Botulinum Toxin (Botox, Daxxify, Dysport, Myobloc, Xeomin)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for univerahealthcare Policy PHARMACY-77 alerts
Get alerted when Policy PHARMACY-77 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Pharmacy management drug policy governing medical-benefit coverage, prior authorization, dosing guidance, and clinical criteria for multiple botulinum toxin products across Univera Healthcare lines of business.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria by Indication
Cervical Dystonia — Initial Therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Dosing guidance based on OnabotulinumtoxinA: FDA-approved maximum 400 units (requests >400 reviewed case-by-case; evidence supports up to 600 units); average dose 198–300 units divided among affected muscles; up to 50 units per site; retreat no sooner than 12 weeks; Daxxify recommended dosing 125–250 units.
Cervical Dystonia — Recertification
Covered when ALL of the following are met
For Daxxify continue recommended dosing 125–250 units.
Blepharospasm or Strabismus — Initial Therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Dosing guidance based on OnabotulinumtoxinA; see indication-specific dosing limits.
Blepharospasm — Dosing Limits
Dose limits and retreat timing
Strabismus — Dosing Limits
Dose considerations for strabismus
Blepharospasm dose limits reiterated: 5 units per site; max 200 units per 30 days.
Upper Limb Spasticity — Initial Therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Dosing guidance based on OnabotulinumtoxinA; see appendix for serotype conversions.
Upper Limb Spasticity — Recertification
Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met
Lower Limb Spasticity — Initial Therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Adult usual dosage: total dose 300–400 units IM across ~5 muscles; maximum 50 units per site; use lowest dose when starting; FDA cumulative 400 units per 12 weeks (requests >400 reviewed case-by-case).
Lower Limb Spasticity — Recertification
Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met
Pediatric max per session: 8 units/kg or 300 units; see dosing appendix.
Spasticity Associated with Cerebral Palsy — Initial Therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Dose does not exceed 400 units per session; average duration/time to retreat 12 weeks; requests >400 reviewed case-by-case up to 600 units with evidence.
Spasticity Associated with Cerebral Palsy — Recertification
Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met
Strabismus / Blepharospasm
Covered when dosing and retreat intervals meet policy limits
Chronic Migraine — Initial Therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
For combination with injectable CGRP agents, see separate criteria.
Initial Therapy
Chronic migraine — Initial therapy covered when ALL of the following are met
Prophylaxis of episodic migraine is excluded.
Recertification
Recertification for chronic migraine — Covered when ALL of the following are met
When combined with injectable CGRP agents, additional combination recertification criteria apply.
CGRP combination
Combination therapy with injectable CGRP antagonists — Covered when ALL of the following are met
Simultaneous initiation of both agents is not covered.
Neurogenic detrusor overactivity (pediatric) — Initial Therapy
Neurogenic detrusor overactivity (pediatric ages 5–17) — Initial therapy covered when ALL of the following are met
Neurogenic detrusor overactivity — Recertification
Neurogenic detrusor overactivity — Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met
Primary axillary hyperhidrosis — Initial
Primary axillary hyperhidrosis — Initial therapy covered when ALL of the following are met
Hyperhidrosis outside the axillae is not medically necessary.
Primary axillary hyperhidrosis — Recertification
Primary axillary hyperhidrosis — Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met
Overactive bladder / Urinary incontinence — Initial
Overactive bladder / Urinary incontinence — Initial therapy covered when ALL of the following are met
OAB/UI — Recertification
Overactive bladder / Urinary incontinence — Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met
Anal fissure — Initial therapy
Anal fissure, chronic — Initial request covered when ALL of the following are met:
Average dose 5–100 units; requests >100 units not permitted.
Anal fissure — Recertification
Anal fissure — Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met:
Auriculotemporal syndrome — Initial therapy
Auriculotemporal (Frey's) syndrome — Initial request covered when ALL of the following are met:
Dosing guidance based on OnabotulinumtoxinA.
