Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.28
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPharmacy & Specialty DrugsAmbetter Nevada Simtriyo Prior Auth | OpenPayer
    Ask Trek AI about this page
    CurrentAmbetter NevadaPolicy CP.PMN.312

    Centanafadine (Simtriyo) Coverage Criteria

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for Ambetter Nevada Policy CP.PMN.312 alerts

    Get alerted when Policy CP.PMN.312 changes without checking for updates manually.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    Prior authorization and medical-necessity coverage for Simtriyo (centanafadine) in Ambetter commercial, HIM/ICHRA, and Medicaid lines of business, primarily for ADHD in adults and pediatric members meeting age, weight, treatment-trial, dosing, and documentation requirements.

    Policy Summary
    PayerAmbetter Nevada
    PolicyCentanafadine (Simtriyo) Coverage Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy CP.PMN.312
    Change TypeNo material change
    Effective DateDecember 1, 2026
    Last ReviewNov 1, 20265d
    Next Review DateNot specified
    Key ActionSubmit documentation confirming ADHD, age of at least 6 years, weight of at least 20 kg, required treatment trials or a qualifying exception, and compliance with dose and capsule limits.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.

    ADHDFDA-approved covered indication
    6+ yearsMinimum age
    20 kgMinimum weight
    12 monthsApproval duration

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    3Contraindications

    Coverage Criteria

    Initial therapy for ADHD

    Covered when all of the following are met for initial ADHD therapy:

    Initial ADHD criteria

    • Diagnosis and eligibility

      • Member has a diagnosis of ADHD; is at least 6 years old; current weight is documented in kilograms; and weight is at least 20 kg.Age ≥ 6 years; weight ≥ 20 kg
    • ONE of the following

      • Atomoxetine has been tried and failed at up to maximally indicated doses, unless it was contraindicated or caused clinically significant adverse effects.Up to maximally indicated doses
      • Documentation supports inability to swallow capsules.
    • Both stimulant classes required

      • An amphetamine-based stimulant has been tried and failed at up to maximally indicated doses, unless clinically significant adverse effects occurred with any amphetamine product or all amphetamine products are contraindicated.Up to maximally indicated doses
      • A methylphenidate-based stimulant has been tried and failed at up to maximally indicated doses, unless clinically significant adverse effects occurred with any methylphenidate product or all methylphenidate products are contraindicated.Up to maximally indicated doses
    • ONE applicable dose-limit pathway

      • Pediatric members age 6 to 12 years

        • ONE weight-based maximum

          • Weight is 20 kg to less than 35 kg and the dose does not exceed 140 mg per day.140 mg/day
          • Weight is 35 kg to 50 kg and the dose does not exceed 210 mg per day.210 mg/day
          • Weight is greater than 50 kg and the dose does not exceed 280 mg per day.280 mg/day
        • The dose does not exceed 1 capsule per day.

    Continuation therapy for ADHD

    Covered when all continuation requirements are met:

    Continuation ADHD criteria

    • ONE existing-therapy or continuity-of-care pathway

      • ONE existing-therapy condition

        • Member is currently receiving the medication through the Centene benefit.
        • Member previously met the initial approval criteria.
      • Member is currently receiving the medication and is enrolled in a state and product subject to continuity-of-care regulations.

        Refer to the applicable state-specific continuity-of-care addendum.

    • Member is responding positively to therapy.

    Non-FDA-approved indications not addressed by this policy are not authorized unless sufficient documentation of efficacy and safety supports review under the applicable off-label use policy or evidence-of-coverage documents. The applicable off-label policies are CP.CPA.09 for commercial members, HIM.PA.154 for Health Insurance Marketplace/ICHRA members, and CP.PMN.53 for Medicaid members.

    Provider Actions and Authorization Requirements

    Prior Authorization

    Initial Authorization Requirements

    For initial authorization, submit documentation showing that the member has ADHD, is at least 6 years old, has a documented current weight in kilograms of at least 20 kg, and meets the required treatment-history and dosing criteria.

    • Diagnosis: Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.
    • Age: ≥ 6 years.
    • Weight: Current weight documented in kg and ≥ 20 kg.
    • Dose: Requested dose and capsule quantity must remain within the age- and weight-based limits below.
    Prior Authorization

    Continuation Authorization

    For continuation authorization, document that the member is currently receiving centanafadine through the Centene benefit or previously met initial approval criteria, or is receiving the medication under applicable state and product continuity-of-care regulations. The member must also be responding positively to therapy.

    • Continuation may be supported by current Centene benefit coverage or prior satisfaction of initial criteria.

