Tibial Nerve Stimulation (PTNS, iTNS, TTNS)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Bluecross Idaho Policy 7.01.106 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 7.01.106 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines coverage and medical necessity criteria for percutaneous tibial nerve stimulation for non‑neurogenic urinary dysfunction (including overactive bladder); states investigational indications for implantable and transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation and affects providers treating members under Bluecross Idaho benefit plans.
Wording of "subcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation" changed to "implantable tibial nerve stimulation" to align with device scope; Altaviva device added to investigational policy statement.
New PICO added for transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation to treat urge urinary incontinence and urinary urgency with an investigational policy statement.
Coverage Criteria and Rationale
Initial Therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Percutaneous PTNS for an initial 12-week course is considered medically necessary when all conditions are met.
Maintenance Therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Maintenance PTNS is considered medically necessary when documented response to an initial course and ongoing benefit are present.
Initial PTNS therapy
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Initial PTNS course and delivery parameters reflect regimens used in key RCTs (e.g., SUmiT) and policy guidance.
Maintenance PTNS
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Observational extension data support durability in some responders up to 36 months but optimal regimen is unclear.
Alternative therapies and exclusions to consider
Use comparator-specific contraindications and procedural pathways when considering alternatives.
Coverage rationale and criteria
Summary coverage rationale derived from evidence sections
Evidence from RCTs supports improvement in net health outcome for initial PTNS.
Maintenance coverage is contingent on documented initial response and ongoing benefit.
Pivotal regimens and device characteristics (e.g., eCoin programming) are described in device studies and FDA summaries.
Implantable tibial neuromodulation (eCoin, Altaviva) — evidence context
Evidence from prospective single-arm pivotal studies demonstrates symptomatic response but randomized sham-controlled or active comparator trials are lacking for implantable devices.
Certainty limited by lack of sham‑controlled RCTs and use of performance goals; postapproval studies are ongoing.
Tibial nerve stimulation (PTNS/TTNS) for neurogenic bladder — evidence criteria
Randomized and comparative evidence is sparse and mixed; available RCTs mainly used TTNS and did not demonstrate significant clinical benefit.
Heterogeneity and small sample sizes limit generalizability; ongoing trials may add evidence.
Evidence summaries relevant to coverage
Evidence summary and criteria implications for PTNS/TTNS
Findings support an insufficient evidence stance for neurogenic bladder indications.
Overall evidence does not consistently support PTNS over sham for fecal incontinence.
Subgroup findings do not establish definitive coverage indications.
SNS may be preferred where stronger evidence of effect exists.
Coverage stance by indication
Summary of evidence-based coverage stance by indication
Evidence sufficient to determine improvement in net health outcome for initial PTNS.
Maintenance coverage contingent on documented initial response and continued benefit.
Policy indicates insufficient evidence for broad coverage without additional comparative data.
Evidence insufficient to determine improvement in net health outcome for TTNS.
Policy concludes evidence insufficient for neurogenic bladder indications.
Policy concludes insufficient evidence for fecal incontinence indication.
Coverage summaries by indication
Evidence-based coverage stance summaries by indication
See device‑specific study results for responder rates and adverse events.
Limited and mixed trial data do not support routine coverage for neurogenic bladder indications.
Policy concludes evidence insufficient for fecal incontinence indication.
Coverage for TTNS should reflect limited and inconsistent RCT evidence.
Clinical input on maintenance PTNS
Clinical and policy statements summarized in this section include:
This conclusion is based on respondent feedback collected in 2018 and summarized in the policy.
Investigational implantable tibial nerve stimulation
Policy history changes relevant to device types and investigational status:
Policy history documents adoption of these changes (05/28/26 effective 09/01/2026).
Transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation (PICO)
Transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation PICO
Details and investigational coverage language are recorded in the policy history and summary sections.
Maintenance PTNS — respondent-based coverage criteria
Covered when ALL of the following are met based on clinical input
Supported by clinical respondents who provided management perspectives.
Response to initial course required before maintenance per respondent consensus.
Management practice reported by respondents.
Management practice reported by respondents.
Reported follow‑up interval from clinical respondents.
