Sharp Health Plan Prescription Drug List (Formulary) — Employer‑Sponsored Plans
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all Sharp-Health-Plan policy alerts
Know when Sharp-Health-Plan releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document is the Sharp Health Plan prescription drug list (formulary) for employer‑sponsored plans and specific HMO/POS/HDHP products, describing covered outpatient prescription drugs, plan applicability, and formulary policies. It affects providers, pharmacists, and members enrolled in the listed Sharp Health Plan products.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria & Formulary Rules
General Coverage Criteria
Covered when ALL of the following general benefit and medical necessity conditions are met:
From Formulary Introduction
See Introduction: Medical Benefit exceptions
See Prior Authorization definition and Formulary Exception rules
See Step Therapy definition
General Formulary Coverage
Coverage is governed by formulary listing, tier assignment, and applicable utilization controls. Coverage for non‑formulary or brand when a generic exists requires authorization and may change cost‑sharing.
Formulary listing and Drug Tier (see Formulary definitions)
See symbols: PA, PA**, QL, ST, SP, MO, OAC
Generic substitution / biosimilar substitution policy
Formulary Exception procedure
Excluded Uses
The Plan does not cover the following outpatient prescription drug uses except as required by law:
Exclusion 1
Exclusion 2
Exclusion 3
Exclusion 4
Exclusion 5
Exclusion 6
Exclusion 7
Opioid ER — Step Therapy
Coverage for certain extended‑release (ER) opioid products is provided only when specific prior use (step therapy) criteria are met:
Applies to Step Therapy Group OPIOID ER 2219‑M (e.g., BELBUCA, fentanyl, hydrocodone ER, morphine ER, etc.)
Opioid IR combo — Short supply allowance
Short‑supply allowance for immediate‑release (IR) opioid combination products when prior opioid use is absent:
Applies to Step Therapy Group OPIOID IR COMBO PRODUCTS 1358‑E
Amphetamines — PA and QL
Amphetamine‑class products are covered when ALL of the following are satisfied:
PA commonly required for age ≥19
See product rows for exact QL
Age documentation required for PA requests
Coverage when requirements are met
Coverage stance is product‑specific; drugs listed below are COVERED when ALL listed product controls are met:
See individual product entries for PA/PA**
Examples: atomoxetine 360 caps/75 days; WAKIX 2 tabs/day; methylphenidate QLs vary (540 tabs/75 days etc.)
PA documentation required for adult prescriptions
Product-level coverage with PA/QL/MO controls
Covered when the following product‑level controls (as shown in each Formulary row) are satisfied:
Example row: methylphenidate chew tab 10 mg
Opioid high-strength coverage
Coverage for opioid and certain analgesic products is conditional; coverage is provided when product‑level prior authorization, step therapy, and quantity limits are satisfied:
Examples: fentanyl patches above certain strengths, high‑strength hydrocodone/morphine/oxycodone
Applies to select fentanyl patches, hydrocodone ER, morphine ER, tramadol ER 100 mg
Initial supply limits
Initial supply limits apply to many immediate‑release opioid prescriptions and certain oral formulations:
Applies to many IR opioid liquids and tablets; prescriber should request PA for quantities beyond initial limit
Tramadol coverage
Tramadol coverage is subject to age restrictions and utilization management controls:
Examples: tramadol oral solution QL 1800 mL/25 days; tramadol IR 50 mg QL 180 tabs/25 days; ER 100 mg ST/PA**
Product-level PA + QL + age restrictions
Covered with prior authorization and quantity limits when the following product‑level conditions are met:
Applies across opioid, buprenorphine, testosterone and other product groups
Coverage designations
Coverage and limits are specified per drug entry; coverage depends on the designation shown on each Formulary row:
See Formulary symbols/definitions
Drug listing and modifiers
Each Formulary line item indicates tier and any coverage requirement/limit flags; coverage is conditional on those flags being met:
Consult pharmacy system or Formulary row for operational PA/QL details
Formulary coverage with quantity limits
Covered when dispensed within the formulary product, assigned tier, and stated quantity limits:
Examples: inhalers and nebulizer QLs; oral/tablet QLs per product rows
Formulary status and shorthand coverage annotations
Drugs are listed with drug tier and short coverage annotations; specific clinical criteria to satisfy PA/MO are not provided in this excerpt:
This excerpt shows tier/flags but not full PA clinical criteria
Coverage status (partial)
Products are listed with coverage requirement abbreviations; coverage is conditional based on those requirements:
Coverage conditional on indicated flags
Formulary listing with management flags
Coverage is indicated per drug with drug tier and coverage requirement flags; specific clinical PA criteria are referenced but not included in this excerpt:
Detailed PA clinical criteria are maintained in Plan PA documentation
This formulary is a living document and subject to change. The electronic Prescription Drug List posted at the Sharp Health Plan website is the controlling version. All previous versions are no longer in effect and coverage, tiering, or utilization controls may be revised without further update to older copies of this extract. Providers should confirm current coverage status and requirements via the plan portal or pharmacy system before dispensing or submitting authorization requests.
Drugs and supplies that fall within the outpatient prescription drug benefit exclusions described in the Member Handbook are not eligible for a coverage Exception Request and are not covered under the outpatient pharmacy benefit. In addition, when a generic equivalent is available the plan requires pharmacies to dispense the generic unless prior authorization for the brand is obtained; similar substitution rules apply for interchangeable biological products unless a prior authorization for the reference biologic is granted.
