Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS) / Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD): Treatments
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Aetna Policy 0447 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 0447 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines Aetna's medical necessity, experimental/investigational determinations, and coding guidance for treatments of CRPS/RSD affecting members covered by Aetna when specified criteria are met.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria for CRPS / RSD Treatments
Continuous epidural analgesia - Medical necessity
Continuous epidural analgesia is considered medically necessary when ALL of the following are met:
If criteria not met, continuous epidural analgesia is considered experimental/investigational.
Sympathetic blocks - Medical necessity and limits
Sympathetic blocks are considered medically necessary when the following conditions are met:
Abandon if immediate response not observed after first or second block per guidance.
Neurostimulation
Dorsal column stimulators (spinal cord stimulation) and related neuromodulation:
Refer to CPB 0194 for full device-specific criteria; trial stimulation outcome required for implant requests.
Experimental / Investigational
Interventions considered experimental and investigational (partial list):
See policy text for complete list and trial-level limitations.
General coverage criteria (interpretive)
Covered when ALL of the following are met (interpretive — based on evidence summaries in document):
Derived from guideline and evidence summaries; documentation of prior conservative treatment failure and trial results is required for advanced interventions.
Ketamine — evidence summary
Evidence-based efficacy statements (study-level findings):
Dosing and duration vary across studies; document prior conservative therapy failure and monitoring during infusion.
Bisphosphonates
Bisphosphonates:
Further randomized trials are needed; monitor for adverse effects associated with bisphosphonates.
Interventional therapies
Neuromodulation and procedural interventions:
Efficacy may diminish over time; document trial and implant outcomes.
Evidence limited to small pilot trials.
IVIG
Immunologic therapy:
Study-level result; not sufficient for broad coverage without additional evidence.
Coverage stance and clinical considerations
Coverage considerations reflected by guideline statements and reviews in the document
Stated in UpToDate and state workers' compensation guidance (Washington State, Colorado).
Cochrane review identified very limited randomized data.
Evidence summaries and considerations
Evidence and clinical findings relevant to consideration of these therapies:
Document prior conservative therapy failure and informed consent; monitoring protocols used in trials should be followed.
Not widely endorsed as standard therapy.
Optimal type and dosing not established.
Largest RCT supports DRGS for lower-extremity CRPS but further independent studies are advised.
DRG stimulation — study-based criteria
Evidence summary notes (not formal coverage criteria):
Largest RCT evidence supports DRGS for lower-extremity CRPS; further RCTs recommended.
Evidence summaries for investigational/adjunctive therapies
Summary of evidence-based and investigational therapies (no explicit cover/not-cover decisions in this excerpt):
Feasibility data only.
Limited retrospective data.
Preliminary case-series evidence only.
Case-level evidence.
Feasibility data only.
Insufficient peer-reviewed data.
Single-case evidence.
Insufficient evidence.
Negative RCT.
Preliminary encouraging but low-quality evidence.
Amputations and major surgical procedures listed in the coding tables (for example, interthoracoscapular forequarter amputation and multiple limb amputation codes) are not supported as treatments for CRPS when performed for the purpose of pain relief. The policy references surgical amputation codes and specific not-covered CPTs and states that amputation for pain relief may worsen CRPS and is not recommended as routine therapy; amputation should be considered only in exceptional circumstances such as intractable infection or other dire indications documented in the medical record.
The evidence base for many therapies reviewed is limited, and interventions without supportive randomized controlled trial data or with negative/insufficient trial results are not supported for routine coverage. The systematic review identified 41 RCTs but concluded that only a few interventions (notably bisphosphonates in selected patients) have clear benefits; other agents and approaches (for example, calcitonin, vasodilators, and certain sympatholytic IV regional blockade) have not demonstrated consistent benefit and therefore are not supported by the available RCT evidence.
Surgical amputation for the primary purpose of pain relief in CRPS is discouraged. The Royal College of Physicians guidance and the policy state that amputation may worsen CRPS and can lead to recurrence in the stump; therefore amputation should only be considered in rare, exceptional circumstances (for example, intractable infection) with careful patient selection and documentation.
