Pharmacy drug list and coverage rules (Drug List)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma policy alerts
Know when Blue Cross Blue Shield - Oklahoma releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines the Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oklahoma pharmacy drug list structure, coverage considerations (including prior authorization, step therapy, quantity limits, specialty drug handling), and processes for exceptions and member/provider resources. Applies to members and prescribing providers using BCBSOK pharmacy benefits.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Formulary Coverage & Controls
General pharmacy coverage criteria
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Drugs not on the list are not covered unless an exception is granted.
Refer to the member's benefit materials or call the number on the ID card for plan-specific coverage.
PA must be approved prior to coverage; ST indicates required trial of alternative therapy; QL/DL restrict quantities; AC indicates ACA preventive rules may apply.
Formulary coverage stance
Formulary listing with tier and requirements/limits
Specific clinical criteria for each PA/QL are provided elsewhere or via the PA process; the formulary line indicates which controls apply.
Coverage controls
Products are subject to coverage controls when Requirements/Limits codes are present
Detailed clinical authorization criteria are implemented through prior authorization or specialty program processes referenced on the drug list.
Formulary coverage with PA/QL/SP
Covered when formulary conditions met
For oncology and specialty agents many entries include PA, QL, and SP; follow the PA documentation process and quantity limits shown on the formulary line.
Formulary utilization controls (per drug)
Coverage and utilization limits apply per listed drug formulation as shown below
Apply these controls to each specific formulation and pack listed on the drug line.
Formulary listing with utilization controls
Coverage entries are listed per product with drug tier and any Requirements/Limits; where 'PA' or 'AC' or 'QL' appear they indicate conditions for coverage or utilization management.
For contraceptives AC and specific QL values (e.g., 28 tablets/21 days or 1 ring/21 days) are used; for antidiabetic and GLP-1 agents PA and pen/pen-count QLs are specified per line.
Formulary entries and per-drug limits
Coverage entries list drug name, form/strength, formulary tier, and any Requirements/Limits
Quantity limit applied per 30 days; prior authorization may be required for exceptions
PA / SP / QL for specialty endocrine drugs
Select high-cost endocrine and metabolic agents require additional controls
Refer to the individual formulary line and PA program for specific prior authorization clinical criteria and quantity limits.
Formulary requirements (partial)
Coverage and utilization controls for listed drugs
These entries typically also carry SP designation; follow PA and specialty pharmacy processes for authorization and dispensing.
General coverage with PA/QL where noted
Coverage for listed drugs as indicated by Drug Tier with specified Requirements/Limits
Examples include PA + QL for FUROSCIX, NEXLETOL/NEXLIZET, REPATHA and PA/QL/SP for many PAH or specialty cardiovascular agents.
Product-level formulary coverage indicators
Coverage and requirements are indicated per product as listed; many entries include Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits
Quantity limits for inhalers/nebulizers and specialty injectables are specified per product (e.g., QL inhaler/30 days; QL (3 inhalers/30 days); QL (60 blisters/30 days)).
Formulary coverage stance (partial)
Coverage follows formulary tier with listed requirements
When Requirements/Limits are present, providers must follow the plan's PA, ST or specialty pharmacy processes; absent explicit PA clinical criteria in this excerpt, follow payer submission instructions.
Drugs not listed on the BCBSOK drug list, compounded preparations, repackaged products, and medications that have not received FDA approval are generally not covered. Members and prescribers should confirm plan-specific coverage and any exclusions by referring to the member's benefit materials or calling the number on the ID card. In addition, some benefit plans limit supply duration to a 30‑day supply with certain maintenance medications eligible for up to a 90‑day supply per plan terms.
Within the formulary lists shown in this document there are no explicit per‑drug “not covered” statements in these chunks; instead coverage is represented by drug line items with Drug Tier and any Special Requirements. Absence of a drug from the list should be treated as not covered unless a Drug List exception is granted.
Many entries use administrative shorthand in the Requirements/Limits column (e.g., PA, QL, SP, AC) to indicate utilization controls. These flags are administrative controls that require provider action (for example, prior authorization when PA is shown or adherence to a specified quantity when QL appears).
The excerpted formulary lines do not list additional explicit exclusion language for specific products in this segment; coverage stance is presented as tier assignment and any Special Requirements on each line.
This segment does not include discrete clinical exclusion statements; entries primarily display drug tiers and administrative requirement codes (e.g., quantity limits and prior authorization).
No medical‑necessity exclusions are stated in these chunks; rather, many specialty oncology entries are shown with administrative controls such as PA, QL and SP where applicable.
The provided product lines do not include explicit product‑level exclusions; instead, coverage is indicated by Drug Tier and any associated Special Requirements for each formulation.
Formulary entries list drug name, strength/pack and Drug Tier, and where present the Special Requirements field specifies utilization controls such as PA and QL (for example, weight‑management agents such as WEGOVY show PA and QL (8 pens/180 days)).
