EmblemHealth Large Group ASO NRA Preferred Formulary (2026)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all EmblemHealth policy alerts
Know when EmblemHealth releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document lists covered prescription drugs, formulary tiers, and common plan restrictions (e.g., prior authorization, quantity limits, step therapy, specialty pharmacy) for EmblemHealth Large Group ASO NRA Preferred members as of Jan. 1, 2026 and informs members and providers how to use the formulary.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria and Formulary Rules
General coverage rules
Formulary coverage is determined by tier placement and any associated utilization management indicators; coverage may require meeting listed utilization controls before the plan will pay.
See formulary line-item for assigned tier and benefit implications.
Examples and definitions of these flags are shown on the formulary (see abbreviations).
Prior authorization process and required documentation are per payer procedures.
Quantity limits are shown on each line (e.g., tablets/30 days, mLs/30 days, packets/28 days).
Site-of-care or channel requirements appear on the product line; follow payer routing instructions.
Covered drugs (with possible utilization controls)
Formulary listing indicates in‑formulary coverage status; many entries include Requirements/Limits specifying utilization management (PA, QL, LA, SP).
Coverage remains subject to the member's Certificate of Coverage and payer policies.
See individual formulary entries for exact flags and limits (examples in antiviral and specialty sections).
Selected antiviral/hepatitis coverage rules
Coverage and dispensing are subject to drug‑specific requirements as noted on each formulary line (examples shown below).
See each antiviral line for pack/tablet counts and any SP/LA designations (e.g., MAVYRET QL 84 tablets/28 days; VOSEVI QL 28 tablets/28 days).
Examples include QL entries and LA/SP flags on individual antiviral line-items.
Vaccine coverage indicators
Vaccines listed include an ACA flag when preventive/mandated coverage applies.
Refer to the vaccine formulary line for tier and any administration or site‑of‑care details.
Administration and coverage depend on plan benefit and vaccine indication.
Formulary coverage with utilization controls
Coverage and utilization controls apply as listed for each product; items flagged with PA/LA/SP require prior authorization and/or specialty handling.
Examples: inhaler QL (e.g., fluticasone‑salmeterol QL 1 inhaler/30 days), specialty biologics with PA/QL/SP (e.g., TREMFYA PA + QL 1 syringe/28 days), and LA/PA/QL on select GI specialty agents (e.g., BYLVAY).
Failure to obtain required authorization or to follow site‑of‑care routing may result in denial of coverage.
Not all drugs shown in this formulary are payable under every drug benefit. Coverage for any given medication is subject to the member’s specific plan terms as described in the member’s Certificate of Coverage. Members and providers should confirm benefit eligibility, copay/coinsurance, and any plan-specific requirements (for example, prior authorization or quantity limits) before assuming coverage.
The excerpt provided does not include a separate list of drugs that are explicitly excluded from coverage. Where exclusions or special limitations apply, those details are maintained in plan documents and member materials rather than in this excerpt.
Within the supplied document segments there are no explicit exclusion entries shown. The listings present covered products with associated tiers and utilization controls (e.g., PA, QL, SP) but do not enumerate specific exclusions in these chunks.
This segment does not provide explicit exclusion conditions. PALFORZIA and similar products are shown with program indicators (e.g., LA, SP) and ACA flags, but no exclusion rules are stated in these chunks.
No explicit coverage exclusion statements are present in these excerpts; entries primarily identify drug tiers and utilization management flags such as PA, QL, LA, and SP rather than listing excluded products.
The provided excerpt does not state explicit exclusions. Drug lines in these chunks list requirements/limits (for example, PA and QL) and specialty designations but do not declare specific excluded items.
There are no explicit 'not medically necessary' (NMN) determinations presented in the supplied chunks. Clinical coverage decisions that designate services or drugs as NMN would be addressed in plan medical policy or benefit documentation beyond this excerpt.
No statements labeling products as Not Medically Necessary (NMN) appear in the available chunks. The listings instead emphasize formulary placement and utilization controls (e.g., QL, PA).