Certain devices and intrathecal agents are not supported as standard therapies. A widely used clinical reference (UpToDate) does not mention the use of compression sleeves as a management tool for CRPS, and intrathecal adenosine and intrathecal clonidine are not described as standard therapeutic options in that review. These items therefore are not recommended as routine management based on the cited clinical summaries.
Randomized trial evidence does not support routine use of low-dose intravenous immunoglobulin (0.5 g/kg) for long-standing moderate-to-severe CRPS. A multicenter, double-blind RCT (n=111) found no significant difference in average pain between IVIG and placebo over the primary outcome interval; thus routine use of low-dose IVIG for long-standing CRPS is not supported by that trial.
The policy emphasizes a conservative-first approach: therapies not described as standard in UpToDate or guideline reviews should be considered investigational or adjunctive until further high-quality evidence is available. Several interventions summarized in the literature are either experimental or have limited/uncertain benefit and therefore should not be considered standard care without further evidence and appropriate documentation of prior conservative management.
Sympathetic (stellate or lumbar) blocks may be used as a diagnostic or short-term therapeutic trial, but repetition beyond the initial trial is limited. The policy supports up to 3 initial sympathetic blocks to establish diagnosis or therapeutic effect, and states that additional injections beyond these are not medically necessary unless provided as part of a documented comprehensive pain management program. Repeat sympathetic blocks should not be performed more frequently than once every 7 days.
A number of interventions summarized in the review lack supportive evidence from well-designed randomized trials and are therefore considered investigational or not medically necessary. Examples include prolonged anesthetic-dose 'ketamine coma' and various novel or device-based approaches for which peer-reviewed efficacy data are insufficient; such interventions may be declined or require additional justification and documentation of prior therapies.
Botulinum toxin injected intradermally or subcutaneously into allodynic skin did not improve pain and was poorly tolerated in a pilot study. The trial reported no significant benefit and limited tolerability, and therefore botulinum toxin for this indication is not supported by the available evidence.
Transcranial direct current stimulation (tDCS) added to graded motor imagery did not provide additional pain reduction compared with GMI plus sham in a small randomized proof-of-concept study; evidence is insufficient to support routine coverage of tDCS for CRPS at this time.
Prism adaptation treatment was evaluated in a double-blind randomized controlled trial (n=49) for upper-limb CRPS‑I and showed no benefit over sham treatment. Improvement over time occurred in both groups, but PA did not demonstrate efficacy beyond sham, and UpToDate does not list prism adaptation as a recommended therapeutic option.
Coding and Billing Guidance
| 01996 | Daily hospital management of epidural or subarachnoid continuous drug administration. |
| 62324 | Injection(s), including indwelling catheter placement, continuous infusion or intermittent bolus, interlaminar epidural or subarachnoid, cervical or thoracic. |
| 62325 | Injection(s), including indwelling catheter placement, continuous infusion or intermittent bolus, interlaminar epidural or subarachnoid, cervical or thoracic. |
| 62326 | Injection(s), including indwelling catheter placement, continuous infusion or intermittent bolus, interlaminar epidural or subarachnoid, lumbar or sacral (caudal); without imaging guidance. |
| 62327 | Injection(s), including indwelling catheter placement, continuous infusion or intermittent bolus, interlaminar epidural or subarachnoid, lumbar or sacral (caudal); with imaging guidance (ie, fluoroscopy or CT). |
| 63650 | Percutaneous implantation of neurostimulator electrode array, epidural. |
| 63655 | Laminectomy for implantation of neurostimulator electrodes, plate/paddle, epidural. |
| 63661 | Removal of spinal neurostimulator electrode percutaneous array(s), including fluoroscopy, when performed. |
| 63662 | Removal of spinal neurostimulator electrode plate/paddle(s), placed via laminotomy or laminectomy, including fluoroscopy, when performed. |
| 63663 | Revision including replacement, when performed, of spinal neurostimulator electrode percutaneous array(s), including fluoroscopy, when performed. |
