Vascular Endothelial Growth Factor Inhibitors for Ocular Indications
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Aetna Policy 0701 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 0701 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
This policy governs medical necessity, precertification, and coverage criteria for vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) inhibitor injections for ocular indications under Aetna commercial medical plans, and identifies required prescriber specialties and continuation criteria.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria for Intravitreal VEGF Inhibitors
Aflibercept (Eylea) Initial Therapy
Aflibercept (Eylea and listed biosimilars) considered medically necessary for treatment of:
Must be prescribed by or in consultation with an ophthalmologist.
Aflibercept Continuation
Continuation of aflibercept therapy is medically necessary when ALL of the following are met:
Bevacizumab (Avastin) Initial Therapy
Bevacizumab (Avastin and listed biosimilars) considered medically necessary for treatment of:
Must be prescribed by or in consultation with an ophthalmologist.
Bevacizumab (Avastin) Continuation
Continuation of bevacizumab therapy is medically necessary when ALL of the following are met:
Brolucizumab (Beovu) Initial Therapy
Brolucizumab (Beovu) considered medically necessary for treatment of:
Must be prescribed by or in consultation with an ophthalmologist.
Brolucizumab Continuation
Continuation of brolucizumab therapy is medically necessary when ALL of the following are met:
Intravitreal faricimab-svoa (Vabysmo) — Initial and Continuation
Aetna considers intravitreal faricimab-svoa (Vabysmo) medically necessary for the following when prescribed by or in consultation with an ophthalmologist:
All other indications are considered not medically necessary; continuation allowed with demonstrated positive clinical response (improvement or maintenance in BCVA or visual field, or reduction in rate of vision decline).
Intravitreal ranibizumab products — Initial and Continuation
Aetna considers intravitreal ranibizumab products medically necessary for specified retinal disorders when prescribed by or in consultation with an ophthalmologist:
All other indications are considered not medically necessary; continuation allowed with demonstrated positive clinical response.
Intravitreal ranibizumab injection (Susvimo) — Initial and Continuation
Aetna considers intravitreal ranibizumab injection (Susvimo) and the Susvimo ocular implant medically necessary for listed indications only when ALL criteria are met:
Similar all-criteria logic applies for diabetic macular edema and diabetic retinopathy indications as listed.
Product-specific dosing and coverage
Covered when dosing and indication align with FDA-approved prescribing information and policy statements
Implant refills and procedures require aseptic technique (refill q24 weeks for nAMD/DME; q36 weeks for DR).
Source: Eylea prescribing information.
Source: Eylea prescribing information.
Source: Eylea prescribing information.
Source: Eylea ROP dosing.
Source: Eylea HD prescribing information.
Product-specific dosing (informational)
Dosage and administration recommendations by product and indication
Manufacturer prescribing information referenced.
Source: Novartis, 2023.
Source: Genentech, 2023.
Manufacturer prescribing information referenced.
Source: Genentech, 2025c.
Dosing / Administration (informational)
Dosing and administration recommendations (agent-specific) — informational dosing guidance provided; coverage is contingent on meeting selection criteria elsewhere in the policy.
Novartis, 2023.
Genentech, 2023.
Manufacturer prescribing information.
Genentech, 2025c.
Not Medically Necessary / Contraindications
Not medically necessary / contraindication
Per policy contraindication statement.
Experimental/Investigational/Unproven
Experimental, investigational, or unproven uses
See policy list for full items.
See policy list for full items.
Concurrent use of >1 VEGF inhibitor in same eye is considered experimental/unproven.
General coverage criteria for intravitreal VEGF inhibitors
Covered when ALL of the following are met for the listed agents:
See coding module for exact code ranges.
PA may be required for listed HCPCS/J/Q codes per authorization module.
Monitor for known injection-related risks such as endophthalmitis and retinal detachment.
Coverage aligned with FDA indications
Covered when consistent with FDA-approved indications and dosing supported by pivotal trials:
Supported by pivotal trials cited in the policy (VIEW, VISTA/VIVID, PULSAR, PHOTON, TENAYA/LUCERNE, YOSEMITE/RHINE, BALATON/COMINO).
Evidence summaries (no explicit coverage rules in this segment)
Evidence summaries and study findings relevant to potential coverage decisions
Policy notes limited evidence for routine coverage.
