EmblemHealth Large Group NRA Preferred Formulary — Formulary ID - LG (Preferred Drug Formulary)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all EmblemHealth policy alerts
Know when EmblemHealth releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document is the EmblemHealth Large Group NRA preferred drug formulary describing covered drugs, tiers, utilization management (e.g., prior authorization, step therapy, quantity limits), member services and how to use the formulary for plan members and providers.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Formulary Coverage and Utilization Controls
Product-level coverage and utilization controls
Formulary coverage entries indicate tiering and utilization controls for each product; coverage is product-specific as listed below.
Extract contains only product-level listings and controls; no patient-level medical necessity criteria present.
Formulary coverage with utilization controls
Coverage is subject to drug-specific utilization management noted beside each product
Derived from tier and PA/QL/LA/SP annotations in the listing
Specialty/PA/QL conditions
Coverage is tiered and often conditional; many specialty and biologic products require authorization and have quantity limits.
Prescribers must follow PA process; specialty channel often required
Inhaled bronchodilators and corticosteroids
Standard inhaled and systemic respiratory agents are covered with tiering and quantity limits.
Tier affects member cost-sharing
General formulary coverage conditions
Coverage and utilization management for listed outpatient drugs
Exact clinical criteria for PA not included in this segment; this is the formulary listing portion.
The formulary includes a general disclaimer: presence on the formulary does not guarantee payment. Some drugs listed may not be paid for by all drug benefit plans and coverage is not guaranteed — members and providers must check the member's Certificate of Coverage or contact the plan for specific payment and copay details.
Within the provided extract there is no explicit medical‑necessity exclusion language. Individual line items that show a blank or a dot for Requirements/Limits simply indicate no additional restrictions listed in this excerpt; explicit clinical exclusion statements are not included here.
No explicit exclusion statements are present in these chunks — the excerpt consists of formulary drug listings with tier assignments and Requirements/Limits annotations (e.g., PA, QL, LA, SP) but does not contain standalone exclusion language.
This extract does not show any product‑level exclusions. Formulary lines include Requirements/Limits flags and quantity limits for products, but no products are stated here as specifically excluded in the provided segments.
No explicit exclusion conditions are provided in this segment; the material lists covered drugs, their tiers and utilization controls (PA, QL, SP, LA), but does not include clinical exclusion criteria or conditional exclusions in the shown lines.
There are no items explicitly labeled 'Not Medically Necessary' in this extract. The entries present drug names, tiers and Requirements/Limits annotations but do not include NMN determinations in the provided text.
The excerpt does not include any 'Not Medically Necessary' determinations. Drug listings in these chunks show tiers and occasional utilization flags but no NMN language is present.
In this partial extract there are no 'Not Medically Necessary' (NMN) statements. The content is limited to formulary listings, tiers, and Requirements/Limits annotations (e.g., QL, PA, SP) without NMN rulings.
Formulary Listings and Coding / Code Tables
| amoxicillin (trihydrate) tab 500 mg, 875 mg | amoxicillin (trihydrate) tab 500 mg, 875 mg |
| amoxicillin & k clavulanate tab 250-125 mg, 500-125 mg, 875-125 mg | amoxicillin & k clavulanate tab 250-125 mg, 500-125 mg, 875-125 mg |
| cefadroxil tab 1 gm | cefadroxil tab 1 gm |
| azithromycin tab 250 mg | azithromycin tab 250 mg (Zithromax z-pak) |
| clarithromycin tab 250 mg, 500 mg | clarithromycin tab 250 mg, 500 mg |
| fidaxomicin tab 200 mg (Dificid) | fidaxomicin tab 200 mg (Dificid) |
| doxycycline hyclate cap 50 mg, 100 mg | doxycycline hyclate cap 50 mg, 100 mg |