| 23900 | Interthoracoscapular amputation (forequarter). |
| 32554 | Thoracentesis, needle or catheter, aspiration of pleural space; without imaging guidance. |
| 32555 | Thoracentesis, needle or catheter, aspiration of pleural space; with imaging guidance. |
| 64555 | Percutaneous implantation of neurostimulator electrode array; peripheral nerve. |
| 64702 | Neuroplasty (Exploration, Neurolysis or Nerve Decompression). |
| 76942 | Ultrasonic guidance for needle placement, imaging supervision and interpretation. |
| L8685 | Implantable neurostimulator pulse generator, single array, rechargeable, includes extension. |
| L8686 | Implantable neurostimulator pulse generator, single array, non-rechargeable, includes extension. |
| L8687 | Implantable neurostimulator pulse generator, dual array, rechargeable, includes extension. |
| L8688 | Implantable neurostimulator pulse generator, dual array, non-rechargeable, includes extension. |
| L8680 | Implantable neurostimulator electrode, each. |
| L8681 | Patient programmer (external) for use with implantable programmable neurostimulator pulse generator. |
| G90.50 | Complex regional pain syndrome (CRPS I). |
| G90.59 | Other complex regional pain syndrome. |
| No codes listed |
Provider Actions, Prior Authorization and Documentation
Prior authorization required for listed CRPS procedure codes
Prior authorization is required for the CPT/HCPCS codes listed in the policy when used for CRPS treatments and only when the policy’s selection criteria are met. Refer to the listed codes (e.g., 01996, 62324–62327, 63650, 63655, 63661–63664, 63685, 63688, 64479, 64510–64530, L8680–L8688, etc.) when submitting requests.
- Prior authorization applies only when selection criteria in this Clinical Policy Bulletin are not met, or when implant/testing of neuromodulation is planned.
- Supply documentation that demonstrates the member meets the applicable selection criteria in the policy.
Recommend prior authorization for high‑resource interventions
For resource-intensive interventions (for example, multi-day ketamine infusions, spinal cord or DRG stimulation, intrathecal pumps), prior authorization is recommended and requests should document refractory disease and prior therapies attempted.
- Include evidence of failed conservative management and rationale for escalation.
- Resource-intensive outpatient infusions should note supervising clinician and monitoring plans.
Prior authorization appropriate for multi‑day IV ketamine and IV therapies
Prior authorization is appropriate for multi-day IV ketamine infusions and other IV therapies in chronic refractory CRPS; requests should include documentation of prior conservative therapy failures and indicate the treatment is for selected, refractory patients.
- Provide baseline pain scores and monitoring plan (e.g., continuous ECG, pulse oximetry, BP monitoring every 15 minutes as in outpatient infusion studies).
- Document prior conservative therapy attempts and why IV therapy is being considered.
DRG stimulation requires prior conservative failure and trial documentation
Dorsal root ganglion stimulation (DRGS) requests should document prior conservative management failure and evidence of a successful trial stimulation (trial outcome, targeted levels) before permanent implantation.
- Document trial stimulation results (e.g., proportion pain relief, VAS/NRS scores) and absence of stimulation‑related neurological deficits.
- Indicate targeted DRG levels (e.g., L2–L4 for knee CRPS) and prior conservative therapies attempted.
Document trial stimulation success and outcome measures for DRG implantation
When seeking permanent DRG stimulation implantation, document successful trial stimulation and provide trial‑to‑implantation outcome measures (e.g., percentage pain relief, VAS/NRS), because DRG implant decisions are supported by trial data and case series.
- Cite trial success thresholds when available (ACCURATE trial used ≥50% VAS decrease as an efficacy threshold).
- Include follow‑up outcome measures if prior implants/trials exist.
Neuromodulation implantation usually requires prior trial documentation
Requests for implantation of neuromodulation devices (DRG stimulator, spinal cord stimulator, percutaneous PNS) typically require documentation of prior trial success and failure of conservative therapies; provide device trial data and relevant prior therapy history.
- Attach trial stimulation reports, pain scores, and evidence of prior conservative management failure (PT, medications, etc.).
