List of covered prescription drugs (4 Tier Commercial Large Group HMO and POS)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all Sharp-Health-Plan policy alerts
Know when Sharp-Health-Plan releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
Formulary drug list for Sharp Health Plan employer-sponsored Large Group HMO and POS products that use a 4-tier formulary, describing covered outpatient prescription drugs, benefit rules, and supporting resources for members and providers.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria and Formulary Rules
Formulary management (referenced)
Formulary coverage and utilization management sections are present in the document and reference the tools used to manage outpatient drug coverage.
See the Step Therapy, PRIOR AUTHORIZATION, QUANTITY LIMIT, and FORMULARY EXCEPTION sections for operational criteria.
General Coverage
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Medical Benefit (physician‑administered or designated self‑injectable) items are covered under the Medical Benefit and not the outpatient pharmacy benefit.
Formulary Exception
Formulary Exception requests are processed under the Prior Authorization process; decisions are time‑bound.
If approved, coverage is provided for the duration of the prescription including refills; exigent approvals cover the duration of the exigency.
Generic Substitution and Biologic Interchange
Generic and biologic substitution rules that affect coverage and dispensing:
If a brand is authorized for medical necessity, member cost share corresponds to the brand tier. When an interchangeable biologic is available, the pharmacy may be required to dispense the interchangeable product unless Prior Authorization for the reference biologic is obtained.
Exclusions to outpatient prescription drug benefit
Not covered under the outpatient prescription drug benefit unless an exception or law requires coverage:
Exceptions or legal requirements may override these exclusions.
Opioid Step Therapy — OPIOID ER 2219-M
Coverage for OPIOID ER 2219-M is provided only when ALL of the following step conditions are met:
Applies to listed ER opioid group (examples: fentanyl patches, hydrocodone ER, morphine ER); high‑strength formulations often additionally require PA.
Opioid Step Therapy — OPIOID IR COMBO PRODUCTS 1358-E
OPIOID IR combo product coverage is restricted as follows:
This group limits initial IR combo opioid fills to a 7‑day supply absent recent opioid exposure.
Amphetamines — PA and Quantity Limits
Amphetamine‑class products require prior authorization and are subject to quantity limits. Apply ALL of the following:
See product‑level entries for the exact QL for each strength and formulation; MO flags indicate managed coverage.
General PA and age-based PA requirement
Prior authorization applies as indicated and is age‑based for many stimulant and related agents:
Supporting documentation must be provided with PA or Step Therapy Exception requests.
Quantity limits
Quantity limits shown on the formulary control allowed dispense quantities:
Requests exceeding QL require Prior Authorization and medical necessity documentation and may be denied.
Apremilast (Otezla) — covered with restrictions
Apremilast (Otezla) coverage conditions — ALL must apply:
Some apremilast entries note 'Preferred for Psoriasis, Psoriatic Arthritis' but PA/QL/SP apply as listed.
Opioid analgesics — covered with criteria
Opioid analgesics are covered when ALL of the following apply:
Providers must document prior opioid exposure to satisfy step therapy where required and supply limits apply at initial fill (7‑day adult; 3‑day if age <=19).
Aspirin 81 mg — preventive coverage exception
Aspirin 81 mg preventive coverage exception — apply ALL of the following:
Coverage cost‑share exception is age and risk dependent as specified.
Formulary coverage lines (excerpt)
Formulary listing lines include tier and optional coverage flags; examples below illustrate how entries are represented:
See product line entries for specific coverage flags and QL values.
Follow PA/MO instructions when submitting authorization requests.
Exceeding QL requires PA/documentation.
Formulary coverage with quantity limits
Formulary coverage with quantity limits — coverage conditions:
Many entries include 'MO' which may indicate additional managed coverage or prior authorization is needed when QL or MO conditions are exceeded or invoked.
Quantity-limited coverage
Quantity‑limited coverage is allowed when the dispense does not exceed the listed limit:
Dispenses exceeding QL require Prior Authorization and medical necessity documentation and may be denied.
MO-designated coverage
Items marked 'MO' indicate managed coverage and may require additional plan processes:
MO frequently appears with PA and/or QL flags; absence of required documentation may trigger denial.
This Formulary document lists covered outpatient prescription drugs and summarizes utilization management controls that affect coverage. Refer to the Formulary sections titled "ARE THERE ANY COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS OR LIMITS?", "WHAT IS PRIOR AUTHORIZATION?", "WHAT IS QUANTITY LIMIT?" and "WHAT IS STEP THERAPY?" for the plan's procedural rules. The electronic Formulary and specific member cost sharing details are available on the Sharp Health Plan website; the document is subject to change and the version shown is current as of 03/01/2026.
