Pharmacotherapy of Arthropathies
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Premera Bluecross Policy 5.01.550 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 5.01.550 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Governs pharmacy and medical coverage for pharmacologic treatments of arthropathies, including agent- and indication-specific medical necessity, site-of-service review, step and preferred-product sequencing, and related prior authorization considerations for Premera Bluecross plans.
Added coverage criteria for Kevzara (sarilumab) for the treatment of adult individuals with polymyalgia rheumatica (PMR).
Updated multiple adalimumab and infliximab product preferred/non-preferred statuses and step therapy requirements.
Added age and weight requirements for numerous agents and indications (e.g., Kevzara PJIA weight 263 kg; multiple agents age requirements for AS, PJIA, RA, PsA).
Updated re-authorization duration of approval from 3 years to 12 months.
Removed note that certain medical necessity criteria do not apply to one Open formulary (Formulary ID: 6062; Rx Plan F1) for Enbrel (etanercept) and Simponi Aria (golimumab) IV.
Updated product formulary statuses and prior authorization requirements for multiple biologic agents (e.g., Cyltezo, Yuflyma, Avsola, infliximab/Remicade) including requirement of inadequate response to preferred products for new starts.
Added coverage criteria for Xeljanz and Xeljanz XR for the treatment of ankylosing spondylitis.
Added coverage criteria for Avtozma (tocilizumab-anoh) IV/SC and added HCPCS code Q5156.
Updated age requirement for Cosentyx (secukinumab) in ankylosing spondylitis from 18 to 12 years or older.
Added tofacitinib and tofacitinib extended-release with the same criteria as Xeljanz products and updated multiple therapies to list these as preferred alternatives where Xeljanz products appeared.
Added multiple HCPCS/Q-codes (Q5137, Q5138, Q9996, Q9997, Q9998, Q9999) to the table.
Coverage Criteria and Clinical Eligibility
Site of Service Administration / Ankylosing Spondylitis criteria (examples from partial content)
Covered when ALL of the following site-of-service or agent-specific criteria are met (policy presents per-agent disease-specific medical necessity rules):
Claims for IV-administered drugs must be processed through the medical benefit (not pharmacy).
Also medically necessary when inpatient admission is imminent in certain situations.
Rheumatologist prescriber/consultation frequently required across agent-specific criteria.
Verify member plan booklet or ID card to determine applicable criteria.
Requests failing to meet SOS criteria may be denied.
Ankylosing spondylitis - examples (Cimzia, Simponi, infliximab)
Agents may be considered medically necessary when ALL of the following are met
Some infliximab products are subject to site-of-service review and may have additional documented trial requirements.
Bimzelx (bimekizumab) for ankylosing spondylitis
Bimzelx may be considered medically necessary when ALL of the following are met
Bimzelx is a second-line IL-17 inhibitor; criteria note does not apply to one custom Open formulary (Formulary ID: 6062).
Cosentyx (secukinumab) for ankylosing spondylitis and enthesitis-related arthritis
Cosentyx may be considered medically necessary when ALL of the following are met
IV formulation of Cosentyx is subject to site-of-service review.
Applies per enthesitis-related arthritis coverage criteria.
Polyarticular Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (JIA)
Coverage depends on line of therapy and prior treatment failures
Certain products (e.g., adalimumab groups) have NDC-specific requirements and custom formulary exceptions.
Refer to policy for exact sequences and NDC-group prerequisites.
Systemic Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (sJIA) - IL-6 inhibitors
Actemra/Avtozma/Tofidence/Tyenne may be considered medically necessary when ALL of the following are met
IV formulations are subject to site-of-service review.
Rheumatoid Arthritis - tiered therapy
Therapy is organized into step therapy tiers with first-line and subsequent lines
Multiple TNF agents and biosimilars are listed as first-line; some IV agents require site-of-service review.
Refer to policy sections for exact sequencing and prerequisite agents.
Rheumatoid arthritis – multiple agents and lines
Covered when ALL of the following are met for specified agents (examples below reflect the tiering rules):
Applies across many listed agents.
Exception for one Open formulary (Formulary ID: 6062) may apply in some historical entries.
IV formulations subject to site-of-service review.
IL-6 inhibitor - Second Line
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
IV formulations are subject to site-of-service review.
