Ambetter Health Formulary (Prescription Drug List) - Coverage Criteria
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all Centene policy alerts
Know when Centene releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document describes the Ambetter Health Formulary (prescription drug list), coverage tiers, formulary keys (PA, QL, AL, ST, NF, SP, SF), prior authorization processes, opioid new-start limits, and pharmacy-related fill requirements for members covered by Ambetter plans.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage and Utilization Controls
Product-level coverage controls
Coverage and utilization controls are applied per listed product and presentation; common controls include tier placement, quantity limits, age limits, prior authorization, specialty pharmacy and new-start supply caps.
Interpret controls for the specific product presentation in the full formulary feed.
General coverage with limits
Coverage is provided on specified tiers with utilization controls that limit initial and ongoing dispensing.
Examples: New starts limited to 7 day supply for many opioid presentations; QL examples shown on product lines.
Formulary coverage logic
Coverage is determined by formulary tier and utilization management flags; QL, PA, and SP annotations on each line govern access.
Extracted from multiple formulary entries; check the specific line for exact values.
Covered with Utilization Controls
Coverage is provided with utilization management when specified; many high-cost or specialty agents require PA and/or SP and may have QLs.
Many antineoplastic and specialty agents show SP; PA; QL flags in the listing.
Formulary tiering and utilization management
Formulary coverage and utilization management are summarized below; tier assignment plus any PA/QL/SP designations determine access.
Examples: etravirine QL(2 EA daily); ribavirin QL(7 EA daily); epoprostenol/treprostinil entries flagged PA/SP.
Formulary listing — flags only
Formulary listing flags indicate coverage stance and any access requirements (PA, QL, SP) for each product entry.
Use PA/QL/SP flags to route requests to the applicable clinical or pharmacy prior authorization process.
Coverage entries with tiering and utilization controls
Selected formulary entries with tier assignments and explicit utilization controls are summarized as examples below.
See prednisone lines for specific AL annotations.
PA required for some formulations.
PA indicated on multiple biologic presentations.
Formulary coverage entries (partial)
Partial formulary entries below illustrate how coverage is conditioned on dispensing within specified quantity limits and obtaining any required PA/ST/SP.
chunks 234-235
chunks 234-235
chunks 238-241
chunks 249-250
chunks 251-253
The formulary is not intended to be an exhaustive list of all drugs covered under the prescription benefit. Not all dosage forms or strengths may be covered, and specific plan designs may further limit coverage for certain products or categories. The formulary is periodically reviewed and updated and may change over time; providers and staff should verify coverage, available presentations, and any associated utilization controls for the member’s specific plan prior to dispensing.
This segment of the formulary extract does not include any explicit clinical exclusion criteria. Coverage entries are presented as product-level lines with tier designations and utilization controls (e.g., QL, AL, PA), but the text does not state specific conditions or diagnoses that would categorically exclude members from coverage.
No explicit exclusion statements are given in these chunks. The listing provides tiering and utilization controls (quantity limits and occasional PA) for individual product presentations rather than broad clinical exclusions.
This excerpt does not contain explicit coverage exclusions. Entries focus on tier assignment and quantity limits for specific products rather than identifying categories or clinical situations that are universally excluded.
The segment emphasizes utilization management controls for listed agents (e.g., QL, SP, PA) and does not set out explicit exclusionary rules. Coverage is presented per product line with UM flags rather than as clinical exclusions.
No explicit exclusion statements are present in these chunks; the entries describe tiering, quantity limits, and prior authorization requirements for individual drugs rather than listing clinical exclusions.
This document segment does not state explicit exclusions. It provides formulary tier assignments and utilization controls per listed product without naming conditions or member groups that would be excluded from coverage.
No explicit clinical exclusion criteria are listed in this excerpt. Product lines show tier, age limits, QL, ST, and PA flags for specific formulations; exclusionary language is not present here.
Within the available extract there are no statements that designate products as "not medically necessary." Formulary lines instead report tier placement and utilization controls (e.g., QL, AL, PA) for each presentation; formal NMN language does not appear in this segment.
These chunks do not contain explicit 'Not Medically Necessary' (NMN) findings. The entries focus on new-start supply limits and quantity limits for opioid/analgesic presentations rather than NMN determinations.
No 'not medically necessary' statements are included in this excerpt. Information is limited to tiering and quantity-limit details for listed products.
The provided chunks do not include explicit NMN language. Entries shown apply utilization controls (PA, QL) and specialty designations without identifying products as not medically necessary.