No explicit exclusions are stated in this excerpt; the list displays tiers and any Special Requirements for each drug line rather than explicit statements of noncoverage.
These chunks do not enumerate explicit exclusions; entries for insulin products and others are shown with a common administrative control — e.g., many insulin formulations list a QL (100 mls/30 days) but are not shown as excluded.
The document sections emphasize drug tiering and utilization management (quantity limits and prior authorization) rather than clinical exclusion criteria in the excerpted lines.
No clinical exclusion criteria are stated in these oncology‑focused chunks; instead the entries show that many agents are managed administratively (e.g., PA, QL, SP where applicable).
Non‑FDA‑approved drugs and repackaged versions of marketed medications are not covered under the benefit. Providers and members should consult plan materials or call the number on the ID card to confirm coverage for compounded, repackaged, or non‑FDA‑approved products.
There are no explicit statements in these chunks designating drugs as “Not Medically Necessary” (NMN). Coverage presentation is via formulary line items with tier and Special Requirements rather than NMN labels in this excerpt.
Within the provided excerpts, no products are explicitly labeled as Not Medically Necessary; the document uses administrative flags and tiering to convey coverage conditions.
This segment does not contain explicit NMN determinations; oncology and specialty drugs are shown with utilization controls (PA, QL, SP) rather than NMN statements in these chunks.
No NMN conditions are stated for the drug entries in this part of the document; entries instead list requirement codes that indicate authorization or quantity controls where needed.
These chunks do not include NMN determinations; contraceptive and related product lines are shown with administrative codes such as AC and QL rather than NMN language.
No medications are explicitly labeled as Not Medically Necessary in the insulin and related product listings shown here; quantity limits are the primary utilization control indicated.
This segment contains no explicit NMN determinations; some high‑cost products show PA and QL (and sometimes SP) but not NMN labels in the excerpt.
No NMN determinations are present in this part of the formulary excerpt; product coverage is detailed by tier and any Special Requirements without explicit NMN language.
These chunks do not contain statements that any listed product is Not Medically Necessary; instead the excerpt uses tiering and requirement flags (PA, QL, SP) to indicate coverage controls.
No NMN statements appear in the behavioral‑health and related drug lines shown here; formulary information is provided as Drug Tier plus Requirements/Limits entries (for example, quantity limits and occasional step therapy flags).
Codes, Product Lists & Supply Rules
| PA | Prior Authorization (notation in Special Requirements column) |
| ST | Step Therapy (notation in Special Requirements column) |
| QL | Quantity Limits (notation in Special Requirements column) |
| DL | Dispensing Limits (notation in Special Requirements column) |
| ACA | ACA Preventive (notation in Special Requirements column) |
| SP | Specialty (notation in Special Requirements column) |
| QL (60 tablets/180 days) | Quantity limit example for azithromycin tablets |
| QL (28 tablets/30 days) | Quantity limit example for clarithromycin ER 500 mg |
| QL (120 capsules/30 days) | Quantity limit example for itraconazole capsules |
| PA | Prior authorization required (not a billing code) |
| SP | Special Program (designation) |
| FUZEON enfuvirtide for inj 90 mg | Drug line item with Drug Tier = NP and QL 1 kit/30 days |
| GENVOYA elvitegrav-cobic-emtricitab-tenofov af tab 150-150-200-10 mg | Drug Tier = P; QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| HARVONI ledipasvir-sofosbuvir tab 45-200 mg, 90-400 mg | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP |
| COMIRNATY 2025-26 covid-19 mrna vac tris-pfizer im susp syr 30 mcg/0.3ml | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = AC |
| GARDASIL 9 human papillomavirus (hpv) 9-valent recomb vac susp | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = AC |
| GARDASIL 9 | human papillomavirus (hpv) 9-valent recomb vac im susp |
| HAVRIX | hepatitis a vaccine susp prefilled syr / inj susp |
| HEPLISAV-B | hepatitis b vaccine recomb adjuvanted pref syr |
