VNS Health EasyCare Step Therapy Requirements (partial)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all vns_health policy alerts
Know when vns_health releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines step therapy requirements for multiple pharmacy products (antiulcer agents, aripiprazole formulations, antipsychotics, selected oncology/autoimmune agents, migraine therapy) for VNS Health EasyCare (HMO) members. Affects prescribers and pharmacists submitting prior authorization or formulary exception requests.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria — Step Therapy Rules
ANTIULCER AGENTS - Step 2
Antiulcer agents - Step 2 coverage when ALL of the following are met
Supports Step 2 approval for listed esomeprazole magnesium granule products
ARIPIPRAZOLE ODT - Step 2
Aripiprazole ODT / ODT formulations - Step 2 coverage when ALL of the following are met
Required for certain aripiprazole disintegrating tablet approvals
ASENAPINE PATCH / CARIPRAZINE - Step 2
Asenapine patch / Cariprazine - Step 2 coverage when ANY of the following are met
Used for asenapine patch and cariprazine Step 2 criteria
PART B VS D PAYMENT DETERMINATION
B versus D administrative step
Administrative rule impacting payer responsibility and prior authorization pathway
Dihydroergotamine (nasal) Step criteria
Step 2 coverage contingent on prior trials
Required prior-triptan trials before Step 2 DHE nasal spray
Topiramate step criteria
Step 2 coverage contingent on prior trials
Prior generic topiramate required before coverage of topiramate oral solution
Eslicarbazepine step criteria
Step 2 coverage contingent on prior trials
Two prior generic anticonvulsant trials required before eslicarbazepine coverage
Fibrate/omega-3 step criteria
Step 2 coverage contingent on prior trials
Generic fenofibrate trial required
High-intensity statin step criteria
Step 2 coverage contingent on prior trials
Documented trial of specified generic high-intensity statin required before Step 2 product coverage
Iloperidone (FANAPT) step criteria
Step 2 coverage contingent on prior trials
Two prior generic antipsychotic trials required
Insulin supply products (Step 2)
Insulin supply items listed as Step 2
Providers must reference the exact product descriptors when requesting step therapy coverage; no explicit prior-therapy criteria shown in these chunks
For certain biologic or infused agents the policy includes an administrative Part B vs Part D payment determination: a prior claim for a rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis, or active polyarticular juvenile idiopathic arthritis therapy within the past 120 days will qualify the request for Part D payment; other indications require a formulary exception and an administrative Part B vs D determination prior to approval.
The provided excerpts enumerate many supply SKUs and device lines but contain no explicit exclusion statements — the text is limited to a list of affected products and does not identify items that are specifically excluded from coverage in these chunks.
The document lists numerous insulin syringes, pen needles and related supplies by brand, gauge and volume; however, products that do not appear in these enumerations are simply not identified here — absence from the lists in the provided chunks does not imply coverage or noncoverage, it only means those other products are not part of this specific 'Products Affected' listing in the excerpt.
This section is reserved for supplementary coverage-criteria notes and will be populated if additional clarifying language or exclusions are provided in later document sections.