Informational—no change to core coverage criteria.
Supports prior-therapy documentation when requesting switches.
Background evidence and compendial indications
Evidence summaries and compendial uses
Informational evidence supporting use in PCV.
ROP indication limited to labeled products per policy.
Informational background.
Evidence-supported ocular indications (background)
Indications supported by the cited evidence in this section (clinical trial and observational reports):
Evidence strength varies by indication (randomized trials to observational series).
Use in neovascular AMD and rare CNV causes
Covered when supported by evidence or biologic plausibility and diagnostic documentation as specified below
Document treatment schedule and monitor for systemic AEs as noted in trials.
Use limited by rarity and absence of large RCTs; biologic plausibility supports therapy.
Peri-operative and pre-operative adjunctive use in PDR and vitrectomy
Use supported or investigational for selected surgical scenarios with timing considerations
Timing considerations: vascular regression occurs around day 5 and a pro-fibrotic switch increases contractile components by day ~10 post-injection.
Clinical judgment and documentation required.
Other ophthalmic uses with limited evidence
Uses reported in small trials or case series; often described as promising but requiring further study
Policy classifies many CSC uses as investigational or of limited evidence.
Insufficient evidence for routine coverage.
Evidence limited and short-term.
Clinical evidence-based indications (informational)
Clinical recommendations and evidence summaries present in the text (informational):
Level I evidence supports use.
Consider anti-VEGF as first-line in many practices despite limited RCT data.
Use judiciously and document risks and follow-up plan.
Evidence summaries and approved indications
Summaries of indications and trial findings (informational):
Informational—policy limits ROP coverage to labeled agents where specified.
Informational.
Informational.
Coverage aligned with FDA-approved indications and trial evidence
Coverage is anchored to FDA-approved indications supported by clinical trials and safety data.
Trials cited include YOSEMITE/RHINE, TENAYA/LUCERNE, BALATON/COMINO, MARINA/ANCHOR, BRAVO/CRUISE, RISE/RIDE.
Aetna considers the use of intravitreal VEGF inhibitors only for the specific ocular indications listed for each agent. All other indications not enumerated under each product’s Criteria for Initial Approval are considered not medically necessary, and experimental, investigational, or unproven. This applies to aflibercept (Eylea and listed biosimilars), bevacizumab (Avastin and listed biosimilars), brolucizumab (Beovu), and other named products unless an indication is explicitly listed as covered in the policy.
For intravitreal faricimab (Vabysmo) and for intravitreal ranibizumab products (Lucentis, Cimerli, Byooviz) and Susvimo, Aetna explicitly states that uses beyond the listed FDA‑approved ocular indications are considered not medically necessary, and therefore experimental, investigational, or unproven. Continuation/reauthorization for these agents is permitted only when a positive clinical response is documented for an approved indication.
Within the dosing and administration section the document notes that approvals may be subject to dosing limits aligned with FDA labeling, compendia, and evidence‑based guidelines, but this section does not present separate explicit exclusions beyond the agent‑specific "all other indications" statements; in other words, no additional standalone exclusion list is specified in that dosing/administration excerpt.
Dosing guidance provided for individual products reflects labeled loading and maintenance schedules (for example, aflibercept dosing of 2 mg intravitreal monthly x3 then every 8 weeks for nAMD; brolucizumab 6 mg monthly x3 then every 8–12 weeks). The policy warns that deviation from recommended dosing frequency—particularly dosing more frequently than recommended—may not be supported by efficacy data for most patients and that approvals may be subject to dosing limits consistent with FDA labeling and medication quantity limits.
The policy includes extensive lists of ICD‑10 diagnosis codes that are not considered appropriate indications for intravitreal VEGF therapy for the CPB‑listed indications. Examples of diagnoses listed as not covered include infectious and inflammatory ocular conditions (e.g., tuberculosis of the eye, zoster ocular disease, CMV retinitis), various conjunctivitides and surface inflammatory disorders, ocular neoplasms, and other non‑target retinal disorders. Providers should ensure the billed diagnosis code corresponds to a covered ocular indication for the selected drug.
