2026 Healthy Value Comprehensive Formulary (Medicare drug list)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all blue cross blue shield - michigan policy alerts
Know when blue cross blue shield - michigan releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document is the Medicare Plus Blue Group PPO and Prescription Blue Group PDP 2026 formulary describing covered prescription drugs, member cost-sharing, and coverage rules (prior authorization, step therapy, quantity limits) that apply to plan members and prescribers.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Formulary Coverage Criteria
General coverage conditions
General formulary coverage and exception rules
Based on formulary definition and scope
See formulary table and definitions for per-drug codes
Providers should submit PA per plan rules
Transition/temporary coverage
Transition and temporary coverage
Applies during first 108 days of membership; LTC emergency 31-day supply may apply after 108 days
Operational communication to member
Contact Customer Service for assistance; refer to Evidence of Coverage Chapter 5 for details
Formulary exceptions
Formulary exception requests
Exceptions may change tiering (covered on Tier 4 if approved)
Expedite when waiting could seriously harm the member
See Evidence of Coverage for submission details
Formulary coverage conditions
Coverage is determined by drug-specific tier placement and plan codes; certain drugs require prior authorization, have quantity limits, or are subject to step therapy or oncology management.
Example: ARIKAYCE listed with PA
Refer to the formulary row for precise limit
See formulary for products flagged ST
OVM administered by OncoHealth per definitions
See NDS in definitions
General formulary coverage
Coverage and access depend on the drug-specific 'Requirements/Limits' column:
Follow per-line Requirements/Limits for adjudication
Examples in anticonvulsant and targeted therapy listings
Refer to PA program and Evidence of Coverage for submission details
Formulary coverage summary
Drugs are covered on the formulary with tier assignment and may have quantity limits or prior authorization as specified.
No product-specific clinical PA criteria are provided in this excerpt; follow the plan PA process when PA is indicated
Examples: HUMULIN R U-500 marked PA
See specific drug lines
Coverage determination
Coverage depends on formulary tier, quantity limits, and prior authorization where indicated.
Examples include QL entries for Xarelto and PA requirements for hematology/supportive agents
Refer to the specific drug row for the exact QL/PA
Formulary coverage rules
Coverage is determined per listed product when member meets plan terms; the table indicates tier, any quantity limits (QL), and whether prior authorization (PA) is required.
Consult the formulary row for QL values and PA/ST/OVM flags
Examples: fluocinolone, fluocinonide, calcipotriene
See packet-size specific QL on formulary rows
If a drug is withdrawn from sale by the manufacturer or the FDA determines it must be withdrawn for safety or effectiveness reasons, the plan may immediately remove the drug from the formulary and it will not be covered. Members who take a removed drug will be notified and may be eligible to request an exception to continue coverage as described in the formulary notice process.
Specialty (Tier 4/5) drugs are subject to different supply rules: a 90-day supply is not available for Specialty Tier drugs, and some Tier 5 products may be limited to a 31-day supply per fill. When changes are made, affected members may receive a 31-day supply and notice allowing time to pursue an exception or alternative.
Within the provided extract there are no explicit exclusion statements listing drug products or classes that are categorically excluded from coverage; coverage determinations are presented at the individual drug line level via tier and Requirements/Limits annotations.
The extract does not list any specific clinical exclusions. Clinical restriction and coverage are managed through per-product Requirements/Limits (e.g., PA, QL, ST) rather than broad clinical exclusion statements in this segment.
No explicit medication exclusions are listed in this excerpt. The formulary uses product-level annotations (tier and Requirements/Limits) to indicate coverage conditions rather than a separate list of excluded medications in the provided pages.
There are no 'Not Medically Necessary' statements
This extract does not contain any statements declaring treatments or drugs as not medically necessary. Coverage guidance here is expressed through tiers and Requirements/Limits such as QL, PA, and ST.
No 'not medically necessary' determinations appear in the provided excerpt. Review and coverage decisions are driven by the per‑product rules shown in the Requirements/Limits column.