| HIBERIX | haemophilus b polysaccharide conjugate vac for inj 10 mcg |
| IMOVAX RABIES | rabies virus vaccine, hdc for inj susp |
| IPOL | INACTIVATED IPV poliovirus vaccine, ipv injection |
| JYNNEOS | smallpox & monkeypox vac, live, non-replicating inj 0.5 ml |
| M-M-RII | measles-mumps-rubella virus vaccines for inj soln |
| MENQUADFI / MENVEO | meningococcal (a, C, Y, and W-135) tetanus conjugate / oligo conj vac |
| MNEXSPIKE / MODERNA / SPIKEVAX | COVID-19 mRNA vaccines (Moderna formulations) |
| abiraterone acetate (Zytiga) | 250 mg, 500 mg |
| alectinib (ALECENSA) | 150 mg cap |
| brigatinib (ALUNBRIG) | 30 mg, 90 mg, 180 mg |
| niraparib + abiraterone (AKEEGA) | combination tablets 50-500 mg, 100-500 mg |
| palbociclib (IBRANCE) | cap/tablet 75 mg, 100 mg, 125 mg |
| duvelisib (COPIKTRA) | cap 15 mg; 25 mg |
| bosutinib (BOSULIF) | caps/tab 50 mg, 100 mg, 400 mg, 500 mg |
| cabozantinib (CABOMETYX / COMETRIQ) | tabs/cap various strengths |
| GAVRETO | pralsetinib cap 100 mg |
| gefetinib | tab 250 mg (Iressa) |
| GILOTRIF | afatinib dimaleate tab 20 mg, 30 mg, 40 mg |
| GLEOSTINE | lomustine cap 10 mg, 40 mg, 100 mg |
| GOMEKLI | mirdametinib tab/cap (various strengths) |
| HYCAMTIN | topotecan hcl cap 0.25 mg, 1 mg |
| hydroxyurea | cap 500 mg (Hydrea) |
| IBRANCE | palbociclib cap/tab 75 mg, 100 mg, 125 mg |
| IBTROZI | taletrectinib adipate cap 200 mg |
| ICLUSIG | ponatinib hcl tab 10 mg, 15 mg |
| IDHIFA | enasidenib mesylate tab 50 mg, 100 mg |
| imatinib | mesylate tab 100 mg, 400 mg (Gleevec) |
| IMBRUVICA | ibrutinib various forms and strengths |
| INLYTA | axitinib tab (various mg) |
| INQOVI | decitabine-cedazuridine tab 35-100 mg |
| JAKAFI | ruxolitinib phosphate tab 5 mg, 10 mg |
| KISQALI | ribociclib succinate tab packs (200 mg, 400 mg, 600 mg) |
| KOSELUGO | selumetinib sulfate cap 10 mg, 25 mg |
| LENVIMA | lenvatinib cap therapy packs (4-24 mg daily dose variants) |
| LYNPARZA | olaparib tab 100 mg, 150 mg |
| LONSURF | trifluridine-tipiracil tab (multiple strengths) |
| LORBRENA | lorlatinib tab 25 mg, 100 mg |
| LUMAKRAS | sotorasib tab 120 mg, 240 mg, 320 mg |
| TIBSOVO ivosidenib tab 250 mg | Drug formulary entry with Requirements/Limits = PA QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP |
| TRUQAP capivasertib tab therapy pack 160 mg,200 mg | Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (64 tablets/28 days), SP |
| TUKYSA tucatinib tab 50 mg | Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (300 tablets/30 days), SP |
| VENCLEXTA venetoclax tab 10 mg | Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP |
| VITRAKVI larotrectinib sulfate oral soln 20 mg/ml | Requirements/Limits = PA QL (300 mls/30 days), SP |
| XALKORI crizotinib cap 200 mg | Requirements/Limits = QL (60 capsules/30 days), SP |
| ALORA estradiol td patch twice weekly 0.025 mg/24hr | Requirements/Limits = QL (30 patches/30 days) |
| RAYOS prednisone tab delayed release | Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| NUVARING | etonogestrel-ethinyl estradiol va ring 0.12-0.015 mg/24hr |
| OPILL | norgestrel tab 0.075 mg |
| SLYND | drospirenone tab 4 mg |
| FARXIGA | dapagliflozin propanediol tab 5 mg, 10 mg |
| GLYXAMBI | empagliflozin-linagliptin tab 10-5 mg, 25-5 mg |
| JANUMET | sitagliptin phosphate-metformin hcl tab 50-500 mg, 50-1000 mg |
| JANUMET XR | sitagliptin phosphate-metformin hcl tab er 24hr (various strengths) |
| JANUVIA | sitagliptin phosphate tab 25 mg, 50 mg, 100 mg |
| JARDIANCE | empagliflozin tab 10 mg, 25 mg |
| MOUNJARO | tirzepatide soln auto-injector (various strengths) |
| OZEMPIC | semaglutide soln pen-inj (various concentrations) |
| TRULICITY | dulaglutide soln auto-injector 0.75 mg/0.5 mL |
| RYBELSUS | semaglutide tab 3 mg, 7 mg, 14 mg |
| FIASP | insulin aspart (with niacinamide) inj 100 units/mL |
| HUMALOG | insulin lispro formulations (cartridge/pen/inj) 100 units/mL |
| LYUMJEV | insulin lispro-aabc inj 100 units/mL |
| NOVOLOG | insulin aspart inj 100 units/mL and pen/cartridge forms |
| HUMULIN R | insulin regular (human) inj 100 units/mL |
| HUMULIN R U-500 | insulin regular (human) inj 500 units/mL |
| No codes listed |
| No codes listed |
| Tribenzor | olmesartan-amlodipine-hydrochlorothiazide tab (various strengths) |
| Perindopril erbumine | perindopril erbumine tabs (2 mg, 4 mg, 8 mg) |
| Dibenzyline | phenoxybenzamine hcl 10 mg cap |
| Minipress | prazosin hcl cap (various strengths) |
| Accupril | quinapril hcl tab (5,10,20,40 mg) |
