Qalsody (tofersen) — Coverage and Prior Authorization Policy
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for univerahealthcare Policy PHARMACY-127 alerts
Get alerted when Policy PHARMACY-127 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines Univera Healthcare's coverage and prior authorization requirements for Qalsody (tofersen) across applicable lines of business; affects providers seeking medical-benefit coverage for intrathecal administration of Qalsody.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Determinations
Not Medically Necessary - Commercial/Exchange/Essential
Commercial, Exchange, and Essential plans:
Justification: peer-reviewed evidence is inconclusive that the drug provides definite positive effects on health outcomes, improvement over time, or effectiveness in standard clinical practice (see Corporate Medical Policy #11.01.03).
MMC/Child Health Plus — Covered with Criteria
Medicaid Managed Care (MMC) and Child Health Plus coverage when ALL criteria are met:
This indication is approved under FDA accelerated approval based on reduction in plasma neurofilament light chain; continued approval may depend on confirmatory trials.
Medicare Advantage Coverage Rules
Medicare Advantage / Medicare Part B (when applicable):
Providers should reference the CMS Medicare Coverage Database for specific LCD/NCD criteria and follow plan contract rules.
Qalsody will not be covered for any non‑FDA approved indication. This policy explicitly states that Qalsody will not be covered for any other non‑FDA approved indication, and providers should ensure the requested use aligns with the FDA‑approved indication or meet the specific coverage criteria for applicable lines of business.
For Commercial, Exchange, and Essential plans, Qalsody (tofersen) is considered not medically necessary for treatment of amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) in adults with a confirmed SOD1 mutation. The plan’s assessment of the peer‑reviewed literature found inconclusive evidence of definite positive effects on health outcomes, of durable improvement over time, and of benefit in standard clinical practice; therefore requests under these benefit types will be denied as not medically necessary.
Initial Therapy Requirements
Initial therapy dosing
Dosing and initiation
Administration route: intrathecal (medical benefit).
Recertification and Continuation
Recertification / Continuation
Recertification requirements and duration
Initial and recertification approvals are granted for 6 months when criteria are met; clinical documentation should be submitted to support continued benefit.
Provider Requirements and Actions
Prior authorization required; approvals granted for 6 months
Prior authorization is required (contract dependent). When criteria are met, approvals (initial and recertification) are granted for 6 months at a time.
- Prior authorization is contract dependent.
- Approvals are granted for 6 months when criteria are satisfied.
Follow PHARMACY-127 and documented updates for prior authorization
Providers must follow the current policy PHARMACY-127 and any documented revisions; refer to the policy and P&T committee updates for applicable authorization requirements.
- Follow PHARMACY-127 for authorization requirements.
- Policy revisions and P&T committee reviews are recorded and may affect requirements.
Step therapy may be required for Medicare Advantage
Step therapy requirements may be imposed in addition to applicable NCD/LCD requirements for Medicare Advantage members.
- For Medicare Advantage, step therapy can apply on top of NCD/LCD criteria.
Step therapy details not specified in documented updates
The policy records multiple updates and revisions but does not specify detailed step therapy protocols within these documented changes.
- Updates are documented (multiple revision entries) without explicit step therapy details in this text.
Submit clinical documentation for initial requests and recertification
Clinical documentation must be submitted for each request (initial and recertification) unless otherwise specified; supporting documentation includes progress notes, diagnostic testing, laboratory/genetic test results, imaging, and other objective or subjective measures of benefit.
- Progress notes documenting prior treatments/treatment history.
- Diagnostic testing and laboratory/genetic testing/biomarker results.
- Imaging and other objective or subjective measures supporting continued use.
Not medically necessary for Commercial/Exchange/Essential — denial risk
For Commercial, Exchange, and Essential lines of business, Qalsody (tofersen) is considered not medically necessary for treatment of ALS with an SOD1 mutation and would be denied on that basis.
- Use of Qalsody for ALS with SOD1 mutation is considered not medically necessary for Commercial/Exchange/Essential plans.
Claims missing correct J-code or NDC may be denied
Claims submitted without the correct HCPCS J-code or the specified NDC may trigger billing issues or denials; ensure J1304 and NDC 64406-0109-01 are used where applicable.
- Incorrect or missing HCPCS J-code (J1304) may result in denials.
- Incorrect or missing NDC (64406-0109-01) may result in denials.
Billing and Coding
Step Therapy Rules
| Requirement | Details |
|---|---|
| Applies to Medicare Advantage members | |
| Medicare Advantage medications with an applicable NCD/LCD are covered per NCD/LCD criteria | |
| Step therapy may be imposed in addition to NCD/LCD requirements | |
| Indications not addressed by an applicable NCD/LCD will follow Health Plan criteria (may include off-label review) | |
| Prior authorization is contract dependent |
Site of Care Considerations
Intrathecal administration and site-of-care may affect approval
Qalsody is administered intrathecally and will be considered under the medical benefit; the requested site of care (e.g., infusion center) may impact the approval timeframe and coverage handling.
- Administration route: intrathecal (medical benefit).
- Requested site of care can affect approval timing and coverage.
Background and Indication
Qalsody (tofersen) is indicated for treatment of ALS in adults with a confirmed SOD1 mutation and received accelerated approval based on reduction in plasma neurofilament light chain (NfL). Clinical trial data demonstrated biologic effects on NfL and CSF SOD1, but did not show definitive statistical benefit on the primary clinical endpoint (ALSFRS‑R) at Week 28 of the Phase 3 study; therefore continued approval may be contingent on confirmatory trials. Coverage under this policy varies by line of business: Medicaid Managed Care and Child Health Plus include detailed criteria for coverage, while Commercial/Exchange/Essential lines consider the therapy not medically necessary given inconclusive evidence.
Definitions and Regulatory Context
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.