Bruton Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitors (BTK inhibitors)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Premera Bluecross Policy 5.01.590 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 5.01.590 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Pharmacy coverage policy for Bruton Tyrosine Kinase inhibitors intended to guide pharmacy prior-authorization and utilization management, including agent-specific criteria, dose and quantity limits, and initial/re-authorization durations.
Updated initial authorization duration for most BTK agents (Brukinsa, Calquence, Imbruvica, Jaypirca) from 3 months to 6 months and for Rhapsido and Wayrilz to 12 months.
Added a dose limitation for Brukinsa (zanubrutinib) limiting dosage to 320 mg daily.
Added coverage criteria for Wayrilz (rilzabrutinib) for adults with persistent or chronic immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) with insufficient response to prior treatment.
Updated coverage criteria for Rhapsido (remibrutinib) based on phase 3 REMIX trials for chronic spontaneous urticaria (CSU).
Clarified that medications listed are subject to FDA dosage and administration prescribing information and that non-formulary exception authorizations may be approved up to 12 months.
Updated Jaypirca (pirtobrutinib) criteria for relapsed or refractory CLL/SLL removing the requirement of 2 prior lines of therapy including a BCL-2 inhibitor.
Updated Imbruvica (ibrutinib) coverage criteria to limit use to adults and adjusted chronic graft-versus-host disease age criteria to 1 year and older.
Added or updated dose/quantity limits: Brukinsa (zanubrutinib) dose limited to 320 mg daily and quantity limited to 60 tablets per 30 days; Wayrilz (rilzabrutinib) quantity limited to 60 tablets per 30 days; Imbruvica tablet/capsule/suspension quantity limits added.
Coverage Criteria
Initial Therapy — Brukinsa (zanubrutinib)
Brukinsa (zanubrutinib) — Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial authorization duration per policy update: 6 months for Brukinsa.
Initial Therapy — Calquence (acalabrutinib)
Calquence (acalabrutinib) — Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial authorization duration per policy update: 6 months for Calquence.
Initial Therapy — Imbruvica (ibrutinib)
Imbruvica (ibrutinib) — Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial authorization duration per policy update: 6 months for Imbruvica; quantity limits added per 30 days.
Initial Therapy — Jaypirca (pirtobrutinib)
Jaypirca (pirtobrutinib) — Covered when ALL of the following are met
Policy history: requirement for 2 prior lines including a BCL-2 inhibitor was removed for certain CLL/SLL criteria per updates.
Initial Therapy — Rhapsido (remibrutinib)
Rhapsido (remibrutinib) — Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial authorization duration per policy update: 12 months for Rhapsido.
Initial Therapy — Wayrilz (rilzabrutinib)
Wayrilz (rilzabrutinib) — Covered when ALL of the following are met
See non-hematology and hematology-specific dosing nodes for dose differences.
Wayrilz — non-hematology indication
Covered when ALL of the following are met for non-hematology immune/dermatology indication (Wayrilz 25 mg BID):
Wayrilz — ITP (hematology) indication
Covered when ALL of the following are met for Wayrilz in persistent or chronic immune thrombocytopenia (hematology indication):
Investigational uses
Investigational / Not covered
Selected indication evidence and related coverage in this document portion
Coverage is informed by FDA-approved indications and pivotal trial evidence; selected examples from this part of the policy:
Supports coverage for previously treated MCL per label when criteria met.
Initial authorization updated to 12 months for Rhapsido per 2026 review.
The extracted policy text in this section cross-references other Premera drug approval policies but does not list additional explicit coverage exclusions beyond those detailed for individual agents. See agent-specific criteria for contraindications, dosing, and quantity limits. Providers should follow referenced policies (for example, Policy 5.01.556 and Policy 5.01.566) where applicable when evaluating coverage for related therapies.
For agents used to treat chronic spontaneous urticaria or related dermatologic/allergic conditions (for example remibrutinib/Rhapsido and rilzabrutinib/Wayrilz in non-hematology indications), the policy expressly prohibits concurrent use with dupilumab (Dupixent) or omalizumab (Xolair) when those agents are being used to treat chronic urticaria. Related medical policies (5.01.513 and 5.01.575) were added to the policy cross-reference list in the 2026 update.
