Large Group Generic Drug List (Formulary) — 2026
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all EmblemHealth policy alerts
Know when EmblemHealth releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document lists covered drugs, tiers, and utilization management (e.g., prior authorization, quantity limits, step therapy) for EmblemHealth large-group plans and informs members and providers which drugs are included and any restrictions.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria and Conditions
General coverage condition
Covered when the following plan rules are met:
Members should verify specific plan coverage, limits, and cost sharing via their Certificate of Coverage or pharmacy customer service (see member ID card).
ACA-covered contraceptives
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Some items may also carry LA (limited availability) or other administrative flags; check item line for exact flags and site-of-care notes.
Antidiabetic agents with PA/QL
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Clinical criteria for PA (medical necessity documentation, step requirements) are not included in this excerpt; providers should submit PA when indicated.
Glucose, glucagon, and insulin coverage
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Most glucose and glucagon items show Drug Tier = 1 and are covered without additional clinical criteria in this excerpt; insulin and CGM/pump supplies may require PA or QL per item line.
Product-specific coverage with administrative controls
Covered when ALL of the following administrative conditions are met:
This segment provides administrative tags only; specific clinical medical‑necessity criteria are not present in these chunks. Providers must follow prior authorization and documentation procedures where PA/SP is indicated.
Itemized coverage with administrative requirements
Formulary coverage is itemized; coverage for listed devices and kits is subject to the following:
Refer to each product line for the exact QL and PA periods (examples shown in the formulary: 1 kit/720 days; 30 pods/30 days; 30 systems/30 days). Providers should submit required PA documentation for device and pump approvals.
A medicine appearing on the formulary does not guarantee coverage under every EmblemHealth drug benefit. Members must consult their Certificate of Coverage or call the phone number on the back of their ID card to confirm whether a listed drug is covered, applicable copays, and any plan-specific requirements. The formulary notes that some drugs may require additional administrative steps (e.g., PA, QL, ST) before payment will be authorized.
Within the provided excerpt there are no explicit exclusion statements identifying drugs or classes that are categorically excluded from coverage. The listing shows product entries and Requirements/Limits flags (for example, contraceptives marked ACA), but it does not assert any blanket exclusions in these chunks.
The document segment reviewed does not contain specific clinical exclusion criteria (for example, disease- or diagnosis-based exclusions). Entries are presented as itemized formulary listings with administrative flags (QL, PA, ACA) rather than clinical exclusion rules.
No clinical exclusion statements are present in these chunks. The content is an alphabetical product and supplies listing with Requirements/Limits annotations; it does not define clinical criteria that would exclude particular uses or indications in this excerpt.
This excerpt does not include any explicit determinations that services or drugs are not medically necessary. The text focuses on item-level listing and quantity/authorization flags rather than medical necessity rulings.
Within this document segment there are no statements labeled as Not Medically Necessary (NMN). The entries describe product listings and administrative controls (e.g., QL, PA) but do not make NMN determinations here.
No explicit not medically necessary language appears in these chunks. The content is limited to itemized listings, device and supply names, and Requirements/Limits markers without NMN findings.
