Clinical Policy: Dupilumab (Dupixent)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for meridian Policy MDN.CP.PHAR.336 alerts
Get alerted when Policy MDN.CP.PHAR.336 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Clinical coverage and prior authorization criteria for dupilumab (Dupixent) across multiple FDA‑approved and select off‑label indications for Meridian Health Plan Medicaid members and providers.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria Summary
Initial Therapy — Atopic Dermatitis
Covered when ALL of the following are met
See policy dosing table for initial and maintenance doses by age and weight.
Initial Therapy — Asthma
Covered when ALL of the following are met
See policy for exact dosing by age/weight.
Initial Therapy — Chronic Rhinosinusitis with Nasal Polyposis (CRSwNP)
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial Therapy — Eosinophilic Esophagitis (EoE)
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial Therapy — Prurigo Nodularis (PN)
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial Therapy — Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD)
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Provider attestation of concomitant therapy required.
Initial Therapy — Chronic Spontaneous Urticaria (CSU)
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial Therapy — Bullous Pemphigoid (BP)
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial Therapy — Immunotherapy-related Toxicity (off-label)
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Off‑label requests require submission of supporting evidence per policy.
This policy explicitly states that Dupixent (dupilumab) is not authorized for the relief of acute bronchospasm or status asthmaticus. Requests for treatment of acute bronchospasm or status asthmaticus should be denied as these uses are listed in the FDA-approved limitations of use and in the policy’s exclusions.
Non‑FDA approved (off‑label) indications are not covered by this policy unless the request includes sufficient documentation of efficacy and safety consistent with the Meridian off‑label use policy (CP.PMN.53) or applicable evidence-of-coverage documents. The policy lists non‑FDA approved indications as diagnoses for which coverage is not authorized unless such supporting documentation is provided.
Dupixent is contraindicated in members with a known hypersensitivity to Dupixent or any of its excipients. Requests for therapy should be denied if documentation shows a documented allergy or hypersensitivity to the product or its components.
Uses that are non‑FDA approved and are not specifically addressed in this policy are not authorized unless the prescriber provides sufficient supporting evidence per the Meridian Off‑Label Use Policy (CP.PMN.53). For requests falling outside the indications listed in Section III, follow CP.PMN.53 (Medicaid) or the applicable non‑coverage/formulary policy to determine authorization.
Initial Therapy — Indication-specific Rules
Initial therapy — multiple indications
Initial therapy coverage rules are indication-specific and require meeting all listed criteria per indication.
Topical alternatives (informational)
Topical application
Topical application guidance included in appendix
Topical corticosteroid application guidance
Topical application instructions included with product listings
Topical application guidance
Topical medium-potency corticosteroid alternatives and usage instructions
Topical corticosteroid alternatives
Topical application directions provided for listed agents
Therapeutic alternatives
Listed topical medium‑potency corticosteroid options and typical application
Topical alternatives
Topical medium-potency corticosteroids and other topical agents
Topical non-steroidal alternatives
Topical non‑steroidal alternatives
Systemic alternatives
Systemic immunosuppressants and other systemic options
Respiratory inhaled therapies
Respiratory inhaled therapies
Initial dosing
Initial/loading doses vary by indication, age, and weight.
Continuation / Maintenance Therapy
Continuation Therapy — CRSwNP; EoE
Chronic Rhinosinusitis with Nasal Polyposis — continuation criteria (all must be met)
Continuation Therapy — PN, COPD, CSU, BP, Immunotherapy-related toxicity
Continuation criteria (all must be met) for listed indications
Atopic Dermatitis — Continued Therapy
Atopic Dermatitis — Continued Therapy
Asthma — Continued Therapy
Asthma — Continued Therapy
CRSwNP — Continued Therapy
CRSwNP — Continued Therapy
Continuation Therapy — Continuation/renewal requires current therapy or prior approval plus evidence of clinical response and adherence to indication-specific requirements.
Continuation/renewal requires current therapy or prior approval plus evidence of clinical response and adherence to indication-specific requirements.
Maintenance dosing
Maintenance dosing regimens are specified per indication and weight/age group.
Provider Actions, Authorization & Documentation
Prior authorization required
Dupixent requires prior authorization; providers must document that the member meets the policy’s approval criteria to obtain authorization.
- Statement: “Dupixent is medically necessary when the following criteria are met”
- Provider documentation requirement: “Provider must submit documentation (such as office chart notes, lab results or other clinical information) supporting that member has met all approval criteria.”
Prior authorization requirements
Prior authorization requests must demonstrate the member either is currently receiving dupilumab (or previously met initial approval) and show an ongoing clinical benefit; requests must also confirm dupilumab will not be used concurrently with another biologic immunomodulator or a JAK inhibitor and that dosing does not exceed indication‑specific limits.
