2025 Drug List (Pharmacy Benefit) — Formulary and Utilization Management
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all Blue Cross Blue Shield - Texas policy alerts
Know when Blue Cross Blue Shield - Texas releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
Lists covered prescription and specialty drugs for Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Texas pharmacy benefit members, including tiers and utilization management (prior authorization, step therapy, quantity limits), and provider/member resources.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Formulary Coverage Rules
Covered when listed and plan conditions met
Coverage of drugs on this list is governed by the drug list placement, plan-specific benefit design, and utilization management rules. Coverage applies when the drug appears on the list and any applicable plan conditions (PA, ST, QL) are met.
If a drug is not on the list it is not covered; some drugs may instead be covered under the medical benefit if provider-administered.
Formulary coverage with product-specific requirements
Coverage is product-specific; many antiviral and specialty drugs require authorization or are limited by quantity.
Examples: BIKTARVY covered with QL 30/30; HARVONI requires PA and SP.
Formulary coverage flags and controls
Coverage entries with utilization controls are listed; coverage stance is indicated by tier and requirement flags.
No explicit clinical medical necessity criteria provided in this extract.
Formulary coverage and utilization controls
Drugs listed are part of the payer's 2025 drug formulary with associated utilization management controls; specific medical necessity criteria and exceptions are not provided in this excerpt.
No patient-level clinical criteria provided in this section.
Formulary coverage with utilization management
Coverage and access are subject to the listed utilization management controls; drugs are included on the formulary with specified Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits.
Operational — follow payer PA/QL/SP processes
Formulary coverage by product
Coverage stance is product-specific as listed; most products are covered on the formulary with tier assignments and occasional PA/QL requirements.
See individual product line for PA or QL flags.
Covered with utilization controls
Coverage subject to utilization controls as listed per product
applies per product entries in this section
Coverage determination by product entry
Formulary coverage with utilization management — products are assigned tiers and may have PA, QL, ST, or SP requirements.
Specific clinical criteria are not provided in this excerpt; only utilization flags and limits are listed.
Coverage applies only to medications that appear on the payer's Drug List. Drugs not shown on the Drug List are not covered. Coverage for listed products is determined by the member's benefit design and any utilization management controls shown on the product line (for example, PA for prior authorization, QL for quantity limits, and ST for step therapy). If a medication on the list has one of these requirements, the provider must satisfy that requirement to obtain coverage.
The extract provided does not include explicit standalone exclusion statements beyond the general rule that drugs not on the Drug List are not covered. Product lines shown are formulary entries with tier and Requirements/Limits fields rather than a separate exclusions section.
There is no explicit clinical exclusion language in these excerpts. The material in this segment records each product's Drug Tier and any associated utilization controls (e.g., QL, PA, AC) but does not state discrete clinical exclusion criteria.
No explicit exclusion conditions are identified in this portion of the document. Entries list product names, tiers, and, where applicable, Requirements/Limits; they do not present separate exclusion rules in these chunks.
This excerpt does not list explicit exclusions. The content shows formulary placements and utilization management controls (for example, PA, QL, SP) on product lines rather than standalone exclusion statements.
No explicit clinical exclusions are stated in this extract. The section documents corticosteroid products and their Requirements/Limits where applicable but contains no separate exclusion language.
This segment lists thyroid products and related agents with Drug Tier assignments and does not include explicit medical exclusion statements for the products shown.
The document segment does not explicitly mark any products as excluded. Many product lines appear with empty or standard Requirements/Limits fields; absence of a Requirement/Limits entry in these chunks does not constitute an exclusion.
No explicit exclusions are stated in this portion of the formulary. Entries describe respiratory products and associated quantity limits but do not provide standalone exclusion criteria.
These chunks list specialty and gastrointestinal products with administrative controls (for example, PA, QL, SP) but do not provide explicit clinical coverage criteria or medical necessity exclusion statements; the controls are administrative rather than clinical exclusions.
No explicit clinical exclusions are specified in this excerpt. The material presents product-level management flags (e.g., QL values for stimulant formulations) and tier assignments without separate statements that classify products as not medically necessary.
Coverage may be limited to uses consistent with FDA-approved labeling and accepted evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. Uses outside labeled indications or recognized guidelines may be restricted and would require appropriate justification during authorization processes.
