Ambetter Formulary (Prescription Drug List) — Coverage Criteria
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Centene Policy AMB25-AHS-C-00023-FL alerts
Get alerted when Policy AMB25-AHS-C-00023-FL changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines the Ambetter prescription drug formulary, tiers, coverage guidance, prior authorization and limits for covered drugs under the Centene/Ambetter benefit; affects providers prescribing and dispensing prescription and specialty drugs to Ambetter members.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Formulary Coverage Criteria and Limits
General Coverage
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Not all dosage forms or strengths may be covered; specific plan designs may impose additional limitations.
Opioid Supply Limits
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Limits apply cumulatively to all opioid medications filled.
Formulary administrative coverage conditions
Coverage and dispensing restrictions apply as indicated for each product line when ALL listed administrative conditions are met
Clinical medical necessity criteria are not included in this extract
Formulary tier and authorization indicators
Coverage stance is indicated by Tier and presence of PA/QL flags for individual products.
See individual product entries for exact tier assignments.
Refer to product rows for QL/PA/ST details.
Formulary tiering and utilization management overview (excerpt)
Coverage and utilization management vary by drug; the following patterns are present in this excerpt.
Examples and exact tiers are listed on product rows.
Examples in the formulary include multiple tier 4 specialty agents marked PA or SP.
QL values are provided per product line (see entries).
Contraceptives coverage entries
Coverage for contraceptive products is provided as listed; follow tier, QL and fill limits shown per product.
Examples include levonorgestrel‑ethinyl estradiol 91‑day, NEXPLANON, PARAGARD, KYLEENA, LILETTA, TWIRLA with QL or fill interval annotations.
Glucocorticosteroids and systemic steroid products
Systemic and injectable corticosteroids are covered per product lines and may include fill limits or age annotations.
See individual product entries for exact ILimits/Q L/AL values.
Acne and topical dermatologic agents
Topical and systemic acne therapies are covered when product‑specific administrative rules are met.
Some combination topical products also require PA or have ST/AL flags.
Antifungals and other topical agents
Topical antifungal agents are covered when dispensing adheres to the listed limits and tiers.
Follow per‑product QL and fill limits at dispensing.
Formulary coverage with product-specific limits and authorization
Each product row defines coverage stance, tier, quantity limits, and any utilization management flags that govern dispensing.
Interpret individual product rows for precise operational limits and authorization requirements.
Formulary entries in this document may appear for informational purposes but may not be covered for every member. Specific prescription benefit plan designs may not cover certain products or categories regardless of their appearance in this document; always check the member's benefit plan and cost‑sharing information for coverage limitations and applicable member responsibility.
This extract does not include clinical exclusion lists. The formulary rows shown are administrative in nature (tier, QL, PA, AL, ST) and no explicit clinical exclusion criteria are provided within this extract.
Within the chunks reviewed there are no statements that designate products as categorically excluded; entries are presented as formulary listings with tier and utilization management annotations and no explicit exclusions are listed in these chunks.
The contraceptive segment of the formulary enumerates many products (oral, implant, IUD, transdermal, emergency) with tier and quantity annotations but contains no explicit non‑covered or exclusionary statements in this contraceptive segment.
For the topical dermatologic and related product listings reviewed, entries specify tiers, quantity limits and age limits where applicable; this segment does not include statements declaring products as excluded and no explicit exclusions are listed in this segment of the formulary.
Digestive enzyme products in the extract (examples: CREON, ZENPEP) are annotated to indicate administrative oversight for non‑standard uses. Non‑FDA approved uses require Prior Authorization as noted for these digestive enzyme preparations.
The portions of the formulary provided focus on tiering and administrative controls and do not include language that labels therapies as 'not medically necessary.' The excerpt does not list 'not medically necessary' statements for the agents shown.
Review of the opioid antagonist and related entries shows utilization management flags (PA, QL) but no explicit 'not medically necessary' statements are present in these chunks of the extract.
Topical and dermatologic entries include QL and AL notations and PA where indicated, but the extract contains no explicit 'not medically necessary' statements in this segment.