Multiple ICD‑10 code ranges and disease categories are presented as not covered for the CPB indications; these include, but are not limited to, infectious eye diseases (A18.x, B02.x, B25.9), conjunctivitis and surface inflammatory codes (H10.x, H01.x), malignant neoplasms of the globe (C69.x), and specified hereditary retinal dystrophies and other non‑covered retinal conditions. The policy notes these ICD‑10 entries as examples of diagnoses for which intravitreal VEGF therapy is not covered for the listed indications.
Per product prescribing information and the policy summary, intravitreal VEGF inhibitors are contraindicated—and their use would not be supported—when there is an ocular or periocular infection, active intraocular inflammation, or known hypersensitivity to the product. The labels also highlight procedural risks (e.g., endophthalmitis, retinal detachment, acute IOP rise) and systemic warnings (potential arterial thromboembolic events) that factor into coverage and safety assessments.
Although small studies and some case series report anatomic or functional improvement with aflibercept for myopic choroidal neovascularization, the policy states that the safety and effectiveness of aflibercept for this indication still require confirmation in large, rigorous clinical trials before being considered established therapy.
For central serous chorioretinopathy (CSC), the evidence base is limited: trials are generally small, often at risk of bias, and many compared a variety of interventions (anti‑VEGF, PDT, laser, pharmacologic and other treatments). Because CSC commonly resolves spontaneously and randomized data are inconclusive, the document emphasizes that routine anti‑VEGF use for acute CSC is not clearly supported and higher‑quality RCTs are needed to define any definitive role.
The policy cites UpToDate and other references in background sections and notes that some reviews (for example, on delayed complications of cranial irradiation and on retinitis pigmentosa treatment) do not list aflibercept as a recommended therapeutic option for those non‑standard indications, supporting the position that such uses are not established in standard references.
Systematic reviews and evidence summaries cited in the background indicate that long‑term safety and efficacy data for some applications—particularly for bevacizumab and other anti‑VEGF agents in diabetic eye disease—remain limited, and higher‑quality studies are required. The policy highlights these evidence gaps and that insufficient long‑term data may limit routine authorization in certain diabetic retinopathy contexts.
Small randomized trials of intra‑operative or single‑dose subconjunctival bevacizumab as an adjunct to pterygium surgery did not demonstrate a reduction in recurrence rate or meaningful improvements in early post‑operative signs; the policy therefore characterizes such subconjunctival uses as lacking demonstrated benefit in these settings.
A retrospective series cited in the policy found that prophylactic intravitreal bevacizumab did not reduce the incidence of radiation retinopathy after stereotactic radiotherapy for choroidal melanoma in that cohort. The document therefore notes that prophylactic intravitreal bevacizumab for prevention of radiation retinopathy is not supported by that study and requires further research.
The prescribing information summaries included in the policy reiterate key contraindications common across agents: ocular or periocular infection, active intraocular inflammation, and hypersensitivity. These label contraindications are noted as potential reasons for denying or withholding intravitreal VEGF therapy.
The policy notes that pegaptanib (Macugen) has been discontinued and is no longer available in the U.S. It also highlights that anti‑VEGF therapy for uncommon indications such as hypertensive retinopathy is described only in case reports or small series and is not supported by standard references like UpToDate, indicating limited or non‑routine use.
Consistent with the agent‑specific statements, the policy reiterates that use of the named intravitreal VEGF agents for any indication not specifically listed under that product is considered not medically necessary, experimental, investigational, or unproven. This blanket NMN stance applies across aflibercept, bevacizumab, brolucizumab and other listed agents when the indication is not in the policy’s covered indications.
Specifically for faricimab (Vabysmo), the policy states that intravitreal use outside of the listed conditions (DME, neovascular AMD, and macular edema following RVO) is considered not medically necessary, experimental, investigational, or unproven; continuation is allowed only with documented positive response for an approved indication.
For ranibizumab products (Lucentis, Cimerli, Byooviz) and for ranibizumab injection via the Susvimo implant, the policy declares that all other uses beyond the listed covered indications are not medically necessary, experimental, investigational, or unproven. Susvimo also requires prior documented response to at least two intravitreal VEGF injections within the prior 6 months as part of its coverage criteria.
Some background and dosing excerpts do not include explicit "not medically necessary" statements for every agent‑indication combination; in those sections the document focuses on dosing limits, labeling, and evidence summaries rather than re‑stating NMN conditions. Nevertheless, the policy’s coverage tables and agent‑specific sections do articulate NMN determinations where applicable.