This extract contains no explicit 'not medically necessary' determinations. The document indicates where utilization controls apply (PA, QL, ST) but does not label specific uses or products as 'not medically necessary' in these chunks.
No 'not medically necessary' statements appear in this portion of the formulary extract. Entries show product-level requirements and quantity limits but do not make explicit NMN determinations.
These excerpts do not include 'not medically necessary' statements. The listing format records drug tiering and utilization controls without NMN language.
No explicit 'not medically necessary' determinations are provided in this segment. The content documents product entries and QL values where applicable but does not state NMN conclusions.
This excerpt does not state 'not medically necessary' determinations. It lists thyroid and related agents with tier and Requirements/Limits information only.
No explicit 'not medically necessary' determinations are presented here. The section focuses on formulary tiering and administrative controls rather than NMN rulings.
No explicit 'not medically necessary' statements are present in this portion of the extract. Respiratory and inhaled products are listed with QL values and do not include NMN language.
This excerpt does not contain 'Not Medically Necessary' statements. It records psychiatric and CNS product listings with tier and QL fields but no explicit NMN determinations.
Drug List and Billing Indicators
| ARIKAYCE 590 mg/8.4ml | amikacin sulfate liposome inhal susp 590 mg/8.4ml (base eq) — QL (235.2 mls/28 days), SP PA |
| TOBRAMYCIN tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/ml | tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/ml — PA, QL (56 containers/56 days), SP |
| TOBI PODHALER 28 mg | tobramycin inhal cap 28 mg — QL (224 capsules/56 days), SP |
| APRETUDE cabotegravir im extended release susp 600 mg/3ml | Drug Tier = . Requirements/Limits = AC |
| BIKTARVY bictegravir-emtricitabine-tenofovir af tab 30-120-15 mg, 50-200-25 mg | Drug Tier = P. Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| CIMDUO lamivudine-tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tab 300-300 mg | Drug Tier = P. Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| COMPLERA emtricitabine-rilpivirine-tenofovir df tab 200-25-300 mg | Drug Tier = NP. Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| DELSTRIGO doravirine-lamivudine-tenofovir df tab 100-300-300 mg | Drug Tier = P. Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| DESCOVY emtricitabine-tenofovir alafenamide fumarate tab 120-15 mg | Drug Tier = P. Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| DOVATO dolutegravir sodium-lamivudine tab 50-300 mg | Drug Tier = P. Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| EMTRIVA emtricitabine soln 10 mg/ml | Drug Tier = NP. Requirements/Limits = QL (720 mls/30 days) |
| EPCLUSA sofosbuvir-velpatasvir tab 200-50 mg, 400-100 mg | Drug Tier = P. Requirements/Limits = . |
| HARVONI ledipasvir-sofosbuvir tab 45-200 mg, 90-400 mg | Drug Tier = P. Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP PA |
| No procedure/diagnosis/CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes present | This extract lists drug names, tiers, and requirement flags but does not contain billing or diagnosis codes. |
| N/A | No procedure, diagnosis, or billing codes provided in this part; entries are medication-level with strengths and utilization controls. |
| No codes listed |
| NDC not listed | No NDC codes provided in this excerpt; only product names and strengths are listed. |
| N/A | This document excerpt lists drugs and strengths; no explicit CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes provided in this window. |
| NDCs not listed | This excerpt lists product names and strengths but does not include NDC codes. |
Prescriber Responsibilities and Authorization Process
Prior authorization required when 'PA' is noted
Obtain prior authorization (PA) when a product line lists 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits column; PA must be approved before the medication will be covered under the plan.
- PA is indicated next to medications where preapproval is required (Special Requirements = 'PA').
- Failure to obtain an approved PA may result in denial or noncoverage.
PA required for select agents (e.g., inhaled aminoglycosides)
Follow the formulary entries for select agents that carry PA or SP flags (examples include inhaled aminoglycosides and tobramycin products); obtain PA and coordinate specialty pharmacy dispensing where indicated.
- Tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/ml: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (56 containers/56 days), SP.
- TOBI PODHALER 28 mg: Requirements/Limits = QL (224 capsules/56 days), SP.
Prior authorization for selected antivirals
Request prior authorization for high-cost antiviral agents when indicated; many hepatitis C and antiretroviral products list PA and/or specialty pharmacy (SP) requirements.