    Drug and Policy Background

    Centanafadine (Simtriyo) is a norepinephrine-dopamine-serotonin reuptake inhibitor and central nervous system stimulant. Its FDA-approved use is the treatment of attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD) in adults and pediatric patients 6 years and older who weigh at least 20 kg. Use is not recommended in children younger than 6 years or weighing less than 20 kg because of weight-loss risk or insufficient data.

    Definitions

    Definitions
    ADHDAttention-deficit and hyperactivity disorder
    Definitions
    FDAFood and Drug Administration

    ADHD Initial Therapy

    ADHD Continuation Therapy

    ADHD continuation

    Continuation approval requires all of the following:

    • ONE existing-therapy or continuity-of-care pathway

      • Member is currently receiving medication through the Centene benefit or previously met the initial approval criteria.
      • Member is currently receiving medication and is enrolled in a state and product subject to continuity-of-care regulations.

        Refer to the applicable state-specific continuity-of-care addendum.

    • Member is responding positively to therapy.
    • ONE applicable dose-increase limit

      • Pediatric members age 6 to 12 years

    Required Treatment Trials

    StepTherapy or pathwayRequirement
    1Atomoxetine or capsule-swallowing exceptionFail atomoxetine at up to maximally indicated doses, unless contraindicated or clinically significant adverse effects are experienced; or document inability to swallow capsules.
    2Amphetamine-based stimulantFail an amphetamine-based stimulant at up to maximally indicated doses, unless clinically significant adverse effects are experienced to any amphetamine product or all are contraindicated.
    3Methylphenidate-based stimulantFail a methylphenidate-based stimulant at up to maximally indicated doses, unless clinically significant adverse effects are experienced to any methylphenidate product or all are contraindicated.

    Dose and Quantity Limits

    Simtriyo (centanafadine) Quantity Limits
    Patients aged 6 to 12 years, weight 20 kg to less than 35 kgMaximum 140 mg per day; 1 capsule per day
    Patients aged 6 to 12 years, weight 35 kg to 50 kgMaximum 210 mg per day; 1 capsule per day
    Patients aged 6 to 12 years, weight greater than 50 kgMaximum 280 mg per day; 1 capsule per day
    Adults and patients aged 13 to 17 yearsMaximum 280 mg per day; 1 capsule per day
    Policy Summary
    PayerAmbetter Nevada
    PolicyCentanafadine (Simtriyo) Coverage Criteria
    Policy CodePolicy CP.PMN.312
    Change TypeNo material change
    Effective DateDecember 1, 2026
    Last ReviewNov 1, 20265d
    Next Review DateNot specified
    Key ActionSubmit documentation confirming ADHD, age of at least 6 years, weight of at least 20 kg, required treatment trials or a qualifying exception, and compliance with dose and capsule limits.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage CriteriaProvider Actions and Authorization RequirementsDrug and Policy BackgroundDefinitionsADHD Initial TherapyADHD Continuation TherapyRequired Treatment TrialsDose and Quantity Limits
    1 capsule/day
  1. Adults and pediatric members aged 13 to 17 years

    • The dose does not exceed 280 mg per day.280 mg/day
    • The dose does not exceed 1 capsule per day.1 capsule/day
  2. ONE applicable dose-increase pathway

    • Pediatric members age 6 to 12 years

      • ONE weight-based maximum

        • Weight is 20 kg to less than 35 kg and the new dose does not exceed 140 mg per day.140 mg/day
        • Weight is 35 kg to 50 kg and the new dose does not exceed 210 mg per day.210 mg/day
        • Weight is greater than 50 kg and the new dose does not exceed 280 mg per day.280 mg/day
      • The new dose does not exceed 1 capsule per day.1 capsule/day
    • Adults and pediatric members aged 13 to 17 years

      • The new dose does not exceed 280 mg per day.280 mg/day
      • The new dose does not exceed 1 capsule per day.1 capsule/day
  3. Continuity-of-care requests must reference applicable state-specific addenda for CC.PHARM.03A and CC.PHARM.03B.
  4. For dose increases, the new dose must meet the applicable age-, weight-, and capsule-limit requirements.
  5. Documentation Required

    Continuation Documentation

    For continuation requests, include documentation of current therapy or prior approval, positive clinical response, and the requested dose. Dose increases require confirmation that the new dose remains within policy limits.

    • Document current use through the Centene benefit, prior approval, or qualifying continuity-of-care status.
    • Document that the member is responding positively to therapy.
    • For pediatric members age 6 to 12 years: 1 capsule daily and no more than 140 mg/day at 20 to <35 kg, 210 mg/day at 35 to 50 kg, or 280 mg/day at >50 kg.
    • For adults and members age 13 to 17 years: 1 capsule daily and no more than 280 mg/day.
    Step Therapy

    Required ADHD Treatment Trials

    Before initial approval, document the required ADHD treatment trials unless an applicable exception is met. Illinois HIM step-therapy requirements do not apply as of January 1, 2026, under Illinois HB 5395; this exception does not alter the requirements for Ambetter Nevada requests.

