Ambetter Formulary (Prescription Drug List) — Coverage Criteria
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Centene Policy AMB25-AHS-C-00023-SC alerts
Get alerted when Policy AMB25-AHS-C-00023-SC changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document governs the Ambetter prescription drug formulary (2026) describing covered drugs, tiering, utilization management (prior authorization, step therapy, quantity limits), specialty drug handling, and opioid limits for members and providers under Centene's Ambetter plans.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Rules and Formulary Tiering
General Coverage and Tiering
Formulary coverage and tiering
Not all dosage forms or strengths may be covered; plan-specific benefit designs may further limit coverage.
Opioid Limits
Opioid prescribing limits for new starts
Limit applies cumulatively to all opioid medications filled.
Formulary product-level coverage rules
Coverage entries in this excerpt are largely formulary rules tied to specific products and presentations.
Clinical medical‑necessity criteria are not enumerated in this excerpt; coverage is governed by the listed administrative constraints.
Formulary Coverage Constraints (partial)
Coverage entries include per-product rules; many opioid and combination products are covered subject to the following constraints
Providers should consult the specific product line for exact QL, AL, ST, PA or SP flags.
Formulary tiering and limits (sample)
Coverage and utilization management entries (select examples from excerpt):
These examples illustrate how tiers and QL/PA interplay to govern coverage.
XIFAXAN utilization criteria
Anti‑infective specific coverage constraints:
Providers must meet age and PA requirements and adhere to stated QL for coverage.
Malaria treatment coverage limits
Antimalarials:
Limit is expressed as 'Limit 1 fill every 180 days' in the formulary lines and applies across listed formulations.
Antineoplastics coverage constraints
Antineoplastics and adjunctive agents:
Specialty handling and prior authorization are commonly required for oncology agents; consult the product line for exact ILimits.
Covered with formulary controls
Coverage with utilization management per formulary annotations
Apply the ILimits and flags shown on the specific formulary entry for adjudication.
General coverage rules for listed topicals
Coverage is defined by formulary tier plus any of the following constraints:
Prescribers should document indication, age and requested quantity to support coverage when AL/QL/PA/ST are present.
Formulary listing elements
Formulary coverage entries with tiering and utilization controls
Non‑FDA uses generally require PA as noted on certain lines.
The formulary distinguishes brand and generic drugs and generally promotes generics as first‑line therapy. Preferred brand drugs are placed on intermediate tiers when clinically appropriate; specialty drugs are handled separately (often Tier 4) and may require specialty pharmacy fulfillment or additional authorization. As a prescribing and billing reference, tier assignments, quantity limits, prior authorization and step therapy flags determine coverage and member cost sharing—verify member benefits for plan‑specific limits.
Within this excerpt there are no explicit exclusion statements identifying broad product categories or clinical conditions that are excluded from coverage. Formulary entries instead indicate product-level controls (tier, QL, PA, AL) rather than a blanket exclusion policy.
The extract does not contain explicit clinical exclusions (for example diagnoses or clinical situations that make drugs not covered). Coverage constraints shown are administrative (quantity limits, age limits, prior authorization, step therapy) applied at the product or presentation level.
Certain nitrofurantoin/macrocrystal entries in the excerpt include corrupted text but clearly indicate a restricted coverage intent: the lines state the product is "Covered for malaria treatment only" with a subsequent fill-frequency limit (corrupted in the source). This indicates the formulation is restricted to a specific indication with limited fills.
No explicit clinical exclusion language is present in this portion of the formulary extract. The document primarily records product-level utilization controls (PA, QL, AL, ST) rather than blanket exclusion determinations.
Some topical products are subject to infrequent refill rules that functionally limit access—for example, clotrimazole topical entries include a "Limit 1 Fill per 180 days" or similar per‑180‑day maximums in the ILimits field. These package/fill-frequency limits effectively prevent more frequent refills.
The formulary indicates that non‑FDA approved uses require Prior Authorization. In practice this means prescribing a drug for an indication not FDA‑labeled for that product will generally require submission of a PA request and supporting documentation prior to coverage.