The Plan excludes prescriptions written solely for non‑therapeutic or cosmetic purposes. Examples of excluded uses include drugs prescribed for cosmetic purposes, hair loss, sexual dysfunction, athletic performance enhancement, and anti‑aging for cosmetic purposes. These exclusions apply except where coverage is required by law or the drug is medically necessary for a diagnosed condition.
Excluded outpatient prescription uses include, but are not limited to: cosmetic procedures; treatment solely for hair loss, sexual dysfunction, athletic performance, and anti‑aging (cosmetic); agents intended only for enhancement of mental performance (unless medically necessary to treat a diagnosed mental illness or conditions that impair memory); drugs prescribed only to shorten the common cold; over‑the‑counter equivalents (with specified exceptions); replacement of lost or stolen medications; and drugs prescribed by non‑contracting providers for non‑covered procedures.
Formulary Listings & Codes
| N/A | Alphabetical lists of covered drugs by therapeutic class are provided (chunks 18-25). Specific billing codes (CPT/HCPCS/NDC/ICD-10) are not present in this excerpt. |
| diethylpropion hcl tab er 24hr 75 mg | Listed drug with DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| phendimetrazine tartrate tab 35 mg | Generic drug DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| phentermine hcl cap 15 mg | Generic drug DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| phentermine hcl cap 30 mg | Generic drug DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| phentermine hcl cap 37.5 mg | Generic drug DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| Phentermine Hcl Tab 8 mg (LOMAIRA) | Brand drug DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| phentermine hcl-topiramate cap er 3.75-23 mg | Generic; DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| phentermine hcl-topiramate cap er 7.5-46 mg | Generic; DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| phentermine hcl-topiramate cap er 11.25-69 mg | Generic; DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| phentermine hcl-topiramate cap er 15-92 mg | Generic; DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| QSYMIA caps (3.75-23; 7.5-46; 11.25-69; 15-92 mg) | Brand DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| orlistat cap 120 mg | Generic DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA |
| WEGOVY tabs (1.5 mg; 4 mg; 9 mg; 25 mg) semaglutide (weight management) | ND/Brand DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA; 9mg and 25mg entries include PA and MO notices |
| Atomoxetine caps (10,18,25,40,60,80,100 mg) | Generic DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA; QL examples: 360/75 days down to 90/75 days; PA required for age >=19 |
| Clonidine ER 12hr 0.1 mg | Generic DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = MO |
| Guanfacine ER 24hr (1,2,3,4 mg) | Generic DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = MO |
| QELBREE caps (viloxazine) 100,150,200 mg ER | Brand DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = QL (270 caps/75 days), MO |
| SUNOSI tabs 75 mg, 150 mg (solriamfetol) | DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA, MO |
| WAKIX tabs 4.45 mg, 17.8 mg (pitolisant) | Brand DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = SP, PA, QL (2 tabs/day) |
| Armodafinil tabs (50,150,200,250 mg) | DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA, MO |
| AZSTARYS caps (multiple strengths) | Brand DRUG TIER = 2; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA, QL (90 caps/75 days), MO; age >=19 PA requirement noted |
| Dexmethylphenidate ER caps/tabs (various strengths) | Generic DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA, QL (90-180 caps/75 days) ; PA required for age >=19 |
| Methylphenidate formulations (ER, LA, XR, chewable, solution, tabs) multiple strengths | Generic DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITS = PA, QL (ranges: 90–540 tabs per 75 days or mL limits); PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl chew tab 10 mg | generic product entry with PA, QL (540 tabs every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl soln 5 mg/5ml | generic product, DRUG TIER = 1, PA, QL (5400 mL every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl soln 10 mg/5ml | generic product, DRUG TIER = 1, PA, QL (2700 mL every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl tab 5 mg | generic product, DRUG TIER = 1, PA, QL (540 tabs every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl tab 10 mg | generic product, DRUG TIER = 1, PA, QL (540 tabs every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl tab 20 mg | generic product, DRUG TIER = 1, PA, QL (270 tabs every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl tab er 10 mg | generic product, DRUG TIER = 1, PA, QL (270 tabs every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl tab er 20 mg | generic product, DRUG TIER = 1, PA, QL (270 tabs every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl tab er 24hr 18 mg | generic product, DRUG TIER = 1, PA, QL (180 tabs every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| methylphenidate hcl tab er 24hr 27 mg | generic product, DRUG TIER = 1, PA, QL (180 tabs every 75 days), MO; PA required for age >=19 |