| ciprofloxacin hcl tab 250 mg, 500 mg, 750 mg | ciprofloxacin hcl tab 250 mg, 500 mg, 750 mg (Cipro) |
| ARIKAYCE - amikacin sulfate liposome inhal susp 590 mg/8.4ml | ARIKAYCE - amikacin sulfate liposome inhal susp 590 mg/8.4ml |
| TOBI PODHALER - tobramycin inhal cap 28 mg | TOBI PODHALER - tobramycin inhal cap 28 mg |
| famciclovir tab 125 mg, 250 mg, 500 mg | listed drug with Drug Tier = 1 |
| GENVOYA - elvitegrav-cobic-emtricitab-tenofov af tab 150-150-200-10 mg | Drug Tier = 2; QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| HARVONI - ledipasvir-sofosbuvir tab 45-200 mg, 90-400 mg | Drug Tier = 2; PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days), SP |
| INTELENCE - etravirine tab 25 mg | Drug Tier = 2; QL (120 tablets/30 days) |
| ISENTRESS - raltegravir potassium chew tab 25 mg, 100 mg | Drug Tier = 2; QL (180 tablets/30 days) |
| ISENTRESS - raltegravir potassium packet for susp 100 mg | Drug Tier = 2; QL (60 packets/30 days) |
| ISENTRESS - raltegravir potassium tab 400 mg | Drug Tier = 2; QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| ISENTRESS HD - raltegravir potassium tab 600 mg | Drug Tier = 2; QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| JULUCA - dolutegravir-rilpivirine tab 50-25 mg | Drug Tier = 2; QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| KALETRA - lopinavir-ritonavir soln 400-100 mg/5ml | Drug Tier = 2; QL (480 mls/30 days) |
| No codes listed |
| No codes listed |
| OPFOLDA | miglustat (gaa deficiency) cap 65 mg |
| ORFADIN | nitisinone susp 4 mg/ml |
| ORILISSA | elagolix sodium tab 150 mg / 200 mg |
| OVIDREL | choriogonadotropin alfa soln prefilled syr 250 mcg/0.5ml |
| PALYNZIQ | pegvaliase-pqpz subcutaneous soln pref syringe 2.5 mg/0.5ml, 10 mg/0.5ml, 20 mg/ml |
| PHEBURANE | sodium phenylbutyrate oral pellets 483 mg/gm |
| PREGNYL | chorionic gonadotropin for im inj 10000 unit |
| RAVICTI | glycerol phenylbutyrate liquid 1.1 gm/ml |
| REVCOVI | elapegademase-lvlr im soln 2.4 mg/1.5ml |
| SKYTROFA | lonapegsomatropin-tcgd for subcutaneous inj cartridges (multiple strengths) |
| DIGOXIN | digoxin oral soln 0.05 mg/ml; digoxin tabs (various strengths) |
| ISOSORBIDE | isosorbide dinitrate/mononitrate products (various strengths) |
| BETA BLOCKERS | multiple beta blocker agents (atenolol, carvedilol, metoprolol, propranolol, etc.) |
| CALCIUM CHANNEL BLOCKERS | amlodipine, diltiazem, nifedipine, verapamil (various strengths) |
| N/A | This excerpt contains drug names and strengths but no CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10/NDC codes in the provided chunks. |
| Various ACE/ARB/diuretics | lisinopril, losartan, olmesartan, hydrochlorothiazide combinations and others listed without billing codes |
| No codes listed |
| atomoxetine hcl cap 10 mg | atomoxetine hcl cap 10 mg (base equiv) |
| atomoxetine hcl cap 18 mg | atomoxetine hcl cap 18 mg (base equiv) |
| atomoxetine hcl cap 25 mg | atomoxetine hcl cap 25 mg (base equiv) |
| atomoxetine hcl cap 40 mg | atomoxetine hcl cap 40 mg (base equiv) |
| atomoxetine hcl cap 60 mg | atomoxetine hcl cap 60 mg (base equiv) |
| atomoxetine hcl cap 80 mg | atomoxetine hcl cap 80 mg (base equiv) |
| atomoxetine hcl cap 100 mg | atomoxetine hcl cap 100 mg (base equiv) |
| liraglutide (weight mngmt) 18 mg/3ml | Saxenda soln pen-inj 18 mg/3ml (6 mg/ml) |
| semaglutide (weight mngmt) pens | WEGOVY soln auto-injector various strengths |
| tirzepatide (weight mngmt) pens | ZEPBOUND soln auto-injector various strengths |
| solriamfetol 75 mg, 150 mg | SUNOSI tab 75 mg, 150 mg |
| pitolisant 4.45 mg, 17.8 mg | WAKIX tab 4.45 mg, 17.8 mg |
| N/A | This segment is a drug formulary list and does not contain CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes; it lists drug names, strengths, tiers, and requirements/limits. |
Prior Authorization, Documentation, Step Therapy and Denial Risks
Prior Authorization Required — general risk and program flags
Many drugs listed in this formulary require prior authorization (PA) or other program-level controls before the plan will pay. Failure to obtain required PA, specialty routing (SP), limited availability (LA), or to comply with quantity limits (QL) or step-therapy (ST) edits may result in claim denial or non‑coverage.