Within the provided extract there are no explicit "Not Medically Necessary" (NMN) determinations or wording declaring specific uses as not medically necessary. The formulary uses administrative controls (QL, PA, AL, ST) rather than explicit NMN statements in this segment.
A repeat review of the excerpt shows No explicit NMN statements are present. Coverage guidance is expressed via tiering and utilization management flags rather than NMN language.
Across other portions of this extract there remain No explicit "Not Medically Necessary" determinations. Items are governed by QL/PA/ST/AL criteria and any denial rationale would reference failure to meet those requirements.
The excerpt does not present explicit NMN conclusions for listed drugs. Instead, coverage restrictions are operationalized with PA, QL, AL, and ST designations; absence of required documentation or authorization may result in denial but does not appear in the excerpt as NMN wording.
Coding, Quantity Limits, and Examples
| QL(1 EA daily) | Quantity limit examples shown (various products) |
| AL(At least yrs old) | Age limits examples shown (various products) |
| PA | Prior Authorization flag shown for specific products |
| ST | Step therapy flag shown for specific products |
| SP | Specialty tier flag shown for specific products |
| N/A | No explicit CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes present in this excerpt; only drug product names, tiers, QL, PA, AL and package limits are shown. |
| QL(4 EA daily) | Example quantity limit cited for certain opioid products |
| QL(2 EA daily) | Example quantity limit cited for certain opioid products |
| QL(0.146 ML daily) | Example quantity limit for injectable/ML formulations |
| PA | Prior authorization required (abbreviated in entries) |
| No codes listed |
Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, and Documentation Requirements
Prior Authorization Required
Prior Authorization (PA) is required for products that are flagged 'PA' in the formulary. Providers must complete and submit the payer's Prior Authorization form and supply clinical documentation supporting medical necessity (diagnosis, indication, prior therapies tried, patient age when an age limit applies, and the requested quantity/days supply). Urgent PA requests will be responded to within 24 hours of receipt of all necessary information; non-urgent requests will be responded to within 72 hours unless state law requires a faster response. If a request is disapproved or incomplete, the notice will state specific reasons for denial or identify the missing information required to complete the request.
- Complete the Centene/Payer Prior Authorization form and include clinical justification (indication, prior treatment, labs or diagnostic info as applicable).
- Indicate patient's age when AL (age limit) is listed and the specific quantity/days requested when QL (quantity limit) applies.
- Allowable PA response times: urgent = 24 hours; non-urgent = 72 hours (subject to state law).
- Denial notices will explain specific reasons or missing information.
PA for Specialty, Biologic, Antineoplastic, Pulmonary Hypertension, and Antiviral Agents
Many specialty, biologic, oncology, pulmonary hypertension, antiviral, insulin, and other high-cost or specialty agents are designated as requiring PA and/or specialty (SP) processing. Requests for these drugs commonly require submission of prior therapy history, dosing regimen, and anticipated duration. Non-FDA uses (off-label) also generally require PA documentation.
- Biologics and biosimilars listed with 'PA' require prior authorization; examples throughout the formulary include adalimumab products, monoclonal antibodies, and oncology agents (many of which are also SP).
- Antineoplastics and adjunctive cancer therapies flagged 'SP; PA' require specialty-channel processing plus PA.
- Pulmonary hypertension therapies and prostacyclin agents (e.g., treprostinil, epoprostenol, riociguat, bosentan-related entries) are often SP and PA.
- Select antivirals and hepatitis/HIV agents may have QL, refill-frequency limits, and PA; e.g., tenofovir products and certain combination antiviral regimens are flagged SP; PA or PA with limits.
- Non-FDA (off-label) uses require PA.
PA and Quantity Limits for Opioids
Opioid products frequently carry both PA and quantity limits. New starts for many opioid formulations are limited to a 7-day supply unless documented justification for an exception is provided. Requests that exceed quantity limits or do not have required PA documentation may be denied.
- New starts limited to 7-day supply for many immediate-release opioid liquid and tablet products — document rationale for exceptions.
- Common opioid QL examples: hydrocodone and hydromorphone entries include daily QLs (e.g., QL(2 EA daily)) and may require PA.
