HSA Preventive Drug List
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all Blue Cross Blue Shield - North Carolina policy alerts
Know when Blue Cross Blue Shield - North Carolina releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
Lists prescription drugs and diabetic supplies designated as preventive under certain HSA/HDHP-aligned benefit plans for Blue Cross Blue Shield - North Carolina; affects members whose plans include the HSA Preventive Drug coverage feature and providers/pharmacies dispensing these medications.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Preventive Drug Coverage Criteria
Preventive Drug List coverage
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Verify the member's specific plan design and employer/group selections; coverage may vary by plan and is subject to change.
Consult member benefit materials and the plan website before dispensing; reference brands listed may not be covered.
The list includes reference brand names for some products; reference brands may not themselves be covered. Members and providers should verify the member's benefit to confirm whether a brand product is covered under the plan.
The cited chunks present an alphabetical listing of included drugs and strengths for the high cholesterol category. These chunks do not state any explicit exclusions; they are a listing of included medications and strengths.
Provider and Pharmacy Actions / Verification
Plan verification required
Some employer/group plans and all Individual-Under 65 plans may include HSA Preventive Drug coverage. Verify member benefits to confirm HSA preventive coverage, whether a generic-first or step-therapy requirement applies, and any plan-specific edits before ordering or dispensing.
- Verify HSA preventive coverage on member's benefit design and plan website
- Check whether generic-first or step-therapy is required by the member's plan
- Confirm whether listed reference brand drugs are covered under the member's benefit
Prior authorization not specified
This segment lists medications included on the HSA Preventive Drug List but does not specify prior authorization (PA) or additional documentation requirements. Prior authorization is not specified here — check the member-specific formulary and plan documents for PA details.
- No PA details provided in this segment — verify PA requirements per plan
- Review member materials or provider portal for up-to-date PA and documentation rules
Generic-first / Step-therapy may apply
Generic-first (trial of generic before brand) may be required depending on employer/group design. Confirm whether a generic must be tried prior to filling a brand version for the specific member.
- Check benefit for generic-first or step-therapy enforcement
- Document trials of preferred generics if required for coverage of brand products
Provider action: Not applicable in this segment
Provider action not applicable in this segment: the source content is a medication list and does not include provider-specific billing or prior authorization instructions. Use member benefit verification to determine actionable next steps.
- No provider billing actions defined in this segment
- Follow plan verification steps to determine if any provider actions are needed
Verify plan-specific coverage
Always refer to the member's benefit materials and the plan website for the most current coverage details and to confirm whether listed medications are covered under HSA preventive benefits for that member.
- Refer to employer/group benefit documents and online member portal
- Confirm coverage for specific strengths and formulations listed (e.g., ER, micronized, packet forms)
List-only: PA/documentation not provided
This medication list includes many drugs but does not indicate documentation, quantity limits, or PA criteria. Treat this as an informational list and verify operational rules before prescribing or dispensing to avoid denials.
- No quantity limits or documentation requirements provided here — check formulary details
- Confirm whether reference brands listed are covered or excluded under the member's plan
Policy Background
This document lists drugs designated as preventive for HSA-qualified plans so that members may receive coverage without meeting the deductible when the member's plan includes the HSA Preventive Drug feature, and benefits are provided in accordance with U.S. Treasury and IRS guidance for HSAs and HDHPs.
Formatting and Generic/Brand Notation
Step Therapy and Generic-First Requirements
| Plan note | Action |
|---|---|
| Some plans may require a generic drug to be tried before filling a brand version. | Verify the member's specific plan and benefit materials (or plan website) to determine whether a generic-first requirement applies before dispensing a brand drug. |
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.