Product and Coding References
| VRAYLAR 0.5 MG CAPSULE | Product name listed |
| clozapine 100 mg disintegrating tablet | Product name listed |
| dihydroergotamine 0.5 mg/pump act. (4 mg/ml) nasal spray | Product name listed |
| esomeprazole magnesium dr 10 mg granules delayed release for susp | Product affected |
| OPIPZA 10 MG ORAL FILM | Aripiprazole film product |
| aripiprazole 10 mg disintegrating tablet | Aripiprazole ODT product |
| SECUADO 3.8 MG/24 HOUR | Asenapine patch product |
| clozapine 12.5 mg disintegrating tablet | Clozapine ODT product |
| HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 0.5 ML 30 GAUGE X 5/16" | Product listed |
| HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 0.5 ML 31 GAUGE X 5/16" | Product listed |
| HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 1 ML 30 GAUGE X 5/16" | Product listed |
| HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 1 ML 31 GAUGE X 5/16" | Product listed |
| HEALTHWISE PEN NEEDLE 31 GAUGE X 3/16" | Product listed |
| HEALTHWISE PEN NEEDLE 31 GAUGE X 5/16" | Product listed |
| HEALTHWISE PEN NEEDLE 32 GAUGE X 5/32" | Product listed |
| INSULIN SYRINGE U-100 WITH NEEDLE 0.5 ML 29 GAUGE X 1/2" | Product listed |
| INSULIN SYRINGE U-100 WITH NEEDLE 0.5 ML 30 GAUGE X 1/2" | Product listed |
| INSULIN SYRINGE U-100 WITH NEEDLE 0.5 ML 30 GAUGE X 5/16" | Product listed |
What Providers and Pharmacists Must Do
Submit formulary exception for Part B vs D
If a Part B vs D payment determination cannot be made because prior-claim criteria are not met, submit a formulary exception through the formulary exception process to request Part D classification and coverage.
- Formulary exception required when absence of a prior claim prevents Part D payment classification.
Include prior-claim documentation within lookback windows
Provide documented prior pharmacy claims showing trials of the required formulary/generic agents within the stated look-back windows (120 or 365 days) when requesting Step 2 coverage for listed products.
- Look-back windows referenced include 120 days and 365 days depending on the product.
- Prior-claim evidence is required to satisfy step therapy prior-authorization criteria.
Show 25-day generic high‑intensity statin trial within 120 days
Document a prior 25-day trial of a formulary generic high-intensity statin (atorvastatin 40 or 80 mg OR rosuvastatin 20 or 40 mg) within the past 120 days before requesting Step 2 coverage for the listed high-intensity statin-related products; otherwise submit a step-exception request.
- Required trial duration: 25 days within the past 120 days.
- Acceptable agents: formulary generic atorvastatin (40/80 mg) or rosuvastatin (20/40 mg).
Provide two formulary generic triptan claims within 365 days
Before Step 2 coverage for dihydroergotamine (nasal), provide prior-claim evidence for two formulary generic triptans (for example sumatriptan and rizatriptan) within the past 365 days.
- Requirement: claims for 2 formulary generic triptans within 365 days.
- Example triptans listed: sumatriptan and rizatriptan.
No prior‑authorization text present in this segment
The provided document excerpts for these supply product sections enumerate affected items but do not specify any prior authorization requirement in the visible text; note that no PA language appears in these chunks.
- Sections list pen needles, syringes, and small wound-care supplies without explicit prior authorization instructions.
Product list only — no PA language present
This section lists affected supply products (pen needles, syringes, wound-care items) but the provided chunks do not contain any prior authorization instructions.
- Providers should be aware the excerpt is a product enumeration only; no PA rules are given here.
No prior‑authorization details — product names/sizes only
The excerpts enumerate product names and sizes for supply items; no prior authorization requirements are specified in these chunks.
- Content limited to listing affected product names and sizes without PA details.
Product list lacks PA instructions
The provided product list enumerates affected supply items but does not include any prior authorization requirements or instructions in the visible text.
- Providers should treat this as an affected‑products list; PA rules are not shown here.
Products affected — no PA text in excerpt
This excerpt contains a products‑affected list only; no prior authorization requirement statement is present in the provided chunks.
- Product enumeration is present, but PA language is absent in these sections.
No PA rules specified in this product list
The product listings in these chunks enumerate affected items but do not specify prior authorization rules; providers should note PA requirements are not detailed here.
- Only product listings are provided; no authorization criteria are visible.
Products affected — product listing only, no PA text
These chunks list products affected by the step therapy policy but do not include prior authorization requirements in the visible text; providers should reference the step therapy sections elsewhere for PA procedures.
