2026 EmblemHealth Formulary (Large Group LG) — Drug Coverage and Utilization Management
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all EmblemHealth policy alerts
Know when EmblemHealth releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document is the plan formulary listing covered drugs, tiers, and utilization management rules for EmblemHealth large group plans; it informs members and providers which drugs are covered and any prior authorization, quantity limits, or step therapy requirements.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Formulary Coverage & Limits
Oral peanut immunotherapy (Palforzia) — product-level constraints
Coverage and limitations for Palforzia and allergen immunotherapy products:
Indicates administrative constraints (Limited Access and Specialty Pharmacy) apply to all Palforzia dosing levels; providers must follow plan routing/dispensing requirements.
Specialty drug administrative coverage flags
Specialty oncology and targeted agents — coverage stance tied to listed Requirements/Limits flags
Absence of required PA/QL/LA/SP documentation may result in denial; exact clinical medical-necessity criteria are not provided in these line items.
General formulary coverage conditions
Covered when plan-specific authorization and quantity limits are met for each listed drug
Specific clinical indications/ICD-10 codes are not provided in these segments; follow EmblemHealth PA process for clinical justification.
Formulary coverage with utilization management
Coverage and utilization controls shown per drug entry
Provider should supply required documentation when submitting PA requests and ensure dispensing aligns with QL and SP routing.
Operational coverage flags
Coverage and utilization controls are applied as follows for individual drugs listed in these chunks
Failure to comply with these operational flags (missing PA, exceeded QL, or incorrect SP routing) may result in claim denial.
Coverage of drugs listed in this formulary is plan-specific. Not all drugs in this list are paid for by all drug benefit plans; members and providers should check the member's Certificate of Coverage or contact member services for plan-specific coverage, cost-sharing, and limitations. The Certificate of Coverage and member portal are the authoritative sources for whether a listed product is covered for a particular member.
The document excerpts provided do not include explicit clinical exclusion statements for products shown in these segments. Entries in these chunks are presented as drug line-items with associated administrative annotations (for example, ACA for Affordable Care Act preventive items) and do not define clinical exclusions.
This segment lists drug products and their operational flags (e.g., PA, QL, LA, SP) but does not include explicit clinical exclusion language for individual drugs. Coverage constraints shown are administrative in nature and tied to line-item Requirements/Limits.
The excerpt contains formulary entries and quantity limits for antidiabetic and related products but does not state explicit coverage exclusions. Where present, Requirements/Limits entries are administrative (e.g., QL) rather than clinical exclusion statements.
In these chunks the listed information focuses on utilization controls and routing annotations (for example, PA, QL, LA, SP, and FF). There are no explicit clinical exclusion statements; the controls shown are administrative and may affect coverage if requirements are not met.
No explicit Not Medically Necessary statements appear in the provided vaccine/toxoid excerpt; entries are vaccine listings annotated with administrative flags (for example, ACA) rather than clinical denial language.
The oncology and specialty agent listings in these chunks include administrative flags (such as PA, QL, LA, SP) but do not contain explicit Not Medically Necessary declarations for specific drugs in the excerpt.
The antidiabetic and hormone-related entries do not include any explicit Not Medically Necessary language in this excerpt; items are presented with drug tiers and, where applicable, quantity limits or other administrative annotations.
Within these chunks (neurology and related therapeutic entries) there are no explicit Not Medically Necessary statements for listed products. The lines show Requirements/Limits such as QL or ST but do not state explicit medical necessity denials.