- For novel/combined device approaches, include supporting case series or trial data when available.
No additional authorization process specified in this excerpt
This excerpt does not list specific plan-level prior authorization forms, portals, or additional affected codes beyond those listed in the CPT/HCPCS tables; check member benefits and utilization management procedures for any payer‑specific prior authorization processes.
- Policy text notes that Clinical Policy Bulletins assist in administering benefits but do not guarantee coverage; follow plan-specific authorization channels.
Document prior conservative therapy and failed PT before advanced interventions
Providers must document trials of conservative therapy — including exercises, physical modalities, and medications — and a failed trial of physical therapy before considering continuous epidural analgesia or sympathetic interventions.
- Document duration of pain (>3 months) and specific conservative therapies tried and their durations.
- For sympathetic blocks, note that conservative treatments (including analgesia and PT) must have failed prior to initial trial injections.
Document prior attempts of evidence‑backed conservative therapies
The policy emphasizes consideration of evidence‑backed conservative therapies (e.g., bisphosphonates, motor/sensory learning programs) and documents prior attempts at these therapies before proceeding to experimental or high‑risk interventions.
- If bisphosphonates or motor imagery programs were tried, include treatment dates, dosing, and response.
- Explain why other evidence‑backed conservative measures were insufficient in refractory cases.
Adopt a conservative‑first approach before interventional therapy
Guidance reflects a conservative‑first approach: initial conservative management including analgesics and physical therapy should be attempted before considering sympathetic blocks, sympathectomy, or other invasive procedures.
- State which conservative therapies were used and the duration of each.
- Use Budapest Criteria documentation to confirm diagnosis prior to invasive therapies when applicable.
Document trials of movement representation and physiotherapy before invasive procedures
Conservative therapies such as graded motor imagery, mirror therapy, and physiotherapy‑based interventions are reasonable early options prior to invasive procedures; document trial and response to these modalities when claiming refractory status.
- Provide details of motor imagery or mirror therapy programs (duration, frequency) and measured outcomes.
- Note that evidence quality is low to very low, but these are recommended conservative options before invasive therapy.
No explicit step‑therapy sequences specified in this excerpt
The policy excerpt does not define explicit step therapy sequences or mandated order of conservative therapies; there are no prespecified step therapy requirements in this portion of the document.
- While no mandated sequences are provided, document prior conservative therapies and rationale for chosen escalation pathways.
- Providers should still supply evidence of attempted conservative care when requesting advanced interventions.
Provide prior conventional therapy attempts before adjunctive/novel therapies
The document expects that adjunctive or novel therapies be considered after standard therapies; provide documentation of prior attempts and responses to conventional treatments before requests for experimental or combined approaches.
- For combined DRG and DCS or novel device use, include supporting trial/case series evidence and prior standard therapy history.
- Explain why standard interventions (PT, medications) were inadequate.
Step therapy requirements not specified in this section
The policy expressly notes that no formal step therapy requirements are described in this portion of the bulletin; absence of step therapy language means clinicians must still document prior conservative care but are not bound to a mandated sequence here.
- Confirm any payer‑specific step therapy rules separately, as this bulletin does not establish them.
- Provide complete conservative treatment history with authorization requests.
Required clinical documentation: pain history, conservative therapy, and block results
Clinical documentation must include duration of pain, prior conservative therapies (exercises, PT, medications), results of nerve block trials, and enrollment in a comprehensive pain management program when repeat sympathetic blocks or continuous epidural analgesia are requested.
- For continuous epidural analgesia, confirm pain >3 months, failed PT, and failed nerve block trials.
- When requesting repeat sympathetic blocks beyond three injections, include evidence of the comprehensive pain program components.
Document prior conservative failure and treatment‑resistant designation for refractory therapies
When requesting refractory treatments such as anesthetic‑dose ketamine or DRGS, include detailed documentation of prior conservative treatment failure, designation of treatment‑resistant status, and specific dosing/course details for infusions.
- For ketamine infusions, include infusion duration, dose escalation plan, and prior conservative therapies attempted.