Formulary Annotation Codes and Key Limits
| QL | Quantity Limit |
| AL | Age Limit |
| PA | Prior Authorization |
| ST | Step Therapy |
| NF | Non-formulary |
| SP | Specialty Drug |
| QL(4 EA daily) | Quantity limit example shown for unspecified opioid product |
| QL(0.146 ML daily) | Quantity limit for ENBREL MINI/SOLN (listed in document) |
| PA | Prior authorization required |
| Tier = 1B | Formulary tier designation as shown |
| AL(At least 45 yrs old Up to 79 yrs old) | Age limitation example applied to OTEZLA entries |
| ELIQUIS TABS | apixaban tablets listed with QL(2 EA daily) in some entries |
| XARELTO TABS 10 MG, 20 MG | rivaroxaban tablets with QL(1 EA daily) or tier assignments |
| rivaroxaban SUSR 1 MG/ML | rivaroxaban suspension with QL(900 ML per 30) |
| alprazolam TABS 0.25/0.5/1 MG | benzodiazepine with QL(4 EA daily) and tier assignments |
| lorazepam TABS 1 MG | lorazepam with QL(4 EA daily) |
| albuterol sulfate AERS/NEBU/SYRP/TABS | multiple albuterol formulations with tiers and limits |
| budesonide (inhalation) SUSP | inhaled steroid with C; QL(4 ML daily); PA |
| testosterone cypionate SOLN IM 200 MG/ML | listed with tier/category mapping |
| testosterone enanthate SOLN IM | listed with tier/category mapping |
| enoxaparin sodium SOLN IJ 300 MG/3ML | enoxaparin with ILimits = QL(6 ML daily) |
| enoxaparin sodium SOSY 60 MG/0.6ML | enoxaparin SOSY with ILimits = 30 Day(s)| Idaily; PA |
| RXIOTC | OTC/RX designation as presented in formulary (appears as RXIOTC) |
| TAGRISSO 40 MG | TAGRISSO 40 MG — QL(2 EA daily); PA |
| TAGRISSO 80 MG | TAGRISSO 80 MG — PA |
| GILOTRIF | GILOTRIF — QL(1 EA daily); SP; PA |
| VERZENIO | VERZENIO — QL(2 EA daily); PA |
| VITRAKVI CAPS | VITRAKVI CAPS — SP; PA |
| FANAPT | FANAPT — QL(2 EA daily); PA |
| paliperidone | paliperidone — Tier 1B |
| No codes listed |
Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, and Documentation Requirements
Submit PA form and documentation for PA‑marked/non‑formulary drugs
Providers must complete and submit the Ambetter Prior Authorization (PA) form and include all required supporting documentation when requesting coverage for non‑formulary drugs or any product noted with 'PA' on the formulary. Urgent PA requests will be answered within 24 hours and non‑urgent requests within 72 hours (unless state law requires faster response); a denied PA notice will state the specific reasons for disapproval or identify missing information needed to complete the request.
- Complete Ambetter PA form and supply all requested clinical information.
- Expect urgent PA response within 24 hours and non‑urgent within 72 hours.
- Denial notices will include reasons for denial or identify missing material information.
Adalimumab biosimilars require PA and must meet QL/packaging limits
Multiple adalimumab presentations and biosimilars are subject to prior authorization and specific quantity limits (e.g., QL(0.143 EA daily); package/180‑day package limits). Providers must request PA and document dosing/indication consistent with the formulary entry when prescribing these products.
- Adalimumab variants (including ADALIMUMAB‑AATY/ADAZ/ADBM/RYVK, HUMIRA) list ILimits = QL(0.143 EA daily) and PA; some forms show package(s) per 180 day(s) limits.
- Include documentation of intended dosing and any prior biologic therapy as part of the PA request.
Obtain PA and document dosing for specialty/inhaled/infused agents
High‑cost specialty agents (examples: ARIKAYCE, ACTEMRA) are managed with prior authorization and product‑specific quantity limits; providers must obtain PA and document clinical necessity and dosing per the formulary limits.
- ARIKAYCE entries indicate ILimits = PA (Tier 4) — obtain PA prior to dispensing.