    • Atomoxetine: failure at up to maximally indicated doses, unless contraindicated or clinically significant adverse effects occurred, or documentation supports inability to swallow capsules.
    • Amphetamine-based stimulant: failure at up to maximally indicated doses, unless clinically significant adverse effects occurred with any amphetamine product or all amphetamine products are contraindicated.
    • Methylphenidate-based stimulant: failure at up to maximally indicated doses, unless clinically significant adverse effects occurred with any methylphenidate product or all methylphenidate products are contraindicated.
    Documentation Required

    Clinical Documentation Required

    The provider must submit office chart notes, laboratory results, or other clinical information supporting that the member meets all applicable approval criteria.

    • Include records supporting the ADHD diagnosis, age, current weight in kg, treatment history, applicable exceptions, current response, and requested dose.
    • Documentation must be sufficient to establish medical necessity for the requested authorization.
    Step Therapy

    Atomoxetine or Capsule-Swallowing Exception

    If atomoxetine was not tried, document either a contraindication or clinically significant adverse effects, or the member’s inability to swallow capsules. Otherwise, document failure of atomoxetine at up to maximally indicated doses.

    • Acceptable exceptions include contraindication, clinically significant adverse effects, or inability to swallow capsules.
    • Documentation should identify the treatment outcome or the specific clinical reason the trial cannot be completed.
    Step Therapy

    Stimulant Step-Therapy Documentation

    Document failure of both required stimulant classes at up to maximally indicated doses, unless the policy’s adverse-effect or contraindication exception applies.

    • Amphetamine-based stimulant: document failure, clinically significant adverse effects to any amphetamine product, or contraindication to all amphetamine products.
    • Methylphenidate-based stimulant: document failure, clinically significant adverse effects to any methylphenidate product, or contraindication to all methylphenidate products.
    Documentation Required

    Continuation Documentation Checklist

    Continuation requests must include evidence of current therapy or prior approval, a positive response to treatment, and the requested dose when a dose increase is requested.

    • Identify current Centene-benefit therapy, prior satisfaction of initial criteria, or applicable continuity-of-care status.
    • Document positive response to centanafadine.
    • For dose increases, document that the requested dose complies with the applicable pediatric or adult/adolescent limits.

    Unsupported block type: denial_risk

    Denial Risk

    Unmet Approval Criteria

    Requests may be denied when required approval criteria are not documented or are not met, including the diagnosis, minimum age or weight, required treatment failures or exceptions, or dose and capsule limits.

    • ADHD diagnosis is absent or unsupported.
    • Member is younger than 6 years or weighs less than 20 kg, or current weight in kg is not documented.
    • Atomoxetine or both required stimulant-class trials are not documented, and no applicable exception is established.
    • Requested dose exceeds the applicable age- and weight-based maximum or exceeds 1 capsule per day.
    Denial Risk

    Clinical Contraindications

    Do not use Simtriyo when the member has a listed contraindication, including known hypersensitivity to centanafadine or any excipient, monoamine oxidase inhibitor use within the prior 14 days, or pheochromocytoma or a history of pheochromocytoma.

    • Known hypersensitivity to centanafadine or any Simtriyo excipient.
    • Taking an MAOI or within 14 days of stopping an MAOI.
    • Pheochromocytoma or history of pheochromocytoma.
    Denial Risk

    Contraindications and Use Restrictions

    Coverage and use remain subject to the listed contraindications and boxed warnings. Providers should assess these restrictions and document clinically relevant findings before requesting or continuing therapy.

    • Contraindicated use must not be authorized when a listed contraindication is present.
    • Monitor and counsel regarding suicidal ideation and behaviors in pediatric patients age 6 years and older.
    • Assess and address risks of abuse, misuse, and addiction.
    • ONE weight-based maximum

      • Weight is 20 kg to less than 35 kg and the new dose does not exceed 140 mg per day.140 mg/day
      • Weight is 35 kg to 50 kg and the new dose does not exceed 210 mg per day.210 mg/day
      • Weight is greater than 50 kg and the new dose does not exceed 280 mg per day.280 mg/day
    • The new dose does not exceed 1 capsule per day.1 capsule/day
  6. Adults and pediatric members aged 13 to 17 years

    • The new dose does not exceed 280 mg per day.280 mg/day
    • The new dose does not exceed 1 capsule per day.1 capsule/day