Formulary Listings and Code Tables
| amoxicillin (trihydrate) cap 250 mg, 500 mg | listed drug and strengths |
| amoxicillin & k clavulanate tab 250-125 mg, 500-125 mg, 875-125 mg | listed drug and strengths |
| cephalexin cap 250 mg, 500 mg, 750 mg | listed drug and strengths |
| azithromycin tab 250 mg, 500 mg | listed drug and strengths |
| fidaxomicin tab 200 mg (Dificid) | listed drug and strength |
| ciprofloxacin hcl tab 250 mg, 500 mg, 750 mg (Cipro) | listed drug and strengths |
| tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/5ml (Tobi); Bethkis 300 mg/4ml | listed nebule products |
| fluconazole tab 50 mg, 100 mg, 150 mg, 200 mg (Diflucan) | listed antifungal strengths |
| levofloxacin oral soln 25 mg/ml | levofloxacin oral soln 25 mg/ml, Drug Tier = 1 |
| levofloxacin tab 250 mg, 500 mg, 750 mg | levofloxacin tab 250 mg, 500 mg, 750 mg, Drug Tier = 1 |
| moxifloxacin hcl tab 400 mg | moxifloxacin hcl tab 400 mg (base equiv), Drug Tier = 1 |
| neomycin sulfate tab 500 mg | neomycin sulfate tab 500 mg, Drug Tier = 1 |
| tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/5ml (Tobi) | tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/5ml (Tobi), Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = SP |
| tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/4ml (Bethkis) | tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/4ml (Bethkis), Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = SP |
| ethambutol hcl tab 100 mg, 400 mg | ethambutol hcl tab 100 mg, 400 mg, Drug Tier = 1 |
| isoniazid syrup 50 mg/5ml | isoniazid syrup 50 mg/5ml, Drug Tier = 1 |
| isoniazid tab 100 mg, 300 mg | isoniazid tab 100 mg, 300 mg, Drug Tier = 1 |
| pyrazinamide tab 500 mg | pyrazinamide tab 500 mg, Drug Tier = 1 |
| voriconazole for susp 40 mg/ml (Vfend) | voriconazole for susp 40 mg/ml (Vfend), Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = PA |
| voriconazole tab 50 mg (Vfend) | voriconazole tab 50 mg (Vfend), Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = PA |
| voriconazole tab 200 mg | voriconazole tab 200 mg, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = PA |
| abacavir sulfate soln 20 mg/ml (Ziagen) | abacavir sulfate soln 20 mg/ml (Ziagen), Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = QL (960 mls/30 days) |
| abacavir sulfate tab 300 mg (Ziagen) | abacavir sulfate tab 300 mg (Ziagen), Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| abacavir sulfate-lamivudine tab 600-300 mg | abacavir sulfate-lamivudine tab 600-300 mg, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| APRETUDE - cabotegravir im extended release susp 600 mg/3ml | APRETUDE - cabotegravir im extended release susp 600 mg/3ml, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = ACA, LA, SP |
| atazanavir sulfate cap (various strengths) | atazanavir sulfate cap 150/200/300 mg, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = QL (30-60 capsules/30 days) |
| darunavir tab 600 mg, 800 mg (Prezista) | darunavir tab 600 mg, 800 mg (Prezista), Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = QL (30-60 tablets/30 days) |
| DESCOVY - emtricitabine-tenofovir alafenamide fumarate tab 200-25 mg | DESCOVY - emtricitabine-tenofovir alafenamide fumarate tab 200-25 mg, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = ACA, QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| nitazoxanide tab 500 mg | nitazoxanide tab 500 mg, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = QL (12 tablets/90 days) |
| nitrofurantoin formulations | nitrofurantoin macrocrystalline and monohydrate formulations, Drug Tier = 1 |
| vancomycin hcl cap 125 mg, 250 mg (Vancocin) | vancomycin hcl cap 125 mg (base equivalent), 250 mg (base equivalent) (Vancocin), Drug Tier = 1 |
| vancomycin hcl for oral soln 25 mg/ml, 50 mg/ml (Firvanq) | vancomycin hcl for oral soln 25 mg/ml, 50 mg/ml (Firvanq), Drug Tier = 1 |