- State why the patient qualifies as treatment‑resistant or refractory.
Documentation required for IV therapy requests: baseline scores and monitoring
For IV therapies (e.g., ketamine), include objective baseline pain scores and functional measures and monitoring details because many IV therapy trials enrolled refractory patients with documented baseline measures.
- Provide baseline VAS/NRS scores and functional assessments.
- Describe monitoring during infusion (ECG, pulse oximetry, BP monitoring frequency) as used in outpatient protocols.
Provide supporting documentation: diagnosis, prior treatments, and trial outcomes
Recommended supporting documentation for advanced or investigational interventions includes prior conservative therapy attempts, CRPS diagnosis consistent with Budapest Criteria, prior treatment failures, and trial stimulation outcomes for device requests.
- Attach Budapest Criteria assessment or equivalent documentation to support diagnosis.
- Include trial stimulation outcomes, percentage pain relief, and device‑related follow‑up when applicable.
Include clinical trial evidence and outcome measures for investigational device requests
When requesting DRG stimulation or other investigational interventions, include clinical trial evidence and outcome measures (e.g., VAS/NRS scores, percentage pain relief, trial‑to‑permanent success) to support the request.
- Reference available RCT or cohort evidence where applicable (ACCURATE trial for DRGS used ≥50% VAS reduction threshold).
- Supply device trial reports and follow‑up outcome data.
Document CRPS diagnosis using Budapest Criteria
Clinical documentation must support a CRPS diagnosis using the Budapest Criteria (documenting symptoms and signs across sensory, vasomotor, sudomotor/edema, and motor/trophic categories and exclusion of alternate diagnoses).
- Include recorded signs/observations and reported symptoms that map to Budapest Criteria categories.
- Document exclusion of other diagnoses that better explain the findings.
Administrative note — policy bulletins do not guarantee coverage
Clinical Policy Bulletins assist in benefit administration and do not guarantee coverage; treating providers remain responsible for medical advice and must follow plan‑specific authorization and documentation requirements.
- Policy statements do not constitute contract or guarantee of benefits; verify member benefits and authorization requirements separately.
Denial risk if epidural analgesia criteria not met
Continuous epidural analgesia is medically necessary only when all selection criteria are met (pain >3 months despite conservative therapy, failed PT, failed nerve blocks); otherwise it is considered experimental/investigational and may be denied.
- Ensure documentation demonstrates each required selection criterion before billing for continuous epidural analgesia.
- If criteria are not met, expect the treatment to be considered experimental/investigational and at risk for denial.
Denial risk for excessive sympathetic block frequency or lack of benefit
Sympathetic blocks beyond three injections without documented therapeutic benefit, or repeated outside a comprehensive pain program, may be denied; do not repeat more frequently than once every 7 days.
- Initial trial limited to up to 3 injections to establish diagnosis/therapeutic effect.
- If no relief after three injections, additional injections are not medically necessary and may be denied.
Denial risk for therapies without well‑designed RCT evidence
Treatments lacking supportive RCT evidence (many interventions reviewed) may be considered unsupported by evidence and are subject to denial if billed as proven therapies; provide high‑quality evidence when seeking coverage for such interventions.
- Interventions without adequate RCT support (e.g., numerous listed investigational therapies) should include supporting peer‑reviewed evidence in requests.
- Expect additional review or denial when robust evidence is absent.
Denial risk for sympathectomy without clear prior therapy failure
Sympathectomy (chemical or surgical) should be used cautiously and generally only after failure of other treatment options; lack of high‑quality evidence may lead to denial if attempted earlier or broadly.
- Because randomized, controlled evidence is minimal, justify sympathectomy with prior conservative treatment failure and case‑by‑case rationale.
- Anticipate careful review and potential denial without documented prior management attempts.
Evidence limitations may trigger additional review or denial
Evidence limitations — including high heterogeneity, variable dosing/duration, small sample sizes, and short‑term benefits (e.g., ketamine pain relief often <3 months) — may trigger documentation requests or denial for routine coverage without supporting clinical rationale.