Drugs covered under the outpatient pharmacy benefit are generally oral or topical products dispensed via network retail, specialty, or mail-order pharmacies. Medical Benefit drugs are physician-administered or designated self-injectable products and are covered under the Medical Benefit (see Member Handbook for cost‑share and coverage specifics).
The Formulary specifies exclusions to the outpatient prescription drug benefit. Excluded uses include drugs prescribed solely for cosmetic services, hair loss, sexual dysfunction, athletic performance, cosmetic anti-aging, or to shorten the common cold; over‑the‑counter equivalents (with stated exceptions); replacement of lost or stolen drugs; and drugs prescribed by non‑contracting providers for non‑covered procedures, unless coverage is required by law or an exception is granted.
Seven explicit outpatient prescription drug exclusions are listed: (1) cosmetic services; (2) drugs solely for hair loss, sexual dysfunction, athletic performance, cosmetic purposes, or anti‑aging for cosmetic purposes (with limited exceptions); (3) drugs solely for weight loss except when medically necessary for Class III obesity; (4) drugs solely to shorten duration of the common cold; (5) drugs available OTC or with an OTC equivalent (exceptions noted, e.g., insulin, certain preventive OTC contraceptives, opioid overdose reversal); (6) replacement of lost or stolen drugs; and (7) drugs prescribed by non‑contracting providers for non‑covered procedures not authorized by the plan.
Note: ancillary procedural details and plan‑specific exceptions referenced elsewhere in the document (e.g., appeals, formulary exceptions, and how to request Prior Authorization) should be consulted when a use may fall outside standard coverage patterns.
A specific cost‑sharing exception applies to aspirin 81 mg: the chewable or delayed‑release 81 mg product is listed as Tier = PV with a QL (100 tabs every 30 days) and carries a $0 copay only for members capable of pregnancy aged 12–59 who are at risk for preeclampsia; otherwise the special $0 copay does not apply.
Several opioid and opioid combination products include pediatric availability limits. For example, certain tramadol formulations and acetaminophen/codeine products are marked Not available under age 12. Other opioid entries indicate initial supply restrictions and age‑based limits that further constrain use in younger patients.
Entries labeled MO in the COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS column represent a managed coverage flag (commonly interpreted as a medical‑only or management indicator). Where MO appears, providers should follow the plan's medical override/prior authorization processes as described in the Formulary and Member Handbook.
No explicit additional exclusions are present in the cited formulary segments beyond the seven listed exclusion categories; individual drug lines may show coverage fields that are blank in this extract but do not by themselves constitute an exclusion.
Some formulary lines in this extract display a blank COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS field (for example, certain XARELTO entries and multiple lamotrigine starter/titration kits). Blank entries in this partial extract may reflect omitted detail in this segment rather than unconditional coverage; consult the complete Formulary or prior authorization resources for any required documentation.
Several starter or titration kits (e.g., lamotrigine starter kits and branded starter kits) are listed with the COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS field blank in this excerpt. When coverage requirements are not specified in the line, providers should verify applicable PA/ST/QL rules in the full Formulary or prior authorization criteria before dispensing.
Certain insulin product lines (e.g., NOVOLIN, NOVOLOG) include the statement 'RELION not covered' indicating that RELION‑branded versions of these insulins are excluded from coverage under the outpatient prescription benefit.
The Formulary includes headings and sections describing appeals, formulary exceptions, and the process for requesting coverage of non‑formulary drugs (e.g., 'APPEALS DUE TO DENIAL OF COVERAGE FOR A NONFORMULARY DRUG' and Formulary Exception procedures). Providers and members should follow those processes when a prior authorization or formulary exception is denied.
A cosmetic‑use denial rationale is embedded in the exclusions: drugs prescribed solely to alter appearance rather than function are excluded. The plan defines cosmetic as drugs intended to improve appearance rather than physiologic function and may deny coverage for such purposes.
Drugs prescribed solely for cosmetic indications are not considered medically necessary for the outpatient prescription drug benefit, except where medical necessity is established (for example, treatments for diagnosed mental illness or conditions affecting memory are excepted).
This extract does not contain standalone, explicit definitional statements titled 'Not Medically Necessary.' However, the exclusion language and Formulary Exception/appeals sections together govern determinations of medical necessity for coverage decisions.
Within the provided extract there are no separate, explicit policy paragraphs labeled 'Not Medically Necessary' that expand on the exclusions; absence of those statements here does not preclude their presence elsewhere in the full policy document.
