Maximum Dosage and Frequency (Medical Benefit Drug Policy)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for UnitedHealthcare Policy 2026D0034AU alerts
Get alerted when Policy 2026D0034AU changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines maximum dosage and frequency rules for medical-benefit drugs under UnitedHealthcare Commercial and Individual Exchange plans; applies to providers submitting medical benefit drug claims and prior authorization requests.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria — Maximum Dosage and Frequency
The excerpted "Maximum Dosage and Frequency" section lists products and product groups subject to the policy’s dosing and frequency guidance. In the portion shown there are no explicit exclusion conditions stated; the text appears as an enumerated inventory of drugs and classes with market applicability annotations (Commercial and/or Individual Exchange) rather than clinical exclusion rules.
The policy text in this segment is presented as an itemized list of drugs and drug classes under the "Maximum Dosage and Frequency" heading. Entries repeat product names with annotations indicating whether the listing applies to Commercial and/or Individual Exchange plans. No standalone exclusion language is provided in this itemized listing.
The list includes an entry for Testosterone Replacement or Supplementation (also shown as "Testosterone Replacement or Supplementation Therapy") among the products referenced under the "Maximum Dosage and Frequency" section. This appears as an item in the enumerated inventory rather than a detailed clinical criterion in the excerpt.
Across these chunks the same products are annotated to indicate plan applicability; many entries are repeated with the labels for Commercial Only or for Individual Exchange Only. The excerpt does not include additional exclusion conditions tied to those applicability notes—only the coverage-market designations are shown.
The listing in this portion continues the pattern of enumerating drug names and formulations with plan applicability annotations (e.g., for Commercial Only or for Individual Exchange Only). The excerpted text contains product names and applicability tags but does not present explicit exclusion statements or numeric dosing thresholds.
Within the provided excerpt there are no statements declaring any products "not medically necessary". The material is an index-style list under the "Maximum Dosage and Frequency" heading and does not contain formal "not medically necessary" determinations in the visible text.
This excerpt contains no specific "not medically necessary" language. The content is limited to repeated listings of products and market applicability and does not include explicit non-coverage determinations.
Provider Actions — Prior Authorization, Documentation, and Billing Implications
Prior authorization context — maximum dosage/frequency policy
Policy establishes maximum dosage and frequency rules for medical-benefit drugs; prior authorization requirements are implied by the policy context but specific code-level prior authorization rules are not present in this excerpt.
Prior authorization not specified in this listing
The excerpt lists related drug policy names under 'Maximum Dosage and Frequency' but does not specify prior authorization requirements in the provided text.
Prior authorization not specified in excerpt
This segment enumerates drugs/groups under 'Maximum Dosage and Frequency' and indicates Commercial vs Individual Exchange distinctions, but it does not present explicit prior authorization requirements.
Maximum Dosage and Frequency listings — market annotations
The section provides maximum dosage and frequency groupings for specified products and annotates applicability to Commercial and/or Individual Exchange markets; no explicit prior authorization steps are included in the excerpt.
Market applicability noted (Commercial / Individual Exchange)
Entries repeatedly annotate whether listed products apply to Commercial or Individual Exchange markets; the excerpt does not state specific prior authorization rules tied to those market labels.
Maximum dosage/frequency listing — prior authorization implication not explicit
The list identifies drugs subject to maximum dosage and frequency guidance but does not include explicit prior authorization steps, affected billing codes, or operational instructions in the excerpt.
Prior authorization not specified in this excerpt
This section enumerates drugs under the 'Maximum Dosage and Frequency' heading but does not specify prior authorization rules in the provided text.
Prior authorization (not detailed here)
Prior authorization specifics are not present in these chunks; the content lists drug names and plan applicability (Commercial or Individual Exchange) without PA instructions.
Prior authorization not detailed in this segment
The excerpt lists drugs and indicates which benefit line they apply to but does not define prior authorization requirements in this segment.
Prior authorization — not detailed here
The section lists treatments related to maximum dosage and frequency but contains no prior authorization requirements or PA procedures in the provided text.
Prior authorization not detailed in the excerpt
Prior authorization implications are not specified; the excerpt enumerates drug names and notes applicability to Commercial or Individual Exchange without PA guidance.
Prior authorization: not detailed here
The provided text enumerates products subject to maximum dosage and frequency guidance but does not list CPT/HCPCS/NDC codes or explicit prior authorization steps in this excerpt.
