Back Pain - Non Invasive Treatments
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Aetna Policy 0232 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 0232 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Aetna's clinical policy bulletin governing coverage and medical necessity of non‑invasive interventions for back pain, including selected therapies, devices, and procedures, for Aetna members and providers.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage and Medical Necessity Criteria
Back school (medical necessity)
Covered when ALL of the following are met
See CPB 0325 - Physical Therapy
Therapeutic procedures and back school (conditional coverage)
Covered when selection criteria are met
97530 not covered for Khan Kinetic Treatment; see related policy CPB 0325 - Physical Therapy
Experimental / Investigational interventions
Not covered / Experimental and investigational
Hand-held dynamometers (e.g., Lafayette, Nicholas, Hoggan) are considered integral to manual muscle testing and are not separately reimbursed.
Evidence-to-coverage considerations
Coverage considerations based on evidence summarized in this section:
Supports restrictive coverage or utilization review prior to use
May require prior authorization and documentation of baseline and follow-up functional measures (e.g., 6MWT, TUG, NRS, ODI)
Considered investigational or conditional depending on plan policy and demonstration of clinical benefit
Routine coverage not supported; may be considered only for select short-term indications after conservative measures
Back school delivered for occupational or employer-directed purposes may be excluded from coverage. Benefit plan language and related policy provisions (for example, CPB 0250 - Occupational Therapy and CPB 0198 - Work Hardening Programs) should be reviewed to determine whether a specific member’s back school visits are a covered benefit under the member’s plan.
Current guideline guidance from the North American Spine Society (2020) states that traction is not recommended to provide clinically significant improvements in pain or function for patients with subacute or chronic low back pain (Grade of Recommendation: A), indicating that routine coverage of traction modalities for these indications is not supported by the guideline.
The policy identifies specific HCPCS/CPT items and devices that are not covered for the indications listed. Examples include E0830 (ambulatory traction device) and K1004 (sustained acoustic medicine home ultrasonic device). Providers should reference the coding section for the full list when submitting claims for device- or procedure-based interventions.
Systematic review evidence summarized in the policy shows that gabapentinoids (gabapentin, pregabalin) do not demonstrate clear benefit for chronic low back pain and are associated with an increased risk of adverse events (dizziness, fatigue, cognitive impairment, visual disturbances). Given the limited efficacy and documented harms, use of gabapentinoids for chronic low back pain should be approached cautiously and may be subject to utilization review or considered not medically necessary for this indication.
Relevant CPT / HCPCS / ICD-10 Codes
| 97110 | Therapeutic procedure, one or more areas, each 15 minutes; therapeutic exercises to develop strength and endurance, range of motion and flexibility. |
| 97140 | Manual therapy techniques (e.g., mobilization/manipulation, manual lymphatic drainage, manual traction), one or more regions, each 15 minutes. |
| 97530 | Therapeutic activities, direct (one-on-one) patient contact (use of dynamic activities to improve functional performance), each 15 minutes [not covered for Khan Kinetic Treatment]. |
| 97012 | Application of a modality to 1 or more areas; traction, mechanical. |
| 97545 | Work hardening/conditioning; initial 2 hours. |
| 97546 | Each additional hour (List separately in addition to code for primary procedure). |
| 97750 | Physical performance test or measurement, with written report, each 15 minutes. |
| Hand held dynamometer | No specific CPT code; listed as not covered for indications in the CPB. |
| Auricular acupressure | No specific CPT code; listed among interventions for back pain. |
| Cupping therapy | No specific CPT code; listed among interventions for back pain. |
| Gabapentinoids | No specific CPT/HCPCS; pharmacologic agents listed as interventions (gabapentin, pregabalin). |
| Kinesiotaping | No specific CPT code; listed among interventions for back pain. |
| S9117 | Back school, per visit. |
| M54.00 | |
| M54.9 | Dorsalgia |
Provider Responsibilities, Prior Authorization, and Billing Guidance
Coverage tied to selection criteria for listed codes
Certain CPT and HCPCS codes (for example, 97110, 97140, 97530, and HCPCS S9117) are covered only when the selection/medical necessity criteria in this policy are met; conversely, specific HCPCS/CPT items and named devices (for example, E0830 ambulatory traction device and K1004/Sustained Acoustic Medicine) are identified as not covered for the indications listed in this bulletin.
Prior authorization for home‑use / device therapies
Devices described as prescription home‑use (for example, Sustained Acoustic Medicine) and device therapies with limited evidence (for example, HFIT) may require prior authorization and supporting documentation of prior conservative therapy and objective functional measures.
- SAM is described as a prescription home‑use mechano‑transductive device and is listed among emerging device therapies.
- HFIT and SAM have preliminary short‑term trial data; prior authorization may be required with documentation of baseline function and short‑term follow‑up measures (6MWT, TUG, NRS, ODI, PGIC).
Prior authorization requirements not specified in this excerpt
This excerpt of the policy does not specify concrete prior authorization procedures, affected billing codes, or stepwise authorization triggers; the document instead provides policy history and administrative information.