| GRASTEK SUB 2800BAU (timothy grass pollen allergen extract) | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = PA, MO |
| ODACTRA SUB (dust mite mixed allergen extract) | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = PA, MO |
| ORALAIR SUB 300 IR (grass mixed pollens allergen extract) | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = PA, MO |
| RAGWITEK SUB (short ragweed pollen allergen extract) | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = PA, MO |
| tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/4ml | DRUG TIER = 1, COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (8 mL every 1 day) |
| tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/5ml | DRUG TIER = 1, COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (10 mL every 1 day) |
| RINVOQ LQ SOL 1MG/ML (upadacitinib) | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (12 mL every 1 day); Preferred for Psoriatic Arthritis |
| RINVOQ TAB 15MG ER (upadacitinib) | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (1 tab every 1 day); Preferred for multiple indications |
| RINVOQ TAB 30MG ER | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (1 tab every 1 day); Preferred for Crohn's Disease, Ulcerative Colitis |
| RINVOQ TAB 45MG ER | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (56 tabs every 56 days); Preferred for Crohn's Disease, Ulcerative Colitis |
| XELJANZ SOL 1MG/ML (tofacitinib citrate) | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (10 mL every 1 day); Preferred for Rheumatoid Arthritis |
| XELJANZ TAB 5MG | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (2 tabs every 1 day); Preferred for Rheumatoid Arthritis |
| XELJANZ TAB 10MG | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (2 tabs every 1 day); Preferred for Rheumatoid Arthritis |
| XELJANZ XR TAB 11MG | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (1 tab every 1 day); Preferred for Rheumatoid Arthritis |
| XELJANZ XR TAB 22MG | DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (1 tab every 1 day); Preferred for Rheumatoid Arthritis |
| celecoxib cap 50 mg / 100 mg / 200 mg / 400 mg | generic entries, DRUG TIER = 1, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = MO |
| diclofenac potassium tab 50 mg | generic, DRUG TIER = 1, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = MO |
| diclofenac sodium tab delayed release 25/50/75 mg | generic entries, DRUG TIER = 1, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = MO |
| diclofenac sodium tab er 24hr 100 mg | generic, DRUG TIER = 1, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = MO |
| ibuprofen tab 400/600/800 mg | generic entries, DRUG TIER = 1, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = MO or blank per row |
| ibuprofen susp 100 mg/5ml | generic, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS not specified in this segment |
| ibuprofen-famotidine tab 800-26.6 mg | generic, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = PA, MO |
| indomethacin cap 25/50 mg, ER 75 mg, suppos 50 mg, susp 25 mg/5ml | generic entries, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = MO |
| ketorolac tromethamine tab 10 mg | generic, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS not specified in this segment |
| OT EZLA / apremilast (various strengths/formulations) | Brand OTEZLA and generics, DRUG TIER = 2, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = SP, PA, QL (examples: 55 tabs every 28 days; 2 tabs every day; 41 tabs every 28 days) |
| leflunomide tab 10 mg / 20 mg | generic, DRUG TIER = 1, COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = MO |
| butalbital-acetaminophen 50-325 mg | generic, QL (48 tabs every 25 days) |
| butalbital-acetaminophen-caffeine 50-325-40 mg | generic, QL entries follow |
| apremilast (Otezla) tabs 10/20/30/75 XR | Preferred for Psoriasis, Psoriatic Arthritis; Coverage: SP, PA, QL (various QLs shown: e.g., 55 tabs/28 days, 41 tabs/28 days, 2 tabs/day, 1 tab/day) |
| leflunomide tab 10 mg, 20 mg | DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = MO |
| butalbital-acetaminophen (50-325 mg) and combos | DRUG TIER = 1; QL (48 tabs every 25 days) |
| aspirin 81 mg | DRUG TIER = PV; QL (100 tabs every 30 days); $0 copay for members capable of pregnancy at risk for preeclampsia |
| codeine sulfate tab 30 mg | DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = PA, QL (42 tabs every 25 days); Subject to initial 7-day limit; If age 19 or younger, initial 3-day limit |
| fentanyl TD patch 72hr (12-100 mcg/hr) | DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE_REQUIREMENTS = ST (some strengths), QL (10 patches every 25 days); PA or High Strength Requires PA |
| hydrocodone bitartrate ER caps/tabs (10-120+ mg) | DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE = ST or PA depending on strength; QL examples: 60 caps every 25 days; High Strength Requires PA |
| hydromorphone (liquid and tabs, ER) | DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE = PA, QL (varying e.g., 600 mL every 25 days, 180 tabs etc.); initial 7-day limit (3-day if age ≤19) |
| meperidine (tabs/solution) | DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE = PA, QL; initial 7-day limit (3-day if age ≤19) |
| methadone formulations (conc, soln, tabs, tabs for oral suspension 40 mg) | DRUG TIER = 1; COVERAGE = QL (various), some PA; indicated entries note methadone indicated for opioid addiction for certain formulations |