- ACTEMRA ACTPEN/ACTEMRA SOLN have QL entries (e.g., QL(3.6 mL per 28 day(s) retail; 4 mL per 28 day(s) mail) and some presentations list PA or SP; include dose/frequency in PA documentation.
Prior authorization required for listed opioid and select analgesic products
Several opioid and selected non‑opioid products are designated 'PA' on their formulary lines; providers must secure prior authorization before coverage will be approved for these listed products.
- Opioid entries frequently show 'New starts limited to 7 day supply' and PA for certain formulations — confirm PA before dispensing beyond allowed initial supply.
- Examples include hydrocodone, hydromorphone, and combination analgesic products that list PA alongside QL or new‑start restrictions.
Obtain PA for products with ILimits = PA shown on formulary rows
Some formulary entries explicitly show ILimits = PA (examples include albendazole and certain enoxaparin presentations). When ILimits = PA appears on the product line, providers must obtain prior authorization prior to coverage adjudication.
- Albendazole is listed with ILimits = PA and requires PA for coverage.
- Enoxaparin SOSY 60 MG/0.6ML entries show ILimits = PA — obtain PA where indicated.
Do not dispense PA‑marked drugs without approved prior authorization
Multiple products in the formulary are marked 'PA' — providers must submit prior authorization for these items to be considered for coverage. Do not dispense expecting automatic coverage when a PA flag is present.
- Examples of PA‑marked items include SPRAVATO, certain anticonvulsants, and others shown in the formulary.
- Claims for PA‑flagged drugs may be denied if no approved prior authorization is on file.
Request PA and include dosing/indication for PA‑listed diabetes/GLP‑1 agents
Selected branded and specialty diabetes agents (e.g., OZEMPIC, TRULICITY and combination products) list PA and QL; providers must request PA and document the indication and dosing consistent with the formulary requirements.
- OZEMPIC entries show ILimits = QL and PA (e.g., QL(0.108 ML daily); PA).
- TRULICITY is listed with QL(0.143 ML daily) and PA for some presentations — include clinical rationale with PA request.
Obtain PA for products explicitly designated PA in product lines
Certain formulary rows are designated 'PA' and require prior authorization before coverage (examples shown throughout product lists); providers must obtain PA per the formulary entry to avoid claim denial.
- Review the product line for ILimits = PA and submit PA accordingly.
- Examples span anti‑infectives, antifungals, and other therapeutic classes where PA is indicated.
PA required for specialty/tier‑4 oncology and biologic agents
Many specialty and tier‑4 agents — including selected oncology and biologic therapies (examples: LENVIMA, MVASI, ZIRABEV) — require prior authorization and may be routed through specialty pharmacy; providers must submit PA and follow specialty routing when indicated.
- LENVIMA lists ILimits = QL and PA; MVASI and ZIRABEV are Tier 4 with ILimits = PA.
- Specialty (SP) designation may require dispensing via a participating specialty pharmacy network.
Follow XIFAXAN age and QL rules and obtain PA when required
XIFAXAN 200 mg is listed with quantity limits (e.g., QL(3 EA daily; 9 EA per 3 day(s) retail)) and an age‑related PA note (At least 12 yrs old); providers must ensure age and QL requirements are met and obtain PA where noted.
- Confirm member meets age requirement (At least 12 yrs old) where specified.
- Adhere to QL (3 EA daily; 9 EA per 3 days retail) or request PA for exceptions.
Submit PA (and SP routing if shown) for oncology/specialty agents
Selected oncology and specialty drugs are annotated with 'PA' or 'SP; PA' (examples: TAGRISSO, GILOTRIF, VECTIBIX) — providers must submit prior authorization and any specialty‑pharmacy routing documentation required for coverage.
- TAGRISSO 40 mg notes QL(2 EA daily) and PA; many oncology entries list SP; PA.
- Include clinical indication, prior therapies, and dosing in PA requests for antineoplastics.
Obtain PA and follow ST where entries are flagged PA/ST
Certain products in this segment are flagged PA or ST (e.g., FANAPT marked PA; STRIBILD marked PA); providers must obtain prior authorization (and follow step therapy when ST is present) before coverage is approved.
- FANAPT lists QL and PA; STRIBILD lists QL and PA.
- If ST is present, evidence of required prior therapy may be necessary with the PA.