No explicit standalone 'Not Medically Necessary' declarations appear in this extract. Coverage determinations rely on the exclusion list, Formulary Exception rules, and Prior Authorization criteria as applicable.
Drug Codes, Tier Symbols, and Quantity Rules
| OTEZLA TAB 10/20 | Brand: OTEZLA TAB 10/20 (apremilast) - DRUG TIER = 4; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = SP, PA, QL (55 tabs every 28 days); Preferred for Psoriasis, Psoriatic Arthritis. |
| OTEZLA TAB 10/20/30 | Brand: OTEZLA TAB 10/20/30 (apremilast) - DRUG TIER = 4; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = SP, PA, QL (55 tabs every 28 days); Preferred for Psoriasis, Psoriatic Arthritis. |
| OTEZLA TAB 20MG/30MG/XR75MG | Forms include OTEZLA TAB 20MG, OTEZLA TAB 30MG, and OTEZLA XR TAB 75MG (apremilast) - DRUG TIER = 4; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = SP, PA, QL (2 tabs every 1 day for 20/30 mg; 1 tab every 1 day for XR 75 mg). |
| methadone formulations | Includes methadone oral formulations - listed with applicable DRUG TIER and COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS consistent with opioid analgesic class (subject to PA/QL/ST where specified in opioid section). |
| Fentanyl patches and other opioids | Examples listed elsewhere: fentanyl td patch strengths 12-100 mcg/hr with ST/QL and PA requirements for high strengths. |
| ASMANEX HFA (mometasone furoate) | ASMANEX HFA AER 50MCG / 100MCG / 200MCG (mometasone furoate inhalation) - DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = QL (3 inhalers every 75 days), MO. |
| BREO ELLIPTA INH 50-25MCG | BREO ELLIPTA INH 50-25MCG (fluticasone furoate - vilanterol) - DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = QL (9 inhalers every 75 days) displayed as QL (3 inhalers every 75 days), MO for this formulation. |
| MOUNJARO INJ 2.5/0.5 - 15MG/0.5 | MOUNJARO INJ available in multiple strengths including 2.5/0.5 up through 15MG/0.5 (tirzepatide) - DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA, MO as listed by strength. |
| OZEMPIC INJ 2MG/3ML - 8MG/3ML | OZEMPIC INJ strengths include 2MG/3ML, 4MG/3ML, and 8MG/3ML (semaglutide) - DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA, MO. |
| RYBELSUS TAB 3MG/7MG/14MG | RYBELSUS oral semaglutide tablets 3MG, 7MG, 14MG - DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA (3mg listed; 7mg and 14mg PA, MO). |
| TRULICITY INJ 0.75 - 4.5 | TRULICITY INJ dulaglutide available as 0.75, 1.5, 3.0, and 4.5 mg formulations - DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA, MO. |
| NOVOLIN / NOVOLOG / TOUJEO / TRESIBA | Includes NOVOLIN (70/30, N, R), NOVOLOG (insulin aspart pens, vials, mixes), TOUJEO (insulin glargine 300 U/mL), and TRESIBA (insulin degludec) - DRUG TIER = 2 for many brand presentations; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = MO as noted; RELION brand noted as not covered in some NOVOLIN entries. |
| Formulary listing guidance | Brand-name listed for reference; generic substitution required by contracted pharmacies unless PA for brand is obtained. |
| ADHD stimulant classes | Extensive methylphenidate and amphetamine product listings with PA and QL restrictions (e.g., methylphenidate XR/LA/CD caps and tabs with QL 90-540 per 75 days as specified). |
| Example QLs | Quantity limits explained: QL symbol on formulary indicates limits based on safety/abuse/prescribing norms; PA can be requested for excess quantities with medical necessity. |
| Wegovy / Ozempic / Mounjaro class notes | Anti-obesity and incretin class entries include Wegovy (semaglutide for weight management), Ozempic, Rybelsus, Mounjaro, and coverage specifics (PA, MO, QL) per strength/formulation. |
| Clonazepam / Alprazolam / Diazepam | Multiple benzodiazepine formulations listed with QL (e.g., clonazepam OD tabs QL limits, alprazolam QL 150 tabs per 25 days, diazepam soln/tablet QLs). |
| FIBRICOR TAB 35MG | Brand-Name and Generic-Name listing example: FIBRICOR TAB 35MG (fenofibric acid) with generic equivalence noted. |
| AMIODARONE (PACERONE) | Generic marketed with brand-name example: (Amiodarone Hcl Tab 100 mg) PACERONE - generic required unless PA for brand. |
| methylphenidate class | Multiple methylphenidate ER/LA/XR and chew/tab/soln presentations listed with PA and QL (examples: chew tabs 2.5-10 mg QL up to 540 tabs per 75 days; cap ER/XR QLs 90-180 per 75 days). |
