2025 Drug List (Pharmacy Benefit) — Formulary and Utilization Management
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all Blue Cross Blue Shield - New Mexico policy alerts
Know when Blue Cross Blue Shield - New Mexico releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document governs the pharmacy drug list for Blue Cross and Blue Shield of New Mexico members, describing covered drugs, tier placement, specialty drug handling, and benefit processes such as prior authorization, step therapy, quantity limits, and exception processes for members and providers.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage and Formulary Controls
General coverage
Coverage is provided for drugs listed on the Drug List and is subject to plan-specific rules and special requirements noted in the list.
Members and providers should consult MyPrime.com or bcbsnm.com or call the number on the ID card for the most current Drug List and benefit-specific details.
General formulary coverage conditions
Covered when plan rules for formulary tier and utilization controls are met
See the Drug List line item for the product-specific Tier and Requirements/Limits.
Coverage flags and controls (product-level)
Products are listed with coverage-related flags; where 'PA' or 'QL' appear, coverage is contingent on meeting prior authorization or quantity-limit policies
The document lists many examples where PA/QL/SP are present; specific clinical PA or ST criteria are provided through the payer's prior authorization/step-therapy processes rather than on the line item.
Formulary administrative coverage conditions
Coverage stance is per drug entry with conditions such as PA, QL, and SP as specified
No full clinical medical-necessity algorithms are contained in these excerpts; product-specific PA criteria and specialty routing are managed via the payer's authorization processes.
Formulary coverage controls
Coverage and utilization controls are specified per product; common controls include Prior Authorization (PA), Quantity Limits (QL) with interval, and Specialty Pharmacy (SP).
See prednisolone entries for exact formulation-specific QL values.
Rayos is listed with QL as shown on the Drug List.
See testosterone and methyltestosterone line items for formulation-specific QLs and PA flags.
Product-level coverage summary (selected examples)
Coverage and utilization management applies per product as listed below (examples from these chunks):
PA designation on the Drug List indicates prior authorization is required per plan procedures before coverage.
Claims exceeding QL require prior authorization or member may be responsible for cost beyond coverage limits.
Coverage for medications is determined by the Drug List and is subject to the member's specific benefit rules and any special requirements shown on the formulary. In general, coverage applies to drugs that are listed on the BCBSNM Drug List and that meet plan rules; many entries include administrative controls such as Prior Authorization (PA), Quantity Limits (QL) and Specialty Pharmacy (SP) routing which must be satisfied for coverage to be approved. Typical dispensing expectations are a 30‑day supply for most prescriptions and up to a 90‑day supply for maintenance medications where the benefit allows. [[chunk 9]]
The Drug List presents per‑product formulary placement (Drug Tier) and line‑level requirements. When an item is marked with PA the prescriber must submit a prior authorization request and obtain approval before the payer will cover the medication. Entries that include QL specify the maximum permitted quantity and time window (for example, many antiretrovirals and DAAs show QL (30 tablets/30 days)). Products marked SP must be dispensed through specialty pharmacy channels as indicated. Coverage is therefore conditional on meeting those per‑product requirements. [[chunk 36]][[chunk 37]][[chunk 72]]
Examples from the listing illustrate how utilization management is applied at the product level. Selected antiviral and anti‑infective products show QL limits (e.g., BIKTARVY QL (30 tablets/30 days); linezolid suspension QL (600 mL/180 days)). Many oncology and specialty agents are designated PA, QL, SP (for example, Zytiga/abiraterone PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP; alectinib PA, QL (240 capsules/30 days), SP). Biologic and specialty injectables (e.g., benralizumab, mepolizumab) are shown with PA and product‑specific QLs and are managed via specialty pharmacy where indicated. Providers should follow the line‑item Requirements/Limits for each product. [[chunk 54]][[chunk 72]][[chunk 216]]