Formulary Line Items & Code Tables
| amoxicillin 125 mg chew tab, 250 mg chew tab | AMOXICILLIN - amoxicillin (trihydrate) chew tab 125 mg, 250 mg |
| amoxicillin cap 250 mg, 500 mg | amoxicillin (trihydrate) cap 250 mg, 500 mg |
| amoxicillin susp 125 mg/5ml, 200 mg/5ml, 250 mg/5ml, 400 mg/5ml | amoxicillin (trihydrate) for susp |
| amoxicillin tab 500 mg, 875 mg | amoxicillin (trihydrate) tab |
| amoxicillin & k clavulanate multiple strengths (susp, tabs, ER) | amoxicillin & k clavulanate (including AUGMENTIN, ES-600, ER) |
| ampicillin cap 500 mg | ampicillin cap 500 mg |
| penicillin v potassium soln/tab 125 mg/5ml, 250 mg/5ml / tab 250 mg, 500 mg | PENICILLIN V POTASSIUM |
| cefaclor cap 250 mg, 500 mg | CEFACLOR |
| cefadroxil tab 1 gm; cap 500 mg; susp 250 mg/5ml, 500 mg/5ml | CEFADROXIL |
| cefdinir cap 300 mg; susp 125 mg/5ml, 250 mg/5ml | cefdinir |
| Dificid 200 mg | fidaxomicin tab 200 mg (Dificid) |
| NUZYRA 150 mg | NUZYRA - omadacycline tosylate tab 150 mg (base equivalent) |
| BAXDELA 450 mg | BAXDELA - delafloxacin meglumine tab 450 mg (base equiv) |
| CIPRO susp 250 mg/5ml, 500 mg/5ml | ciprofloxacin for oral suspension |
| LEVOXIN tabs | levofloxacin tab 250 mg, 500 mg, 750 mg |
| ARIKAYCE 590 mg | amikacin sulfate liposome inhalation suspension 590 mg/8.4ml |
| TOBI PODHALER 28 mg | tobramycin inhalation capsules 28 mg |
| SIRTURO 20 mg/100 mg | bedaquiline fumarate tab 20 mg (base equiv), 100 mg |
| NOXAFIL | posaconazole formulations (susp/DR) |
| Vfend | voriconazole suspension/tab |
| HARVONI | ledipasvir-sofosbuvir |
| EPCLUSA | sofosbuvir-velpatasvir |
| MAVYRET | glecaprevir-pibrentasvir |
| SOFOSBUVIR (SOVALDI) | sofosbuvir |
| BIKTARVY | bictegravir-emtricitabine-tenofovir alafenamide |
| GENVOYA | elvitegravir-cobicistat-emtricitabine-tenofovir af |
| TRIUMEQ | abacavir-dolutegravir-lamivudine |
| SUNLENCA - lenacapavir sodium tab 300 mg | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = LA, QL (5 tablets/365 days), SP |
| SUNLENCA - lenacapavir sodium tab 300 mg | alternative listing: Requirements/Limits = LA, QL (4 tablets/365 days), SP |
| SYMTUZA - darunavir-cobic-emtricitab-tenofov af tab 800-150-200-10 mg | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| TIVICAY - dolutegravir sodium tab 50 mg | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| TIVICAY PD - dolutegravir oral susp 5 mg | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL (360 tablets/30 days) |
| TRIUMEQ - abacavir-dolutegravir-lamivudine tab 600-50-300 mg | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| TYBOST - cobicistat tab 150 mg | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| valacyclovir hcl tab 500 mg, 1 gm (Valtrex) | Drug Tier = 1 |
| valganciclovir hcl for soln 50 mg/ml (Valcyte) | Drug Tier = 1 |
| VEMLIDY - tenofovir alafenamide tab 25 mg | Drug Tier = 2 |
| VAXNEUVANCE | pneumococcal 15-valent conjugate vaccine sus pref syr 0.5 ml |
| VIVOTIF | typhoid vaccine cap delayed release |
| YF-VAX | yellow fever vaccine for subcutaneous suspension |
| ADACEL | tetanus-diphtheria-acellular pertussis vaccine |
| BOOSTRIX | tetanus-diphtheria-acellular pertussis vaccine |
| PEDIARIX | diphtheria-tetanus-acellular pertussis-hepatitis B-polio vaccine |
| BEYFORTUS | nirsevimab-alip IM solution prefilled syringe 50 mg/0.5ml |
| ENFLONSIA | clesrovimab-cfor IM solution prefilled syringe 105 mg/0.7ml |
| PALFORZIA LEVEL 0 | peanut powder initial 1 mg dose |
| PALFORZIA LEVEL 11 (MAINT) | peanut allergen powder maintenance packet 300 mg |
| abiraterone acetate 250 mg | Zytiga — tab 250 mg |
| ALECENSA | alectinib HCl cap 150 mg |
| ALUNBRIG | brigatinib tablets (various strengths) |
| BESREMI | ropeginterferon alfa-2b prefilled syringe 500 mcg/ml |
| BOSULIF | bosutinib cap/tab (various strengths) |
| BRUKINSA | zanubrutinib cap/tab |
| CABOMETYX | cabozantinib s-malate tabs |
| CAPRELSA | vandetanib tab |
| COMETRIQ | cabozantinib s-malate cap kits |
| COPIKTRA | duvelisib cap |
What Providers Must Do
Obtain Prior Authorization for PA‑marked drugs
Obtain prior authorization before prescribing or dispensing any drug annotated with 'PA' on the formulary; failure to obtain PA may result in the plan not covering the drug.
- Applies to all products with Requirements/Limits = PA.
- Follow EmblemHealth's PA submission process and include required clinical justification.