| lisdexamfetamine | Lisdexamfetamine chew tabs 40/50/60 mg - DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA, QL (90 tabs every 75 days) and age-based PA requirements. |
| phentermine/topiramate (Qsymia) | Multiple ER strengths listed with DRUG TIER = 1 for generics and DRUG TIER = 2 for brand Qsymia; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = PA. |
| WEGOVY / semaglutide (weight management) | WEGOVY tablets 1.5/4/9/25 mg listed as ND/Brand with DRUG TIER = 2 and COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = PA, MO. |
| atomoxetine / guanfacine / clonidine | Non-stimulant ADHD agents with QL and PA entries (example atomoxetine caps with QL 360 caps every 75 days and PA for age >=19). |
| pitolisant (Wakix) | WAKIX TAB 4.45MG and 17.8MG listed with SP, PA, QL (2 tabs every day). |
| dexmethylphenidate / methylphenidate ER | Extensive strengths with DRUG TIER = 1 and QL/PA per strength (caps and tabs; many entries with 90-360 per 75 days limits). |
| AZSTARYS | AZSTARYS caps with DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = PA, QL (90 caps every 75 days); age-based PA for >=19. |
| OTEZLA TAB 10/20 | Listed as Brand OTEZLA TAB 10/20 (apremilast) - DRUG TIER = 4; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (55 tabs every 28 days); Preferred indications noted. |
| OTEZLA TAB 10/20/30 and XR 75MG | Includes OTEZLA TAB 10/20/30 and OTEZLA XR TAB 75MG with DRUG TIER = 4; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (per strength/day as specified). |
| fentanyl patches | Fentanyl td patch 72hr strengths 12-100 mcg/hr listed with ST, QL (10 patches every 25 days) and PA requirements; higher strengths require PA. |
| hydrocodone / morphine / oxycodone | Multiple ER and immediate-release forms with QL and PA (subject to initial 7-day limit; pediatric age-specific initial limits). |
| Aspirin 81 mg | Aspirin chew/delayed release 81 mg entries with PV tier and QL (100 tabs every 30 days) for members capable of pregnancy at risk for preeclampsia; otherwise coverage notes apply. |
| nitrofurantoin / fosfomycin / methenamine | Selected urinary anti-infective agents listed with coverage tiers and specifics (e.g., fosfomycin 3 gm pack). |
| alprazolam / clonazepam / diazepam / lorazepam | Multiple formulations listed with QL restrictions (alprazolam ODT and ER QLs, clonazepam OD QLs, diazepam soln/tablet QLs, lorazepam QLs). |
| clonazepam OD tablets | Clonazepam orally disintegrating tablets QL (300 tabs every 25 days) example. |
| zuranolone (Zurzuvae) | ZURZUVAE / zuranolone entries with SP, PA, QL (2 caps every day) noted elsewhere in the document. |
| ipratropium / spiriva / revefenacin | Bronchodilators and anticholinergics with QLs (e.g., ipratropium inhalation solution QL 720 mL every 75 days; SPIRIVA entries). |
| BREO ELLIPTA and BREZTRI | BREO ELLIPTA INH strengths 50-25, 100-25, 200-25 listed with QL (9 inhalers every 75 days) and per-formulation inhaler QLs (3 inhalers every 75 days for certain entries). |
| amiodarone / dronedarone / flecainide / propafenone | Antiarrhythmic agents with tiering and MO flags (amiodarone examples include branded PACERONE references). |
| budesonide-formoterol / fluticasone-salmeterol | Multiple inhaled combinations with QLs (examples: budesonide-formoterol aerosol entries; fluticasone-salmeterol WIXELA INHUB entries). |
| albuterol inhalers/solutions | Albuterol inhaler and nebulizer solutions with QL examples (e.g., albuterol inhaler QL 9 inhalers every 75 days listed equivalently to QL 6 inhalers in places; nebulizer solution volumes listed). |
| warfarin / apixaban / rivaroxaban | Warfarin tablets and DOAC branded entries (Eliquis) with MO coverage notes and tiering; rivaroxaban suspension and tablets noted. |
| clobazam / diazepam rectal gel / Nayzilam | Rescue and benzodiazepine anticonvulsant options listed with MO and QL where applicable. |
| General QL rationale | Quantity limits are applied based on safety, overdose/abuse potential, and usual monthly dosing approximations not exceeding FDA max; PA process described for overrides. |
| tricyclics / SNRIs / SSRIs | Examples provided with MO tiering and coverage requirements; imipramine and nortriptyline entries included. |