- Prior authorization (PA) is required for select agents and many specialty, antiviral, hepatitis C, antifungal, weight‑management, neurologic/respiratory, cystic fibrosis (CF) modulators, oncology and targeted therapies.
- Drugs flagged with PA, LA, SP, QL, ACA, or ST in the formulary carry program-level controls — claims may be denied if these controls are not met.
Prior Authorization Required — select antiviral, antifungal and hepatitis C agents
Specific high‑cost or specialty products listed in the formulary require PA and often have additional program flags (QL, SP, LA). Examples from the formulary include high‑cost antivirals and hepatitis C regimens (EPCLUSA, HARVONI, SOVALDI, VOSEVI, MAVYRET), antifungals (CRESEMBA, NOXAFIL, posaconazole, voriconazole), and select antivirals and combination HIV regimens.
- Hepatitis C agents (EPCLUSA, HARVONI, SOVALDI, VOSEVI, MAVYRET) = PA + QL + SP in many presentations.
- High‑cost antifungals (CRESEMBA, NOXAFIL, posaconazole, voriconazole) = PA.
- Many antiviral/HIV combination products include QL and may require PA or ACA designations (e.g., Truvada, GENVOYA, STRIBILD).
Prior Authorization Required — antiviral, specialty and oncology agents
Antiviral, specialty, and many oral specialty oncology agents require prior authorization and specialty routing; consult the formulary Requirements/Limits field and submit PA before dispensing to avoid denials.
- Antivirals and HIV agents commonly show QL and PA designations (e.g., GENVOYA, ISENTRESS, SOVALDI).
- Many oral oncology and targeted agents are LA, PA, QL, SP — see product line items (e.g., ALUNBRIG, ALECENSA, AKEEGA).
- Failure to obtain PA or to route through specialty pharmacy (SP) can block payment.
Prior Authorization Required — specialty/oncology agents
Many specialty oncology and targeted agents are documented with PA, LA, QL and SP flags. These designations mean prior approval, quantity limits, restricted dispensing channel, or limited availability apply; providers must follow these controls.
- Examples include abiraterone (Zytiga), alectinib (ALECENSA), brigatinib (ALUNBRIG), avapritinib (AYVAKIT), erdafitinib (BALVERSA) — all require PA and are often SP/LA with QL.
- Line‑item QL values (e.g., tablets/30 days, syringes/28 days) must be observed to avoid denial.
Prior Authorization Required — listed specialty/oncology and biologic agents
Formulary items flagged with PA/QL/ST/LA/SP require provider action before fill. Commonly listed products with PA include many specialty biologics, CF modulators, and select branded drugs — obtain PA and ensure specialty routing or limits are met.
- CF modulators and orphan/rare disease therapies (e.g., KALYDECO, ORKAMBI, OFEV) = LA, PA, QL, SP.
- Oncology agents in the formulary are frequently LA/PA/QL/SP; confirm approval and the QL prior to dispensing.
Prior authorization required for select branded and GLP‑1 agents
Some branded, commonly prescribed products also require prior authorization. Providers should verify PA needs for these drugs before prescribing or dispensing to members.
- Examples include MYFEMBREE, MOUNJARO, TRULICITY, OZEMPIC which show PA and QL designations in the formulary.
- Weight‑management and GLP‑1 agents (MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, TRULICITY, RYBELSUS) frequently require PA and have QL per pen/pack/period.
PA and QL for weight‑management and select neurologic/respiratory agents
Weight‑management and certain neurologic/respiratory agents carry combined PA and QL controls. Confirm PA and adhere to the listed quantity limits to prevent claim denials.
- Weight‑management products (SAXENDA, WEGOVY, ZEPBOUND, ZEPOSIA entries for different classes) = PA + QL (pens or mL per days).
- Neurologic agents and special respiratory biologics (e.g., FASENRA, TEZSPIRE) include PA and QL designations and may be routed as SP.