Auriculotemporal syndrome — Recertification
Auriculotemporal (Frey's) syndrome — Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met:
Esophageal achalasia — Initial therapy
Esophageal achalasia — Initial request covered when ALL of the following are met:
Esophageal achalasia — Recertification
Esophageal achalasia — Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met:
Hirschsprung's disease / IAS Achalasia — Initial therapy
Hirschsprung's disease / IAS Achalasia — Initial request covered when ALL of the following are met:
Hirschsprung's disease / IAS — Recertification
Hirschsprung's disease / IAS Achalasia — Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met:
Other dystonias — Initial therapy
Other focal dystonias (Hemifacial spasm, Isolated Oromandibular Dystonia, Spasm of pharyngoesophageal segment, Spastic dysphonia) — Initial request covered when ALL of the following are met:
Subsequent treatments generally no sooner than every 3 months; see dosing examples.
Initial Therapy and Dosing by Indication
Covered when ALL of the following are met for the specified indication:
Recertification / Continued Approval
Recertification covered when ALL of the following are met:
Recertification may require trial of more cost‑effective alternatives per formulary changes.
Off-Label Use
Off-label / Non-FDA approved indications
Medical necessity and dosing adherence
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Utilization and contract dependence noted; product labeling and dosing tables in appendix provide muscle‑specific examples.
Dosing guidance by muscle and age
Dosing guidance (informational) — follow these ranges when applicable
Informational guidance; actual dosing must align with product labeling or recognized compendia.
Informational guidance for clinicians.
Pediatric dose guidance by weight.
Pediatric dose guidance by weight.
Coverage for the botulinum toxin products (OnabotulinumtoxinA/Botox, AbobotulinumtoxinA/Dysport, IncobotulinumtoxinA/Xeomin, DaxibotulinumtoxinA-lanm/Daxxify, and RimabotulinumtoxinB/Myobloc) is provided under the medical benefit. Cosmetic and reconstructive uses are handled separately per Corporate Medical Protocol 7.01.11 and are not covered under the medical-necessity criteria in this policy.
Requests for treatment of muscle groups not specified in the FDA‑approved labeling are outside the scope of coverage and will be denied as not medically necessary. In addition, treatment of upper or lower limb spasticity in pediatric patients under 2 years of age is not established as safe/effective and will be denied. Repeat injections generally may be given only when prior effects have diminished and no sooner than 12 weeks after the prior treatment.
Use of botulinum toxin for prophylaxis of episodic migraine (≤14 headache days/month) is considered not medically necessary. Chronic migraine prophylaxis criteria and dosing are separate and limited to the parameters defined in the chronic migraine section.
Botulinum toxin injections for hyperhidrosis are covered only for primary axillary hyperhidrosis. Use for hyperhidrosis at any body site other than the axillae will be denied as not medically necessary. Per-session dosing is limited to 50 units per axilla (maximum 100 units total) with retreatment timing specified in the axillary hyperhidrosis criteria.
For esophageal achalasia, botulinum toxin may be considered only when the patient is not a candidate for graded pneumatic dilation or surgical myotomy (i.e., high surgical risk). If the member is a candidate for dilation or myotomy, botulinum toxin is not the appropriate initial therapy under this policy.
Cosmetic indications — such as treatment of upper‑face wrinkles (glabellar lines, forehead wrinkles, periorbital crow’s feet) — are excluded from coverage because they do not represent a functional deficit and are considered cosmetic.
A list of diagnoses is designated unproven and not medically necessary for all botulinum toxin formulations unless the provider supplies literature meeting the plan's Off‑Label Use policy. Examples include backache/low back pain, cervicogenic headache, chronic motor tic disorder (except blepharospasm/hemifacial spasm/Meige syndrome), essential tremor, fibromyalgia, dysphagia, temporomandibular joint disorder, and other listed conditions.
Policy not applicable to Medicare Advantage (LOB exclusion)
This policy does not apply to the Medicare Advantage line of business; prior authorization requirements in this policy do not apply to Medicare Advantage members.
Under New York State Medicaid requirements, physician‑administered drugs must be produced by manufacturers participating in the Medicaid Drug Rebate Program. Products from manufacturers that do not participate in the MDRP will not be covered under Medicaid Managed Care/HARP lines of business.