This excerpt does not include 'not medically necessary' policy language. Entries shown specify prior authorization, quantity limits, and specialty flags but do not contain NMN determinations in these sections.
Formulary Line Items and Coding Examples
| ANNOVERA | segesterone acetate-ethinyl estradiol vaginal ring 0.15-0.013 mg/24hr — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| ARANELLE | norethindrone-ethinyl estradiol tablets (various strengths) — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| BEYAZ | drospirenone-ethinyl estradiol-levomefolate tab 3-0.02-0.451 mg — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| DEPO-PROVERA CONTRACEPTIV | medroxyprogesterone acetate IM suspension 150 mg/ml — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| DEPO-SUBQ PROVERA 104 | medroxyprogesterone acetate subq suspension pref syringe 104 mg/0.65ml — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| desogestrel-ethinyl estradiol | combined oral contraceptive tab 0.15-0.02/0.01 mg (21/5) — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| desogestrel & ethinyl estradiol | combined oral contraceptive formulations — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| PA | Prior Authorization indicated |
| QL | Quantity Limit applies (values vary by product) |
| SP | Specialty distribution or handling |
| LA | Limited/limited access or limited availability |
| ACA | Affordable Care Act preventive or mandated coverage |
| FLUZONE 2025-2026 | influenza virus vaccine split im susp pref syringe 0.5 ml — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| GARDASIL 9 | hpv 9-valent recombinant vaccine — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| HEPLISAV-B | hepatitis B vaccine recomb adjuvanted pref syr 20 mcg/0.5ml — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| M-M-R II | measles-mumps-rubella vaccine for injection — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| VAXNEUVANCE | pneumococcal 15-valent conjugate vaccine pref syr 0.5 ml — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| VARIVAX | varicella vaccine live for injection 1350 pfu/0.5ml — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| JYNNEOS | smallpox & monkeypox vaccine, live non-replicating inj 0.5 ml — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| IPOL INACTIVATED IPV | poliovirus vaccine injection — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| VAXCHORA | cholera vaccine live attenuated oral suspension — Requirements/Limits = ACA |
| AMOXICILLIN | multiple strengths and formulations listed (capsules, tablets, suspensions) — tiers 1-3 |
| ARIKAYCE | amikacin sulfate liposome inhalation suspension 590 mg/8.4 ml — Requirements: LA, PA, QL (28 vials/28 days), SP |
| APRETUDE | cabotegravir IM extended release suspension 600 mg/3 ml — Requirements: ACA, LA, SP |
| BARACLUDE | entecavir oral solution 0.05 mg/ml — tier 2 |
| BIKTARVY | bictegravir-emtricitabine-tenofovir AF combination tablets — tier 2 |
| LIVTENCITY | maribavir tab 200 mg — Requirements: LA, QL, SP |
| VOSEVI | sofosbuvir-velpatasvir-voxilaprevir tab 400-100-100 mg — PA, QL, SP |
| KISQALI | ribociclib succinate tab packs — PA, QL, SP |
| KRAZATI | adagrasib tab 200 mg — LA, PA, QL, SP |
| LENVIMA | lenvatinib capsule therapy packs — LA, PA, QL, SP |
| AMOXICILLIN (various) | chew tabs 125/250 mg; caps 250/500 mg; suspensions 125/5ml–400/5ml; tabs 500 mg, 875 mg |
| AZITHROMYCIN | suspension and tablet formulations (not fully excerpted) |
| ACYCLOVIR | caps 200 mg, susp 200 mg/5ml, tabs 400/800 mg |