- HARVONI (ledipasvir-sofosbuvir): Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP.
- SOVALDI (sofosbuvir): Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP; MAVYRET: PA, QL, SP as listed.
PA requirement for oncology & specialty drugs
Many oncology and specialty agents require prior authorization; obtain PA before dispensing to avoid denial because numerous antineoplastics list PA in Requirements/Limits.
- Examples: ALECENSA, ALUNBRIG, BRAFTOVI and others show 'PA' (often with QL and SP).
- PA is required for coverage of these specialty oncology products.
Submit PA when 'Requirements/Limits = PA' is listed
When a drug's Requirements/Limits field equals 'PA', prescribers must submit a prior authorization request with supporting clinical information demonstrating medical necessity.
- PA entries require documentation of diagnosis, dosing and rationale.
- Use the phone number on the member ID card for exception or expedited requests as needed.
PA required for multiple listed products
Obtain prior authorization for many listed products annotated with 'PA' (examples across multiple sections); do not dispense before PA approval when PA is indicated.
- Testosterone products and several other listed items carry 'PA' flags — secure PA to prevent claim denial.
- Check each product line for a PA annotation prior to dispensing.
PA required for certain testosterone products
Prior authorization is required for specified testosterone formulations shown with 'PA' in Requirements/Limits; follow PA processes and document quantity limits where noted.
- Example: METHITEST methyltestosterone — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (600 tablets/30 days).
- Testosterone TD gels and injectables list PA and QL values — obtain PA before dispensing.
PA required for certain metformin ER formulations
Prior authorization applies to specified formulations of metformin ER/osmotic forms when annotated 'PA' or 'PA, QL'; providers must obtain PA and adhere to the stated QL.
- metformin HCl ER osmotic 1000 mg: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days).
- Ensure prescriptions align with listed QLs to avoid denial.
Follow PA and specialty pharmacy (SP) procedures when flagged
Products marked with 'PA' and/or 'SP' require submission of prior authorization and, when applicable, coordination with specialty pharmacy channels before coverage is approved.
- Examples: ACTHAR, GENOTROPIN and SOMAVERT list PA and SP in Requirements/Limits.
- Follow payer PA/SP procedures for submission and dispensing.
PA required for selected extended‑release beta blockers
Certain extended‑release beta‑blocker products (e.g., INDERAL XL, INNOPRAN XL) are listed with 'PA' — obtain prior authorization for these formulations prior to coverage.
- INDERAL XL and INNOPRAN XL have Requirements/Limits = PA.
- Secure PA to prevent claim denial for these ER beta‑blockers.
PA required for selected specialty/biologic agents
Obtain prior authorization for respiratory and biologic specialty agents listed with 'PA' and coordinate specialty pharmacy dispensing (SP) when required for coverage.
- Examples: FASENRA PEN — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (pen/28 days), SP; XOLAIR — Requirements/Limits = PA, SP.
- Failure to obtain PA or use the specialty pharmacy may lead to denial.
PA required for listed specialty agents (CF modulators, others)
Numerous specialty and high‑cost agents (e.g., ALYFTREK, KALYDECO, TRIKAFTA, ENTYVIO PEN, OMVOH) list 'PA' in Requirements/Limits — obtain PA before dispensing.
- ALYFTREK: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP as shown.
- TRIKAFTA and other CF modulators list PA + QL + SP — secure PA and follow QL.
Obtain PA for numerous listed agents
Many agents throughout the list require prior authorization; providers must obtain PA before coverage is approved for these products to avoid denied claims.
- Examples: LIVDELZI, LIVMARLI, OMVOH, SKYRIZI and VOWST list PA in Requirements/Limits.
- Submit PA with supporting clinical documentation and follow specialty pharmacy instructions when present.
PA required for select specialty drugs (examples)
Certain specialty medications (e.g., IMCIVREE, tasimelteon) require prior authorization when listed; follow PA processes and respect any quantity limits (QL) noted.
- IMCIVREE: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (10 vials/30 days), SP.
- Tasimelteon (Hetlioz) and select antipsychotic entries carry PA when indicated.
Step therapy (ST) applies where 'ST' is listed
Step therapy may be required for some medications and is indicated by 'ST' in the Special Requirements column; follow plan step‑therapy rules where 'ST' is shown.