No explicit 'Not Medically Necessary' wording appears in these chunks. The formulary lines describe tiers and QL values for antiviral and antiretroviral products and note PA/SP where applicable, without NMN declarations.
These excerpts do not contain statements that services or products are 'not medically necessary.' Instead, entries identify PA and SP requirements for pulmonary hypertension starter/refill kits and related products.
The extract does not include explicit 'not medically necessary' statements. Coverage language is presented as product-specific tiering and utilization management controls such as PA, QL, AL, and ST.
Non‑FDA approved uses of certain diagnostic products require Prior Authorization and may be denied if a PA is not obtained. Providers should submit the required prior authorization documentation for off‑label diagnostic uses; failure to obtain PA may lead to denial of coverage for those non‑FDA indications.
Codes, Strengths, and Quantity Examples
| NDC-like/unit descriptors present | Drug presentations and strengths are given (e.g., methylphenidate hcl TB24 18 MG, 27 MG; fentanyl PT72 12 MCG/HR, 25 MCG/HR, etc.) but no explicit NDC codes listed in this segment. |
| No codes listed |
| 2.5 MG/0.5ML | fondaparinux sodium 2.5 MG/O.SML (formulation/strength as listed) |
| 10 MG/0.8ML | fondaparinux sodium 10 MG/O.8ML (formulation/strength as listed) |
| 5 MG/0.4ML | fondaparinux sodium 5 MG/O.4ML (formulation/strength as listed) |
| 300 MG/3ML | enoxaparin sodium SOLN IJ 300 MG/3ML |
| 30 MG/0.3ML | enoxaparin sodium SOSY 30 MG/O.3ML |
| 40 MG/0.4ML | enoxaparin sodium SOSY 40 MG/O.4ML |
| no explicit CPT/HCPCS/ICD codes | This segment does not list procedure or diagnosis codes; it lists drug names, tiers, and utilization controls. |
| No codes listed |
| QL(2 EA daily) | Quantity limit example listed for bosentan 125 mg and other items |
| QL(4 EA daily) | Quantity limit example listed for bosentan TBSO 32 MG |
| max fill(s _ perl 180 dayls) | Max fill example for UPTRAVI TITRATION TBPK |
| No codes listed |
Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, and Documentation
Prior Authorization Required
Prior Authorization Required: Many products listed across the formulary require prior authorization (PA). This includes selected opioid products (high‑strength, extended‑release, or specific formulations), numerous biologics and specialty injectables (for example NUCALA, XOLAIR, STELARA, TREMFYA, DUPIXENT, enoxaparin preparations), multiple antineoplastic agents (including targeted and hormonal therapies and many specialty oncology agents), selected antivirals (e.g., SOFOSBUVIR‑VELPATASVIR, SOVALDI), pulmonary hypertension therapies (epoprostenol, treprostinil, TYVASO kits, bosentan, OPSUMIT, TRACLEER), topical/ectoparasiticide agents (for example clindamycin‑benzoyl peroxide combos, spinosad, permethrin, malathion), and many other listed specialty or high‑cost agents. PA is also noted broadly for diagnostic and non‑FDA uses.
- Providers must submit the payer Prior Authorization form with clinical rationale and supporting documentation.
- Urgent PA requests: response within 24 hours of receipt of all necessary information; non‑urgent: within 72 hours (or faster if state law requires).
- Denials will include specific reasons; incomplete requests will identify missing material information needed to complete the request.
- Drugs flagged with PA, SP, or QL on the formulary may be denied at claim adjudication if PA or specialty enrollment is not obtained.
- PA triggers include high‑strength/ER opioid formulations, specialty biologics, oncology agents, certain antivirals, pulmonary hypertension meds, and non‑FDA or diagnostic uses.
- Some products show PA together with SP (specialty) indicating additional handling or fill constraints; others combine PA with QL (quantity limits) or ST (step therapy).
- For many opioids new‑start supply limits apply (commonly limited to a 7‑day supply); PA may be required for higher strengths or certain formulations.
- Topical agents and ectoparasiticides may carry QL, ST, or PA (examples: clindamycin‑benzoyl peroxide combos, clobetasol formulations, spinosad, permethrin, malathion).
- Antineoplastic agents frequently require PA and may also be SP and/or QL; include drug name, dose, and indication on the PA request.
- Non‑FDA or off‑label diagnostic uses require PA and may be denied without it.