| LAMIVUDINE | oral solution 10 mg/ml; tabs 100/150/300 mg |
| MAVYRET | tablets and pellet packs — PA, QL, SP |
| ISENTRESS | raltegravir tabs 400/600 mg — QL limits noted |
| VOSEVI | SOF/VEL/VOX 400/100/100 mg — PA, QL, SP |
| ANNOVERA | segesterone-ethinyl estradiol vaginal ring — ACA |
| DEPO-PROVERA | medroxyprogesterone acetate IM susp 150 mg/ml — ACA |
| REBIF TITRATION PACK | interferon beta-1a prefilled syringe kit — PA, QL (1 kit/180 days), SP |
| SOMAVERT | pegvisomant injection — LA, SP |
| SKYTROFA | lonapegsomatropin cartridges — LA, PA, SP |
| STRENSIQ | asfotase alfa injection — LA, PA, SP |
| TRYNGOLZA | olezarsen subcut auto-inject — LA, PA, QL, SP |
| TYMLOS | abaloparatide pen-injector — LA, PA, QL, SP |
| ADALIMUMAB biosimilars | multiple prefilled syringe and auto-injector presentations — PA, QL, SP |
| ENBREL | etanercept prefilled syringe/cartridge/auto-injector — PA, QL, SP |
| ORENCIA | abatacept subcutaneous prefilled syringe/auto-injector — PA, QL, SP |
| SKYRIZI | risankizumab cartridges/pref syringes — PA, QL, SP |
| DIGOXIN | oral solution 0.05 mg/ml and tablets 62.5/125/250 mcg — Requirements/Limits = PA for some presentations |
| ISOSORBIDE MONONITRATE | tablets and ER formulations — various tiers |
| NITROGLYCERIN | sublingual tablets, transdermal patches, ointments — multiple tiers and limits |
| BETA BLOCKERS | atenolol, metoprolol, carvedilol, propranolol (including HEMANGEOL) — various presentations and QL/LA notes |
| FLECAINIDE | cap 50/100/150 mg — listed |
| MEXILETINE | capsules 150/200/250 mg — listed |
| MULTAQ | dronedarone 400 mg tab — listed |
| BUPROPION | immediate and extended-release formulations — QL limits noted |
| CITALOPRAM | oral solution and tablets — QL limits noted |
| DULOXETINE | enteric coated pellets caps 20/30/60 mg — QL limits |
| EMSAM | selegiline TD patch 6/9/12 mg/24hr — listed |
| CAPLYTA | lumateperone caps — QL noted |
| REXULTI | brexpiprazole tabs — QL noted |
| VRAYLAR | cariprazine caps — QL noted |
| BELSOMRA | suvorexant 5/10/15/20 mg — QL, ST |
| ESZOPICLONE | Lunesta 1/2/3 mg — QL limits |
| AMPHETAMINES | amphetamine-dextroamphetamine ER/IR formulations — QL limits for controlled medications |
| ADHD NONSTIMULANTS | atomoxetine, guanfacine ER — QL limits |
| REBIF TITRATION PACK | interferon beta-1a pref syr kit — PA, QL (1 kit/180 days), SP |
| SODIUM OXYBATE | sodium oxybate oral solution 500 mg/ml — LA, PA, QL (3 bottles/30 days), SP |
| SODIUM PHENYLBUTYRATE | glycerol phenylbutyrate liquid 1.1 gm/ml RAVICTI — LA, PA, SP |
| XYWAV | calcium/mag/potassium/sodium oxybates oral solution 500 mg/ml — LA, PA, QL (540 mls/30 days), SP |
| VYLEESI | bremelanotide subcutaneous auto-inject — LA, PA, QL (6 pens/30 days), SP |
| WAINUA | eplontersen sodium subcut auto-inj 45 mg — LA, PA, QL (1 pen/30 days), SP |
| ZEPOSIA | ozanimod capsules and starter kits — PA, QL, SP |
| TYK2/biologics | various biologic therapies listed with PA/QL requirements |
| PIQRAY / POMALYST / ROZLYTREK | oncology QL/PA examples — PIQRAY (PA, QL), POMALYST (LA, PA, QL), ROZLYTREK (LA, PA, QL) |
| ASPIRIN | various formulations including low-dose and delayed release — ACA noted for preventive uses |
| BUTALBITAL combinations | butalbital-acetaminophen +/- caffeine +/- codeine — QL limits |
| BELBUCA | buprenorphine buccal film — PA, QL |
| FENTANYL patches | TD patches 12-100 mcg/hr — PA, QL (15 patches/30 days) |
| MORPHINE SULFATE | multiple ER and IR formulations — PA and QL for certain ER products |