| FUROSCIX | furosemide subcutaneous cartridge kit 80 mg/10 mL |
| Lasix | furosemide tab (20,40,80 mg) |
| chlorthalidone | chlorthalidone tab (25 mg; 50 mg) |
| Aldactone | spironolactone tab (25,50,100 mg) |
| atorvastatin | atorvastatin calcium tab (10,20,40,80 mg) |
| Repatha | evolocumab subcutaneous soln prefilled syringe 140 mg/ml |
| NEXLETOL | bempedoic acid 180 mg tab |
| CAMZYOS | mavacamten cap (various strengths) |
| ENTRESTO | sacubitril-valsartan (sprinkle) and tab formulations |
| ORENITRAM | treprostinil diolamine ER tab (various strengths) |
| UPTRAVI | selexipag tablets (various strengths) and titration packs |
| VYNDAQEL | tafamidis meglumine (cardiac) cap 20 mg |
| CAMZYOS (additional strengths) | mavacamten cap 5 mg |
| Avanafil (Stendra) | avanafil tab 50,100,200 mg |
| Viagra | sildenafil citrate tab 25,50,100 mg |
| Cialis | tadalafil tab various strengths |
| desloratadine | desloratadine formulations including ODT and combination products |
| promethazine | promethazine HCl oral solution, suppositories, syrup |
| fluticasone / mometasone / beclomethasone | intranasal steroid sprays (various products) |
| No codes listed |
| QL (60 capsules/30 days) | Quantity limit example applied to esomeprazole magnesium cap |
| PA | Prior Authorization requirement noted for some products (e.g., glycopyrrolate oral soln Cuvposa) |
| PA, QL (2 pens/28 days) , SP | ENTYVIO PEN vedolizumab auto-injector requirements/limits |
| PA, QL (2 pens/28 days) , SP | OMVOH mirikizumab-mrkz auto-injector requirements/limits |
| No codes listed |
| risperidone tab 0.5 mg; 2 mg; 4 mg | Risperdal — Drug Tier and QL specified |
| VERSACLOZ clozapine susp 50 mg/ml | QL (540 mls/30 days), ST |
| VRAYLAR cariprazine hcl cap 1.5 mg; 3 mg; 4.5 mg; 6 mg | QL (30 capsules/30 days) |
| liraglutide (weight mngmt) soln pen-inj 18 mg/3ml (Saxenda) | PA, QL (15 mls/30 days) |
| phentermine hcl cap 15 mg; 30 mg | QL (30 capsules/30 days) |
| phentermine hcl-topiramate cap er (Qsymia) | PA, QL (30 capsules/30 days) |
| INGREZZA valbenazine tosylate cap 40 mg | QL (28 capsules/180 days), SP, PA noted |
| MAVENCLAD cladribine tab therapy pack 10 mg | PA, QL (various per pack), SP |
| No codes listed |
Prescriber Responsibilities & Authorization Process
Obtain prior authorization when indicated
Obtain prior authorization when the drug line shows 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits column; approval must be received before the medication may be covered under the plan.
- PA flag appears on formulary lines to indicate prior authorization is commonly required.
Follow PA and specialty program requirements
For select specialty or high‑cost anti‑infective and antiviral agents follow PA and any Special Program (SP) requirements noted on the formulary line prior to dispensing.
- Examples in the list (e.g., HARVONI, tobramycin nebu) show PA and SP designations that must be satisfied.
PA required for select antivirals and specialty drugs
Prescribers must request prior authorization for antiviral and other specialty medications flagged with 'PA' on the drug list; these entries may also carry QL or SP designations.
- Examples include PAXLOVID and PEGASYS which list PA and/or QL and SP on the formulary lines.
PA required for many oncology agents
Prior authorization is required for many antineoplastic and other oncology agents when 'PA' (often with QL and SP) appears in Requirements/Limits; obtain authorization before coverage.
- Multiple oncology entries (e.g., abiraterone, ALECENSA) list PA, QL and SP that must be met.
PA for listed oncology products
Obtain prior authorization for listed oncology drugs when Requirements/Limits includes 'PA' — each strength/pack may require its own authorization.
- Several oral oncology entries (e.g., GAVRETO, GOMEKLI) show PA and QL per formulation.
Obtain PA where specified on the formulary line
When a formulary line shows 'Requirements/Limits = PA' the provider must secure prior authorization before the plan will cover the specified product/formulation.
- This applies to individual drug formulations where PA is stated (examples: TIBSOVO, VENCLEXTA, XPOVIO).
PA required for select antidiabetics/GLP‑1 agents
Certain antidiabetic and GLP‑1 agents (e.g., MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, TRULICITY) are designated 'PA' and often include quantity limits — submit PA requests and supporting documentation as required.
- MOUNJARO: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days depending on strength).