Formulary Drug Listings and Coding
| celecoxib capsule 200mg, 400mg | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = QL(180 EA per 90 days) |
| celecoxib capsule 100mg | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = QL(270 EA per 90 days) |
| celecoxib capsule 50mg | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = QL(540 EA per 90 days) |
| diclofenac potassium tablet 50mg | Drug Tier = 2 |
| diclofenac sodium dr tablet delayed release 25mg, 50mg, 75mg | Drug Tier = 2 |
| diclofenac sodium er tablet extended release 24 hour 100mg | Drug Tier = 2 |
| diclofenac sodium/misoprostol tablet delayed release 50mg;200mcg, 75mg;200mcg | Drug Tier = 4 |
| diclofenac sodium external solution 1.5% | Drug Tier = 4; Requirements/Limits = QL(600 ML per 30 days) |
| diflunisal tablet 500mg | Drug Tier = 3 |
| etodolac er tablet extended release 24 hour 400mg, 500mg, 600mg | Drug Tier = 3 |
| NICOTROL NS SOLUTION 10MG/ML | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 4) |
| varenicline tartrate tablet 0.5mg, 1mg | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 4) |
| amikacin sulfate injection 500mg/2ml | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 4) |
| ARIKAYCE SUSPENSION 590MG/8.4ML | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 5) — Requirements/Limits = PA |
| gentamicin sulfate injection 40mg/ml | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 4) |
| neomycin sulfate tablet 500mg | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 2) |
| tobramycin sulfate injection 1.2gm/30ml, 80mg/2ml | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 4) |
| aztreonam injection 1gm | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 4) |
| clindamycin phosphate injection 300mg/2ml, 600mg/4ml, 900mg/6ml | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 2) |
| daptomycin injection 500mg | Drug listed on formulary (Tier 5) |
| No codes listed |
| QL(1800 ML per 90 days) | quantity limit for citalopram hydrobromide solution 10mg/5ml |
| QL(180 EA per 90 days) | quantity limit for citalopram hydrobromide tablet 20mg |
| QL(360 EA per 90 days) | quantity limit for citalopram hydrobromide tablet 10mg |
| QL(90 EA per 90 days) | quantity limit for citalopram hydrobromide tablet 40mg |
| QL(360 EA per 90 days) | desvenlafaxine ER 100mg QL |
| PA | prior authorization required for specific products (e.g., DRIZALMA, FETZIMA, CRESEMBA, POSACONAZOLE DR, VORICONAZOLE, etc.) |
| ST | step therapy required for specified products (e.g., TRINTELLIX entries list ST) |
| QL(180 EA per 90 days); PA | DRIZALMA 60mg combined QL and PA |
| QL(270 EA per 90 days); PA | DRIZALMA 40mg combined QL and PA |
| QL(360 EA per 90 days); PA | DRIZALMA 30mg combined QL and PA |
| pyridostigmine bromide tablet 60mg | listed drug product and strength |
| dapsone tablet 100mg, 25mg | listed drug product and strengths |
| PRETOMANID TABLET 200MG | listed drug product and strength |
| rifabutin capsule 150mg | listed drug product and strength |
| ethambutol hydrochloride tablet 100mg, 400mg | listed drug product and strengths |
| isoniazid syrup 50mg/5ml | listed drug product and strength |
| isoniazid tablet 100mg, 300mg | listed drug product and strengths |
| PRIFTIN TABLET 150MG | listed drug product and strength |
| pyrazinamide tablet 500mg | listed drug product and strength |
| rifampin capsule 150mg, 300mg | listed drug product and strengths |
| ZEPZELCA INJECTION 4MG | listed drug product and strength |
| TRECATOR TABLET 250MG | listed drug product and strength |
| cyclophosphamide capsule 25mg, 50mg | listed drug product and strength |
| GLEOSTINE CAPSULE 10MG, 40MG, 100MG | listed drug product and strengths |
| LEUKERAN TABLET 2MG | listed drug product and strength |
| lomustine capsule 10mg, 40mg, 100mg | listed drug product and strengths |
| MATULANE CAPSULE 50MG | listed drug product and strength |
| VALCHLOR GEL 0.016% | listed drug product and strength |
| ERLEADA TABLET 240MG, 60MG | listed drug product and strengths |
| EULEXIN CAPSULE 125MG | listed drug product and strength |
| QL(84 EA per 365 days) | VENCLEXTA STARTING PACK quantity limit |
| QL(2.4 ML per 56 days) | ABILIFY ASIMTUFII INJECTION 720MG/2.4ML limit |
| QL(3.2 ML per 56 days) | ABILIFY ASIMTUFII INJECTION 960MG/3.2ML limit |
| QL(1 EA per 28 days) | ABILIFY MAINTENA injection limit |
| QL(180 EA per 90 days) | aripiprazole odt tablet disintegrating 15mg limit |
| QL(2700 ML per 90 days) | aripiprazole solution 1mg/ml limit |
| ST | Step therapy flag applied to listed products (e.g., ARISTADA, RYTARY, INVEGA series, REXULTI) |
| buspirone hcl tablet 15mg | Drug Tier = 2 |