| OXYCODONE | concentrates, solutions, and tablets — QL limits specified |
| METHADONE | solutions and tabs for opioid use disorder/pain — QL limits |
| TRAMADOL | immediate and ER formulations — PA/QL for ER versions |
| ADALIMUMAB series | multiple biosimilars and presentations — PA, QL, SP |
| ETANERCEPT (ENBREL) | prefilled syringes/cartridges/auto-injectors — PA, QL, SP |
| RISANKIZUMAB (SKYRIZI) | cartridges/prefilled syringes — PA, QL, SP |
| GUSELKUMAB (TREMFYA) | prefilled syringe — PA/QL noted |
| UPADACITINIB (RINVOQ) | ER tabs 15/30 mg — LA, PA, QL |
Provider Actions, Prior Authorization, and Documentation
Prior Authorization Required
Many drugs listed in this formulary require prior authorization (PA) before the plan will cover them. Prior authorization may be required for specific high-cost antiviral and hepatitis therapies (for example, EPCLUSA, MAVYRET, MAVYRET pellet packs, VOSEVI, VOSEVI pellet packs, SOVALDI-type regimens) as well as select antifungals. Numerous specialty and limited-access products (marked SP and/or LA) — including many oncology, biologic, gene, and enzyme therapies — also require PA and often have quantity limits (QL) or site-of-care restrictions. Failure to obtain required PA or to adhere to QL/LA/SP requirements may result in claim denial or delay.
- Prior Authorization Required: Drugs annotated 'PA' require approval before dispensing; without approval the plan may not cover the drug.
- High-cost antivirals/hepatitis agents: Examples listed with PA and often QL/SP include EPCLUSA (sofosbuvir-velpatasvir) and MAVYRET (glecaprevir-pibrentasvir) — PA is required for tablets and pellet/packet formulations.
- Selected antifungals: Certain agents (e.g., CRESEMBA/isavuconazonium) are marked PA and require authorization prior to coverage.
- Selected specialty drugs: Many specialty therapies across therapeutic classes (oncology agents, enzyme therapies, biologics, gene therapies) are marked LA, PA, SP and require prior authorization and may have quantity limits.
- PA for specific antiviral/hepatitis therapies: Products such as EPCLUSA, MAVYRET, VOSEVI, MAVYRET pellet packs and VOSEVI pellet packs are subject to PA, QL, and SP designations.
- PA required for many specialty drugs: Examples include numerous antineoplastics and supportive oncology agents (abiraterone/Zytiga, alpelisib/PIQRAY, selinexor/XPOVIO, many targeted oral agents) and immunomodulators — these are frequently LA, PA, QL, SP.
- Products requiring PA/QL: Several products list both PA and specified quantity limits (e.g., EPCLUSA QL 28 tablets/28 days; MAVYRET QL 84 tablets/28 days; many oncology and specialty agents list numeric QLs).
- Prior Authorization required for listed LA/PA/SP drugs: Items flagged LA/PA/SP (for example, ARIKAYCE, TOBI PODHALER, many biologics and enzyme replacements) require PA and may be limited to certain pharmacies or channels.
- Prior Authorization required for select specialty and high-cost agents: Examples include CHOLBAM, BYLVAY-type agents, ENTYVIO PEN, maralixibat/LIVMARLI, and other high-cost orphan or specialty drugs marked LA/PA/SP.
- PA/SP/LA required for specific products: Many products annotated with any combination of PA, SP, LA require submission of authorization per the plan's prior authorization process (examples throughout the formulary).
- Prior authorization may trigger denial: Claims submitted without required PA, or exceeding QL, or not meeting LA/SP conditions, may be denied until authorization/documentation is provided.
