementPaired with PA and SP flags
    inv-177: darolutamide — QL
    Productdarolutamide — QL (120 tablets/30 days)
    NUBEQA specificNUBEQA (darolutamide 300 mg) QL (120 tablets/30 days)
    Oncology pairingListed with PA and SP designations
    inv-178: NUBEQA — darolutamide — QL detailed
    ProductNUBEQA (darolutamide 300 mg) — QL (120 tablets/30 days)
    Formulary notePA and SP accompany the QL for specialty oncology management
    Dispense implicationMonthly supply limited to 120 tablets without authorization
    inv-179: TAGRISSO — QL
    ProductTAGRISSO (osimertinib) — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Oncology standardTypical 30/30 QL for targeted oral oncology agents
    PA/SPEntry includes PA and SP annotations
    inv-180: VITRAKVI — QL (mls)
    ProductVITRAKVI (larotrectinib) oral soln 20 mg/ml — QL (300 mls/30 days)
    Liquid formulationmL-based QL used for oral solution presentations
    Specialty annotationPA and SP accompany the QL for specialty management
    inv-181: RAYOS — QL variations by strength
    RAYOS strengths variationRAYOS QLs vary by strength: examples include QL (90 tablets/30 days), QL (60 tablets/30 days), and QL (360 tablets/30 days)
    Formulation noteDifferent tablet strengths have separate QLs
    Prescriber implicationEnsure strength-specific QL is observed when requesting prior authorization
    inv-182: testosterone products — QL examples
    Testosterone examplesExamples include QL (1 vial/28 days), QL (10 mls/28 days), QL (4 pens/28 days), QL (2 bottles/30 days)
    Formulation diversityInjectables, gels, pens and topical forms each have distinct QLs
    PA/QL pairingSome testosterone formulations also require PA in addition to QL
    inv-183: contraceptives — QL examples
    Contraceptive QLsExamples include QL (1 ring/365 days), QL (28 tablets/21 days), QL (3 patches/21 days), QL (30 patches/30 days)
    AC flagMany contraceptives carry AC administrative coverage flags in addition to QLs
    Cycle-based limitsQLs often align with dosing cycles (21- or 28-day) or annual ring limits
    inv-184: FARXIGA — QL
    ProductFARXIGA (dapagliflozin) — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Standard diabetic agent QL30/30 is common for oral antidiabetics
    Formulary contextListed with AC in some strengths and QL applied in formulary extract
    inv-185: assorted antidiabetic/insulin examples — QL
    Antidiabetic/insulin examplese.g., 30 tablets/30 days; 1 pen/28 days; 4 pens/28 days; 100 mLs/30 days for insulin liquids
    Pen and mL unitsGLP-1/insulin products use pen counts or mL volume limits rather than tablet counts
    PA associationMany branded antidiabetic products list PA with QL for supply control
    inv-186: TRESIBA QL example
    TRESIBA QLTRESIBA — QL (100 mLs/30 days)
    Insulin volume standard100 mLs/30 days commonly applied to multiple insulin brands
    Continuation noteUsed for refill/maintenance supply control
    inv-187: GALAFOLD/VOXZOGO/TYMLOS examples — QL
    Specialty biologic examplesGALAFOLD QL (14 capsules/28 days); VOXZOGO QL (30 vials/30 days); TYMLOS QL (1.56 mls/30 days)
    Unit diversityShows capsules, vials and mL units across specialty agents
    PA/SPThese entries carry PA and SP flags in formulary
    inv-188: TYMLOS — QL (1.56 mls)
    TYMLOS QLTYMLOS — QL (1.56 mls/30 days)
    Product formSpecified for abaloparatide pen-injector liquid volume
