2026 Formulary (List of Covered Drugs)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all EmblemHealth policy alerts
Know when EmblemHealth releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document lists covered drugs, tiers, and formulary rules (prior authorization, step therapy, quantity limits, specialty, limited distribution) for EmblemHealth members; it is intended for members and providers using EmblemHealth plans.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage rules and management indicators
General formulary coverage logic
Covered when the Member’s benefit plan allows the drug and any listed formulary controls are met:
See plan Certificate of Coverage and formulary abbreviations for definitions and applicability.
Coverage management indicators
Coverage and management status is indicated on each formulary line by Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits codes:
This document segment provides operational flags only; consult per-drug listing for exact codes and quantities.
Definitions and implications for each code are in the formulary abbreviations.
Formulary utilization controls
Per-drug utilization controls (examples shown on each formulary line):
Use the Requirements/Limits for the exact QL values and adjudication windows (e.g., QL (30 tablets/30 days), QL (84 tablets/28 days)).
Refer to each product line for the exact control set for that formulation.
Please consult the member's Certificate of Coverage for plan-specific details. Not all drugs listed in this formulary are covered by every drug benefit plan; coverage depends on the member's specific benefits, copays, and any plan-level requirements. If you have questions about a member's drug benefits, contact the phone number on the back of the member ID card as directed in the formulary materials.
The extract contains no clinical exclusions in the presented segments. EmblemHealth affirms nondiscrimination and accessibility obligations and provides resources for reasonable modifications, language assistance, and grievance submission; providers or members needing these services should contact Customer Service or the Civil Rights Coordinator per the contact instructions in the formulary.
This portion of the document does not set out explicit clinical coverage criteria, medical necessity determinations, or "not medically necessary" statements. Instead, the content lists formulary product lines with assigned Drug Tiers and operational controls (e.g., PA, QL, LD, SP, AC) that govern coverage and claims adjudication.
No exclusionary clinical conditions are provided in this segment. The entries focus on product listings and the associated utilization management and administrative flags rather than on explicit exclusion criteria for clinical indications.
There are no clinical exclusion rules listed in this portion of the formulary extract. The text emphasizes formulary controls such as Prior Authorization (PA), Quantity Limits (QL), Limited Distribution (LD), and Specialty (SP) routing that affect coverage and dispensing.
This segment does not provide specific clinical exclusions. Coverage entries are presented as product lines with tier and requirement/limit annotations (for example, PA and QL) rather than as statements excluding particular diagnoses or patient groups.
No formal medical necessity criteria are described in these chunks. The listed content comprises formulary listings and associated operational controls (e.g., PA, QL, LD, SP) which indicate how coverage will be managed at claim adjudication, but the extract does not include the underlying clinical criteria used to approve or deny prior authorizations.
This portion of the document does not state medical necessity criteria or exclusionary language. Instead, product entries are shown with their formulary tier and requirement/limit flags (for example, quantity limits such as QL (120 tablets/30 days)) that define dispensing constraints to be applied during claims processing.
There are no explicit 'not medically necessary' (NMN) determinations in the provided extract. The formulary lines shown are operational listings with requirements/limits and administrative flags rather than NMN rulings.
This extract does not specify any NMN determinations. Coverage control in these chunks is expressed via utilization management markers (PA, QL, LD, SP) and not through 'not medically necessary' statements.
No specific not‑medically‑necessary conditions are listed in this segment. The content lists drugs, tiers, and requirements but does not provide explicit NMN rulings or clinical exclusion criteria.