| Glyxambi / Synjardy / Xigduo etc. | Multiple combination oral agents listed with DRUG TIER = 2 for branded combos and MO coverage requirements. |
| MOUNJARO / OZEMPIC / RYBELSUS / TRULICITY | MOUNJARO INJ (2.5/0.5 up to 15MG/0.5) - DRUG TIER = 2 with PA; OZEMPIC INJ (2mg/3ml, 4mg/3ml, 8mg/3ml) - DRUG TIER = 2 with PA; RYBELSUS TAB 3/7/14 mg - DRUG TIER = 2 with PA; TRULICITY INJ 0.75 - 4.5 mg listed with PA, MO. |
| Insulin products (Novolin, Novolog, Toujeo, Tresiba) | NOVOLIN (70/30, N, R), NOVOLOG (aspart vials/pens/mixes), TOUJEO (glargine 300 U/mL), TRESIBA (degludec) - DRUG TIER = 2 for many branded insulin products; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = MO with RELION brand notes for noncoverage in some NOVOLIN lines. |
| GVOKE / GVOKE HYPO / GVOKE KIT | Glucagon rescue products (GVOKE HYPO and related) listed with DRUG TIER = 2 and coverage notes. |
Required Provider Actions, PA, Step Therapy, and Denial Risks
Prior authorization may be required
Some drugs listed on the Formulary require Prior Authorization (PA), Step Therapy (ST), Quantity Limits (QL), Mail Order (MO), Specialty (SP), or other coverage controls. Providers must obtain any required PA or Step Therapy exception from Sharp Health Plan before the plan will cover the drug. Check member-specific plan documents for exact cost sharing and coverage details; this Formulary is subject to change and prior versions are not in effect.
- Check member-specific cost sharing via member portal: sharphealthplan.com/login.
- Document last updated 03/01/2026; check for later revisions before submitting requests.
Prior Authorization and Step Therapy (overview)
Step Therapy is referenced throughout the Formulary. When a drug is marked ST or PA**, coverage may depend on prior use of an alternate therapy. Providers may request a Step Therapy Exception by submitting clinical justification and supporting documentation; Sharp Health Plan will respond within 72 hours for non-urgent requests or 24 hours for exigent circumstances.
- If a completed Step Therapy Exception or PA request is not answered within the required timeframe it is deemed granted.
- Continuity of therapy is allowed when members move from another insurer; document prior coverage.
- If requests are incomplete, plan will notify provider within the same response timeframes what additional information is needed.
Prior Authorization required for PA drugs
Drugs coded PA or PA** require Prior Authorization. Providers must submit a completed PA request by phone, fax, or electronic prior authorization form and include all supporting clinical documentation. Turnaround is 72 hours for non-urgent and 24 hours for urgent/Exigent Circumstances; if the plan fails to respond in time, the request is deemed granted.
- Acceptable submission methods: Customer Service phone, fax, or electronic PA form.
- Include prescription details (drug name, strength, quantity, duration), diagnosis, prior therapies tried, and relevant clinical notes or test results.
- PA** indicates PA is required only if Step Therapy has not been met.
- Deemed grant applies to both PA and Step Therapy Exception requests when timelines are missed.
PA** (Prior Authorization contingent on Step Therapy)
PA** indicates the drug requires Prior Authorization only if Step Therapy has not been met; providers may document medical necessity to request a PA when Step Therapy is clinically inappropriate. Follow standard PA submission and include Step Therapy rationale.
- When requesting PA for a PA** drug, state why Step Therapy is not appropriate and include supporting clinical records.
- If deemed urgent or exigent, indicate this on submission for expedited review.
Prior authorization for brand or reference biologic
When a brand biologic is dispensed but an interchangeable biosimilar is available, contracted pharmacies are generally required to dispense the interchangeable product unless a PA for the reference product is obtained and the reference product is determined medically necessary.
- Pharmacy-level substitution rules may apply; if requesting the reference biologic, submit documentation supporting medical necessity for the reference product versus the interchangeable biologic.
- Brand-name listing in the Formulary is for reference only unless the Plan has authorized the brand.