    PA and SPListed with PA and SP in formulary
    inv-189: VOXZOGO — QL (30 vials)
    VOXZOGO QLVOXZOGO — QL (30 vials/30 days)
    Pediatric/rare-disease formatVials per month used for weight- or dose-based biologic therapy
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP alongside QL
    inv-190: YORVIPATH — QL (2 pens)
    YORVIPATH QLYORVIPATH — QL (2 pens/28 days)
    Pen-based dosingPen count per 28 days used for refill control
    Specialty handlingListed with PA and SP in formulary
    inv-191: TRYNGOLZA — QL (1 device)
    TRYNGOLZA QLTRYNGOLZA — QL (1 injection device/28 days)
    Device-based QLSingle device per period limitation for injectable therapy
    PA/SPEntry includes PA and SP annotations
    inv-192: QBRELIS lisinopril oral solution — QL
    QBRELIS QLQBRELIS (lisinopril oral solution 1 mg/ml) — QL (2400 mls/30 days)
    Large-volume oral solutionHigh mL total used for liquid formulations with chronic dosing
    PA pairingListed with PA and QL in formulary extract
    inv-193: REPATHA — QL
    REPATHA QLREPATHA (evolocumab) — QL (6 syringes/28 days)
    Prefilled syringe limitSyringe/pen counts per period used for PCSK9 biologics
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP in formulary
    inv-194: TRYVIO — QL
    TRYVIO QLTRYVIO (aprocitentan) — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Cardiovascular agent QLMonthly tablet QL for specialty cardiovascular therapy
    PA pairingListed with PA in formulary
    inv-195: ATTRUBY — QL
    ATTRUBY QLATTRUBY (acoramidis) — QL (112 tablets/28 days)
    High-count 28-day packPack-based tablet QL used for chronic cardiac therapy
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP in formulary
    inv-196: ENTRESTO — QL (sprinkle)
    ENTRESTO sprinkle QLENTRESTO (sacubitril-valsartan sprinkle) — QL (240 capsules/30 days)
    Capsule-count QLHigh capsule monthly limit for cardiac agents
    PA requirementListed with PA in formulary extract
    inv-197: ORENITRAM — QL
    ORENITRAM QLORENITRAM (treprostinil diolamine) — QL (300 tablets/30 days)
    High monthly tablet countLarge QL consistent with titration and maintenance kits
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP in formulary
    inv-198: acoramidis pack — QL
    Acoramidis pack QLAcoramidis tablet pack (356 mg) — QL (112 tablets/28 days)
    Pack dosingPack-based tablet QLs used for specific dosing regimens
    Specialty handlingPA and SP annotations present
    inv-199: bosentan suspension — QL
    Bosentan suspension QLbosentan (Tracleer) oral suspension — QL (120 tablets/30 days)
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP for pulmonary hypertension agents
    Formulation noteSuspension and tablet presentations have distinct QLs
    inv-200: sacubitril-valsartan sprinkle — QL
    Entresto sprinkle cap QLsacubitril-valsartan sprinkle cap (Entresto) — QL (240 capsules/30 days)
    High monthly capsule countUsed for chronic heart failure regimen control
    PA indicationListed with PA in formulary entry
    inv-201: ivabradine solution — QL
    Ivabradine solution QLivabradine (Corlanor) oral solution — QL (600 mls/30 days)
    Large liquid volumemL-based QL reflecting chronic dosing needs
    PA/SPListed with PA in formulary extract
    inv-202: tadalafil suspension — QL
    Tadalafil (Adcirca) QLtadalafil 20 mg — QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    PA noteListed with PA in some entries for PAH indications