This policy addresses tibial nerve stimulation modalities including clinic-based percutaneous tibial nerve stimulation (PTNS), surgically implanted implantable tibial nerve stimulation (iTNS) devices (e.g., eCoin, Altaviva), and at‑home transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation (TTNS). PTNS is delivered via a percutaneous needle near the medial malleolus in a standard induction course of 12 weekly treatments, typically followed by an individualized maintenance schedule. Implantable systems are leadless or subcutaneous devices implanted in the lower leg that deliver programmed stimulation without repeated in‑office needle sessions. TTNS devices are worn on the ankle for at‑home surface stimulation. The policy distinguishes indications with evidence sufficient to support coverage for an initial PTNS course from device types and indications for which evidence is insufficient or investigational.
When considering alternatives to tibial nerve stimulation, botulinum toxin injection into the detrusor is a recognized comparator for refractory overactive bladder; however, clinicians should note that botulinum toxin increases the risk of urinary retention and therefore is not recommended for patients with a history of urinary retention or recurrent urinary tract infection (UTI).
As a comparator treatment, botulinum toxin is explicitly contraindicated or not recommended in individuals with documented urinary retention or recurrent UTI because of the elevated risk of retention and infectious complications; this consideration should be documented when selecting alternative therapies.
Randomized and comparative evidence for tibial nerve stimulation in neurogenic bladder dysfunction is sparse and heterogeneous. Most RCTs used transcutaneous stimulation rather than percutaneous PTNS, sample sizes were small, and reported outcomes did not show consistent statistically significant improvements in key clinical endpoints. A sham‑controlled trial (Welk et al 2020) found no benefit of TTNS over sham in mixed neurogenic and non‑neurogenic OAB populations, supporting limited confidence in efficacy for neurogenic bladder.
The policy notes that devices and tibial stimulation approaches have not been cleared by the FDA for the treatment of fecal incontinence; available randomized trials for fecal incontinence have not established active PTNS superiority over sham and regulatory clearance for that indication is absent.
Evidence for implantable tibial nerve stimulation (iTNS) (e.g., eCoin, Altaviva) is principally from open‑label, single‑arm pivotal studies that reported responder rates meeting prespecified performance goals. However, no sham‑controlled randomized trials of implantable tibial neuromodulation were available in the reviewed evidence, limiting the ability to draw comparative conclusions about net health benefit and supporting an investigational stance absent randomized comparator data.
The American Gastroenterological Association issued an expert update advising that percutaneous tibial nerve stimulation should not be used for managing fecal incontinence in routine clinical practice until stronger evidence is available; randomized trials for fecal incontinence have generally failed to show consistent superiority of PTNS over sham.
Because of limitations in comparative randomized evidence for implantable devices, the policy includes an investigational policy statement for implantable tibial nerve stimulation (previously described as subcutaneous) across indications, and specifically added Altaviva to the investigational device listing. This reflects the absence of sham‑controlled randomized trials for the implantable device class.
The reviewed excerpt does not list explicit medical exclusions for tibial nerve stimulation; however, respondents and clinical input noted potential practical considerations including geographic/access issues for clinic‑based PTNS, and raised concerns about peripheral neuropathy and other comorbidities that may affect patient selection. These operational and access factors should be considered when evaluating individual requests.
Percutaneous tibial nerve stimulation (PTNS) is considered investigational for indications other than non‑neurogenic urinary dysfunction (including overactive bladder), specifically including neurogenic bladder and fecal incontinence. Transcutaneous systems similarly have limited RCT support for other indications and are treated as investigational for some uses in this policy.
Maintenance PTNS schedules reported in extension and observational studies suggest possible durable benefit, but there is a lack of robust concurrently controlled long‑term evidence. Therefore, maintenance PTNS is addressed cautiously: clinical documentation of prior response to an initial 12‑week course is expected because controlled long‑term data are limited.
At least one high‑quality sham‑controlled RCT (Welk et al 2020) of transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation did not demonstrate efficacy over sham, supporting the conclusion that TTNS has not consistently demonstrated benefit versus sham for certain populations and outcomes.
For neurogenic bladder and for urge urinary incontinence, the available randomized trials—most of which used transcutaneous stimulation—have not consistently shown clinically meaningful benefit compared with sham or active comparators; the policy therefore considers evidence insufficient to support these uses.
Overall, the evidence is insufficient to support PTNS, iTNS, or TTNS for fecal incontinence or for neurogenic bladder: randomized trials and systematic reviews have not consistently shown active stimulation to be superior to sham, and subgroup signals are exploratory and not definitive.