Safety-related exclusions specified in the agent criteria include concurrent use with antiplatelet or anticoagulant therapy, a documented bleeding disorder (examples cited: hemophilia A or B, von Willebrand Disease, Factor XI deficiency), and hepatic impairment. These conditions are listed as exclusions from meeting the medical necessity criteria for the affected indications and may require specialist prescribing or consultation per the drug-specific criteria.
Per the 2023 policy review, Imbruvica (ibrutinib) indications for Mantle Cell Lymphoma (MCL) and Marginal Zone Lymphoma (MZL) were removed from this policy to align the policy with contemporaneous FDA label changes.
This medical policy is a guide for determining medical necessity and does not apply to Medicare Advantage plans. Providers and reviewers must verify member-specific benefit limitations by consulting the member benefit booklet or contacting customer service.
Within the excerpted document text there are no explicit generic statements labeled 'not medically necessary' beyond the investigational-use language; individual agent criteria and exclusions define when therapy does not meet medical necessity.
The policy states that all other uses of the medications listed are considered investigational. That investigational classification informs coverage decisions for indications not explicitly enumerated in the drug-specific criteria.
Consistent with the policy language, investigational uses are treated as not meeting the drug-specific medical necessity criteria; where an indication is not listed in the criteria the medication is considered investigational and therefore would not be approved under this policy absent an exception.
Initial Therapy — Drug Specific Criteria
Initial Therapy — Drug-specific
Initial authorization rules per drug and indication
Prior authorization is required through the pharmacy benefit; documentation of age, diagnosis, prior therapies, and specialist prescribing as applicable should be submitted.
Wayrilz initial therapy
Initial authorization requirements for Wayrilz
Initial therapy evidence nodes
Initial therapy evidence summaries from pivotal trials inform coverage for specific indications.
BGB-3111-206 and BGB-3111-AU-003 support efficacy in previously treated MCL.
Initial authorization durations
Initial authorization duration updates for agents in this policy
Re-authorization and Continuation Criteria
Re-authorization
Re-authorization
Providers should submit office visit notes documenting diagnosis, relevant history, physical evaluation, medication history, and objective evidence of clinical benefit.
Re-authorization rules
Re-authorization rules
Authorization duration updates
Continuation/initial authorization durations updated in 2026 review.
Operational change affecting pharmacy prior authorization durations.
What Providers Must Do
Prior authorization applies
This policy is applied to pharmacy-managed Bruton Tyrosine Kinase (BTK) inhibitors and is used in prior authorization decisions for the agents listed in the policy; providers must initiate prior authorization through the pharmacy benefit when requesting coverage for these medications.
- Prior authorization is required for BTK inhibitors per this medical policy.
- Provider should submit PA requests via the pharmacy benefit channel.
Prior authorization referenced but not specified
The document references prior authorization routing and related Premera drug approval policies but does not provide a single, concrete PA form or code-specific checklist in this excerpt; providers should note the policy refers to other Premera policies for related approval details.
- Policy text repeats cross-references to related policies (e.g., 5.01.556, 5.01.566) for related approval context.
Prior authorization cross-reference
Prior authorization requests may be routed or interpreted in conjunction with Premera related drug approval policies (e.g., 5.01.556 and 5.01.566) as referenced in the policy text; providers should be aware approvals may be guided by those related policies.
- Cross-reference to Premera policies 5.01.556 and 5.01.566 is present in the policy text.
Prior authorization required
Prior authorization is required and approval is contingent on documentation that the patient meets age- and indication-specific criteria (including any required prior therapies or prior BTK inhibitor exposure) and that dose and quantity limits in the policy are followed.
- Submit documentation that the individual meets the drug-specific indication (age, diagnosis, prior therapies).
- Ensure requested dosing and quantity do not exceed policy limits (e.g., Brukinsa dose limit and quantity limits).
Prior authorization via pharmacy benefit
Requests for medications in this policy must be processed through the pharmacy benefit; approvals are granted for specified initial durations per drug and re-authorization is contingent on meeting drug-specific continuation criteria.
- PA through pharmacy benefit; managed through pharmacy benefit.
- Re-authorization contingent on meeting drug-specific criteria and documented clinical response.