Arrange PA and specialty‑pharmacy fulfillment when SP or SP; PA flagged
Some drugs/formulations require both prior authorization and specialty pharmacy fulfillment (SP; PA). When a product is annotated with SP or 'SP; PA', providers must obtain PA and arrange dispensing through an appropriate specialty pharmacy network.
- Examples include certain verapamil CP24 formulations, UPTRAVI, and ADEMPAS which list PA and/or SP.
- Confirm participating specialty pharmacy and include SP routing details with the PA submission.
Obtain PA and document age/dosing for isotretinoin and PA‑marked topical acne products
Isotretinoin (10–40 mg) and multiple topical combination acne products are marked 'PA' and have age and quantity restrictions (e.g., isotretinoin QL(60 GM per 30 day(s))). Providers must request PA and document age, indication, and dosing.
- Isotretinoin requires PA and has QL(60 GM per 30 day(s)) noted.
- Topical benzoyl peroxide and combination products may include AL and PA — include age and clinical justification in PA.
Prior authorization required for listed topical antifungals and combinations
Multiple topical products and strengths (examples: luliconazole, ketoconazole topical) include 'PA' in their formulary lines; providers must obtain prior authorization per the entry prior to coverage.
- Luliconazole and ketoconazole topical entries indicate ILimits = PA; follow PA procedures before dispensing.
- Confirm any associated QL or max‑fill restrictions in the formulary row.
Request PA and follow max‑fill/interval rules for specialty/bone agents
Certain specialty/bone agents (e.g., EUCRISA, PROLIA, pamidronate, risedronate, teriparatide) include PA or SP flags and max‑fill/interval limits. Providers must secure PA and adhere to max‑fill per 180‑day or other interval restrictions when noted.
- PROLIA entries show max fill(s) per 180 day(s) — obtain PA and observe fill interval limits.
- Pamidronate disodium SOLN and pamidronate entries are SP; PA — arrange specialty dispensing and PA as required.
PA required for non‑FDA uses of digestive enzyme preparations
Digestive enzyme products (e.g., CREON, ZENPEP) indicate that non‑FDA approved uses require prior authorization. Providers seeking coverage for off‑label enzyme use must submit PA documenting the non‑FDA indication and clinical rationale.
- CREON and ZENPEP entries state 'Non‑FDA approved uses require Prior Authorization'.
- Include supporting clinical documentation when requesting PA for non‑FDA uses.
Obtain PA for the multiple PA‑noted products or classes to avoid denial
Many listed products and classes (examples: pamidronate disodium, ACTHAR GEL, tolvaptan, octreotide, various biologics) have 'PA' noted; providers must obtain prior authorization where indicated to prevent claim denial.
- ACTHAR GEL and ACTHAR GEL PEN list ILimits = PA — submit PA prior to dispensing.
- Tolvaptan and octreotide entries indicate QL and PA — include dosing and indication with PA.
Follow step therapy (ST) when formulary entries indicate ST
Step therapy (ST) applies where indicated on the formulary; when a product row includes 'ST', providers must document that required preferred alternatives were tried (or submit justification) before coverage of the listed product will be approved.
- Lisdexamfetamine entries include ILimits = ST — confirm prior step therapy trials when submitting PA.
- If a member has trialed the required alternative, include that documentation with the PA request.
Document required prior trial (e.g., 'Must try ibuprofen') for ACTEMRA SOLN 200
One ACTEMRA SOLN 200 entry explicitly states 'Must try ibuprofen', indicating a step therapy requirement; providers must document trial of the required agent before coverage will be approved for that ACTEMRA presentation.
- ACTEMRA SOLN 200 entry: 'Must try ibuprofen' is specified — include evidence of ibuprofen trial in PA documentation.
- If clinical contraindication to the required step exists, document rationale in the PA request.
Consider tier assignments — higher tiers often imply PA/ST and specialty routing
Formulary tier assignments (e.g., Tier 1A, 1B, 2, 3, 4) indicate coverage placement and may imply required step edits or higher cost sharing. Providers should consider tier when prescribing and follow any PA/ST flags associated with higher tiers.