Exclusion — non‑FDA muscle groups and pediatric <2 years
Requests for treatment of muscle groups not specified in FDA-approved labeling, and requests for treatment of upper or lower limb spasticity in pediatric patients under 2 years of age, will be denied as not medically necessary.
Excluded prophylactic migraine and non‑axillary hyperhidrosis
Botulinum toxin use for prophylaxis of episodic migraine (≤14 headache days/month) and for hyperhidrosis at body areas other than the axillae will be denied as not medically necessary.
Diagnoses designated unproven / not medically necessary
The policy lists diagnoses that are considered unproven and not medically necessary for all botulinum toxin formulations; requests for these diagnoses will be excluded unless the provider supplies supporting literature meeting the Off‑Label Use policy.
Denial triggers — dosing, documentation, and MDRP exclusions
Requests may be denied if dosing or frequency exceed established parameters, if clinical documentation of benefit or prior trials is not provided, or if the manufacturer does not participate in the Medicaid Drug Rebate Program for Medicaid Managed Care/HARP.
- Denial risk for dosing/frequency exceeding FDA/compendia limits or policy caps
- Denial risk when required clinical documentation (progress notes, prior treatment history, diagnostic testing) is missing
- Medicaid Managed Care/HARP: products from non‑MDRP manufacturers will not be covered
Initial Therapy Requirements
inv-96: Initial therapy — general
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Dosing guidance based on OnabotulinumtoxinA with conversion appendix for other serotypes.
inv-97: Initial Therapy Requirements (by indication)
Initial therapy criteria by indication
Chronic migraine initial approval limited to 6 months for up to 3 sessions; per‑session dose caps vary by indication.
inv-98: Initial therapy summary
Initial therapy nodes per indication.
Refer to each indication section for exact numeric limits and retreat intervals.
inv-99: Initial therapy (indication-specific)
Initial authorization criteria vary by indication and generally require diagnosis confirmation, specialist involvement, prior therapy failure where applicable, and submission of dosing plan.
Dose limits and retreat intervals are specified per indication.
inv-100: Initial Therapy dosing and criteria by indication
Initial therapy dosing and criteria by indication
inv-101: Initial therapy criteria (operational)
Initial approval requirements
Off‑label uses reviewed per Off‑Label Use Policy.
Recertification / Continued Use
inv-102: Continuation/Recertification — general
Recertification requires documentation of benefit and dosing details; dose increases capped with review.
inv-103: Continuation / Recertification (detailed)
Recertification/Continuation requirements
Adult exceptions to exceed 400 units considered case‑by‑case up to 600 units.
inv-104: General continuation/recertification rules
Recertification/continuation rules vary by indication and require documentation of response plus dosing/frequency submission.
See indication‑specific nodes for exact numeric limits.
inv-105: Recertification requirements for previously approved therapy
Recertification/continuation requirements for previously approved therapy or after meeting initial criteria:
Specific per‑indication caps provided in each section.
inv-106: Continuation Therapy — operational notes
Recertification / continuation requirements
inv-107: Recertification criteria summary
Recertification/continued use requirements
Prior Authorization, Documentation, and Step Therapy
Prior authorization is required for listed botulinum toxins
Prior authorization is required per this policy for Botox, Dysport, Xeomin, Daxxify and Myobloc when administered under the medical benefit for the listed lines of business; follow indication‑specific PA criteria in the policy.
- PA applies to Medicaid (MMC/HARP), Child Health Plus (CHP), and D‑SNP for all listed products.
- For Commercial/Essential/Exchange: Dysport, Myobloc and Daxxify require PA; Botox and Xeomin do not require PA for these commercial lines.
PA requires diagnosis, age and specialty criteria
Prior authorization requests must meet indication‑specific criteria including confirmed diagnosis, applicable age, and prescriber specialty or consultation as specified by the indication.
- Provider must submit number of units per session, total dose per visit, and anticipated injection frequency.
- Specialist involvement required per indication (e.g., neurologist, urologist, dermatologist, ophthalmologist).