Billing and Diagnosis Codes
| Not specified in this part | Document lists product names (aflibercept/Eylea and biosimilars, brolucizumab/Beovu, faricimab/Vabysmo, ranibizumab/Lucentis/Susvimo and biosimilars, bevacizumab/Avastin and biosimilars) but specific CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes are provided elsewhere in the Codes section. |
| No codes listed |
| 67028 | Intravitreal injection of a pharmacologic agent (separate procedure). |
| 92081 | Visual field examination, limited. |
| 92082 | Visual field examination, intermediate. |
| 92083 | Visual field examination, extended. |
| 99172 | Visual function screening, automated or semi-automated. |
| 99173 | Screening test of visual acuity, quantitative, bilateral. |
| J0179 | Injection, brolucizumab-dbll, 1 mg. |
| J2779 | Injection, ranibizumab, via intravitreal implant (Susvimo), 0.1 mg. |
| C9257 | Injection, bevacizumab, 0.25mg [Avastin] [intraocular dose]. |
| J9035 | Injection, bevacizumab, 10 mg [Avastin] [chemotherapy dose]. |
| Q5107 | Injection, bevacizumab-awwb (Mvasi), 10 mg. |
| Q5118 | Injection, bevacizumab-bvzr (Zirabev), 10 mg. |
| Q5124 | Injection, ranibizumab-nuna (Byooviz), 0.1 mg. |
| Q5126 | Injection, bevacizumab-maly (Alymsys), 10 mg. |
| Q5128 | Injection, ranibizumab-eqrn (Cimerli), 0.1 mg. |
| Q5129 | Injection, bevacizumab-adcd (Vegzelma), 10 mg. |
| Q5160 | Injection, bevacizumab-nwgd (Jobevne), 10 mg. |
| H35.3210 - H35.3293 | Exudative age-related macular degeneration. |
| E08.311 - E08.37X9 | Diabetes mellitus with retinopathy with macular edema (various subcodes listed). |
| H34.8110 - H34.8192 | Central retinal vein occlusion. |
| H34.8310 - H34.8392 | Branch retinal vein occlusion [with macular edema]. |
| H44.2A1 - H44.2A9 | Degenerative myopia with choroidal neovascularization. |
| H35.3210 - H35.3293 | Exudative age-related macular degeneration. |
| H35.33 | Angioid streaks of macula. |
| H35.50 - H35.54 | Hereditary retinal dystrophies. |
| H40.89 | Other specified glaucoma [associated with vascular disorders]. |
| H44.2A1 - H44.2A9 | Degenerative myopia with choroidal neovascularization. |
| M31.8 | Other specified necrotizing vasculopathies [polypoidal choroidal vasculopathy]. |
| Q82.8 | Other specified congenital malformations of skin [pseudoxanthoma elasticum]. |
| J0177 | Injection, aflibercept HD, 1 mg. |
| J0178 | Injection, aflibercept, 1 mg. |
| Q5147 | Injection, aflibercept-ayyh (Pavblu), biosimilar, 1 mg. |
| A18.50 - A18.59 | Tuberculosis of eye (listed among ICD-10 codes not covered for indications in CPB). |
| A51.43 | Secondary syphilitic oculopathy [chorioretinitis] (not covered). |
| B02.30 - B02.39 | Zoster ocular disease (not covered). |
| B25.9 | Cytomegalovirus disease (retinitis) (not covered). |
| C69.20 - C69.32 | Malignant neoplasm of retina and choroid (not covered). |
| H00.011 - H00.029 | Hordeolum externum (not covered). |
| H01.001 - H01.009 | Blepharitis (not covered). |
| J0178 | Injection, aflibercept, 1 mg. |
| NCT02307682 | HAWK clinical trial identifier. |
| NCT02434328 | HARRIER clinical trial identifier. |
| KESTREL | Phase 3 trial for brolucizumab in DME. |
| KITE | Phase 3 trial for brolucizumab in DME. |
| TENAYA | Phase 3 trial for faricimab in nAMD. |
| LUCERNE | Phase 3 trial for faricimab in nAMD. |
| YOSEMITE | Phase 3 trial for faricimab in DME. |
| RHINE | Phase 3 trial for faricimab in DME. |
| BALATON | Phase 3 trial for faricimab in branch RVO-associated macular edema. |
| COMINO | Phase 3 trial for faricimab in central/hemiretinal RVO-associated macular edema. |
| No codes listed |
Precertification, Prior Authorization, and Documentation Requirements
Precertification required
Precertification is required for listed intravitreal VEGF inhibitors for all Aetna participating providers and members in applicable plan designs; call (866) 752-7021 or fax (888) 267-3277 and submit Statement of Medical Necessity (SMN) forms via Specialty Pharmacy Precertification.
