EmblemHealth Local 246 Medicare Prescription Drug Formulary (partial)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all EmblemHealth policy alerts
Know when EmblemHealth releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document is the plan formulary describing covered prescription drugs, tiers, utilization management (e.g., prior authorization, quantity limits, step therapy), and member services for EmblemHealth Local 246 Medicare prescription drug plan. It affects plan members, prescribing providers, and pharmacies participating with EmblemHealth.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria Overview
General formulary coverage
Covered when meeting plan rules and any indicated utilization management requirements
Not all drugs listed are paid by all plans; consult the member's Certificate of Coverage for benefit-specific coverage and cost-sharing.
Formulary coverage with conditions
Coverage and utilization controls are product-specific and indicated by tags; coverage is conditional based on meeting PA/LA/QL/SP where listed.
Apply the exact Requirements/Limits shown on the specific product line.
Formulary coverage with product-specific utilization controls
Coverage and utilization controls are product-specific as listed below; coverage is subject to prior authorization, quantity limits, step therapy, limited access, and specialty distribution where annotated.
See individual product entries (Requirements/Limits column) for exact PA, QL, LA, SP, and ST values.
Formulary coverage with authorization and limits
Coverage and restrictions as indicated on formulary entries
Providers must follow payer prior authorization processes and adhere to listed quantity limits and site-of-care designations.
Coverage conditional on listed requirements
Coverage entries are provided per drug with any additional requirement flags; coverage is conditional on meeting listed PA/QL/LA/SP requirements where indicated.
Providers must request and obtain PA or meet QL/LA/SP requirements as shown for each product.
Per-product utilization controls
Coverage and utilization controls are defined per product and apply when the product is prescribed for outpatient use.
Follow the exact per-product Requirements/Limits (e.g., QL values, PA/LA/SP flags) listed on the formulary line.
Utilization Management Overview
Coverage and utilization management as listed (PA and/or QL required for specified products).
This formulary excerpt provides administrative flags and quantity values; consult the plan's PA criteria for clinical documentation requirements.
This formulary excerpt is a plan-level drug list and does not guarantee payment for every listed product. Not all drugs in the list are paid for by all drug benefit plans; members and providers must check the member's Certificate of Coverage or benefit summary to confirm coverage, cost-sharing, and any plan-specific restrictions. For questions about a member's drug benefits, contact the phone number on the member ID card or the member portal.
The extracted formulary lines show administrative requirement flags (for example, PA = prior authorization; QL = quantity limit; LA = limited access; SP = specialty). This window does not include explicit clinical determinations that label specific indications as medically necessary or not medically necessary — it only lists products with their associated utilization controls and limits. Apply the per-product requirement flags shown on each drug line when seeking coverage.
Within the provided excerpt there are no explicit medical exclusion statements identifying drugs or indications as categorically not covered for medical necessity reasons. The content is limited to product listings, tiers, and administrative controls; refer to the full plan documents for any formal exclusion language.
No explicit exclusion statements appear in this segment. Individual entries may note no coverage restrictions or may be designated OTC (for example, fluticasone propionate nasal suspension — Requirements/Limits = OTC), but the excerpt does not provide comprehensive exclusion rules.
No specific exclusions are stated in the cited chunks. The material focuses on drug listings, tiers, and utilization controls rather than explicit exclusionary policy statements.