PA required — meet indication‑specific criteria
Prior authorization is required and conditioned on meeting the indication‑specific initial criteria (diagnosis, age, specialty prescriber/consultation, prior therapy failures where indicated, and dosing limits).
- Chronic migraine: age ≥18, prior failure of two preventive oral medications from two classes; dose ≤200 units/session; injections ≥12 weeks apart.
- Neurogenic detrusor overactivity (pediatric): age 5–17, failed 3‑month oxybutynin trial; dosing and retreat intervals specified.
PA requires diagnosis, age, specialty, and prior therapy documentation
Prior authorization submissions must include the documented diagnosis, patient age, prescriber specialty or consultation, evidence of prior therapy failure when required, and the number of units to be used per session with total dose and anticipated injection frequency.
PA required for indicated uses (example: sialorrhea)
Prior authorization is required for indicated uses such as sialorrhea where criteria include symptom duration (≥3 months), minimum age (≥2 years), specialist involvement, and failure of an adequate anticholinergic trial.
- Provider must submit units per session, total dose per visit, and anticipated injection frequency.
- Sialorrhea dosing must not exceed 100 units and retreat interval is 16 weeks.
Prior authorization requirement per policy
This policy sets prior authorization requirements for the listed botulinum toxin products when administered under the medical benefit; follow the PA rules in the policy and applicable contract/benefit language.
Prior authorization governance and contract dependence
The document is a pharmacy management drug policy; prior authorization governance and utilization management are contract dependent and aligned with plan and regulatory requirements.
- Utilization management requirements are contract dependent; refer to specific contract/benefit language.
- Policies will be updated to maintain compliance with state and federal regulations.
Step requirement: trial of Botox AND Xeomin before Dysport/Myobloc/Daxxify
For Commercial/Essential/Exchange new starts of Dysport, Myobloc, or Daxxify, the member must have had an adequate trial of BOTH Botox and Xeomin before coverage will be authorized.
Trial of oral spasticity agents required (baclofen, tizanidine, or dantrolene)
For upper and lower limb spasticity, provider must document trial and failure of an age‑appropriate course of baclofen, tizanidine, or dantrolene unless contraindicated or not clinically appropriate.
Step therapy: prior trials/failures required per indication
Policy requires documentation of failure, intolerance, or contraindication to specified prior therapies before approval where indicated (e.g., multiple oral preventives for chronic migraine; anticholinergics for bladder indications; topical aluminum chloride for hyperhidrosis).
Required prior therapy failures for off‑label indications
For off‑label indications specified in the policy, prior failure of conservative or pharmacologic therapies (e.g., topical nitroglycerin/calcium channel blocker for anal fissure) must be documented prior to approval.
Sialorrhea requires anticholinergic trial prior to approval
For sialorrhea, provider must document failure of an adequate anticholinergic trial (examples: glycopyrrolate, trihexyphenidyl, scopolamine, atropine, amitriptyline) prior to approval.
Recertification may require trial of more cost‑effective alternatives
Recertification reviews may require trials of more cost‑effective alternatives (e.g., generics, biosimilars) as they become available; requested dosing must align with FDA‑approved or guideline‑supported off‑label dosing.
AHS consensus referenced for migraine step therapy context
The American Headache Society consensus statement is referenced and may inform stepwise treatment considerations when integrating new migraine therapies, which is relevant to chronic migraine step therapy decisions.
Submit diagnosis, age, specialty, functional impairment, and dosing details
Provider must submit diagnosis, patient age, consultation/prescriber specialty, description of functional impairment, number of units per treatment session, total dose per visit, and anticipated injection frequency for each PA request.
Documentation: positive response, units, frequency, and cumulative dosing
For initial requests and recertification the provider must document positive response when applicable and submit units per session, total dose per visit, and anticipated injection frequency; recertification must also document time since last injection and three‑month cumulative units.
Documentation must include diagnosis, dosing, frequency, and prior therapy history
Initial and recertification requests must include diagnosis, units per session, total dose per visit, anticipated frequency, and evidence of prior therapies/trials as specified for the indication.