Initial authorization duration updates
Initial authorization durations were updated in the 2026 review: most BTK agents (Brukinsa, Calquence, Imbruvica, Jaypirca) now have a 6-month initial authorization; Rhapsido and Wayrilz initial authorizations are 12 months.
- Initial authorization: Brukinsa, Calquence, Imbruvica, Jaypirca — up to 6 months.
- Initial authorization: Rhapsido, Wayrilz — up to 12 months.
Prior authorization and initial authorization durations
Prior authorization is required for BTK inhibitors under this medical policy and initial authorization durations were revised (most agents to 6 months; remibrutinib and rilzabrutinib to 12 months); providers should request the appropriate initial length per agent when submitting PA.
- When submitting PA, indicate the agent-specific requested initial authorization length consistent with the policy update.
Provider submission and supporting documentation
Providers must submit prior authorization requests with documentation supporting the medical necessity criteria described in the policy (diagnosis, prior therapies, age, dosing, and quantity) — see the Documentation Requirements section for specifics.
- Include office visit notes documenting diagnosis, relevant history, physical exam, and medication history.
- Attach documentation of prior therapies or prior BTK exposure when required by the agent-specific criteria.
No step therapy rules stated
The provided policy text does not state any step therapy (fail-first) program rules beyond agent-specific prior therapy requirements; there are no general step-therapy sequences specified in this excerpt.
- No universal step therapy rules are specified; follow the agent-specific prior therapy requirements in each drug section.
No step therapy requirements specified
No additional step therapy requirements are specified in the extracted text; approvals depend on meeting the specific prior-therapy criteria listed under each agent rather than a single step-therapy policy.
- Check each drug’s criteria for required prior lines or failures rather than expecting a centralized step therapy table in this excerpt.
Prior therapy requirements
Some indications require documented prior lines of therapy before coverage is approved — for example, Brukinsa for MCL requires at least one prior therapy and Jaypirca for MCL requires prior systemic therapies and prior BTK exposure per the agent criteria.
- Document prior treatments (e.g., prior anti-CD20 regimen for MZL, prior chemotherapy for MCL) when applicable.
- For Jaypirca in MCL, document prior systemic therapies and prior BTK inhibitor exposure.
Prior therapy requirement for Wayrilz (ITP)
For Wayrilz when used for ITP, the policy requires documentation that the individual had an insufficient response to corticosteroids, immunoglobulins, rituximab, or splenectomy before approval.
- Provide records showing inadequate response to corticosteroids, IVIG, rituximab, or splenectomy.
Step/staged therapy expectations
Policy references prior therapies consistent with labeled indications and trial populations (e.g., Brukinsa after at least one anti-CD20 regimen for MZL; Rhapsido after failure of 2 H1 antihistamines and omalizumab for CSU); providers must document these prior therapy failures per the listed criteria.
- For Rhapsido (CSU): document failure/intolerance to at least 2 high-dose H1 antihistamines and inadequate response/intolerance to omalizumab.
- For Brukinsa (MZL): document prior anti-CD20-based regimen (e.g., rituximab).
Step/previous therapy notes
Agent-specific prior therapy notes are present and have been updated in some cases (for example, Jaypirca criteria were revised to remove a prior BCL-2 inhibitor requirement for relapsed/refractory CLL/SLL); providers must follow the current agent criteria in the policy when documenting prior therapies.
- Confirm the current published agent-specific prior therapy requirements in the policy history and document accordingly.
Re-authorization documentation required
Re-authorization requires submission of chart notes demonstrating continued positive clinical response to therapy; include follow-up visit documentation showing clinical benefit.
- Provide recent chart notes documenting clinical response to therapy at re-authorization.
- Re-authorizations may be approved up to 12 months when criteria are met.
Required medical record documentation
Submit office visit notes that include the diagnosis, relevant history, physical evaluation, and medication history to support medical necessity and the prior authorization request.
- Office visit notes must document diagnosis, history, physical exam, and medication history.
Required documentation — follow FDA prescribing information
Prescribers must follow the product's FDA prescribing information; documentation submitted with PA should support the diagnosis, prior therapies, and that the patient meets the drug-specific indication (examples cited in the policy: prior anti-CD20 therapy for MZL; insufficient response to prior ITP therapy for Wayrilz).