- Tier 4/specialty items often require PA and may need specialty pharmacy fulfillment.
- Lower tiers (1A/1B) are preferred; when higher‑tier agents are requested, check for PA or ST requirements.
No explicit step sequences in extract — document rationale if seeking exception
This extract shows tier and administrative flags but does not define explicit step‑therapy sequences or required prior failures; when ST is indicated, follow the product‑level note or submit PA with clinical justification if step cannot be met.
- Where ST is flagged but no sequence is detailed, include clinical rationale in PA to support exception.
- Contact the plan for specific step‑therapy sequences not specified in the formulary extract.
Tiering can imply step therapy; include prior therapy evidence when requesting higher‑tier drugs
Tier assignments in the formulary may imply step therapy pathways (e.g., preferred drugs in tiers 1A/1B before higher‑tier alternatives). If a prescriber requests a higher‑tier agent, include evidence of prior therapy with preferred alternatives or submit PA explaining the clinical need.
- Use tiering as a guide — check product row for ST/PA flags and include prior treatment history when requesting PA.
- If step therapy is being bypassed, provide clinical justification in the PA submission.
Follow D+/D indicators and PA/QL on insulin and antidiabetic entries
Some insulin and antidiabetic entries include 'D+' or 'D' style indicators and PA/QL flags which suggest step edits or dispensing restrictions; providers should follow those indicators and submit PA/documentation when the formulary requires it.
- Examples include HUMULIN R U‑500 and multiple GLP‑1/insulin products that list QL and PA.
- If dispensing exceeds QL or deviates from 'D+' logic, include supporting documentation or request PA.
Follow ST flags on combination products (document prior therapies or request PA)
Some combination products and specific drugs show ST flags (e.g., EDARBI ILimits = QL(1 EA daily); amlodipine‑olmesartan entries marked ST). Providers must follow the ST requirement or document justification in a PA.
- EDARBI shows ILimits = QL(1 EA daily); ST — document prior therapy if required.
- Amlodipine‑olmesartan entries are marked ST — include trial of preferred alternative or PA justification.
Check PA/ST on antihypertensives and provide prior trial documentation when required
Some antihypertensive entries include PA or tiering that may reflect step edits; when prescribing these agents check the formulary line for ILimits = PA or ST and include prior therapy documentation if required for coverage.
- Examples: select antihypertensive combinations list ILimits = PA or ST — submit PA with prior trial history or medical rationale.
- Check QL values and D+/D indicators that may affect pharmacy adjudication.
Adhere to step therapy for products labeled 'ST' or provide justification in PA
A number of products are explicitly marked 'ST' or carry ST‑style indicators (e.g., apomorphine hydrochloride SOCT); providers must adhere to step therapy rules where present or include clinical justification when requesting PA.
- Apomorphine hydrochloride SOCT lists ILimits = PA and QL and marks ST — obtain PA and document prior steps.
- If step therapy cannot be met for clinical reasons, include that information with the PA.
Document trials or exceptions when ST is required
When a product row includes 'ST', providers must follow step therapy requirements prior to coverage; if step therapy is bypassed, provide clinical justification and supporting documentation with the PA to prevent denial.
- Some products labeled ST require documented trial of lower‑tier alternatives before coverage.
- Include dates, agents, durations, and clinical response in PA documentation when seeking exception.
Comply with combined SP/PA or D+ notations on product lines
Some formulary entries combine SP; PA or 'D+' notations indicating specialty dispensing plus prior authorization or dispensing restrictions; providers must comply with both specialty routing and PA requirements to ensure coverage.
- Where SP; PA appears (e.g., select oncology or pulmonary agents), coordinate specialty pharmacy fulfillment and submit PA.
- 'D+' indicators may require specific dispensing logic at the pharmacy; confirm with plan/pharmacy.
Document age limits and ST for topical dermatologic products
Several topical and dermatologic product rows include ST flags and age limits (AL); providers must document age eligibility and any required step therapy when requesting PA or filling prescriptions for these agents.
- Benzoyl peroxide and clindamycin topical entries list AL(At least 12 yrs old) and ST — confirm member age and prior therapy evidence.
- Isotretinoin entries require PA and have AL and QL requirements; include these in PA documentation.