    Monthly tablet limitUsed for pulmonary arterial hypertension dosing regimens
    inv-203: uptravi — QL
    UPTRAVI QLUPTRAVI (selexipag) — QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP for specialty pulmonary agents
    Monthly tablet limitUsed for chronic pulmonary arterial hypertension therapy
    inv-204: vyndaqel — QL
    VYND A QLVYNDAQEL (tafamidis meglumine cardiac 20 mg) — QL (120 capsules/30 days)
    High-count capsule QLUsed for chronic transthyretin therapy management
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP in formulary
    inv-205: sildenafil suspension — QL
    Sildenafil suspension QLsildenafil (Revatio) suspension 10 mg/ml — QL (224 ml/30 days)
    mL-based limitLiquid formulation uses mL total per month
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP in some entries
    inv-206: Advair HFA — QL
    Advair HFA QLAdvair HFA — QL (1 inhaler/30 days)
    Inhaler-based limitsCommon QL format for inhaled maintenance therapies
    Package-size variationSome inhaled products list blister or inhaler counts depending on device
    inv-207: assorted examples across list
    Representative examplesDocument contains numerous QL examples across respiratory, biologic, and CF modulators — see individual entries for exact unit/time limits
    QL pairing with PA/SPMany inhaled and biologic agents show QL together with PA and SP flags
    Unit diversityExamples include inhalers, pens, syringes, vials, tablets and mLs
    inv-208: NUCALA — QL
    NUCALA QLsNUCALA — QL (3 pens/28 days for 100 mg auto-injector) or QL (1 syringe/28 days for 40 mg syringe)
    Multiple presentationsDifferent presentations have different QLs (pens vs syringes)
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP in formulary entry
    inv-209: TEZSPIRE — QL
    TEZSPIRE QLTEZSPIRE — QL (1 pen/28 days)
    Pen-based dosingSingle pen per 28 days for maintenance dosing
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP in formulary extract
    inv-210: QVAR REDIHALER — QL
    QVAR REDIHALER QLQVAR REDIHALER — QL (1 inhaler/30 days for 40 mcg; 2 inhalers/30 days for 80 mcg)
    Strength-dependent QLHigher microgram strength allows larger monthly inhaler allotment
    Formulary noteListed with Drug Tier = P and QL in entry
    inv-211: VENTOLIN HFA — QL
    VENTOLIN HFA QLVENTOLIN HFA — QL (2 inhalers/30 days)
    Short-term rescue inhaler QLCommonly limited to 1–2 inhalers per month to manage supply
    TieringListed with Drug Tier = P in formulary extract
    inv-212: CF modulators — QL examples
    CF modulators QLsCF modulators vary by product: TRIKAFTA QL (56 packets/28 days or 84 tablets/28 days depending on formulation); KALYDECO QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    Product-specificQL differs by formulation (packets vs tablets) for same therapy
    PA/SPThese entries commonly include PA and SP
    inv-213: SUCRAID — QL
    SUCRAID QLSUCRAID (sacrosidase solution 8500 unit/ml) — QL (300 mls/30 days)
    Liquid enzyme QLmL-based monthly limit for digestive enzyme therapy
    PA/SPListed with PA in formulary extract
    inv-214: CIMZIA — QL
    CIMZIA QLsCIMZIA (certolizumab) — QL (2 kits/28 days) or QL (4 syringes/28 days) depending on entry
    Kit vs syringeDifferent supply presentations have different QLs
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP in formulary extract
    inv-215: ZYMFENTRA — QL