- Follow FDA dosing and administration guidance.
- Include documentation showing the patient meets drug-specific labeled criteria.
Benefit verification prior to PA
Verify member benefits and any plan-specific limitations before submitting a PA; coverage decisions are subject to the member benefit booklet and plan terms and may affect approval.
- Consult the member benefit booklet or contact customer service to confirm coverage limits.
- Policy is a guide; actual coverage depends on member plan terms.
No other provider actions specified here
This section of the document contains no additional provider actions beyond those already specified in the policy excerpts (prior authorization, documentation, and prior therapy requirements); providers should follow the specific drug criteria in the policy when requesting coverage.
- No other provider actions are specified in this portion of the document.
No explicit authorization denial triggers listed
The extracted text does not list explicit automatic denial triggers; however, providers should be aware that failure to meet criteria, safety exclusions, dose/quantity limits, or member benefit restrictions may result in denial.
- No explicit automatic denial triggers are listed in these chunks.
- Denials may occur if criteria, dosing, quantity limits, or plan terms are not met.
No explicit denial triggers stated in chunks
No explicit denial triggers are stated in the provided excerpts; the policy instead cross-references related approvals and requires meeting agent-specific criteria — absence of an explicit trigger in this section does not preclude denials for unmet criteria.
- Providers should not assume that lack of an explicit trigger means approval — verify all listed criteria and plan terms.
Clinical exclusions and specialist prescribing requirements
Ensure the patient does not meet the policy’s clinical exclusions (e.g., on antiplatelet/anticoagulant therapy, has a bleeding disorder, or has hepatic impairment) and that the medication is prescribed by or in consultation with the required specialist (e.g., allergist/immunologist, dermatologist for CSU/non-hematology uses; hematologist/oncologist for ITP).
- Do not prescribe or request coverage if the individual is on antiplatelet/anticoagulant therapy or has a bleeding disorder or hepatic impairment where excluded.
- Ensure prescribing clinician is the required specialist or provides documentation of specialist consultation.
Safety exclusion triggers — may cause denial
Requests that involve use in combination with antiplatelet or anticoagulant therapy, or for individuals with bleeding disorders or hepatic impairment (where excluded), may not meet medical necessity criteria and could be denied.
- Document absence of excluded safety conditions when applicable.
- If the patient has bleeding risk or hepatic impairment, include justification or do not submit a PA if excluded by policy.
Potential denial triggers (dose, duration, quantity)
Potential denial triggers include requests that exceed policy-specified dose limits (for example, Brukinsa above the 320 mg daily limit) or requests for initial authorization durations or quantities that are inconsistent with the updated policy limits.
- Do not request doses above the policy dose limits (e.g., Brukinsa >320 mg daily).
- Ensure requested initial authorization duration and quantity align with the policy updates.
Denial triggers from limits and plan terms
Denials may result from plan limits or member benefit terms; providers must verify member coverage because policy guidance does not override plan-specific benefit limitations.
- Coverage remains subject to member benefit booklet limits and plan terms.
- Confirm benefit applicability prior to prescribing or submitting PA.