| NDC/HCPCS not specified | No explicit procedure, diagnosis, or billing codes provided in this segment; only drug product names, strengths, coverage designations, and QLs are listed. |
| QL (150 tabs every 25 days) | Quantity limit applied to alprazolam ODT and multiple alprazolam tablet strengths |
| QL (90 tabs every 25 days) | Quantity limit applied to alprazolam ER 3 mg |
| QL (360 caps every 25 days) | Quantity limit applied to chlordiazepoxide 5/10/25 mg |
| PA | Prior authorization required |
| MO | Medical only |
| SP | Specialty |
| fluticasone-salmeterol aer powder ba 250-50 mcg/act | Generic fluticasone-salmeterol dry aerosol powder 250/50 mcg per actuation (QL: 180 inhalations every 75 days), Tier 1 |
| WIXELA INHUB | Brand fluticasone-salmeterol (same strengths), Tier 1, QL 180 inhalations every 75 days |
| fluticasone-salmeterol aer powder ba 500-50 mcg/act | Generic fluticasone-salmeterol dry aerosol powder 500/50 mcg per actuation, Tier 1, QL 180 inhalations every 75 days |
| formoterol fumarate soln nebu 20 mcg/2ml | Generic formoterol nebulizer solution 20 mcg/2 ml, QL 360 mL every 75 days, Tier 1 |
| ipratropium-albuterol nebu soln 0.5-2.5(3) mg/3ml | Generic ipratropium-albuterol nebulizer solution, QL 1620 mL every 75 days, Tier 1 |
| levalbuterol hcl soln nebu 0.31 mg/3ml | Generic levalbuterol nebulizer solution 0.31 mg/3 ml, QL 900 mL every 75 days, Tier 1 |
| levalbuterol tartrate inhal aerosol 45 mcg/act | Generic levalbuterol inhalation aerosol 45 mcg/act, QL 6 inhalers every 75 days, Tier 1 |
| SEREVENT DIS AER 50MCG (salmeterol xinafoate) | Brand salmeterol aerosol 50 mcg, QL 180 inhalations every 75 days, Tier 2 |
| warfarin sodium tab 1 mg - 10 mg | Warfarin sodium tablets various strengths, Tier 1, Coverage: MO |
| apixaban (ELIQUIS) various strengths | Apixaban tablets/capsules listed with Tier 2 (multiple strengths), Coverage: MO |
| rivaroxaban (XARELTO) various strengths | Rivaroxaban tablets/suspension, Tier 1-2 depending on presentation, Coverage: MO |
| dabigatran etexilate (PRADAXA) cap 75/110/150 mg | Dabigatran capsules listed, Tier 1, Coverage: MO |
| perampanel susp/tab (0.5 mg/ml, 2-12 mg) | Perampanel oral suspension and tablets, Tier 1, Coverage: MO |
| clobazam (suspension and tabs) | Clobazam suspension 2.5 mg/ml and tablets 10/20 mg, Tier 1, Coverage: MO |
| clonazepam (various ODT/tablet strengths) | Clonazepam orally disintegrating tabs and tablets, QL 300 tabs every 25 days for multiple strengths, Tier 1 |
| diazepam rectal gel (2.5-20 mg) | Diazepam rectal gel delivery system various strengths, Tier 1 |
| NAYZILAM (midazolam) SPR 5MG | Midazolam nasal spray, Tier 2 |
| VALTOCO (diazepam) SPR 5/10/15MG | Diazepam nasal spray presentations, Tier 2 |
| BRIVIACT (brivaracetam) SOL/TAB 10-100 mg | Brivaracetam oral solution and tablets, Tier 2, Coverage: MO |
| carbamazepine, eslicarbazepine, gabapentin, lacosamide, lamotrigine (multiple strengths/forms) | Multiple generic anticonvulsant products listed, Tier 1, Coverage: MO |
| gabapentin 800 mg tab | gabapentin tab 800 mg (listed) |
| lacosamide 10 mg/ml soln | lacosamide oral solution 10 mg/ml |
| lacosamide 50 mg tab | lacosamide tab 50 mg |
| lamotrigine ODT 25 mg | lamotrigine orally disintegrating tab 25 mg |
| lamotrigine ODT 50 mg | lamotrigine orally disintegrating tab 50 mg |
| lamotrigine ODT 100 mg | lamotrigine orally disintegrating tab 100 mg |
| lamotrigine tab 25 mg | lamotrigine tab 25 mg (and starter kits) |
| lamotrigine tab 100 mg | lamotrigine tab 100 mg |
| lamotrigine tab 150 mg | lamotrigine tab 150 mg |
| lamotrigine tab 200 mg | lamotrigine tab 200 mg |
| bupropion hcl tab 100 mg | listed product and strength |
| bupropion hcl tab er 12hr 150 mg | listed product and strength |
| bupropion hcl tab er 12hr 200 mg | listed product and strength |
| bupropion hcl tab er 24hr 150 mg | listed product and strength |
| bupropion hcl tab er 24hr 300 mg | listed product and strength |
| ZURZUVAE CAP 20MG (zuranolone) | listed product and strength |
| ZURZUVAE CAP 25MG (zuranolone) | listed product and strength |
| ZURZUVAE CAP 30MG (zuranolone) | listed product and strength |
| phenelzine sulfate tab 15 mg | MAOI product |
| tranylcypromine sulfate tab 10 mg | MAOI product |
| citalopram hydrobromide oral soln 10 mg/5ml | SSRI product |
| citalopram hydrobromide tab 10 mg | SSRI product |
| citalopram hydrobromide tab 20 mg | SSRI product |
| citalopram hydrobromide tab 40 mg | SSRI product |
| escitalopram oxalate soln 5 mg/5ml | SSRI product |
| escitalopram oxalate tab 5 mg | SSRI product |
| escitalopram oxalate tab 10 mg | SSRI product |
| escitalopram oxalate tab 20 mg | SSRI product |
| fluoxetine hcl cap 10 mg | SSRI products |
| fluoxetine hcl cap 20 mg | SSRI products |
| fluoxetine hcl cap 40 mg | SSRI products |
| fluoxetine hcl cap delayed release 90 mg | SSRI product |
| fluoxetine hcl solution 20 mg/5ml | SSRI product |
| fluoxetine hcl tab 10 mg | SSRI product |
| fluoxetine hcl tab 20 mg | SSRI product |
| amitriptyline hcl tab 10 mg | Tricyclic agent |
| amitriptyline hcl tab 25 mg | Tricyclic agent |
| amitriptyline hcl tab 50 mg | Tricyclic agent |
| amitriptyline hcl tab 75 mg | Tricyclic agent |
| amitriptyline hcl tab 100 mg | Tricyclic agent |
| amoxapine tab 25 mg | Tricyclic agent |