- Continuation context: currently receiving via Centene benefit or previously met initial approval (e.g., CRSwNP, EoE, PN, COPD, CSU, BP, immunotherapy‑related toxicity)
- Concurrent‑therapy exclusion: “Dupixent is not prescribed concurrently with another biologic immunomodulator … or a Janus kinase (JAK) inhibitor”
- Dose limit requirement: dose increases must not exceed specified per‑indication maximums (examples: 300 mg weekly for EoE; 300 mg every other week for CRSwNP, COPD, PN, BP; CSU age/weight limits)
Therapeutic alternatives — no PA stated
Appendix B lists topical corticosteroid and related topical alternatives but does not include any prior authorization language or PA codes; the appendix is informational only.
- Appendix content: multiple topical corticosteroid agents and formulations are enumerated (Appendix B)
- No PA statements: extracted appendix pages contain no prior authorization instructions or codes
- Purpose: presented as therapeutic alternatives rather than authorization rules
Prior authorization note
The appendix is an enumeration of alternative topical agents and does not provide prior authorization instructions or decision rules for Dupixent.
- Appendix scope: “Appendix B provides a listing of topical corticosteroid agents and formulations…”
- No authorization guidance in appendix pages
Therapeutic alternatives — no PA specified
The appendix content contains no prior authorization codes, criteria, or workflows; providers should not expect the appendix to substitute for the policy’s PA criteria.
- Explicit absence: “No prior authorization codes or requirements are specified in this appendix content”
- Appendix role: lists therapeutic alternatives without authorization instructions
Therapeutic alternatives listing
Appendix B provides a list of therapeutic alternatives (topical corticosteroids and related agents) but does not include prior authorization instructions; use the main policy criteria for PA decisions.
- Appendix listing: multiple topical agents/formulations named (creams, ointments, gels, lotions, solutions)
- Action: follow the main policy for PA determinations rather than appendix entries
Therapeutic alternatives — no PA rule stated
Appendix B enumerates topical corticosteroid alternatives but does not state any prior authorization rules for Dupixent or for the listed agents; the appendix is informational only.
- Appendix B: therapeutic alternatives (topical corticosteroids)
- No PA rule: no prior authorization requirements are stated in these appendix pages
Therapeutic alternatives only
The appendix provides therapeutic alternatives only and does not itself set prior authorization requirements for Dupixent or the listed topical agents.
- Appendix purpose: list of alternatives (medium‑potency and other topical corticosteroids)
- No authorization content present in appendix excerpts
Therapeutic alternatives only
Appendix pages present therapeutic alternatives but include no specific prior authorization codes or requirements; providers must rely on the policy's main criteria for authorization.
- Multiple appendix entries list agents and formulations but no PA codes
- Use main policy criteria (sections I–III) for authorization decisions
Step Therapy & Prior Trials
| Requirement | Notes |
|---|---|
| Prior trial of one medium to very high potency topical corticosteroid within the past year | |
| Prior trial of at least one additional therapy within the past 2 years (one of: generic immunosuppressant if appropriate; topical calcineurin inhibitor; phototherapy; or a phosphodiesterase‑4 inhibitor) |
| Topical alternative | Typical application / notes |
|---|---|
| Amcinonide 0.1% (ointment, lotion) | |
| Apply topically to the affected area(s) BID (where specified in appendix) | |
| Halobetasol propionate 0.05% (Ultravate) (cream, ointment) | |
| Apply topically to the affected area(s) BID (where specified in appendix) | |
| Hydrocortisone valerate 0.2% (cream) | |
| Listed as an alternative in Appendix B; dosing varies/see prescribing information |
| Medium‑potency topical | Formulations / application |
|---|---|
| Fluticasone propionate 0.005% (cream, ointment) | |
| Listed under medium potency topical corticosteroids; apply topically to affected area(s) BID where indicated | |
| Triamcinolone acetonide 0.5% (Aristocort, Kenalog) (cream, ointment) | |
| Listed under medium potency topical corticosteroids; apply topically to affected area(s) BID where indicated | |
| Clocortolone pivalate 0.1% (cream) | |
| Appendix lists 'Apply topically to the affected area(s) BID' for clocortolone in examples |
| Therapeutic alternative | Notes |
|---|---|
| Protopic (tacrolimus) / Elidel (pimecrolimus) | |
| Topical calcineurin inhibitors: apply a thin layer to affected skin BID; children ≥2 years and adults per appendix | |
| Eucrisa (crisaborole) | |
| Topical PDE‑4 inhibitor: apply to affected areas BID; dose limits 'Varies' per appendix | |
| Systemic immunosuppressants (cyclosporine, azathioprine, methotrexate, mycophenolate mofetil) | |
| Listed as systemic alternatives with weight‑based dosing (e.g., cyclosporine 3–6 mg/kg/day, max 300 mg/day) — refer to appendix for specifics |
| Alternative listed | Dosing / application notes |
|---|---|
| Desoximetasone 0.05%–0.25% (Topicort) (cream, ointment, gel, spray) | |
| Appendix shows formulation variants and notes 'Apply topically to the affected area(s) BID' where specified; dose/amount 'Varies' | |