Second-line anti-CD20, IL-1, T-cell modulators, and other classes
Covered when ALL of the following are met (class-specific examples):
Second-line per step therapy tiers.
IV formulation subject to site-of-service review.
Janus kinase inhibitors (Olumiant/baricitinib)
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Use of baricitinib in the setting of alopecia is considered cosmetic and not covered.
Non-Radiographic Axial Spondyloarthritis (NRAS) – first and second line
Covered when ALL of the following are met (agent- and line-specific):
Specific agent criteria vary.
Cosentyx IV is subject to site-of-service review.
Polymyalgia Rheumatica (PMR) – Kevzara
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
IL-6 inhibitors listed as first-line for PMR in the policy segment.
Therapy indications and safety considerations
Covered when clinical rationale and standard treatment sequencing apply (descriptive criteria from policy excerpts):
Pediatric infusion requires specialty training and equipment; review limited to >13 years.
Prompt initiation supported by clinical rationale.
Efficacy and safety considerations differ by agent.
Combination therapy often more effective and cost-effective.
Follow product labeling and monitoring recommendations.
Kevzara (sarilumab) - Polymyalgia Rheumatica
Coverage supported when trial evidence demonstrates efficacy and when specific indication criteria are met
Trial evidence supports Kevzara inclusion for PMR.
Kevzara (sarilumab) - Rheumatoid Arthritis (TNF inadequate responders)
Evidence for RA after TNF antagonist inadequate response
Study included 546 individuals; supports use after TNF inadequate response.
Preferred product trial requirement
Coverage of many biologic products depends on prior trials of preferred products and updated preferred/non-preferred designations
Applies to adalimumab and infliximab product groups; effective dates vary.
Eligibility and authorization duration
Updated eligibility conditions and duration limits
See individual agent sections for exact thresholds.
Applies unless otherwise specified.
Updates and historically applied criteria (summary)
Coverage and medical necessity criteria have been updated over time; the current window documents specific 2026 edits and ongoing historical requirements.
Failure to apply plan-specific criteria may lead to denial.
Clarified in 2026 update.
Explicit coverage threshold added in 2026 update.
Aggregated coverage edits and indication-specific requirements
Documented coverage edits and criteria updates include the following agent- and indication-specific rules and prerequisite/step edits:
See related references in policy history.
NDC grouping and effective dates noted in policy updates.
Refer to updates effective Jan 2026 and earlier entries.
Policy history documents effective dates and affected agents.
Check the site-of-service section for applicable criteria.
See PJIA agent-specific sections.
Summary of updated coverage criteria (references only)
Policy updates include revised coverage criteria for multiple biologic and targeted therapies with specific preference, age, weight, and quantity rules.
Updated requirement applies to new starts effective in 2025-2026 updates.
Applies to second-line adalimumab products and expanded agent lists.
Reflects 2026 update.
Quantity limit noted in policy updates.
Updates documented in 2026 policy changes.
The policy's Site-of-Service (SOS) Medical Necessity criteria do not apply to Alaska fully‑insured members; for those members, only the infusion and injection drug medical necessity criteria are used. Providers should verify member plan status (for example, via the member ID card or plan booklet) and refer to the applicable infusion/injection drug criteria rather than the SOS rules when the member is Alaska fully‑insured.
One custom Open formulary (Formulary ID: 6062; Rx Plan F1) has its own medical necessity criteria; members on that formulary follow policy 5.01.647 rather than the criteria in this policy. Check the member's plan booklet or ID card to confirm whether the custom Open formulary applies and direct requests to policy 5.01.647 when applicable.
Uses of the listed agents outside the conditions and combinations specifically described in this policy — including combinations of the listed drugs with one another or indications not outlined here — are considered investigational or not medically necessary and are not covered under this policy.
Use of baricitinib (Olumiant) for the treatment of alopecia is considered a cosmetic indication and is not covered by this policy.
Site-of-service review for infusion/injectable therapies is limited for pediatric individuals younger than 13 years. Because pediatric administration often requires specialty infusion training, equipment sizing, and behavioral supports, the SOS medical necessity review applies only to individuals aged 13 years or older.
The policy explicitly excludes coverage of baricitinib (Olumiant) when used for alopecia; such use is defined as cosmetic and is not covered.