| buspirone hydrochloride tablet 10mg, 30mg, 5mg, 7.5mg | Drug Tier = 2 |
| meprobamate tablet 200mg, 400mg | Drug Tier = 4; Requirements/Limits = PA |
| alprazolam tablet 0.25mg, 0.5mg, 1mg, 2mg | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL(150 EA per 30 days); NDS |
| clorazepate dipotassium tablet 15mg | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = QL(180 EA per 30 days); NDS |
| diazepam intensol concentrate 5mg/ml | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL(240 ML per 30 days) |
| diazepam solution 5mg/5ml | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL(1200 ML per 30 days); NDS |
| liraglutide injection 6mg/ml | Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL(27 ML per 90 days); PA |
| MOUNJARO INJECTION 2.5-15MG/0.5ML | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = QL(2 ML per 28 days); PA |
| OZEMPIC INJECTION 2MG/3ML, 4MG/3ML, 8MG/3ML | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = QL(3 ML per 28 days); PA |
| RYBELSUS TABLET 3MG,7MG,14MG | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = QL(420/180/90 EA per 90 days respectively); PA |
| HUMULIN R U-500 INJECTION 500UNIT/ML | Drug Tier = 5; Requirements/Limits = PA |
| HUMULIN R U-500 KWIKPEN INJECTION 500UNIT/ML | Drug Tier = 5; Requirements/Limits = PA |
| INSULIN ASPART INJECTION 100UNIT/ML | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = . |
| LANTUS SOLOSTAR INJECTION 100UNIT/ML | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = . |
| dabigatran etexilate capsule 150mg, 75mg | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = QL(180 EA per 90 days) |
| ELIQUIS TABLET 2.5MG, 5MG, soluble 0.5MG | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = various QL values listed |
| enoxaparin sodium injection (multiple strengths) | Drug Tier = 4; Requirements/Limits = . |
| warfarin sodium tablet (multiple strengths) | Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = . |
| XARELTO TABLET 10MG, 15MG, 20MG | Drug Tier = 3; Requirements/Limits = QL(90-180 EA per 90 days) with starter pack QL(102 EA per 365 days) |
| eltrombopag olamine (multiple forms/strengths) | Drug Tier = 5; Requirements/Limits = QL and PA as listed (e.g., QL(186 EA per 31 days); PA) |
| QL(2700 ML per 90 days) | Quantity limit for rivaroxaban suspension reconstituted 1mg/ml |
| QL(102 EA per 365 days) | Quantity limit for Xarelto starter pack therapy pack |
| QL(180 EA per 90 days) | Quantity limit for Xarelto 15mg/2.5mg and VOYDEYA 100mg (also used elsewhere) |
| PA | Prior authorization required (used for multiple drugs listed) |
| QL(720 EA per 90 days) | Quantity limit example (valsartan, olmesartan and others) |
| QL(1440 EA per 90 days) | Quantity limit example (benazepril, lisinopril variants) |
| OTEZLA XR 75MG | OTEZLA XR TABLET EXTENDED RELEASE 24 HOUR 75MG (Tier 5) QL/PA |
| OTEZLA 20MG/30MG | OTEZLA TABLET 20MG, 30MG (Tier 5) QL/PA |
| Dextrose/Injections | Multiple dextrose and dextrose/saline injection formulations (various concentrations) listed with tiers and no QL |
| KCl formulations | Multiple potassium chloride injection and oral formulations listed |
| QL(270 EA per 90 days) | Quantity limit example applied to multiple products (e.g., LOKELMA PACKET 5GM, VELTASSA PACKET 8.4GM) |
| QL(1620 EA per 90 days) | Quantity limit listed for sevelamer carbonate tablet 800mg |
| QL(180 EA per 90 days) | Quantity limit example (e.g., lubiprostone 24mcg QL) |
| QL(90 EA per 90 days) | Common QL for many products (e.g., LINZESS, various packets) |
| PA | Prior Authorization required |
| ST | Step Therapy required |
| OVM | Other utilization management |
| QL(248 EA per 31 days) | Quantity limit for RECORLEV TABLET 150MG |
| QL(27 ML per 30 days) | Quantity limit for icatibant acetate injection 30mg/3ml |
| QL(31 EA per 31 days) | Quantity limit for REZDIFFRA TABLET |
| QL(8 ML per 28 days) | Quantity limit for COSENTYX formulations |
| PA | Prior authorization required (indicator used throughout) |
| OVM | OVM indicator (present alongside PA for some injectables) |
Prior Authorization, Step Therapy, Documentation, and Denial Risk
Prior authorization required for specified drugs — overview
Certain drugs listed on the formulary require prior authorization (PA) from the plan before the prescription will be covered. Providers must obtain plan approval when the Requirements/Limits column for a product includes the PA flag; failure to obtain PA may result in noncoverage.
- PA = Prior Authorization required before filling the prescription; lack of approval may result in noncoverage (see introduction/definitions).