Formulary Coding and Drug Listings
| NDC/strength listings (partial) | Examples listed: amoxicillin (trihydrate) chew tab 125 mg, 250 mg; cap 250 mg, 500 mg; susp 125 mg/5ml, 200 mg/5ml, 250 mg/5ml, 400 mg/5ml; tab 500 mg, 875 mg; amoxicillin & k clavulanate susp 200-28.5 mg/5ml, 250-62.5 mg/5ml, 400-57 mg/5ml; Augmentin ES-600 susp 600-42.9 mg/5ml; amoxicillin & k clavulanate tab 250-125 mg, 500-125 mg, 875-125 mg. |
| No codes listed |
| lamivudine tab 300 mg (Epivir) | Drug line as listed |
| lamivudine tab 300 mg (Epivir) (alternate line) | Listed with QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| lamivudine-zidovudine tab 150-300 mg | QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| LIVTENCITY - maribavir tab 200 mg | QL (120 tablets/30 days), SP |
| lopinavir-ritonavir tab 100-25 mg (Kaletra) | QL (180 tablets/30 days) |
| maraviroc tab 150 mg (Selzentry) | QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| ODEFSEY - emtricitabine-rilpivirine-tenofovir af tab 200-25-25 mg | QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| PAXLOVID - nirmatrelvir & ritonavir pack | Multiple pack sizes with QL (11-20 tablets/30 days) |
| PEGASYS - peginterferon alfa-2a | PA, SP |
| PREVYMIS - letermovir tab 240 mg, 480 mg | QL (200 tablets/365 days) |
| REYATAZ - atazanavir sulfate oral powder packet 50 mg | QL (240 packets/30 days) |
| ritonavir tab 100 mg (Norvir) | QL (360 tablets/30 days) |
| STRIBILD - elvitegrav-cobic-emtricitab-tenofovdf tab 150-150-200-300 mg | QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| TIVICAY - dolutegravir sodium tab 50 mg | QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| ANTIMALARIALS group | Multiple entries (e.g., atovaquone-proguanil (Malarone), chloroquine, hydroxychloroquine) |
| SOLOSEC - secnidazole granules packet 2 gm | Listed without limits |
| linezolid for susp 100 mg/5ml (Zyvox) | Requirements/Limits = PA |
| nitazoxanide tab 500 mg | QL (12 tablets/90 days) |
| VACCINES group | Many vaccines listed with Drug Tier = 2; individual entries include ABRYSVO, AREXVY, COMIRNATY (2025-26), GARDASIL 9, SHINGRIX, SPIKEVAX, etc. |
| XTANDI - enzalutamide tab 80 mg | listed with QL (60 tablets/30 days), LA, PA, SP |
| YONSA - abiraterone acetate micronized tab 125 mg | listed with QL (120 tablets/30 days), LA, PA, SP |
| ZEJULA - niraparib tosylate tab 100 mg/200 mg/300 mg | listed with QL (30 tablets/30 days), PA, SP |
| ZELBORAF - vemurafenib tab 240 mg | listed with QL (240 tablets/30 days), PA, SP |
| ZYDELIG - idelalisib tab 100 mg, 150 mg | listed with QL (60 tablets/30 days), PA, SP |
| ZYKADIA - ceritinib tab 150 mg | listed with QL (90 tablets/30 days), PA, SP |
| MOUNJARO - tirzepatide soln auto-injector (various strengths) | PA, QL (4 pens/28 days or 4 pens/180 days depending on strength) |
| OZEMPIC - semaglutide soln pen-inj (various strengths) | PA, QL (1 pen/28 days or 3 pens/28 days depending on strength) |
| RYBELSUS - semaglutide tab (3 mg, 7 mg, 14 mg) | PA, QL (30 tablets/180 days for 3 mg; 30 tablets/30 days for 7/14 mg) |
| JANUVIA - sitagliptin phosphate tab 25/50/100 mg | QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| N/A | This chunk contains drug names and strength forms; no CPT/HCPCS/ICD codes provided. |
| NDC/HCPCS not listed | No explicit billing codes provided in this segment; only drug names, strengths, tiers, and requirement flags are present. |
| clonidine hcl tab er 12hr 0.1 mg | listed drug presentation |
| dexmethylphenidate hcl cap er 24 hr 5 mg - 40 mg | Focalin XR presentations |
| dexmethylphenidate hcl tab 2.5 mg - 10 mg | Focalin tablets |
| dextroamphetamine sulfate cap er 24hr 5 mg - 15 mg | ER dextroamphetamine presentations |
| dextroamphetamine sulfate oral solution 5 mg/5ml | liquid formulation |