- OZEMPIC: Requirements/Limits include PA and QL per pen strength.
PA for specialty endocrine/metabolic drugs
Prior authorization is required for select specialty endocrine/metabolic agents that show 'PA' and often 'SP' on the formulary; secure PA and follow specialty handling as indicated.
- Examples include ACTHAR and GENOTROPIN with Requirements/Limits = PA, SP.
PA required for listed specialty agents
For specialty agents listed with 'PA' (and often 'SP') obtain prior authorization before dispensing; follow any quantity limits shown on the drug line.
- Examples: Forteo (teriparatide) lists PA and QL (2.24 mls/28 days); TRYNGOLZA lists PA and QL (1 device/28 days).
PA and QL for FUROSCIX
FUROSCIX requires prior authorization and is limited to QL 8 kits per 180 days; failure to obtain PA or exceeding the QL may result in denial.
- FUROSCIX formulary line: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (8 kits/180 days).
PA and QL for select lipid and biologic agents
Obtain prior authorization and adhere to the listed quantity limits for select lipid‑modifying and specialty biologic agents (e.g., NEXLETOL/NEXLIZET: PA, QL 30 tablets/30 days; REPATHA: PA, QL 6 syringes/28 days).
- Follow PA + QL as stated on each product line prior to coverage.
PA + QL + SP for PAH and specialty cardiovascular agents
Many pulmonary arterial hypertension and specialty cardiovascular agents require prior authorization and often include quantity limits and specialty designation; obtain PA and comply with QL/SP as shown.
- Examples: ADEMPAS (PA, QL 90 tablets/30 days), UPTRAVI (PA, QL 60 tablets/30 days), OPSUMIT/ORENITRAM entries show PA, QL, SP.
Obtain PA when product lists 'PA'
When a product is marked 'PA' on the formulary (for example XHANCE) the provider must obtain prior authorization before the plan will cover the medication.
- Check the Requirements/Limits field on the drug line for PA status.
Specialty biologics require PA and SP handling
Specialty biologics and cystic fibrosis modulators marked with 'PA' or 'PA, SP' require prior authorization and specialty pharmacy handling; submit PA and arrange specialty routing as required.
- Examples include FASENRA, NUCALA, XOLAIR, TRIKAFTA which list PA and SP on their formulary lines.
PA required for specified high‑cost products
Obtain prior authorization for the products identified with 'PA' on the formulary; many high‑cost agents list PA as a coverage requirement.
- PA is indicated for numerous specialty biologics and high‑cost drugs in this segment.
Secure prior authorization when listed
When a drug line shows 'PA' you must secure prior authorization before the plan will cover the medication; follow the Requirements/Limits on the formulary entry.
- Examples include PROCYSBI and tasimelteon entries showing PA (and sometimes SP/QL).
PA required for listed specialty and biologic drugs
Prior authorization is required for many listed specialty and biologic drugs (e.g., PLEGRIDY, ZEPOSIA, adalimumab products, ENBREL, HUMIRA); obtain PA and comply with any QL/SP noted on the drug line.
- These entries commonly include PA, QL and SP flags that must be satisfied for coverage.
Step therapy may be required (ST)
When a drug line includes 'ST' the benefit may require step therapy — try the required cost‑effective alternative first per the plan before coverage for the requested agent is available.
- Step Therapy (ST) is noted next to medications where the program commonly applies.
Step therapy sequences not specified here
The formulary listing in these excerpts does not provide explicit step therapy sequences for most agents; check the benefit materials or plan resources for specific ST algorithms.
- Only flags (PA, QL, SP, ST) are shown; full step details may be maintained separately.
Submit PA/exception requests to the number on the member ID card
Providers must submit PA or exception requests to the phone number on the member ID card; standard decisions are provided within 15 calendar days and expedited requests within 72 hours.
- Use the member ID card contact for PA/submission and timing inquiries.
Specialty (SP) designation may trigger program requirements
Products labeled with SP may be managed through specialty pharmacy pathways and could require enrollment in a specialty program; follow PA/SP routing indicated on the formulary line.
- SP designation (e.g., PALFORZIA levels) signals specialty program management.
No explicit step therapy details on these lines — confirm plan rules
Where no explicit step therapy rules are provided on the formulary lines, providers should still check plan materials — many entries only show PA, QL, SP or AC flags without step sequences.
- Absence of ST on a line does not guarantee the plan has no step requirements elsewhere.
Follow access (AC) indicators for applicable products
Some formulary lines include access or administrative codes (AC) for contraceptives or related agents; follow the payer's access criteria and submission processes where AC is shown.
- Examples: multiple contraceptive entries list AC and QL (28 tablets/21 days).
When ST not shown, confirm PA/QL still apply
Where step therapy is not specified in the excerpt, providers should assume PA and QL requirements listed on the drug line still apply and confirm any step requirements via plan resources.
- Many agents show PA and QL even when ST is not listed (e.g., MOUNJARO entries).