- This is a products‑affected enumeration without explicit PA instructions.
Step therapy applies to listed insulin syringes and pen needles
Step therapy rules apply to the enumerated insulin syringes and pen needles; providers should expect prior-authorization/step‑therapy controls to apply to these listed supplies.
- Affected items include insulin syringes (0.3, 0.5, 1 mL) and pen needles across multiple gauges and lengths.
Product enumeration only — no PA details
This section is a product enumeration and does not provide prior authorization details; providers should not infer PA procedures from these chunks alone.
- Use the exact product descriptors when matching to affected items; PA details are absent here.
Products affected — supplies list without PA text
The provided segments list supplies affected by step therapy (insulin syringes, pen needles, alcohol prep pads, gauze) but do not contain explicit prior authorization text in the visible excerpts.
- These are catalog entries of affected supplies; no PA instructions included.
PA not specified — product lists only
These chunks enumerate affected products (insulin syringes and pen needles) but do not detail prior authorization requirements; providers should note PA is not specified here.
- Product lists are present; PA language is not provided in these excerpts.
Products affected — no PA text in provided segment
The excerpt lists affected insulin delivery and accessory products but provides no prior authorization text; confirm PA rules in the full policy when preparing requests.
- Chunks are product enumerations without PA criteria.
Products affected — no PA specified here
This part of the document enumerates affected supply products; no explicit prior authorization requirement is specified in these chunks.
- Providers must consult other policy sections for PA procedures; these chunks are product lists only.
Submit prior‑trial evidence for Step 2 products
Multiple products in the document are designated Step 2 and therefore require prior trials of specified formulary or generic alternatives as detailed in product-specific lines; ensure prior‑trial evidence is submitted for Step 2 requests.
- Many Step 2 entries require prior claims within 120 or 365 days depending on the product.
- Submit prior-claim documentation matching the product-specific 'Details' criteria.
Provide product‑specific prior trials as listed
For the various Step 2 products, provide the specific prior trials required per product details (e.g., two formulary generic antipsychotics within 365 days for certain antipsychotics; two generic triptans within 365 days for DHE nasal spray).
- Antipsychotics: claim for 2 formulary oral generics within past 365 days where specified.
- DHE nasal spray: prior claim for 2 formulary generic triptans within 365 days.
- Eslicarbazepine: prior claims for 2 generic anticonvulsants within 365 days.
- Fibrate/omega‑3: prior claim for generic fenofibrate within 120 days.
Match requests to enumerated step‑therapy supply list
When requesting coverage, reference the enumerated insulin syringes, pen needles, alcohol prep pads, and gauze listed as subject to step therapy to ensure the request matches an affected product.
- Affected categories include insulin syringes (various volumes and gauges), pen needles (multiple gauges/lengths), alcohol prep pads, and gauze bandages/pads.
Product enumeration without step‑order or failure criteria
The product chunks enumerate supplies subject to step therapy but do not provide the step sequence or failure criteria in the visible text; do not assume step order or durations from these lists alone.
- These chunks list affected products but lack step progression, required trials, or exception criteria.
Products listed for step therapy — no step rules provided here
Products are listed as subject to step therapy in these chunks, but the excerpts do not include the step rules or required prior trials; consult the detailed criteria elsewhere before submitting authorization requests.
- Providers must not rely on these product lists alone to determine prior‑therapy requirements.
Affected products — step therapy list lacks step logic
These chunks enumerate the affected products but do not define actionable step‑therapy progression or required failures; confirm criteria in the complete policy before filing PA requests.
- Listed items include many insulin syringes and pen needles; step logic not defined in these excerpts.
Reference exact product descriptors when requesting coverage
The document identifies specific insulin syringes and pen needles as subject to step therapy; when requesting coverage, reference the exact product descriptors (brand, gauge, volume, length) to match the affected items.
- Providers must use the exact product descriptors when applying step therapy rules.