| AUSTEDO - deutetrabenazine 6 mg, 9 mg, 12 mg | tardive dyskinesia therapy |
| AVONEX - interferon beta-1a 30 mcg/0.5ml | MS disease-modifying therapy |
| INGREZZA - valbenazine 40 mg, 60 mg, 80 mg | tardive dyskinesia therapy |
| GILENYA - fingolimod 0.25 mg, 0.5 mg | MS therapy |
| butalbital-acetaminophen 50-325 mg | combination analgesic |
| acetaminophen w/ codeine 300-15 mg, 300-30 mg | narcotic analgesic combinations |
| BELBUCA - buprenorphine buccal film 75 mcg - 900 mcg | opioid analgesic/maintenance therapy |
| aspirin chew tab 81 mg | OTC |
| butalbital-acetaminophen tab 50-325 mg | QL (180 tablets/30 days) |
| BELBUCA - buprenorphine hcl buccal film various strengths | PA, QL (60 films/30 days) |
| fentanyl td patch 72hr 12-100 mcg/hr | PA, QL (15 patches/30 days) |
| hydrocodone-acetaminophen tab/soln various strengths | QL (various) |
| morphine sulfate formulations (tabs, ER, soln) | PA for some ER forms, QL (various) |
| NUCYNTA ER - tapentadol hcl ER 50-250 mg | PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| XTAMPZA ER - oxycodone ER abuse-deterrent caps | PA, QL (60-240 capsules/30 days depending on strength) |
| ADALIMUMAB (multiple biosimilars and formulations) | PA, QL (1-2 pens/syringes per period), SP |
| ENBREL - etanercept formulations | PA, QL (4 syringes/28 days), SP |
| rizatriptan benzoate tab 10 mg | rizatriptan benzoate tab 10 mg (Maxalt) |
| sumatriptan nasal spray 5 mg/act, 20 mg/act | sumatriptan nasal spray 5 mg/act, 20 mg/act |
| sumatriptan succinate inj 6 mg/0.5ml | sumatriptan succinate inj 6 mg/0.5ml |
| sumatriptan succinate solution auto-injector 4 mg/0.5ml, 6 mg/0.5ml | sumatriptan succinate solution auto-injector (Imitrex statdose sys) |
| sumatriptan succinate tab 25 mg, 50 mg, 100 mg | sumatriptan succinate tab (Imitrex) |
| UBRELVY - ubrogepant tab 50 mg, 100 mg | UBRELVY - ubrogepant |
| zolmitriptan tab 2.5 mg, 5 mg | zolmitriptan |
| allopurinol tab 100 mg, 300 mg | allopurinol |
| colchicine tab 0.6 mg | colchicine |
| probenecid tab 500 mg | probenecid |
Provider Requirements and Authorization Notes
Prior Authorization and Utilization Controls
Prior authorization (PA) and other utilization controls apply to many drugs listed in this formulary. When a drug is annotated with PA, LA (limited access), QL (quantity limit), SP (specialty), or ST (step therapy), prescribers and pharmacies must obtain the required approvals and submit supporting documentation prior to dispensing. Failure to obtain required authorizations or to follow site-of-service/specialty pharmacy routing may result in denial of coverage or claim payment.
- PA = Prior Authorization — plan requires approval before fill; lack of PA may cause noncoverage.
- LA = Limited Availability — product may be restricted to certain pharmacies or sites of service.
- SP = Specialty — may require dispensing via the plan’s specialty pharmacy and additional monitoring.
- QL = Quantity Limit — plan limits the amount covered per time period; claims exceeding QL may be denied.
- ST = Step Therapy — some drugs require trials of preferred agents first; ST is indicated where applicable (e.g., select CNS and specialty agents).
Interpretation of Requirement Codes and How to Comply
Interpretation of requirement codes: PA, LA, QL, SP, and ST indicate utilization management controls. Providers must review these flags on the drug listing and follow the plan’s operational rules when submitting prescriptions and claims.
- Confirm the specific code(s) shown next to each drug on the formulary entry prior to prescribing.
- When PA is indicated, submit a prior authorization request and include all required clinical documentation.
- For LA/SP drugs, follow the plan’s specialty pharmacy or site-of-service requirements.
- Match the requested quantity on the claim to the stated QL to avoid denial.