Follow ST or SP pathways when flagged
Products flagged with 'ST' or 'SP' (e.g., KERENDIA) may indicate step‑therapy or specialty pharmacy pathways; obtain authorization and follow pathway requirements where present.
- KERENDIA lists QL (30 tablets/30 days) and ST — follow the ST requirement if present on the member's plan.
ST applies to select CNS and psychiatric agents
Certain formulary entries note step therapy for specific CNS and related drugs (examples include AUVELITY, FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR and clozapine ODT) — follow ST requirements prior to coverage of the requested agent.
- Check the Requirements/Limits field for 'ST' and the member's benefit for required prior agents.
Document prior therapy for ST when requesting PA
When step therapy is noted for agents (ST), try the specified proven, cost‑effective medication first per the program; documentation of prior therapy may be required with PA.
- ST flags indicate the member may need to fail or be intolerant to the step medication before authorization is granted.
Confirm step therapy via plan resources when not listed
If no step therapy is documented in the excerpt for a product, verify benefit‑specific step requirements with the plan; many formulary lines only display PA/QL/SP codes without full ST detail.
- The formulary often lists PA/QL/SP but not the failure criteria or step sequence.
Specialty designation may require specialty pharmacy routing
SP designation on a formulary line may require routing through a specialty pharmacy and could trigger additional PA or program steps — coordinate with the plan's specialty pharmacy processes.
- Examples: multiple high‑cost agents marked SP are managed through specialty channels.
Execute step therapy when 'ST' is shown
Step therapy is indicated for certain products using the 'ST' flag; when present, providers must follow the specified step requirements before the requested drug will be covered.
- Examples of ST‑flagged products include AUVELITY, FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR, CLOZAPINE ODT and others.
Examples of products with ST noted
Examples of step therapy noted on the formulary include AUVELITY, FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR, RISPERIDONE ODT and CLOZAPINE ODT; follow the ST requirement before seeking coverage for the requested agent.
- Check the Requirements/Limits field for 'ST' on the specific line item.
ST noted for select agents (examples)
Step therapy is noted for select agents (e.g., VERSACLOZ clozapine suspension, gabapentin formulations) — providers must follow the ST pathway where indicated.
- VERSACLOZ lists QL (540 mls/30 days) and ST on the formulary line.
No ST algorithm in this excerpt — confirm with plan
When no explicit step therapy algorithm is provided on a formulary segment, rely on the PA, QL and SP flags shown and confirm step requirements through the plan's clinical criteria or provider resources.
- Many entries only display administrative flags; full step criteria may be available via plan tools.
Provide clinical documentation to support PA
Submit documentation to support prior authorization requests when the drug line lists 'PA'; the PA request should include clinical rationale and any required prior‑therapy or diagnosis information.
- Examples: oncology drugs listed with PA will require supporting documentation to meet the PA criteria.
Adhere to documented quantity limits (QL)
Adhere to quantity limits indicated with 'QL' on each drug line; dispensing quantities that exceed the listed QL will likely require additional documentation or prior authorization.
- Examples include azithromycin QL (60 tablets/180 days) and itraconazole QL (120 capsules/30 days).
Do not exceed QL without authorization
When a QL is specified for a product (e.g., many insulin and inhaler entries), dispense only up to the listed quantity unless PA is obtained; claims exceeding QL may be denied without authorization.
- Insulin examples: QL (100 mls/30 days) is noted for multiple insulin products.
Follow Requirements/Limits codes shown on drug lines
Document and follow the Requirements/Limits codes (AC, PA, QL, SP, ST) shown on each formulary line; these designators indicate authorization, access, quantity, specialty routing, or step requirements that must be met for coverage.
- AC = access/administrative control; PA = prior authorization; QL = quantity limit; SP = specialty; ST = step therapy.
Submit supporting clinical evidence with PA requests
Provide the clinical documentation required to meet PA when the entry lists 'PA' for a specific drug and strength; include any requested prior‑therapy history, diagnoses, or test results to support approval.
- Examples: PA entries for VENCLEXTA and VITRAKVI imply submission of supporting clinical information.
Document both clinical need and requested quantity for PA+QL entries
When PA and QL are listed for a product, include documentation addressing both the clinical need and the requested quantity in the PA submission; failing to document appropriately may result in denial.
- Examples: NEXLETOL/NEXLIZET and REPATHA list PA plus QL that must be satisfied.
Lack of PA may result in denial
Many formulary lines include PA — absence of required authorization may lead to claim denial; verify PA status on the drug line and obtain approval prior to dispensing.
- Claims for drugs listed with 'PA' can be denied if PA is not obtained.
Ensure dispensed NDC/form matches QL on formulary line
Adhere to QL values tied to specific NDCs or product forms; claims that exceed the listed QL for the NDC/product form may be rejected during adjudication unless PA authorizes the excess.
- Example: omeprazole cap delayed release shows QL (60 capsules/30 days).