| ABRYSVO - rsv pre-fusion f a&b vac recomb for im soln 120 mcg/0.5ml | ABRYSVO - RSV pre-fusion vaccine, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| ACTHIB - haemophilus b polysaccharide conjugate vaccine | ACTHIB - haemophilus b conjugate vaccine for injection, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| CAPVAXIVE - pneumococcal 21-valent conjugate vaccine | CAPVAXIVE - pneumococcal 21-valent conjugate vaccine, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| COMIRNATY 2025-26 - COVID-19 mRNA vaccine (Pfizer) | COMIRNATY 2025-26 - COVID-19 mRNA vaccine, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| GARDASIL 9 - human papillomavirus 9-valent vaccine | GARDASIL 9 - HPV 9-valent vaccine, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| PNEUMOVAX 23 - pneumococcal vaccine polyvalent | PNEUMOVAX 23 - pneumococcal polyvalent vaccine, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| PREVNAR 20 - pneumococcal 20-valent conjugate vaccine | PREVNAR 20 - pneumococcal 20-valent conjugate vaccine, Drug Tier = 1, Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| MENQUADFI | meningococcal (a, c, y, and w-135) tetanus conjugate vaccine |
| MENVEO | meningococcal (a, c, y, and w-135) oligo conj vac |
| MNEXSPIKE COVID-19 VACCIN | covid-19 mrna vaccine-moderna im susp 10 mcg/0.2ml |
| MRESVIA | rsv mrna pre-f vaccine im susp 50 mcg/0.5ml |
| NUVAXOVID COVID-19 VACCIN | covid-19 subunit vacc-novavax im susp 5 mcg/0.5ml |
| PEDVAX HIB | haemophilus b polysaccharide conj vac 7.5 mcg/0.5 ml |
| PNEUMOVAX 23 | pneumococcal vaccine polyvalent soln 25 mcg/0.5ml |
| PREVNAR 20 | pneumococcal 20-valent conjugate vaccine 0.5 ml |
| PRIORIX | measles-mumps-rubella vaccine for subcutaneous susp |
| SHINGRIX | zoster vaccine recombinant adjuvanted 50 mcg/0.5ml |
| abiraterone acetate 250 mg | Zytiga (tablet) — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL |
| dasatinib 20 mg | Sprycel — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP |
| everolimus various strengths | Afinitor/Afinitor disperz — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP |
| imatinib 100 mg, 400 mg | Gleevec — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP |
| nilotinib | Tasigna — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP |
| pazopanib | Votrient — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP |
| sorafenib | Nexavar — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP |
| estradiol td gel 1.25 mg/1.25gm (0.1%) | Divigel — Requirements/Limits = QL (30 packets/30 days) and QL (37.5 grams/30 days) listed |
| estradiol td patch (Vivelle-dot) | multiple strengths — Requirements/Limits = QL (8 patches/28 days) |
| estradiol td patch weekly (Climara) | multiple strengths — Requirements/Limits = QL (4 patches/28 days) |
| Delestrogen (estradiol valerate IM) | various concentrations — Drug Tier = 1 |
| ANNOVERA | segesterone acetate-ethinyl estradiol vaginal ring — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| NEXPLANON | etonogestrel subdermal implant 68 mg — Requirements/Limits = ACA, LA |
| MIRENA | levonorgestrel IUD 20 mcg/day — Requirements/Limits = ACA, LA |
| PARAGARD | copper IUD — Requirements/Limits = ACA, LA |
| MOUNJARO | tirzepatide soln auto-injector — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days depending on strength) |
| OZEMPIC | semaglutide soln pen-inj — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 pen/28 days or 3 pens/28 days depending on dose) |
| RYBELSUS | semaglutide tablet — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/180 days or 30 tablets/30 days depending on strength) |
| TRULICITY | dulaglutide auto-injector — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 pens/28 days or 2 pens/28 days for higher doses) |
| JANUMET / JANUMET XR / JANUVIA / JARDIANCE | various antidiabetics — some have QL or PA flags (examples: JANUMET QL 60/30 days; JANUVIA QL 30/30 days) |
| GLUCAGON (BAQSIMI, GVOKE, GLUCAGON KIT) | multiple glucagon products listed — Requirements/Limits = . |
| GLUCOSE products (gels, chew tabs, liquids) | multiple entries — Drug Tier = 1 |
| HUMALOG / FIASP / LYUMJEV | insulin lispro and aspart formulations with explicit QL (e.g., 33 pens/30 days, 100 mls/30 days) |
| FF | Formulary Fill (flag shown as FF) |
| PA | Prior Authorization |
| QL | Quantity Limit |
| SP | Specialty drug flag |
| albuterol sulfate inhal aero 108 mcg/act (90mcg base equiv) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (2 inhalers/30 days) |
| albuterol sulfate soln nebu 0.083% (2.5 mg/3ml), 0.5% (5 mg/ml), 0.63 mg/3ml, 1.25 mg/3ml | Drug Tier = 1 |
| arformoterol tartrate soln nebu 15 mcg/2ml (Brovana) | Drug Tier = 1 |
| budesonide inhalation susp 0.25 mg/2ml, 0.5 mg/2ml, 1 mg/2ml (Pulmicort) | Drug Tier = 1 |
| budesonide-formoterol fumarate dihyd aerosol 80-4.5 mcg/act, 160-4.5 mcg/act (Symbicort) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (3 inhalers/30 days) |