The Drug List also identifies items that are not covered under typical pharmacy benefits: repackaged medications, non–FDA‑approved drugs, certain compounded medications and some prescription products that have available over‑the‑counter equivalents may be excluded from coverage. Where an entry shows administrative flags only (PA/QL/SP) the document excerpt does not provide full clinical medical‑necessity criteria — those are managed through the payer's PA processes and documentation requirements. Providers should consult plan materials or the PA process to determine the specific clinical documentation required for approval. [[chunk 9]][[chunk 72]][[chunk 108]]
This excerpt of the Drug List does not present explicit exclusion lists naming individual agents that are categorically not covered; instead coverage limitations are expressed by omission from the list or via per‑product administrative designations. For example, formulary rows contain Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits values (PA, QL, SP) rather than standalone exclusion statements. Where a product is absent from the Drug List it is not covered under the pharmacy benefit. Refer to the plan's benefit materials for any additional product or category exclusions (e.g., certain cosmetic or age‑restricted uses). [[chunk 36]][[chunk 37]][[chunk 9]]
Because many entries in this excerpt focus on formulary placement and utilization controls rather than explicit exclusion language, providers should assume that lack of a line‑item on the Drug List or failure to meet listed Requirements/Limits (for example, missing PA or exceeding QL) can result in a coverage denial. Exception and appeals processes are available through the telephone number on the member ID card or the plan's benefit guidance. [[chunk 234]][[chunk 72]]
The document excerpt does not include explicit clinical exclusion criteria tied to medical conditions (for example, diagnoses, prior‑therapy failures or contraindications) for the products shown. Instead, coverage is signaled by inclusion on the Drug List with any administrative controls specified on the same line. Where clinical criteria are required to support a PA, those criteria and the required documentation are managed through the payer's authorization process rather than in the line‑item entries in this excerpt. [[chunk 54]][[chunk 72]][[chunk 163]]
Examples in the listing show how utilization management is applied without listing clinical exclusions: corticosteroid and androgen products include QLs or PA (e.g., prednisolone oral solution QL (900 mL/30 days); Rayos QL (30 tablets/30 days); methyltestosterone PA, QL (600 tablets/30 days)), but the excerpt does not state specific clinical conditions that would exclude coverage. For specialty metabolic and endocrine therapies (e.g., SOMAVERT, TYMLOS, CRENESSITY) the entries show PA, QL and often SP designations; the clinical justification required for PA must be provided when submitting authorization. [[chunk 108]][[chunk 111]][[chunk 152]]
The excerpt emphasizes administrative utilization controls as the primary mechanism governing coverage for listed products: Prior Authorization (PA) is required where noted, Quantity Limits (QL) define permitted dispensing amounts and windows, Specialty Pharmacy (SP) flags require dispensing through specialty channels, and Step Therapy (ST) appears on selected products. Claims that lack required PA or that exceed QL are at risk for denial. Providers must follow the Requirements/Limits column and the payer's PA documentation instructions. [[chunk 72]][[chunk 90]][[chunk 163]]
Many high‑cost, specialty and oncology agents in the listing show combined controls (for example, PA + QL + SP). Representative examples include: abiraterone (Zytiga) — PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP; REPATHA products (evolocumab) — PA with presentation‑specific QLs (e.g., 6 syringes/28 days, 2 cartridges/30 days, 6 pens/28 days); FUROSCIX — PA, QL (8 kits/180 days); enalapril oral solution (Epaned) — PA, QL (1200 mL/30 days). Providers should attach clinical justification per the PA process when requesting exceptions or quantities above the stated QL. [[chunk 72]][[chunk 197]][[chunk 188]][[chunk 182]]