Follow ST on topical corticosteroids or provide PA justification
Some topical corticosteroid and related products carry 'ST' indicators — providers must follow the step requirement or supply PA justification to avoid coverage denial at claim adjudication.
- Entries like alclometasone and other corticosteroid topicals include ST and QL — include prior therapy details when requesting PA.
- Pharmacies will enforce QL and max‑fill intervals noted on product lines.
Obtain PA for bisphosphonate/bone agents and follow SP where shown
Bisphosphonate/bone density products may be tiered and have PA or specialty requirements (e.g., FOSAMAX PLUS D lists ILimits = PA); providers must request PA and follow specialty routing where required.
- FOSAMAX PLUS D ILimits = QL(0.143 EA daily); PA — include clinical rationale and prior fracture/therapy history as applicable.
- PROLIA and pamidronate entries show SP; PA or max‑fill per 180 days — coordinate specialty pharmacy and PA submission.
When steps are implied by tiering, include prior therapy evidence with PA
Tier assignments can imply step edits but explicit step sequences are not provided in this extract; when seeking coverage for higher‑tier drugs include documentation of prior therapies and clinical rationale in the PA request.
- If formulary does not list explicit step sequence, use prior therapy history and clinical justification to support PA.
- Contact plan for full step‑therapy rules if needed.
Complete PA form and note plan response times for urgent/non‑urgent requests
Providers must complete the Ambetter Prior Authorization form and submit all required information; urgent requests will be responded to within 24 hours and non‑urgent requests within 72 hours (unless state law requires faster response).
- Use the Ambetter PA form and include all requested clinical information.
- Expect 24‑hour turnaround for urgent PA requests and 72 hours for non‑urgent.
Document package and 180‑day max‑fill limits (e.g., adalimumab) in PA requests
Some products have package or max‑fill limits per specified windows (e.g., many adalimumab presentations show package(s) per 180 day(s) and 1 max fill(s) per 180 day(s)). Providers should confirm and document intended packaging/fill frequency in PA submissions.
- Adalimumab entries show package limits per 180 days and 1 max fill per 180 days — include intended dispensing schedule in PA.
- Where max‑fill per period applies, document clinical need for exceptions when requesting PA.
Document and justify continuation beyond 7‑day new‑start opioid limits
New starts for many injectable and oral opioid formulations are limited to a 7‑day supply; providers must document justification and request PA to continue therapy beyond the new‑start limit.
- New‑start limit of 7 days applies to many opioid formulations — provide documentation of acute vs chronic need when requesting continuation.
- If ongoing therapy is required, submit PA with clinical rationale for supply beyond 7 days.
Adhere to QL values on product rows or request PA when exceeding limits
Many formulary entries include explicit quantity limits (QL) — providers and dispensing pharmacies must adhere to these QLs or submit PA/documentation to exceed them.
- Examples include QL(2 GM daily) for nitroglycerin (intra‑anal), QL(4 EA daily) for alprazolam strengths, and QL(900 ML per 30) for rivaroxaban suspension.
- If a prescription exceeds QL, submit PA and supporting documentation to request an override.
Record/adhere to QLs (e.g., XARELTO, enoxaparin) — exceptions require documentation
Pharmacies and prescribers should record adherence to quantity limits: QL notations (e.g., XARELTO SUSR QL 900 mL per 30 days; enoxaparin SOLN QL(6 mL daily)) will be enforced and may require documentation for exceptions.
- XARELTO suspension QL(900 ML per 30 day(s)) and enoxaparin SOLN QL(6 ML daily) are enforced at point of sale.
- When requesting exceptions, include dosing regimen and clinical justification in PA.
Include PA documentation for GLP‑1 and specialty insulin products marked PA/QL
Selected GLP‑1/insulin and other specialty antidiabetic products list PA alongside QL; providers must include PA documentation to support medical necessity when prescribing these agents.
- OZEMPIC, TRULICITY and certain insulin presentations show QL and PA flags — include prior therapy and indication in PA submissions.
- Claims for these agents may be denied without an approved PA.
Observe QLs on antifungals and related agents or submit PA for exceptions
Additional products across classes include QL notations (examples: antifungals, antifungal suspensions); providers must ensure prescriptions conform to the stated QL or submit PA with clinical justification.