| Mometasone furoate 0.1% (Elocon) (cream, ointment, lotion) | |
| Listed with dosing regimen entries in appendix; dose limit/maximum dose entries vary | |
| Fluocinonide acetonide 0.05% (Lidex, Lidex E) (cream, ointment, gel, solution) | |
| Included in appendix under medium/high potency lists; application instructions provided in appendix rows |
| Alternative (topical or systemic) | Appendix guidance |
|---|---|
| Topical calcineurin inhibitors (tacrolimus, pimecrolimus) | |
| Apply thin layer BID; treatment discontinued if resolution occurs (appendix notes) | |
| Eucrisa (crisaborole) | |
| Apply to affected areas BID; dose limits listed as 'Varies' in appendix | |
| Systemic agents (cyclosporine, azathioprine, methotrexate, mycophenolate mofetil) | |
| Listed with weight‑based dosing and maxima in appendix (e.g., mycophenolate mofetil max 3 g/day; cyclosporine max 300 mg/day) |
| Context | Positioning in stepwise care |
|---|---|
| Dupilumab considered after prior therapeutic steps per indication (e.g., failure of topical corticosteroids plus other listed therapies for atopic dermatitis) | |
| For chronic spontaneous urticaria (CSU), dupilumab has evidence after failure of high‑dose H1‑antihistamines and other step options; omalizumab is positioned in guideline algorithms as a second‑line (or fourth‑line per older guidance) option | |
| Dupilumab should not be prescribed concurrently with another biologic immunomodulator or a JAK inhibitor (contraindication/continuation requirement) | |
| Dose limits apply by indication and age/weight per dosing tables in policy (e.g., CSU and other indications initial loading then maintenance dosing described) |
Key Clinical Thresholds & Coding-related Values
Quantity Limit Notes
Appendices — Therapeutic Alternatives
Therapeutic alternatives appendix — informational, no PA specified
Appendix B lists therapeutic topical corticosteroid alternatives and application directions but does not state prior authorization requirements or codes for those alternatives or for dupilumab within the appendix content.
- Appendix entries frequently state 'Apply topically to the affected area(s) BID' or 'Varies' for dosing.
- Dose limits for listed alternatives refer to prescribing information; the appendix does not impose PA rules.
Appendix B is informational — no PA instructions provided
Appendix B only enumerates alternative topical agents and does not address or modify prior authorization procedures for dupilumab; providers should follow the main policy for PA submission.
- The appendix lists agents and formulations but contains no authorization or documentation instructions.
Therapeutic alternatives — appendix does not specify PA codes
The appendix provides lists of topical alternatives without specifying prior authorization codes or requirements; do not rely on the appendix text for PA coding — use the main policy and payer processes.
Appendix lists alternatives but contains no PA rules
Appendix B lists multiple topical agents and formulations as therapeutic alternatives but does not include prior authorization instructions; reference the main policy for authorization rules.
Appendix listing — no PA rule stated
Appendix content is a therapeutic alternatives listing only and does not impose prior authorization requirements for dupilumab or listed agents—providers should reference the policy body for PA criteria and codes.
Therapeutic alternatives — dosing notes, no PA codes in appendix
Appendix B provides therapeutic alternatives and dosing notes (often 'Refer to prescribing information' for dose limits) but does not list specific prior authorization code requirements within the excerpt.
Reference dosing by indication — cite applicable age/weight regimen in PA
Dosing regimens are specified in the policy by indication and by age/weight categories (see dosing tables); prior authorization requests should reference the applicable dosing schedule for the requested indication.
- Examples: Atopic dermatitis adult initial 600 mg then 300 mg every other week; EoE 300 mg weekly; PN initial 600 mg then 300 mg every other week; CRSwNP 300 mg every other week.
Appendix B: topical application directions — record application frequency when applicable
Appendix B provides topical application instructions (commonly 'Apply topically to the affected area(s) BID'); include topical therapy details if relevant to demonstrating prior trial(s).
- When referencing topical alternatives, note the listed application frequency (BID) and formulation as documented in Appendix B.
Definitions and Clinical Terms
Site of Care Notes
Site‑of‑care — no explicit restriction in extract
No explicit site‑of‑care restriction is stated in the policy extract; home administration is not prohibited in the provided text.
Background
Dupilumab (Dupixent) is an interleukin‑4 receptor alpha antagonist approved for multiple type‑2 inflammatory conditions including atopic dermatitis, certain asthma phenotypes, chronic rhinosinusitis with nasal polyposis (CRSwNP), eosinophilic esophagitis (EoE), prurigo nodularis (PN), COPD with eosinophilic phenotype, chronic spontaneous urticaria (CSU), and bullous pemphigoid. The policy specifies indication‑specific diagnostic criteria, prior‑therapy requirements, and dosing limits for coverage; notable limitation: not for the relief of acute bronchospasm or status asthmaticus.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.