Where a line‑item shows only administrative controls (PA/QL/SP) the document excerpt does not include the underlying clinical necessity rules; those are enforced through the payer's authorization review and supporting documentation requirements. For operational questions or to initiate exception/PA requests, use the contact information on the member ID card or the plan's provider resources. [[chunk 93]][[chunk 111]][[chunk 194]]
Formulary Listings & Coding Details
| APRETUDE | cabotegravir im extended release susp 600 mg/3ml |
| APTIVUS | tipranavir cap 250 mg |
| BARACLUDE | entecavir oral soln 0.05 mg/ml |
| BIKTARVY | bictegravir-emtricitabine-tenofovir af tab 30-120-15 mg, 50-200-25 mg |
| CIMDUO | lamivudine-tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tab 300-300 mg |
| COMPLERA | emtricitabine-rilpivirine-tenofovir df tab 200-25-300 mg |
| EPCLUSA | sofosbuvir-velpatasvir tab/pellet pack |
| HARVONI | ledipasvir-sofosbuvir tab/pellet pack |
| MAVYRET | glecaprevir-pibrentasvir tab/pellet pack |
| SOVALDI | sofosbuvir tab/pellet pack |
| VOSEVI | sofosbuvir-velpatasvir-voxilaprevir tab |
| ARAKODA | tafenoquine succinate tab 100 mg |
| COARTEM | artemether-lumefantrine tab 20-120 mg |
| SOLOSEC | secnidazole granules packet 2 gm |
| 600 mg | linezolid tablet strength listed (600 mg) |
| 100 mg/5ml | linezolid suspension strength listed (100 mg/5 ml) |
| 120 capsules/30 days | vancomycin QL |
| 9 tablets/30 days | rifaximin 200 mg QL |
| 60 tablets/30 days | rifaximin 550 mg QL |
| QL (56 tablets/180 days) | linezolid 600 mg tablet QL |
| QL (600 mls/180 days) | linezolid suspension QL |
| QL (6 tablets/180 days) | tedizolid (Sivextro) QL |
| QL (120 tablets/30 days) | abiraterone acetate QL |
| QL (60 tablets/30 days) | akeega QL |
| abiraterone acetate tab 500 mg | Zytiga — Drug Tier = np; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP |
| ACTIMMUNE - interferon gamma-1b inj 100 mcg/0.5ml | Requirements/Limits = SP |
| AKEEGA - niraparib tosylate-abiraterone acetate tab 50-500 mg, 100-500 mg | Drug Tier = NP; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 tablets/30 days), SP |
| ALECENSA - alectinib hcl cap 150 mg | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (240 capsules/30 days), SP |
| ALUNBRIG - brigatinib various strengths | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits vary by strength including PA and QL |
| AUGTYRO - repotrectinib cap 40 mg; 160 mg | Drug Tier = NP; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 or 60 capsules/30 days), SP |
| AYVAKIT - avapritinib tab 25-300 mg | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days), SP |
| BALVERSA - erdafitinib tab 3-5 mg | Drug Tier = NP; Requirements/Limits = PA with QL varying by strength, SP |
| BESREMI - ropeginterferon alfa-2b-njft prefilled syr 500 mcg/ml | Drug Tier = P; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (2 syringes/28 days), SP |
| bexarotene cap 75 mg | Targretin — Drug Tier = np; Requirements/Limits = PA, SP |
| N/A | Document is a formulary listing; no CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 billing codes are provided in these chunks. |
| medroxyprogesterone acetate tab 2.5 mg, 5 mg, 10 mg | Provera — listed with Drug Tier entries |
| megestrol acetate susp 625 mg/5ml | Megestrol acetate suspension |
| norethindrone acetate tab 5 mg | Aygestin |
| progesterone cap 100 mg, 200 mg | Prometrium |
| metformin hcl oral soln 500 mg/5ml (Riomet) | Riomet (PA, QL 780 mls/30 days) |
| MOUNJARO - tirzepatide soln auto-injector (various strengths) | PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days depending on strength) |
| OZEMPIC - semaglutide soln pen-inj (various strengths) | PA, QL (1 pen/28 days or 3 ml/28 days depending on strength) |
| JANUMET / JANUMET XR - sitagliptin-metformin (various strengths) | P, QL (30 or 60 tablets/30 days depending on formulation) |
| FIASP / HUMALOG / NOVOLOG / LYUMJEV (insulins) | Various insulin products with QL (100 mls/30 days) for many formulations |