| cromolyn sodium soln nebu 20 mg/2ml | Drug Tier = 1 |
| fluticasone-salmeterol aer powder ba 55-14 mcg/act, 113-14 mcg/act, 232-14 mcg/act | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (1 inhaler/30 days) |
| fluticasone-salmeterol aer powder ba 100-50 mcg/act, 250-50 mcg/act, 500-50 mcg/act (Advair diskus) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (60 blisters/30 days) |
| ipratropium bromide inhal soln 0.02% | Drug Tier = 1 |
| levalbuterol hcl soln nebu conc 1.25 mg/0.5ml | Drug Tier = 1 |
| levalbuterol hcl soln nebu 0.31 mg/3ml, 0.63 mg/3ml, 1.25 mg/3ml | Drug Tier = 1 |
| montelukast sodium chew tab 4 mg, 5 mg (Singulair) | Drug Tier = 1 |
| montelukast sodium tab 10 mg (Singulair) | Drug Tier = 1 |
| pirfenidone cap 267 mg (Esbriet) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (180 capsules/30 days), SP |
| pirfenidone tab 267 mg (Esbriet) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (180 tablets/30 days), SP |
| pirfenidone tab 801 mg (Esbriet) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (90 tablets/30 days), SP |
| esomeprazole magnesium for delayed release susp packet 5 mg, 10 mg, 20 mg, 40 mg (Nexium) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (60 packets/30 days) |
| famotidine for susp 40 mg/5ml | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (2400 mls/30 days) |
| pantoprazole sodium ec tab 20 mg, 40 mg (Protonix) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| aprepitant capsule 40 mg, 80 mg, 125 mg (Emend) | Drug Tier = 1 |
| ondansetron hcl oral soln 4 mg/5ml; ondansetron hcl tab 4 mg, 8 mg; ondansetron orally disintegrating tab 4 mg, 8 mg | Drug Tier = 1 |
| lanthanum carbonate chew tab 500 mg, 750 mg, 1000 mg (Fosrenol) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (varies by strength: 270/180/120 tablets/30 days respectively) |
| sevelamer carbonate packets and tabs (Renvela) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (510 packets/30 days for 0.8 gm; QL 150 packets/30 days for 2.4 gm; QL 510 tablets/30 days for 800 mg) |
| mirabegron tab er 24 hr 25 mg, 50 mg (Myrbetriq) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| oxybutynin chloride solution 5 mg/5ml | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (600 mls/30 days) |
| oxybutynin chloride tab er 24hr 5 mg | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| oxybutynin chloride tab er 24hr 10 mg, 15 mg | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| solifenacin succinate tab 5 mg, 10 mg (Vesicare) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| tamsulosin hcl cap 0.4 mg | Drug Tier = 1 |
| alprazolam tab er 24hr 0.5 mg, 1 mg, 2 mg, 3 mg (Xanax XR) | Drug Tier = 1 |
| bupropion hcl tab er 12hr and er 24hr (Wellbutrin SR/XL) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (various: 120/90/30/120/180 depending on strength/form) |
| citalopram hydrobromide tab 10 mg, 20 mg, 40 mg (Celexa) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = QL (120/60/30 tablets/30 days depending on strength) |
| DEXCOM G6 RECEIVER | continuous glucose system receiver |
| DEXCOM G6 SENSOR | continuous glucose system sensor |
| DEXCOM G6 TRANSMITTER | continuous glucose system transmitter |
| DEXCOM G7 SENSOR | continuous glucose system sensor |
| DEXCOM G7 15 DAY SENSOR | continuous glucose system sensor (15 day) |
| adapalene-benzoyl peroxide gel 0.1-2.5% (Epiduo) | topical acne combination |
| tazarotene cream/gel (Tazorac) | topical retinoid |
| tretinoin cream/gel (Retin-A) | topical retinoid |
| lidocaine patch/ointment/solution | topical/local anesthetic products |
| No codes listed |
| No codes listed |
| DEXCOM G6 SENSOR | Dexcom G6 sensor product listed |
| DEXCOM G7 SENSOR | Dexcom G7 sensor product listed |
| AUTOSOFT 90 INFUSION SET | Infusion set product listed |
| BD GLUCOSE | Glucose monitoring supplies listed |
| cefadroxil cap 500 mg | antibiotic formulation listed |
| clindamycin phosphate gel 1% | topical listing |
| dimethyl fumarate 240 mg | dimethyl fumarate capsule delayed release 240 mg |
| dimethyl fumarate starter pack 120/240 mg | dimethyl fumarate capsule dr starter pack 120 mg & 240 mg |
| diphenoxylate/atropine 2.5/0.025 mg | diphenoxylate w/ atropine tab 2.5-0.025 mg |
| dipyridamole 25/50/75 mg | dipyridamole tab 25 mg, 50 mg, 75 mg |