- Precertification applies to listed products including aflibercept (Eylea, biosimilars), brolucizumab (Beovu), faricimab (Vabysmo), ranibizumab (Lucentis, Susvimo, biosimilars).
Susvimo prior-response requirement
For Susvimo (ranibizumab intravitreal injection/implant), the member must have previously responded to at least two intravitreal injections of a VEGF inhibitor (e.g., Avastin, Eylea) within the past 6 months before Susvimo is considered medically necessary.
Dosing limits and Susvimo implant
Approvals may be subject to dosing limits consistent with FDA labeling, accepted compendia, and Aetna specialty medication quantity limits; the Susvimo implant is considered medically necessary only when criteria for intravitreal ranibizumab injection are met.
- Dosing limits referenced to Medical Specialty Medication Quantity Limits.
- Susvimo implant use tied to meeting intravitreal ranibizumab (Susvimo) criteria.
Use manufacturer dosing schedules for authorization
When requesting authorization, reference the manufacturer's FDA-approved dosing schedules for the specific product (for example, aflibercept 2 mg schedules, brolucizumab 6 mg schedules) as the rationale for the requested regimen.
- Aflibercept: typical 2 mg loading then q8w maintenance (product-specific variations in chunks 55–66).
- Brolucizumab: 6 mg loading then q8–12w maintenance (chunks 71–72).
Coverage tied to listed CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes
Coverage and billing should be linked to the CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes listed in the policy; these procedure and drug codes are covered when the policy selection criteria are met (examples include CPT 67028 and listed J/Q HCPCS codes and the covered ICD-10 diagnosis ranges).
- Example procedure code: 67028 (intravitreal injection).
- Example HCPCS/J/Q codes listed for agents (see policy code tables).
- Covered ICD-10 ranges tied to indications (e.g., H35.3210–H35.3293 for exudative AMD; E08–E13 series for diabetic retinopathy/DME).
PA required when billing listed injectable codes
Prior authorization is required when billing the listed HCPCS/J/Q codes for intravitreal VEGF inhibitors and biosimilars; coverage is contingent on meeting selection criteria and appropriate ICD-10 diagnosis linkage.
Document indication and dosing for PA
Prior authorization requests must document the specific ocular indication and the dosing regimen intended (e.g., 2 mg q4w or q8w for aflibercept, or HD dosing per PULSAR) to support approval.
- Indicate indication (DME, nAMD, RVO, etc.) and specific dosing schedule per product label.
- Include whether loading then maintenance schedule is planned (product-specific).
PA background (no new PA codes specified)
(Background note) This background section provides clinical context and does not itself specify additional prior authorization codes or requirements beyond the policy's PA statements and code tables.
Document prior therapy and OCT/VA when switching for RVO‑CME
When switching therapy for persistent CME after prior ranibizumab/bevacizumab, prior authorization should document prior anti‑VEGF treatment history and objective measures such as central foveal thickness (CFT ≥300 μm) and visual acuity at time of switch.
- Document duration and number/dates of prior injections and baseline CFT (≥300 μm used in the reported switch study).
- Provide rationale for switch to aflibercept with supporting OCT/VA data.
Prior authorization (no details in excerpt)
(Not present) This block placeholder corresponds to a segment not included in the excerpt and therefore does not add specific PA actions.
Support PA with diagnosis, BCVA, OCT, prior injections
Prior authorization requests should be supported by documented diagnosis, baseline and follow‑up best-corrected visual acuity (BCVA) and OCT measurements, and the number and dates of prior intravitreal injections to demonstrate medical necessity.
- Include BCVA/ETDRS scores and OCT-measured retinal thickness (CFT/CST) at baseline and follow-up.