| GLUCAGON emergency products (BAQSIMI, GVOKE, glucagon inj kits) | Rescue glucagon products listed with Drug Tier P and assorted Requirements/Limits |
| 70/30 RELION | insulin aspart prot & aspart (human) inj 100 unit/ml (70-30) - QL (100 mls/30 days) |
| INSULIN GLARGINE-YFGN | insulin glargine-yfgn soln pen-injector 100 unit/ml - QL (100 mls/30 days) |
| SEMGLEE | insulin glargine-yfgn soln pen-injector 100 unit/ml - QL (100 mls/30 days) |
| TOUJEO MAX SOLOSTAR | insulin glargine soln pen-injector 300 unit/ml - QL (100 mls/30 days) |
| TRESIBA | insulin degludec inj 100 unit/ml - QL (100 mls/30 days) |
| SYNTHROID / levothyroxine | levothyroxine sodium tablets various strengths - Drug Tier = P |
| TIROSINT / TIROSINT-SOL | levothyroxine sodium capsules and oral solution - Drug Tier = NP |
| ACTHAR | corticotropin inj gel 80 unit/ml - Requirements/Limits = PA, SP |
| CRENESSITY | crinecerfont cap and soln - Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (60 caps/30 days or 120 mls/30 days), SP |
| SOMAVERT | pegvisomant for injection various strengths - Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 vials/30 days), SP |
| No codes listed |
| FUROSCIX - furosemide subcutaneous cartridge kit 80 mg/10ml | PA, QL (8 kits/180 days) |
| enalapril oral soln 1 mg/ml (Epaned) | PA, QL (1200 mL/30 days) |
| QBRELIS - lisinopril oral soln 1 mg/ml | PA, QL (2400 mL/30 days) |
| colesevelam hcl packet 3.75 gm (Welchol) | PA, QL (30 packets/30 days) |
| NEXLETOL - bempedoic acid tab 180 mg | PA, QL (30 tablets/30 days) |
| REPATHA - evolocumab 140 mg/mL | PA, QL (6 syringes/28 days) |
| REPATHA PUSHTRONEX - evolocumab 420 mg cartridge | PA, QL (2 cartridges/30 days) |
| REPATHA SURECLICK - evolocumab 140 mg/mL auto-injector | PA, QL (6 pens/28 days) |
| ADEMPAS - riociguat tab (various strengths) | PA, QL (90 tablets/30 days), SP |
| multiple generic and brand cardiovascular agents | Includes ACE inhibitors, ARBs, beta-blockers, diuretics, vasopressors, antihyperlipidemics, and miscellaneous cardiac agents with dose forms and tiers as listed |
| none | This segment contains no CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes; it lists drug names, strengths, tiers, and requirements/limits. |
| ANZEMET | dolasetron mesylate tab 50 mg |
| aprepitant capsule therapy pack 80 & 125 mg (Emend tripack) | Requirements/Limits = QL (3 packs/30 days) |
| aprepitant capsule 40 mg | Requirements/Limits = QL (2 capsules/30 days) |
| aprepitant capsule 80 mg (Emend) | Requirements/Limits = QL (6 capsules/30 days) |
| aprepitant capsule 125 mg | Requirements/Limits = QL (3 capsules/30 days) |
| CREON - pancrelipase dr cap (multiple strengths) | Drug Tier = P |
| SUCRAID - sacrosidase soln 8500 unit/ml | Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (300 mls/30 days), SP |
| ZENPEP - pancrelipase dr cap (multiple strengths) | Drug Tier = P |
| CIMZIA | certolizumab pegol prefilled syringe kit 200 mg/ml — PA, QL (2 kits/28 days), SP |
| ENTYVIO PEN | vedolizumab soln auto-injector 108 mg/0.68ml — PA, QL (2 pens/28 days), SP |
| GATTEX | teduglutide for inj kit 5 mg — PA, SP |
| SKYRIZI | risankizumab-rzaa cartridge 180 mg/1.2ml — PA, QL (1 cartridge/56 days), SP |
| TREMFYA | guselkumab prefilled syringe 200 mg/2ml — PA, QL (1 syringe/28 days), SP |
| GEMTESA | vibegron tab 75 mg |
| MYRBETRIQ | mirabegron tab er 24 hr 25 mg, 50 mg |
| ENDOMETRIN | progesterone vaginal insert 100 mg |
Authorization, Documentation, Step Therapy — Provider Responsibilities
Obtain prior authorization when 'PA' is shown
Some drugs listed on the Drug List require prior authorization before the plan will cover them; such medications are generally noted with 'PA' in the Special Requirements column and the prescriber must submit a prior authorization request and receive approval prior to dispensing for coverage to apply.
- PA is indicated next to medications when prior authorization is commonly required.
- Provider must submit a prior authorization request and obtain approval before the medication may be covered.
PA required for listed hepatitis C/antiviral agents
Multiple hepatitis C and other antiviral agents (examples: EPCLUSA, HARVONI, MAVYRET, SOVALDI, VOSEVI) are listed with 'PA' (and often 'QL' and 'SP'); providers must obtain prior authorization for these products per the formulary entry before coverage is available.