- Itraconazole CAPS ILimits = QL(4 EA daily); CRESEMBA CAPS ILimits = PA.
- If prescribing beyond QL, include rationale and prior treatments in PA request.
Provide full medical‑necessity documentation for specialty antineoplastics and PA‑marked agents
Prescribers should provide documentation supporting medical necessity for specialty antineoplastic antibodies and other PA‑marked specialty agents; include prior therapies, staging, biomarkers, and dosing in the PA submission.
- Oncology biologics (e.g., TAGRISSO, VECTIBIX, MVASI, ZIRABEV) list PA and often SP; include relevant clinical details in PA.
- Lack of detailed documentation may result in PA denial or request for additional information.
Exceeding QLs may cause denials — submit PA with supporting documentation
Quantity limit edits (QL(...)) are enforced and can cause claim denial or require overrides; when a prescription exceeds the QL, providers must submit PA and documentation to support the exception.
- QL notations across the formulary will be enforced at claim adjudication.
- Include dosing, clinical reason, and duration when requesting override via PA.
Adhere to fill‑frequency and max‑fill restrictions or request PA for exceptions
Follow quantity‑limit and fill‑frequency restrictions noted on product lines (e.g., per‑day, per‑fill, 1 max fill every 90/180 days); pharmacies will enforce these and PA may be required for additional supply.
- Examples include 'Limit 1 fill every 90 days' and per‑180‑day package limits — include requested fill frequency with PA.
- Ensure pharmacy claims align with QL and max‑fill intervals or obtain PA.
Confirm age limits and include age in PA documentation for AL/PA‑listed products
For many products, age limits (AL) are specified alongside PA (e.g., tacrolimus topical entries); providers must document member age and obtain PA when PA is indicated by the formulary.
- Tacrolimus topical entries list AL(At least 2 yrs old) and PA — verify member age and include in PA documentation.
- Topical acne entries include AL(At least 12 yrs old) plus PA for some products.
Reference product‑level Tier and ILimits in PA/claims to ensure correct adjudication
Formulary product lines specify Tier, ILimits and Drug Requirements/ILimits which must be honored during claims processing and authorizations; providers should reference the exact formulary row when submitting PA or answering pharmacy inquiries.
- Ensure PA submissions reference the formulary product row and its ILimits (PA, QL, ST, AL) to expedite review.
- Pharmacies will adjudicate claims against the Tier/ILimits values; missing PA may result in denial.
Denial notices will state specific reasons or missing information — respond promptly
If a prior authorization request is disapproved, the plan's denial notice will include the specific reasons for denial or identify missing information necessary to complete the request; providers should review the notice and submit any requested information promptly.
- Denial notices will give clear reasons for disapproval or list missing material information.
- Respond to denial notices with the requested documentation or an appeal as appropriate.
Initial Prescribing Limits and New-Start Rules
Initial therapy limits
Covered when ALL of the following initial therapy conditions are met:
Documentation or PA is required to continue therapy beyond the initial supply.
Utilization management flags
Utilization management flags affecting initial coverage:
Specific step sequences or PA clinical criteria are not provided in this extract; see product‑specific PA rules.
Continuation Beyond Initial Supply
Continuation beyond new-start
Continuation of therapy beyond the initial new‑start supply is permitted when ALL of the following are met:
Specific continuation clinical criteria are not present in this extract; follow PA documentation guidance where PA is required.
