Quantity limits — Premium Formulary (Premium Non‑Specialty)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all AmeriHealth policy alerts
Know when AmeriHealth releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines quantity limit rules for medications on the AmeriHealth Premium Formulary for pharmacy benefit plans, describing per-drug or per-class limits and guidance for members and providers about covered quantities and plan interactions.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria and General Rules
General quantity limit coverage
Covered when within specified quantity limits
If quantities exceed listed limits, coverage may be denied or prior authorization required.
Opioid therapy quantity rules
Opioid-specific coverage rules
Multiple opioid products have individualized limits listed in the formulary.
Quantity limits by product and patient opioid experience
Coverage follows preset quantity limits that differ for patients 'new to opioid treatment' versus 'experienced with opioid treatment'.
Multiple hydrocodone/ibuprofen strengths referenced with varying experienced‑user caps
ER formulations and product variants repeated across chunks
Liquid concentration referenced as 1 mg/mL in multiple chunks
3 vs 6 supps/day appears consistently in several chunks
Formulation- and experience-based quantity limits
Covered when within the following formulation- and experience-based quantity limits
Repeated across multiple entries
Conserved across chunks
Document contains repeated, sometimes inconsistent listings
Chunks contain partial text
Per‑day quantity limits (initial/short course)
Quantity limits for hydromorphone formulations are applied based on patient opioid experience and formulation. Covered when the prescription does not exceed the following per‑day limits (as stated):
Appears repeatedly across chunks
Appears repeatedly across chunks
Text is repetitive and fragmented
Daily quantity limits by formulation and patient opioid experience
Quantity limits for hydromorphone formulations (applies when dispensing for outpatient, non‑specialty use):
See chunks 72,75
See chunks 72,74
See chunks 72,76,81
Formulation-specific short-term quantity limits
Quantity limits apply when prescriptions are filled for hydromorphone formulations; limits differ by formulation and whether patient is new or experienced with opioid treatment.
chunks 90,98
chunks 90,98
chunks 90,95
chunks 102,103,109
Quantity limits by formulation and patient opioid experience
Coverage is allowed when prescription quantities conform to these per‑formulation limits (distinguishing opioid‑naïve vs experienced patients):
chunks 108,112,121
chunks 108,112,117
chunks 108,123,126
chunks 108,111
chunks 108,110
Product‑specific quantity limit rule
Quantity limits applied per product depending on patient opioid experience
Examples enumerated per formulation in the document (hydromorphone, morphine, meperidine, oxycodone, PROLATE products).
Illustrative product limits
Examples of specific per‑day limits in document
Multiple repeated listings across chunks reference these limits.
See product lines for exact per‑product values.
Quantity limit rules (new vs experienced opioid treatment)
Quantity limits are applied based on patient opioid-treatment status and product strength/formulation.
General quantity limit rules
- New to treatment examples: PROLATE TAB 5‑300 MG: 6 tabs/day for up to 7 days; PROLATE TAB 7.5‑300 MG: 4 tabs/day for up to 7 days; PROLATE TAB 10‑300 MG: 3 tabs/day for up to 7 days; tramadol IR examples include 3–6 tabs/day for up to 7 days.durations up to 7 days
Document shows multiple repeated examples
- Experienced treatment examples: PROLATE TAB strengths commonly limited to 8–12 tabs/day; liquid opioid formulations limited to up to 30 mL/day; tramadol ER often limited to 1 tablet/day per examples.daily limits
Document contains repeated variants across chunks
Opioid quantity limits (new vs experienced users)
Quantity limits apply as listed; for opioids the rules differ for patients new to opioid treatment vs experienced patients and supply is typically restricted to short durations (up to 7 days) for initial prescribing.
Examples appear throughout the opioid entries (see chunks 162–166).
Quantity limits for listed non‑specialty medications
Other non‑specialty medications have explicit numeric quantity limits indicated (per day, per 28/30 days, or per 365 days) usually provided adjacent to each product name.
Providers must follow the numeric limits tied to each medication listing.
If a medication on the Premium formulary has a listed quantity limit, coverage is limited to the stated quantity and time period. Amounts dispensed above those limits are not guaranteed to be covered; where this list differs from a member’s benefit plan, the benefit plan documents govern. Members with questions should contact their provider or the phone number on their ID card.
The document excerpts provided do not list any explicit product exclusions. The content focuses on numeric quantity limits per product and per patient opioid‑treatment status rather than naming products that are excluded from coverage.
Within these provided excerpts there are no explicit exclusions identified. The tables and lines presented specify per‑product quantity limits and short‑course supply restrictions but do not enumerate products that are categorically excluded from coverage.