CGRP combination: document prior partial response and ongoing headache burden
When botulinum toxin is used concurrently with injectable CGRP antagonists, submit documentation of prior monotherapy partial response and ongoing headache burden requiring combination therapy.
Required documentation: prior response, unit counts, frequency, and cumulative units
Provider must submit documentation supporting a positive response to prior treatment (when applicable), the number of units to be used in each treatment session, total dose per visit, anticipated frequency of injections, and for recertification confirm time since last injection and three‑month cumulative units.
Recertification requires documentation of positive response and unit counts
Recertification requests must document a positive response to treatment and include the number of units per session and total dose per visit; for many indications ensure the three‑month cumulative units remain within policy limits.
Submit supporting clinical documentation (progress notes, prior history, tests)
Clinical documentation must be submitted for each request (initial and recertification) including progress notes, prior treatment history, diagnostic testing, labs, imaging, and other objective or subjective measures of benefit.
Include product labeling / FDA product information as supporting references
Cite and use product labeling and FDA product information (BOTOX, DYSPORT, XEOMIN, DAXXIFY) as reference sources for administration, indications, and safety when preparing PA documentation.
Lack of required prior authorization may lead to denial
If prior authorization is required for the member's line of business and no PA is obtained, the request may be denied; lack of required PA is actionable per the policy.
Scope‑based denials: non‑FDA muscle groups or pediatric <2
Requests for treatment of muscle groups not specified in FDA labeling or for pediatric patients under 2 years for spasticity will be denied as not medically necessary.
Episodic migraine prophylaxis excluded
Requests for prophylaxis of episodic migraine (≤14 headache days/month) will be denied as not medically necessary.
Hyperhidrosis outside axillae excluded
Requests for hyperhidrosis treatment for any body area other than axillae will be denied as not medically necessary.
Denial triggers: excessive dosing/frequency or insufficient documentation
Requests exceeding per‑treatment‑session or three‑month cumulative unit limits, or lacking sufficient documentation of prior positive response or appropriate interval since last injection, may be denied.
Excluded indications: cosmetic and unproven diagnoses
Cosmetic indications and diagnoses listed as unproven/not medically necessary are excluded and will not be authorized unless the provider supplies supporting literature per the Off‑Label Use policy.
Denial triggers: manufacturer participation, dosing/frequency, or missing documentation
Requests may be denied if dosing or frequency exceed established parameters, if the manufacturer does not participate in the Medicaid Drug Rebate Program for Medicaid Managed Care/HARP, or if clinical documentation is not provided to demonstrate medical necessity.
(No action)
(No provider action specified in this placeholder.)
HCPCS Codes and Dosing Definitions
| J-0585 | Botox (OnabotulinumtoxinA) |
| J-0589 | Daxxify (DaxibotulinumtoxinA-lanm) |
| J-0586 | Dysport (AbobotulinumtoxinA) |
| J-0587 | Myobloc (RimabotulinumtoxinB) |
| J-0588 | Xeomin (IncobotulinumtoxinA) |
Dose and Quantity Limits
Required Prior Trials and Formulary Progression
| Requirement | Details |
|---|---|
| Step therapy required for Commercial/Essential/Exchange new starts of Dysport, Myobloc, and Daxxify | |
| Adequate trial of BOTH Botox (onabotulinumtoxinA) AND Xeomin (incobotulinumtoxinA) required before coverage of Dysport, Myobloc, or Daxxify for new starts |
| Requirement | Details |
|---|---|
| Indications covered | |
| Upper and lower limb spasticity initial requests require diagnosis of spasticity, patient ≥2 years, focal increased muscle tone causing functional impairment, and specialist prescribing/consultation (neurologist, orthopedist, physiatrist, or PM&R) | |
| Required prior trial | |
| Failure of an age‑appropriate, adequate trial of baclofen, tizanidine, or dantrolene is required unless contraindicated, not age appropriate, or not clinically appropriate | |
| Provider documentation | |
| Provider must submit number of units per treatment session, total dose per visit, and anticipated injection frequency |
| Requirement | Examples / Notes |
|---|---|