- Meta‑analyses and systematic reviews note heterogeneity and short duration of effect for IV ketamine; include clinical rationale and monitoring data.
- Provide long‑term outcome data where available to support coverage.
No specific authorization/coding denial triggers listed here
The excerpt does not specify explicit authorization or coding‑based denial triggers beyond the general statements above; verify payer‑specific coding and authorization policies.
- No additional coding‑based denial triggers are specified in this portion of the policy.
- Confirm plan‑specific utilization management rules when submitting claims.
Insufficient peer‑reviewed evidence may lead to denial for proprietary devices
Lack of peer‑reviewed published data for certain proprietary devices or novel therapies (e.g., Sanexas electroanalgesia) may lead to noncoverage or denial when billed without supporting evidence.
- When proposing use of devices with limited peer‑reviewed data, include any available studies and justify clinical rationale.
- Expect denials in the absence of published supporting evidence.
No administrative denial triggers specified; verify plan applicability
Administrative denial risks are not detailed in this section; policy history and review dates are provided which may affect applicability — check plan dates and member benefits for current applicability.
- Policy last reviewed 02/27/2024; verify member eligibility and policy version at time of service.
- Administrative or benefit‑limit denials are managed per plan documents, not by this CPB text alone.
Definitions and Diagnostic Criteria
Conservative Treatment and Prerequisites
inv-74: Failed conservative therapy and failed PT required (> 3 months)
Documented conservative therapy prerequisites for certain advanced interventions:
Document prior conservative treatments and responses in the medical record.
inv-75: Failure of conservative treatments (documentation required)
Documentation required to support failure of conservative treatments before interventional procedures:
Records should include duration, modalities tried, and objective measures of response (eg, pain scores, functional limitations).
inv-76: Document prior conservative therapy failure before advanced interventions.
Prior conservative therapy failure should be documented before advanced interventions and device implantation:
Refer to CPB 0194 for device-specific trial-to-implantation documentation requirements.
inv-78: Document failure of conservative measures prior to invasive neuromodulation or anesthetic-dose ketamine.
Document conservative therapy failure prior to considering invasive neuromodulation or anesthetic-dose ketamine:
Clinical records should include objective baseline pain scores and prior treatment durations and responses.
inv-79: Conservative treatment nodes (placeholder)
Conservative treatment components that may be considered in documenting prior therapy attempts:
Document specific modalities, durations, and objective measures of effect or failure.
inv-80: Document prior conservative therapy attempts and trial stimulation success for device implantation requests.
Requirements for device implantation requests:
Refer to CPB 0194 and ACCURATE trial metrics for DRG/SCS trial success definitions.
inv-81: Section does not specify conservative treatment requirements; references literature and guidelines.
Notes regarding conservative treatment requirements in this section:
Providers should supply documentation of prior therapies and rationale when requesting advanced interventions.
Frequency and Quantity Limits
Imaging and Procedural Guidance
Use fluoroscopy/CT for specified epidural, transforaminal, and neurostimulator procedures
Epidural injections, transforaminal injections, and neurostimulator electrode placement codes indicate imaging guidance (fluoroscopy or CT) where specified in coding descriptors; perform and document imaging guidance for those codes.
- 62327 and 64479–64484 specify fluoroscopy or CT guidance.
- Neurostimulator electrode placement codes reference fluoroscopy when performed.
Monitoring requirements during ketamine infusions (ECG, SpO2, BP q15min)
Ketamine infusion protocols described in outpatient studies included continuous ECG, pulse oximetry, and non-invasive blood pressure monitoring every 15 minutes during infusions; document monitoring used.
Obtain MRI as indicated to exclude alternative diagnoses
MRI may be useful to exclude alternative diagnoses and should be used as part of the diagnostic workup when indicated; document imaging findings when used to support CRPS evaluation.
Document DRGS lead placement and targeted levels
DRGS implantation documentation should include lead placement details and the targeted levels (e.g., lumbar leads for knee CRPS such as L2–L4) and report trial stimulation results.
- Document number and location of percutaneous leads.
- Include trial outcome and programming/coverage notes.