- Requests exceeding the stated QL (quantity limit) or without an approved PA are at high risk for denial—provide documentation to support medical necessity for amounts beyond the QL.
- Naloxone and certain opioid antidotes have specific per-fill and per-period QLs and may be Rx/OTC noted; some naloxone presentations also list PA for certain uses.
Quantity, Age, and Fill/Package Limit Requirements
Quantity limits (QL), age limits (AL), fill/package frequency limits, and specialty (SP) designations are applied across the formulary. When a product lists a QL, AL, or refill frequency limit (for example, 1 max fill per 90 days or package limits per 180 days), the provider must document the clinical justification for exception requests. Exceeding those limits without supporting documentation or required PA may result in a denial.
- Document intended days supply, units per day, and reason for exceeding the QL when requesting an exception.
- Fill/package limits: several products list limits per 30/90/180/365 days — verify the product entry and include requested frequency in PA.
- Requests that exceed QL/AL/packaging limits without sufficient clinical justification or an approved PA are likely to be denied.
PA for Select Insulin and Specialty Diabetes Agents
Certain insulin and specialty diabetes agents are designated as PA and/or have quantity limits. For these products, clinical documentation should include prior therapies tried (including formulary insulins), current A1c or relevant glucose data, and the specific insulin product/dosing requested.
- Select insulin products (e.g., concentrated U-500, pen/cartridge systems, long-acting/high-cost pens) may require PA (see formulary entries like HUMULIN R U-500, REZVOGLAR, TRESIBA FlexTouch entries).
- Combination/extended-release antidiabetic products may have QL and PA requirements (e.g., TRIJARDY, SYNJARDY XR, XULTOPHY).
- Include glycemic control data, prior agent trials, and quantity/dosing when submitting PA for insulin or specialty diabetes agents.
Step Therapy (ST) Requirements
Some formulary entries list Step Therapy (ST) requirements, while others do not enumerate explicit step sequences in the excerpt. Where ST is indicated, providers must document trials of required preferred agents before requesting the non-preferred or step-exempt product.
- Examples in the formulary show ST flags for certain topical and combination products; follow the plan's ST process when present.
- When ST is not detailed in the formulary excerpt, contact the payer for the required prior agent(s) or review the plan's step-therapy matrix.
- Site-of-care or specialty program indicators (SP) may interact with ST; for example, some injectables require SP processing even if ST is applicable.
Specialty Injectables — PA/SP Risk
Specialty injectables and high-cost biologics commonly require both PA and specialty dispensing (SP). These products have heightened denial risk if SP or PA requirements are not satisfied.
- Examples include antineoplastics, monoclonal antibodies, growth hormones, ACTHAR GEL, teriparatide, zoledronic acid, and many biosimilars marked 'PA' or 'SP; PA'.
- Confirm specialty channel availability and include provider/site enrollment info if required by the specialty program when submitting PA.
- Failure to meet SP contracting/dispensing requirements or to obtain PA may result in claim denial or coverage refusal.
PA Required for Specific Products
Certain individual products are specifically flagged with PA in the formulary (examples include SPRAVATO, select antifungals/antivirals, XIFAXAN, select antidiabetics, and many biologics). Providers should check the formulary entry before prescribing and initiate PA when indicated.
- SPRAVATO (56 mg and 84 mg doses) is listed with PA; the 84 mg dose also lists a QL (1 EA daily) plus PA — include dosing frequency and treatment setting in the PA.
- Antifungals like itraconazole, posaconazole, voriconazole include QL/PA entries — include indication and prior therapy in PA.
- XIFAXAN (200 mg and 550 mg) lists age limits and PA — document age and indication.
- Many biologic agents (adalimumab variants, et al.) list PA and package/180-day fill limits; include prior biologic exposure and rationale.
PA Documentation Expectations
Documentation that should accompany PA requests includes: indication/diagnosis, relevant lab or imaging data, prior medication trials (and why they failed or were not tolerated), patient age for AL rules, and the exact quantity/days supply requested. This documentation supports approval and any exception to QL/AL limits.
- Suggested documentation elements: diagnosis/indication, prior therapy history (dates, doses, response), objective measures (A1c, viral load, etc.), patient age if AL applies, and requested quantity/days supply.