Prior authorization required — example ARIKAYCE marked PA
ARIKAYCE Suspension 590mg/8.4mL is listed with Requirements/Limits = PA; providers must submit a prior authorization request to the plan for coverage of ARIKAYCE.
- ARIKAYCE SUSPENSION 590MG/8.4ML — Requirements/Limits = PA
Prior authorization and quantity limits present — providers must submit PA requests and adhere to QL
Many formulary entries combine prior authorization (PA) and explicit quantity limits (QL); providers must submit PA requests where indicated and ensure requested quantities do not exceed the listed QL values.
- Examples: IMPAVIDO QL(84 EA per 28 days); linezolid suspension QL(1680 ML per 28 days); VOQUEZNA packs QL(336 EA per 90 days) with PA.
Prior authorization required — multiple products include 'PA' in Requirements/Limits
Multiple product rows in the formulary include 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits column, indicating prior authorization is required before coverage; providers should follow the plan's PA process for those products.
- PA appears alongside many high-tier and specialty products in the formulary table.
Prior authorization required for specific listed drugs — PA flags in Requirements/Limits
Selected listed drugs explicitly show 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits field (for example, DRIZALMA, FETZIMA, TRINTELLIX and several antifungals/antineoplastics); providers must obtain prior authorization for these specific products per the formulary.
- Examples include DRIZALMA entries with QL and PA; voriconazole and posaconazole entries marked PA.
Prior authorization indicated on multiple products; specific PA criteria not provided in these chunks
Numerous formulary rows are flagged PA but the extract does not include the detailed clinical PA criteria; providers must submit PA requests using the plan's PA process and supply supporting documentation as requested.
- PA is shown on many lines without full clinical criteria in this extract; follow the plan's prior authorization program for required information.
Prior authorization required — multiple listed drugs require PA
Multiple high-tier and specialty agents are annotated with PA in the formulary (e.g., eltrombopag formulations, PROCRIT, VOYDEYA, ZARXIO); providers must obtain prior authorization before dispensing these products to ensure coverage.
- Examples: eltrombopag olamine packet/tablet entries include QL and PA; PROCRIT injections list PA.
Prior authorization required for select drugs — providers must submit PA per plan rules
For select formulary drugs marked PA, providers must submit a prior authorization request per plan rules; absence of an approved PA may lead to claim denial at time of adjudication.
- PA flags appear next to many specialty products — obtain authorization before dispensing.
PA required for select formulary drugs — examples include liraglutide injection and others
Several GLP‑1 / antidiabetic and weight‑loss injectables and oral GLP‑1 products are listed with PA (examples include liraglutide injection, MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC, RYBELSUS); providers must obtain prior authorization for those products as indicated.
- liraglutide injection 6mg/mL — Requirements/Limits = QL(27 ML per 90 days); PA
- MOUNJARO and OZEMPIC entries include QL and PA requirements
PA required for listed products — examples include eltrombopag formulations
Eltrombopag formulations are listed with both quantity limits and PA (e.g., packet and tablet forms); providers must request prior authorization and adhere to the stated QL when prescribing eltrombopag.
- Eltrombopag olamine packet 25mg — QL(186 EA per 31 days); PA
PA required for select tier 3-4 specialty drugs (examples: NEXLETOL, PRALUENT, VERQUVO)
Several tier 3–4 specialty agents are annotated with PA (for example NEXLETOL, PRALUENT, VERQUVO); providers must obtain prior authorization prior to dispensing these higher‑tier specialty drugs.
- NEXLETOL, NEXLIZET, PRALUENT, VERQUVO entries include PA in Requirements/Limits.
PA required for select agents — list includes many high-tier/specialty agents
A broad list of high‑tier and specialty agents throughout the formulary carry PA flags; for these agents providers must submit PA requests via the plan’s authorization process to secure coverage.
- Examples include VERQUVO tablets and multiple specialty injectable agents noted with PA.
Prior authorization required — indicated in formulary table
The formulary table includes PA annotations on many product lines; when a product shows PA in Requirements/Limits, providers must obtain prior authorization before filling to avoid coverage denial.
- Refer to each product row for PA flag and follow plan prior authorization procedures.
Prior authorization required for selected high-tier drugs (e.g., GATTEX, MYALEPT)
Selected high‑tier specialty agents (e.g., GATTEX, MYALEPT) are shown with PA in the Requirements/Limits column; providers must obtain PA for these products as specified in the formulary.
- GATTEX and MYALEPT entries include PA and other utilization flags.
PA required for selected specialty and high-tier agents — examples provided
Multiple specialty and high‑tier agents are annotated with PA (examples include octreotide injections, ORGOVYX, RECORLEV); providers must secure prior authorization per the formulary to ensure coverage.