    ZYMFENTRA QLZYMFENTRA (infliximab-dyyb) — QL (2 pens/28 days) or QL (2 syringes/28 days)
    Biologic presentation QLPen and syringe presentations specified with per-28-day limits
    PA/SPListed with PA and SP in formulary extract
    inv-216: clozapine ODT — QL
    Clozapine ODT QLClozapine ODT 12.5 mg — QL (90 tablets/30 days)
    Clozapine tabs QLClozapine tabs 25/50/100 mg — QL (90 tablets/30 days); 200 mg — QL (120 tablets/30 days)
    Monitoring implicationQLs reflect need for controlled dispensing and monitoring requirements
    inv-217: clozapine tabs — QL
    Clozapine tab QLClozapine 25/50/100 mg — QL (90 tablets/30 days)
    Higher-dose QL200 mg formulation — QL (120 tablets/30 days)
    PA/ST noteSome clozapine entries include ST or other requirements
    inv-218: clozapine 200 mg — QL
    Clozapine 200 mg QLClozapine 200 mg — QL (120 tablets/30 days)
    Liquid/suspension counterpartsVERSACLOZ suspension has separate mL QL (540 mls/30 days)
    Dispensing controlHigher tablet-strength QL increased to support dosing patterns
    inv-219: NUPLAZID — QL
    NUPLAZID QLNUPLAZID (pimavanserin) — QL (30 capsules/30 days)
    PA appliedEntry listed with PA and QL in formulary extract
    Monthly tablet limitStandard 30/30 format for psychiatric agents
    inv-220: olanzapine ODT — QL
    Olanzapine ODT QLOlanzapine ODT — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Olanzapine tablet QLOlanzapine 2.5–10 mg — QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    Formulary noteDifferent formulations have distinct QLs
    inv-221: olanzapine tabs — QL
    Olanzapine tabs QLOlanzapine 2.5–10 mg — QL (60 tablets/30 days)
    Dose-specific limitsHigher single-dose strengths may have lower or similar monthly limits
    Prescriber implicationObserve tablet-specific QLs when authorizing refills
    inv-222: quetiapine fumarate 150 mg — QL
    Quetiapine 150 mg QLQuetiapine fumarate 150 mg — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Range noteQuetiapine formulations show QLs ranging from 30 to 180 depending on strength/formulation
    Step therapySome strengths marked with ST as well as QL
    inv-223: quetiapine fumarate range — QL
    Quetiapine QL rangeQuetiapine ER/IR strengths — QLs reported from 30 up to 180 tablets/30 days depending on strength
    Formulation impactER vs IR formulations have differing QLs in the list
    PA/STSome entries include ST flags in addition to QL
    inv-224: REXULTI — QL
    REXULTI QLREXULTI (brexpiprazole) — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Standard antipsychotic QL30/30 commonly applied to many newer antipsychotics
    Formulary noteListed with Drug Tier = P in extract
    inv-225: risperidone oral solution — QL
    Risperidone solution QLRisperidone oral solution — QL (480 mls/30 days)
    Liquid formulation limitLarge mL-based monthly limit for oral solution presentations
    Alternate formsODT and tablet presentations have distinct QLs
    inv-226: VERSACLOZ — QL
    VERSACLOZ QLVERSACLOZ (clozapine suspension 50 mg/ml) — QL (540 mls/30 days)
    Large-volume suspensionmL-based QL for suspension formulation
    ST flagEntry lists ST along with QL for monitoring/dispensing controls
    inv-227: eszopiclone — QL
    Eszopiclone QLEszopiclone (Lunesta) — QL (30 tablets/30 days)
    Hypnotic standard30/30 commonly used for hypnotic agents
    STSome hypnotics marked with ST as well as QL