Amphetamine prior authorization and quantity limits (provider action)
Certain amphetamine and stimulant products require Prior Authorization and are subject to quantity limits and Mail Order (MO) provisions. For age-restricted PAs (e.g., PA required for age ≥ 19), include patient age, prior treatment history, and justification for use. Quantity limits (examples: 90 or 360 tabs every 75 days) must be observed; submit PA for any quantity over the limit.
- Document age-based PA requirements (PA required for age ≥ 19 for many stimulant strengths).
- Include prior medication trials and rationale for higher quantities when requesting override.
- MO (mail order) options may apply for maintenance supplies.
Opioid step therapy prior authorization
Opioid Step Therapy and high-strength opioid products frequently carry ST, PA**, PA, and explicit high-strength PA requirements. Before prescribing ER/High-Strength opioids, confirm the member meets Step Therapy criteria (for example cumulative immediate-release exposure) or submit PA with documentation of prior opioid exposure and clinical necessity. Initial fill limits (e.g., 3- or 7-day limits) apply to many opioid agents.
- ST groups define required prior exposure (e.g., cumulative 7 days of IR opioid within 90 days or 30 days of ER in past 90 days).
- High-strength strengths (listed in the Formulary) require PA even if the lower strengths do not.
- Document prior fills and clinical justification when requesting PA for high-strength opioids.
Prior authorization flags for select injectables (GLP-1/GIP and insulins)
Stimulant, ADHD, and certain anti-obesity injectables and GLP-1/GIP agents carry PA and MO flags; many of these agents are also specialty (SP) and require specialty pharmacy dispensing. For injectables (e.g., tirzepatide, semaglutide, liraglutide), submit PA and include dosing, indication, prior therapy, and member weight/BMI or diabetes control metrics as applicable.
- Examples: MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, RYBELSUS list PA and MO; MOUNJARO and OZEMPIC entries note PA and mail order.
- Some GLP-1/GIP products may have formulary tier impacts; check the drug entry for tier/step implications.
- SP designation requires specialty pharmacy; include documentation to support SP dispensing if requested.
Methylphenidate PA requirement (age-based)
Methylphenidate and many formulations of stimulants have age-based PA requirements and quantity limits. When requesting PA for these agents, include the recipient's age, diagnostic information, previous medication trials, and the requested quantity/days' supply.
- Examples: multiple methylphenidate strengths and formulations indicate PA required for age ≥ 19.
- Quantity limits are frequently expressed as 'X tabs every 75 days' — document rationale for quantities exceeding those limits.
- Mail Order (MO) options apply for many maintenance formulations.
Specialty immunomodulators PA noted (SP designation)
Specialty immunomodulators and other SP-designated drugs require Prior Authorization and are limited to specialty pharmacy dispensing (SP). Providers must include diagnosis, prior therapies, and relevant laboratory or imaging results to support medical necessity. Quantity limits and refill-supply restrictions (e.g., 30-day supply per fill) often apply.
- Examples: upadacitinib (RINVOQ) and tofacitinib (XELJANZ) entries show SP, PA, QL.
- For SP drugs, identify preferred indications when present (e.g., psoriasis, RA, Crohn's).
- Specialty drugs may have additional prior authorization criteria; include previous treatment failures when applicable.
Prior authorization/managed-only for rifaximin (Xifaxan)
Rifaximin (Xifaxan) and certain other products are managed-only (MO) or require PA/MO for coverage and may only be available through designated fill channels. When prescribing rifaximin, follow the Plan's PA/MO process and include indication and prior therapy information.
- Rifaximin entries may be coded MO; confirm whether PA is additionally required for the specific indication.
- If the drug is MO, write prescriptions and claims to conform to mail order limits and days' supply rules.
MO entries may require medical override/prior authorization
Some drugs listed as MO (mail order) or MO-coded in the Formulary may still require a medical override or Prior Authorization for a non-mail-order dispense or for quantities outside the MO parameters. When prescribing, conform to MO/QL rules or submit PA/medical override requests with clinical justification.
- If requesting non-mail-order pickup or different quantity, include rationale and clinical necessity for override.
- MO-designated maintenance drugs are eligible for up to a 90-day supply through mail order; prescribe accordingly and document if request differs.
Brand-name prior authorization
Brand-name drugs usually require prior authorization when a generic or interchangeable product exists. Pharmacies are required to dispense the generic or interchangeable biologic unless a PA for the brand/reference product is approved. Providers requesting brand coverage must submit documentation demonstrating medical necessity for the brand over the generic/biosimilar.
- Include prior trial of the generic unless contraindicated and clinical rationale for brand necessity.
- When interchangeable biologics exist, identify the reference product and provide documentation supporting the need for the reference product.