- ST appears next to certain antidepressants and CNS agents (e.g., AUVELITY, FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR entries).
- Providers must document failure or intolerance of required prior steps if requesting coverage for ST‑listed agents.
Products with additional clinical criteria (AC flag)
Products flagged 'AC' indicate additional clinical or administrative criteria; prescribers must meet those additional conditions (e.g., APRETUDE shows 'AC').
- APRETUDE cabotegravir IM extended release: Requirements/Limits = AC.
- AC flags may represent additional documentation or eligibility criteria required for coverage.
Specialty pharmacy / step program flags (SP)
Entries marked 'SP' indicate specialty program or specialty pharmacy handling; where 'SP' appears providers must follow specialty program requirements and dispensing channels.
- Many oncology, biologic and cystic fibrosis agents are designated 'SP' and require specialty pharmacy dispensing.
- SP entries commonly appear alongside PA and QL.
Utilization management indicators require provider action
The formulary uses utilization management indicators (PA, QL, SP, AC) to control access; when these appear providers must follow the listed controls to avoid denials.
- PA = prior authorization; QL = quantity limit; SP = specialty pharmacy; AC = additional criteria/administrative flag.
- Noncompliance with these flags may lead to denied or limited coverage.
Contraceptive entries with AC, PA, and QL flags
Some contraceptive products include 'AC' and may also carry PA and QL annotations; providers must follow those administrative and quantity requirements when prescribing.
- Examples: drospirenone-ethinyl estradiol (Yaz) — Requirements/Limits = AC, QL (28 tablets/21 days); some contraceptives list AC, PA, QL.
- Claims exceeding QL or lacking required administrative criteria risk denial.
No explicit step‑therapy sequence provided for many products
Where step therapy is not specified in the formulary excerpt, providers must still follow any PA, QL or SP controls shown for the product; explicit multi‑step sequences are not provided here.
- Many entries list PA/QL/SP but do not include explicit ST sequences in this excerpt.
- When ST is absent, ensure PA/QL/SP requirements are met for coverage.
SP flags indicate specialty program/step requirements
Some product lines show SP flags which imply step or specialty program controls; where SP is present follow payer step edit and specialty program requirements.
- Products marked 'SP' (e.g., GENOTROPIN, CRENESSITY) require adherence to specialty program rules and may also require PA/QL.
- Providers should use the payer's step‑edit processes when requesting SP agents.
Step therapy not specified for most entries in this excerpt
This extract does not list step‑therapy rules for many products; where ST appears it is limited to selected agents (noted separately). For other products, follow PA/QL/SP controls documented on the product line.
- No explicit ST algorithms are included in these chunks; use product Requirements/Limits to determine provider actions.
- When in doubt, submit PA with full clinical rationale.
When ST not specified, follow PA/QL/SP controls
Where step therapy is not described, providers must still obtain prior authorization and document adherence to QL and SP requirements shown on product lines to avoid denials.
- Many products rely on PA/QL/SP flags instead of step therapy sequences in this excerpt.
- Follow the plan's PA submission requirements and include supporting clinical documentation.
Step therapy not detailed in this section
This segment does not present explicit step therapy sequences; providers must rely on the Requirements/Limits (PA, QL, SP) shown per product when requesting coverage.
- For products with 'ST' elsewhere in the list, follow the payer's step edit requirements.
- Document prior steps if requesting overrides for ST‑listed agents.
Step therapy applies to selected antidepressants/CNS agents
Selected antidepressants and related CNS agents are marked 'ST' — providers must follow step therapy protocols when requesting coverage for these medicines.
- AUVELITY, FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR and some paroxetine and sertraline entries are designated ST.
- If requesting an ST agent, document failure or intolerance of required prior therapies.
ST indicated for select products (paroxetine, clozapine ODT)
Multiple products are marked 'ST' in the list (examples include paroxetine oral suspension and clozapine ODT); providers must document previous therapy trials per the payer's step program when submitting requests.
- PAROXETINE oral suspension and CLOZAPINE ODT entries include ST alongside QL.
- Include prior treatment history when submitting PA or exception requests for ST agents.
Prescriber submission route for Drug List exceptions / expedited review
For Drug List exceptions or expedited reviews, the prescriber or authorized representative must submit the request via the phone number on the member's ID card; the payer will notify the prescriber and member of the decision within two business days (or within 72 hours for expedited requests).