- EPCLUSA, HARVONI, MAVYRET, SOVALDI, and VOSEVI entries include Requirements/Limits = PA (and QL/SP as noted).
- Prior authorization must be obtained per the Special Requirements for these antiviral regimens.
PA required for listed specialty oncology/targeted agents
Many specialty oncology and targeted therapy agents in the formulary are marked with Requirements/Limits = PA (and frequently SP and QL); prescribers must obtain prior authorization and follow specialty pharmacy routing where indicated prior to coverage.
- Examples include abiraterone (Zytiga), ALECENSA, ALUNBRIG, AUGTYRO and many others with PA, QL, and SP flags.
- Specialty (SP) designation requires dispensing via the specialty channel when listed.
Obtain PA for drugs marked 'PA' to avoid denial
Numerous drugs across the formulary excerpt are designated 'PA' — prescriptions for drugs marked 'Requirements/Limits = PA' may be denied if prior authorization is not obtained before dispensing.
- Providers must obtain PA for products with 'PA' noted to avoid claim denial.
- Many PA-marked products also include quantity limits (QL) that must be observed.
Follow step therapy (ST) when indicated or submit exception
When a product is subject to step therapy ('ST') the plan may require trying a preferred, first-line medication before covering the requested drug; prescribers can request a step therapy exception if the preferred option is not appropriate.
- Step Therapy is noted with 'ST' next to medications when required.
- Providers may submit a step therapy exception request per the plan's exception process.
Specialty (SP) + PA entries require specialty routing and PA
Some high-cost hepatitis C and antiviral therapies and select other specialty products are marked with 'SP' and 'PA', which indicates they require specialty pharmacy processing and prior authorization; this combination may imply specialty pathways or prior-step management before coverage.
- Entries such as EPCLUSA, HARVONI, SOVALDI show PA and SP together.
- Provider must follow specialty pharmacy routing and obtain PA as listed.
No explicit step therapy sequences provided in this excerpt
This excerpt does not specify explicit step-by-step step therapy sequences; the formulary primarily uses flags (PA, QL, SP) to indicate controls rather than detailed ST algorithms.
- No explicit step therapy sequences are described in these chunks — only PA, QL, and SP designations are shown.
- Refer to the full policy or benefit materials for any detailed ST algorithms.
Use the ID‑card phone number to request exceptions (standard & expedited)
A prescriber or member may request a drug list or step therapy exception by calling the phone number on the member's ID card; BCBSNM will notify the requester of the decision within three business days (or within 24 hours for expedited requests when life/health is jeopardized).
- Standard exception decisions communicated within three business days after receipt.
- Expedited reviews are available and decided within 24 calendar hours for urgent situations.
Submit PA and specialty pharmacy documentation when 'PA' or 'SP' listed
When a formulary entry includes 'PA' or 'SP' the provider must obtain prior authorization and/or route the prescription through the specialty pharmacy as required; supporting clinical documentation must be submitted to justify the PA and any requested quantity above stated QLs.
- PA and SP designations require adherence to the plan's authorization and specialty pharmacy processes.
- Prescribers must supply clinical documentation to support PA requests and quantity justifications for QL exceedances.
Observe the formulary requirement type (PA, QL, AC, SP) shown
Formulary entries use specific requirement types: QL (quantity limits), PA (prior authorization), AC (administrative coverage/access control), and SP (specialty pharmacy); providers must follow the type of control shown on the product line.
- QL indicates maximum quantity allowed per the stated time period (e.g., 30 tablets/30 days).
- AC, PA, and SP denote other administrative or specialty routing controls that must be followed.
Provide required documentation for PA and QL
Prescribers and pharmacies must submit prior authorization documentation for drugs listed with 'Requirements/Limits = PA' and must adhere to the product's quantity limits (QL) and specialty pharmacy (SP) routing where specified to avoid claim denials.
- Documentation should support the medical necessity and any requested quantity exceeding the QL.
- Failure to submit PA and required documentation may result in denial of coverage.
Initiation Controls and Requirements
Initial therapy requirements (partial)
When initiating therapy for covered antidiabetic agents, the following apply (examples):
PA and QL flags are printed on the product lines; see formulary entries for the required PA process.