Step Therapy Indicators and Examples
| Product | Formulary note / step indicator |
|---|---|
| Lisdexamfetamine dimesylate CAPS / CHEW | QL(1 EA daily) or QL(...) as listed; ST indicated (step therapy flag present) |
| Product | Step requirement (explicit) |
|---|---|
| ACTEMRA SOLN 200 | Must try ibuprofen before coverage; ILimits show 'Must try ibuprofen' and ST noted |
| Tier example | Implication for step edits / note |
|---|---|
| Tier = 1A / 1B | Lower formulary tiers suggesting preferred agents; may imply earlier step before higher tiers |
| Tier = 3 | Higher (non‑preferred) tiering that may trigger step edits from preferred tiers |
| Tier = 4 | Specialty tier — often subject to PA and may be last step in therapy sequence |
| Formulary tiering example | Notes (step sequencing not specified) |
|---|---|
| Products assigned Tier = 1B, 2, 3, 4 | Tier assignments are listed per product; explicit step‑through sequences or required prior failures are not provided in the excerpt |
| Insulin / antidiabetic entry | Step-edit indicator |
|---|---|
| Insulin lispro / lispro prot insulin products | ILimits include 'D+' or 'D' notation (e.g., D+; QL values) consistent with step‑edit indicators |
| GLYXAMBI / metformin combinations | Shown with 'D+' indicators on some entries suggesting step/dispense flags |
| Combination product | ST flag present |
|---|---|
| Amlodipine besylate - olmesartan medoxomil (combination) | ILimits = ST indicated for some combination antihypertensive products |
| Amlodipine - valsartan - hydrochlorothiazide (combination) | Listed with ILimits = ST for certain formulations |
| Antihypertensive example | PA / step note |
|---|---|
| Various antihypertensives (e.g., valsartan, irbesartan, aliskiren) | Some entries list PA or D+ and QL which may reflect step edits or prior therapy requirements before higher‑tier coverage |
| Examples of agents with ST marker | Formulary note |
|---|---|
| Apomorphine hydrochloride SOCT | ILimits = PA; entry includes ST or ST‑style markers indicating step therapy may apply |
| EQUETRO (olanzapine) formulations | Listed ILimits include QL and ST flags (e.g., EQUETRO 100/300 mg with ST) |
| Product labeled 'ST' | Effect on coverage |
|---|---|
| EQUETRO 100 MG / 300 MG | ILimits show QL and ST — step therapy is indicated before coverage of these formulations |
| Multiple other products (various entries) with 'ST' flag | Products labeled ST require step therapy per formulary flags; specific prior fail‑throughs not described in excerpt |
| D+ / SP flags example | Implication (dispensing / specialty) |
|---|---|
| Insulin and specialty agents with 'D+' notation | 'D+' or 'SP; PA' flags indicate additional dispensing or specialty requirements and may be associated with step edits |
| Topical product | Step therapy and age notes |
|---|---|
| Benzoyl peroxide gels / liquids | Entries include AL (At least 12 yrs old) and ST/PA flags for some strengths/forms |
| Clindamycin topical foam/gel | ILimits include AL and PA; some topical entries show ST marking alongside age limits |
| Topical corticosteroid example | Step therapy status |
|---|---|
| Sulfamyelon / alclometasone / amcinonide topical corticosteroids | Multiple topical corticosteroid entries include ILimits = ST or QL; ST indicated though specific step sequence not listed |
| Topical product (EUCRISA, others) | Tiering / PA / QL |
|---|---|
| EUCRISA (topical PDE4 inhibitor) | Tier = 3; ILimits = QL(2 GM daily) and PA noted — product is tiered and may require PA |
| Tacrolimus topical ointment | ILimits include AL (At least 2 yrs old) and PA — tiering and PA flagged in formulary |
Quantity Limits (QL) — Examples and Product-Specific Values
Additional Quantity Limits and Examples
Remaining Quantity Limit Examples
Specialty Pharmacy and Dispensing Requirements
Biosimilar Listings and Handling
Formulary Terms and Abbreviations
Background and Scope
The formulary lists FDA‑approved brand and generic drugs covered under the prescription drug benefit and indicates a preference for generics where available. Generics are preferred when available; preferred brand drugs appear on Tier 2 when a generic is not suitable. The Formulary is a guide and not all dosage forms or strengths may be covered.
Policy Revision History
Ambetter Formulary updated (document labeled 'Ambetter Formulary Updated January 2026') with tier assignments, PA and QL flags across multiple product classes including specialty oncology agents and biosimilars.
Policy effective date set to 2026-01-01 for this Ambetter formulary coverage criteria document (AMB25-AHS-C-00023-FL).
Added or affirmed utilization controls including quantity limits (QL), age limits (AL), prior authorization (PA) flags and new-start 7-day opioid supply limits referenced in the formulary extract.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.