- Use the phone number on the member ID card to request an exception.
- Standard decisions: within two business days; expedited: within 72 hours.
Follow PA/QL procedures for flagged products
Follow the plan's PA/QL procedures for products with QL, PA or SP flags (examples include azithromycin QL and ARIKAYCE PA/QL/SP); submit PA requests and document QL adherence on claims.
- Azithromycin tablet: QL (60 tablets/180 days).
- ARIKAYCE: Requirements/Limits include QL and SP/PA — follow PA/QL/SP submission steps.
Document QL and PA indicators on PA requests and claims
When a product lists QL and PA/SP flags, ensure the quantity limits and authorization indicators are documented on the PA request and on the pharmacy claim to support coverage.
- Examples: BIKTARVY QL (30 tablets/30 days); HARVONI QL (30 tablets/30 days) with PA and SP.
- Include quantity and timeframe details from the Requirements/Limits field in submissions.
Products marked 'PA' require prior authorization
Products labeled 'PA' in the formulary require prior authorization per the listing; providers must obtain PA before dispensing to ensure coverage.
- Many antineoplastic and specialty agents explicitly show 'PA' — obtain authorization prior to dispensing.
- Claims submitted without required PA may be denied.
Submit PA/QL/SP documentation when indicated
When PA, QL, or SP apply, prescribers must submit required prior authorization documentation as specified; include clinical justification for the request.
- PA/QL/SP documentation should include diagnosis, prior therapy history, dosing and quantity justification.
- Specialty agents typically require submission to specialty pharmacy channels and PA processes.
Provide supporting clinical documentation with PA requests
Provide clinical documentation to support PA requests for products with 'PA' noted (include diagnosis, dosing, prior therapy and quantity justification as applicable).
- Include relevant clinical records and prior treatment history when requesting PA.
- Expedited requests must include supporting information to justify the urgent need.
Document Requirements/Limits on the claim per product listing
Follow the product-level Requirements/Limits fields when submitting claims — include drug tier, PA, QL and SP details from the formulary entry on the claim to facilitate processing.
- Entries list Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits (e.g., PA, QL amounts and timeframes) that must be respected when submitting pharmacy claims.
- Claims lacking required PA or exceeding QL may be denied or partially paid.
Ensure prescriptions conform to specified QLs or obtain PA
When a product lists a specific quantity limit (QL), ensure prescriptions and PA requests align with the stated QL to avoid denial or out‑of‑pocket responsibility for excess quantities.
- Examples: metformin ER osmotic forms list PA and QL values; azithromycin QL (60 tablets/180 days).
- If dosing requires exceeding the QL, submit PA with justification before dispensing.
Attach supporting documentation for PA/QL (specialty products)
Provide supporting clinical documentation for PA/QL requests where products are designated 'PA' or 'SP', and include quantity limits when specified (e.g., GALAFOLD, CRENESSITY).
- GALAFOLD: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (14 capsules/28 days), SP — include clinical rationale in PA submission.
- CRENESSITY: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 capsules/30 days), SP — document diagnosis and dosing.
Document QL volumes for oral suspensions/solutions
Quantity limits for oral suspensions and solutions are specified and must be documented (examples include KATERZIA and other suspension products); include volume and timeframe in requests.
- KATERZIA: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (300 ml/30 days).
- Some entries list large-volume QLs (e.g., 1920 ml/30 days) — document clinical need if requesting override.
Respect product QLs and include on PA/claim submissions
When a product has a defined QL (e.g., ALYFTREK, IMCIVREE), ensure dispensing is within the specified quantity or obtain an approved override; include QL details in PA submissions.
- ALYFTREK: QL examples = 84 tablets/28 days or 56 tablets/28 days depending on formulation.
- IMCIVREE: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (10 vials/30 days).
Supply required PA documentation on submission
Providers must supply the documentation required by prior authorization processes when submitting for drugs noted 'PA' (diagnosis, prior treatment, dosing and quantity justification).
- Use the payer's PA forms/process and include required clinical information.
- Expedited reviews are available for urgent clinical situations (decision within 72 hours).
Submit PA and supporting clinical documentation when PA/QL/ST/SP indicated
When products list 'PA', 'QL', 'ST' or 'SP', submit prior authorization and supporting clinical documentation and prescribe within the listed quantity limits and specialty pharmacy channels as specified.