- Policy history and review dates are listed (effective 03/25/1998; last review 04/26/2023; next review 02/22/2024).
- No explicit prior authorization workflow or authorization triggers are defined in these chunks.
Follow policy coverage criteria and plan benefit terms
Providers should follow the policy's coverage criteria and documentation guidance when requesting services; the policy lists provider‑relevant actions (see other callouts) but does not add additional unspecified obligations in these chunks.
- Adhere to coverage/medical necessity statements (e.g., back school must be prescribed and conducted by appropriate clinicians).
- Check plan benefit descriptions for exclusions (e.g., occupational back school).
Do not routinely substitute traction for active PT; consider only selective, short‑term use
Traction modalities have limited and generally low‑quality evidence and should not routinely replace active physical therapy; traction may be considered only after appropriate conservative measures and for specific short‑term indications consistent with guideline recommendations.
- Investigators reported insufficient high‑quality data to support routine benefit from intermittent vertical lumbar traction.
- North American Spine Society (2020) guideline: traction is not recommended to provide clinically significant improvements in pain or function for subacute or chronic LBP (Grade A).
No step therapy mandates specified
No step therapy requirements (a mandated sequence of therapies) are described in the extracted policy chunks.
- The policy provides evidence summaries and coverage considerations but does not set explicit step therapy rules in these excerpts.
Prescribe and document clinician‑delivered back school
Back school is medically necessary only when prescribed by the member's doctor and conducted by a physical therapist or other appropriate recognized healthcare professional; ensure prescriptions and provider credentials are documented.
- Back school must be prescribed by the member’s doctor.
- The program must be conducted by a physical therapist or other appropriate recognized healthcare professional.
Document baseline and short‑term device outcome measures
When proposing coverage for emerging or home‑use device therapies (for example HFIT or SAM), document baseline function and short‑term follow‑up outcome measures (such as 6MWT, TUG, NRS, ODI, PGIC) and record device usage to support clinical effect.
- HFIT trial used 6MWT (primary), TUG, ODI, NRS, PGIC and weekly follow‑up for 4 weeks.
- SAM systematic review reported functional measures (dynamometry, ROM), pain intensity and global change; document comparable baseline and follow‑up measures.
Administrative disclaimer and provider responsibilities
Clinical Policy Bulletins are administrative guidance and do not constitute offers of coverage or medical advice; participating providers remain responsible for treatment decisions and should check plan benefit terms for coverage determinations.
- CPBs provide a general description of plan benefits and are subject to change.
- Providers are independent contractors and responsible for medical advice and treatment of members.
Verify coverage for occupational back school
Back school provided for occupational purposes may be excluded from coverage depending on the member’s benefit plan; verify benefit plan descriptions before billing or providing services.
- Policy explicitly notes back school for occupational purposes may be excluded (see CPB 0250 and CPB 0198).
- Confirm member’s plan benefits for exclusions prior to authorization or delivery.
Expect denials for experimental / investigational devices
Interventions identified as experimental and investigational (including MedX, Isostation B‑200, Kin‑Com, Cybex, Biodex, JTECH Tracker Freedom and other listed devices/therapies) are considered not proven effective and may be denied as investigational.
- Listed experimental devices: MedX Lumbar/Cervical, Isostation B‑200, Kin‑Com, Cybex Back System, Biodex System 3, JTECH Tracker Freedom.
- Other listed investigational interventions include auricular acupressure, cupping, Khan Kinetic Treatment, Orthotrac vest, sustained acoustic medicine, etc.
Prescribing gabapentinoids for CLBP may trigger utilization review
Use of gabapentinoids (gabapentin, pregabalin) for chronic low back pain has limited evidence of benefit and increased risk of adverse events; prescribing these agents for CLBP may prompt utilization review or denial.
- Systematic reviews found minimal or no clinically meaningful pain benefit and increased rates of dizziness, fatigue, cognitive difficulties and visual disturbances.
- Authors concluded use of gabapentinoids for CLBP merits caution given lack of effectiveness and safety concerns.
Authorization/denial triggers not specified here
No specific authorization or denial triggers are provided in these chunks; the policy excerpts list review dates and administrative history but do not define discrete authorization/denial conditions beyond the coverage and investigational statements.
- Policy history and review dates are presented (effective date, last review, next review).
- Authorization/denial triggers beyond the policy's criteria and investigational listings are not specified in these excerpts.
Background and Rationale
Quantitative (computerized) muscle testing devices and branded isokinetic/isometric machines (for example, MedX lumbar/cervical extension devices, Isostation B‑200, Kin‑Com, Cybex, Biodex, and systems such as JTECH Tracker) are referenced in the policy background. The policy notes limited evidence that these devices provide superior outcomes compared with manual muscle testing or standard exercise equipment, and several branded devices are listed among interventions considered investigational because effectiveness has not been established. Hand‑held dynamometers are described as portable tools integral to manual muscle testing and are not separately reimbursed.
Device and Term Definitions
Policy History and Administrative Dates
Policy last reviewed on 04/26/2023; review notes recorded in policy history.
Policy became effective on 03/25/1998.
Next scheduled review date set for 02/22/2024.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.