Prior Authorization for select specialty agents
Submit PA for high‑cost specialty antiviral and antifungal agents that list 'PA' (e.g., posaconazole formulations, ledipasvir‑sofosbuvir) prior to claim adjudication.
- Examples: NOXAFIL (posaconazole) lists Requirements/Limits = PA.
- HARVONI (ledipasvir‑sofosbuvir) lists Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP.
Submit authorization requests for PA‑marked products
Do not dispense drugs marked 'PA' without prior authorization; submit an authorization request with supporting clinical documentation when required.
- Many line items are explicitly marked 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits column.
- Providers/pharmacies must supply documentation to support PA requests.
PA for specialty oncology agents (PA + SP)
Prior authorization is required for specialty oncology/targeted oral agents annotated with 'PA' and often 'SP' — obtain PA and ensure specialty pharmacy routing when indicated.
- Examples include abiraterone (PA, QL, SP) and multiple agents in chunks 61–73 with LA/PA/QL/SP flags.
- Specialty oncology oral agents often require SP dispensing in addition to PA.
Obtain PA for many listed drugs
For many listed specialty and oral oncology drugs, obtain PA before coverage; check each line item's Requirements/Limits for PA and QL details.
- Line items show PA and specific QL windows (e.g., 28 tablets/28 days).
- Coverage is contingent on PA being completed where indicated.
Obtain PA and respect Quantity Limits
When a product shows 'PA' and a QL, obtain prior authorization and ensure dispensed quantity does not exceed the listed quantity limit.
- Examples: HARVONI PA with QL (28 tablets/28 days).
- Claims exceeding QL or missing PA may be denied.
MOUNJARO: PA required; observe pen‑count QL
MOUNJARO requires prior authorization and is subject to a quantity limit (QL) — either 4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days depending on strength; obtain PA and authorize the correct QL.
- MOUNJARO (tirzepatide) Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days).
- Include supporting clinical justification with the PA request.
GLP‑1/DPP‑4 agents: PA and QL enforcement
GLP‑1 and DPP‑4 agents (e.g., OZEMPIC, TRULICITY, RYBELSUS) list PA and/or QL — obtain prior authorization and follow the product‑specific quantity limits.
- OZEMPIC Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 pen/28 days or 3 pens/28 days).
- RYBELSUS and TRULICITY similarly list PA/QL requirements in the formulary.
PA and specialty pharmacy routing for endocrine agents
Specialty endocrine agents (e.g., GALAFOLD, FOLLISTIM AQ, ACTHAR) require prior authorization and are often designated SP; obtain PA and process through specialty pharmacy when required.
- GALAFOLD Requirements/Limits = LA, PA, QL (14 capsules/28 days), SP.
- FOLLISTIM AQ lists PA, QL (varies), SP; ACTHAR lists LA, PA, SP.
PA required for listed specialty and LA drugs
Obtain prior authorization for specified specialty and limited‑access drugs listed (e.g., GENOTROPIN, FOLLISTIM AQ) before dispensing; follow PA and SP routing noted per line item.
- GENOTROPIN Requirements/Limits = PA, SP.
- FOLLISTIM AQ cartridges require PA and QL and are SP handled.
PA may apply to select non‑specialty products
Some non‑specialty products (e.g., nimodipine oral solutions) may also require PA; check the Requirements/Limits column and submit PA when PA is listed.
- NYMALIZE/NIMODIPINE entries show QL and PA in the Requirements/Limits field.
- Even conventional therapies may carry PA requirements.
Obtain PA whenever indicated on line item
When the Requirements/Limits field indicates PA, the provider must obtain prior authorization before the drug is covered; this applies across therapeutic classes where PA is shown.
- Many entries specify PA alongside QL, LA or SP; provider must obtain PA when PA is listed.
- Coverage depends on completion of payer PA procedures.
PA required for listed PA drugs — verify per line item
Prior authorization is required for the PA‑annotated products listed throughout the formulary; check each product's Requirements/Limits for exact PA status and quantity limits.
- Entries marked 'PA' require authorization; some also indicate LA, QL, or SP.
- Providers should review the specific product line for PA and QL details before prescribing.
PA for select specialty agents (Esbriet, CF modulators, biologics)
Select specialty agents (e.g., Esbriet, CF modulators, biologics) require prior authorization; submit PA and adhere to any QL/SP directions shown for those products.
- Esbriet (pirfenidone 801 mg) Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (90 tablets/30 days), SP.
- CF modulators TRIKAFTA/SYMDEKO list LA, PA, QL and SP handling.