Prior authorization not specified in excerpt
This section lists products and plan applicability but does not state a prior authorization requirement or identify affected billing codes in the excerpt.
Prior authorization (not detailed here)
No explicit prior authorization requirements are included in this excerpt; it lists drugs associated with the Maximum Dosage and Frequency section without PA instructions.
Prior authorization/limits not specified here
The section enumerates drugs for which maximum dosage and frequency rules apply but does not provide explicit prior authorization instructions or operational guidance in the excerpt.
Consult related product-specific policies for authorization guidance
Related Commercial/Individual Exchange policies and specific drug policy names are referenced (for example, botulinum toxins, VEGF inhibitors, Orencia, Cimzia, Qalsody), indicating that clinicians should consult those referenced policies for any product-specific authorization or sequencing rules.
No step therapy described in this excerpt
No step therapy requirements are described in the provided excerpt.
No step therapy rules in these sections
No step therapy rules are present in these chunks; the content is an itemized listing of drug names and coverage designations.
No step therapy requirements specified
This excerpt does not include step therapy requirements; it lists products under 'Maximum Dosage and Frequency' without sequencing rules.
No specific provider actions listed here
Provider actions are not specified in this excerpt; the text primarily lists drug names and plan applicability and references related policies for product-level rules.
No step therapy rules described
No step therapy rules are described in this excerpt.
No step therapy rules provided in this excerpt
The excerpt provides a drug list and context tags but does not define step therapy sequences or requirements.
No step therapy rules in these chunks
No step therapy rules are present in these chunks; consult referenced product policies for any sequencing requirements.
No step therapy sequences defined here
No step therapy requirements or sequences are defined in this excerpt; the content is a repeated inventory of products under the Maximum Dosage and Frequency heading.
No step therapy rules present
No step therapy rules are described in the provided text; only drug names and plan markets are listed.
No step therapy rules appear here
No step therapy rules appear in these chunks; the excerpt is focused on maximum dosage and frequency listings and market applicability.
No step therapy requirements stated
No step therapy requirements are stated in these chunks.
No step therapy requirements specified
No step therapy requirements are specified in these chunks.
Provider action placeholder — consult related policies
Provider actions are not defined in this excerpt; the section lists drugs and cross-references related policies for detailed rules.
No step therapy rules present
No step therapy rules are present in this excerpt.
Documentation and coding sections referenced in TOC
Table of Contents includes 'Instructions for Use' and 'Applicable Codes,' which implies documentation and coding requirements are addressed elsewhere in the policy, though specific documentation items are not provided in this excerpt.
No documentation requirements in excerpt
No documentation or submission requirements are provided in this excerpt.
No documentation requirements specified
This excerpt is a repetitive drug listing and does not specify documentation requirements for prior authorization or claims submission.
No documentation requirements listed
No explicit documentation requirements are provided in this excerpt.
Provider action placeholder — refer to full policy
Provider actions are not specified in this excerpt; clinicians should refer to detailed sections of the policy or linked product policies for submission and documentation instructions.
No documentation requirements specified here
No documentation requirements are specified in the provided text.
No documentation requirements in this listing
This section repeats drug names and plan applicability and does not provide documentation requirements in the excerpt.
No specific documentation requirements
No documentation requirements are specified in the provided text.
No documentation requirements in this segment
This segment enumerates drugs/groups referenced under 'Maximum Dosage and Frequency' and does not include documentation requirements.
No documentation requirements provided
No documentation requirements are specified; the excerpt lists drug names and plan applicability only.
No documentation requirements in these listings
No specific documentation requirements are present in these chunks; content is a repeated enumeration of drugs and program applicability.
No documentation requirements in product inventory
The excerpt is an inventory of product names and coverage lines and does not contain specific documentation requirements.
No documentation requirements specified here
No specific documentation requirements are present in these chunks.
Provider action placeholder — check related policies
Provider actions are not defined in this excerpt; the text lists drugs and references related policies that may contain operational requirements.
No documentation requirements specified
No documentation requirements are specified in this excerpt; content is limited to listing drugs and plan applicability.
Denial triggers governed by sections referenced in TOC (not present here)
Table of Contents lists sections such as 'Coverage Rationale' and 'Applicable Codes' that would govern denial triggers, but explicit denial triggers are not present in the provided excerpt.
No denial triggers stated in this listing
The excerpt is a list of related policies and product names without specific authorization triggers or denial conditions.