No explicit exclusions are listed in this excerpt; the material repeats per‑formulation quantity limits (for example, hydromorphone formulations) and maximum short‑course durations without stating non‑coverage exclusions.
This portion of the document enumerates quantity limits by formulation and by patient opioid‑treatment status but does not include explicit coverage exclusions. It lists numeric per‑day and per‑course limits rather than products that are excluded.
The section excerpts present repeated quantity‑limit entries (e.g., hydromorphone tabs, suppositories, and liquids) and do not state any explicit non‑coverage exclusions. The focus is on limits that apply when the medication is covered.
No explicit non‑coverage exclusions are listed in the provided chunks. The extracted content is centered on quantity limits per product and indicates that coverage is limited to those amounts; it does not identify products that are categorically excluded from coverage in these excerpts.
Initial Therapy (New-to-Opioid) Criteria
Initial opioid therapy
Initial opioid therapy limits
See product‑specific entries for exact numeric limits.
Initial therapy limits
Initial (new-to-opioid) therapy quantity caps
Exact tab or mL limits vary by product entry in the formulary.
Referenced repeatedly
Appears across chunks
Initial therapy limits
Initial opioid therapy limits
Stated repeatedly
Initial therapy quantity limits
Initial/short-course limits based on opioid experience:
Initial therapy
Initial opioid therapy quantity limits (short course):
chunks 72,75
Initial therapy limits
Short-course initial therapy limits
chunks 90,99,102
Initial therapy limits
Initial therapy quantity rules distinguish opioid‑naïve (new) versus experienced patients:
Initial (new to opioid treatment) quantity limits
Initial (new to opioid treatment) quantity limits
Values are product specific and appear throughout the document chunks.
Initial therapy
Initial (new-to-treatment) therapy quantity limits — examples provided by product strength.
Document repeats these examples across multiple chunks.
Initial opioid therapy limits
Opioid initiation limits
See opioid entries across chunks 162–166.
Product-Specific Quantity Limits
Drug Mentions and Coding Notes
| NDC not listed | No NDCs provided in this section; only product names and strengths are listed |
| PROLATE TAB 5-300 MG | Combination opioid tablet example listed with varying quantity limits |
| PROLATE TAB 7.5-300 MG | Combination opioid tablet example listed with varying quantity limits |
| PROLATE TAB 10-300 MG | Combination opioid tablet example listed with varying quantity limits |
| tramadol ER tab | Tramadol extended-release tablet; listed limit 1 tablet/day in places and other limits elsewhere |
| tramadol tab 25 mg | Tramadol immediate-release 25 mg tablet; various new/experienced limits listed |
Provider Actions, Documentation & Prior Authorization
Quantity limits govern coverage amounts
Quantity limits listed in the Premium formulary define the amount of a drug that will be covered (e.g., tablets per day, mL per day, per‑fill or per period). When a medication includes a quantity limit, coverage is limited to the specified amount and timeframe; quantities above the listed limit may not be covered and could require payer review.
- Coverage limited to the specified per‑day, per‑fill, or time‑period quantity as shown in the formulary table.
- If quantities exceed the listed limit, coverage may be denied or prior authorization may be required.
Quantity limits govern coverage
Coverage is managed primarily by preset quantity limits rather than explicit prior‑authorization conditions in this section; follow the formulary’s stated per‑day and per‑fill limits when prescribing.
- Quantity limits specify daily tablets or mL and short‑course durations (commonly up to 7 days for new opioid starts).
- When differences exist between this list and a member’s benefit plan, the benefit plan documents govern.
Quantity limits based on opioid treatment experience
Opioid quantity limits differ depending on whether the patient is new to opioid treatment or experienced; new‑to‑treatment patients are subject to lower per‑day quantities and shorter course durations (commonly up to 7 days).
- Examples: hydromorphone liquid (1 mg/mL) — 10 mL/day for new patients vs 18 mL/day for experienced patients.
- Hydromorphone suppository 3 mg — 3 supps/day (new) vs 6 supps/day (experienced).
Quantity limits may trigger prior authorization
Quantity limits are defined by formulation and patient opioid‑experience status; prescriptions exceeding the stated limits may require prior authorization per payer processes.
- Standard non‑specialty per‑day limits (liquid, suppository, tablet) are listed; prior authorization may be required for amounts above those limits.
- Some items (starter/titration packs) imply special handling when supplies differ from standard limits.
Prior authorization for quantities above limits
If a prescription exceeds the formulary quantity listed for a medication or for the patient’s opioid‑experience category, submit a prior authorization with supporting documentation (medical necessity) as required by the payer.
- Follow payer prior authorization processes when requesting quantities above the formulary limit.
- Maintain documentation of medical necessity for override or prior‑authorization requests.
