Medical Specialty Medication Quantity Limits — Maximum Dosing Regimens
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all Aetna policy alerts
Know when Aetna releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
Lists medications with associated diagnoses and maximum dosing regimens for specialty medications relevant to immunology/rheumatology and related conditions; applies to Aetna medical specialty medication quantity limits.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria — Maximum Dosing Regimens
Actemra (Tocilizumab) — Initial/Maximum dosing
Covered when dosing does not exceed the listed maximum dosing regimens for the specified diagnosis:
Sourced from document entries for Actemra (Tocilizumab) (chunks 0–1)
Adcetris (Brentuximab vedotin) — Maximum dosing
Covered when dosing does not exceed the listed maximum dosing regimens for the specified diagnosis:
Sourced from Adcetris entries in document (chunks 1–2)
Alyglo (Immune Globulin IV) — Multiple indications and dosing limits
Covered when dosing matches the listed IVIG maximum regimens for the specific diagnosis and product:
Sourced from Alyglo and related IVIG product entries (chunks 3–12)
Alymsys (Bevacizumab-maly) — Maximum dosing
Covered when dosing does not exceed the listed maximum regimens for the diagnosis and route:
Sourced from Alymsys entries (chunks 12–16)
Aralast NP / Asceniv — Maximum dosing
Covered when dosing follows the listed maximum regimens for the specified diagnosis:
Sourced from Aralast NP entries (chunk 17)
Sourced from Asceniv entries (chunks 17–19)
Coverage by product and diagnosis (examples)
Covered when ALL of the following are met:
See product-specific entries for exact numeric limits
Entries include many specific diagnoses per product
Many regimens specify different induction/maintenance doses by age/weight
Covered when ALL of the following are met
Coverage is bounded by the listed maximum dosing regimens for each product and diagnosis; coverage for a request requires that dosing and frequency do not exceed the specified limits for the patient’s age/weight and diagnosis.
See product-specific entries for exact numeric limits
Entries include many specific diagnoses per product
Many regimens specify different dosing by age/weight
Quantity limits by medication and diagnosis (partial list)
Covered when dosing does not exceed the listed maximum dosing regimen for the specified diagnosis.
Sourced from Bivigam entry (chunk 54)
Sourced from Bivigam entries (chunk 55)
Sourced from Bivigam entries (chunk 55)
Sourced from Bivigam entry (chunk 55)
Sourced from Bivigam entry (chunk 55)
Sourced from Bivigam entry (chunk 55)
Sourced from Bivigam entry (chunk 55)
Sourced from Bivigam entry (chunk 55)
Sourced from Bivigam entry (chunk 55)
Sourced from Epysqli/Epysqli entries (chunk 78)
Sourced from denosumab entries (chunks 29,218–219)
Covered when dosing within listed maximums
Covered when dosing and frequency do not exceed the listed maximum dosing regimens for the specified diagnosis
Sourced from Cyramza entry (chunk 72)
Sourced from Darzalex entries (chunks 72–73)
Sourced from Daxxify/Dysport entries (chunk 73,75)
Sourced from Entyvio entries (chunk 78)
Sourced from Epysqli entries (chunk 78)
Sourced from Flebogamma, Flebogamma DIF entries (chunks 89,97)
Covered when dosing matches the specified product/indication maximum regimens
Covered when dosing matches the specified product/indication maximum regimens:
Sourced from Gammagard and related IVIG entries (chunks 97,101)
Selected indication-specific maximum regimens
Examples of indication-specific maximum regimens (not exhaustive):
Effective 1/1/2026 (chunk 104)
Effective 1/1/2026 (chunk 104)
Effective 1/1/2026 (chunk 97)
Effective 1/1/2026 (chunk 105)
Diagnosis-specific maximum dosing regimens (quantity limits)
Covered when dosing does not exceed the following maximum regimens for the specified diagnosis and product:
Sourced from multiple IVIG product chunks (108–127)
Covered indications with quantity limits
Covered when dosing does not exceed the specified maximum dosing regimen for the listed diagnosis:
Sourced from IVIG and related entries (chunks 126,145)
Selected dosing limits (Gamunex-C)
Maximum dosing regimens by medication and diagnosis (examples from excerpt):
Effective 1/1/2026 (chunk 144)
Effective 1/1/2026 (chunk 144)
Effective 1/1/2026 (chunk 144)
Selected dosing limits (other immunoglobulins)
Additional examples — immunoglobulins and other agents:
Sourced from Gamunex‑C entry (chunk 146)
Sourced from Hizentra/other SC IG entries (chunk 146)
Sourced from Hyqvia entry (chunk 146)
Selected biologic dosing limits
Examples — selected biologic dosing limits:
Sourced from trastuzumab entries (chunk 151)
Sourced from Imuldosa/Imuldosa IV entry (chunk 156)
Inflectra dosing limits
Infliximab biosimilar dosing examples and limits:
Sourced from Inflectra entries (chunks 160–161)
Sourced from Inflectra entries (chunks 160–161)
Product-specific maximum dosing regimens (partial)
Covered when dosing does not exceed the listed Maximum Dosing Regimen for the specified diagnosis and product.