Prior authorization risk — denial triggers
Prior authorization risk: drugs that require PA may not be covered if approval is not obtained. Always check the formulary Requirements/Limits flags (PA, QL, LA, SP, ST, ACA) and obtain authorizations before dispensing.
- Absence of PA at the time of claim submission is a common denial trigger.
- Program flags (LA/PA/QL/SP/ST/ACA) are enforceable controls — noncompliance can result in non‑payment.
Coverage controls and denial triggers
Coverage controls and denial triggers: claims may be denied for not meeting program requirements (PA, exceeding QL, wrong dispensing channel if SP or LA applies, or failing ST sequence). Providers should confirm eligibility and authorization prior to dispensing.
- Exceeding a listed QL (e.g., tablets/30 days, pens/28 days) can lead to denial.
- Failure to follow step‑therapy (ST) where specified or to obtain prior authorization will commonly result in claim denial.
PA/QL/SP required for many specialty agents
Many specialty products require PA, QL and SP routing. Obtain necessary approvals and dispense through the indicated channel to avoid denials and to meet clinical monitoring/handling requirements.
- Specialty routing (SP) is required for many oncology, biologic, and rare disease products (line items include SP).
- Adhere to QL values and PA requirements for specialty products when submitting claims.
Failure to meet PA/QL/SP — potential denial
Failure to meet PA, QL, SP or LA requirements may result in denial of payment. Ensure prior authorization is approved, quantity limits are respected, and specialty channel requirements are followed.
- If PA is required and not obtained, the drug may not be covered.
- Specialty and limited availability products must be dispensed through the approved channel to be eligible for coverage.
Failure to meet PA/QL/LA triggers denial
Some formulary entries note that lack of PA, SP, or LA will trigger denials or non‑coverage. Providers must confirm all program flags and approvals before prescribing or dispensing.
- Absence of PA or exceeding QL/LA designations are explicit denial triggers in the formulary.
- Confirm approvals for listed products such as MYFEMBREE, ORIAHNN, MOUNJARO, TRULICITY, OZEMPIC prior to fill.
Prior authorization required for specified products
The formulary includes specific products with PA noted on their line items. Providers should verify PA status for these products and obtain approval before dispensing.
- Selected examples with PA in the formulary: CRESEMBA, EPCLUSA, HARVONI, SOVALDI, VOSEVI, MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, TRULICITY, MYFEMBREE.
Quantity limits may trigger denial if exceeded
Quantity limits (QL) are enforced across many drug categories. Claims exceeding the stated QL may be denied — review the product line‑item QL (units per days) and request exceptions if clinically indicated.
- Example QLs: QL (28 tablets/28 days), QL (30 tablets/30 days), QL (4 pens/28 days), QL (6 syringes/28 days).
- If medically necessary dosing exceeds QL, submit a PA request with supporting documentation or an exception request.
Authorization‑required drugs — provider action
Drugs flagged PA/LA/SP require authorization steps. Providers must follow the formulary Requirements/Limits and submit PA requests per payer instructions before dispensing.
- Authorization‑required examples: ACTHAR, GALAFOLD, GENOTROPIN, OPFOLDA and many enzyme/rare disease therapies.
- LA indicates limited dispensing; SP indicates specialty channel — verify where the drug must be dispensed.
Failure to meet listed requirements — follow Requirements/Limits field
If the formulary line item indicates specified requirements (PA, LA, QL, SP), providers must meet those requirements or the request may be denied. Follow the Requirements/Limits field on each line item.
- Examples: OPFOLDA, VOXZOGO, YORVIPATH and many others show LA, PA, QL and SP designations — confirm approvals and channel before dispensing.
Quantity limit exceedance — submit documentation or exception request
Some products have explicit quantity limit exceedance rules captured in the line items (e.g., VOXZOGO QL (30 vials/30 days)). Providers must request exceptions or PA with documentation if greater quantities are required.
- When a QL is specified (vials, tablets, pens per period), claims exceeding that QL can be denied without an approved exception.
- Submit clinical rationale and records to support requests to exceed QL.
Prior authorization and limits noted — check line items
Prior authorization and limits are documented for many products; consult each line item for PA, QL, LA, SP flags and obtain pre‑approval as required.
- Examples include REPATHA (PA, QL), QBRELIS (PA, QL), DIURIL (PA, QL) — ensure PA is in place and QL respected.