No actionable denial triggers present
This section lists drugs and coverage type labels but does not include actionable prior authorization or denial triggers in the excerpt.
No explicit denial triggers for maximum dosage/frequency
No explicit denial triggers are stated for the maximum dosage/frequency listings in this excerpt.
No explicit denial triggers in segment
The repeated drug and market applicability listings do not include explicit authorization instructions or denial triggers.
No explicit denial triggers in this excerpt
No explicit denial triggers are present; the section is a repeated enumerated listing of drugs and coverage lines.
No denial triggers provided here
This chunk lists drugs under 'Maximum Dosage and Frequency' and does not state specific authorization or denial conditions in the excerpt.
No authorization denial triggers specified
No explicit authorization denial triggers are specified in these chunks; content remains a repeated product list under the policy heading.
No explicit authorization or denial rules here
No explicit authorization denial triggers or requirements are present in this document segment; it lists products for which maximum dosage and frequency guidance exists elsewhere in the policy.
No authorization or denial rules present
The excerpt is a repeated listing of drugs under the 'Maximum Dosage and Frequency' heading and does not specify authorization or denial rules.
Market applicability may affect routing; no denial triggers listed
Listings indicate Commercial vs Individual Exchange applicability which may affect authorization routing, but the excerpt does not state specific denial triggers.
No operational denial triggers specified
This section enumerates products for maximum dosage and frequency rather than operational denial triggers; no explicit denial conditions are provided here.
No explicit authorization or denial triggers
No explicit authorization or denial triggers are stated in the repeated product listings under the Maximum Dosage and Frequency heading.
No denial triggers specified for listed drugs
The excerpt lists drugs under the Maximum Dosage and Frequency section but does not include explicit denial triggers or conditions.
No authorization/denial conditions in this excerpt
This repeating listing of drug names with plan applicability does not state specific authorization triggers or denial conditions in the provided text.
Definitions and Policy Scope
Step Therapy and Related Policy References
| Related policy / drug group | Notes on applicability |
|---|---|
| Botulinum Toxins A and B | Listed with separate entries for Commercial Only and Individual Exchange Only; referenced repeatedly as a related Commercial/Individual Exchange policy. |
| Ophthalmologic Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor (VEGF) Inhibitors | Referenced for both Commercial Only and Individual Exchange Only as a related policy grouping. |
| Orencia (Abatacept) Injection for Intravenous Infusion | Listed as a related policy entry; infusion-administered product referenced in Maximum Dosage and Frequency section. |
| Cimzia (Certolizumab Pegol) | Appears with separate annotations for Commercial Only and Individual Exchange Only among related policies. |
| Qalsody (Tofersen) | Named as a related policy entry in the Maximum Dosage and Frequency listing. |
| Respiratory interleukins (Cinqair, Fasenra, Nucala) | Referenced as a related policy group; noted for Commercial Only in the excerpt. |
Site of Care — Infusion and Administration Notes
Infusion-site products identified
Several listed items are explicitly identified as 'Injection for Intravenous Infusion' (for example, Simponi Aria / golimumab), indicating infusion-site administration for those products.
- Simponi Aria (Golimumab) labeled 'Injection for Intravenous Infusion' in the listing.
Infusion administration indicated for several products
Multiple entries are labeled 'Injection for Intravenous Infusion' or 'Infusion,' indicating these products are administered in an IV/infusion setting; the excerpt does not specify site-of-care restrictions.
Infusion-site administration noted (market-specific)
Some agents are noted as 'Injection for Intravenous Infusion' or 'Infusion (for Commercial Only),' indicating infusion-site administration for certain products in specific markets; no site-of-care rules are provided in the excerpt.
Infusion/IV administration noted for listed products
Products are identified as 'Infusion' or 'Injection for Intravenous Infusion' in the listing, indicating infusion-site administration for those items; the excerpt does not provide additional site-of-care guidance.
Background and Clinical Rationale
The provided document excerpt does not contain clinical background, indication statements, or rationale explaining the clinical basis for maximum dosage or frequency limits. The visible content is an enumerated inventory of drugs and drug classes with plan applicability annotations rather than clinical context or supporting evidence.
Policy History / Revision Notes
Policy 2026D0034AU published/transferred to shared template with application to UnitedHealthcare Commercial and Individual Exchange; coverage rationale and maximum dosage/frequency content updated and HCPCS lists revised.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.