Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.28
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPharmacy & Specialty DrugsBlue Cross Blue Shield IL dispensing limits Policy…
    Ask Trek AI about this page

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    CurrentBlue Cross Blue Shield - IllinoisPolicy N/A

    Balanced Dispensing Limits (Pharmacy Coverage Criteria)

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for all Blue Cross Blue Shield - Illinois policy alerts

    Know when Blue Cross Blue Shield - Illinois releases new policies or updates existing guidance.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    Defines quantity and time-period dispensing limits for specified prescription drugs (brands and generics) under BCBSIL pharmacy benefits; affects prescribers, pharmacies, and members covered by BCBSIL (state-specific variations may apply).

    Policy Summary
    PayerBlue Cross Blue Shield - Illinois
    PolicyBalanced Dispensing Limits (Pharmacy Coverage Criteria)
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material change
    Effective DateN/A
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionVerify and adhere to the listed per-product dispensing limits; obtain prior authorization if requesting quantities above the listed limits.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.

    ~120+distinct product lines listed
    2common per-28/30-day limit for many biologics/pen products
    100 mLtypical per-30-day insulin volume
    300pen needles per 30 days (cumulative)

    Coverage Criteria and Quantity Limits

    General coverage rule

    Coverage is allowed up to the listed dispensing limit for each medication; quantities beyond the listed limit are the member's financial responsibility unless plan exceptions apply.

    General dispensing rule: Coverage is limited to the specific quantity and time-period listed for each drug (e.g., tablets, mLs, syringes, pens, kits).per-entry limits as specified

    Members may obtain larger quantities but will pay full cost beyond coverage; some limits vary by state or plan.

    Product-level dispensing limits (examples)

    Examples from the list (not exhaustive in this extract):

    Specific examples: abacavir sulfate soln 20 mg/mL = 960 mLs per 30 days; abacavir sulfate tab 300 mg = 60 tablets per 30 days; abaloparatide pen 3120 mcg/1.56 mL (Tymlos) = 1.56 mLs (1 injection) per 30 days; abatacept prefilled syringes (Orencia) = 4 syringes per 28 days; adalimumab products = typically 2 pens or 2 syringes per 28 days or starter kits 1 kit per 180 days, depending on product variant.

    Coding, Examples and Special Calculations

    Provider Actions, Authorization and Billing Notes

    Prior Authorization

    Prior Authorization and Over‑Limit Requests

    Dispensing limits listed in this policy govern coverage quantities; requests that exceed the stated per-prescription or per-period dispensing limits may require prior authorization or may be denied. If a prescriber submits a request above the listed limit, confirm plan-specific PA requirements — some exceptions may be allowed with documented medical necessity.

    • Dispensing limit may require prior authorization if exceeded.
    • Dispensing limits govern need for authorization — check member plan details or ID card.
    Note

    PA Not Specified in This Segment

    This section of the dispensing limits list does not, by itself, define a universal prior authorization rule for all products. Some entries include explicit notes about refill windows or fill limits (for example, GLP‑1 agents and injectable biologics), but the presence or absence of an explicit PA statement in an item does not replace plan‑specific PA rules.

    • Prior authorization not specified in this segment — informational only.

    Background and Rationale

    Dispensing limits are administrative controls intended to promote appropriate use and manage supply. They set maximum covered quantities per prescription or per defined time windows and are applied to plan pharmacy benefits; limits may vary by plan and state and are subject to change.

    Definitions and Terms

    inv-90: Dispensing Limit definition
    DefinitionDispensing Limit: coverage cap on quantity of medication allowed per prescription or within a defined time period (e.g., per 30, 28, or 180 days)
    Outcome if exceededIf prescribed quantity exceeds the dispensing limit, the member may obtain medication but will be responsible for full cost beyond coverage
    Plan variation noteSome dispensing limits may not apply to all members or may vary by state regulations; verify plan materials
    inv-91: Brand/Generic applicability codes (BG/B/G)
    BG / B / G codesBG = Brand and Generic applicable; B = Brand only; G = Generic only (designation shown per product line)
    UsageEach product line in the list includes a BG/B/G designation to indicate substitution/applicability