Sourced from Inflectra entries (chunk 162)
Sourced from Inflectra entries (chunk 162)
Bevacizumab products (Jobevne, Mvasi) — oncology and ophthalmology
Covered when dosing is within the listed maximum regimens per indication.
Sourced from Jobevne/Mvasi entries (chunks 163,166,181)
Sourced from Mvasi entries (chunk 181)
Other oncology biologics (Denosumab, Kadcyla, Kanjinti)
Covered when dosing is within the listed maximum regimens per indication.
Sourced from Jubbonti entry (chunk 167)
Sourced from Kadcyla entry (chunk 167–168)
Sourced from Kanjinti entries (chunks 168–169)
Keytruda (Pembrolizumab) — broad oncology indications
Covered when dosing does not exceed the listed maximum regimens for the specific diagnosis and age group.
Sourced from Keytruda entries (chunks 170,175)
Sourced from Keytruda pediatric entries (chunk 176)
Ophthalmology biologics (Lucentis / Ranibizumab)
Covered when dosing is within the listed intravitreal regimens.
Sourced from Lucentis entries (chunks 180–181)
Lemtrada (Alemtuzumab)
Covered when dosing follows the listed course schedule for multiple sclerosis.
Sourced from Lemtrada entry (chunk 180)
Maximum dosing per diagnosis
Coverage is limited to the maximum dosing regimens specified for each medication and diagnosis.
Sourced from multiple product entries and policy framing (chunks 180,181,187,191)
Representative entries summarized from document (chunks 180,181,187,191)
Maximum dosing regimens (per medication and indication)
Coverage is framed as allowed up to the following maximum dosing regimens for each medication/diagnosis pair:
Sourced from Octagam/IVIG entries (chunks 198–200)
Sourced from Ogivri and biosimilar entries (chunks 200–202)
Sourced from Opdivo entries (chunk 206)
Sourced from Orencia entries (chunks 216–217)
Orencia (Abatacept) — diagnosis-specific dosing limits
Covered when dosing follows the listed maximum regimens for the specified diagnoses and age/weight bands.
Sourced from Orencia entry (chunk 216)
Sourced from Orencia entry (chunk 216)
Sourced from Orencia entry (chunk 216)
Sourced from Orencia entries (chunks 216–217)
Osenvelt (Denosumab-bmwo) / Ospomyv (Denosumab-dssb) — dosing by indication
Covered when dosing matches diagnosis‑specific maximum regimens.
Sourced from Osenvelt entries (chunks 218–219)
Sourced from Osenvelt entry (chunk 218)
Sourced from Ospomyv entry (chunk 219)
Otulfi (Ustekinumab-aauz) IV/SC — Crohn's, Ulcerative colitis, plaque psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, immune-related toxicity
Covered when dosing follows indicated route and weight bands or schedules.
Sourced from Otulfi/Pyzchiva/Pyzchiva IV entries (chunks 220–221,246)
Sourced from Otulfi SC entries (chunk 221)
Sourced from Otulfi SC entries (chunks 221–222)
Panzyga (Immune Globulin Intravenous) — multiple immunologic and transplant indications
Covered when dosing matches the listed indication‑specific intravenous dosing regimens (weight‑ and schedule‑based).