Summary: the policy treats implanted tibial nerve stimulators (e.g., eCoin, Altaviva) and transcutaneous TTNS as investigational or insufficient evidence for multiple indications including fecal incontinence and neurogenic bladder. Clinic‑based PTNS has RCT evidence supporting short‑term benefit for non‑neurogenic OAB when delivered as a standard 12‑week induction, but maintenance regimens and many other indications lack high‑certainty controlled evidence.
Policy history documents the evolution to an investigational classification for implantable (formerly termed subcutaneous) tibial nerve stimulation and the addition of investigational statements for transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation PICO(s). Wording changes and the addition of the Altaviva device were made to align policy device scope with available regulatory and clinical evidence.
The provided excerpt does not specify discrete conditions that are explicitly labeled not medically necessary for maintenance PTNS. It does, however, state that maintenance therapy lacks robust long‑term concurrently controlled evidence, and that continued benefit should be documented to support ongoing treatments.
Coding and Procedure Codes
| See Codes table | Policy references a Codes table for details; codes not listed in this excerpt. |
| K220454 | Vivally System wearable non-invasive neuromodulation (regulatory identifier listed) |
| P200036 | eCoin Peripheral Neurostimulator System (regulatory identifier listed) |
| P240011 | Altaviva Implantable Tibial Neuromodulation System (regulatory identifier listed) |
| eCoin (device descriptor) | eCoin Peripheral Neurostimulator System — coin-sized leadless implant (device-specific; no procedural codes listed in this excerpt) |
| No codes listed |
| No codes listed |
| No codes listed |
| 64566 | Posterior tibial neurostimulation, percutaneous needle electrode, single treatment, includes programming. |
| 64590 | Insertion or replacement of peripheral or gastric neurostimulator pulse generator or receiver, direct or inductive coupling. |
| 0587T | Percutaneous implantation or replacement of integrated single device neurostimulation system for bladder dysfunction including electrode array and receiver or pulse generator, including analysis, programming, and imaging guidance when performed, posterior tibial nerve. |
| 0588T | Revision or removal of percutaneously placed integrated single device neurostimulation system for bladder dysfunction including electrode array and receiver or pulse generator, including analysis, programming, and imaging guidance when performed, posterior tibial nerve. |
| 0589T | Electronic analysis with simple programming of implanted integrated neurostimulation system for bladder dysfunction ... posterior tibial nerve, 1-3 parameters. |
| 0816T | Open insertion or replacement of integrated neurostimulation system for bladder dysfunction including electrode(s) and pulse generator or receiver, including analysis, programming, and imaging guidance, when performed, posterior tibial nerve; subcutaneous (may be used for eCoin®). |
| 0817T | Open insertion or replacement of integrated neurostimulation system for bladder dysfunction including electrode(s) (e.g., array or leadless), and pulse generator or receiver, including analysis, programming, and imaging guidance, when performed, posterior tibial nerve; fascial. |
| 0818T | Open insertion or replacement of integrated neurostimulation system for bladder dysfunction including electrode(s) (e.g., array or leadless), and pulse generator or receiver, including analysis, programming, and imaging guidance, when performed, posterior tibial nerve; when performed, posterior tibial nerve; fascial. |
| 0819T | Revision or removal of integrated neurostimulation system for bladder dysfunction, including analysis, programming, and imaging, when performed, posterior tibial nerve; subfascial. |
| E0736 | Supplies and accessories for external tibial nerve stimulator (e.g., socks, gel pads, electrodes), needed for one month. |
| E0737 | Transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulator; controlled by phone application (listed together with E0736 as transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulator codes). |
| N32.81 | Overactive bladder |
| N39.41-N39.498 | Other specified urinary incontinence code range |
| R33.0-R33.9 | Retention of urine code range |
| R35.0 | Frequency of micturition |
| R39.15 | Urgency of urination |
| R15.0-R15.9 | Fecal incontinence code range |
| 01HY3MZ | ICD-10-PCS: insertion, peripheral nerve, percutaneous, neurostimulator lead (inpatient only). |
Authorization, Documentation, and Operational Guidance
Prior authorization required — include codes
Prior authorization is required per the plan's coding/claims process; see the policy Codes table for details when submitting requests for PTNS, iTNS, or TTNS.
Authorization for initial 12‑week PTNS and maintenance
Initial PTNS is an initial series of 12 weekly office‑based treatments (30 minutes each in trials); maintenance regimens are individualized (commonly every 4–6 weeks). Prior authorization may be required for device implantation or ongoing maintenance beyond the initial course.
- Initial course: 12 weekly treatments (typical 30‑minute sessions in trials).