For members covered under the referenced custom Open formulary (Formulary ID: 6062; Rx Plan F1), applicable medical necessity criteria are located in policy 5.01.647. Providers should verify plan applicability and follow policy 5.01.647 for those members.
Use of baricitinib (Olumiant) for alopecia is a cosmetic indication and is not covered under this policy.
This medical policy does not apply to Medicare Advantage; providers should confirm plan type and follow the appropriate Medicare Advantage guidance or plan documents where applicable.
IV-administered drugs described in this policy must be reviewed for medical necessity and billed through the medical benefit (not the pharmacy benefit). Requests for infusion or injectable therapies that do not meet the policy's site-of-service medical necessity criteria will be considered not medically necessary. Hospital-based outpatient administration may be medically necessary for the initial course or re-initiation (up to the first 90 days) when criteria are met, or when no outpatient infusion center is available within 50 miles or a home infusion service will not travel.
For conditions that are approved within this policy, coverage for specific agents still requires documentation that supports the indication and sequence of prior therapy described in the agent-specific criteria (for example, age eligibility, documented inadequate response or intolerance to specified prior agents, and rheumatologist prescribing or consultation). Uses for other conditions or clinically unsupported uses require specific supporting documentation and are otherwise considered investigational or not medically necessary.
Evidence summarized in the policy indicates that TNF‑α inhibitor therapy is generally more effective when used in combination with methotrexate compared with TNF‑α inhibitor monotherapy; combination therapy often yields better clinical outcomes and reduced radiographic progression than monotherapy.
Codes, HCPCS/Q/J/NDC Groups and Quantity Limits
| Actemra (tocilizumab) IV | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| Avsola (infliximab-axxq) | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| Avtozma (tocilizumab-anoh) IV | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| Cosentyx (secukinumab) IV | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| Inflectra (infliximab-dyyb) | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| Infliximab (Janssen -unbranded) | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| Orencia (abatacept) | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| Remicade (infliximab) | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| Renflexis (infliximab-abda) | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| Rituxan (rituximab) | listed agent subject to site-of-service review |
| NDCs starting with 00597 | Specified adalimumab NDC group referenced for certain products (e.g., adalimumab-adbm) |
| NDCs starting with 82009 | Alternate adalimumab NDC group referenced for certain biosimilars |
| NDCs starting with 55513 | Amjevita (adalimumab-atto) NDC group referenced |
| NDCs starting with 72511 | Adalimumab non-preferred NDC group referenced |
| NDCs starting with 83457 | Humira (Cordavis) NDC group referenced |
| NDCs starting with 00074 | Humira (AbbVie) NDC group referenced |
| NDCs starting with 61314 | Hyrimoz (Sandoz) NDC group referenced |
| J0139 | Injection, abatacept (Orencia), 10 mg |
| J1602 | Injection, etanercept (Enbrel), 25mg |
| J1628 | Injection, golimumab (Simponi Aria), 1 mg, for intravenous use |
| J1745 | Injection, infliximab, excludes biosimilar (Remicade or Janssen unbranded), 10 mg |
| J3247 | Injection, secukinumab, intravenous, (Cosentyx) 1 mg |
| J3262 | Injection, tocilizumab (Actemra), 1 mg |
| Q5103 | Injection, infliximab-dyyb, biosimilar (Inflectra), 10 mg |
| Q5104 | Injection, infliximab-abda, biosimilar (Renflexis), 10 mg |
| Q5115 | Injection, rituximab-abbs (Truxima), 10 mg |
| Q5121 | Injection, infliximab-axxq, biosimilar (Avsola), 10 mg |
| Q5133 | Injection, tocilizumab-bavi (Tofidence), biosimilar, 1 mg |
| Q5135 | Injection, tocilizumab-aazg (Tyenne), biosimilar, 1 mg |
| Q5140 | Injection, adalimumab-fkjp, biosimilar, 1 mg |
| Q5141 | Injection, adalimumab-aaty, biosimilar, 1 mg |
| Q5142 | Injection, adalimumab-ryvk, biosimilar, 1 mg |
| Q5143 | Injection, adalimumab-adbm, biosimilar, 1 mg |
| NDCs starting with 55513 | Amjevita (adalimumab-atto) preferred product NDC group as referenced |
| NDCs starting with 72511 | Adalimumab non-preferred NDC group referenced (Biocon/unbranded) |
| NDCs starting with 83457 | Humira (Cordavis) NDC group referenced as non-preferred |