- For quantity exceptions, provide clinical rationale tied to dosing needs (weight-based dosing, titration, or extended supplies).
- If requesting coverage for non-FDA or off-label uses, include literature support and treating specialist documentation.
Denial Risk and Explanation
Requests that exceed quantity limits, age limits, or that lack required PA or specialty processing may be denied. Denial notices will specify reasons and identify missing documentation when applicable. Providers should include follow-up contact info and be prepared to submit peer-to-peer or appeal information per payer processes.
- Denials commonly cite lack of PA, exceeding QL, age outside AL, missing prior therapy trials (ST), or missing clinical information.
- If a request is incomplete, the denial/explanation will identify exactly what additional information is required to complete the PA.
- Providers may be given next steps for appeal or resubmission — include clear clinical justification on re-submission to address stated denial reasons.
Prior Authorization Triggers — Operational Reminder
Operational/billing triggers — prior authorization must be obtained before dispensing for listed drugs; PA and QL indicators in the formulary constitute triggers for prior authorization submission.
- Check formulary entries for the 'PA', 'QL', 'AL', 'SP', and 'ST' flags prior to prescribing/dispensing.
- When a product is labeled 'PA' in the formulary, do not assume auto-coverage — submit PA prior to claim submission to avoid denial.
- Some products additionally list refill frequency limits (e.g., 1 max fill per 90 days); adhere to these operational limits or secure PA with justification.
Initial Therapy Restrictions and Start Rules
Initial therapy restrictions (examples)
Some products include age and step restrictions for initiation.
These are example initial therapy constraints pulled from formulary lines; check the specific product line for exact initiation rules.
Initial therapy limits
Initial therapy rules present in this excerpt
Limit applies cumulatively across opioid products; providers should submit PA for exceptions.
Continuation and Renewal Considerations
Continuation therapy (not specified)
Continuation/ongoing therapy considerations appear implied by 'new starts' restrictions but specific continuation criteria are not provided in this segment.
No explicit continuation criteria are present in the provided excerpt; refer PA process for continuation exceptions.
Step Therapy Flags and Examples
| Product | Formulation / Presentation | Step Therapy (ST) flag | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lisdexamfetamine dimesylate CAPS / CHEW presentations | |||
| ST present on some presentations; QL values shown (e.g., QL(1 EA daily), QL(6 EA daily)) | |||
| Step therapy flag present (documented as 'ST' in Drug Requirements/ILimits) | |||
| See formulary lines where ST is indicated for stimulant class entries |
| Requested Drug | Required Prior Step | ST Flag | Source note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Must try ibuprofen prior to approval | |||
| Documented as the required trial agent in the Drug Requirements/ILimits field | |||
| Entry shows 'Must try ibuprofen' associated with ST | |||
| ACTEMRA SOLN 80 MG/4ML — 'Must try ibuprofen: QL(5...' (see formulary) |
| Scope | Detail | ST sequences provided? | Comment |
|---|---|---|---|
| Multiple entries list tiers and ILimits | |||
| No explicit multi-step sequences are provided in this excerpt | |||
| Tiers and flags imply preferred agents but do not enumerate ordered steps | |||
| Refer to full formulary policy for full ST algorithms |
| Drug / Class | Tier | ST implication | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tier 1B–2 | |||
| Placement on Tier 2–3 suggests preferred lower-tier inhaled agents should be tried first | |||
| May imply step before coverage of higher-tier combinations though explicit ST rules not enumerated here | |||
| See inhaled corticosteroid/bronchodilator entries with tiering and ILimits |
| Product / Example | PA present? | QL present? | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| PA | |||
| PA; QL(20 ML daily) | |||
| PA; QL(0.25 ML daily) / QL(0.0714 ML daily) | |||
| PA and QL are specified on many lines even where no step algorithm is shown |
| Agent / Example | Tier | ILimits (example) | Policy implication |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tier 2 | |||
| Examples include QL(0.143 ML daily); PA on select presentations | |||
| Tier 1B; some entries show ILimits = ST or QL(1 EA daily) | |||