Formulary drug listings, tiers, and quantity examples
| ARIKAYCE | amikacin sulfate liposome inhalation suspension 590 mg/8.4 mL — Requirements/Limits: LD, PA, QL (28 vials/28 days), SP, Drug Tier = 3 |
| TOBI | tobramycin nebulization solution 300 mg/5 mL — Requirements/Limits: SP, Drug Tier = 1/3 depending on formulation |
| KITABIS PAK | tobramycin nebulization solution kit 300 mg/5 mL — Requirements/Limits: LD, SP, Drug Tier = 3 |
| TOBI PODHALER | tobramycin inhalation capsules 28 mg — Requirements/Limits: LD, SP, QL where applicable, Drug Tier = 3 |
| Tobramycin Nebu Soln (Bethkis) | tobramycin nebulization solution 300 mg/4 mL (Bethkis) — Requirements/Limits: SP, Drug Tier = 1 |
| Neomycin | neomycin sulfate tab 500 mg — Requirements/Limits: Drug Tier = 1 |
| abacavir | abacavir sulfate solution 20 mg/mL; tabs 300 mg — QL (960 mL/30 days for solution); QL (60 tablets/30 days) |
| acyclovir | acyclovir cap/tab/suspensions (200 mg cap; susp 200 mg/5 mL; tabs 400 mg, 800 mg) — Drug Tier = 1 |
| APRETUDE | cabotegravir IM extended-release suspension 600 mg/3 mL — Requirements/Limits: AC, LD, SP, Drug Tier = 2 |
| Protease inhibitors | examples include darunavir (Prezista) tabs 600/800 mg — QL; atazanavir (Reyataz) caps 150/200/300 mg — QL; lopinavir-ritonavir (Kaletra) soln & tabs — QL |
| Integrase inhibitors | examples include raltegravir (ISENTRESS) chew/tab/packet — QL (various 60–180 counts); bictegravir (Biktarvy) combos with QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| Combination regimens | Numerous combination regimens listed (e.g., BIKTARVY, DOVATO, GENVOYA, STRIBILD, DELSTRIGO, DESCOVY, TRUVADA) — many with QL (typically 30 tablets/30 days) and AC/QL as noted |
| EPCLUSA | sofosbuvir-velpatasvir (tablets & pellet packs) — Requirements/Limits: PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days or 28 packets/28 days), SP, Drug Tier = 1/2 depending on form |
| HARVONI | ledipasvir-sofosbuvir (tabs & pellet packs) — Requirements/Limits: PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days or packets), SP |
| MAVYRET | glecaprevir-pibrentasvir (tabs & pellet packs) — Requirements/Limits: PA, QL (84 tablets/28 days for tablets; 140 packets/28 days for pellets), SP |
| LEDIPASVIR/SOFOSBUVIR | ledipasvir-sofosbuvir (see HARVONI) — PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days), SP |
| SOFOSBUVIR/VELPATASVIR | sofosbuvir-velpatasvir (SOFOSBUVIR/VELPATASVIR) — PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days), SP |
| VOSEVI | sofosbuvir-velpatasvir-voxilaprevir — PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days), SP |
| SOVALDI | sofosbuvir (tabs & pellet packs) — PA, QL (28 tablets/28 days or packets), SP |
| Itraconazole | QL examples: 120 capsules/30 days (capsules); oral solution QL 1200 mL/30 days |
| ISENTRESS / ISENTRESS HD | ISENTRESS QL examples: 60 packets/30 days (packet), 60 tablets/30 days (400 mg), ISENTRESS HD QL 60 tablets/30 days |
| HCV QLs | MAVYRET QL 84 tablets/28 days; EPCLUSA/HARVONI/LEDIPASVIR-SOFOSBUVIR QL 28 tablets/28 days (or packets) |
| PA Notes | Many high-cost antiviral and HCV regimens require Prior Authorization (PA) and are subject to Special Program (SP) and/or Limited Distribution (LD) as indicated |
| QL Notes | Quantity limits (QL) frequently apply to HIV/HCV agents and inhaled antibiotics — see product-specific QLs (examples consolidated above) |
| Full formulary | All other formulary listings, tiers, and requirements previously present in this section remain unchanged and preserved (penicillins, cephalosporins, macrolides, tetracyclines, antifungals, antidiabetics, insulins, antineoplastics, vaccines, contraceptives, etc.) |
| Provider guidance | When processing claims, apply the specific PA, LD, SP, and QL flags for the named products above. Use formulary tiering as listed for benefit determinations. |
Prior authorization, step therapy, documentation, and denial risks
Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, documentation, and denial risks
Prior Authorization (PA), Step Therapy (ST), Limited Distribution (LD), Quantity Limits (QL), and Specialty (SP) routing are actively used across this formulary to manage access and coverage. Many high-cost, specialty, antiviral, antifungal, hepatitis, antineoplastic, endocrine, biologic, and other specialty-labeled drugs require prior authorization or are subject to step therapy, limited distribution, quantity limits, or specialty pharmacy routing. Failure to obtain required PA, to follow step therapy where specified, or to adhere to LD/SP routing and QL restrictions may result in denial of coverage.
- PA = Prior Authorization required before the plan will cover the drug; lack of PA can result in non-coverage.
- ST = Step Therapy: member must trial specified preferred agents first; exceptions may be requested.
- LD = Limited Distribution: drug may only be available from select pharmacies or supply channels.
- QL = Quantity Limit: maximum units supplied in a specified time period (e.g., 28 tablets/28 days).
- SP = Specialty product — may require specialty pharmacy, special handling, monitoring, or education.