| NDCs starting with 00074 | Humira (AbbVie) NDC group referenced (status changed) |
| NDCs starting with 61314 | Hyrimoz (Sandoz) NDC group referenced |
| J3590 | Unclassified biologics (drug names added to this code as noted) |
| Q5132 | New HCPCS code added (document notes addition) |
| C9166 | New HCPCS code added (document notes addition) |
| Q5133 | New HCPCS code added (document notes addition) |
| J0139 | New HCPCS code added (document notes addition) |
| Q5140 | New HCPCS code added (document notes addition) |
| Q5141 | New HCPCS code added (document notes addition) |
| Q5142 | New HCPCS code added (document notes addition) |
| Q5143 | New HCPCS code added (document notes addition) |
| Q5144 | New HCPCS code added (document notes addition) |
| Q5156 | HCPCS code added for Avtozma (tocilizumab-anoh) IV/SC |
| Q5137 | HCPCS code added (documented in updates) |
| Q5138 | HCPCS code added (documented in updates) |
| Q9996 | HCPCS code added (documented in updates) |
| Q9997 | HCPCS code added (documented in updates) |
| Q9998 | HCPCS code added (documented in updates) |
| Q9999 | HCPCS code added (documented in updates) |
Prior Authorization, Documentation and Denial Risks
Prior authorization not specified in excerpt
This excerpt does not include explicit prior authorization rules for the policy as presented; the document is primarily cross-references and coverage criteria excerpts rather than a standalone prior authorization table.
Prior authorization — not present here
No discrete prior authorization steps or forms are stated in the provided excerpt; providers should not assume specific PA workflows are defined here.
Related policy listing (cross‑reference)
The policy lists numerous related Premera medical policies (e.g., 5.01.607, 5.01.645, 5.01.647) that are referenced for related indications and plan‑specific criteria; providers should consult those policies for cross‑references.
- Related policies include: 5.01.575, 5.01.607, 5.01.628, 5.01.629, 5.01.645, 5.01.647 (Medical Necessity Criteria for Custom Open Formulary).
Prior authorization referenced but not specified
The document references prior‑authorization–type policies and related pharmacotherapy policies but does not specify the PA requirements in this excerpt; providers should check the referenced policies for explicit PA rules.
- References to pharmacologic treatment of psoriatic arthritis and continuity of coverage appear but without PA detail.
Medical necessity and billing pathway
IV‑administered drugs described in this policy must be reviewed for medical necessity and billed through the medical benefit (not pharmacy); site‑of‑service medical necessity criteria apply for many IV agents.
- Claims for IV‑administered drugs should be processed under the medical benefit.
- Site‑of‑service review applies (age and clinical criteria described in policy).
Prior authorization required for listed agents
Many biologic and targeted therapies listed require prior authorization with documentation of prior therapy failures and that the medication is prescribed by or in consultation with a rheumatologist.
- Documentation of inadequate response or intolerance to specified prior agents is required per agent criteria.
- Prescriber specialty (rheumatology) is repeatedly required in agent criteria.
Prior authorization duration — approvals up to 12 months
When drug‑specific coverage criteria and required documentation are met, initial approvals and re‑authorizations may be granted for up to 12 months.
- Initial authorization: up to 12 months.
- Re-authorization: up to 12 months if criteria and documentation show continued clinical benefit.
Prior authorization for newly added agents (example)
The policy has historically added new agents (example: baricitinib/Olumiant in 2018) and such new agents may be subject to prior authorization per the policy when criteria were added.
- 2018 update added Olumiant (baricitinib) criteria — implying PA may apply to newly added agents.
Step/brand therapy and NDC grouping — preferred product trials required
Prior authorization and step/brand therapy require trials of preferred adalimumab and infliximab products per updated preferred/non‑preferred lists; NDC groupings are used to identify preferred products that must be tried first.
- Preferred adalimumab/infliximab products are identified by NDC groupings (e.g., NDCs starting with 00597).
- New‑start rules require trial/failure of preferred products before non‑preferred agents.
Prior authorization and plan verification — check custom formulary
Providers must verify the member's plan — members on a custom Open formulary (Formulary ID: 6062; Rx Plan F1) follow policy 5.01.647 rather than this policy for applicable agents.