- Octreotide acetate injection entries — Requirements/Limits = PA; OVM
Step therapy requirements — overview
Step therapy (ST) may require trying one or more specified drugs first before the plan will cover an alternative; providers should check the Requirements/Limits column for an ST flag and follow the plan's step therapy process.
- ST = Step Therapy: plan may require trying a specified drug first before covering another.
Step therapy (ST) — plan may require preferred drug trial first
The formulary uses the ST flag to indicate step therapy; when ST appears for a product, the plan may require a trial of a preferred agent before covering the listed drug.
- Example: EXXUA entries show ST alongside QL indicating step therapy applies.
Step therapy present — EXXUA examples marked 'ST'
Some specialty products include 'ST' in Requirements/Limits (for example EXXUA titration pack and EXXUA product lines); providers must follow the step therapy requirement indicated in the formulary when seeking coverage.
- EXXUA TABLET EXTENDED RELEASE entries — Requirements/Limits = QL(...); ST
Step therapy indicated for select drugs (febuxostat, FETZIMA, TRINTELLIX)
Certain products are annotated with ST (e.g., febuxostat, FETZIMA, TRINTELLIX), indicating the plan requires step therapy prior to coverage; providers should submit documentation of prior trials when requesting coverage of the nonpreferred drug.
- FETZIMA entries show QL and PA and ST for some formulations; febuxostat entries list ST.
OVM noted — oncology utilization management noted for some agents
Several oncology and other agents are subject to Oncology Value Management (OVM) in addition to PA; providers may need to follow the OVM process for authorization of these agents.
- OVM appears alongside PA for many antineoplastics and oncology supportive care drugs.
Step therapy applies to some long-acting injectables and specialty agents
Step therapy flags apply to several long‑acting injectables and specialty agents (e.g., ARISTADA, INVEGA series, REXULTI) — when ST is indicated providers must document prior use of required agents per the plan's step therapy rules.
- ARISTADA, INVEGA HAFYERA/INVEGA SUSTENNA/INVEGA TRINZA entries include QL and ST.
Step therapy applies to selected agents — antipsychotics and injectables marked 'ST'
Selected antipsychotics, long‑acting injectables and other specialty agents are marked ST in the Requirements/Limits column; providers must follow the plan's step therapy sequence (trial of required agents) before the plan will cover the listed product.
- REXULTI, PERSERIS, risperidone/injectable antipsychotic entries show ST and QL.
Step therapy not listed in extract — absence of explicit ST sequences
This extract does not include explicit step therapy sequences or detailed step‑by‑step algorithms; absence of step order in these pages means providers must consult the plan's PA/ST documentation or contact the plan for the required sequence.
- No explicit step therapy steps/sequences are provided in this excerpt.
Step therapy not specified — products annotated with PA/QL but no sequences
Many products in the extract are annotated with PA and/or QL but do not show ST sequences; when ST is not specified, providers must still follow PA and QL requirements as listed and contact the plan for any step therapy details.
- Products annotated with PA/QL but lacking ST sequences require PA or QL adherence; check plan resources for ST details.
Step therapy (ST) on select products — PANCREAZE example
PANCREAZE capsule strengths are listed with 'ST' in Requirements/Limits — providers must follow the plan's step therapy requirement for coverage of specific PANCREAZE strengths.
- PANCREAZE CAPSULE DELAYED RELEASE PARTICLES — Requirements/Limits = ST
Exception request documentation — prescriber must provide supporting medical reasons; decision timeframe 72/24 hours
When requesting an exception (formulary/tiering or to waive PA/ST/QL), the prescriber must provide supporting medical reasons; the plan will decide within 72 hours for standard requests and within 24 hours for expedited requests when warranted.
- Prescriber must explain medical reasons and provide supporting statement.
- Standard decision timeframe = 72 hours; expedited = 24 hours if criteria met.
B/D documentation — Part B vs Part D determination may require supporting info
Some entries are labeled B/D (benefit/dispense or Part B/Part D designation); providers may need to submit information describing the drug's use and setting to determine Part B versus Part D coverage.
- B/D flag indicates coverage determination may require additional information about setting/use.
PA/QL documentation note — PA and QL entries require supporting documentation
Formulary rows that include PA and/or QL indicate that prior authorization documentation and adherence to quantity limits must be provided when requesting coverage; providers should submit clinical supporting documentation with PA/QL requests.
- Submit diagnosis, dose, quantity requested, prior therapy and medical rationale when seeking PA/QL exceptions.
Documentation for PA/NDS — prescribers should supply diagnosis, dose, quantity, and rationale
When Requirements/Limits list PA or NDS, prescribers should supply supporting documentation per the plan's PA process (including diagnosis, dose, quantity, prior therapy) to meet authorization criteria.