    Terminology and flags used in the formulary

    inv-116: Specialty drugs definition
    Specialty drugs definitionMedications for complex conditions that may be oral, topical or injectable; may require administration by a health care professional; provider-administered drugs are not covered under the pharmacy benefit
    Where to find listFor a current list of specialty medications, visit MyPrime.com or bcbsok.com
    Coverage nuanceSome drug classes may be excluded by some plans; check benefit materials or call the number on your ID card
    inv-117: Tier designators explanation
    Tier designators'p' = Preferred Generic; 'np' = Non-Preferred Generic; 'P' = Preferred Brand; 'NP' = Non-Preferred Brand; 'SP' marks specialty drugs in the Special Requirements column
    Presentation conventionsGeneric drugs shown lower-case bold; brand drugs in ALL CAPS followed by generic name
    Group-specific mark'+' indicates group-specific coverage — see benefit plan materials
    inv-118: QL definition
    QL definitionQuantity Limit — a restriction on the amount of medication dispensed within a defined period (e.g., 'QL (30 tablets/30 days)')
    FormatExpressed as number of units per days (e.g., tablets/30 days, pens/28 days, mLs/30 days)
    EnforcementClaims exceeding the QL may require documentation or be denied
    inv-119: PA definition
    PA definitionPrior Authorization — requirement to obtain approval before the payer will cover the medication
    When indicatedPA is shown in the Special Requirements column next to applicable drugs
    ConsequenceCoverage may be denied if PA is not submitted and approved
    inv-120: SP definition
    SP definitionSpecialty (SP) — designation indicating specialty pharmacy handling or management; products flagged 'SP' require dispensing via specialty pharmacy where indicated
    Common useApplied to many high-cost injectables, biologics and complex therapies
    PA pairingSP entries are frequently paired with PA and QL in the formulary
    inv-121: QL (Quantity Limit) label
    QL label usageQL indicates a quantity limit for the product (e.g., 'QL (30 tablets/30 days)')
    PlacementShown in the Requirements/Limits column next to product entries
    Unit typesCan reference tablets, capsules, pens, syringes, vials or mLs depending on formulation
    inv-122: PA (Prior Authorization) label
    PA label usagePA indicates prior authorization is required before coverage is approved
    How displayedShown in the Requirements/Limits column adjacent to applicable drugs
    Provider actionPrescribers must submit required authorization documentation per payer processes
    inv-123: SP (Specialty Pharmacy/Step Therapy) label
    SP label usageSP indicates Specialty Pharmacy — product is managed through specialty pharmacy channels and may require specialty dispensing
    Common pairingSP commonly appears alongside PA and QL for biologics, oncology and rare-disease therapies
    Where to verifySpecialty routing and dispensing instructions available via MyPrime.com or payer guidance
    inv-124: Drug Tier label
    Drug Tier labelDrug Tier values include p (Preferred Generic), np (Non-Preferred Generic), P (Preferred Brand), NP (Non-Preferred Brand)
    Specialty tierPreferred Specialty drugs may be marked with p, np, or P and also marked 'SP' in Special Requirements column
    Coverage detailTier determines member cost-share; see benefit plan materials for specifics
    inv-125: PA (redundant label)
    PA label (duplicate)PA: Prior Authorization — coverage requires approval before dispensing
    Shown whereDisplayed in the Requirements/Limits column next to affected products
    Denial riskAbsence of required PA may trigger claim denial
    inv-126: QL (format examples)
    QL format examplesFormats shown include 'QL (## tablets/# days)', 'QL (## pens/# days)', 'QL (### mls/# days)'
    Examples in docE.g., QL (30 tablets/30 days); QL (1 pen/28 days); QL (100 mLs/30 days)
    InterpretationNumber before slash = allowed units; denominator = time period in days
    inv-127: SP (definition)
    SP definition (duplicate)SP: Specialty Pharmacy — product managed through specialty pharmacy channels
    UseApplied to biologics, complex injectables and high-cost therapies
    PA associationOften paired with PA and QL flags
    inv-128: PA (definition duplicate)
    PA label (duplicate)Prior Authorization — approval required prior to payer coverage
    Provider actionSubmit PA documentation per payer instructions
    EnforcementClaims may be denied without approval
    inv-129: QL (definition duplicate)
    QL definition (duplicate)Quantity Limit — maximum quantity allowed in specified time frame (e.g., QL (30 tablets/30 days))
    DisplayedAppears in the Requirements/Limits column next to products requiring limits
    Claims handlingClaims exceeding QL may be denied or require additional documentation
    inv-130: AC administrative coverage flag
    AC definitionAC — Administrative Coverage flag; indicates administrative control or access condition (used for many vaccines and some contraceptives)
    Typical useApplied to preventive vaccines and certain contraceptives in the list
    DocumentationMay require administrative documentation or benefit-specific handling

    Initial authorization and therapy entry conditions

    Initial therapy PA/QL

    Initial authorization requirements where indicated

    PA/QL for initial therapy: Certain GLP‑1, GIP/GLP‑1 and related agents include prior authorization and defined quantity limits for initiation (examples in the list: MOUNJARO — PA, QL; OZEMPIC — PA, QL 1 pen/28 days; RYBELSUS — PA, QL), noting that specific clinical criteria for PA are not detailed in this extract.

    See product entry and PA policy for required documentation.

    Continuation and maintenance criteria

    Insulin continuation limits

    Continuation/maintenance limits for insulin products

    Insulin refill/continuation limits: Many insulin products are listed with a quantity limit of QL (100 mLs/30 days) for continuation or ongoing supply. Prescribers and pharmacies should adhere to the 100 mLs/30 days dispensing limit unless prior authorization specifies otherwise.100 mLs/30 days

    Applies across multiple rapid‑acting and basal insulin brands in the Drug List.