- High-cost antiviral requirements: Antiviral/hepatitis regimens (sofosbuvir-based regimens, glecaprevir-pibrentasvir, voxilaprevir combinations) carry PA and SP designations and often QLs; prior approval is expected before dispensing.
- PA/QL/SP requirements for listed specialty drugs: Specialty products commonly require PA plus QL and are often restricted to specialty pharmacies or limited distribution networks (LA).
- PA/LA/SP trigger: Any item labeled PA, LA or SP in the formulary should be treated as requiring prior approval and may have additional site-of-care or dispensing channel requirements.
- PA/LA may trigger denial: Failure to meet PA or LA conditions (for example dispensing outside permitted pharmacies) can lead to claim denial.
- Quantity limit exceedance: Requests exceeding the listed QL (for example XYWAV QL 540 mL/30 days, EPCLUSA QL 28 tablets/28 days) may be denied unless an exception is authorized.
- Authorization risk for flagged products: Coverage is subject to utilization management controls (PA, ST, SP, LA, QL) — providers should verify requirements before prescribing or dispensing.
Provider Documentation and Submission Requirements
When a drug is flagged PA, prescribers must follow the payer's prior authorization process and provide supporting clinical documentation. For LA and SP products, additional documentation (site-of-care justification, distribution channel adherence, specialty pharmacy enrollment) is often required. Documentation should justify medical necessity, prior trials (when step therapy/ST applies), dosing, duration, and reason for any requested QL exceedance. The plan may request PA forms, clinical notes, laboratory results, or prior treatment history to support approval.
- Documentation expectations: Provide clinical rationale, prior treatment history, relevant labs, and any required PA forms to support the PA request.
- Specialty / limited access documentation: For LA/SP products (for example many biologics, enzyme therapies, and orphan drugs), include site-of-care justification and ensure dispensing through approved channels/specialty pharmacies when required.
- PA and QL documentation expected: For drugs with both PA and QL, include dosing schedule and justification for the quantity requested relative to the listed QL (examples: OZEMPIC 1 pen/28 days, EPCLUSA 28 tablets/28 days).
- Documentation for PA: Prescribers must supply clinical evidence and any required forms per the plan's PA procedures; incomplete documentation may delay or result in denial.
- Documentation for PA/QL/LA/SP: Follow the payer's prior authorization process for products marked with these flags; documentation must address all applicable controls.
- Documentation for PA/LA agents: For drugs that are both PA and LA, include information proving appropriateness of limited distribution channel or specialty pharmacy enrollment.
- Documentation for restricted products: The plan may require manufacturer paperwork, prior therapy failure documentation, or specialty pharmacy enrollment to authorize coverage.
Step Therapy
Step therapy (ST) applies to some products. Where ST is indicated, the plan requires trials of specified first-line agents before covering the requested therapy. Not all step therapy details are listed in this excerpt; providers should consult the plan's PA criteria or clinical policy for exact step requirements and allowable exceptions.
- Step therapy requirement: Drugs annotated 'ST' require documented trials of preferred alternatives before the requested agent will be approved.
- Step therapy present for select products: Certain CNS and psychiatric medications, and other classes (examples in the formulary: FETZIMA noted with ST; select antidepressants and antipsychotics have ST annotations).
- Step therapy is not explicitly detailed here: Refer to the payer's clinical prior authorization criteria for specifics on acceptable first-line therapies, trial duration, and documentation required.
Product-Level and Pack-Specific Authorization (e.g., Palforzia)
Some products have multiple levels or kit/pack variants (for example Palforzia starter/level/maintenance packs) that are designated LA and SP and require adherence to the specific product level when requesting authorization. Ensure PA requests reference the exact product level or pack to avoid processing delays.
- Palforzia — product levels listed: Starter, Level 0, Level 1, Level 10, Level 11 (maintenance/titration) are marked LA and SP and require appropriate authorization for the specific level/pack.