PA for select specialty/orphan drugs (PROCYSBI, FILSPARI, VANRAFIA)
Certain branded specialty/orphan drugs (e.g., PROCYSBI, FILSPARI, VANRAFIA) require prior authorization and may be limited‑access and specialty‑dispensed; obtain PA and route to specialty pharmacy.
- PROCYSBI Requirements/Limits = LA, PA, SP.
- FILSPARI Requirements/Limits = LA, PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP.
PA required for numerous specialty agents (e.g., MAVENCLAD)
Many specialty agents (e.g., MAVENCLAD, MAYZENT, LUMRYZ) are annotated with PA and QL and require prior authorization and specialty pharmacy processing; obtain PA and confirm QL before dispensing.
- MAVENCLAD Requirements/Limits = LA, PA, QL (8–14 tablets/301 days), SP.
- LUMRYZ Requirements/Limits = LA, PA, QL; specialty handling indicated.
Obtain PA where annotated
Obtain prior authorization for products annotated 'PA' wherever the Requirements/Limits column indicates it — verify each product line before prescribing or dispensing.
- PA is required where annotated 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits column.
- Check the formulary line item for precise PA/Q L/SP flags.
Follow Step Therapy (ST) requirements where indicated
Step therapy (ST) requires trial of preferred first‑line drugs before the plan will cover higher‑tier or alternative agents; follow ST rules where 'ST' is indicated and submit exceptions if clinically appropriate.
- ST means the member must try specified drugs first; examples: FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR, FANAPT show ST.
- Exceptions to ST may be requested per payer processes.
Step therapy sequences not specified in extract — verify per item
No explicit step therapy sequences are listed in this extract for most products; check individual formulary entries for 'ST' annotations before applying step edits.
- Most entries show PA/QL/LA/SP but not detailed step sequences.
- Verify product‑level details where ST may apply.
Follow payer authorization processes and contact member services as needed
When a PA/QL/LA/SP/ST requirement applies, follow the plan's authorization processes, provide necessary clinical documentation, and contact Member Services for benefit questions.
- Member Services phone is listed in the plan materials (see member ID card or portal).
- Follow PA submission instructions and include clinical justification as requested.
Palforzia: confirm enrollment/site and specialty dispensing for levels
Palforzia dosing levels are annotated with LA and SP — providers should confirm required enrollment and site‑of‑care or dispensing constraints (e.g., specialty pharmacy or clinic administration) before initiating therapy.
- PALFORZIA LEVELS 0–11 list Requirements/Limits = LA, SP.
- Levels include initial/starter, titration, and maintenance packets with LA/SP flags.
Step therapy not listed here — verify full policy for ST rules
Step therapy details are not listed for most products in this extract; where step therapy is not shown, rely on PA/QL/LA/SP flags and check full policy or contact the plan for ST requirements.
- Many products use PA/QL/LA/SP flags rather than explicit step sequences.
- For agents marked 'ST' consult the formulary line item for specifics (e.g., KERENDIA).
Verify ACA and LA flags for contraceptives
Contraceptives designated ACA/LA may have special coverage considerations; verify ACA status for no‑cost coverage and LA for limited availability before prescribing.
- Examples: ANNOVERA and other contraceptives list Requirements/Limits = ACA, some also show LA or FF.
- ACA flag may indicate preventive coverage under applicable rules.
Review flags and provide required supporting documentation
Providers should review the formulary entries for step therapy, PA, QL, LA, and SP annotations and supply documentation accordingly when requesting coverage or prior authorization.
- The Requirements/Limits column lists flags (PA, QL, LA, SP, ACA, FF) adjacent to drug entries.
- Submit clinical justification and any required forms with PA requests.
Apply step therapy for agents annotated 'ST' (KERENDIA example)
KERENDIA and some other agents explicitly list 'ST' — ensure member has met step therapy requirements before requesting coverage or include rationale in a PA if requesting an exception.
- KERENDIA Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days), ST.
- If ST not met, submit exception rationale with PA.
Act on utilization management flags shown per product
Observe utilization management flags (ACA, LA, PA, QL, SP) shown in the Requirements/Limits column and act accordingly when submitting PA requests or routing prescriptions.
- Some agents carry ACA designations indicating preventive coverage; others carry LA/SP that limit site or channel.
- Check each product line for the specific flag set.
No ST details in this segment — use PA/QL guidance or contact plan
Step therapy sequences are not explicitly detailed in many segments of this formulary; where ST is not annotated, rely on PA/QL rules and contact the plan for clarification if needed.
- The formulary primarily uses PA/QL/LA/SP flags rather than step algorithms in these chunks.
- Contact EmblemHealth for complete ST policy when required.