- Maintenance: individualized schedule; typical interval every 4–6 weeks; annual physician evaluation recommended.
Prior authorization expected for maintenance PTNS or iTNS
When requesting maintenance PTNS or an implantable tibial nerve stimulator, include documentation of prior treatments tried and response to the initial PTNS course (if applicable); PA is expected for maintenance or implantable device requests.
- Document prior behavioral and pharmacologic therapy failure.
- Document objective evidence of response to initial PTNS for maintenance requests (e.g., GRA at week 13, voiding diary improvements).
- For implants, include device and programming details.
Document prior therapy and rationale for device/therapy eligibility
Authorization for device or therapy eligibility will typically require documentation that conservative therapies failed and rationale aligned with pivotal study entry criteria (e.g., refractory OAB after prior therapies).
- Show prior failed therapies and durations consistent with study criteria (e.g., failed ≥1 second/third‑line therapy or ≥2 OAB medications where specified).
- Provide clinical rationale linking patient to trial populations (non‑neurogenic OAB refractory to prior therapy).
Authorization details for PTNS/TTNS — treatment schedule and prior therapy
Initial PTNS authorization requests should document that the intended treatment is the typical 12 weekly 30‑minute sessions and include evidence of prior conservative therapy failure per policy guidelines.
- Planned schedule: 12 weekly office‑based sessions (30 minutes each as in RCTs).
- Document failure of behavioral therapy (8–12 weeks) and pharmacologic therapy (4–8 weeks).
PA to verify conservative therapy trial and patient selection
Prior authorization is appropriate to verify that conservative therapies were tried and that patient selection aligns with populations supported by evidence (non‑neurogenic OAB who failed behavior and pharmacologic therapy or responded to initial PTNS).
- PA may be used to confirm indication (non‑neurogenic OAB vs neurogenic bladder or fecal incontinence).
- For maintenance PTNS, confirm documented response to initial 12‑week course.
No explicit PA rules in Essential Health Benefits section
The excerpt discusses Essential Health Benefits and state definitions but does not specify explicit prior authorization rules in that section.
Codes listed for PA — inclusion not a coverage guarantee
Codes are listed in the policy for reference, but inclusion of a code does not imply coverage; follow member‑specific benefit plan documentation and include listed codes when applicable in PA submissions.
- Inclusion of a code does not guarantee coverage or reimbursement.
- See the policy Codes table for CPT/Category III and HCPCS codes to include in claims/authorization requests.
Clinical input supports maintenance PTNS — document response for maintenance requests
Clinical input supports maintenance PTNS for responders after an initial course, but the document does not provide an explicit universal PA rule — clinical documentation of response and ongoing efficacy is expected for maintenance requests.
- Clinical respondents endorse maintenance PTNS for non‑neurogenic OAB responders.
- PA practices may vary by plan; submit documentation of prior response and annual physician evaluation for continued efficacy.
Step therapy required — conservative therapies first
PTNS is covered only after an appropriate trial of conservative behavioral therapies (8–12 weeks) and pharmacologic therapy (4–8 weeks) have failed as documented in the medical record.
- Behavioral therapy failure: documented trial of 8–12 weeks without meeting treatment goals.
- Pharmacologic therapy failure: documented trial of 4–8 weeks without meeting treatment goals.
Conservative therapy prerequisite and shared‑decision context
PTNS is intended for individuals who have failed behavioral and pharmacologic therapy or who responded to an initial PTNS course; conservative measures should precede neuromodulation except in shared‑decision contexts.
- Consider shared decision‑making per AUA/SUFU: minimally invasive therapies may be offered without prior trials in some cases.
- Otherwise, conservative therapies are expected before PTNS/iTNS.
Document failed behavioral and pharmacologic therapy before neuromodulation
Before considering PTNS or implantable tibial nerve stimulation, document failed behavioral therapy and pharmacologic therapy and include that documentation with authorization requests.
- Behavioral therapy and pharmacologic therapy should be tried and documented as failed before PTNS/iTNS.
- Include durations of prior trials per policy guidelines.
Stepwise escalation — align patient history with trial populations
Trials enrolled patients refractory to medications or prior therapies; use a stepwise escalation from conservative/medication therapies before implantable tibial neuromodulation and document prior steps.
- Studies generally required prior therapy failure in enrolled populations.
- Provide clear chronology of prior conservative and pharmacologic treatments.
Therapies to try before neuromodulation — list and document conservative care
Before neuromodulation, try conservative therapies such as medical management, pelvic floor retraining, and dietary changes; document these prior interventions in PA requests.
