Enfuvirtide (Fuzeon)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Aetna Policy 0671 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 0671 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines Aetna's medical necessity criteria, dosing notes, experimental uses, and coding guidance for enfuvirtide (Fuzeon) injections for treatment-experienced patients with HIV-1; applies to Aetna benefit administration.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria for Enfuvirtide (Fuzeon)
inv-01: Initial Approval — ANY of the following are met
Aetna considers enfuvirtide medically necessary when ANY of the following are met:
From policy criteria
From policy criteria
inv-02: Continuation of Therapy — ALL of the following are met
Continuation of therapy is considered medically necessary when ALL of the following are met:
From policy continuation section
Use of enfuvirtide (Fuzeon) for treatment‑naive HIV‑infected persons and for treatment of COVID‑19 is considered experimental and investigational (not covered). Aetna’s determination reflects that effectiveness for these indications has not been established.
This Clinical Policy Bulletin is provided to assist in administering plan benefits and contains only a partial, general description of plan or program benefits; it does not constitute a contract or an offer of coverage. Treating providers remain responsible for medical advice and treatment. The bulletin may be updated and is subject to change.
Indications for enfuvirtide outside the specified treatment‑experienced HIV‑1 population — for example, use in treatment‑naive persons or for management of COVID‑19 — are considered experimental/investigational and not medically necessary under this policy. Requests for such indications are at risk for denial; when coverage is being considered for HIV‑1, ensure the member meets the treatment‑experienced criteria and document the appropriate diagnosis code (B20) and supporting clinical information.
Coding Guidance
| J1324 | Injection, enfuvirtide, 1 mg |
| B20 | Human immunodeficiency virus [HIV] disease |
| U07.1 | COVID-19 |
Provider Actions, Prior Authorization and Documentation
Prior Authorization Required
Prior authorization required. Requests must document that the member is treatment‑experienced with viremia despite prior therapy (≥3 months on at least one appropriate HIV regimen) or has viremia with documented resistance or intolerance to at least one appropriate HIV regimen. Include applicable billing code J1324 when submitting claims.
- Prior authorization required showing treatment‑experienced status or documented resistance/intolerance
- Billing code: J1324 (Injection, enfuvirtide, 1 mg)
Prior Authorization: administrative details not specified
The policy text does not specify additional prior authorization administrative details (such as submission portal, forms, or phone numbers). Consult the payer's provider resources or the Clinical Policy Bulletin Notes for administrative instructions.
No specific authorization/denial workflow provided
No specific authorization or denial algorithm beyond the clinical criteria is provided in the referenced policy sections. Administrative review and usual medical‑necessity adjudication apply; requests not meeting the listed clinical criteria may be denied.
- Requests not meeting the initial approval criteria (viremia despite ≥3 months therapy or documented resistance/intolerance) are subject to denial
Required Supporting Clinical and Coding Documentation
Supporting clinical documentation must demonstrate treatment‑experienced status or documented resistance/intolerance and current viremia (laboratory results, prior regimen history, resistance testing or documented intolerance). Include ICD‑10 code B20 when criteria are met; do not use U07.1 (COVID‑19) for coverage.
- Clinical: viral load results showing viremia; prior antiretroviral treatment history (≥3 months on ≥1 appropriate regimen) or resistance test results; documentation of intolerance if applicable
- Coding: ICD‑10 B20 for HIV disease when criteria met; J1324 for enfuvirtide; U07.1 (COVID‑19) is a not‑covered indication per policy
Step therapy: not specified
Step therapy is not specified in the provided policy text beyond the requirement that the member be treatment‑experienced or have documented resistance/intolerance. No sequential step‑therapy regimen or required trials are listed.
No step therapy requirements or sequence specified
There are no step‑therapy sequences or trials defined in the policy sections provided; the clinical criteria focus on treatment‑experienced status or documented resistance/intolerance rather than stepwise agent trials.
Background
Enfuvirtide (Fuzeon) is an antiretroviral indicated for use in combination with other agents in treatment‑experienced patients with ongoing HIV‑1 replication despite therapy. It is supplied for injection and is billed using HCPCS J1324 (injection, enfuvirtide, 1 mg). Common adverse events include very frequent injection‑site reactions; pneumonia was reported more frequently in trials versus controls. Use outside the approved treatment‑experienced population (including treatment‑naive patients and COVID‑19) is considered experimental/investigational.
Definitions
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.