- List prior treatment history (agent, dose, dates, number of injections).
CATT evidence may support bevacizumab PA decisions
Clinical evidence from randomized trials (for example, CATT) supports bevacizumab use for neovascular AMD with visual outcomes comparable to ranibizumab; prior authorization should consider such trial-based indications and weigh safety signals noted in trials.
- CATT showed equivalence in VA at 1 year between bevacizumab and ranibizumab; monitor for higher serious systemic adverse events with bevacizumab reported in CATT.
PA background (clinical evidence only)
(Background only) This section provides clinical background and evidence summaries and does not specify additional prior authorization requirements in this excerpt.
Specify drug and regimen in PA request
Include the specific drug and regimen in the prior authorization request (for example, brolucizumab 6 mg with planned q8/q12‑week maintenance after loading; faricimab 6 mg up to q16w or PTI schedules) and provide clinical justification.
- State intended maintenance interval (e.g., q12w, q16w) and disease-activity assessment schedule used to justify extended intervals.
- If requesting HD or non-standard dosing reference the supporting trial (e.g., PULSAR).
PA for labeled indications: document diagnosis, prior therapy, findings
For FDA‑approved labeled indications, prior authorization typically requires documentation of diagnosis, prior treatments as applicable, and clinical findings demonstrating ongoing need aligned with labeled use.
- Confirm the request is for an FDA‑approved ocular indication (nAMD, DME, RVO‑associated macular edema, DR, ROP for specified agents).
- Provide dosing regimen consistent with product labeling and trial‑based schedules.
Brand selection / step therapy may apply
Aetna commercial plans may require trial of a lower‑cost preferred medication within the same therapeutic class before approving a higher‑cost drug; refer to the Aetna Commercial Clinical Program Summary for preferred drug lists.
- Check plan-level preferred drug requirements prior to requesting higher-cost agents.
- Document trial of preferred agent and response when applicable.
Susvimo prior‑response summary for PA
Summary: Susvimo implant is only covered after demonstration of prior response to at least two intravitreal injections of a VEGF inhibitor within the past 6 months; document prior response and that implant will be used as required.
- Ensure Susvimo PA includes dates and agents of the two prior responsive intravitreal injections.
- Confirm implant will be used in conjunction with intravitreal ranibizumab injection per labeling.
Include loading to maintenance dosing in authorization plan
When authorizing initial courses, note loading followed by maintenance intervals per product labeling (for example, monthly loading doses then transition to q8w or individualized intervals) and document planned schedule in the request.
- Aflibercept typical loading: monthly x3 (or x5 for DME) then every 8 weeks maintenance per product.
- Beovu and Vabysmo have specified loading/maintenance schedules—include these in PA rationale.
Concurrent VEGF inhibitors in same eye not accepted
Concurrent use of more than one VEGF inhibitor in the same eye is considered experimental, investigational, or unproven and is not an accepted therapy sequence; do not request simultaneous agents for the same eye.
- If considering multiple agents, document rationale and acknowledge policy states combinational use in same eye is experimental/unproven.
Use comparative trial context in PA rationale
Clinical trials comparing aflibercept with ranibizumab or laser (and other comparative studies) may be used to justify choices in PA requests and support sequencing decisions when prior therapies were tried.
- Reference relevant trial data (e.g., VIEW, VISTA/VIVID) when justifying use of aflibercept over alternatives.
Document prior therapy trials when requesting switches
Consider documenting prior trials of alternative anti‑VEGF agents or PDT when requesting a switch to another agent for refractory disease; prior therapeutic trials reported in literature may inform approval decisions.
- For refractory PCV or CNV, include prior therapy history and imaging (ICGA/OCT) demonstrating lesion characteristics and prior response.
Provide prior treatment history to justify therapeutic sequencing
Therapeutic sequencing (e.g., switching from ranibizumab to aflibercept after failure or combining with PDT) is described in the literature; when used to justify a non-standard sequence, provide prior treatment history and objective measures.
Step therapy may consider laser alternatives
When step‑therapy considerations involve laser photocoagulation as an alternative, document why anti‑VEGF is preferred and reference comparative trials versus macular laser where applicable.