| dronabinol 2.5/5/10 mg | dronabinol cap 2.5 mg; 5 mg, 10 mg |
| efavirenz-emtricitabine-tenofovir 600-200-300 mg | efavirenz-emtricitabine-tenofovir tab 600-200-300 mg |
| emtricitabine 200 mg | emtricitabine caps 200 mg |
| entecavir 0.5 mg, 1 mg | entecavir tab 0.5 mg, 1 mg |
| enoxaparin various | enoxaparin sodium inj 300 mg/3ml and other strengths |
| ergocalciferol 50,000 unit | ergocalciferol cap 1.25 mg (50000 unit) |
| erlotinib 25/100/150 mg | erlotinib hcl tab 25 mg, 100 mg, 150 mg |
| fluconazole 50/100/150/200 mg | fluconazole tab 50 mg, 100 mg, 150 mg, 200 mg |
| glatiramer acetate 20/40 mg/ml | glatiramer acetate soln prefilled syringe 20 mg/ml and 40 mg/ml |
| gabapentin multiple strengths | gabapentin cap/tab/soln various strengths including once-daily formulations |
| insulins (Humalog, Humulin, Insulin Glargine) | multiple insulin products and pen/syringe supplies |
Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, and Documentation
Prior Authorization requirement — Some drugs are subject to Prior Authorization (PA)
Some drugs listed in the formulary require prior authorization (PA) before the plan will cover them. Providers or members must obtain plan approval in advance; failure to obtain PA may result in claim denial. PA flags appear next to products in the formulary and may be combined with other flags (QL, SP, ACA, LA, ST).
- Check the member's Certificate of Coverage and plan benefits for specific PA, coverage, and cost-sharing rules.
- If a drug is marked PA in the formulary, submit a prior authorization request per EmblemHealth procedures before dispensing.
Prior authorization required for select formulations
Certain specific formulations (oral solutions, suspensions, capsules, tabs, and strength-specific products) are labeled with PA in the formulary. Examples include nystatin tablets 500, voriconazole (tabs and susp), itraconazole oral solution, and multiple antiretroviral liquid formulations. When a formulation is marked PA, authorization must be obtained for that formulation even if other formulations of the same drug may not require PA.
- Review the Requirements/Limits column for formulation-level flags (e.g., PA next to a specific strength or formulation).
- Document medical necessity for the specific formulation when submitting PA (e.g., swallowing difficulty requiring suspension).
Prior authorization required for PA-designated drugs
Many oncology, specialty oral agents, and certain injectables are designated PA (often with SP and/or QL). Examples include abiraterone (PA, QL, SP), temozolomide (PA, SP), bexarotene (PA, SP), and various antineoplastics. These PA-designated drugs frequently require clinical documentation and specialty pharmacy handling.
- When Requirements/Limits shows PA or SP for antineoplastics, include diagnosis, prior therapies, and treatment intent with the PA request.
- Quantity limits listed (e.g., abiraterone QL 120 tablets/30 days) must be adhered to unless an override is authorized.
Prior authorization for select antidiabetic injectables and orals
Select antidiabetic agents — including GLP-1/GIP receptor agonists and related products — are marked PA and often have quantity limits. Examples include MOUNJARO (tirzepatide), OZEMPIC/RYBELSUS (semaglutide), TRULICITY, and liraglutide (Saxenda for weight management). These require PA and may have specific pen/kit limits.
- MOUNJARO: PA, QL (4 pens/180 days for some strengths; 4 pens/28 days for others).
- OZEMPIC: PA, QL (1 pen/28 days or 3 pens/28 days depending on strength).
- RYBELSUS: PA, QL (30 tablets/30–180 days depending on strength).
- Liraglutide (Saxenda) for weight management: PA, QL (15 mls/30 days).
Prior authorization and quantity limits
Some products combine prior authorization (PA) with quantity limits (QL) and/or specialty (SP) designation. When multiple flags appear, PA must be obtained and dispensing must comply with the QL unless an exception is authorized.
- Examples: abiraterone (PA, QL, SP); pirfenidone (PA, QL, SP); teriparatide (PA, QL, SP).
- Follow the QL numeric limits on the formulary (e.g., pirfenidone caps 180 capsules/30 days) when submitting claims.
PA required for pirfenidone — Esbriet formulations
Pirfenidone (Esbriet) formulations require prior authorization and are subject to quantity limits and specialty designation. Dispense only after PA approval and within stated QL.