- Conservative comparators include lifestyle modification, pelvic floor exercises, bladder training, and medications.
- Document specific conservative measures attempted and duration.
Conservative therapy prerequisite — include specifics in documentation
Policy context expects behavioral, pelvic floor training, and medications to be used before considering tibial nerve stimulation; include these details in authorization and medical necessity documentation.
- Confirm behavioral and pharmacologic trials were completed per policy durations.
- State reason for moving to PTNS (failed goals or intolerance).
Shared‑decision and guideline context for offering PTNS/iTNS
AUA/SUFU guidance classifies PTNS and implantable tibial nerve stimulation as minimally invasive options after inadequate response or intolerance to behavioral/pharmacologic therapy; document shared‑decision discussions if bypassing stepwise trials.
- If offering minimally invasive therapy without prior trials, document shared‑decision rationale per guideline.
- Reference AUA/SUFU 2024 guidance when applicable.
Maintenance PTNS sequencing — document initial response
Clinical input and policy history note maintenance PTNS after failed behavioral and pharmacologic therapy; ensure PA or documentation for maintenance demonstrates prior response to the initial course.
- Policy history includes consideration of maintenance sequencing.
- Maintenance requests should show initial PTNS response and rationale for ongoing therapy.
Required clinical documentation — prior therapy durations and baseline measures
Documentation must demonstrate failure of behavioral therapy for 8–12 weeks, failure of pharmacologic therapy for 4–8 weeks, and baseline validated symptom measures (e.g., 3‑day voiding diary, OAB‑q SF) when requesting initial PTNS or escalation to implantable therapy.
- Behavioral trial duration: 8–12 weeks.
- Pharmacologic trial duration: 4–8 weeks.
- Baseline measures: OAB‑q SF, 3‑day voiding diary.
Document baseline outcomes and GRA at week 13 for PTNS
Record baseline validated symptom measures and a Global Response Assessment (GRA) at week 13 to document response to the initial PTNS course; include adverse events and maintenance schedule when requesting ongoing treatment.
- Record baseline and 13‑week GRA.
- Include 3‑day voiding diary results and any adverse events.
- Specify maintenance schedule if applicable.
Clinical documentation to support maintenance PTNS medical necessity
For maintenance authorization, document prior 12‑week PTNS course with clinical response (e.g., responder per GRA or ≥50% reduction in UUI episodes) and a plan for maintenance frequency (commonly every 4–6 weeks) plus annual physician follow‑up.
- Evidence of response to initial 12‑week course (GRA or voiding diary showing ≥50% reduction).
- Planned maintenance interval (eg, every 4–6 weeks).
- Annual MD evaluation for continued efficacy.
Suggested supporting documentation for PA requests
Suggested supporting documentation includes prior therapy history (failed ≥1 second‑ or third‑line therapy or failed/intolerant to ≥2 OAB medications), device implanted (for iTNS), objective responder outcomes (voiding diaries, % reduction in UUI episodes), and adverse events and follow‑up duration.
- List prior therapies and durations, including medication trials and prior PTNS or onabotulinumtoxinA if applicable.
- For implants, specify device model (eCoin, Altaviva) and programmed regimen.
- Provide objective outcome measures (voiding diary, percent reduction in UUI episodes).
Required clinical outcome documentation — bowel diaries and validated scales
For outcome measurement in fecal incontinence trials and related coverage requests, document bowel diaries and validated scales (e.g., St. Mark score) at baseline and follow‑up to substantiate clinical response.
- Baseline and post‑treatment 2‑week bowel diaries.
- Validated scores such as St. Mark for fecal incontinence.
Coding and documentation guidance — include policy codes but confirm benefits
Coding and documentation guidance: include relevant CPT/Category III and HCPCS codes from the policy Codes table in submissions and follow member‑specific benefit plan rules; inclusion of a code does not guarantee coverage.
Suggested documentation elements — initial course and maintenance schedule
Suggested documentation elements: record initial 12‑week weekly PTNS course with clinical response and a maintenance plan of every 4–6 weeks thereafter with yearly MD follow‑up to support ongoing authorization.
- Document initial weekly PTNS x12 and clinical response.
- Document maintenance interval (every 4–6 weeks) and MD yearly follow‑up.
Investigation‑based denial risk — non‑covered indications
Requests for iTNS, TTNS, or PTNS for indications other than non‑neurogenic urinary dysfunction (including neurogenic bladder or fecal incontinence) may be denied as investigational per the policy.