Confirm Limited‑Access (LA) requirements and document in PA
Limited‑access (LA) indicators denote restricted dispensing or additional criteria; confirm LA requirements and include necessary documentation in PA requests when LA is shown.
- Examples: GATTEX and LIVMARLI show LA flags in Requirements/Limits.
- LA often accompanies PA and SP, requiring extra steps for coverage.
Verify step therapy trials for ST‑marked agents
For agents annotated with ST (e.g., AUVELITY, FETZIMA, TRINTELLIX), confirm prior trial of first‑line therapies per step therapy or include justification in a PA to request coverage.
- FETZIMA Requirements/Limits = QL (30 capsules/30 days), ST.
- AUVELITY and others listed with ST require step edits prior to coverage.
Apply ST for gabapentin/HORIZANT where annotated
Some gabapentin formulations and HORIZANT are marked with 'ST' — ensure step therapy requirements are met for these products before coverage is requested.
- Gralise (gabapentin once‑daily) entries show QL and ST flags.
- If ST not met, include clinical rationale when requesting PA.
Step therapy applies where annotated (Imitrex StatDose example)
When a product is annotated with 'ST' (e.g., Imitrex StatDose), follow the step therapy requirement before coverage or document clinical reasons for exception in the PA submission.
- Imitrex StatDose system annotated with Requirements/Limits = QL (12 doses/30 days), ST.
- Submit exception rationale if member has not completed required steps.
Contact Member Services and verify member benefits before prescribing
Contact Member Services for benefit questions and member eligibility; verify coverage, PA process, and any site‑of‑care or specialty pharmacy routing before initiating therapy.
- Member should check Certificate of Coverage or call the number on their ID card.
- Providers can use member portal my.emblemhealth.com for plan details.
Provide required clinical documentation with PA/QL submissions
Include supporting clinical documentation with PA/QL requests — demonstrate medical necessity, prior therapies tried, and intended dose/quantity so the PA can be processed timely.
- Prescribers/pharmacies must supply documentation supporting PA where 'PA' is indicated.
- Supply records showing prior therapy trial when ST or PA criteria apply.
Reference formulary flags and include item‑specific documentation in PA
Documentation should reference the Requirements/Limits flags on the formulary line (PA, QL, LA, SP) and include details needed to meet the plan's authorization criteria.
- The formulary displays PA/QL/LA/SP flags adjacent to drug entries.
- Ensure PA requests reference the exact product and its listed limits.
Document and adhere to specified Quantity Limits
When quantity limits are specified (e.g., tablets/30 days or pens/28 days), document intended dispense quantities to match the listed QL and include that in the PA or claim.
- Abiraterone lists QL 120 tablets/30 days or 60 tablets/30 days depending on strength.
- Ensure dispense quantity on the claim does not exceed the listed QL.
Route SP products through specialty pharmacy and include PA documentation
Route prescriptions through the designated specialty pharmacy channel when a product is marked 'SP'; specialty routing and PA documentation are required for SP agents.
- Products marked SP must be dispensed through specialty pharmacy per formulary.
- Examples include many specialty endocrine and biologic agents.
Include diagnosis and treatment details with PA/QL requests
Include required documentation for PA and QL on authorization requests — provide diagnosis, prior treatments, dose, and requested quantity per the formulary line item.
- Prescriptions with 'PA' must include clinical justification per payer PA process.
- PA requests should reference the product's QL (e.g., 4 syringes/28 days) when applicable.
Obtain PA and ensure specialty pharmacy handling for SP agents
Specialty products often require both PA and specialty pharmacy handling (e.g., ACTHAR, CARBAGLU, SENSIPAR); obtain PA and ensure SP enrollment or routing as listed.
- ACTHAR Requirements/Limits = LA, PA, SP.
- CARBAGLU and SENSIPAR list PA and SP requirements.
Address PA/LA/QL/SP flags in authorization documentation
When a drug is flagged with any of PA/LA/QL/SP, include documentation addressing those specific requirements in the PA submission to expedite processing.
- Providers must supply documentation to satisfy PA, LA, QL, or SP requirements as requested by the plan.
- Reference the formulary line item's flags in the PA submission.
Document formulation and adhere to formulation‑specific QL
For products with formulation‑specific QL (e.g., liquids, oral solutions, starter kits), document the requested formulation and match the dispense quantity to the listed QL on the claim or PA.
- Examples: QBRELIS lisinopril oral solution QL 1200 mls/30 days; esomeprazole suspension packets QL 60 packets/30 days.
- Document bottle/pack size and days' supply to align with QL.
Supply medical necessity and SP routing details for PA/SP products
For drugs requiring PA and SP, supply medical necessity documentation and evidence of specialty pharmacy routing where requested to support approval.