- NDS = Non-Extended Day Supply; when NDS or PA appears, include rationale for requested supply/days.
Follow plan-specified PA/QL/ST rules — symbols PA/QL/ST/OVM appear in Requirements/Limits
Providers must follow the plan‑specified Requirements/Limits codes (PA, QL, ST, B/D, OVM) shown in the formulary rows; prescribing or dispensing must comply with these plan rules to obtain coverage.
- Check the introduction pages for symbol definitions and follow plan PA/QL/ST/OVM processes.
Reference to legend for symbol meanings — introduction pages contain abbreviations
The formulary introduction pages define the abbreviations used in the Requirements/Limits column (e.g., PA, QL, ST, OVM); providers should reference those introduction pages for official definitions.
- See introduction for PA = Prior Authorization; QL = Quantity Limit; ST = Step Therapy; OVM = Oncology Value Management.
Supporting documentation for QL/ST — injectables and specialty products require documentation
Some injectable and specialty products that carry QL or ST flags require supporting documentation of medical necessity, dosing frequency, and prior therapy when seeking authorization; include such documentation with PA requests.
- Examples: injectable long‑acting antipsychotics and specialty injectables list QL and ST and typically require supporting documentation.
PA noted for select insulins — concentrated insulins may require PA
Concentrated insulin products such as HUMULIN R U‑500 are listed with PA; providers must submit prior authorization documentation for these insulin formulations before coverage will be approved.
- HUMULIN R U-500 (CONCENTRATED) INJECTION 500UNIT/ML — Requirements/Limits = PA
Documentation hints — injectable biologics marked PA/OVM require additional review
Injectable biologics and supportive agents marked with PA and/or OVM often require additional documentation or on‑site verification/management review at authorization; providers should include required clinical and site‑of‑care details with PA submissions.
- NEULASTA / NEULASTA ONPRO entries — Requirements/Limits = PA; OVM
Align dispensing with QL — ensure dispensed amount matches QL entries
Prescribers and pharmacies should ensure dispensed amounts align with the formulary quantity limits (QL) shown for each product; requests that exceed the stated QL may be denied or require an override/exception.
- Example QLs to follow when dispensing: QL(180 EA per 90 days), QL(31 EA per 31 days), QL(360 GM per 90 days).
Submit PA and respect QL — items marked PA/QL require prior authorization and adherence to limits
For products annotated with PA and/or QL, providers must submit the required prior authorization and supporting clinical documentation; failure to obtain PA or to adhere to QL may result in denial of coverage at claim adjudication.
- Not obtaining required PA may result in the plan not covering the drug.
- Claims exceeding QL without authorization may be denied.
PA documentation examples — calcipotriene, deferasirox examples
Examples in the formulary show PA documentation is required for specific products (e.g., calcipotriene topical formulations, deferasirox, AURYXIA, tolvaptan, trientine); providers should include clinical rationale and requested quantity when submitting PA requests.
- CALCIPOTRIENE OINTMENT/SOLUTION entries — QL with PA; include indication and quantity in PA submission.
Prior authorization/step therapy documentation — PA or ST require documentation as specified
Products labeled with PA or ST will require the corresponding prior authorization or step therapy documentation as specified on the formulary table; submit the requested clinical information to support authorization.
- PANCREAZE (ST) and PROLASTIN‑C (PA) illustrate ST vs PA documentation needs.
Documentation for QL/PA requests — providers must submit supporting clinical documentation
When requesting authorization for agents annotated with QL and PA, the provider must submit documentation supporting the requested quantity and medical necessity consistent with the payer's prior authorization process.
- Include diagnosis, dose, frequency, prior therapies tried, and rationale for quantity exceeding standard QL when applicable.
Prior Authorization requirement — not obtaining required PA may result in noncoverage
Prior authorization is required for many products in the formulary; not obtaining an approval when PA is indicated may cause the plan to deny coverage for the drug.
- PA requirement is defined in the formulary introduction: lack of approval may result in noncoverage.
Prior Authorization requirement — failure to obtain PA may result in noncoverage
If prior authorization is required for a drug and the provider does not secure approval, the plan may not cover the drug and the claim can be denied; obtain PA before dispensing where the Requirements/Limits column shows PA.
- Check each product row for PA flags and follow the plan's prior authorization procedures.
PA required for select agents — ARIKAYCE example
ARIKAYCE Suspension 590mg/8.4mL is listed with Requirements/Limits = PA; dispensing without an approved PA may trigger denial of coverage for ARIKAYCE.
- ARIKAYCE SUSPENSION 590MG/8.4ML — Requirements/Limits = PA
Quantity limits and PA may cause denial — examples where QL/PA not met may trigger denial
When QL or PA requirements are not met (for example, prescribing beyond the stated QL or dispensing a PA‑flagged product without approval), the claim may be denied; providers should check QL values and obtain PA ahead of dispensing.