Product list present — step rules not included here
This segment enumerates products affected by step therapy but does not include the step progression or failure criteria; do not assume required prior products or durations from these chunks alone.
- Consult the full policy for actionable step‑therapy requirements.
Listed devices included — no step rules in excerpt
The products listed are included under the step therapy listing, but the provided excerpts do not describe any step‑therapy logic or required prior trials; verify criteria in policy detail before submission.
- Listing alone does not convey required prior‑therapy actions.
Provide product name, gauge, and volume in requests
When requesting coverage under the step therapy policy for these supply products, include the product name, needle gauge, and syringe volume to match one of the listed affected SKUs.
- Required details: product name (brand), needle gauge and needle length, syringe volume (0.3, 0.5, or 1 mL) as applicable.
Product listing only — no PA or denial triggers shown
This product‑listing excerpt indicates affected items but contains no prior authorization or denial triggers in the visible text; do not infer denial criteria from these lists alone.
- These chunks are catalog entries; PA/denial logic is not present here.
Products listed for step therapy — no step order provided
Products are enumerated as subject to step therapy, but the excerpts do not include step order, required trial agents, or failure durations; obtain full criteria before determining coverage denial risk.
- Absence of step rules in these chunks means further policy review is needed for actionable steps.
Do not assume step rules from product lists
The provided product enumerations do not describe step‑therapy rules; providers should not assume the presence or absence of prior‑therapy requirements from these lists alone.
- Confirm required prior agents, look‑back windows, and failure criteria in the detailed policy sections.
Insulin syringes and pen needles listed — PA not shown
Insulin syringes and pen needles are enumerated as affected products in these chunks, but no explicit prior authorization language is present here; check the policy for PA/step therapy procedures.
- Listing indicates these SKUs are subject to the plan's step therapy requirements; PA instructions are not included in these excerpts.
Devices listed — no step‑therapy rules present
These chunks list insulin syringes and pen needles but do not define step rules; verify step‑therapy criteria and PA procedures in the complete policy before submitting requests.
- Do not rely on these product listings alone to determine required prior trials or documentation.
Document prior claims within specified look‑back windows
Provide documentation of prior claims for the relevant drugs/indications within the specified look‑back windows (e.g., 120 or 365 days) to support Step 2 or Part B vs D determinations.
- Document the date and agent of prior claims to demonstrate fulfillment of look‑back criteria.
Provide documented proof of prior trials
Include proof of prior pharmacy trials demonstrating the required formulary generic agent use within the stated look‑back periods (e.g., 365 or 120 days) to satisfy Step 2 criteria.
- Examples: two formulary generic triptan claims within 365 days for DHE nasal spray; prior claim for generic topiramate within 120 days for topiramate solution; 25‑day trial of generic high‑intensity statin within 120 days for statin‑related products.
Product‑level listing present — no documentation instructions given
This section enumerates product‑level items required to be considered under Step Therapy, but the provided chunks do not include instructions on what documentation to submit beyond product matching.
- Chunks are product catalogs; no specific documentation workflow is described here.
No explicit documentation instructions in these chunks
No explicit documentation requirements are specified in several product‑listing chunks; providers should follow general guidance to include prior‑claim evidence and exact product descriptors when submitting requests.
- When in doubt, include prior claims and exact product identifiers (brand, gauge, volume, length).
(No summary provided)
No summary or actionable instruction is provided in the inventory placeholder for this segment.
(No summary provided)
No summary or actionable instruction is provided in the inventory placeholder for this segment.
(No summary provided)
No summary or actionable instruction is provided in the inventory placeholder for this segment.
(No summary provided)
No summary or actionable instruction is provided in the inventory placeholder for this segment.
(No summary provided)
No summary or actionable instruction is provided in the inventory placeholder for this segment.