- Check member Plan booklet or ID card to determine whether policy 5.01.647 applies.
- Failure to apply the correct formulary policy may affect PA decisions.
HCPCS/J-code additions and updates — use updated codes
The policy documents additions and updates to HCPCS/J‑codes and Q‑codes; providers must use the updated HCPCS/Q codes when submitting claims and authorization requests for affected biologics.
Prior authorization for updated biologic/HCPCS items
Certain newly added or updated biologic products and HCPCS‑coded services (for example Q5156 for Avtozma) were included in the policy and may require prior authorization consistent with the policy coverage criteria.
- Added HCPCS code Q5156 for Avtozma (tocilizumab-anoh).
- Providers should confirm PA requirements for these new codes when requesting authorization.
No step therapy rules included in provided text
No explicit step therapy rules are included in the provided text segment as standalone instructions; the excerpt contains references to step therapy tiers but not a separate step therapy rule table in this excerpt.
Step therapy reference — tiers and sequencing noted
The policy references step therapy tiers and sequencing (e.g., first‑line TNF‑α inhibitors, IL‑6, JAK inhibitors) across indications; providers should follow the agent‑ and indication‑specific sequencing in the policy sections.
- Step therapy tiers are listed per indication (RA, PJIA, AS, NRAS) in the policy.
- Refer to the specific agent section for exact sequencing and prior‑trial requirements.
Step therapy tiers — tiering by indication
Step therapy is tiered by indication — for example, TNF‑α inhibitors are first‑line for polyarticular JIA while IL‑6 inhibitors are first‑line for systemic JIA; providers must follow the indication‑specific sequencing described in each agent section.
- PJIA first‑line includes TNF‑α inhibitors and certain JAK/IL‑6 agents.
- sJIA first‑line lists IL‑6 inhibitors (Actemra, Avtozma, Tofidence, Tyenne).
Step therapy requirements — prior‑failure documentation required
The policy requires documented inadequate response or intolerance to specified prior agents before advancing to later‑line therapies; providers must include prior‑trial details in authorization requests per agent criteria.
- Many agents require failure of baseline csDMARDs (e.g., methotrexate) and specific biologics before approval.
- Baricitinib requires inadequate response to two specified agents and is quantity limited to 30 tablets per 30 days.
Preferred sequencing and combination therapy — start DMARDs early
Clinical guidance in the policy emphasizes initiating DMARD therapy early and using methotrexate in combination with biologics where indicated; this sequencing is reflected in the step therapy structure.
- Initiate DMARDs within three months of diagnosis when appropriate.
- Combination therapy with methotrexate is often recommended and more efficacious than TNF inhibitor monotherapy.
Brand step therapy and exceptions — clinical exceptions allowed
Brand‑level step therapy exceptions are specified for some agents (e.g., exceptions for heart failure, treated lymphoproliferative disorder, prior serious infection or demyelinating disorder) that allow bypassing brand step requirements; document the exception reason when applicable.
- Exceptions to brand step therapy exist for heart failure and previously treated lymphoproliferative disorder for several agents.
- Kevzara PJIA includes exceptions for prior serious infection or demyelinating disorder.
Step therapy and prior agent requirements — historical prerequisite trials
Historically the policy required trials of conventional DMARDs or TNF blockers prior to some agents; several updates retained prior‑trial logic for many agents.
- Policy history shows multiple edits enforcing prior trial/failure sequencing for new starts of biologics.
Step therapy / preferred product trials — adalimumab biosimilars required first
Recent edits require trials of preferred adalimumab biosimilars as required prior agents before non‑preferred adalimumab products; providers should document trials of the specified preferred adalimumab products.
- Preferred adalimumab products now include adalimumab-aaty, adalimumab-adaz, adalimumab-adbm (NDCs starting with 00597).
- Non‑preferred adalimumab products require documented failure of preferred alternatives for new starts.
Preferred adalimumab alternatives — updated preferred list
The policy lists specific preferred adalimumab products (e.g., adalimumab-aaty, adalimumab-adaz, adalimumab-adbm) as preferred alternatives that must be tried prior to certain non‑preferred agents.
- Preferred alternatives are identified by NDC groupings (NDCs starting with 00597).