Modafinil PA
For modafinil and armodafinil entries (including generic and brand strengths), Prior Authorization and Mail Order (MO) flags are present. Providers should submit PA requests with the indication (narcolepsy, shift work sleep disorder, obstructive sleep apnea-related excessive sleepiness), prior therapies tried, and any supporting sleep study or specialist documentation.
- Armodafinil and modafinil list PA and MO in coverage columns—include prior therapy documentation where applicable.
- If continuity from prior coverage is claimed, include evidence of previous insurer coverage to avoid unnecessary Step Therapy.
Documentation for PA/MO items
Documentation is required for all PA and MO requests. Include the prescription (drug name, strength, quantity, directions), diagnosis, relevant clinical notes, prior medication trials and dates, laboratory or imaging data when relevant, patient age, and any prior insurance coverage history to support continuity or exceptions.
- Required formulary identifiers: drug name, strength, NDC when available, and quantity/days' supply.
- For PA/Step Therapy exceptions, include clinical justification explaining why required prior therapy is inappropriate.
- Provide supporting documentation for PA and MO items (labs, imaging, specialist notes).
Denial triggers and risks
Denial risks: PA, Step Therapy, Quantity Limits, MO and SP flags can trigger denials if requirements are not met. Additional denial triggers include prescriptions from non‑contracting providers for non-covered procedures, replacement of lost/stolen drugs, or prescribing excluded indications (cosmetic, weight loss not meeting criteria, etc.).
- Prescriptions from non-contracting providers for non-covered procedures may be denied—confirm provider network status.
- Replacement of lost or stolen drugs is excluded.
- If quantity limits or PA requirements are not met, the claim may be denied; submit PA or appeal as needed.
Quantity and PA non-compliance
Quantity limits and PA non-compliance commonly cause coverage denials. When prescribing, adhere to documented QL values (for example '90 tabs every 75 days' or '540 tabs every 75 days') and submit PA for any requested quantity that exceeds the listed limits with supporting medical necessity.
- Document the exact quantity limit shown on the Formulary per drug and timeframe.
- When requesting overrides, provide clear clinical rationale and previous treatment records.
- Failure to follow QL and PA rules may result in denial and the need for an appeal.
Formulary tier/step implications and documentation
Formulary tier and step mapping affect member cost sharing and coverage sequencing. Providers should check the drug's formulary tier and any step/coverage mapping in the drug entry to understand preferred products, required steps, and potential cost-sharing implications for the member.
- Formulary tier (e.g., Tier 1–4) and SP/MO flags may change member copay/coinsurance—confirm in member plan documents.
- The Formulary may list preferred indications or preferred products within a class; use that information when selecting therapy.
- When step sequences are not explicitly listed, contact the Plan for the preferred first-line agent or submit a PA/Step Therapy Exception with rationale.
Quantity Limits by Product/Class
Where Drugs Are Dispensed and Specialty Pharmacy Rules
Covered dispensing sites (retail, specialty, mail order, office)
Network retail, specialty, mail order, and office sites are covered dispensing locations for outpatient prescription drugs; specialty drugs must be filled by the plan's specialty pharmacy network and are mailed.
- Specialty drugs: CVS Specialty® Pharmacy; mail order: CVS Caremark®.
Specialty pharmacy and mail order distribution notes
Specialty drugs must be filled by the Sharp Health Plan specialty pharmacy network (CVS Specialty) and are mailed to the member; mail order maintenance drugs are available through CVS Caremark.
Specialty pharmacy designation for SP agents
Agents designated SP (specialty) must be distributed through the specialty pharmacy network and are limited to a 30‑day supply per fill; obtain prior authorization as required for SP products.
Biosimilar and Interchangeable Biological Product Rules
Interchangeable biologic substitution — pharmacy may be required to substitute
When an interchangeable biologic product is available, the pharmacy may be required to fill with the interchangeable product unless prior authorization for the reference biologic is obtained stating medical necessity.
Reference biologic prior authorization requirement
If the prescriber requests dispensing of the reference biologic instead of an interchangeable product, prior authorization must be obtained and documentation of medical necessity provided to the plan.
Definitions and Formulary Terminology
Initial Therapy and Opioid Supply Restrictions
Initial opioid supply restrictions (initial 7-day/3-day limits by age)
Initial opioid supply restrictions apply to many opioid products:
Applies to multiple IR and liquid opioid formulations; step therapy/PA rules may also apply for ER agents.