- Pirfenidone cap/tab 267 mg: PA, QL (180 capsules/tablets/30 days) and SP.
- Higher-strength tablet formulations (e.g., 801 mg) have separate QL (90 tablets/30 days).
Prior authorization required for select agents and listed products
Multiple listed products across therapeutic classes are flagged PA (and often SP/QL). Examples include tasimelteon, liraglutide (weight mgmt), phentermine products, cladribine, sodium oxybate, tetrabenazine, and others. Obtain PA and supporting documentation as required.
- Check Requirements/Limits for PA, SP, LA, ACA flags on individual products before dispensing.
- High-cost specialty or program-flagged items require supporting clinical documentation (diagnosis, prior therapy, labs) with the PA request.
Prior authorization / specialty flags and other program flags
Products marked with program flags (PA, SP, LA, ACA, FF, ST) trigger utilization management controls. These flags indicate that prior authorization, specialty pharmacy handling, limited availability, Affordable Care Act coverage, frozen formulary implications, or step therapy may apply.
- ACA = may be covered with no member cost-share when applicable.
- FF = Frozen Formulary — coverage or utilization may change at plan-year boundaries.
- LA = Limited Availability — obtainable at select pharmacies only.
PA and QL required for select pumps and kits
Specific insulin pumps, starter kits, disposable pod reservoirs, and infusion systems require prior authorization and have quantity limits noted. Requests for these devices should include clinical indication and justification for the specific pump or kit.
- ILET insulin infusion kit/pump/starter kits: PA, QL (1 kit/720 days or 1 kit/30 days as shown).
- OMNIPOD Dash and OMNIPOD 5 kits/pods: PA, QL (1 kit/720 days; 30 pods/30 days).
- V-GO disposable pump kits: PA, QL (30 systems/30 days).
Prior Authorization Not Specified in Segment — some listings are index-only
This segment primarily lists formulary products and flags; not every line specifies prior authorization. Absence of a PA flag in this segment does not guarantee coverage — consult plan details.
- If Requirements/Limits is blank for a product, confirm coverage and any program rules via the member's plan or prior authorization resources.
- Some sections are index/listing material and do not include operational PA rules; see plan documents for full requirements.
Potential triggers for denial — obtain PA and follow limits
Potential triggers for denial include: absence of required prior authorization, exceeding quantity limits, failing step therapy requirements, or not meeting specialty program criteria. Claims submitted without proper PA or documentation may be denied or delayed.
- Denials commonly occur when PA is required but not obtained prior to dispensing.
- Claims exceeding QL (e.g., topiramate ER QL 30–60 capsules/30 days; insulin pump kit QL limits) may be denied without documented exception.
PA-marked products may require prior authorization
Products marked 'PA' in the formulary may be denied if prior authorization is not obtained. Examples: nystatin tab 500000 unit (PA), voriconazole formulations (PA). Always verify PA status before dispensing.
- When you see 'PA' next to a product, do not assume coverage at point of sale without approval.
- Contact EmblemHealth or use the provider portal to initiate PA prior to claim submission.
Quantity limits and specialty/ACA flags — enforce both PA and QL
Some products combine Quantity Limits (QL) with specialty or ACA flags. Antiretrovirals and other specialty agents often list QL and ACA/SP indicators; these require adherence to both coverage and numerical limits.
- Examples: abacavir solutions/tabs with QL values; DESCOVY with ACA and QL (30 tablets/30 days); YEZTUGO with ACA, QL (4 tablets/365 days), SP.
- When ACA or ACA+QL is listed, ensure eligibility rules for ACA apply to the member and that QL is enforced.
Utilization management flags — follow indicated controls
Utilization management flags on the formulary (PA, QL, SP, ST, ACA, FF, LA) indicate controls that affect coverage and dispensing. Providers must review flags and follow the corresponding operational steps (PA submission, QL enforcement, step therapy documentation).
- ST (Step Therapy): when present, document prior trials per the ST requirements before requesting non-preferred therapies.
- SP (Specialty): specialty pharmacy handling and additional monitoring may be required; follow SP routing instructions.
Prior authorization required for select antidiabetics — PA and QL enforcement
Several high-cost antidiabetic agents are flagged PA (see antidiabetic callout). Quantity limits and PA enforcement are applied to control dispensing frequency and supply amounts.
- Enforce QL exactly as listed (e.g., MOUNJARO pens QL 4 pens/28 or 180 days depending on strength).