Coding
| No codes listed |
Step Therapy and Prior Treatment Requirements
| Requirement | Notes / Evidence |
|---|---|
| Documentation of prior lines of systemic therapy when required by the agent-specific criteria (e.g., Brukinsa for MCL requires ≥1 prior therapy; Jaypirca for MCL requires ≥2 prior systemic therapies). | |
| Documentation of prior exposure to a BTK inhibitor when specified by the agent criteria (e.g., Jaypirca and some Jaypirca/CLL or pirtobrutinib criteria require prior BTK inhibitor exposure). |
| Requirement | Notes / Evidence |
|---|---|
| Must document insufficient response to corticosteroids, immunoglobulins (IVIG), rituximab, or splenectomy prior to approval for Wayrilz when used for ITP. | |
| Wayrilz approval for persistent or chronic ITP was based on LUNA 3 showing durable platelet response (23.3% vs 0% at Week 24); policy requires prior treatment failure before coverage. |
| Policy statement | Supporting trial / label consistency |
|---|---|
| Prior therapy requirements referenced in the policy align with labeled indications and the populations enrolled in pivotal trials (for example, Brukinsa MZL after ≥1 anti‑CD20 regimen). | |
| Rhapsido CSU criteria require failure of ≥2 high‑dose H1 antihistamines and inadequate response to omalizumab, consistent with REMIX-1/2 trial populations; Wayrilz ITP prior-failure requirements reflect LUNA 3 enrollment of patients with prior insufficient response to prior therapies. |
| Agent / Indication | Prior therapy requirement |
|---|---|
| Brukinsa (zanubrutinib) — MCL, MZL | |
| Brukinsa MCL: at least 1 prior therapy; Brukinsa MZL: at least 1 anti‑CD20 regimen (e.g., rituximab). | |
| Jaypirca (pirtobrutinib) — MCL, CLL/SLL | |
| Jaypirca MCL: previously treated after ≥2 lines of systemic therapy and prior BTK inhibitor exposure (agent-specific criteria); Jaypirca CLL/SLL: prior BTK inhibitor exposure required for CLL/SLL indications per policy. | |
| Rhapsido (remibrutinib) — CSU | |
| Rhapsido CSU: failed or intolerant to ≥2 high‑dose H1 antihistamines and inadequate response or intolerance to omalizumab before initiation; specialist prescribing and safety exclusions apply. | |
| Wayrilz (rilzabrutinib) — ITP | |
| Wayrilz ITP: insufficient response to corticosteroids, IVIG, rituximab, or splenectomy required prior to approval; platelet count thresholds specified in policy. |
Quantity and Dose Limits
Background
Bruton’s tyrosine kinase (BTK) inhibitors are oral small-molecule agents that block intracellular BTK signaling pathways important in B‑cell receptor signaling. These agents are used primarily in B‑cell malignancies and, in recent FDA-labeled approvals, select immune-mediated disorders. The policy covers multiple BTK inhibitors and provides agent- and indication-specific criteria reflecting labeled indications, trial evidence, dosing constraints, safety exclusions, and specialist prescribing requirements.
Definitions and Abbreviations
Site of Care
Managed through pharmacy benefit (home)
Site of care: these medications are managed through the pharmacy benefit (home administration/dispense handled via pharmacy processes).
Revision History
New policy created and approved (transferred ibrutinib and acalabrutinib from Policy 5.01.534 and updated indications per labels).
Added criteria for Brukinsa (zanubrutinib) for the treatment of mantle cell lymphoma (MCL).
Added coverage for Jaypirca (pirtobrutinib) for relapsed or refractory MCL and added Brukinsa indication for adults with CLL/SLL.
Annual review updated Jaypirca coverage for certain individuals with CLL/SLL and revised Imbruvica cGVHD pediatric age criteria; added Brukinsa follicular lymphoma indication and clarified FDA dosage/administration applicability and non-formulary exception guidance.
Added coverage for Wayrilz (rilzabrutinib) for adults with persistent or chronic immune thrombocytopenia (ITP) after insufficient response to prior treatment.
Added coverage criteria for Rhapsido (remibrutinib) for chronic spontaneous urticaria (CSU) and removed the prior 2-line plus BCL-2 inhibitor requirement for Jaypirca in relapsed/refractory CLL/SLL.
Initial authorization periods updated: most BTK agents changed from 3 months to 6 months; Rhapsido (remibrutinib) and Wayrilz (rilzabrutinib) initial authorizations updated to 12 months.
Dose and quantity limits updated: Brukinsa dose limited to 320 mg daily and quantity limits added (Brukinsa, Imbruvica, and Wayrilz limited to 60 tablets per 30 days); removed reference to non-formulary exception reviews.
Key operational and clinical changes recorded in the policy history include: updated initial authorization durations in the 2026 review (most BTK agents: 6 months; remibrutinib and rilzabrutinib: 12 months), an added dose limit for Brukinsa (zanubrutinib) of 320 mg daily, added coverage criteria for rilzabrutinib (Wayrilz) for adults with persistent or chronic immune thrombocytopenia (ITP), and inclusion of REMIX trial evidence supporting remibrutinib (Rhapsido) for chronic spontaneous urticaria. Quantity limits (commonly 60 tablets per 30 days) and formulation-specific limits for ibrutinib were also added or updated.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.