- OMVOH: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (2 pens/28 days) or QL (2 syringes/28 days), SP — include clinical documentation with PA.
- SKYRIZI: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 cartridge/56 days), SP.
Obtain PA and observe QL for PA‑listed products
Providers must submit prior authorization when a product entry includes 'PA'; quantity limits must be respected per product QL entries (e.g., IMCIVREE QL 10 vials/30 days).
- IMCIVREE: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (10 vials/30 days), SP.
- Follow the documented QL and include justification if requesting additional quantity.
Noncoverage risk for drugs not on the Drug List
Drugs not shown on the formulary are not covered; prescribing a non‑listed drug without an approved Drug List exception or PA may result in noncoverage.
- If a drug is not on the Drug List, request a Drug List exception via the phone number on the member ID card.
- BCBSTX will notify prescriber/member of the decision within two business days (or 72 hours for expedited reviews).
PA/QL denial risk for inhaled aminoglycosides
Prescriptions for inhaled or nebulized aminoglycosides and tobramycin products show PA/SP/QL designations; failure to obtain PA or exceeding QL may trigger denial.
- Tobramycin nebu soln 300 mg/ml: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (56 containers/56 days), SP.
- ARIKAYCE (amikacin liposome inhal): QL (235.2 mls/28 days), SP/PA as listed.
PA/SP/AC flags — coverage denial risk if unmet
Entries marked with PA, SP, or AC indicate prior authorization, specialty pharmacy, or additional clinical requirements which, if not met, can trigger denial of coverage.
- HARVONI and SOVALDI list PA and SP along with QL — missing PA or wrong dispensing channel risks denial.
- AC flags (e.g., APRETUDE) indicate additional clinical criteria that must be satisfied.
PA triggers for antineoplastics — denial risk if not obtained
Prior authorization is required for many antineoplastic and specialty products; failure to obtain PA where listed may result in coverage denial or restriction.
- Examples: abiraterone acetate (Zytiga) — Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP.
- BOSULIF and BRAFTOVI entries show PA with QL and SP — obtain PA to secure coverage.
Claims risk if PA not obtained where listed
Coverage may be denied or restricted if prior authorization is not obtained for a drug when the formulary lists 'PA' next to the product.
- Many products in the listing require PA as indicated — secure PA before dispensing.
- Claims submitted without required PA are at risk for denial.
PA triggers for hormone and contraceptive formulations
Prior authorization is required for multiple testosterone and estrogen formulations shown with 'PA'; dispensing without PA risks claim denial.
- Examples: multiple testosterone TD gels and injectables list PA and QL (e.g., testosterone TD gel — PA, QL (30 packets/30 days)).
- Some contraceptive products list AC, PA and QL — follow administrative requirements.
Quantity limit triggers for contraceptives — denial risk if exceeded
Quantity limits (QL) on contraceptives and related products (e.g., 28 tablets/21 days, 2 tablets/365 days) are enforced; claims exceeding QL or lacking documentation may be denied.
- drospirenone‑ethinyl estradiol (Yaz): Requirements/Limits = AC, QL (28 tablets/21 days).
- ELLA: Requirements/Limits = AC, QL (2 tablets/365 days).
Prior authorization risk for 'PA' / 'PA, QL' entries
Products listed with 'PA' or 'PA, QL' indicate prior authorization may be required and claims may be denied without PA; obtain PA and document QL adherence.
- Metformin ER osmotic forms and other listed products show 'PA, QL' — secure PA before dispensing.
- Claims missing PA documentation are subject to denial.
Noncompliance with PA/QL/SP may cause denial
Coverage may be denied or limited if Prior Authorization (PA), Quantity Limits (QL), or Step Program (SP) requirements listed for specific products are not met; ensure compliance with all listed controls.
- Noncompliance with PA/QL/SP on specialty products like IMCIVREE or GENOTROPIN can result in denial or limited coverage.
- Submit full supporting documentation when seeking exceptions or overrides.
PA/QL trigger — denial risk if requirements unmet
Products noted with 'PA' or 'QL' may trigger a prior authorization or quantity‑limit denial if the listed requirements are not met; confirm PA approval and QL compliance prior to dispensing.
- Example: KATERZIA: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (300 ml/30 days).