    Step therapy flags and tables

    Drug/AgentStep Therapy / Special Requirement
    EPCLUSA (sofosbuvir-velpatasvir)Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days), SP — step/specialty indication present (SP) per formulary
    PEGASYS (peginterferon alfa-2a)Requirements/Limits = PA, SP — specialty/step indication present
    MAVYRET (glecaprevir-pibrentasvir)Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (90 tablets/30 days), SP — specialty designation noted
    Drug/AgentPA / SP / Step Therapy Notes
    Abiraterone acetate (Zytiga)Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (120 or 60 tablets/30 days), SP — prior authorization and specialty routing shown
    AYVAKIT (avapritinib)Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP — PA and specialty designation present
    BOSULIF (bosutinib)Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30–150 capsules/30 days), SP — PA and SP indicated
    ObservationDetails
    Explicit step sequencesNo explicit step-therapy sequences or required prior step failures are provided in the excerpt; entries show PA, QL, SP flags only
    Implication for providersStep therapy may be indicated by ST or SP markers, but specific required prior agents and failure criteria are not listed in the document excerpts
    Entry typeFormulary flags present
    Selected specialty/oncology entriesMany entries include 'SP' (specialty) and frequently require 'PA' prior to coverage; explicit step order not described
    General observationPA is frequently required before coverage; SP indicates specialty channel — step edits implied but not detailed
    Product / ClassAdministrative or Step Flags
    ANNOVERA (contraceptive ring)Requirements/Limits = AC, QL (1 ring/365 days) — AC indicates administrative control that may reflect administrative/step edits
    Various oral contraceptives (e.g., desogestrel-ethinyl estradiol)Requirements/Limits = AC, QL (28 tablets/21 days) — administrative coverage flags present; some entries include PA
    ObservationDetails
    Step therapy specificationStep therapy is not specified for most products in the provided excerpt; only requirement flags (PA, QL, SP, AC) are shown
    ProductStep Therapy Annotation
    KERENDIA (finerenone) 10 mg, 20 mgRequirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days), ST — 'ST' annotation indicates step therapy requirement
    ObservationSource note
    Step therapy detailStep therapy protocols are not detailed in the excerpt; entries show PA and QL but do not enumerate required prior steps
    Drug/AgentAuthorization prior to coverage
    Ivabradine (Corlanor)Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days) — prior authorization required before coverage
    OPSUMIT (macitentan)Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP — PA required prior to coverage; specialty routing noted
    ORENITRAM (treprostinil diolamine)Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (300 tablets/30 days), SP — PA required prior to coverage
    ObservationNotes
    Step therapy protocolsStep therapy protocols and explicit sequences are not detailed in these excerpts; the formulary flags utilization controls but does not list step order
    ObservationSupport from source
    Explicit sequences absentNo explicit step therapy sequences are listed; product lines show tier and requirements (PA, QL, SP) but not ordered steps
    ObservationImplication
    Specialty channel managementSome specialty agents are designated 'SP' and require specialty pharmacy dispensing; step edits are not described in the section
    Product / ExampleStep Therapy (ST) Flag
    AUVELITY (dextromethorphan HBr–bupropion HCl)Requirements/Limits = ST — product marked 'ST' in formulary indicating step therapy applies
    DESVENLAFAXINE ER (extended-release)Requirements/Limits = ST — step therapy flag specified for some antidepressant formulations
    CITALOPRAM, ESCITALOPRAM, QUETIAPINE (selected strengths)Some entries include 'ST' indicating step therapy applies to specific products/strengths as listed (e.g., escitalopram, quetiapine, citalopram)

    Biosimilar references and insulin glargine notes

    Billing Rule

    Insulin glargine reference and biosimilars — QL 100 mLs/30 days

    Reference and biosimilar insulin glargine presentations (including SEMGLEE) are listed with a QL of 100 mLs/30 days and tier P; providers must adhere to the QL when dispensing these formulations.

    • INSULIN GLARGINE-YFGN and SEMGLEE — Requirements/Limits = QL (100 mLs/30 days), Drug Tier = P ([[chunk 143]])

    Background and scope

    Specialty drugs are medications used to treat complex conditions (for example, hepatitis, hemophilia, multiple sclerosis and rheumatoid arthritis) and may be self‑administered or require administration by a health care professional. The Drug List distinguishes specialty products and, where applicable, indicates specialty pharmacy (SP) routing, prior authorization (PA), and quantity limits (QL) that must be followed for coverage.