Quantity limits enforcement
The formulary presents enforced quantity limits by formulation and patient status; prescribers must ensure prescriptions conform to the listed per‑day and per‑course limits to avoid adjudication issues.
- Pharmacy adjudication will reference the formulary per‑fill and period limits when determining allowed dispense quantity.
- Amounts above the listed limits may be reduced at point of adjudication or denied.
Prior authorization for quantities above limits
Requests for quantities above the listed daily or course limits for opioid formulations may be subject to prior authorization review; providers should expect review when exceeding the stated per‑day limits for the patient’s experience status.
- Quantity limits are applied per formulation (e.g., hydromorphone tabs, suppositories, liquid) and differ for new vs experienced patients.
- Prior authorization may be required if prescribing beyond the listed per‑day amounts or the up‑to‑7‑day initial supply.
Quantity limits vary by patient opioid experience
Prescribers must follow per‑product quantity limits that vary by whether the member is new to opioid treatment or experienced; determine and apply the appropriate limit for each product when submitting claims or prior‑auth requests.
- Limits differ by product and formulation (e.g., hydromorphone tabs/supps/liquid have separate limits).
- Use the patient’s opioid‑treatment status to select the applicable per‑day limit.
Prior authorization for quantities above limits
When prescribing amounts above the formulary’s daily limits for listed products, anticipate that a prior authorization may be required and that the request must document the rationale and medical necessity.
- Some liquid formulations and tablet strengths list higher experienced‑user limits; requests above those listed amounts may require PA.
- The formulary and its limits are effective July 1, 2026; follow payer PA procedures for exceptions.
Quantity limits — prior authorization may be required
Quantity limits are specified per medication (examples include opioid limits expressed as tablets per day or mL per day and short‑course caps up to 7 days); prescribers seeking quantities above these limits may need to submit a prior authorization per payer process.
- Examples: many opioids limited by tabs/day for up to 7 days; other agents have per‑28/30/365‑day limits shown in the formulary.
- If a requested quantity exceeds the listed limit, follow the prior‑authorization process and supply documentation.
Prior authorization implication
Some products (e.g., starter packs or titration packs) imply special handling; prior authorization or additional review may be required when supplies differ from standard quantity limits.
- Examples in the document reference starter or titration packs that may require special consideration.
- Contact payer or follow PA guidance if prescribing starter/titration packs outside standard limits.
Prior authorization for quantities above limits
Some requests above the stated quantity limits may require prior authorization per payer process; the formulary limits are effective July 1, 2026 and the list is subject to updates.
- Claims exceeding listed quantity limits may be subject to denial or prior authorization review.
- The formulary is regularly updated; verify current limits when submitting requests.
Step therapy (not specified)
Quantity limit rules are established using FDA‑approved indications, medication labeling, and accepted clinical recommendations; the formulary does not define a step‑therapy sequence in this section.
- Quantity limits are based on FDA uses, label instructions, and clinical guidance.
- No explicit step‑therapy sequences are specified in this extract.
Step therapy not specified
No step‑therapy sequences are provided in this fragment; the policy focuses on numeric quantity limits and on determining whether a patient is 'new to opioid treatment' or 'experienced' as part of applying those limits.
- Determination of 'new' vs 'experienced' opioid treatment functions as a step when applying quantity limits.
- Providers should not assume step‑therapy requirements from this extract; follow separate step‑therapy policy documents if applicable.
Coverage limited to listed quantity
If a medication includes a quantity limit, only the specified amount will be covered; members should contact their provider or the phone number on their ID card for questions.
- Coverage is limited to the listed quantity limits; amounts above the listed limits may not be covered.
- Members should consult their benefit documents or contact the payer for questions.
Document patient opioid treatment status
Prescriptions must indicate whether the patient is new to opioid treatment or experienced so the correct per‑day limit and allowable short‑course duration (commonly up to 7 days for new starts) are applied.
- Document opioid‑treatment status on the prescription or accompanying prior‑auth request.
- New‑to‑treatment examples: lower per‑day limits and up to 7 days maximum supply.
Document whether the patient is new to opioid treatment or experienced
Prescribers should document the patient’s opioid‑treatment status (new vs experienced), the prescribed formulation, and the daily volume/number to justify that the requested quantity falls within policy limits or to support an override/PA request.
- Include formulation (liquid/tablet/suppository), concentration or strength, and intended daily dose and duration when submitting claims or PA.
- Maintain supporting clinical documentation when requesting quantities above listed limits.
Patient experience status required
Prescriptions should indicate patient opioid‑experience status because different per‑day limits apply (examples: hydromorphone liquid 10 mL/day for new vs 18 mL/day for experienced; suppositories 3 vs 6 per day).