    Step Therapy and Special Fill Limits

    Step/RestrictionDescriptionRefill window / Notes
    A fill limit permitting only one injectable GLP-1 agent and one strength per 28 days
    A fill limit permitting only one oral GLP-1 agent and one strength per 28 days (applies to liraglutide)
    Pharmacy claims must conform to the single-agent/strength fill limit; quantities beyond the limit may be denied or require authorization

    Per-Product Quantity Limits (Selected Entries)

    inv-104: abacavir sulfate soln 20 mg/ml (Ziagen) — 960 mLs
    Abacavir solution limitabacavir sulfate solution 20 mg/mL (Ziagen) — 960 mLs per 30 DAYS
    DesignationListed as BG (brand and generic applicability) in the policy entry
    ContextExample of mL-per-30-day expression used for liquid antiretroviral formulations
    inv-105: abacavir sulfate tab 300 mg (Ziagen) — 60 Tablets
    Abacavir tablet limitabacavir sulfate 300 mg tablets (Ziagen) — 60 Tablets per 30 DAYS
    DesignationListed as BG in the policy entry
    Context

    Selected Device Limits and Coding-Related Notes

    Policy Summary
    PayerBlue Cross Blue Shield - Illinois
    PolicyBalanced Dispensing Limits (Pharmacy Coverage Criteria)
    Policy CodePolicy N/A
    Change TypeNo material change
    Effective DateN/A
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionVerify and adhere to the listed per-product dispensing limits; obtain prior authorization if requesting quantities above the listed limits.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage Criteria and Quantity LimitsCoding, Examples and Special CalculationsProvider Actions, Authorization and Billing NotesBackground and RationaleDefinitions and TermsStep Therapy and Special Fill LimitsPer-Product Quantity Limits (Selected Entries)Selected Device Limits and Coding-Related Notes
    as listed per product

    Brand/generic applicability indicated per line (B/G/BG).

    Quantity limit based coverage

    Covered when dispensed within the stated quantity limits per product and time period

    Per-product dispensing limits: Each listed product is subject to the exact dispensing limit shown (examples include biologics: 2 pens/syringes per 28 days; inhalers: commonly 2–3 inhalers per 30 days; many oral agents: typically 30 tablets per 30 days).see product entries

    Product-specific limits detailed in document chunks cited

    Oral triptan cumulative limit

    Class-level cumulative limit

    Oral triptan cumulative limit: Maximum of 18 tablets per 30 days across all oral triptan agents.<=18 tablets per 30 days cumulative

    Applies across all oral triptan products listed

    Example product limit (representative)

    Products are covered subject to the listed dispensing limit (quantity per time period) and product designation (brand/generic applicability).

    Symbicort (budesonide-formoterol): Dispensing Limit = 3 inhalers per 30 days; designation = BG.3 inhalers/30 days

    Representative example from inhaled combination products (Symbicort).

    Representative product limits

    Representative additional products and their dispensing limits (non-exhaustive in this part).

    Breztri Aerosphere (budesonide-glycopyrrolate-formoterol): Dispensing Limit = 1 inhaler per 30 days; designation = B.1 inhaler/30 days

    chunk 72

    Belbuca (buprenorphine buccal films): Dispensing Limit = 60 films per 30 days; designation = B.60 films/30 days

    chunks 72-73

    Butrans (buprenorphine transdermal patch): Dispensing Limit = 4 systems per 28 days; designation = BG or B depending on strength.4 systems/28 days

    chunks 73-74

    Cinryze (C1 esterase inhibitor IV 500 unit): Dispensing Limit = 20 vials per 30 days; designation = B.20 vials/30 days

    chunk 75

    Berinert (C1 esterase inhibitor IV kit 500 unit): Dispensing Limit = 10 vials per 30 days; designation = B.10 vials/30 days

    chunk 75

    Haegarda (C1 esterase inhibitor SC 2000/3000 unit): Dispensing Limits = 27 vials per 28 days (2000 unit) and 18 vials per 28 days (3000 unit); designation = B.27 vials/28 days; 18 vials/28 days

    chunks 75-76; QL calculation based on CDC 90th percentile weight

    Cabometyx/Cabozantinib (oral tablets): Dispensing Limit = commonly 30 tablets per 30 days for many strengths; designation = B.30 tablets/30 days (common)

    chunk 77

    Clobetasol products (topical corticosteroids): Dispensing Limits include cumulative caps (e.g., 100 g per 30 days or 180 g per 90 days across agents).100 g/30 days or 180 g/90 days cumulative

    chunks 89-90

    Standard dispensing limits

    Products are covered when dispensed at or below the specified per-product quantity limits for the defined time period.