| clomipramine hcl cap 25 mg | Tricyclic agent |
| acarbose tab 25 mg | Alpha-glucosidase inhibitor (antidiabetic) |
| acarbose tab 50 mg | Alpha-glucosidase inhibitor (antidiabetic) |
| acarbose tab 100 mg | Alpha-glucosidase inhibitor (antidiabetic) |
| miglitol tab 25 mg | Alpha-glucosidase inhibitor (antidiabetic) |
| miglitol tab 50 mg | Alpha-glucosidase inhibitor (antidiabetic) |
| miglitol tab 100 mg | Alpha-glucosidase inhibitor (antidiabetic) |
| GLYXAMBI TAB 10-5 MG (empagliflozin-linagliptin) | Antidiabetic combination (brand) |
| GLYXAMBI TAB 25-5 MG (empagliflozin-linagliptin) | Antidiabetic combination (brand) |
| SOLIQUA INJ 100/33 (insulin glargine-lixisenatide) | Antidiabetic combination (brand) |
| SYNJARDY TAB (empagliflozin-metformin) | Antidiabetic combination (brand) |
| glyburide-metformin 2.5-500 mg | glyburide-metformin tab 2.5-500 mg (generic) |
| glyburide-metformin 5-500 mg | glyburide-metformin tab 5-500 mg (generic) |
| GLYXAMBI 10-5 mg | GLYXAMBI TAB 10-5 MG (empagliflozin-linagliptin) (brand) |
| GLYXAMBI 25-5 mg | GLYXAMBI TAB 25-5 MG (empagliflozin-linagliptin) (brand) |
| SOLIQUA INJ 100/33 | insulin glargine-lixisenatide (brand) |
| SYNJARDY | empagliflozin-metformin (brand) |
| TRIJARDY XR | empagliflozin-linagliptin-metformin (brand) |
| XIGDUO XR | dapagliflozin-propanediol-metformin (brand) |
| metformin 500 mg | metformin hcl tab 500 mg (generic) |
| metformin 850 mg | metformin hcl tab 850 mg (generic) |
| metformin 1000 mg | metformin hcl tab 1000 mg (generic) |
| metformin soln 500 mg/5ml | metformin hcl oral solution 500 mg/5 ml |
| MOUNJARO (tirzepatide) | MOUNJARO INJ (various strengths) |
| OZEMPIC (semaglutide) | OZEMPIC INJ (various strengths) |
| RYBELSUS (semaglutide tabs) | RYBELSUS TAB (3,7,14 mg) |
| TRULICITY (dulaglutide) | TRULICITY INJ (various strengths) |
| AFREZZA | AFREZZA inhaled insulin (various unit sizes) |
| FIASP (insulin aspart) | FIASP injectable formulations |
| LANTUS (insulin glargine) | LANTUS INJ 100/ML |
| HUMULIN R U-500 | HUMULIN R INJ U-500 |
| FARXIGA (dapagliflozin) | FARXIGA TAB 5 & 10 MG |
| JARDIANCE (empagliflozin) | JARDIANCE TAB 10 & 25 MG |
| glimepiride 1 mg | glimepiride tab 1 mg (sulfonylurea) |
What Providers Must Do
Prior Authorization, Quantity Limits, Step Therapy — follow PA/ST/QL process
Sharp Health Plan uses common formulary controls: Prior Authorization (PA), Quantity Limits (QL), and Step Therapy (ST). Prescribers must request PA or Step Therapy Exceptions when a drug row is marked with PA, PA**, or ST. PA requests will be approved or denied within 72 hours for non‑urgent requests (24 hours for urgent/exigent).
- Request PA by phone, fax, or electronic PA form and include supporting clinical information.
- If PA/Step Therapy Exception is incomplete, the plan will request missing information within 72 hours (24 hours exigent).
- If Sharp fails to respond within the timelines for a completed request, the request is deemed granted.
PA required for drugs marked 'PA' or 'PA**'
Prior Authorization is required before Sharp Health Plan will cover drugs labeled 'PA' on the formulary; PA** denotes PA if Step Therapy is not met (providers may still request PA when medically necessary).
- Providers must submit PA when a product row shows 'PA' or 'PA**'.
- PA decisions: 72 hours non‑urgent, 24 hours urgent/exigent.
Obtain PA for Brand‑Name or reference biologic when generic/interchangeable available
When a generic equivalent exists, the dispensing pharmacy must dispense the generic unless the prescriber obtains prior authorization for the Brand‑Name; similarly, pharmacies may be required to dispense an interchangeable biologic unless PA for the reference biologic is obtained.
- If requesting the Brand or reference biologic instead of the generic/interchangeable product, submit PA demonstrating medical necessity.
- Failure to obtain PA may result in the pharmacy dispensing the generic/interchangeable product.
PA required to dispense Brand‑Name or reference biologic
Prior authorization is required to dispense Brand‑Name drugs in lieu of an available generic or to receive a reference biologic instead of an interchangeable biological product; pharmacies are required to substitute unless PA is obtained.
- Prescribers seeking Brand or reference biologic must submit PA supporting medical necessity.
- Pharmacy will fill generic/interchangeable if PA not approved.
Amphetamine/stimulant prescriptions: PA, QL, and age documentation
Many amphetamine and stimulant products require prior authorization and are subject to quantity limits; PA is commonly required for members age ≥19 and prescribers must document patient age in PA requests.
- Examples of QL: 360 tabs every 75 days, 180 caps every 75 days, 540 tabs every 75 days for certain methylphenidate formulations.
- PA documentation must include the patient's age when age‑based PA applies (age ≥19).
Opioid ER: Step Therapy prior use requirement
Certain extended‑release opioid (OPIOID ER) products require step therapy: coverage is provided only when the member has prior opioid exposure (cumulative ≥7 days IR within past 90 days OR cumulative ≥30 days ER within past 90 days) or when step criteria are otherwise met.
- If step criteria are not met, prescribers must submit PA/Step Therapy Exception with documentation of prior opioid use per the specified timeframe.