Long‑Acting and Specialty Product Authorization (including SUNLENCA/YEZTUGO)
Certain long-acting and specialty products (for example, lenacapavir products SUNLENCA/YEZTUGO and other LA/SP agents) require additional handling: limited authorization (LA), prior authorization (PA), specialty pharmacy (SP), and specific quantity limitations. These products commonly have low annual or per‑period QL values and may be limited to specialty dispensing only.
- SUNLENCA / YEZTUGO (lenacapavir) — flagged LA, QL (annual limits shown), SP; prior authorization required before coverage.
- Long-acting agents and injectables labeled LA/SP often require documentation of clinical rationale and may be dispensed only through network specialty pharmacies.
- Claims for LA/SP products submitted without the required PA and correct site-of-service may be denied.
Required Documentation and Claim Matching
Documentation expectations: when PA, LA, QL, or SP is indicated, providers must submit supporting clinical documentation with the authorization request and ensure claim-level data match the approved authorization (drug, strength, days’ supply, quantity).
- Include diagnosis, relevant prior treatments (for ST where applicable), and clinical rationale demonstrating medical necessity.
- For LA/SP drugs, provide site-of-care information and any required monitoring plans.
- Ensure the NDC/pack size and quantity on the claim match the PA/QL parameters (mismatch can trigger denial).
- Formulation-specific documentation (e.g., oral solutions, suspensions, injectables) may be required for certain products.
Denial Risk for Unmet Utilization Controls
Denial risk and enforcement: claims that do not meet utilization controls (missing PA, exceeded QL, incorrect site-of-service, or unmet ST requirements) are at risk for denial. Prior authorization approval must be obtained and in effect at the time of dispensing.
- Requests exceeding stated QLs (examples in formulary: many insulins, oral solids, and specialty injectables) may be denied.
- Failure to follow ST where indicated (e.g., certain CNS and specialty agents) may result in noncoverage.
- Specialty/LA/PA requirements are strictly enforced for many oncology, biologic, and rare-disease therapies; confirm PA and specialty routing before dispensing.
Provider Operational Steps and Member Resources
Operational notes and provider actions: check member’s Certificate of Coverage and contact Customer Service for plan‑specific rules, request forms, or help with reasonable modifications and language assistance. Use the plan’s PA submission process and specialty pharmacy channels as required.
- Members and providers should verify coverage and cost-sharing via the member portal or ID‑card phone number prior to initiating therapy.
- If assistance is needed (language access, disability accommodations), contact Customer Service at the number on the member ID card.
- Follow the payer’s PA form instructions and include all requested supportive documentation to avoid delays.
Step Therapy (ST) — Presence and Documentation
Step therapy (ST): where ST is indicated on the formulary, the plan may require trial and failure of specified first‑line agents before approving non‑preferred drugs. Some entries in the formulary indicate ST; where ST is not shown, no explicit step requirement is provided in that listing — always verify for the specific product.
- When ST is shown (drug annotated with ST), document prior trials and outcomes as part of the PA.
- If ST is not specified in the formulary excerpt, do not assume there are no step requirements — confirm via the PA policy or member plan documents.
- Examples: KERENDIA and selected CNS agents show ST notation; other agents may require step therapy per plan rules.
Initial Therapy and Authorization Examples
Prior authorization for specialty agents
Examples of products requiring authorization before initiation
See the product line Requirements/Limits for PA/LA/SP and required QL (e.g., MYALEPT = LA, PA, SP; PEGASYS = PA, SP).
Refer to each product's Requirements/Limits entry for exact PA and QL values.
Claims lacking required LA/PA/SP authorization may be denied.