    Per-item dispensing limit: Dispensing must not exceed the listed quantity and time window for the specific product (examples include CGM sensors: 3 sensors per 30 days; receivers: 1 per 365 days; coagulation factor IX: 1 mL per 30 days).see item entries

    Limits vary by product and formulation

    Covered within dispensing limits

    Covered when dispensing does not exceed the product-specific limits listed below

    General rule

    • Injectable and pen insulin formulations: Most injectable and pen-injector insulin formulations are limited to 100 mLs per 30 days; limits are cumulative across injectable formulations of the same insulin class.100 mLs per 30 days

      chunks 198-204

    • Combination insulin pens: Xultophy (insulin degludec-liraglutide) = 5 pens per 30 days; Soliqua (insulin glargine-lixisenatide) = 6 pens per 30 days.5 pens/30 days; 6 pens/30 days

      chunks 202,205

    • Insulin infusion kits and reservoirs: Certain starter kits limited to 1 kit per 720 days; reservoirs/pods limited to 30 pods per 30 days.1 kit/720 days; 30 pods/30 days

      chunks 207-209

    • Pen needles and insulin syringes are limited to 300 needles/syringes per 30 days, cumulative across all pen-needle and syringe SKUs.300 per 30 days

      chunks 211-217,219-220

    • Afrezza cartridges: Afrezza inhalation cartridges limited by cartridge strength: e.g., 1260 cartridges per 30 days for certain pack sizes; 2520 cartridges per 30 days for 4-unit cartridges.1260–2520 cartridges per 30 days depending on format

      chunks 216,219

    Dispensing limits (coverage-with-quantity-criteria)

    Coverage limited by specified dispensing quantity limits (QL) and cumulative rules:

    General dispensing rules: Dispensing permitted up to the listed quantity limits per product/description and time period. Where stated, QL is cumulative across categories (e.g., all pen needles or all insulin syringes).see product entries

    Each product line lists the exact QL and cumulative scope.

    Some plans may exclude coverage for particular drug categories or individual agents; the source example calls out categories such as erectile dysfunction agents and notes that state- or plan-specific variations may apply. Coverage limitations are expressed here primarily as per-product dispensing limits (quantity per time period) rather than broad clinical exclusions. Providers and members should verify plan materials or call the member services number on the ID card to confirm whether a listed dispensing limit applies to a given member or whether a specific product is excluded from coverage.

    Certain limits operate at the drug-class level as cumulative caps. For example, the oral triptan class is subject to a cumulative maximum of 18 tablets per 30 days across all oral triptan agents; dispensing for any single triptan counts toward that class total.

    Some listed products are identified with a brand-only designation in the table; where a product is designated Brand (B) this limits coverage to the brand presentation rather than generic substitution where a generic exists.

    Requests that exceed the stated dispensing limits may not be covered. The document indicates that provision of product quantities above the specified dispensing limit without appropriate authorization or clinical justification will be considered outside the listed coverage and may be denied or require additional review or prior authorization.

    No additional plan-wide exclusions beyond the stated dispensing limits are listed in these excerpts. Coverage control in this segment is implemented through product-specific quantity and time-period limits rather than by enumerating further drug-class exclusions.

    If a prescriber writes for a quantity greater than the dispensing limit, the member may still obtain the medication but will be responsible for the full cost of the portion of the prescription that exceeds coverage. In other words, amounts dispensed beyond the listed limit are the member's financial responsibility unless an exception or prior authorization is granted by the plan.