Step Therapy Criteria and Mapping
| Aspect | Summary |
|---|---|
| Presence of Step Therapy (ST) | |
| Formulary includes a dedicated 'STEP THERAPY CRITERIA' section and ST is referenced in the Table of Contents; multiple therapeutic classes may be subject to step therapy. |
| Aspect | Summary |
|---|---|
| Requirement | |
| Sharp Health Plan may require trial of one or more drugs in a specified sequence before covering a requested drug; providers may request Step Therapy exceptions and the plan will grant exceptions when criteria are met. |
| Aspect | Operational detail |
|---|---|
| Coverage dependency | |
| Drugs labeled with ST are covered only after prior use of specified alternatives; exceptions are processed via the Step Therapy Exception/Prior Authorization process and deemed granted if not decided within stated timeframes. |
| Policy | Implication |
|---|---|
| Dispense generic when available | |
| Pharmacy is required to dispense a generic when available unless prior authorization for the brand is obtained; same approach applies to interchangeable biologics vs reference biologic with prior authorization for the reference product required to override substitution. |
| Step Therapy Group | Criteria (cumulative exposure thresholds) |
|---|---|
| OPIOID ER 2219-M | |
| Coverage provided if member has filled a cumulative ≥7-day supply of an immediate‑release opioid within the past 90 days OR has been receiving an extended‑release opioid for a cumulative ≥30 days within the past 90 days. (See Step Therapy Group OPIOID ER 2219‑M) |
| Product class | PA requirement (age threshold) |
|---|---|
| Amphetamine-class products | |
| Many amphetamine products are designated PA with an age-based requirement: prior authorization is required for members age greater than or equal to 19. Quantity limits also apply per product/strength. |
| Labeling/flags | Presence of SP / PA / QL and step therapy detail |
|---|---|
| Preferred-for labels & SP/PA/QL flags | |
| Several agents are labeled 'Preferred for' specific indications and show SP, PA and QL flags (e.g., RINVOQ, XELJANZ, OTEZLA); these entries include PA/MO flags but explicit step therapy sequences are not specified in these chunks. |
| Formulation type | ST applicability |
|---|---|
| ER opioid formulations | |
| Multiple extended‑release opioid formulations (e.g., fentanyl patches, hydrocodone ER, tramadol ER, BELBUCA films) are designated ST or ST/PA in the formulary and therefore are subject to step therapy requirements before coverage. |
| Examples | Designation |
|---|---|
| Tramadol ER; BELBUCA films; hydrocodone ER; fentanyl patches | |
| These products are shown with ST and QL (and often PA or PA**) in the formulary lines; they illustrate items explicitly designated as step therapy examples in the excerpt. |
| Observation | Gap in excerpt |
|---|---|
| Explicit step sequences absent | |
| The excerpt includes ST references and group rules but does not list comprehensive per‑drug ordered step sequences (no multi‑step fail‑first sequences are specified in these chunks). |
| Notation observed | Meaning (undefined in excerpt) |
|---|---|
| Numeric mappings (e.g., '1 = 1', '1 = 2') | |
| Some therapeutic class entries show numeric mappings such as '1 = 1' and '1 = 2' but the document segment does not define these mappings or their relation to step order in the provided excerpt. |
| Finding | Supporting detail |
|---|---|
| Absence of explicit ST requirements in many lines | |
| Many formulary product lines show tiers and coverage flags (MO, PA, QL) but do not include explicit step therapy (fail‑first) requirement text in this excerpt; PA is often the controlling utilization management mechanism in those lines. |
| Tier assignment | Implication for preferred‑first |
|---|---|
| Non‑preferred tier examples | |
| Several brand agents (e.g., AUVELITY, some GLP‑1/GIP agents) are assigned to higher/non‑preferred tiers (tier 2) with MO/PA flags, implying that preferred agents may be expected to be tried first though explicit ST steps are not listed in the excerpt. |
| Class / products | Tier and flags (step/PA implication) |
|---|---|
| GLP‑1/GIP injectables and tirzepatide (e.g., MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, TRULICITY) | |
| These agents are frequently placed at tier = 2 and carry MO and/or PA flags in the formulary lines, implying prior authorization or managed coverage and suggesting preferred‑first placement though explicit step therapy sequences are not present in the provided chunks. |
Document Purpose and Scope
Background: this Formulary is a comprehensive prescription drug list organized by therapeutic class that describes covered outpatient prescription drugs, formulary tiers, and utilization management controls (e.g., Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, Quantity Limits). It is intended for Sharp Health Plan Large Group HMO and POS members and their providers; cost‑sharing and plan‑specific rules should be confirmed via the member's online account or Evidence of Coverage.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.