| Tiering plus ILimits identify preferred agents and PA triggers though step sequences are not detailed here |
| Combination product | ST flag | Example ILimits | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| ST | |||
| ST; QL(1 EA daily) | |||
| ST on some lines | |||
| Some combination products are specifically marked 'ST' in ILimits |
| Antineoplastic agent | Tier / Designation | SP / PA flag | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tier 4 | |||
| Listed as 'SP; PA' in ILimits | |||
| SP; PA indicated on multiple agents | |||
| SP designation indicates specialty processing and PA commonly required for oncology agents |
| Drug / Class | ST or SP | Example ILimits | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| ST; QL(A EA daily) | |||
| ST; QL(2 EA daily) | |||
| Some entries show ST or SP; PA may apply | |||
| Apomorphine and bromocriptine examples show explicit ST flags in ILimits |
| Product | Formulation | ST flag | ILimits / Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SOCT presentation | |||
| ILimits include QL(A EA daily); ST indicated | |||
| Entry explicitly lists 'ST' — step therapy required prior to coverage | |||
| Formulary line shows 'apomorphine hydrochloride SOCT ... ILimits = QL(A EA daily); ST' |
| Product | Formulation | ST flag | ILimits / Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capsule presentations | |||
| Drug Requirements/ILimits include 'ST' | |||
| Some bromocriptine lines show QL(2 EA daily) | |||
| Step therapy flagged for bromocriptine in formulary ILimits |
| Observation | Detail | ST sequences specified? | Action |
|---|---|---|---|
| Formulary lines include tier assignments across products | |||
| Not specified in this extract; ST flags referenced without ordered steps | |||
| When ST flags exist, providers should refer to full plan rules or PA requirements for sequence details | |||
| Summary based on multiple formulary lines in excerpt |
| Product | Formulation | ST flag | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Oral suspension presentations | |||
| Formulary ILimits reference ST for cefixime suspension | |||
| Step therapy required as indicated in ILimits field | |||
| Formulary entry notes 'ILimits = ST' for cefixime suspension in excerpt |
| Topical product | Formulation / Tier | ST flag | ILimits / Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Topical combination; Tier 1B–2 depending on line | |||
| ILimits show 'ST' for clindamycin phosphate-tretinoin in formulary lines | |||
| Tier 3; ILimits = AL(At least 12 yrs old); PA; QL(15 GM per 30 days) | |||
| Multiple corticosteroid and calcipotriene combinations flagged ST in ILimits |
| Therapeutic group | PA present? | SP present? | ST details provided? |
|---|---|---|---|
| PA | |||
| PA; SP on some lines | |||
| SP; PA indicated; step specifics not provided in excerpt | |||
| PA and SP are indicated for several specialty classes though explicit step therapy sequences are not specified here |
Quantity Limits (QL) — Product Examples
Specialty Pharmacy, Retail vs Mail, and Site Restrictions
Route SP drugs to Ambetter specialty/hemophilia network
Specialty tier drugs may be required to be dispensed through Ambetter's specialty or hemophilia network pharmacies; when SP is indicated, route prescriptions to the appropriate network pharmacy and note this in the PA.
- Tier 4 specialty drugs may require fulfillment at Ambetter specialty/hemophilia network pharmacies.
- Confirm specialty pharmacy routing in the PA submission.
Biosimilars and Package Limits
Provide package, dosing, and PA for adalimumab biosimilars
Multiple adalimumab biosimilars are listed with QL and PA and package limits per 180 days; when prescribing biosimilars, include package count, dosing, and request PA as needed to meet the formulary constraints.
- ADALIMUMAB biosimilars list QL(0.143 EA daily) and package(s) per 180 day(s); PA is required.
- Document exact presentation (pen/syringe), package count and intended fill interval in PA submissions.
Glossary and Acronyms
Policy Background and Scope
The Ambetter Formulary is a prescribing guide that promotes generic medications as first-line when available and distinguishes preferred brand versus non-preferred products by tier. It is not an exhaustive list: not all dosage forms or strengths may be covered, the list is periodically updated, and specific plan benefit designs may exclude certain products or categories despite appearance on the formulary. Providers and billing staff should confirm member-specific benefits and cost-sharing before assuming coverage.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.