Quantity Limits, Step Therapy, and Denial Risk
Quantity limits, step therapy, and PA interactions: exceedance of quantity limits (QL) or failure to follow step therapy (ST) or to obtain required PA may result in claim denial. Many formulary entries combine QL, PA and ST flags; providers should verify and document adherence to these rules before claim submission.
- Some formulations include explicit QLs and max‑fill limits (examples: SOLU‑CORTEF 2 max fills per 30 days; various injectables with ML or dose‑based QLs).
- Step therapy may apply to selected anticonvulsants and topical products — where ST is indicated, preferred agents must be tried first or PA must justify bypassing ST.
- Step edits are sometimes implied by tiering and PA/SP flags even when explicit ST sequences are not listed.
- New‑start opioid supplies are commonly limited (e.g., 7‑day supply) — prescribing above the new‑start limit may require PA and additional documentation.
Documentation Required for Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, and Quantity Limit Exceptions
Documentation requirements for PA, SP, QL, and ST: When submitting a prior authorization or requests to override QL or ST, provide clear clinical rationale and supporting medical records. For specialty drugs, include details on specialty enrollment, site of care if relevant, and dosing schedule. Document dosing and package/ML calculations when QL or SP settings are present.
- Include diagnosis, prior therapy and response, contraindications/intolerance to preferred therapies (for ST exceptions), and proposed dosing with duration.
- For antineoplastic agents, specify the exact drug, dose, regimen, and indication on the PA request.
- Specialty drug (SP) requests should include specialty pharmacy information and any enrollment/dispensing site requirements.
- When requesting overrides of QL, document why the clinical need exceeds the published quantity limit (include calculation of total dose, frequency, and intended duration).
- Maintain copies of all submitted PA forms and supporting clinical records; denials for missing documentation will cite the missing information.
Provider Actions — How to Submit and What to Expect
Operational steps for providers: verify formulary flags (PA, SP, QL, ST) before prescribing; complete and submit the PA form with supporting documentation; track PA response timelines; and ensure specialty enrollment or site‑of‑care approvals as required.
- Check the formulary entry for PA and QL flags at the time of prescribing — many formulary items require PA.
- If PA is required, complete the payer’s PA form and submit all requested clinical documentation to avoid delays or denials.
- Allow for urgent (24‑hour) and non‑urgent (72‑hour) PA response windows; follow up if the decision is not communicated within these timeframes.
- If a product is SP flagged, coordinate with the specialty pharmacy and confirm any kit/refill restrictions (examples: TYVASO kits, starter/refill kit requirements).
- For non‑FDA or off‑label diagnostic uses, obtain PA before performing or dispensing.
Preventing Denials — Practical Documentation Tips
When PA is indicated on the formulary, include explicit notes about QL, SP, and ST settings to prevent denials. Failure to document QL calculations, specialty handling, or step‑therapy rationale is a common reason for disapproval.
- Document specific quantity calculations (e.g., mL per 28 days, units per day) when QLs are listed.
- If a drug is both SP and PA, confirm specialty pharmacy enrollment and include that documentation with the PA form.
- For ST entries that are not fully specified in the formulary, include documentation of prior therapies tried and outcomes to support exceptions.
- Be aware that some agents list PA with package‑ or fill‑based limits (for example packages per 180 days); include dispensing plan to align with those limits.
Formulary Terms and Abbreviations
New-Start and Starter Kit Controls
New-start limits
New-start supply restrictions apply to selected analgesics and opioid products to limit initial dispensing.
Document shows 'New starts limited to 7 day supply' on multiple opioid/analgesic entries (e.g., butalbital combinations, morphine, oxycodone, hydrocodone).
New-start limits
Summary of initial therapy restrictions appearing across opioid/analgesic entries.
Examples: morphine, oxycodone, hydrocodone entries reference 7-day new-start limits; some lines also list QL per day and PA.
Initial therapy rules for biologics/specialty
Some biologic injectables and specialty products require prior authorization and have product-specific quantity limits for initial dispensing.
See biologic lines for exact mL or unit-based QLs and PA requirements.
Initial coverage notes
Formulary placement and utilization flags influence initial access; some products note step-therapy or documentation requirements for initiation.
Examples: select anticonvulsants and topical agents show ST; EPIDIOLEX and others show PA.
Antiviral initial therapy notes
Selected antiviral entries include quantity limits and prior authorization requirements for initial therapy.
Refer to antiviral formulary lines for PA submission requirements.
Starter kit listing
Starter and refill kits for specialty products are listed with PA or SP designations.