DRG lead placement: document percutaneous technique and imaging guidance
DRG lead placement in published series used conventional percutaneous techniques with imaging guidance implied; when applicable document imaging guidance and lead targeting.
Use and document imaging guidance for percutaneous PNS when performed
For percutaneous peripheral nerve stimulation (PNS), published reports recommend using imaging (e.g., ultrasound) when described; document imaging guidance if used for needle/lead placement.
No general imaging prerequisites specified — follow procedure-specific guidance
No specific imaging prerequisites are provided in this part of the document for other therapies; follow code descriptors and local standards and document any imaging performed.
Not Covered / Experimental Therapies
The policy identifies a broad list of experimental and investigational therapies that are not supported by current peer‑reviewed evidence or guideline summaries. Examples include (but are not limited to) Sanexas electroanalgesia, intrapleural analgesia, propofol infusions for CRPS, various novel neuromodulation combinations, BEMER magneto‑therapy, prism adaptation, and other techniques not described in UpToDate or lacking robust RCT data. These approaches should be considered investigational and are not covered as standard treatments for CRPS pending adequate supporting evidence.
Duplicate listing: items listed among investigational therapies are not considered standard of care and lack sufficient peer‑reviewed evidence; billing for such modalities may be denied without adequate supporting clinical data.
Duplicate listing: specific devices and therapies described in background (for example, Sanexas electroanalgesia) are highlighted as lacking peer‑reviewed published data and remain investigational.
Duplicate listing: procedures and technologies without controlled evidence (including some noninvasive stimulation devices and novel physical modalities) are considered investigational in this policy.
Duplicate listing: investigational interventions enumerated in the policy should be evaluated in properly designed randomized trials before routine clinical adoption.
Duplicate listing: therapies without adequate supporting data are included in the policy's investigational list and are not standard treatments for CRPS.
Duplicate listing: absent convincing clinical trial evidence, these interventions remain investigational and are not covered for CRPS indications in the policy.
Duplicate listing: providers should supply robust peer‑reviewed evidence when requesting coverage for these non‑standard therapies.
Duplicate listing: absence from major evidence summaries such as UpToDate is a signal of insufficient evidence for routine use.
Duplicate listing: investigational interventions described in device or small pilot reports require confirmatory RCTs prior to being supported for routine CRPS care.
Duplicate listing: items enumerated in the investigational list remain subject to policy review as new evidence becomes available.
Low‑dose IVIG (0.5 g/kg) did not show benefit in a randomized trial for long‑standing CRPS and is not supported for routine use. BEMER magneto‑therapy showed short‑term improvements in a small pilot RCT but remains investigational pending larger, confirmatory studies; both are therefore listed as investigational in this policy.
Duplicate listing: as above, treatments without sufficient published evidence are considered investigational and are not standard therapeutic options for CRPS.
Duplicate listing: absence of robust controlled clinical data places these therapies in the investigational category.
Duplicate listing: investigational status should be revisited if high‑quality randomized data become available.
Background and Evidence Overview
Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (CRPS), also known as Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy (RSD), is a chronic neuropathic pain disorder that often follows trauma and is characterized by continuing disproportionate pain, autonomic changes, and motor/trophic disturbances. Management emphasizes a conservative, multidisciplinary approach (e.g., physical therapy, analgesics, motor/sensory retraining), with interventional therapies considered for refractory cases. Dorsal root ganglion stimulation and other neuromodulation approaches have emerging evidence in selected patients, but many other interventions remain experimental or supported only by small trials.
Evidence summaries and considerations in the policy highlight that some interventions (for example, ketamine infusions, bisphosphonates, IVIG, and neuromodulation) have shown short‑term or condition‑specific benefits in small trials or pooled analyses, but overall the literature is limited by small sample sizes, heterogeneity of dosing and populations, and inconsistent functional outcomes. These limitations affect coverage determinations: interventions with consistent, high‑quality RCT evidence or guideline support may be considered under specified criteria, whereas therapies supported only by small or negative trials are treated as investigational or not medically necessary.
Policy Revision History
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.