- Examples: VOQUEZNA packs, linezolid suspension, IMPAVIDO, DIFICID show QL and/or PA that, if not followed, may cause denial.
Prior authorization indicated — PA flag requires authorization
Products listed with 'PA' in the Requirements/Limits field require prior authorization; failure to obtain PA may result in claim denial at time of adjudication.
- Refer to the Requirements/Limits column for PA flags and follow the plan's PA submission process.
Quantity limit exceedance — exceeding QL may trigger denial or require override
If the requested quantity exceeds the stated quantity limit (QL) without an approved override or exception, the claim may be denied or require prior authorization to exceed the limit.
- Example QLs: QL(1080 EA per 90 days); requests beyond these limits need justification or PA.
Prior authorization required for some products — DRIZALMA, FETZIMA, TRINTELLIX examples
Several commonly prescribed agents (e.g., DRIZALMA, FETZIMA, TRINTELLIX) are designated PA in the formulary; dispensing these formulations without PA may lead to coverage denial.
- DRIZALMA sprinkle capsule entries list QL and PA across strengths.
Presence of 'PA' indicates authorization required — absence implies no PA on that line
The presence of 'PA' next to a product line signals that prior authorization is required for that product; if 'PA' is absent for a line there is no PA indicated on that line.
- Check the Requirements/Limits column for PA to determine whether PA is required for a given product.
PA/QL noncompliance may trigger denial — unmet PA/QL can be denied
Requests for drugs listed with PA or QL may be denied if authorization is not obtained or the requested quantity exceeds the plan's limit; providers should secure PA and document adherence to QL to avoid denial.
- PA/QL noncompliance is a common denial trigger at adjudication.
Denial triggers from utilization controls — PA/ST/QL presence may cause denial
Utilization controls shown in the formulary (PA, ST, QL) are potential denial triggers; when a drug is listed with these controls providers must obtain authorization or adhere to limits to avoid claim denials.
- Claims may be denied or require prior authorization when PA, ST, or QL are present and not satisfied.
Prior authorization required for some agents — liraglutide injection example
Products annotated with PA (examples: liraglutide injection, MOUNJARO, OZEMPIC) require prior authorization; dispensing without PA may cause a denial or noncoverage determination.
- GLP‑1 injectables in the extract show both QL and PA requirements.
PA-required items — coverage may be denied if PA not obtained
If a product line lists 'PA' the plan may deny coverage if the provider does not obtain prior authorization; providers should obtain PA prior to dispensing to prevent denials.
- PA requirement defined in formulary introduction: lack of approval may result in noncoverage.
PA required for selected products — NEXLETOL, PRALUENT, VERQUVO examples
Many high‑tier specialty drugs (e.g., NEXLETOL, PRALUENT, VERQUVO) are annotated with PA in the formulary; providers must secure prior authorization for coverage of these medications.
- NEXLETOL and PRALUENT entries include QL and PA flags.
PA indicated in table rows — some rows show PA flag without full detail
Some formulary table rows show PA without accompanying clinical detail; providers should treat any PA flag as requiring authorization and consult plan resources for specific PA submission requirements.
- PA = . entries indicate PA may apply and require follow-up to determine clinical criteria.
PA and QL triggers — coverage may be denied or limited when PA/QL present
When products are marked with PA and/or QL, coverage may be denied or limited if prior authorization is not obtained or quantities exceed the listed limits; providers should verify PA and QL before dispensing.
- Examples of denial risk include OTEZLA QL/PA and other calcipotriene QL/PA entries.
Denial risk for unmet QL/PA — claims may be denied if QL/PA requirements are not met
Claims may be denied if QL or PA requirements listed for a drug are not met; providers should confirm authorization status and ensure quantities conform to the QL to reduce denial risk.
- Denial examples include OTEZLA, calcipotriene topical formulations and other PA/QL products.
Authorization/denial triggers noted by product — presence of PA/ST/OVM/QL drives authorization
Presence of utilization controls (PA, ST, OVM, QL) on specific products determines whether authorization is needed; providers should treat these flags as actionable requirements and follow the plan's processes to obtain authorization.
- PA, ST, OVM and QL flags drive authorization requirements and site‑of‑care considerations (e.g., infusion center/OVM).
Prior authorization required for specified agents — PA or PA; OVM require authorization
Drugs listed with 'PA' or 'PA; OVM' will require prior authorization; providers must obtain the required PA prior to dispensing or risk denial at adjudication.
- Examples: octreotide acetate injections and NEULASTA ONPRO listed with PA; OVM.