- PA requirements may include documentation of diagnosis (type 2 diabetes), prior therapies, and weight indication for weight-management products.
Documentation required when PA/QL present — include clinical justification
When a product lists PA or QL (or both), the provider must include documentation supporting medical necessity, indication, prior treatment history, and dosing. PA submissions lacking required documentation risk denial.
- Documentation implied by PA/QL: diagnosis, prior therapy failures/intolerances, treatment plan, labs where applicable.
- For specialty products (SP), include any required enrollment or monitoring documentation with PA.
General documentation note for PA/QL flagged products
General documentation expectations for flagged products: provide indication, prior therapy trials and dates, relevant lab results, and planned dosing. Pharmacy claims should reflect the drug name, strength, form, and quantity to match QL limits.
- Ensure claim lines match the formulary-listed strength and form to permit automated QL checks.
- If requesting an override to a QL or PA, include rationale and supporting clinical records.
Prescription information for QL enforcement — follow QL when dispensing
When a quantity limit (QL) is listed, dispense according to the numeric limit (e.g., mls/30 days, tablets/30 days). Pharmacy claims must include complete prescription details to allow QL enforcement.
- Examples: abacavir soln QL 960 mls/30 days; citalopram solution QL 600 mls/30 days; rizatriptan QL 18 tablets/30 days.
- If a prescription exceeds QL, submit PA with clinical justification prior to dispensing.
Documentation for PA/SP — submit required clinical support
Prescribers and pharmacists must provide documentation to support PA or specialty (SP) requests per EmblemHealth procedures. This includes clinical notes, prior therapy history, and any program enrollment forms required for SP drugs.
- For PA/SP requests, include: diagnosis, prior treatments/trials, duration of therapy tried, and relevant diagnostic tests or lab values.
- Follow payer-specific submission channels (provider portal, fax, or special pharmacy) for SP items.
Program-flagged products — operational follow-up required
Program-flagged products (PA, SP, LA, ACA, FF, ST) require following the payer's operational rules. These flags may trigger specialty pharmacy routing, limited pharmacy availability, or ACA coverage rules.
- Confirm whether LA (Limited Availability) requires dispensing at specific pharmacies.
- ACA-marked drugs may have different cost-sharing — verify member eligibility and plan applicability.
Quantity limit and status documentation for devices and supplies
Quantity limits, status indicators, and program flags must be observed when submitting claims for devices and supplies (e.g., CGM sensors, pump kits). Claims not matching QL or program status may be denied or subject to retrospective review.
- DEXCOM sensors: QL (2–3 sensors/30 days) and may have ST or other program flags.
- Pump kits: QL (1 kit/720 days) for some devices; verify device-specific QL before billing.
Required documentation/PA indication — submit complete PA requests
Submit PA requests with the documentation indicated by the formulary flag. Where PA is required, include all requested clinical information; incomplete submissions delay review and may lead to denial.
- Use EmblemHealth's PA submission instructions and include all clinical records specified on the PA form.
- Track PA approvals and authorization numbers; include them on claims per payer guidelines.
This segment does not include full PA submission documentation — consult payer resources
This segment is largely a product listing with flags; it does not contain full operational prior authorization forms, timelines, or appeal procedures. Providers should use EmblemHealth's provider resources for detailed PA submission steps and required forms.
- For full PA criteria, forms, and turnaround times, consult the EmblemHealth provider portal or call the number on the member ID card.
- Do not rely solely on the printed formulary listing for operational PA instructions.
Step Therapy requirement — Step/other utilization flags noted
Step Therapy (ST) may apply to some products in the formulary; flags will indicate when ST is required. The document includes items with ST noted (e.g., CGM sensors) but does not provide step-therapy protocols in this segment.
- When ST is flagged, document prior trials of preferred agents and durations per plan policy.
- If no ST details are listed in this segment, obtain ST protocol details from the plan's clinical policy or PA criteria.
No explicit step therapy rules are presented in this segment — consult plan documents
This section does not specify step therapy rules or detailed protocols. Providers must consult plan-specific clinical policies or the Certificate of Coverage for step therapy requirements and exception processes.
- If a drug is marked ST but no protocol is present here, request ST criteria from EmblemHealth prior to PA submission.
- Document failed trials of first-line agents when seeking exceptions to ST.