- If electing anti‑VEGF instead of laser, include OCT/VA evidence and rationale referencing trial results showing benefit over delayed or no anti‑VEGF.
CATT comparative data may inform step therapy
Comparative effectiveness data such as CATT showing similar efficacy between bevacizumab and ranibizumab may be cited in step‑therapy decisions between agents.
Step therapy: no explicit sequencing mandated in excerpt
(Informational) CATT and other comparative trials are discussed in the background but no explicit step therapy sequencing is mandated in the policy excerpt.
How to precertify (phone/fax and SMN forms)
Precertification can be obtained by phone at 866-752-7021 or by fax at 888-267-3277; Statement of Medical Necessity (SMN) precertification forms are available through Specialty Pharmacy Precertification.
Document positive clinical response (BCVA/OCT) for continuation
Document clinical evidence of positive response for continuation or reauthorization requests, including BCVA (ETDRS or Snellen) and OCT measures showing decreased retinal thickness or stable/improved vision.
- Include comparative BCVA measures (baseline and follow-up) and OCT central subfield thickness or CFT trends to support continuation.
- State whether response represents improvement or maintenance of vision per policy continuation criteria.
Document Susvimo implant use and dosing per label
For Susvimo implant requests, document that use is accompanied by ranibizumab intravitreal injection and that dosing aligns with FDA labeling and referenced prescribing information; note refill intervals and any supplemental injections planned.
- State Susvimo refill plan (refill-exchange every 24 weeks for nAMD/DME or every 36 weeks for DR) and any anticipated supplemental 0.5 mg intravitreal injections.
- Confirm strict aseptic conditions for implantation and refill procedures.
Cite manufacturer/trial sources for nonstandard dosing
When using nonstandard regimens or supporting alternative dosing, cite manufacturer prescribing information or the referenced pivotal trials as justification in the prior authorization submission.
- Provide manufacturer source and year (e.g., Celltrion USA 2025 for Eydenzelt; Novartis 2023 for Beovu) when requesting deviations from standard schedules.
Susvimo procedures require strict aseptic technique
Initial implantation, refill‑exchange, and implant removal procedures for Susvimo require strict aseptic technique; document that procedures will be performed under such conditions.
Link ICD-10 diagnosis codes to documented clinical findings
Required diagnostic documentation must link the billed ICD-10 diagnosis to the documented clinical findings (for example, diabetes with retinopathy codes for DME or H34.8110–H34.8192 for CRVO with macular edema).
- Ensure submitted ICD-10 codes correspond to the covered ranges in the policy and include supporting clinical evidence (OCT/VA).
Include supporting trial identifiers and regimens in PA
When requesting authorization, list the pivotal trials and their dosing regimens that support the indication (examples: BUTTERFLEYE, FIREFLEYE, PULSAR for aflibercept; TENAYA/LUCERNE for faricimab) as applicable to the clinical rationale.
- Reference trial endpoints (BCVA changes at specified timepoints) and how the requested regimen aligns with trial protocols.
Provide prior treatment history and objective measures for switches
For switches or continuation, include prior treatment history and objective outcome measures (BCVA and OCT) as recommended clinical documentation to justify ongoing or altered therapy.
- For RVO‑CME switch cases include prior anti‑VEGF duration/number of injections and baseline CFT (≥300 μm where study criteria applied).
- For PCV or POHS CNV include ICGA/OCT lesion characterization and prior response to therapy.
Required clinical outcome documentation for PA
Document required clinical outcomes to support authorization such as BCVA/ETDRS scores, OCT-measured retinal thickness (CFT/CST), and treatment history (number and dates of prior intravitreal injections).
- Provide baseline and follow-up BCVA and OCT/CFT measurements; list prior injection dates and agents.
Document FDA indication, regimen, and disease‑activity evidence
Required clinical documentation for authorization should include the FDA‑approved indication, the dosing regimen used (including loading and maintenance intervals), and evidence of disease activity guiding the chosen interval.
- Specify whether extended intervals (e.g., faricimab up to q16w) are based on protocol-defined disease‑activity assessments and provide those assessment results.
Use trial efficacy endpoints to support authorization
Use trial efficacy endpoints (e.g., change in BCVA at 6 or 24 months) and diagnosis‑specific trial results when providing efficacy documentation to support authorization for long‑term or high‑cost regimens.