PA/LA/QL for CF therapies — documentation needed
Cystic fibrosis (CF) therapies and other modulators are frequently designated LA/PA/QL/SP. Obtain PA and document dosing schedules and member genotype/clinical criteria as part of the authorization request.
- CF modulators (KALYDECO, ORKAMBI) and alpha1‑proteinase products (GLASSIA) are SP and have QL; ensure PA and clinical documentation are submitted.
- Provide genotype, prior therapy, and monitoring plan when requesting PA for CF therapies.
Prior authorization / program flags — interpret and act
Program flags on the formulary (PA, ST, LA, SP, ACA, QL) indicate authorization, step‑therapy, limited availability or specialty routing are required. Providers should interpret these as enforceable controls and act accordingly.
- PA/ST/LA/SP flags require prior action — verify plan‑specific requirements and obtain authorizations.
- ACA indicates Affordable Care Act‑protected coverage for certain products when applicable.
Prior authorization required for select weight‑management and other agents
PA is required for many weight‑management and other select agents listed. Confirm PA status and QL for these products before prescribing to avoid denials.
- Weight‑management examples requiring PA: SAXENDA, WEGOVY, ZEPBOUND, ZEPOSIA (where applicable).
- Some weight‑management agents also have QL per pens or mL per period — verify and obtain PA.
Prior authorization required for listed PA drugs
For any drug line‑item that lists PA in Requirements/Limits, submit a prior authorization request. Requests without PA or required specialty handling may be denied.
- Examples of PA‑listed drugs include REBIF TITRATION PACK, SODIUM OXYBATE, many biologics and specialty injected products.
- If in doubt, contact EmblemHealth to confirm PA procedures and required documentation.
Exceptions and alternative options
Exceptions and alternative options: members can request an exception to a restriction or limit. Providers may request clinical exceptions and should discuss therapeutic alternatives with the member prior to submitting a PA/exception request.
- Submit an exception request with supporting clinical documentation when the QL, PA, or channel requirement would prevent medically necessary therapy.
- EmblemHealth can provide alternate covered drugs that may not require PA or have different limits.
Quantity limit documentation — include dosing and rationale
Quantity limit documentation: when QL is listed, include the member‑specific dosing and justification in the PA or exception request to support approval.
- Include expected dose, duration, and rationale for doses exceeding the QL in the PA submission.
- Provide prior therapy history if QL is related to tapering or titration schedules.
Authorization documentation — what to submit
Authorization documentation: prescribers must supply PA forms and any payer‑required clinical documents when requested. Specialty (SP) products often require additional paperwork and monitoring plans.
- Provide diagnosis, prior treatments, relevant labs/genotype and treatment plan when requesting PA for specialty or oncology therapies.
- Specialty pharmacy documentation and monitoring plans are commonly required for SP agents.
Follow Requirements/Limits field — verify before dispensing
Follow the Requirements/Limits field on each formulary line item. That field lists PA, QL, LA, SP, ST, ACA flags and any numeric limits — complying avoids denials.
- Verify line‑item flags before prescribing or dispensing (PA, QL, LA, SP, ST, ACA).
- If a drug shows LA or SP, confirm the correct dispensing channel or pharmacy network to avoid non‑coverage.
Required documentation for PA/QL/SP
Required documentation for PA/QL/SP: when PA or QL is invoked include clinical notes, prior medication trials, laboratory or genotype results, and a dosing schedule. Specialty products require evidence of monitoring and handling capability.
- For oncology or specialty agents include staging, biomarker/genotype, prior lines of therapy, and treatment intent.
- For CF and orphan disease drugs include genetic testing and specialist consultation notes.
PA and QL documentation — include approvals and justifications
PA and QL documentation: ensure the PA is submitted and that requested quantities do not exceed the stated QL unless an approved exception/PA to exceed is on file.
- If PA is approved for a quantity above the QL, retain the approval documentation with the claim submission.
- Document member‑specific justification when requesting quantities above line‑item QL.
Documentation for PA/LA/SP — specialty routing and limited availability
Documentation for PA/LA/SP: for medications with LA or requiring specialty dispensing, include justification for the dispensing location and documentation that the pharmacy meets specialty handling requirements.
- When LA applies, indicate why the member must receive the drug from a specific pharmacy or supplier.
- Specialty products (SP) often require distribution via contracted specialty pharmacies — include pharmacy acceptance/arrangement in the PA request.