Initiation controls
At therapy initiation, apply ALL applicable utilization controls shown on the product line:
Specific clinical PA criteria are not included in this excerpt; refer to the payer's PA documentation process.
Initial therapy requirements (per product flags)
Initial coverage for listed specialty/high‑cost agents is contingent on the product flags below (examples):
See specific product lines for exact QL values and specialty handling.
Initial therapy controls (partial)
Initial therapy coverage controls for specialty/biologic agents (examples):
Refer to product listings for the QL intervals (e.g., 1 pen/28 days for FASENRA).
Step Therapy Rules and Affected Products
| Requirement | Notes / action |
|---|---|
| Try preferred first-line medication(s) before covering the requested drug when ST is indicated | |
| Step Therapy (ST) means a member must try a first-line, cost-effective medication prior to coverage of the requested agent; if the preferred first-line drug is not appropriate, the prescriber may submit a step therapy exception request per the plan's exception process. |
| Formulary designation | Implication |
|---|---|
| Hepatitis C DAAs (e.g., EPCLUSA, SOVALDI) marked PA and SP | |
| PA indicates prior authorization is required and SP indicates specialty pharmacy routing — these flags imply specialty handling and utilization controls that may include step or specialty management prior to coverage. |
| Control | Effect on coverage / provider action |
|---|---|
| PA required for many specialty/antineoplastic agents | |
| Products listing 'Requirements/Limits = PA' must have prior authorization approved before coverage will be provided; providers must follow the payer's PA process and submit supporting clinical documentation. |
| Contraceptive flag | Interpretation |
|---|---|
| Contraceptives listed with AC and/or PA (examples: ANNOVERA, various combined oral contraceptives) | |
| AC denotes administrative/access controls and PA denotes prior authorization; the listings show these controls are applied but explicit step sequences are not provided in these chunks — providers must follow AC/PA procedures as applicable. |
| Agent / class | Formulary flags |
|---|---|
| Selected branded GLP‑1/GIP‑GLP‑1 agents (e.g., MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, TRULICITY) | |
| These products are listed with 'PA' (prior authorization) and QL entries in the formulary — prior authorization may be required before accessing these preferred branded agents. |
| Product | Flag |
|---|---|
| KERENDIA (finerenone) | |
| Listed with 'ST' indicating step therapy applies; specific step requirements are not provided in these chunks. |
| Product | Flag / implication |
|---|---|
| AUVELITY (dextromethorphan‑bupropion) | |
| Listed with 'ST' indicating step therapy applies prior to coverage. |
| Antidepressant(s) | Formulary control |
|---|---|
| DESVENLAFAXINE ER; FETZIMA; TRINTELLIX; FLUOXETINE DR and other antidepressants | |
| These agents are marked 'ST' in the formulary, indicating step therapy is required prior to coverage per plan rules. |
| Antipsychotic formulations | Formulary control |
|---|---|
| Selected antipsychotic ODT/solution formulations (e.g., aripiprazole ODT, risperidone ODT/soln) | |
| These formulations show 'ST' (step therapy) and QL entries in the formulary — step therapy applies prior to coverage as indicated. |
| Designation | Provider requirement |
|---|---|
| Various high‑cost/specialty products (examples: REPATHA presentations, ADEMPAS, ATTRUBY) designated SP and PA | |
| SP indicates specialty pharmacy routing and PA indicates prior authorization is required before benefits are provided; providers must obtain PA and comply with specialty dispensing requirements. |
Quantity Limits (QL) — Examples and Per-Product Caps
Dispensing Channels and Medical Benefit Considerations
Abbreviations and Tier Conventions
Policy Background
Specialty drugs are therapies used to treat complex, often chronic or rare conditions (examples include hepatitis, hemophilia, multiple sclerosis, and rheumatoid arthritis). They may be oral, topical, or injectable, and high-cost or clinically complex agents are frequently managed through additional processes such as Specialty Pharmacy (SP), site-of-care controls (for drugs administered by a health care professional), and utilization management. The drug list is maintained and updated regularly by a committee of clinicians and pharmacists, and coverage for listed products is based on FDA labeling and recognized evidence-based clinical guidelines; plan-level rules such as Prior Authorization (PA), Quantity Limits (QL), step therapy, and benefit routing determine whether a particular prescription is covered under the member's plan.
Policy Revision History
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.