Failure to precertify may risk noncoverage
Failure to obtain precertification for listed VEGF inhibitors may result in noncoverage or denial of payment.
Off‑label indications may be denied
Use of agents for indications other than those listed (for example, faricimab beyond DME, nAMD, and RVO) is considered not medically necessary and may be denied if requested for unlisted indications.
Non‑listed Susvimo/ranibizumab uses considered NMN
Use of ranibizumab products or the Susvimo implant for indications not listed in the policy is considered not medically necessary/experimental and may be denied.
Dosing limits and frequency deviations may affect approval
Approvals may be subject to dosing limits in accordance with FDA labeling, accepted compendia, and evidence‑based practice guidelines; requests for more frequent dosing than recommended may not be supported.
- Deviations to more frequent dosing should include efficacy justification and supporting trial or manufacturer evidence.
More‑frequent‑than‑label dosing may not be supported
Dosing more frequently than recommended (for example, more frequent than manufacturer‑specified intervals) may not be supported by efficacy data and could risk non‑approval.
Ocular infection/endophthalmitis is denial trigger
VEGF inhibitors are contraindicated and would be denied for persons with endophthalmitis or ocular/periocular infection; document absence of these contraindications.
- Contraindications per label also include active intraocular inflammation and hypersensitivity—these would likely lead to denial.
Diagnosis‑code linkage required for coverage
Use of specific ICD‑10 codes is required for coverage of certain drugs; absence of a covered diagnosis code (for example, diabetes with retinopathy codes for DME or H34.8110–H34.8192 for CRVO) may trigger denial.
- Ensure billed ICD‑10 codes match the covered ranges listed in the policy code tables to avoid denial.
Label contraindications may lead to denial
Contraindications per product labels include ocular or periocular infection, active intraocular inflammation, and hypersensitivity; use in these conditions would likely be denied.
Procedural/coverage denial triggers not specified here
(Placeholder) Specific procedural or other coverage denial triggers are not detailed in the excerpted background and trial sections.
Limited CSC evidence may affect authorization
Because evidence for many interventions in central serous chorioretinopathy (CSC) is low quality and inconsistent, lack of strong RCT evidence may lead to denial or requests for additional justification for aflibercept use in CSC.
Not applicable (no excerpt content)
(Placeholder) No actionable requirement present in the excerpt for this block.
Safety evidence gaps may affect authorization
Potential systemic safety evidence gaps (for example, arterial thromboembolic events) in diabetic patients and other safety concerns may affect authorization decisions if safety data are inadequate for a given patient.
- Document comorbidities and risk factors when requesting therapy for high‑risk patients.
Require documentation of active CNV for rare indications
Use for rare causes of choroidal neovascularization should be limited to patients with visual loss due to active CNV documented by fluorescein angiography or OCT; absence of such documentation may risk denial.
- Provide FA or OCT evidence of active CNV when requesting bevacizumab for rare CNV indications.
Background — no explicit PA triggers here
(Placeholder) No specific PA/denial triggers are stated in these background excerpts for this block.
ROP safety/ documentation may affect authorization
Use of anti‑VEGF agents in premature infants requires judicious consideration because systemic VEGF suppression and long‑term effects are uncertain; insufficient documentation of indication/severity for type I ROP could risk denial.
- When treating ROP, document severity (Type I, zone, plus disease), rationale for anti‑VEGF vs laser, and plans for extended follow‑up.
Serious adverse events/contraindications affect authorization
Contraindications, serious adverse events (ocular/periocular infection, hypersensitivity, endophthalmitis) and documented safety concerns are important safety‑related authorization risks and may lead to denial.
Background and Clinical Evidence
Intravitreal VEGF inhibitors are a class of agents administered for retinal vascular and neovascular disorders (e.g., DME, diabetic retinopathy, macular edema from RVO, neovascular AMD, and, for select agents, ROP). They work by inhibiting VEGF‑mediated vascular permeability and neovascularization and are approved for multiple ocular indications when used according to labeled dosing regimens and applicable trial‑supported schedules.
Definitions and Key Terms
Policy Revision History
Policy last reviewed; aflibercept (Eylea and listed biosimilars) dosing and indications described including PULSAR trial results for Eylea HD (noninferiority to 2 mg q8).
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.