Antiulcer prior‑claim required or risk denial
Failure to show a prior claim for a generic formulary oral lansoprazole, esomeprazole magnesium capsules, rabeprazole, omeprazole, or pantoprazole within the past 120 days may trigger denial for the antiulcer agent products listed.
- Requirement: prior claim within 120 days for specified generic antiulcer agents.
Antipsychotic prior‑claim requirement — denial risk
Lack of a prior claim for one formulary oral antipsychotic within the past 120 days (or two formulary oral generics within the past 365 days where specified) may trigger denial for the listed antipsychotic formulations.
- Antipsychotic Step 2 criteria reference prior‑claim windows of 120 days (one agent) or 365 days (two agents) depending on the product.
Absence of qualifying prior claim may trigger Part B vs D process
If no prior claim for an indicated RA, psoriasis, or active polyarticular JIA drug within 120 days is found, a Part B vs D payment determination may require use of the formulary exception process before approval.
- Absence of qualifying prior claim affects Part D payment classification and necessitates formulary exception processing.
Missing prior‑claim evidence can lead to denial
Failure to show the required prior claim(s) for formulary generic agents within the specified look‑back periods (for example, two formulary generic agents within 365 days) may trigger denial of Step 2 product requests.
- Examples include two formulary generic triptans within 365 days or two generic anticonvulsants within 365 days for eslicarbazepine.
Eslicarbazepine requires two prior generic anticonvulsant claims or risk denial
For eslicarbazepine products, absence of documented prior claims for two generic anticonvulsant agents within the past 365 days may result in denial of coverage.
- Specified qualifying anticonvulsants include carbamazepine, divalproex, gabapentin, lamotrigine, levetiracetam, oxcarbazepine, tiagabine, topiramate, valproic acid, zonisamide, or lacosamide.
Product lists alone do not define PA/denial criteria
The product list chunks do not show explicit authorization or denial triggers; these are product enumerations only and do not define actionable PA/denial rules in the provided excerpts.
- Do not treat the product listings themselves as definitive PA or denial instructions.
No denial triggers in product‑listing segment
No explicit denial triggers are provided in these product‑listing chunks; the content is a catalog of affected products and does not include authorization or denial language.
- Coverage controls implied by listing should be confirmed in the full policy text.
Product listings do not include denial criteria here
These product lists enumerate affected items but do not include explicit authorization or denial criteria in the visible text; verify denial triggers elsewhere in the policy.
- Product enumeration without criteria cannot be used alone to determine denial risk.
Product lists lack authorization/denial language
No explicit authorization or denial triggers are present in these product‑listing chunks; providers should consult the detailed criteria sections for actionable rules.
- Listings are informational; do not assume PA/denial logic from them.
No PA or denial language in these chunks
No authorization or denial instructions are included in these chunks; they only enumerate affected products and do not convey actionable PA rules.
- Confirm PA and denial criteria in the full policy before acting on these product lists.
Product lists only — no authorization/denial criteria shown
No explicit authorization or denial criteria are present in these product‑listing chunks; treat them as a list of affected products only.
- Further policy sections contain the criteria for authorization and denial.
No denial triggers — products‑listed only; unlisted products may be denied
No explicit authorization or denial trigger language appears in these product‑listing chunks; they only list affected products.
- If a requested product is not among the listed affected products, coverage or step therapy denial could apply.
Product enumeration without PA/denial rules
Product listings here do not include explicit authorization or denial rules; verify coverage controls in the full policy documentation.
- Listings imply affected products but do not define PA procedures.
Listings imply controls but lack explicit denial triggers
These enumerated product lists may imply coverage controls but do not present explicit denial triggers in the provided chunks; consult policy details for actionable denial criteria.
- Product presence in the list identifies it as subject to step therapy, but denial rules are not specified here.
Product lists only — no denial criteria here
No explicit authorization or denial criteria are present in these chunks; the sections only list affected products and do not define denial triggers in the visible excerpts.
- Confirm denial conditions in the full criteria sections before determining coverage outcome.