Prior authorization required for selected agents
Selected high-cost antiviral, antifungal, hepatitis B/C, and other specialty agents listed in the formulary explicitly show PA in the Requirements/Limits field. Examples include ledipasvir/sofosbuvir, sofosbuvir-containing products (SOVALDI), sofosbuvir/velpatasvir, MAVYRET (glecaprevir-pibrentasvir), CRESEMBA (isavuconazonium), posaconazole formulations, and many antivirals listed with 'PA'. These products commonly also carry SP and QL flags.
- Hepatitis C agents (e.g., LEDIPASVIR/SOFOSBUVIR, SOFOSBUVIR/VELPATASVIR, SOVALDI, MAVYRET) = PA, QL, SP.
- Selected antifungals (e.g., CRESEMBA, posaconazole) = PA (and may have QL).
- Many antivirals and HBV/HCV agents list PA next to the product — confirm PA prior to dispensing.
Prior authorization and distribution requirements
Numerous specialty products require both PA and limited distribution or specialty routing (LD/SP). Examples include oncology agents, complex biologics, enzyme replacements, cystic fibrosis modulators, and infusions that are designated LD and SP; these programs often restrict where the drug can be dispensed and require PA documentation.
- Oncology agents (many entries) = LD + PA + QL + SP in Requirements/Limits.
- Cystic fibrosis modulators and enzyme therapies (e.g., KALYDECO, ORKAMBI, STRENSIQ) = LD + PA + QL + SP.
- Specialty injectables and infusions (e.g., ACTHAR, ENTYVIO PEN, BYLVAY examples in formulary) require PA and may be limited to specialty channels.
Prior authorization and limits required
Prior authorization is commonly paired with quantity limits and other program flags; several specialty and antineoplastic products list PA plus QL and SP (and often LD). Examples: abiraterone (Zytiga), alectinib (ALECENSA), brigatinib (ALUNBRIG), and many other antineoplastics. When PA is required, the specific Quantity Limit (e.g., 60 tablets/30 days) is listed in the Requirements/Limits field and must be respected.
- Antineoplastics: many require LD + PA + QL + SP.
- PA + QL examples: NEXLETOL and NEXLIZET = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days).
- Dose pack or packet limits are enforced (e.g., MAVYRET pellet pack QL 140 packets/28 days).
Prior authorization requirement
Many formulary segments explicitly show 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits field for drugs across therapeutic classes — oncology, biologics, specialty endocrine agents, pulmonary antifibrotics, cystic fibrosis therapies, and numerous injectables. Confirm PA prior to dispensing to avoid claim denials.
- Specialty endocrine and metabolic agents (e.g., ACTHAR, SKYTROFA) frequently show LD, PA, SP.
- Pulmonary antifibrotics (e.g., OFEV) and CF modulators (e.g., KALYDECO, ORKAMBI) = LD, PA, QL, SP.
- Biologic agents and many injectables list PA in Requirements/Limits — verify PA status during prior authorization submission.
Utilization management triggers and denial risk
PA, QL, LD, and SP flags are utilization management triggers. Products with these flags can be denied if the documented clinical criteria, PA forms, or distribution channel requirements are not satisfied. Providers should submit clinical justification and supporting documentation matching the Requirement/Limit codes.
- PA/ST/SP may trigger denial when prior steps or documentation are not supplied.
- QL exceedance can result in partial or full denial; documentation must support dose and quantity requested.
- LD and SP items require dispensing through authorized channels — dispensing outside those channels may lead to denial or recoupment.
Documentation for PA, LD, QL, and specialty drugs
Documentation expectations: when a formulary entry lists PA, LD, QL, SP, ST or AC, providers must include supporting clinical documentation with the PA request. Documentation should show diagnosis, prior therapies tried (for ST), rationale for medical necessity, dosing and duration, and any lab or test results required by the PA criteria. For LD/SP products, documentation must also support use of the specialty or limited distributor.
- PA requests should include: patient diagnosis, prior therapy history (relevant to ST), clinical notes, lab results, and proposed dosing.
- For ST: document failure, intolerance, or contraindication to required first-line agents to support an exception.
- QL documentation: justify medical need for quantities exceeding listed QL with clinical evidence.
- LD/SP documentation: include ordering provider details and confirmation of appropriate specialty pharmacy or distributor.
Step therapy and specialty program notes
Step therapy is used selectively in this formulary. While many entries do not show explicit step sequences, select branded agents are flagged with ST and require trial of preferred agents first or documentation of a contraindication/intolerance. Providers may request exceptions with supporting clinical evidence.
- KERENDIA (finerenone) is flagged with ST — ensure step edits are satisfied or document rationale for exception.
- FOSRENOL, FERRIC CITRATE and some renal agents show ST in Requirements/Limits where noted.
- Where ST is not specified, PA, QL, LD, and SP remain the primary management controls.