- Prescribers must supply documentation supporting medical necessity when requesting PA for 'PA' and 'SP' drugs.
- Examples include NUCALA and GALAFOLD which list LA/PA/QL and SP handling.
Dispense only within listed Quantity Limits
Confirm and adhere to the quantity limits specified for each product; dispensing beyond the listed QL may cause claim denial or require additional justification.
- Quantity limits are specified for many products (e.g., ELIMIRON QL 90 capsules/30 days).
- Exceeding QL may trigger denial or require justification (e.g., JYNARQUE therapy pack QL 56/28 days).
Adhere to specified QL on claims and PAs
Adhere to the specified quantity limit listed for each product on the formulary; ensure claim submission reflects the allowed amount and timeframe.
- Prescribers must submit PA where 'PA' is listed and adhere to QL and SP routing shown for each product.
- Examples: ELIMIRON QL 90 capsules/30 days; various specialty products list QL and SP.
Obtain PA and respect QL to avoid noncoverage
Obtain prior authorization when required and ensure dispensed quantities do not exceed the formulary's QL; failure to obtain PA or exceed QL may result in noncoverage or denial.
- Failure to obtain required PA may result in the plan not covering the drug.
- Claims exceeding QL or missing PA/SP/LA routing may be denied.
Risk of denial if PA/QL/ST/LA/SP not followed
Failure to obtain required prior authorization or to comply with utilization management flags (PA, QL, ST, LA, SP) may result in the plan denying coverage for the drug.
- Utilization management restrictions are applied as indicated next to drug names.
- Denial risk increases when PA is not obtained or QL/ST requirements are unmet.
Denial risk for exceeding QL or missing PA/SP/LA
Claims that exceed quantity limits, lack required PA, or are not routed through required site/program channels (SP/LA) may be denied; verify limits and obtain PA prior to dispensing.
- Requests exceeding QL or lacking PA/SP/LA may be denied per formulary rules.
- Ensure prescriptions are processed through the designated specialty pharmacy when SP is listed.
Products with PA/QL/LA/SP flags may trigger denials if unmet
Products flagged with PA, QL, LA, or SP may trigger denial if the corresponding requirements are not met during claim or authorization processing; verify and document compliance.
- PA, QL, LA, SP flags commonly accompany specialty agents and oncology products.
- Claims for these products should include documentation of PA and appropriate dispensing channel.
PA/SP/LA/QL flags trigger authorization requirements for specialty agents
Authorization requirements for specialty agents are triggered by flags such as 'PA', 'QL', 'LA', or 'SP' — obtain PA and route through specialty pharmacy when shown to avoid denial.
- Many specialty agents list PA and SP; lack of PA or SP enrollment may trigger coverage denial.
- Examples include GALAFOLD, FOLLISTIM AQ, and other specialty endocrine agents.
Confirm PA/QL/SP to avoid denials for listed drugs
Requests for listed drugs without PA, exceeding QL, or not routed to specialty pharmacy (SP) may be denied per plan requirements; confirm and document authorization prior to dispensing.
- The formulary states coverage contingent on PA completion and adherence to QL and SP where indicated.
- Providers should confirm authorization prior to dispensing specialty or restricted products.
PA required for GLP‑1/related agents — obtain PA to prevent denial
Drugs listed with PA, LA+PA, or PA+QL (e.g., MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, TRULICITY) require prior authorization and may be denied if PA is not obtained.
- MOUNJARO Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (pen counts per timeframe).
- OZEMPIC and TRULICITY list PA and QL in the formulary entries.
PA and Specialty Pharmacy enrollment required for SP products
Specialty products that require both PA and SP enrollment may be denied if either requirement is not met; ensure PA approval and specialty pharmacy routing before dispensing.
- Lack of required PA or SP enrollment may trigger coverage denial for listed specialty products.
- Examples include GENOTROPIN and ACTHAR which list PA and SP.
Exceeding Quantity Limits may trigger denial
Exceeding a product's specified Quantity Limit (e.g., JYNARQUE therapy pack QL 56 tablets/28 days) may trigger denial or require additional justification; verify QL before dispensing.
- JYNARQUE therapy pack Requirements/Limits = QL (56 tablets/28 days).
- Exceeding QL may prompt denial or request for justification.
Noncompliance with PA/QL/SP may lead to claim denial
Claims for drugs marked with PA, QL, or SP that do not meet the listed authorization criteria may be denied — obtain PA and ensure dispense quantities and routing conform to the line item.
- Many products (e.g., MAVENCLAD, ADALIMUMAB biosimilars) list PA and QL and require SP handling.