No denial triggers specified in these product lists
These product lists do not specify denial triggers; they enumerate affected supplies without defining authorization or denial rules in the provided text.
- Providers should not infer denial criteria from product-only chunks.
Product listing without denial logic
The product lists are catalog entries only and do not include explicit authorization or denial criteria in the visible text; check the full policy for applicable denial rules.
- Product presence indicates subjectivity to step therapy but does not state denial logic here.
No explicit documentation requirements in these chunks
No explicit documentation instructions are described in these chunks; they are primarily product catalogs. When submitting requests, include prior‑claim evidence and exact product identifiers per other detailed criteria.
- Include dates and agent names for prior claims and full product descriptors (brand, gauge, volume).
Initial Therapy — Step 2 Requirements
Initial Therapy - Step 2
Initial step requirements for listed products (partial)
Applies across the listed product groups (antiulcer agents, antipsychotics, dihydroergotamine, etc.)
Step Assignments and Product Lists
| Step | Requirement / Details |
|---|---|
| 2 | |
| Step 2: Requires prior trial(s) of specified formulary or generic alternatives within defined lookback windows (commonly 120 or 365 days) before coverage of listed Step 2 products. See product-specific rows for exact prior-claim criteria (e.g., generic lansoprazole/esomeprazole/pantoprazole within 120 days for antiulcer agents; 2 generic antipsychotics within 365 days for some antipsychotics). |
| Step | Requirement / Details |
|---|---|
| 2 | |
| Dihydroergotamine (nasal) Step 2: Prior claim for 2 formulary generic triptans (e.g., sumatriptan and rizatriptan) within the past 365 days is required. |
| Step | Requirement / Details |
|---|---|
| 2 | |
| Topiramate oral solution Step 2: Prior claim for generic topiramate (tablets or capsules) within the past 120 days is required. |
| Step | Requirement / Details |
|---|---|
| 2 | |
| Eslicarbazepine acetate Step 2: Prior claim for 2 generic anticonvulsant agents (examples listed: carbamazepine, divalproex sodium, gabapentin, lamotrigine, levetiracetam, oxcarbazepine, tiagabine, topiramate, valproic acid, zonisamide, lacosamide) within the past 365 days is required. |
| Step | Requirement / Details |
|---|---|
| 2 | |
| Omega-3 acid ethyl esters (fibrate/omega-3) Step 2: Prior claim for generic fenofibrate in the last 120 days is required before coverage of listed omega-3 products. |
| Step | Requirement / Details |
|---|---|
| 2 | |
| High-intensity statin–related products Step 2: Prior 25-day trial of a formulary generic high-intensity statin (atorvastatin 40 mg or 80 mg OR rosuvastatin 20 mg or 40 mg) within the past 120 days is required; otherwise a step-exception request is required. |
| Step | Requirement / Details |
|---|---|
| 2 | |
| Iloperidone (Fanapt) Step 2: Claim for 2 formulary oral generic antipsychotics (examples: lurasidone, risperidone, clozapine tablet, olanzapine, immediate-release quetiapine fumarate, ziprasidone, aripiprazole, asenapine, paliperidone) within the past 365 days is required before coverage of FANAPT products. |
| Step | Requirement / Details |
|---|---|
| 2 | |
| Insulin supply items designated Step 2: A long enumerated list of insulin syringes, pen needles, alcohol prep pads and related supplies are listed as Step 2 'Products Affected'. The provided excerpts do not state explicit prior-therapy or prior-claim criteria for these supply items. |
| SKU / Product name | Step (label) |
|---|---|
| 1ST TIER UNIFINE PENTIPS 31 GAUGE X 1/4" NEEDLE | |
| 1 | |
| ADVOCATE SYRINGES 0.3 ML 30 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| 1 | |