| Failure, intolerance, or contraindication required | |
| Policy requires failure, intolerance, or documented contraindication to specified prior therapies before approval (examples: ≥3 months of two preventive oral medication classes for chronic migraine; anticholinergics for bladder indications; topical aluminum chloride for hyperhidrosis) | |
| Off‑label and other indications | |
| For several off‑label indications the policy requires failure of specified conservative or pharmacologic therapies (e.g., topical nitroglycerin/CCB for anal fissure; stool softeners/laxatives for Hirschsprung/IAS; specified trials for certain dystonias) |
| Documentation Required | Policy Language / Purpose |
|---|---|
| Document prior trial and failure or intolerance | |
| Provider must submit clinical documentation of prior trial(s) and evidence of failure, intolerance, or contraindication (progress notes, treatment history, dates and durations of prior therapies) | |
| Dosing details | |
| Provider must submit number of units per session, total dose per visit, and anticipated injection frequency for each request (initial and recertification) |
| Requirement before approval for sialorrhea | Details |
|---|---|
| Prior trial required | |
| Failure of an adequate trial of an anticholinergic agent (e.g., glycopyrrolate, trihexyphenidyl, scopolamine, atropine, amitriptyline) is required prior to approval | |
| Other sialorrhea criteria | |
| Diagnosis present ≥3 months, patient ≥2 years, prescribed by/consult with neurologist or otolaryngologist, and persistence of complications (eg, chronic skin maceration/infection) |
| Recertification consideration | Policy statement |
|---|---|
| Formulary progression may be required at recertification | |
| Recertification reviews may result in a requirement to trial more cost‑effective alternatives (e.g., generics, biosimilars) as they become available; requested dosing must remain consistent with FDA‑approved or guideline supported dosing |
| Reference | Context |
|---|---|
| American Headache Society consensus statement cited | |
| AHS consensus statement (Ailani et al., 2021) is referenced regarding integrating new migraine treatments and may inform stepwise treatment considerations for chronic migraine |
Administration Setting and Provider Requirements
Specialist involvement required per indication
Prescriptions must be by or in consultation with the relevant specialist for the indication (examples include neurologist, orthopedist, physiatrist, pain specialist, urologist, dermatologist, or ophthalmologist) when specified in the indication criteria.
Administration by HCP and medical‑benefit coverage
Botulinum toxin drugs are administered by a healthcare professional in settings such as office, infusion center, hospital outpatient, or home (if clinically appropriate) and are covered under the medical benefit unless contract/benefit language specifies otherwise.
Clinical Background and Definitions
Botulinum neurotoxins (serotypes A and B) act by inhibiting acetylcholine release at the neuromuscular junction, producing targeted reduction in muscle activity. Multiple commercial formulations are available—OnabotulinumtoxinA (Botox), AbobotulinumtoxinA (Dysport), IncobotulinumtoxinA (Xeomin), DaxibotulinumtoxinA‑lanm (Daxxify) and RimabotulinumtoxinB (Myobloc)—which differ in composition and unit potency; conversion ratios between products are provided elsewhere in the policy appendix and should be used when applying dosing guidance across formulations.
References and Source Materials
Product information references required as supporting sources
Include product labeling and FDA product information (BOTOX, DYSPORT, XEOMIN, DAXXIFY) as references to support the PA request and documentation of dosing, administration technique, and safety information.
The American Headache Society consensus statement is cited in the policy as context for integrating newer migraine therapies into practice and may inform stepwise management decisions for chronic migraine. Policy dosing for chronic migraine aligns with product‑specific guidance (eg, maximum 200 units per session and the recommended injection paradigm) and requires prior trial/failure of specified oral preventive agents as detailed in the chronic migraine initial criteria.
Policy Revision History
Policy PHARMACY-77 became effective on 2019-12-01.
DAXXIFY (daxibotulinumtoxinA-lanm) product information cited (FDA product information referenced, 2023).
Policy PHARMACY-77 most recent review and last review date recorded as 2026-07-21.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.