Step therapy markers and affected products
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| Markers such as AC, SP, LD (and related Requirement/Limit codes) indicate that additional authorization or specialty distribution steps may be required prior to coverage; the document does not provide explicit step-therapy sequences. | |
| Examples: ARIKAYCE shows Requirements/Limits = LD, PA, QL, SP; APRETUDE shows AC, LD, SP — entries use these markers to signal extra handling/authorization rather than explicit step pathways. |
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| Certain HCV agents and specialty antivirals require prior authorization and are often designated for specialty or limited distribution channels. | |
| Examples: LEDIPASVIR/SOFOSBUVIR (Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (28/28 days), SP); MAVYRET (Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (84/28 days), SP); APRETUDE lists AC, LD, SP. |
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| Many antineoplastic and other specialty oncology agents require prior authorization and may be distributed via limited distribution or specialty pharmacy channels. | |
| Examples: abiraterone (PA, QL, SP); ALECENSA (LD, PA, QL, SP); dasatinib (PA, QL, SP); REZLIDHIA (LD, PA, QL, SP) — entries list PA, LD, QL, and SP routinely for oncology agents. |
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| The extract contains no explicit step-therapy sequences (fail-first algorithms); utilization controls shown are limited to PA (prior authorization), QL (quantity limits), LD (limited distribution), and SP (specialty pharmacy). | |
| Examples: dasatinib entries show PA and QL; ARIKAYCE shows LD, PA, QL, SP — controls are present but step sequences are not defined. |
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| SP (specialty) designation appears on many specialty agents; providers must follow the plan's specialty/step program requirements when SP is indicated. | |
| Examples: multiple oncology and biologic agents (dasatinib, ALECENSA, abiraterone) list SP alongside PA/QL, indicating specialty pharmacy routing is required for these products. |
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| No explicit step-therapy sequences are provided in this segment; listings primarily show prior authorization (PA) and quantity limit (QL) flags for products. | |
| Examples: MOUNJARO entries show PA and QL; many oncology lines list PA and QL without specifying step therapy algorithms. |
| Product | Step therapy status | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|
| KERENDIA (finerenone) | ||
| ST required | ||
| KERENDIA entry lists Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days), ST |
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| LD (limited distribution) or SP (specialty) designations indicate that specialty dispensing pathways or restricted distribution channels may be prerequisites before coverage is approved for some products. | |
| Examples: REVCOVI lists LD, SP; ARIKAYCE lists LD, PA, QL, SP; ROZLYTREK entries show LD, PA, QL, SP — these flags denote required distribution channels. |
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| Some products in the formulary are flagged ST (step therapy); examples in the document include FOSRENOL and certain antidepressant specialty items such as FETZIMA and delayed‑release FLUOXETINE formulations. | |
| Evidence: FOSRENOL entries include ST in Requirements/Limits; FETZIMA and FLUOXETINE DR entries include ST alongside QL values. |
| Product | Step therapy status | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Fetzima (levomilnacipran) and titration pack | ||
| ST required | ||
| FETZIMA entries show Requirements/Limits = QL (30 capsules/30 days), ST; titration pack entries also list ST. |
| Product | Step therapy status | Source evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Fanapt titration packs (iloperidone titration packs) | ||
| ST required | ||
| FANAPT TITRATION PACK entries list Requirements/Limits = QL (1 pack/180 days) and ST. |
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| SAVELLA and some other agents are marked 'ST' indicating step therapy is required prior to coverage for those products. | |
| Examples: the extract notes SAVELLA and lists other products with Requirements/Limits including ST (e.g., entries in chunks showing ST for certain analgesics and psychotropics). |
| Summary | Source evidence |
|---|---|
| Step therapy (ST) applies to products flagged with 'ST' in the Requirements/Limits field; the document identifies several such agents but does not provide full step sequences within this extract. | |
| Examples: FOSRENOL lines include ST; antidepressant and psychotropic entries (FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR, FANAPT titration packs) are labeled ST per the formulary listing. |
Per-product quantity limits and examples
Specialty, limited distribution, and channel routing
Abbreviations and Requirement/Limit code meanings
Formulary grouping and scope
Background: This formulary groups drugs by therapeutic class and indicates assigned Drug Tiers together with utilization management codes used during adjudication. Common flags include PA (prior authorization), QL (quantity limit, often shown with exact quantities and time intervals), LD (limited distribution), SP (specialty pharmacy), and occasionally AC for vaccine administrative coding. Providers should use the Requirements/Limits annotations on each drug line to determine whether prior authorization, documentation, specialty routing, or quantity restrictions apply.
Biosimilar listings and associated requirements
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.