| BD INSULIN SYRINGE ULTRA-FINE (HALF UNIT) 0.3 ML 31 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| 1 | |
| BD SAFETYGLIDE INSULIN SYRINGE 1 ML 29 GAUGE X 1/2" | |
| 1 | |
| CARETOUCH INSULIN SYRINGE 0.3 ML 31 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| 1 | |
| COMFORT EZ INSULIN SYRINGE 0.3 ML 29 GAUGE X 1/2" | |
| 1 | |
| DROPLET INSULIN SYRINGE (HALF UNIT) 0.5 ML 31 GAUGE X 15/64" | |
| 1 | |
| EASY COMFORT INSULIN SYRINGE 1 ML 29 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| 1 | |
| HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 0.5 ML 30 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| 1 | |
| HEALTHWISE PEN NEEDLE 31 GAUGE X 3/16" | |
| 1 |
| Step Label | Products Affected (examples / excerpt) |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| Embrace pen needles, Exel and Healthwise insulin syringes, gauze 2" x 2" bandages/pads, Healthy Accents Unifine pentip needles, and numerous branded pen needles and syringes are listed as 'Products Affected' under the plan's step therapy requirements (see enumerated SKUs across the document). |
| Label | Products enumerated (representative) |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| Representative products enumerated include: HEALTHWISE insulin syringes (0.3 mL, 0.5 mL, 1 mL in 30–31 gauge x 5/16"), HEALTHWISE pen needles (31 gauge x 3/16", 31 gauge x 5/16", 32 gauge x 5/32"), EMBRACE pen needles (29–32 gauge, various lengths), EXEL insulin syringes 0.3 mL 29 gauge x 1/2"; plus many other branded syringes, pen needles, alcohol prep pads and gauze 2" x 2" items listed across the document. |
| Step | Durable medical supply product enumeration (examples) |
|---|---|
| 0/1/2 (varies by section) | |
| Durable medical supplies enumerated include multiple insulin syringes (0.3 mL, 0.5 mL, 1 mL; U-100 with needle; gauges reported 27–32; lengths e.g., 5/16", 1/2", 15/64"), pen needles (29–33 gauge; lengths 1/4", 3/16", 5/16", 5/32"), alcohol prep pads, and gauze 2" x 2" bandages/pads. These items are listed as 'Products Affected' under the step therapy requirements across multiple chunks. |
| Label | Products Affected (excerpted list) |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| Examples from the 'Products Affected' lists: DROPLET insulin syringes (0.3 mL, 0.5 mL, 1 mL; multiple gauges/lengths), DROPSAFE insulin syringes and pen needles, EASY COMFORT and EASY TOUCH branded syringes and pen needles, EXEL insulin 0.3 mL 29 gauge x 1/2" syringe, HEALTHWISE insulin syringes and pen needles, HEALTHY ACCENTS Unifine pentip needles, CARETOUCH and COMFORT EZ pen needles — plus alcohol prep pads and gauze 2" x 2" products. The document contains many repeated SKU entries across chunks. |
| Label | Products Affected (representative) |
|---|---|
| 0/1 | |
| Representative enumerations include: EXEL insulin 0.3 mL 29 gauge x 1/2" syringe; INSULIN SYRINGE U-100 WITH NEEDLE 0.5 mL 30 gauge x 1/2"; HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 0.5 mL 31 gauge x 5/16"; EMBRACE pen needle 32 gauge x 5/32"; GAUZE BANDAGE 2" x 2"; CURITY alcohol swabs; and numerous other branded syringes and pen needles listed across the document. Specific step sequencing or prior-therapy rules for many of these SKUs are not provided in the excerpts. |
| Label | Notes |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| The document repeatedly enumerates insulin syringes and pen needles by brand, volume (0.3 mL, 0.5 mL, 1 mL), gauge (commonly 27–32) and length (e.g., 5/16", 1/2", 15/64"). These are identified as 'Products Affected' for the plan's step therapy, but many chunks do not include explicit step progression or prior-therapy criteria in the excerpt. Providers should reference the exact SKU descriptors when matching a requested product to the affected list. |