Specific clinical initiation criteria are not provided in this segment; see full PA criteria for details.
Step therapy / initial trial
Some topical products are subject to step therapy or require trial of preferred formulations before coverage is approved.
Refer to the formulary line for 'ST' annotation to determine applicable preferred agents.
Ongoing Therapy Controls
Continuation therapy limits
Continuation or ongoing therapy is managed by per-product quantity limits and fill constraints.
Continuation specifics vary by product and are not uniformly listed in this segment.
Step Therapy Flags and Tables
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes (tier, QL, PA) |
|---|---|---|
| Various stimulant formulations (e.g., methylphenidate presentations) | ||
| covered with ST flags on select presentations | ||
| Tiers vary (1B–4); QL examples include QL(280 ML per 56 days), QL(1 EA daily) in listings; see formulary lines for specific presentation-level ST indication (some stimulants listed with ST). |
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes (tier, QL, PA) |
|---|---|---|
| fenoprofen calcium TABS | ||
| ST | ||
| Listed Tier = 1B; ILimits include QL(4 EA daily); ST annotation present on formulary line (fenoprofen calcium TABS). |
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes (tier, QL, PA) |
|---|---|---|
| Buprenorphine-containing formulations (films, sublingual, sublingual tablets) | ||
| No explicit step sequence in these chunks | ||
| Tier commonly 1B; quantity limits listed (e.g., QL(2 EA daily), other QLs) but no ST algorithm documented in these excerpts; PA not routinely shown here. |
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes (tier, QL, PA/SP) |
|---|---|---|
| Antiarrhythmics / related agents (e.g., propafenone, flecainide) | ||
| No explicit ST sequences in excerpt | ||
| Tier assignments shown (often 1B); QL examples include QL(15 ML daily) for propafenone; PA/SP flags are the primary controls in listings. |
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes (tier, QL, PA) |
|---|---|---|
| Selected anticonvulsants (e.g., APTIOM (lacosamide), eslicarbazepine acetate) | ||
| ST flagged on some entries | ||
| Examples: APTIOM listed with QL(2 EA daily) and ST; eslicarbazepine acetate listed with QL(2 EA daily) and ST. Specific step algorithms not provided in the excerpt. |
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes (primary access control) |
|---|---|---|
| Loop diuretics and related (e.g., furosemide, bumetanide) | ||
| ST text absent | ||
| Primary controls shown are SP and PA (e.g., furosemide SOLN PO flagged SP; bumetanide TABS flagged SP; PA required where indicated). |
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes (tier, PA/SP implication) |
|---|---|---|
| Pulmonary hypertension agents (e.g., sildenafil PH formulations, bosentan) | ||
| Explicit ST sequences not provided (tiering and PA/SP may imply preferred sequence) | ||
| Some entries list Tier = 1B (sildenafil PH) and PA/SP flags; bosentan entries show QL(2 EA daily) and PA/SP — these tier/PA/SP settings may imply sequencing though no explicit steps listed. |
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Pulmonary Hypertension Phosphodiesterase class (example: sildenafil PH formulations) | ||
| No explicit ST rules; Tier 1B noted (preference implication) | ||
| Tier = 1B appears for pulmonary hypertension phosphodiesterase presentations — tiering suggests preferred agents but explicit ST criteria are not provided in this segment. |
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes (tier, QL, PA) |
|---|---|---|
| Clindamycin phosphate — tretinoin combinations and related topical acne agents | ||
| ST indicated on selected topical entries | ||
| Examples: clindamycin phosphate- tretinoin listed Tier = 1B with QL(6 GM daily); some tretinoin and acne lotion entries show AL(At least 12 yrs) and ST annotations — step edits apply to selected topical agents. |
| Product / example | Step therapy (ST) indicated? | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Clobetasol propionate topical formulations (foam, gel, ointment, solution) | ||
| ST annotated on some formulations | ||
| Examples: clobetasol propionate FOAM and GEL entries show ST and QLs (e.g., QL(3 GM daily) for foam; gel QL(2 GM daily)); formulary notes advise following the preferred sequence when ST present. |
| Product / example | Specialty dispensing (SP) or Prior Authorization (PA)? | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| TYVASO starter/refill kits; treprostinil; epoprostenol | ||
| SP; PA indicated | ||
| Entries for TYVASO, treprostinil, epoprostenol are flagged SP and PA — specialty dispensing and prior authorization are primary access controls in these listings. |
Quantity Limits by Product
Dispensing Site and Specialty Pharmacy Requirements
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.