Supporting documentation for prior authorization
Supporting documentation for prior authorization: provide drug‑specific clinical rationale, dosing schedule, prior therapies, and any monitoring plans. For rare/orphan and oncology drugs include specialty center involvement when applicable.
- Include pathology, treatment history, and specialist notes for oncology PAs.
- For enzyme replacement, genetic or rare disease therapies, include genetic testing and prior authorization from a specialist.
Documentation required for PA and QL
Documentation required for PA and QL: include the requested quantity, intended duration, clinical justification, prior medication history, and relevant lab/genetic results to support approval.
- Follow payer guidance for clinical fields required on PA forms and attach supporting records where indicated.
- If QL is measured in vials, pens, packets, or tablets per period, state the exact number and clinical reason for the requested supply.
Documentation to support PA — dosing and monitoring
Documentation to support PA: include dosing schedule, monitoring plan, and rationale in the PA submission. For biologics and specialty injectables, indicate who will administer and monitor therapy.
- For injectables, state administration setting (clinic, home infusion) and monitoring arrangements.
- Provide expected duration and plan for adverse event monitoring/reporting.
Specialty product documentation — specialty routing and handling
Specialty product documentation: SP products often require LA, PA, and QL designations be addressed in the submission. Use contracted specialty pharmacies and include specialty monitoring plans and handling instructions.
- SP products (many oncology, biologic and orphan drugs) require specialty pharmacy dispensing and additional documentation.
- Ensure the specialty pharmacy is authorized by EmblemHealth when routing SP claims.
Quantity limits and specialty routing — adhere or document exception
Quantity limits and specialty routing: adhere to QL and SP designations; exceeding QL or failing to route through specialty channels may lead to denial. When needed, request exceptions or PA with full supporting documentation.
- If a therapy requires more than the QL or needs to be dispensed via SP, include that justification in the PA or exception request.
- Contact EmblemHealth for guidance on approved specialty pharmacies and exception submission.
Specialty/program requirements — interpret flags
Specialty/program requirements: LA/PA/SP/ACA/ST flags indicate program‑level controls. Review these flags on each line item and follow payer procedures for PA, step‑therapy, limited availability, and specialty dispensing.
- ST (step therapy) is present for select agents and must be followed where shown; some parts of the formulary do not specify step sequences explicitly.
- ACA indicates certain products may be covered under Affordable Care Act protections when applicable.
Step therapy — applicability and notes
Step therapy notes: while many line items include PA/QL/LA/SP flags, explicit step‑therapy sequences are present only for select drugs (ST). Where ST is not specified in this segment, PA/QL/LA/SP remain the primary controls.
- Some drugs include ST annotations (e.g., GRALISE, HORIZANT, specified psychiatric agents); other line items do not list a step sequence.
- If ST applies, document prior failure or intolerance to required first‑line agents when requesting PA for later‑line therapy.
Quantity Limits per Product
Dispensing Channel and Site-of-Care Designations
Abbreviations and Requirements/Limits Flags
Step Therapy Indicators and Application
| Policy statement | Support |
|---|---|
| Member may be required to try specified alternative drugs before coverage of the requested agent (step therapy). | Some drugs are subject to step therapy (ST), requiring trial of specified alternative(s) before coverage — see formulary abbreviations and step therapy note. |
| Examples where ST is applied are indicated on product lines; check Requirements/Limits flags for ‘ST’ or product-level entries. | Source: Abbreviations definition and Step Therapy Requirement (ST) description in formulary legend. |
| Program flag | Meaning / effect on coverage |
|---|---|
| LA — Limited Availability | May restrict distribution to select pharmacies or sites; may indicate additional authorization or limited channel. |
| PA — Prior Authorization | Requires payer approval before the drug is covered; failure to obtain PA may result in non‑coverage. |
| SP — Specialty | Designates specialty pharmacy handling; specialty routing and documentation typically required for dispensing. |
| ACA — Affordable Care Act designation | Indicates ACA preventive coverage implications for eligible products (e.g., many vaccines, contraceptives). |
| Product examples | ST applicability / annotation |
|---|---|