| Label | Products Affected (sample) |
|---|---|
| 2 | |
| Step therapy applies to enumerated insulin syringes and pen needles (listed by gauge and volume). Examples: HEALTHWISE insulin syringe 0.5 mL 31 gauge x 5/16"; INSULIN SYRINGE U-100 WITH NEEDLE 1 mL 27 gauge x 1/2"; EMBRACE pen needle 29 gauge x 1/2"; EASYLIFE pen needles (29–33 gauge variants). The excerpted sections identify these items as subject to the plan's step therapy requirements. |
| Code / SKU | Description |
|---|---|
| HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 0.5 ML 30 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| Product listed as affected (Step therapy section). | |
| HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 0.5 ML 31 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| Product listed as affected (Step therapy section). | |
| HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 1 ML 30 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| Product listed as affected (Step therapy section). | |
| HEALTHWISE INSULIN SYRINGE 1 ML 31 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| Product listed as affected (Step therapy section). | |
| HEALTHWISE PEN NEEDLE 31 GAUGE X 3/16" | |
| Product listed as affected (Step therapy section). | |
| HEALTHWISE PEN NEEDLE 31 GAUGE X 5/16" | |
| Product listed as affected (Step therapy section). | |
| HEALTHWISE PEN NEEDLE 32 GAUGE X 5/32" | |
| Product listed as affected (Step therapy section). | |
| INSULIN SYRINGE U-100 WITH NEEDLE 0.5 ML 29 GAUGE X 1/2" | |
| Product listed as affected (Step therapy section). | |
| INSULIN SYRINGE U-100 WITH NEEDLE 0.5 ML 30 GAUGE X 1/2" | |
| Product listed as affected (Step therapy section). |
| Label | Products Affected (excerpt / SKU examples) |
|---|---|
| 0/1 | |
| {"text":"Multiple pen needles and syringes across brands are listed as 'Products Affected' (e.g., EMBRACE pen needles 29–32 gauge; INCONTROL pen needles; EXEL insulin syringes 0.3 mL 29 gauge x 1/2\"; GAUZE BANDAGE 2\" x 2"). The document provides repeated SKU entries; no unique step sequencing is given for many of these lines in the excerpt.","status":""} |
| Label | Products Affected (examples) |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| Examples include: EMBRACE pen needle 31 gauge x 5/16"; EMBRACE pen needle 32 gauge x 5/32"; EXEL INSULIN 0.3 ML 29 gauge x 1/2" syringe; GAUZE BANDAGE 2" x 2"; GAUZE PAD 2" x 2". These items are enumerated as 'Products Affected' under the step therapy listing. |
| Label | Product examples |
|---|---|
| 0 | |
| Durable medical supply examples listed: EXEL insulin 0.3 mL 29 gauge x 1/2" syringe; HEALTHWISE insulin syringe 0.3 mL 30 gauge x 5/16"; GAUZE BANDAGE 2" x 2"; GAUZE PAD 2" x 2". The text enumerates these supplies as affected by the step therapy requirements. |
| Label | Products Affected (note) |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| Excerpt lists HEALTHWISE insulin syringes (0.3 mL, 0.5 mL) and multiple INSULIN SYRINGE U-100 variants with specific gauge/length combinations as 'Products Affected'; no specific step sequence or prior-therapy language is present in this chunk. |
Background and Scope
Background: this partial policy excerpt defines VNS Health EasyCare step therapy rules across multiple drug classes (for example, antiulcer agents and selected antipsychotic formulations) and includes administrative guidance for Part B vs Part D payment determinations; many Step 2 entries require documented prior pharmacy claims within specified look-back windows (commonly 120 days or 365 days) to demonstrate prior trials of formulary or generic alternatives.
Definitions and Term Clarifications
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.