- Verify and document that PA is approved and that the specialty pharmacy is used when required.
Denial risk for missing PA/ST or other utilization flags
Failure to obtain PA, to follow ST where indicated, or to comply with QL/SP/LA flags can result in claim denial; confirm authorization status before initiating specialty or restricted therapies.
- Claims for drugs listed with PA or ST may be denied without prior approval.
- Confirm PA and enrollment in required programs for LA/SP drugs.
PA and QL enforcement may result in denials if unmet
Prior authorization and quantity‑limit requirements are enforced; claims for drugs listed with PA or exceeding QL may be denied if authorization is not obtained or limits exceeded.
- The formulary repeatedly notes PA and QL enforcement across many line items.
- Obtain PA and ensure dispense quantities match QL to avoid denial.
Policy Background
This formulary is organized by therapeutic class and lists available strengths, formulations, tiers, and utilization management designations. Each line-item may include one or more requirement flags such as PA (Prior Authorization), QL (Quantity Limit, shown as a defined amount per time period), LA (Limited Access), SP (Specialty Pharmacy), or ACA (Affordable Care Act–mandated items). Coverage for a listed drug is contingent on meeting the plan-specific administrative requirements shown for that product (for example, obtaining required PA, not exceeding the listed QL, and using the specialty channel where SP is indicated).
Abbreviations & Flags
Step Therapy Designations
| Coverage note | Implication |
|---|---|
| Step therapy (ST) designation indicates the plan requires trial of specified preferred drugs before covering alternatives. | Providers must follow ST requirements where annotated on formulary line items; exceptions may be requested per plan process. |
| Abbreviations: ST = Step Therapy; PA = Prior Authorization; QL = Quantity Limit; LA = Limited Availability; SP = Specialty Pharmacy. | ST is one of several utilization management tools noted on line items and may be enforced alongside PA/QL/LA/SP flags. |
| Observation | Source implication |
|---|---|
| Document extract primarily lists PA, QL, LA, SP flags for products; explicit step-by-step ST rules are not provided in this excerpt. | Where ST is intended, the specific required prior agents or sequences are not shown here and would be defined in plan operational rules or a separate clinical policy. |
| Providers should not assume a formulary line marked PA/QL implies ST unless the entry explicitly shows ST. | Use product line annotations (ST) to identify step therapy; otherwise follow PA/QL processes shown for each drug. |
| Palforzia stage / dosing level | Requirements/Limits (implication for coverage/step) |
|---|---|
| PALFORZIA INITIAL DOSE ES (starter pack: 0.5, 1, 1.5, 3, 6 mg formulations) | Requirements/Limits = LA, SP — limited availability and specialty dispensing indicated for initial dosing. |
| PALFORZIA LEVEL 0 (1 mg dose) and LEVEL 1 (3 mg dose) | Requirements/Limits = LA, SP — each listed level is flagged LA and SP, indicating administrative/site constraints rather than an explicit fail-first sequence. |
| PALFORZIA LEVEL 2 – LEVEL 11 including LEVEL 10 (240 mg dose) and LEVEL 11 (maintenance 300 mg) | Requirements/Limits = LA, SP for most levels — dosing organized by levels with limited access and specialty handling; no explicit inter-level step therapy algorithm provided in this excerpt. |
| Finding | Policy consequence |
|---|---|
| No explicit step therapy steps or sequences are defined within these chunks. | Coverage decisions rely on line-item flags (PA, QL, LA, SP); when ST is required it will be shown explicitly on the line item otherwise PA/QL govern access. |
| Contraceptive flag | Potential impact on coverage pathway |
|---|---|
| Multiple contraceptives (e.g., ANNOVERA, nicotine replacement analogs shown elsewhere) are annotated ACA or ACA, FF. | ACA designation may affect cost sharing (no-cost preventive coverage where applicable) and may alter typical utilization management; LA may restrict dispensing sites. Step therapy is not specified for these products in this excerpt. |
| GLP‑1 / related agents | Implication for step edits |
|---|---|
| Several GLP‑1 and related agents (e.g., OZEMPIC, MOUNJARO, TRULICITY, RYBELSUS) are listed with PA and QL requirements. | PA-driven controls are used for access; the document does not define an explicit ST hierarchy among GLP‑1 agents — step edits, if any, are likely enforced through PA criteria rather than a visible ST sequence in this extract. |
| Agent | ST indicated? |
|---|---|
| KERENDIA (finerenone) tabs 10/20/40 mg | Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days), ST indicated on the line item. |
| Flag | Interpretation |
|---|---|
| ACA annotations appear on some agents (e.g., select statins and preventive products). | ACA flags imply programmatic coverage (e.g., preventive/no cost-share) or placement on specific formulary pathways but do not themselves define step sequences in this excerpt. |