| HARVONI (ledipasvir-sofosbuvir) | Marked PA, QL and SP — step-management indicated where SP is noted; specialty program controls apply. |
| MAVYRET (glecaprevir-pibrentasvir) | Marked PA, QL and SP — step/program-level management applies under specialty designation. |
| SOVALDI (sofosbuvir) | Marked PA, QL and SP — step therapy/program routing applies where SP is indicated. |
| PEGASYS (peginterferon alfa-2a) | Marked PA and SP — specialty and prior authorization controls referenced; program-level steps may apply. |
| VOSEVI (sofosbuvir-velpatasvir-voxilaprevir) | Marked PA, QL and SP — specialty pathway indicates step/program controls for coverage. |
| Product | Formulary flags / handling |
|---|---|
| PALFORZIA (peanut allergen powder) — Initial and maintenance packs | Requirements/Limits = ACA, LA, SP — limited availability and specialty pharmacy handling noted for starter/maintenance packs. |
| PALFORZIA Level and Maintenance presentations | Each level entry includes ACA, LA, SP flags indicating restricted distribution and specialty management for dosing stages. |
| LA interpretation | Policy note |
|---|---|
| LA (Limited Availability) | Document defines LA as limited availability; it may restrict where the drug can be obtained and imply additional authorization or channel requirements. |
| Payer discretion | The brief notes LA may indicate prior authorization or step edits at the payer’s discretion; check product Requirements/Limits for specifics. |
| Excerpt summary | Implication for step therapy sequencing |
|---|---|
| Formulary segments primarily list PA and QL requirements rather than explicit step therapy sequences. | This portion of the formulary does not specify step-by-step sequencing; clinicians must follow product-level flags (PA, QL, SP, LA) and payer policies for any ST rules. |
| No explicit ST sequences in segment | Providers should refer to program-specific PA/ST documentation or contact EmblemHealth for required step details. |
| Drug category / examples | Controls present (PA / QL / ST) |
|---|---|
| Antidiabetic and weight‑management agents (examples: MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, RYBELSUS) | Entries show PA and QL designations; explicit step sequencing is not listed in this excerpt. |
| MOUNJARO — tirzepatide | Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 pens/28 or 180 days) — subject to prior authorization and quantity limits. |
| Product | ST flag present |
|---|---|
| KERENDIA (finerenone) | Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days), ST — product line includes ST flag indicating step therapy may apply. |
| Search result | Note |
|---|---|
| No explicit step therapy sequences provided in these chunks | Chunks list utilization flags (LA/PA/QL/SP) but do not define multi-step treatment pathways. |
| Search result | Note |
|---|---|
| No explicit step-therapy sequences listed in this excerpt | Management is indicated by LA/PA/QL/SP annotations; step sequencing not described here. |
| Excerpt observation | Implication |
|---|---|
| No explicit step therapy sequences are described in these lines — tiering and QL determinations predominate. | Coverage decisions primarily referenced to PA and QL; ST may be applied where 'ST' flag appears elsewhere in the formulary. |
| Coverage label | Meaning |
|---|---|
| ST — Step Therapy | Products labeled 'ST' require adherence to the formulary's step requirements prior to coverage of the listed drug. |
| Examples of ST-marked products | FLUOXETINE DR, certain ODT risperidone presentations, GRALISE and HORIZANT entries are marked ST in the formulary extract. |
| Product | ST requirement |
|---|---|
| GRALISE (gabapentin once-daily 900 mg) | Requirements/Limits = QL (60 tablets/30 days), ST — step therapy required for coverage. |
| HORIZANT (gabapentin enacarbil) | Listed with QL and ST flags indicating step therapy applies prior to coverage. |
| Observation | Support |
|---|---|
| Some specialty and high‑cost agents require PA and may be subject to step edits | Chunks show numerous specialty lines with LA, PA, QL and SP flags; step edits may be applied though not detailed in the extract. |
| Examples: VYLEESI, WAINUA, XYWAV, ARCALYST entries show LA/PA/QL/SP; step editing may be part of program controls. | Source lines indicate LA, PA, QL and SP for listed specialty products though step sequences are not specified. |
Formulary Scope and Purpose
Background: The EmblemHealth formulary lists covered brand‑name and generic drugs and assigns them to tiers (Tier 1 = generic, Tier 2 = preferred brand, Tier 3 = non‑preferred brand). The formulary also indicates program and utilization controls — for example, Prior Authorization (PA), Quantity Limits (QL), Step Therapy (ST), Specialty (SP) and Limited Access (LA) — alongside each product as applicable to guide coverage and dispensing.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.