- VENTOLIN HFA: QL (2 inhalers/30 days) — exceeding QL without approval risks denial.
PA and specialty pharmacy requirements create denial risk if unmet
Drugs listed with 'PA' and 'SP' designations (e.g., FASENRA PEN, NUCALA, XOLAIR) require prior authorization and may be dispensed via specialty pharmacy; failure to obtain PA or use SP may trigger denial or noncoverage.
- FASENRA PEN: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (pen/28 days), SP.
- XOLAIR: Requirements/Limits = PA, SP — obtain PA and route dispensing through specialty pharmacy.
Specialty pharmacy requirement — PA + SP must be followed
Entries that require specialty pharmacy (SP) must be dispensed through the specialty channel when indicated; failure to use SP or obtain PA may result in denial.
- ALYFTREK: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP — specialty dispensing is required.
- Many biologic and infusion products list SP alongside PA and QL.
Quantity limit exceedance risks denial without override
Requests that exceed specified quantity limits (QL) without an approved override are at risk for denial; submit PA with justification if a larger quantity is clinically necessary.
- PAXLOVID QL examples: QL (20 tablets/90 days) or QL (30 tablets/90 days) depending on pack.
- Requests exceeding tablet/packet QLs or annual limits require documented override approval.
Authorization documentation required for PA/QL/ST/SP triggers
When a drug line requires Prior Authorization (PA), Quantity Limits (QL), Step Therapy (ST) or Specialty Pharmacy (SP), requests must be accompanied by the required authorization documentation to avoid denial.
- OMVOH and SKYRIZI entries include PA, QL and SP — include the PA approval and QL adherence on claims.
- Missing documentation for any of these controls may result in denial of coverage.
PA/QL/ST program triggers — follow listed program controls
Medications listed with 'PA', 'ST' or 'QL' require adherence to the stated prior authorization, step therapy or quantity limits; follow the product Requirements/Limits and include supporting documentation when seeking exceptions.
- IMCIVREE: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (10 vials/30 days), SP — follow PA/QL/SP rules.
- For ST‑marked agents, document prior trials and failures as part of the request.
Policy Background
Decisions about individual patient therapy remain between the patient and the prescribing clinician. Specialty drugs treat complex conditions and may be self-administered or require administration by a health care professional. The payer selects drugs for the list based on FDA regulation and multidisciplinary review; utilization controls on the list (for example, PA, QL, ST) reflect coverage management rather than direct clinical guidance.
Key Terms and Abbreviations
Initial Dispensing and Therapy Requirements
Initial dispensing and QL — product-specific initial limits and requirements
Initial dispensing limits and requirements are product-specific.
Specific QLs vary by product and are shown on each product line (see antiviral and antiretroviral examples).
Step Therapy Controls
| Policy element | Explanation |
|---|---|
| Step therapy presence (ST) | |
| Step therapy may be required for some medications. When step therapy is commonly required, the drug list will note 'ST' under the Special Requirements column; members may need to try a specified alternative before coverage is available. |
| Product examples/flags | Management note |
|---|---|
| Tobramycin nebulized solutions / TOBI PODHALER / inhaled aminoglycosides | |
| Some products are managed through specialty pharmacy (SP) and/or require prior authorization (PA) before coverage; step therapy specifics are not listed in this excerpt (see Requirements/Limits flags on product lines). |
| Flag | Implication |
|---|---|
| AC (Additional Criteria) | |
| The 'AC' flag on selected agents indicates additional clinical criteria or administrative review may apply and that further step or authorization requirements could be enforced prior to coverage. |
| Entries flagged | Program implication |
|---|---|
| SP (Specialty Program) on oncology/specialty agents | |
| Entries flagged 'SP' indicate specialty program or step requirements for certain oncology and specialty agents; specific prior steps or sequences are not listed in the provided excerpt. |
| Observation | Note |
|---|---|
| No explicit multi-step sequences in excerpt | |
| The document segment primarily uses PA, QL, and SP flags for control; explicit step therapy sequences (e.g., required prior drugs and failure criteria) are not specified in these chunks. |
| Product | Requirements/Limits |
|---|---|
| tamoxifen citrate 10 mg / 20 mg | |
| Listed with 'AC' in Requirements/Limits — follow the payer's additional criteria and authorization process for access (AC may indicate administrative/clinical review). |
| Product group | Requirements/Limits |