    When a requested dispense would exceed the published quantity limit, the document indicates that prior authorization or clinical justification may be required. For certain high‑cost or limited‑supply products (for example coagulation factors, CGM components, and some biologics), requests above the per-period QL typically trigger a review and may require prior authorization per payer processes before additional quantity is approved.

  1. Prior authorization not specified in this excerpt — coverage is governed by the listed dispensing limits.
  2. Prior Authorization

    Specialty Agents and Device Replacement

    Certain specialty agents, high‑cost biologics, and durable diabetes devices frequently require prior authorization when requests exceed dispensing limits or for initial coverage. For device replacements (e.g., continuous glucose system receivers, pump starter kits), replacement frequency limits are listed (days/years) and may trigger PA when exceeded.

    • Prior authorization may be required for specialty agents and high‑cost biologics.
    • Prior authorization for device replacements — example: continuous glucose system receiver limit = 1 per 365 days; pump starter kits = 1 per 720 days — requests before the interval may need PA.
    Denial Risk

    Quantity Limits, Claims Adjudication, and Denial Risk

    Quantity limits are operational controls: when an approved dispensing limit is exceeded at point of sale or on pharmacy claim adjudication, the claim may be denied or held for review. Pharmacies and prescribers should align prescriptions to the listed billing units and quantities; if an override is needed, document clinical rationale for medical necessity.

    • Quantity limits imply PA when exceeded — claims exceeding per‑period quantities often trigger review.
    • Quantity limit exceedance — claims may be denied or require authorization/override.
    • Exceeding dispensing limits may trigger denial; member may be responsible for full cost if paid out‑of‑pocket.
    Documentation Required

    Prescription Writing and Documentation

    Follow the listed dispensing quantities and refill window rules exactly when writing and submitting prescriptions. For combination or multi‑strength products, ensure cumulative quantity limits across agents or strengths are respected (for example, oral triptans have a cumulative maximum of 18 tablets per 30 days across all agents). Preserve formulation and device packaging information on the claim to match the listed QL.

    • Adhere to listed dispensing quantities and refill windows (examples: GLP‑1 injectable fill limits: one agent/one strength per 28 days; dulaglutide = 4 pens per 28 days).
    • Class cumulative limit for oral triptans — maximum 18 tablets per 30 days across all agents.
    • Formulation and device quantity documentation — prescribe matching NDC/pack size and billing unit to avoid claim issues.
    • Follow listed dispensing limits — pharmacy claim must conform to listed QL units.
    Billing Rule

    Billing, Units, and Overrides

    Billing unit conventions and packaging counts in this list drive how claims are submitted (e.g., 1 package = 2 mLs = 2 pens, or 1 carton = 2 syringes). When requesting overrides, include supporting documentation of medical necessity and indicate the specific discrepancy (unit, strength, pack size) to facilitate review.

    • Billing unit documentation — submit claims using the explicit pack/volume conventions.
    • Formulation and device quantity documentation required for overrides.
    • Support for overrides — document medical necessity and provide clinical justification when requesting exception to the QL.
    Prior Authorization

    Quantity‑Based Prior Authorization and Refill Limits

    Some dispensing limits are enforced via quantity‑based prior authorization (for example, interferon titration kits limited to 1 kit per 180 days). When a QL is structured as a kit or by cumulative limits across SKUs, expect PA workflows tied to quantity rather than just drug name.

    • Quantity‑based prior authorization examples — interferon kits and other multi‑unit packs.
    • Refill/agent limits documentation — GLP‑1 examples: fill limit of one injectable GLP‑1 agent and one strength per 28 days; liraglutide = 3 pens per 30 days (one agent/one strength per 28 days).
    Note

    Verify Coverage and Member Financial Responsibility

    When uncertain about member coverage, the plan may require verification through the member’s ID card or by contacting member services. Members may be responsible for the full cost if they elect to fill quantities beyond the dispensing limits without an approved authorization.