- Opioid ER claims may be denied without prior exposure documentation.
PA required for many listed stimulant and anti‑obesity products
Prior authorization is required for the majority of listed amphetamine, anti‑obesity, ADHD, and related products; review each formulary row and submit PA when the COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS field shows 'PA'.
- Providers should confirm QL and age limits on the product row when submitting PA.
- PA decisions follow standard timelines (72/24 hours).
WAKIX: Specialty pharmacy routing + PA + QL (2 tabs/day)
WAKIX (pitolisant) is designated SP (specialty), requires prior authorization, and is subject to a quantity limit of 2 tablets per day; dispense only via specialty channel unless authorized otherwise.
- Submit PA for WAKIX and ensure specialty pharmacy routing.
- Quantity limit: 2 tabs every 1 day as listed.
Methylphenidate/stimulant PA and QL for adults (age ≥19)
Many methylphenidate formulations require prior authorization for members age ≥19 and are subject to quantity limits; prescribers must include age and supporting information in PA requests.
- QL examples for methylphenidate: 540 tabs/75 days, 270 tabs/75 days, 90 tabs/75 days, and liquid mL limits (e.g., 5400 mL/75 days).
- PA required for members age greater than or equal to 19.
Specialty drugs: SP designation requires specialty routing + PA (+ QL)
Specialty products (SP) require specialty pharmacy routing and prior authorization; many SP products also carry quantity limits and must be dispensed through the plan’s specialty channel (e.g., tobramycin nebulizer solutions, upadacitinib, apremilast).
- Submit PA and follow specialty pharmacy site‑of‑care requirements (30‑day supply limits per specialty policy).
- Include documentation to satisfy QL and SP routing in the PA request.
PA required for many opioid ER/patch/high‑strength formulations
Prior authorization is required for many extended‑release, patch, and high‑strength opioid formulations; high‑strength products are specifically labeled 'High Strength Requires PA' on product rows.
- Prescribers must document prior opioid therapy and clinical justification when requesting PA for high‑strength products.
- Some ER/patch strengths are also subject to step therapy (ST) or PA**.
PA required for buprenorphine/belbuca and other opioid products
Prior authorization (PA or PA**) is required for many opioid and related products including specific strengths of buprenorphine/belbuca patches and films; high‑strength buprenorphine products also require PA.
- BUprenorphine patches/films: check product row for ST/PA/PA** and QL before dispensing.
- Provide documentation of medical necessity for high‑strength buprenorphine products when submitting PA.
Submit PA where the formulary row indicates 'PA'
Medications labeled with 'PA' in the Coverage Requirements and Limits column require prior authorization before coverage; review product rows (examples include testosterone products and others) and submit PA when indicated.
- Examples: methyltestosterone 10 mg and several testosterone gels list PA and MO.
- Follow the PA submission process and include requested supporting documentation.
PA required for select antiarrhythmics (e.g., dofetilide)
Select antiarrhythmic agents (e.g., dofetilide) carry specialty (SP) and prior authorization flags; submit PA and anticipate specialty routing for these agents.
- Dofetilide capsule strengths (125, 250, 500 mcg) require SP and PA.
- Include clinical justification and any site‑of‑care instructions in the PA.
PA required when requests exceed quantity limits or MO notes
Several products include explicit quantity limits (QL) or 'MO' notes; requests that exceed QL or initial supply limits require prior authorization and may be denied if limits are not met.
- Examples: inhalers QL (e.g., 180 inhalations/75 days), methylphenidate QLs, and OTEZLA QL (55 tabs/28 days).
- If requesting quantities beyond QL, submit PA documenting medical necessity.
PA/SP/QL required for vigabatrin (VIGADRONE)
Vigabatrin (powder pack/tab 500 mg; VIGADRONE) is designated SP, requires prior authorization, and is subject to a quantity limit (6 packets/tabs every 1 day); submit PA with specialty routing and documentation.
- VIGADRONE and generic vigabatrin rows: SP, PA, QL (6 packets or tabs every day).
- Specialty PA submission required for coverage.
PA/SP/QL required for zuranolone (ZURZUVAE) caps
Zuranolone (ZURZUVAE) products are designated SP, require prior authorization, and are subject to quantity limits (1–2 caps per day depending on listing); submit PA including specialty routing and requested QL.
- ZURZUVAE 20 mg: SP, PA, QL = 2 caps every 1 day; other ZURZUVAE listing: SP, PA, QL = 1 cap every 1 day.
- Include clinical justification in the PA for zuranolone.
PA and QL requirements for select neuroactive and injectable specialty drugs
Certain neuroactive agents and select specialty products require PA plus QL and specialty routing (e.g., zuranolone, vigabatrin, selected incretin mimetics); submit PA with documentation of indication and requested quantity limits.
- GLP‑1/dual agonists (tirzepatide, semaglutide, dulaglutide) list PA (and often MO); submit PA for these injectable agents.
- Provide required clinical documentation and route to specialty pharmacy when SP is indicated.
PA required for many GLP‑1 receptor agonists and tirzepatide
Many GLP‑1 receptor agonists and tirzepatide products (e.g., MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, RYBELSUS, TRULICITY) require prior authorization per the formulary listings; submit PA for these incretin mimetic agents.
- Injectable GLP‑1s are often also labeled MO; include documentation if medical override applies.
- Prescribers should follow PA process for all listed GLP‑1/dual agonist strengths.
Step Therapy: follow ST rules and submit exceptions when justified
Formulary contains step therapy rules and class‑specific tables; drugs marked 'ST' require trial of preferred alternatives first and providers may request Step Therapy Exceptions with clinical justification.