Step Therapy Indicators
| Statement | Notes |
|---|---|
| Step therapy (ST) may be required | Formulary indicates ST with the initials 'ST' after drug names; this denotes that preferred therapies must be tried before the listed product will be covered. |
| Examples | See individual drug lines for ST notation; where 'ST' appears the plan may require trial of preferred agents prior to coverage. |
| Observation | Implication |
|---|---|
| Step details (specific sequences) not provided in this excerpt | Some drugs are flagged with PA, QL, LA, or SP indicating utilization management steps are required, but explicit step-therapy sequences are not shown here. |
| Management flags present | When PA/QL/LA/SP are present, providers must follow those controls; consult full policy for any step-therapy algorithms. |
| Product | Step therapy status |
|---|---|
| PAXLOVID (nirmatrelvir + ritonavir packs) | No explicit step-therapy sequence listed in this window; QL and tier information provided (QL 11–20 tablets/30 days). |
| Flag | Meaning / Provider action |
|---|---|
| PA (Prior Authorization) | Indicates prior authorization is required before the plan will cover the drug; obtain approval per payer procedures. |
| Other flags (QL, LA, SP) | Quantity limits (QL), limited access (LA), and specialty (SP) modify coverage and may require additional authorization or specialty dispensing. |
| Observation | Interpretation |
|---|---|
| ST flags are not extensively detailed in this excerpt | PA and QL flags are present for agents commonly subject to step edits (e.g., selected GLP‑1 agonists, tirzepatide, semaglutide), suggesting step edits may apply though explicit step sequences are not shown here. |
| Drug | Step therapy status |
|---|---|
| KERENDIA (finerenone) 10 mg, 20 mg | Listed with 'ST' indicating step therapy is required; also has QL (30 tablets/30 days). |
| Drug | ST notation |
|---|---|
| KERENDIA (finerenone) | Requirements/Limits include QL (30 tablets/30 days) and 'ST' — step therapy applies as noted on the drug line. |
| Summary | Coverage control |
|---|---|
| General remark | No explicit step therapy sequences are listed in this portion of the formulary; prior authorization (PA), limited access (LA), quantity limits (QL), and specialty (SP) are the primary management controls shown. |
| Flags present | Step therapy detail |
|---|---|
| PA / LA / QL / SP flags visible on many lines | This segment shows these utilization-management flags but does not specify step-therapy sequences; presence of PA/LA/SP implies additional authorization steps may be required. |
| Drug | Step therapy notation |
|---|---|
| AUVELITY (dextromethorphan HBr–bupropion) | Annotated with 'ST' and QL (60 tablets/30 days), indicating a step‑therapy requirement may apply prior to coverage. |
| Drugs / Formulations | Step therapy note |
|---|---|
| FETZIMA (levomilnacipran), FLUOXETINE DR (90 mg DR), TRINTELLIX (vortioxetine) | These branded antidepressant entries include 'ST' in their Requirements/Limits, indicating step therapy is required for specified formulations. |
| Antipsychotic / specialty oral formulations | ST status |
|---|---|
| CAPLYTA (lumateperone), REXULTI (brexpiprazole), RISPERIDONE ODT, VRAYLAR | Listed with QL and some entries include 'ST' (step therapy) indicating step edits apply to select antipsychotics and specialty oral forms. |
| Gabapentin / related products | Step therapy flag |
|---|---|
| Selected gabapentin and related formulations (e.g., GRALISE, HORIZANT) | Some entries are designated 'ST', indicating trial of preferred agents may be required prior to coverage for these products. |
| Overall observation | Primary control |
|---|---|
| Step therapy sequences not shown | In many parts of the excerpt PA is the predominant management control; explicit ST sequences are often omitted from this window and must be checked on individual product lines or full policy. |
| Formulations noted (examples) | Implication regarding ST |
|---|---|
| Trokendi XR and some ER formulations are listed with PA and QL | These PA/QL designations may imply that step edits are applied in practice, though explicit step-therapy logic is not provided in the excerpt. |
Quantity Limits (QL) by Product
Specialty Pharmacy and Site-of-Care Notes
Policy Background
This formulary lists covered drugs (brand and generic), Drug Tier assignments, and utilization management controls (for example, PA, QL, LA, SP) for the EmblemHealth Local 246 Medicare prescription drug plan. Members are advised that generics are preferred when available and that plan-specific coverage and cost-sharing are described in the member's Certificate of Coverage; home delivery and member support resources are available via the member portal or the Customer Service number on the ID card.
Key Terms and Abbreviations
Biosimilar Products
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.