- Implantable and transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation are considered investigational for many indications per policy statements.
- PTNS for neurogenic bladder and fecal incontinence lacks sufficient evidence and may be denied.
Denial risk — failure to document conservative therapy
Failure to document an initial course of conservative behavioral (8–12 weeks) and pharmacologic (4–8 weeks) therapy prior to PTNS may trigger denial when policy requires prior therapy failure.
- Absence of documented conservative therapy trials per policy durations places requests at risk for denial.
- Ensure chart contains dates, medications, dosages, and outcomes of prior treatments.
Denial risk — missing prior therapy or response documentation
Requests for PTNS or iTNS without documentation of failed behavioral and pharmacologic therapy, or without evidence the patient responded to an initial PTNS course when seeking maintenance or implantation, are at risk for denial.
- For maintenance or implant requests, include objective evidence (GRA, voiding diary) of initial PTNS response.
- Document prior therapy failures and intolerances.
Evidence‑based denial risk — limited comparative evidence and postapproval context
Insufficient randomized controlled trial evidence or absence of sham/active comparator data for implantable devices may lead to denial or requirement for postapproval study data; the eCoin device has an FDA‑required postapproval study.
- Implantable TNS pivotal studies are single‑arm; lack of sham‑controlled RCTs limits certainty.
- FDA required postapproval study for eCoin due to limited preapproval evidence.
Denial risk — no FDA clearance for fecal incontinence
Devices are not FDA cleared for the treatment of fecal incontinence; this regulatory status may affect coverage or authorization decisions.
Denial risk — insufficient evidence for certain indications
Lack of evidence of benefit for neurogenic bladder or fecal incontinence, or absence of documented prior therapy failure and/or response to initial PTNS, may trigger coverage denial.
- RCTs in neurogenic bladder and fecal incontinence generally have not shown PTNS superiority to sham.
- Document indication carefully (non‑neurogenic OAB vs neurogenic bladder vs fecal incontinence).
Denial risk — insufficient comparative evidence for iTNS
Implantable tibial nerve stimulation pivotal studies lack sham‑controlled randomized trials; insufficient comparative evidence may lead to denial when medical necessity is not demonstrated for the specific member context.
- Pivotal iTNS studies were single‑arm with performance goals; no sham‑controlled RCTs yet.
- Ongoing trials and postapproval studies may change evidence base.
Coding inclusion does not guarantee coverage or payment
Inclusion of codes in the policy Codes table does not guarantee member coverage or reimbursement; coverage determinations remain subject to the member's benefit plan documentation and the written medical policy.
Denial risk not explicitly specified for maintenance PTNS
Clinical input supports maintenance PTNS in responders, but the excerpt does not specify explicit PA or denial triggers for maintenance beyond usual documentation expectations.
- Clinical respondents endorse maintenance after initial response.
- No explicit PA rule for maintenance is stated in these chunks; follow plan PA processes.
Background and Scope
Background: Overactive bladder (OAB) is a non‑neurogenic voiding dysfunction characterized by urinary frequency, urgency, and urge incontinence. Initial management includes behavioral therapy and pelvic floor rehabilitation; pharmacologic therapy is commonly used if conservative measures are inadequate. PTNS modulates the posterior tibial nerve via ankle‑region stimulation to influence lumbosacral pathways and is typically delivered as a 12‑week induction course followed by individualized maintenance in responders.
Definitions and Terms
Policy Revision History
Wording changed from 'subcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation' to 'implantable tibial nerve stimulation' and the Altaviva device was added to the investigational policy statement; literature review updated through April 2, 2026; effective date 2026-09-01.
Policy effective date updated to 2026-09-01 reflecting evidence updates through April 2, 2026 and inclusion of coverage summaries by indication for implantable, percutaneous, and transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation.
New PICO for transcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation (TTNS) added as investigational for urge urinary incontinence and urinary urgency (noted previously on 05/29/25), and evidence summaries for implantable devices and TTNS were updated in the 2026 literature review.
Clinical input from 3 physician respondents supported maintenance PTNS for individuals with non-neurogenic urinary dysfunction who responded to an initial PTNS course and had failed behavioral and pharmacologic therapy.
Policy replaced and updated with literature through June 19, 2024; policy statements unchanged at that time.
Investigational policy statement added for subcutaneous tibial nerve stimulation for all indications and the policy title was updated (noted in 08/31/23 history).
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.