- Step Therapy Exception requests follow the PA process and are reviewed within 72 hours (24 hours exigent).
- Continuity of care from a prior insurer may exempt a member from Step Therapy.
Weight‑loss drugs: enrollment in weight‑loss program may be required
Enrollment in a comprehensive weight‑loss program may be required as a Step Therapy requirement prior to or concurrent with coverage of certain weight‑loss drugs when medically necessary for Class III obesity.
- When coverage is provided for Class III obesity, include evidence of enrollment in the weight‑loss program in the PA or Step Therapy Exception request.
- Examples: WEGOVY and phentermine/topiramate products list PA and may require program participation per formulary notes.
Formulary is subject to change — confirm current coverage and PA/ST/QL flags
Document is subject to change and previous versions are no longer in effect; providers should verify current formulary status online (sharphealthplan.com/search-drug-list) to confirm PA/QL/ST requirements before prescribing.
- Sharp will provide 60 days’ notice to members for negative formulary changes.
- Providers should reference the electronic formulary for the most current coverage flags and limits.
Denial risk if PA is not obtained
Failure to obtain required prior authorization when the formulary indicates 'PA' may result in denial of coverage.
- Denials may be appealed; appeal and grievance processes are described in the formulary.
- If PA is denied, the member or provider may file an appeal.
Exclusion categories that can trigger denial — confirm indication
Prescriptions for drugs used for excluded purposes (e.g., cosmetic uses, hair loss, sexual dysfunction, athletic performance, anti‑aging for cosmetic purposes, or non‑covered weight loss) may be denied under the outpatient prescription benefit.
- Exceptions apply when use is medically necessary for diagnosed conditions or required by law.
- Confirm indication in PA submission when coverage for such uses is requested.
Opioid ER step therapy denial risk without documented prior exposure
Opioid ER/ST denials: extended‑release opioid coverage may be denied unless prior opioid exposure criteria are documented (cumulative ≥7 days IR within 90 days OR cumulative ≥30 days ER within 90 days).
- If member lacks prior exposure, consider short‑supply allowance for IR combos (up to a 7‑day supply) where applicable and documented.
- Include dispensing history and dates/quantities in PA to meet step criteria.
Amphetamine PA denial risk for patients age ≥19 — include age in PA
Claims for amphetamine products dispensed to members age ≥19 without prior authorization may be denied; prescribers must document patient age in PA requests.
- Many amphetamine entries explicitly state 'PA Required for age greater than or equal to age 19.'
- Include age and clinical rationale when submitting PA for adult stimulant therapy.
Quantity limits and initial supply limits — PA required if exceeding limits
Requests that exceed listed quantity limits (QL) or initial supply limits (initial 7‑day for adults; 3‑day for age ≤19) may be denied or require PA; prescribers should request PA if larger quantities or longer supplies are clinically necessary.
- Initial supply limits: many immediate‑release opioids subject to 7‑day initial limit; age ≤19 subject to 3‑day initial limit.
- Provide justification for continued supplies beyond initial limits in the PA documentation.
PA/SP requirement for select antiarrhythmics (dofetilide)
Dofetilide and other antiarrhythmics flagged SP/PA require prior authorization and specialty routing; coverage may be denied if PA/SP routing is not followed.
- Dofetilide capsule strengths list SP and PA—submit specialty PA with required clinical information.
- Anticipate specialty site‑of‑care instructions when SP is indicated.
Prescription and PA submission content requirements
Prescriptions must include necessary prescription content (prescriber identity and contact, patient name, drug name, quantity, date, and signature if written); include clinical indication when requested by the enrollee or plan.
- Ensure PA submissions include prescriber contact and relevant clinical documentation to avoid incomplete request processing.
- Incomplete PA/Step Therapy Exception requests will trigger a request for additional information within plan timelines.
How to submit PA and handling of incomplete requests
Prescribers must submit Prior Authorization requests by phone, fax, or electronic form and include supporting clinical documentation; if a request is incomplete, the plan will notify the provider what additional information is needed within 72 hours (24 hours exigent).
- Include clinical history, prior therapies, dates/quantities dispensed, and patient age where relevant (e.g., stimulants, opioids).
- Follow up to ensure PA is completed within the stated decision timeframe.
Pharmacy dispensing rules: generic/interchangeable substitution unless PA obtained
Pharmacy must dispense the generic when a generic equivalent exists unless prior authorization for the Brand‑Name drug is obtained; similarly, pharmacy may be required to dispense an interchangeable biological product unless PA for the reference biologic is obtained.
- If prescriber requires Brand or reference biologic, submit PA showing medical necessity for the non‑preferred product.
- Pharmacies follow substitution rules per formulary unless PA authorizes otherwise.
Documentation expectations for high‑strength opioids and continued supplies
Prescribers should expect to provide specific documentation when requesting PA for high‑strength opioids or continued supplies beyond initial limits, including prior opioid exposure history and clinical justification.
- Document prior opioid fills (dates and days supplied) to satisfy opioid ER step therapy criteria.
- Provide rationale for high‑strength dosing and need for quantities beyond QL in the PA.
PA/SP/QL for vigabatrin and zuranolone — include specialty documentation
PA is required for vigabatrin (powder pack/tab 500 mg, VIGADRONE) and zuranolone (ZURZUVAE) as listed, and these products are designated SP with strict QL; submit specialty PA and include required monitoring/justification.
- Vigabatrin: SP, PA, QL = 6 packets/tabs every day.