Step Therapy Rules and Affected Products
| Coverage rule | Description |
|---|---|
| Step therapy (ST) | |
| Plan may require trying specified drug(s) first before covering an alternative for the same condition (i.e., must try preferred agent(s) first). |
| Presence | Example / Note |
|---|---|
| Some drugs are subject to step therapy | |
| Formulary lines show 'ST' alongside Requirements/Limits for certain products (e.g., EXXUA entries show QL(...); ST). |
| Product | Formulary annotation |
|---|---|
| EXXUA titration pack / EXXUA extended‑release tablets | |
| {"text":"Requirements/Limits include QL(...) and 'ST' indicating step therapy applies to EXXUA titration pack and EXXUA products." | |
| status":""} |
| High-tier product | Step therapy annotation |
|---|---|
| febuxostat (40mg, 80mg) | |
| {"text":"Listed with QL(90 EA per 90 days); ST — step therapy required as indicated on formulary." | |
| status":""} |
| Situation | Formulary requirement |
|---|---|
| Oncology targeted agents and supportive care | |
| Many oncology targeted agents are annotated with PA and often OVM (Oncology Value Management) requiring prior authorization and OncoHealth review; step therapy algorithms are not detailed. |
| Agent examples | Step therapy / annotation |
|---|---|
| RYTARY (various ER strengths) | |
| {"text":"Requirements/Limits include QL(...); ST — step therapy flag present for RYTARY." | |
| status":""} |
| Class / product | Step therapy indicator |
|---|---|
| Long-acting injectable antipsychotics and select antipsychotics (e.g., ARISTADA, INVEGA series) | |
| Multiple long-acting injectables and antipsychotics are listed with 'ST' in Requirements/Limits indicating step therapy applies prior to coverage (examples: ARISTADA, INVEGA HAFYERA/SUSTENNA/TRINZA entries include ST). |
| GLP-1 injectables / oral GLP-1s | Step therapy / prior auth |
|---|---|
| MOUNJARO; OZEMPIC; liraglutide; RYBELSUS | |
| No explicit step therapy sequences are shown in the extract for GLP‑1 injectables/oral GLP‑1s; several are annotated with PA and QL (e.g., MOUNJARO QL(2 ML per 28 days); PA; OZEMPIC QL(3 ML per 28 days); PA). |
| ST sequences provided? | Document note |
|---|---|
| No explicit ST sequences in extract | |
| The formulary excerpt lists products with annotations such as PA and QL but does not provide step-by-step ST sequences or algorithms for the listed products; see individual Requirements/Limits flags. |
| High-tier agent | Authorization / QL |
|---|---|
| tolvaptan (15mg, 30mg) | |
| {"text":"Listed with QL(...) and PA (e.g., QL(124 EA per 31 days); PA) — step therapy specifics are not provided in this segment." | |
| status":""} |
| Product | Step therapy annotation |
|---|---|
| PANCREAZE (multiple capsule strengths) | |
| Formulary shows PANCREAZE entries with 'ST' in Requirements/Limits indicating a step therapy requirement for certain pancreatic enzyme strengths. |
Quantity Limits and Per-Product Examples
Site of Care and Infusion Center Notes
Infusion center / OVM notes — OVM applied to some injectables indicating site/administration oversight
Some formulary injectables require infusion‑center oversight or OVM review (OVM flag); providers should coordinate site‑of‑care documentation and OVM submission requirements when seeking authorization for these agents.
- OVM = Oncology Value Management — administered by OncoHealth; additional information required for antineoplastics/supportive care.
Biosimilar and Interchangeable Biologic Notes
Original biological product — plan may add interchangeable biosimilar and move original product between tiers
The plan may immediately add an interchangeable biosimilar and move or remove the original biological product from the formulary or change its tier; providers should be aware that such substitutions can occur without advance notice and may affect coverage.
- Interchangeable biosimilars may be substituted at the pharmacy without a new prescription depending on state law.
NEULASTA / ZARXIO — biosimilar included but may require PA/OVM
ZARXIO (a biosimilar to NEULASTA) is listed with PA and OVM in the formulary; providers should anticipate that biosimilars may require PA/OVM review and include necessary documentation when requesting authorization.
- ZARXIO INJECTION entries — Requirements/Limits = PA; OVM
Background and Scope
This formulary groups drugs by medical condition and lists each product with a Drug Tier and any applicable Requirements/Limits (for example, PA for prior authorization, QL for quantity limits, and ST for step therapy). Coverage for a listed drug depends on meeting those per‑product requirements and dispensing at network pharmacies; the document also explains policies for biosimilars and temporary transition supplies (standard temporary supply = 31 days) and directs providers to the introduction pages for symbol definitions and exception processes.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.