Follow specialty pharmacy PA documentation and routing
For specialty drugs designated 'SP' and 'PA', follow the specialty drug PA documentation process and route the prescription through the specialty pharmacy as required on the formulary line.
- Examples: AVONEX and other interferons list PA, QL and SP — submit PA and route through specialty pharmacy.
Provide PA documentation for specialty drugs
Prescribers must provide documentation to support PA requests for specialty agents (examples include TRYNGOLZA, TYMLOS, VOXZOGO); include clinical justification and quantity requested.
- Many specialty products list PA and QL and will require documentation to meet PA criteria.
Non‑formulary or non‑FDA drugs: risk of denial — request exception
Coverage requests for non‑formulary, non‑FDA‑approved, repackaged or compounded medications may be denied; obtain an exception prior to dispensing if the drug is not on the list.
- Repackaged medications and non‑FDA‑approved drugs are not covered per the policy.
PA required for certain agents — risk of denial without PA
Drugs shown with 'PA' on the formulary (e.g., ARIKAYCE, posaconazole, HARVONI) require prior authorization and could be denied if PA conditions are not met.
- Check the Requirements/Limits field for PA and follow the PA process.
PA+QL entries: obtain PA and adhere to quantity limits to avoid denial
When a formulary line indicates PA and QL, failure to obtain authorization or exceeding the stated quantity may result in claim denial; secure PA and document necessity before dispensing.
- FUROSCIX and NEXLETOL/NEXLIZET are examples where PA and QL apply and must be met.
Confirm PA and SP for biologics to avoid denial
Prior authorization is indicated for many biologics and specialty products; lack of PA or not following SP routing can lead to denied coverage — confirm PA/SP on the drug line before prescribing.
- Adalimumab products and other biologics commonly list PA, QL and SP.
Document prior therapy when ST applies
If a product's Requirements/Limits include 'ST', the plan requires step therapy; document prior use of the required alternative(s) when submitting a PA or exception.
- ST is applied to products such as FETZIMA, FLUOXETINE DR, AUVELITY and some clozapine formulations.
Check and follow Requirements/Limits flags on each drug line
Provider actions: check the formulary line for PA, QL, SP, ST or AC flags and follow the corresponding process (obtain PA, comply with QL, route to specialty pharmacy, follow step therapy or access criteria) before dispensing.
- Use the drug list and member ID resources to confirm benefit‑specific requirements.
Include full clinical support with PA submissions
When PA is shown, include clinical documentation, prior‑therapy history, and quantity rationale with the PA request; incomplete documentation increases the risk of denial or delay.
- Oncology and specialty agents commonly require supporting clinical information to satisfy PA.
Dispense only up to the listed QL unless PA authorizes more
For products with QL, dispense the quantity shown on the formulary line; if a larger quantity is clinically necessary, obtain PA to authorize the excess prior to dispensing.
- Examples of QL values are provided inline (e.g., 60 tablets/180 days, 120 capsules/30 days).
PA+QL+SP entries: obtain PA, adhere to QL, and use specialty pharmacy
Many specialty products list both PA and QL; providers must obtain PA and request the permitted quantity per the formulary line — routing through specialty pharmacy may also be required.
- Examples: PLEGRIDY and OMVOH list PA, QL and SP on their entries.
PA indicated on formulary lines requires authorization before coverage
When a formulary line shows 'PA' providers must obtain prior authorization before the medication will be covered — confirm this requirement on each drug/strength listed.
- General rule across the formulary: 'PA' indicates authorization required prior to coverage.
Request PA for the exact listed formulation/strength
Prior authorization requests should reference the exact product, strength and pack shown on the formulary line; PA requirements can vary by formulation and NDC.
- Many oral oncology and antiviral lines list PA per strength/pack — submit PA for the exact formulation.
FUROSCIX requires PA and QL adherence
PA and QL are documented for FUROSCIX and exceeding the listed QL or dispensing without PA may result in claim denial; obtain PA and adhere to QL before dispensing.
- FUROSCIX: Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (8 kits/180 days).
Include requested quantity when submitting PA for PA+QL items
When a product line lists 'PA, QL', include the quantity requested in the PA submission and reference the QL on the formulary; missing this can delay review or lead to denial.
- Examples: REPATHA (PA, QL 6 syringes/28 days); ADEMPAS (PA, QL 90 tablets/30 days).
Coordinate with specialty pharmacy when 'SP' is listed
If a drug line includes 'SP', coordinate with the specialty pharmacy for dispensing and PA processes as specialty routing and program requirements may apply.
- High‑cost endocrine and metabolic agents commonly have SP and PA flags that trigger specialty management.