- Zuranolone: SP, PA, QL = 1–2 caps per day depending on listing.
Respond to coverage flags (PA, PA**, ST, QL, SP, MO) on product rows
Formulary coverage flags (MO, PA, SP, QL) appear next to product listings; when a product is flagged, providers must supply the documentation appropriate to that flag when requesting coverage.
- MO indicates medical/monitoring/medical‑only conditions — include justification in PA when requested.
- SP requires specialty routing; QL indicates the maximum quantity covered per period.
Ensure prescriptions conform to coverage requirements and QL or submit PA
Prescriptions and PA requests should conform to the listed coverage requirements and quantity limits; nonconforming requests (e.g., quantities above QL, missing PA) can be denied or require PA to override.
- If a request exceeds QL, submit PA with medical necessity for the excess quantity.
- If PA is required per the formulary row, obtain authorization prior to dispensing to avoid denial.
Initial Therapy Requirements
Initial therapy for stimulants
Initial therapy criteria for stimulant products (stimulants are covered when conditions below are met):
Examples: methylphenidate entries show PA and QL values
Initial therapy limits
Initial therapy limits for oral opioids and solutions:
Applies to multiple oral opioid solutions and tablets (see product rows)
Initial supply limits
Initial supply limits applied to many opioid products (operational guidance):
Enforced across multiple product rows; see product QL and PA flags
Step Therapy Rules & Tables
| Step Therapy overview |
|---|
| Sharp Health Plan may require an enrollee to try one or more drugs (a 'step' approach) before the Plan will cover a requested drug; providers may submit a Step Therapy Exception with supporting clinical documentation and the Plan will grant exceptions when criteria are met. |
| Step approach requirement |
|---|
| Drugs marked 'ST' on the Formulary require Step Therapy (trial of a preferred alternative first). Providers may request a Step Therapy Exception via the Prior Authorization process; continuity of therapy from a prior insurer may be honored without requiring step therapy. |
| Weight-loss program requirement |
|---|
| When weight‑loss drugs are covered for Class III obesity, enrollment in a comprehensive weight‑loss program (if covered by the Plan) may be required prior to or concurrent with receiving the prescription drug. |
| Opioid prior exposure requirement |
|---|
| Coverage for extended‑release (ER) opioid agents is provided only if the member has either: (a) filled a cumulative ≥7‑day supply of an immediate‑release opioid within the past 90 days, OR (b) been receiving an extended‑release opioid for a cumulative ≥30 days within the past 90 days. Immediate‑release opioid combination products may be covered for up to a 7‑day supply if no recent cumulative 7‑day opioid supply exists. |
| No explicit step sequences |
|---|
| The Formulary uses ST flags to indicate Step Therapy requirements, but detailed sequential step‑by‑step treatment pathways are not provided in these excerpts; only the presence of ST and instructions for requesting exceptions are shown. |
| Specialty preferred indications noted |
|---|
| Some specialty agents are annotated as 'Preferred for' specific diagnoses (example: RINVOQ and OTEZLA preferred for psoriatic disease or related indications), but the listing does not present an explicit step hierarchy linking these preferred agents to other formulary drugs in this excerpt. |
| ER/transdermal opioid ST |
|---|
| Selected extended‑release and transdermal opioid products are designated ST (step therapy) in the formulary (examples: multiple fentanyl patch strengths and certain morphine ER products); some high‑strength transdermal patches and ER formulations additionally require PA or are identified as high‑strength requiring PA. |
| Step therapy designated products |
|---|
| Multiple products across therapeutic classes are designated ST in the coverage table (examples include certain tramadol ER strengths, acetaminophen/codeine combinations, and buprenorphine patches), indicating that a trial of preferred agents is required before coverage of the listed product. |
| Inhaled agents step edits |
|---|
| Some inhaled agents include QL and MO modifiers (quantity limits and medical/monitoring notes); the formulary instructs to follow configured plan step edits where present (managed edits applied in the pharmacy system). |
| No step sequences specified in section |
|---|
| In portions of the formulary extract only tiering and coverage annotations (PA, SP, QL, MO) are shown; explicit step therapy sequences are not provided in these sections. |
| Step therapy not explicitly detailed |
|---|
| The coverage listings include ST flags and other coverage indicators, but the excerpt does not include detailed step‑therapy sequencing or step order — only coverage flags and per‑product notes are present. |
| PA required for many incretin mimetics |
|---|
| Multiple injectable incretin mimetic agents (GLP‑1 receptor agonists and tirzepatide products such as MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, and liraglutide) are listed with 'PA' (prior authorization) and in some cases 'MO', indicating that prior authorization is required for coverage of these agents. |
Quantity Limits & Examples
Specialty, Mail Order & Retail Routing
Biologics & Interchangeable Products
Background & Scope
This document is the Sharp Health Plan Formulary: a prescription drug list organized by therapeutic classes, drug tiers, and coverage controls. The Formulary describes outpatient drugs covered under the pharmacy benefit and explains core processes such as Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, Quantity Limits, specialty routing, and how to request exceptions. Member resources and operational details (for example, where to locate the electronic drug list and how often the formulary changes) are provided on the plan website and in the Member Handbook.
A Formulary is the plan’s list of covered outpatient prescription drugs, arranged by drug tier and therapeutic category. It indicates which drugs are covered under the pharmacy benefit and the applicable coverage annotations (e.g., PA = Prior Authorization, ST = Step Therapy, QL = Quantity Limit, SP = Specialty). Definitions of these terms and where to find more information are included in the Formulary and Member Handbook.
Key Terms & Symbols
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.