| Summary observation | Actionable note |
|---|---|
| Across the provided chunks no explicit multi‑step sequences (fail‑first algorithms) are defined for the majority of products. | Where ST applies it is explicitly annotated on the line item; otherwise follow PA/QL/LA/SP requirements shown per product and use plan PA processes for access management. |
| Products with LA flag | Coverage implication |
|---|---|
| Examples include GATTEX (not shown in these specific chunks) and LIVMARLI (maralixibat) where Requirements/Limits = LA, PA, SP. | LA indicates limited availability — dispensing or site restrictions apply and may act as an access control analogous to step restrictions; prior authorization and specialty routing are also required. |
| Examples of ST‑labeled agents | Practical requirement |
|---|---|
| AUVELITY, FETZIMA, TRINTELLIX, FLUOXETINE DR, FANAPT are shown with 'ST' on their formulary entries (e.g., FETZIMA Requirements/Limits = QL, ST). | When ST is annotated providers should ensure required first‑line therapies have been tried per plan rules before submitting authorization or claim; absence of full ST sequencing details in this extract means operational ST criteria must be confirmed with EmblemHealth or the PA process. |
| Gabapentin / related entries | ST annotation |
|---|---|
| Gabapentin once‑daily formulations (Gralise) and HORIZANT entries list Requirements/Limits including QL and are annotated with ST. | ST applies to select gabapentin formulations per the line items; prescribers should verify prior therapy requirements before coverage is approved. |
| Product | ST indicated? |
|---|---|
| IMITREX STATDOSE SYSTEM (sumatriptan solution auto‑injector 4 mg/0.5 ml) | Requirements/Limits = QL (12 doses/30 days), ST — line item annotated 'ST' indicating step therapy requirement applies. |
Specified Quantity Limits (QL)
Specialty Pharmacy & Administration Sites
Confirm infusion center or specialty pharmacy routing for LA/SP drugs
Products flagged as SP or requiring PA may also be limited to specialty pharmacy or infusion/clinic settings; confirm site‑of‑care or specialty pharmacy routing and include that information in PA requests.
- Certain agents flagged LA or SP indicate administration/dispensing under specific programs or sites (infusion center or specialty pharmacy).
- Many specialty products require SP handling and may be restricted to infusion centers when LA is present.
Dispense SP‑designated products via specialty pharmacy
If a product is designated SP, route dispensing through the plan's specialty pharmacy channel; many listed specialty products are managed under SP programs.
- Products marked SP must be dispensed through specialty pharmacy channels per the formulary.
- Specialty oncology oral agents and biologics are commonly managed via SP.
Oncology oral agents: manage via specialty pharmacy and PA
Many specialty oncology oral agents are managed under specialty pharmacy programs; ensure PA approval and specialty pharmacy dispensing for SP‑annotated oncology agents.
- Oncology oral agents in chunks 61–92 frequently carry PA, QL, LA, and SP flags.
- Specialty pharmacy distribution is indicated for numerous oral oncology products.
Ensure specialty pharmacy handling for SP agents
Most specialty agents require specialty pharmacy handling and PA; confirm specialty pharmacy enrollment and route orders accordingly for SP medications.
- Many specialty agents (e.g., GENOTROPIN, IMCIVREE) require PA and SP handling.
- Specialty pharmacy routing is required for agents marked SP.
Manage SP products via specialty channels; some LA products restricted to infusion sites
Specialty‑designated products are dispensed through specialty channels and some infusible/IV products are restricted to infusion sites; confirm the appropriate dispensing site when SP or LA is shown.
- Products marked SP are managed as specialty pharmacy; some flagged LA may be restricted to infusion or limited sites.
- TYVASO, TREPOSTINIL and similar products list LA/PA/QL and SP handling.
Verify PA and SP routing for specialty‑designated products
Numerous products across the formulary are designated as specialty (SP); verify PA and specialty pharmacy routing for these items before prescribing or dispensing.
- Many specialty‑designated products are listed with PA/QL/SP flags.
- Examples include biologics and complex specialty therapies in chunks 180–190.
Follow site‑of‑care restrictions for LA/SP products
When a product is marked LA or SP, follow site‑of‑care routing implications — some must be administered in infusion centers or dispensed only via specialty pharmacy programs.
- Products marked 'SP' are managed as specialty pharmacy; some products also flagged 'LA' indicate limited access or specific site requirements.
- Check the line item for infusion center or specialty pharmacy restrictions.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.