Step Therapy Requirements
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| APRETUDE - cabotegravir IM extended release suspension 600 mg/3 mL | |
| APRETUDE is listed with Requirements/Limits = ACA, LA, SP indicating ACA coverage plus limited access and specialty handling prior to dispensing; some antiretroviral products also show QL (e.g., atazanavir, darunavir, DESCOVY) as noted in the formulary. |
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| MOUNJARO (tirzepatide) pen-injector and OZEMPIC (semaglutide) pen-injector | |
| These advanced antidiabetic agents are flagged Requirements/Limits = PA and have quantity limits (e.g., MOUNJARO QL 4 pens/180 days or QL 4 pens/28 days for other strengths; OZEMPIC QL 1 pen/28 days or QL 3 pens/28 days) — prior authorization may include step requirements though specific step rules are not provided in this excerpt. |
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| Glycerol phenylbutyrate (Ravicti); JYNARQUE (tolvaptan); APRETUDE; select products flagged LA or SP | |
| Entries flagged with SP, LA, or 'Y' denote additional utilization controls — specialty routing, limited access, or program requirements before coverage (examples include Ravicti = FF, PA, SP, Y; JYNARQUE = LA, PA, QL, SP; APRETUDE = ACA, LA, SP). |
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| Sildenafil, tadalafil, vardenafil and other PDE5 agents (erectile dysfunction) | |
| These erectile dysfunction agents are listed with quantity limits (e.g., sildenafil QL 6 tablets/30 days; tadalafil QL 6 or QL 30 tablets/30 days depending on formulation) but no explicit step therapy sequences are described in the provided chunks. |
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| Gabapentin (once-daily formulations, e.g., Gralise 300 mg, 450 mg, 750 mg, 600 mg, 900 mg) | |
| Certain once-daily gabapentin formulations are marked ST (step therapy) and QL (e.g., Gralise 300/450/750 mg QL 30 tablets/30 days ST; 600 mg QL 90 tablets/30 days ST; 900 mg QL 60 tablets/30 days ST) — approval requires failure of preferred options per plan. |
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| Selected formulations with ST flag (various) | |
| Some formulations are noted as ST (step therapy) in the formulary and may require trial of alternative formulations or preferred products before approval; examples in the excerpt include notation that certain formulations carry the ST flag though specific product-level examples are limited in these chunks. |
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| Topiramate ER (sprinkle) capsule formulations, selected strengths (e.g., 25 mg, 50 mg, 100 mg, 150 mg, 200 mg) | |
| Selected topiramate ER (sprinkle) strengths are listed with Requirements/Limits = PA and QL (e.g., 25–150 mg QL 30 capsules/30 days; 200 mg QL 60 capsules/30 days) — prior authorization is required for some ER strengths before coverage. |
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| Vigabatrin (Sabril) and selected specialty agents | |
| Vigabatrin and some other agents are indicated with SP or LA flags (e.g., JYNARQUE also shows LA, PA, QL, SP) implying enrollment or handling through a specialty program or limited access process prior to coverage. |
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| Dexcom G6 and G7 sensors, transmitters, receivers (continuous glucose monitoring supplies) | |
| Dexcom G7 and G6 sensors are listed with QL (e.g., QL 3 sensors/30 days or QL 2 sensors/30 days for 15‑day sensors) and are marked ST, indicating step therapy requirements apply prior to approval for sensors/transmitters/receivers. |
| Product | Step therapy / Notes |
|---|---|
| Various alphabetical product listings in this excerpt | |
| The listed chunks do not describe step therapy rules for these entries; the segment is an itemized formulary listing without explicit step therapy rules in the provided text. |
| Step | Step details |
|---|---|
| Step 1 | |
| No specific Step 1 clinical details or required agents are provided in the excerpt — step therapy placeholders are noted but not defined in these chunks. |
Quantity Limits (Examples by Product)
Site-of-Care and Specialty Handling
Background and Scope
This formulary lists both brand-name and generic drugs and shows the drug tier and any utilization management controls such as PA (Prior Authorization), QL (Quantity Limit), ST (Step Therapy), and specialty flags (e.g., SP, LA). It is intended as an itemized guide for members and prescribers: coverage of a listed drug is conditional on the member’s specific plan, and products flagged with PA, QL, ST or other program markers require the corresponding administrative processes to be satisfied before coverage is authorized. Members should verify plan-specific coverage via their Certificate of Coverage or member services.
Definitions and Abbreviations
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.