    • Verify plan‑specific limitations — contact member services or check the back of the member’s ID card.
    • Member financial responsibility if quantity exceeds limit and no PA/approval is obtained.
    ExamplesAbacavir entries show BG; many adalimumab biosimilars show B
    inv-92: Cumulative quantity limit definition (oral triptans example)
    DefinitionCumulative quantity limit: a single maximum quantity applied across multiple agents in the same therapeutic class (example: oral triptans capped at 18 tablets per 30 days across all agents)
    ExampleOral triptans: 18 tablets per 30 DAYS cumulative across all oral triptan agents
    ImplicationCumulative limits require aggregation of claims across class when adjudicating quantity limits
    inv-93: Dispensing Limit (redundant key term)
    TermDispensing Limit: maximum quantity allowed to be dispensed in the specified time period for a listed product
    ApplicationMay be expressed in tablets, mLs, pens, syringes, kits, cartridges, grams, or devices per specified days
    EnforcementClaims exceeding the dispensing limit may be denied or require prior authorization per plan rules
    inv-94: BG / B / G designation explanation
    Designation meaningBG = Brand & Generic applicable; B = Brand only; G = Generic only — used to indicate which presentations the dispensing limit applies to
    Where shownDisplayed alongside each product entry in the dispensing limits table
    EffectBrand-only designation may limit substitution to brand formulation
    inv-95: 180/90 cumulative across agents (topical corticosteroids)
    Topical steroid cumulative rule180 Grams per 90 DAYS cumulative across listed topical corticosteroid agents (policy lists 100 g/30 days or 180 g/90 days entries)
    ExamplesClobetasol propionate ointment/lotion/solution entries reference the cumulative 180/90 cap
    ApplicabilityCumulative cap spans multiple agent formulations within topical corticosteroids
    inv-96: Receiver/Transmitter/Sensor (CGM components)
    CGM componentsReceiver / Transmitter / Sensor are separate components with distinct replacement intervals (Sensor: 2–3 per 28–30 days; Transmitter: 1 per 90 days; Receiver: 1 per 365 days)
    Device examplesDexcom g6/g7 sensors and transmitters; Freestyle Libre sensors and readers are listed
    Coverage noteDevice prescriptions must match listed formulation and package size
    inv-97: billing unit note (example: follitropin cartridge billing)
    Billing unit exampleFollitropin beta cartridges: each cartridge billed as 0.420 mL (billing-unit clarification noted in policy)
    ImplicationPharmacies must use specified billing units when submitting claims to align with dispensing limits
    ReferenceSee follitropin entries in policy for cartridge billing guidance
    inv-98: Dispensing Limit expressed as milliliters per 30-day period
    mL expressionDispensing limits for many insulin products are expressed as milliliters per 30 DAYS (e.g., 100 mLs per 30 DAYS)
    ExamplesMultiple insulin pen and vial entries list 100 mLs per 30 DAYS
    Cumulative applicationmL-based limits may be cumulative across injectable formulations of the same insulin
    inv-99: Quantity limit cumulative across pen needle SKUs
    Cumulative pen-needle QLQuantity limit that is cumulative across all pen needle SKUs — 300 needles per 30 DAYS
    Applies to multiple SKUsIncludes 29 g, 31 g, 32 g variants and multiple lengths listed in policy
    Enforcement noteClaims exceeding cumulative pen-needle QL may trigger claim edits or denial
    inv-100: QL (Dispensing Limit) term explanation
    QL term explanationQL (Dispensing Limit) = maximum quantity allowed to be dispensed in the specified time period; may be cumulative across similar items
    Time windowsCommon windows: Per 30 DAYS, Per 28 DAYS, Per 90 DAYS, Per 180 DAYS, Per 365 DAYS
    Use in adjudicationPharmacy claims must be adjudicated against the product-specific QL and cumulative rules
    inv-101: Afrezza cartridges definition and units