- LA/SP implications: Limited availability and specialty designations may impose site-of-care, dispensing pharmacy, or monitoring requirements; include level/pack detail in PA documentation.
Formulary Background and Scope
This formulary organizes medications into defined tiers (for example, ACA/preventive, Tier 1–3) to indicate in‑formulary placement and to guide member cost sharing. Each drug line also shows any applicable utilization management indicators—such as PA (prior authorization), QL (quantity limit), LA (limited access), or SP (specialty)—that must be satisfied for plan payment. Refer to individual formulary entries for exact requirements and the member’s Certificate of Coverage for benefit details.
Definitions and Utilization Flags
Initial Therapy Criteria
Step Therapy Rules and Sequences
| Step therapy summary | Notes |
|---|---|
| No explicit step therapy sequences listed | Formulary entries in this excerpt primarily use PA, QL, LA, and SP as utilization controls; explicit multi-step failure paths are not provided. |
| Step therapy not specified for most drugs in these chunks | Where 'ST' is absent, prior authorization and quantity limits are the controlling requirements per formulary lines. |
| Product / Flag | Step therapy details |
|---|---|
| Various products with PA/SP flags (e.g., MAVYRET) | Some products are annotated PA and SP indicating prior authorization and specialty distribution; step requirements are not explicitly detailed in the listing. |
| General note | Providers should follow PA/SP requirements where shown; the formulary does not provide explicit step sequences for these entries. |
| Product | Step therapy details |
|---|---|
| PALFORZIA (levels and packs listed) | PALFORZIA entries list initial and maintenance packs and are marked LA and SP, but no explicit step-therapy sequence or step-failure criteria are provided. |
| Step therapy summary | Notes |
|---|---|
| No explicit step-therapy sequences provided | Excerpt emphasizes utilization flags (PA, QL, LA, SP); step therapy sequences are not defined here. |
| Drug group | Step therapy implication |
|---|---|
| GLP-1 and specialty diabetes agents (e.g., OZEMPIC, TRULICITY) | Many GLP-1 agents are annotated with PA and QL; prior authorization is required before coverage. Explicit step sequences are not listed in the excerpt. |
| Product | Step therapy / flag |
|---|---|
| KERENDIA (finerenone) | Marked with QL (30 tablets/30 days) and ST — the ST flag indicates a step therapy requirement may apply; the explicit step sequence is not provided in the excerpt. |
| Product category | Step therapy implication |
|---|---|
| Specialty and high-cost agents (multiple listings) | Many specialty agents are listed with PA, LA, or SP indicating prior authorization and program controls are required prior to coverage; explicit step sequences are not shown. |
| Therapeutic area | Step therapy guidance |
|---|---|
| High-cost cardiovascular and specialty agents (e.g., REPATHA, ENTRESTO) | These agents require prior authorization and have QL; formulary tier and PA may require trial of preferred agents first though no explicit step sequence is listed in the excerpt. |
| Step therapy presence | Notes |
|---|---|
| No explicit step-therapy sequences provided | Entries with PA/LA suggest case-by-case review for specialty agents rather than predefined step ladders in this excerpt. |
| Product | Step therapy flag |
|---|---|
| AUVELITY (dextromethorphan-bupropion) | Flagged 'ST' in the formulary indicating a step therapy requirement exists and must be followed; the specific required prior agents or failure criteria are not listed here. |
| Example agents flagged ST | Step therapy note |
|---|---|
| FETZIMA; TRINTELLIX; FANAPT; RISPERIDONE ODT; SECUADO; VERSACLOZ | These agents are noted with 'ST' and/or QL in the listing; step therapy is required where 'ST' appears but explicit sequences/failure criteria are not provided in the excerpt. |
| Product / flags | Step therapy details |
|---|---|
| Various agents marked LA and PA | Presence of LA and PA may imply step or prior authorization requirements per payer processes; explicit step sequences are not included in these chunks. |
Quantity Limits (Per Product Examples)
Site of Care and Specialty Routing
Biosimilars and Related Controls
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.