|---|---|
| Contraceptive oral products (examples: drospirenone-ethinyl estradiol, levonorgestrel combos, ELLA) | |
| Some contraceptive products show 'AC' and 'PA' with QL (e.g., 28 tablets/21 days) indicating additional administrative steps and prior authorization requirements before coverage. Specific step sequences are not provided. |
| General control | Implication for coverage |
|---|---|
| PA or QL documented | |
| Documented prior authorization (PA) or a specified quantity limit (QL) applies before coverage where noted; explicit step sequences are not listed in the cited chunks. Providers must submit required PA documentation when indicated. |
| Products marked | Coverage condition |
|---|---|
| Products marked 'SP' | |
| Products designated 'SP' are subject to specialty pharmacy program requirements and may also be assigned step program controls as a condition of coverage. Specific prior steps are not detailed here. |
| Summary | Actionable detail |
|---|---|
| No explicit step-therapy sequences provided | |
| This document segment uses tiering and utilization flags (PA, QL, SP, AC) rather than listing step-therapy algorithms; follow payer step edit rules and PA processes where 'ST' or 'SP' flags are present. |
| Control approach | Interpretation |
|---|---|
| Tiering with PA/QL/SP controls | |
| The formulary segment applies tier assignments plus PA/QL/SP flags for utilization management; explicit multi-step therapy steps are not provided in this excerpt. Providers should obtain PA when 'PA' is indicated. |
| Excerpt content | Implication |
|---|---|
| PA/QL/SP flags present | |
| The cited chunks list products with PA, QL, and SP flags but do not include explicit step therapy step sequences; use the flags to determine authorization and dispensing requirements. |
| Agent group | Step therapy application |
|---|---|
| Selected antidepressants and CNS agents (examples: AUVELITY, DESVENLAFAXINE ER, FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR, PAROXETINE formulations, SERTRALINE) | |
| Certain antidepressants and related CNS agents are noted with 'ST' on the drug list, indicating step therapy applies to these products (specific step requirements not included in the excerpt). |
| Products marked 'ST' | Policy note |
|---|---|
| Various listed agents across CNS and antipsychotic classes (examples: paroxetine oral suspension, clozapine ODT, select antidepressants) | |
| Entries marked 'ST' are subject to step therapy prior to coverage. The document does not provide the specific prior-step medication(s) or failure criteria in this excerpt; refer to the plan's step therapy protocols for details. |
Quantity Limits and Dispensing Restrictions
Where Drugs Are Administered or Dispensed
Check medical benefit for provider‑administered drugs
Medications requiring professional administration may be billed to the medical benefit and not the pharmacy benefit; check site-of-care guidance and call the number on the ID card if unclear.
- Provider-administered drugs (e.g., certain infusions, contraceptive implants) may be covered under the medical benefit rather than pharmacy.
No site‑of‑care restrictions specified here
No explicit site‑of‑care restrictions are provided in this extract; when present elsewhere, follow payer site‑of‑care guidance.
Dispense 'SP' products via specialty pharmacy
Products with 'SP' must be dispensed via specialty pharmacy channels; use the payer‑specified specialty pharmacy for these medications.
- Specialty-designated products are expected to be dispensed via specialty pharmacy channels.
Manage SP products through specialty channels
Specialty‑designated products (SP) are expected to be managed through specialty pharmacy channels and may require specialty handling or distribution through infusion/home administration pathways.
- Certain infusions and biologics designated SP may require infusion centers, specialty pharmacy, or home administration per payer guidance.
Use specialty pharmacy for 'SP' designated products
Products listed with 'SP' must be dispensed via specialty pharmacy; follow payer specialty pharmacy network requirements for these medications.
- Specialty channels apply to multiple listed biologics and specialty drugs.
Follow AC administrative pathways for select contraceptives
Some contraceptive/vaginal products carry 'AC' indicating administrative coverage controls; follow the administrative coverage pathways or pharmacy channels designated by the plan.
- Examples: nonoxynol-9 products and PHEXXI show AC flags.
Route specialty products to the payer's specialty pharmacy
Certain specialty-designated products are managed through specialty pharmacy channels; ensure prescriptions for these items are routed to the specialty pharmacy noted by the payer.
- Specialty channel management applies to many high-cost and biologic agents.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.