Prescriber requirement — rheumatologist prescription/consultation
Many agents require prescription by or consultation with a rheumatologist; prescriber specialty is repeatedly added to coverage criteria for multiple indications and agents.
- Prescriber specialty requirement appears for ankylosing spondylitis, RA, PJIA, and other indications.
- Authorization requests should document rheumatologist prescription or consultation.
Required documentation — age, prior therapy, rheumatologist involvement
Authorization requests must include documentation supporting age eligibility, prior inadequate response or intolerance to specified prior therapies, and evidence of rheumatologist involvement.
- Include patient age, prior treatment trials and outcomes, and prescriber consultation notes.
- Office visit notes with diagnosis, relevant history, physical exam and medication history are required.
Required clinical documentation — product/NDC‑specific prior therapy
For certain NDC‑specific adalimumab and infliximab products, documentation must identify the exact product/NDCs tried (NDC groupings are referenced in the policy).
- Providers should document prior trials by product name and NDC grouping when required by the criteria.
- NDC groups referenced include those starting with 00597, 61314, 00074, 55513, etc.
Office visit notes required — diagnosis, history, exam, medication history
Office visit notes that include diagnosis, relevant history, physical evaluation and medication history must be submitted to document that medical necessity criteria are met.
- Ensure notes specifically document inadequate response or intolerance to prior therapies where required.
Age and site‑of‑service documentation — support SOS requests
When requesting site‑of‑service medical necessity (SOS), include documentation supporting the patient's age and the administration site because SOS criteria apply to individuals aged 13 and older.
- Site‑of‑service review is limited for pediatric individuals under age 13; SOS criteria apply for age ≥13.
- Document reasons for hospital‑based outpatient administration if applicable (distance, clinical risk factors).
Supporting clinical trial data — Kevzara evidence may support requests
Clinical trial evidence supporting Kevzara (sarilumab) indications (e.g., ACR20/DAS28‑CRP endpoints and sustained remission at 52 weeks for PMR) may be included as supporting rationale when requesting coverage for Kevzara.
- Kevzara demonstrated higher sustained remission at 52 weeks in PMR (28.3% vs 10.3% placebo).
- Kevzara Study 2 showed improved DAS28‑CRP outcomes in TNF‑refractory RA.
Prescriber specialty and prior therapy documentation — include specialty and history
Prescriber specialty and prior treatment history have been added historically as required documentation elements for multiple agents; include prescriber specialty and prior therapy details in requests.
- Policy history documents addition of prescriber specialty requirements across many agents and indications.
- Include prior treatment history chronologically with response details.
Non‑formulary exception duration and plan applicability — exceptions up to 12 months
Non‑formulary exception authorizations for drugs in this policy may be approved for up to 12 months; providers should check the member's plan booklet or ID card to determine applicability and duration.
- Non‑formulary exceptions: may be approved up to 12 months per 2025 updates.
- Verify member plan for custom formulary applicability.
Document prior therapy and response — include trial details and outcomes
Authorization requests must document prior use and inadequate response or intolerance to preferred alternatives when required by updated criteria (for example, required failures of preferred infliximab or adalimumab products for new starts).
- New starts of certain infliximab and adalimumab products require documentation of inadequate response/intolerance to preferred products.
- Include dates, dosages, and reasons for discontinuation of prior therapies.
Denial risk — site‑of‑service not meeting SOS criteria
Administrations billed at sites that do not meet the policy's site‑of‑service criteria are considered not medically necessary; lack of SOS documentation may trigger denial.
- Site‑of‑service criteria specify clinically supported reasons for hospital‑based outpatient administration (initial course, re‑initiation after ≥6 months, distance >50 miles, clinical risk factors).
Denial risk — missing rheumatologist prescription/consultation
Failure to document that the medication is being prescribed by or in consultation with a rheumatologist may lead to denial for many agents, as prescriber specialty is required across multiple criteria.
- Document rheumatologist prescription or consultation in the medical record submitted for review.
Denial risk — site‑of‑service review for specified IV agents
Requests for certain IV agents (e.g., infliximab products, Actemra IV, Orencia IV, Simponi Aria IV) are subject to site‑of‑service review; failure to justify the SOS or provide required SOS documentation may result in review or denial.
- Providers must document why IV administration in a hospital‑based outpatient setting is medically necessary when requested.