Step Therapy Flags & Notes
| Item | Note |
|---|---|
| ST is noted in the Special Requirements column when step therapy applies; the policy states medications with common ST requirements are generally marked with 'ST'. | |
| Refer to Step Therapy (ST) description: if ST commonly required it will be noted next to the medication with 'ST' under Special Requirements. |
| Product / Example | PA / QL / ST presence |
|---|---|
| QL indicated (e.g., QL (60 tablets/180 days)); no explicit step sequences shown. | |
| Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (21 capsules/28 days), SP; step sequences not provided in document. | |
| Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days depending on strength); no ST sequence detailed. |
| Product / Designation | SP / NP / Step therapy |
|---|---|
| Requirements/Limits = SP for multiple PALFORZIA level packs (indicates specialty program). No step sequence provided. | |
| Entries show SP and PA designations (e.g., JYNARQUE Requirements/Limits = PA, QL, SP). Step therapy specifics not included. | |
| Listed with QL (30 tablets/30 days) and ST noted; SP/NP designations appear for other products but step sequences are not detailed. |
| Summary | Detail |
|---|---|
| The formulary shows tiering and Requirements/Limits (PA, QL, SP, ST flags) but does not present explicit step therapy sequences or ordered step algorithms within the listed chunks. | |
| Step Therapy (ST) is described as a program and when commonly required will be noted with 'ST' next to the medication; refer to benefit plan materials for specific step sequences. |
| Contraceptive | Access/AC indicator |
|---|---|
| Many contraceptive lines show 'AC' in Requirements/Limits (e.g., AC plus QL (28 tablets/21 days)), indicating AC (access) administrative indicators on contraceptives. | |
| DEPO‑SUBQ PROVERA and other contraceptive formulations are listed with Requirements/Limits = AC (and QL where specified). |
| Finding | Implication |
|---|---|
| Document contains many PA indicators for agents (e.g., IBRANCE PA, MOUNJARO PA) but does not provide explicit step-edit algorithms or failure criteria within these excerpts. | |
| When PA appears on a line, prior authorization must be obtained; step-specific edits are not provided in the listed segments. |
| Drug | ST flag |
|---|---|
| Listed with Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) , ST — step‑therapy flag (ST) is explicitly shown for KERENDIA in the document. |
| Specialty agent examples | Step therapy specified? |
|---|---|
| Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (6 syringes/28 days) , SP — PA and SP indicated; no explicit ST sequence provided. | |
| Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days) — PA/QL listed; step therapy not specified. | |
| Multiple adalimumab entries show PA, QL (2 pens/28 days), SP — step therapy details are not provided in these excerpts. |
| Observation | Evidence from document |
|---|---|
| The policy states step therapy flags (ST) may be noted, but the drug list excerpts do not include ordered step therapy sequences or failure requirements — only flags and other Requirements/Limits are shown. | |
| Refer to benefit plan materials or specific PA/step therapy program documents for full step sequence details. |
| Oral antiemetic / therapy pack | Management |
|---|---|
| Aprepitant capsule therapy packs and oral suspension entries include QL entries (e.g., QL (3 packs/30 days) or QL (9 kits/30 days) for some formulations), indicating quantity limits and potential management controls. | |
| Doxylamine-pyridoxine entries show QL (60 or 120 tablets/30 days) — oral antiemetic therapy packs have QL and may be managed per QL settings. |
| Product examples | ST flag present |
|---|---|
| Requirements/Limits = ST (document lists AUVELITY with 'ST'). | |
| FETZIMA entries include Requirements/Limits = ST (e.g., FETZIMA TITRATION PACK). | |
| Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days) , ST — BELSOMRA is listed with ST flag. |
| Agent | Step therapy noted? |
|---|---|
| Requirements/Limits = QL (540 mls/30 days) , ST — ST is noted for VERSACLOZ. | |
| Several CLOZAPINE formulations include QL and ST (e.g., CLOZAPINE ODT entries: QL and ST noted). | |
| Document cites that some gabapentin once-daily products note ST; specific entries referenced as examples of ST notation. |
| Biologics / Specialty agents | PA and ST detail |
|---|---|
| PA is frequently required prior to coverage for listed biologics (Requirements/Limits include 'PA' and often 'SP'); however, explicit step therapy sequences or step-specific clinical failure criteria are not provided in the excerpts. | |
| Obtain prior authorization where PA is indicated; step therapy specifics, if used, should be confirmed in the plan's step therapy program documentation since the drug list shows flags but not step algorithms. |
Per-Product Dispensing Limits
Where Drugs Are Covered (Medical vs Pharmacy/Specialty)
Key Terms & Acronyms
Examples of Authorization Triggers for Initiation
Initial therapy authorization examples
Selected lipid agents require authorization prior to initiation.
Full initiation clinical criteria and documentation requirements are managed through the PA process and are not detailed in this excerpt.
Policy Background
Specialty drugs are medications used to treat complex conditions (for example, hepatitis, hemophilia, multiple sclerosis, and rheumatoid arthritis). They may require special handling, administration, or patient support and can be self‑administered or clinician‑administered; products administered by a health care professional may be billed and covered under the medical benefit rather than the pharmacy benefit. The drug list is maintained by a clinical committee and classifies drugs by FDA‑approved indication while applying utilization controls where appropriate.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.