- Ensure prescriptions include the patient status so the pharmacy can apply the appropriate limit at adjudication.
- Differentiate prescribing for new vs experienced opioid treatment to align with formulary limits.
Prescriber should document opioid treatment status
Prescribers should document opioid‑treatment status (new vs experienced) on prescriptions to determine applicable daily limits and allowable duration (initial prescriptions for new patients are commonly limited to up to 7 days).
- Documentation supports correct adjudication and avoids denials for exceeding formulary limits.
- If exceeding the limit, include medical necessity documentation with any PA request.
Document patient opioid experience
Prescriptions should state whether the patient is new to opioid treatment or experienced, because limits differ by status and formulation; this information is used by pharmacy adjudication to apply the correct per‑day limit.
- Include new vs experienced status when submitting claims to ensure correct per‑day limit is applied.
- Limits for new patients typically include both lower per‑day counts and a short‑course cap (up to 7 days).
Documentation of treatment status
Providers must adhere to the formulary’s daily tablet or liquid limits for new versus experienced opioid patients; documentation distinguishing status may be required by the plan to support coverage for the requested quantity.
- Follow the listed per‑product daily limits (examples: PROLATE tabs limits and liquid mL/day values) based on patient status.
- When requesting >listed limits, supply rationale and supporting documentation for PA.
Match prescription to listed quantity limit
Present prescriptions with dosing and intended duration consistent with the stated per‑day and per‑fill limits (for example, short opioid prescriptions are commonly limited to up to 7 days for new starts).
- Match dispense quantity to the per‑day limit and intended days’ supply to avoid denials or reductions at adjudication.
- If a larger supply is clinically indicated, prepare documentation to support a PA or override request.
Documentation for dispensing
Pharmacies will adjudicate claims against the formulary per‑fill and period quantity limits; providers should ensure the dispense request matches those limits or submit a prior authorization with supporting documentation.
- Pharmacy adjudication may reduce or deny quantities above the listed limits at point of sale.
- Include formulation, daily dose, and intended duration to facilitate correct dispensing.
Documentation for override requests
When requesting quantities above the listed limits, maintain documentation supporting medical necessity and include it with the prior authorization or appeal as required by the payer; the formulary is subject to updates.
- Keep clinical records explaining why the higher quantity is necessary for the patient.
- Provide detailed dosing, duration, prior treatment history, and any relevant clinical notes with PA requests.
Coverage is limited to the listed quantity limits
Coverage is limited to the listed quantity limits; amounts above the listed limits may not be covered and could be denied or reduced during claims adjudication.
- If a medication includes a quantity limit, only the specified amount will be covered.
- Claims exceeding the published limits are subject to denial or reduced quantity at point of adjudication.
Quantity exceedance may trigger denial
Prescriptions that exceed the listed per‑day or duration limits (for example, exceeding the new‑patient or experienced‑patient per‑day tablet or mL limits or supplies longer than the stated short‑course durations) may be denied.
- Examples: hydromorphone limits (liquid/supps/tabs) and many opioids restricted to up to 7 days for new starts.
- Requests above listed per‑day amounts (e.g., >10 mL/day for new liquids, >18 mL/day for experienced liquids, >3 supps/day for new users) risk denial.
Patient opioid‑treatment status must be documented
Prescriptions should indicate whether the patient is new to opioid treatment or experienced so adjudicators can apply the appropriate per‑day limit and short‑course policy; failure to document status may lead to application of the lower (new‑patient) limits or denial.
- Document status on the prescription or include it in the PA request to ensure correct application of limits.
- If status is unclear, the plan may apply the more restrictive new‑patient limits.
Definitions and Terms
Step Therapy Notes
| Step | Description |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| Quantity limit rules are based on FDA‑approved uses, medication instruction labels, and accepted clinical recommendations; this table lists per‑product quantity limits rather than specifying step‑therapy sequences. |
| Step | Description |
|---|---|
| 1 | |
| Determine whether the patient is 'new to opioid treatment' or 'experienced with opioid treatment'; this determination is used to select the applicable per‑day quantity limit (examples: PROLATE TAB 5‑300 mg = 6 tabs/day for new patients up to 7 days; experienced patients limited to 12 tabs/day). |
Background and Intent
Quantity limits are program rules intended to reduce the risk of overuse and to align supply with safe dosing and approved indications. Limits are established using FDA‑approved uses, manufacturer labeling, and accepted clinical guidance; when a drug on the Premium formulary has a quantity limit, only the specified amount and duration will be covered unless prior authorization allows an exception.
Revision History
Quantity limits and formulary changes became effective; the Premium formulary quantity limits listed are effective July 1, 2026.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.