- Examples of agents subject to SOS review are listed in the policy's drugs‑subject table.
Denial risk — investigational or not medically necessary uses
Uses of agents for conditions or combinations not outlined in this policy are considered investigational or not medically necessary and may be denied.
- All other uses of the listed agents when used in combination or for conditions not in the policy are considered investigational/Not Medically Necessary.
Denial risk — site‑of‑service age trigger (under 13)
Site‑of‑service medical necessity requests for individuals under age 13 may be limited or denied because site‑of‑service review is restricted to individuals aged 13 years or older.
- Pediatric infusion care requires specialty training; SOS review is limited to age ≥13.
Denial risk — formulary applicability and wrong policy applied
If a member is covered under a custom Open formulary that follows policy 5.01.647, use of adalimumab products may be subject to different criteria; applying the wrong policy for that member may result in denial.
- Check member Plan booklet or ID card to confirm whether policy 5.01.647 applies.
- Applying this policy instead of the plan‑specific policy can affect coverage decisions.
Denial risk — SOS exception for Alaska fully‑insured members
SOS medical necessity criteria do not apply to Alaska fully‑insured members per Alaska HB 226; failing to account for this plan exception when requesting SOS coverage for Alaska fully‑insured members may affect authorization outcomes.
- For Alaska fully‑insured members, only the infusion drug medical necessity criteria applies per the referenced legislation.
- Verify member's state and insurance type before SOS requests.
Denial risk — formulary‑specific criteria may trigger denial
Members on the referenced custom Open formulary (Formulary ID: 6062; Rx Plan F1) follow policy 5.01.647; misapplying this policy instead of 5.01.647 may trigger denial because formulary‑specific criteria differ.
- Providers should verify member's formulary and follow the applicable policy for PA and coverage.
Re‑authorization duration — approvals limited to 12 months
Re‑authorization duration was updated to 12 months (reduced from 3 years); requests exceeding the authorized duration or lacking documentation of continued benefit may be denied.
- Re‑authorizations: up to 12 months when criteria are met and documentation shows continued clinical response.
- Ensure renewal requests include evidence of ongoing benefit.
Background, Definitions and Clinical Context
This excerpt is primarily composed of cross‑references and an index of updates; it also lists the 2026 edits (including formulary/status changes and site‑of‑service clarifications) rather than extensive clinical background. See the policy's update history for specific operational and coding changes.
Policy Changes and Revision History
Site-of-service age criterion clarified: site-of-service review is limited to individuals age 13 years and older due to pediatric infusion care requirements.
Added coverage criteria for Kevzara (sarilumab) for the treatment of adult individuals with polymyalgia rheumatica (PMR) supported by randomized trial data.
Updated preferred and non-preferred adalimumab biosimilars and listed preferred infliximab products with effective date 01/01/2024 for trial requirements prior to non-preferred agents.
Effective January 2, 2026, multiple adalimumab and infliximab product statuses were updated (Cyltezo moved to non-preferred; Yuflyma and others moved among preferred/non-preferred) and new inadequate-response requirements for certain infliximab new starts were implemented.
Re-authorization duration of approval was updated from 3 years to 12 months for covered agents.
Multiple agents and indications were updated to include age and weight requirements (examples include Kevzara PJIA weight and age requirements across agents).
2026 updates removed the custom Open formulary exception note for Enbrel and Simponi Aria and clarified Simponi Aria PJIA concurrent start language and Kevzara PJIA weight threshold.
Interim review added prescriber specialty and expanded PJIA initiation options for several agents; updates to prerequisite trials and prescriber requirements recorded.
Infliximab (Janssen unbranded) and Inflectra placement adjusted and prerequisite trial requirements for infliximab products were updated; Xeljanz coverage for ankylosing spondylitis was added.
Added Avtozma (tocilizumab-anoh) IV/SC and HCPCS code Q5156; updated multiple preferred alternatives and inadequate-response requirements effective January 2, 2026.
Updated Cosentyx age requirement for ankylosing spondylitis (18 to 12 years), updated preferred alternative lists to include adalimumab products with NDCs starting 00597, and added quantity limits for Olumiant; several HCPCS/Q-codes were added to the coding table.
Updated re-authorization duration from 3 years to 12 months and noted that non-formulary exception authorizations may be approved up to 12 months.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.