    Afrezza cartridge unitsAfrezza cartridges are defined by units per cartridge (e.g., 4, 8, 12 unit/cartridge) and limits are specified per cartridge format
    Policy examples4-unit cartridges limited to 2520/30 DAYS; 8-unit and 12-unit formats have separate limits (e.g., 1260, 1080) depending on pack size)
    Adjudication implicationClaims must be evaluated by cartridge unit format when applying QL
    inv-102: Titration pack definition (Rebif example)
    Titration pack definitionTitration pack (Rebif): combined pack containing 6 x 8.8 mcg/0.2 mL plus 6 x 22 mcg/0.5 mL = 1 Kit; Dispensing Limit = 1 Kit per 180 DAYS
    UsageTitration pack entries indicate combined contents and longer interval kit limits
    Related itemsRebif/Rebidose syringes and Avonex kits have separate limits (e.g., 12 syringes/28 days; 1 kit/28 days)
    Representative tablet per-30-day limit for this antiretroviral
    inv-106: abaloparatide pen 3120 mcg/1.56ml (Tymlos) — 1.56 mLs (1 injection)
    Abaloparatide pen quantityAbaloparatide pen 3120 mcg/1.56 mL (Tymlos) — 1.56 mLs (1 injection) per 30 DAYS
    Unit equivalencePolicy notes 1.56 mLs equals one injection for the pen presentation
    ApplicabilityPen-injector volume limits for single-injection presentations
    inv-107: abatacept prefilled syringe (Orencia) — 4 Syringes
    Orencia syringe limitAbatacept prefilled syringes (Orencia) — 4 Syringes per 28 DAYS
    Presentation variantsMultiple Orencia prefilled syringe strengths listed with same 4-syringe/28-day limit
    ImplicationApplies to Orencia auto-injector and prefilled syringe presentations as listed
    inv-108: acyclovir buccal tab 50 mg (Sitavig) — 2 Tablets
    Sitavig limitAcyclovir buccal tablet 50 mg (Sitavig) — 2 Tablets per 180 DAYS
    Formulation noteThis is an example of a short-course or infrequent-use product with a long refill window
    DesignationListed as Brand (B) in policy entry
    inv-109: adalimumab (various formulations/brands/biosimilars) — commonly 2 Pens or 2 Syringes Per 28 DAYS; starter kits 1 Kit Per 180 DAYS
    Adalimumab common limitAdalimumab products (various brands/biosimilars) — commonly limited to 2 Pens or 2 Syringes per 28 DAYS; starter kits often 1 Kit per 180 DAYS
    Biosimilar parityMany adalimumab biosimilars are listed with the same 2-per-28-day limit
    Product-dependent exceptionsSome starter kits and initiation packs have separate longer interval limits
    inv-110: Adalimumab biosimilars — 2 (per period)
    Biosimilar exampleAdalimumab biosimilars (multiple brands/strengths) — Dispensing Limit = 2 Pens or 2 Syringes per 28 DAYS
    ConsistencyPolicy lists multiple biosimilar entries with identical dispensing limits
    Clinical noteLimits apply per product presentation (pen vs syringe) as listed
    inv-111: Afatinib (Gilotrif) tablets — 30
    Gilotrif limitAfatinib (Gilotrif) tablets — 30 Tablets per 30 DAYS
    Applies to strengths30-tablet limit shown for 20/30/40 mg strengths listed
    DesignationListed as Brand (B) in policy entry
    inv-112: Albuterol inhalers — 2
    Albuterol inhaler limitAlbuterol inhalers (HFA/Respiclick/Digihaler/Proventil/Ventolin) — 2 Inhalers per 30 DAYS
    Representative productsProAir Respiclick, ProAir Digihaler, Ventolin HFA listed with 2 inhalers/30 days
    Multiple presentationsSome combination inhalers have different limits (e.g., 3 Inhalers/30 DAYS for certain combos)
    inv-113: Albuterol nebulizer solution — 120
    Nebulizer solution exampleAlbuterol nebulizer solution (various strengths) — 120 Vials per 30 DAYS (example entry)
    Alternate mL entrySome nebulizer presentations listed as 60 mLs per 30 DAYS or other vial counts depending on concentration
    Formulation-specificLimits vary by concentration and presentation as shown in the policy
    inv-114: Almotriptan — 18 (class cumulative)
    Almotriptan limitAlmotriptan — 18 Tablets per 30 DAYS (class cumulative across oral triptans)
    Cumulative ruleCounts toward the 18-tablet class-level triptan cap
    FormulationsApplies to listed strengths (6.25 mg, 12.5 mg)