Sourced from Panzyga entries (chunks 223–225)
Sourced from Panzyga entries (chunks 225–226)
Sourced from Panzyga entry (chunk 224)
Sourced from Panzyga entry (chunk 227)
Sourced from Panzyga entry (chunk 229)
Sourced from Panzyga entries (chunks 228,233)
Pavblu (Aflibercept-ayyh) — ophthalmic indications
Covered when injected intravitreally per the listed initial and maintenance schedules for diabetic macular edema, diabetic retinopathy, and neovascular AMD.
Sourced from Pavblu entries (chunks 233–234)
Sourced from Pavblu entry (chunk 235)
Perjeta (Pertuzumab) — oncology indications
Covered when administered intravenously per the listed initial and maintenance dosing schedule for multiple tumor types.
Sourced from Perjeta entries (chunk 235)
Example single-medication coverage nodes
Covered when dosing does not exceed the following maximum regimens (per medication and indication):
Effective 1/1/2026 (chunk 235)
Sourced from Perjeta entry (chunk 235)
Privigen (IVIG) dosing by indication
Privigen dosing limits by diagnosis (representative examples):
Sourced from Privigen entries (chunks 236–245)
Prolastin-C and Prolia
Other immunoglobulin and specialty product limits (examples):
Sourced from Prolastin‑C entry (chunk 245)
Sourced from Prolia entry (chunk 245)
Pyzchiva dosing
Pyzchiva IV/SC dosing by indication and weight bands:
Sourced from Pyzchiva IV entries (chunk 246)
Sourced from Pyzchiva SC entries (chunks 247–248)
Infliximab (Remicade) and Renflexis dosing
Remicade and Renflexis dosing limits by indication:
Sourced from Remicade/Renflexis entries (chunks 249,253)
Sourced from Remicade/Renflexis entries (chunks 250,253)
Sourced from Remicade/Renflexis entries (chunks 250–254)
Sourced from Remicade/Renflexis entries (chunks 250–255)
Infliximab products (Remicade) dosing by diagnosis
Maximum dosing regimens for Remicade (Infliximab) by diagnosis:
Sourced from Remicade entry (chunk 252)
Sourced from Remicade entry (chunk 252)
Sourced from Remicade entry (chunk 252)
Infliximab biosimilar (Renflexis) dosing by diagnosis
Maximum dosing regimens for Renflexis (Infliximab‑abda) by diagnosis:
Sourced from Renflexis entry (chunk 253)
Sourced from Renflexis entry (chunk 253)
Sourced from Renflexis entries (chunks 254–256)
Sourced from Renflexis entries (chunks 254–255)
Riabni (rituximab-arrx) dosing by diagnosis
Maximum dosing regimens for Riabni (rituximab‑arrx) across hematologic, autoimmune, neurologic, and transplant‑related indications (Effective 1/1/2026 for many entries):
Sourced from Riabni entry (chunk 256)
Sourced from Riabni entries (chunks 257,262)
Sourced from Riabni entries (chunks 260–261)
Sourced from Riabni entries (chunks 260,262)
Sourced from Riabni entries (chunks 262–264)
Sourced from Riabni pediatric entries (chunk 263)
Rituxan (rituximab) dosing by diagnosis
Maximum dosing regimens for Rituxan (rituximab) across hematologic, autoimmune, neurologic, dermatologic, and transplant indications (many entries mirror Riabni dosing):
Sourced from Rituxan entries (chunk 266)
Sourced from Rituxan entries (chunks 266–269)
Sourced from Rituxan entries (chunks 269–270)
Sourced from Rituxan entries (chunk 271)
This section lists the payer’s coverage criteria framework: each medication/indication entry specifies a Maximum Dosing Regimen (route, dose, frequency and any age/weight bands). Coverage is available when the requested dose, frequency, route and duration are at or below the listed maximum for the stated diagnosis and patient age/weight. Providers must document the diagnosis and any weight/age used to calculate mg/kg doses and should reference the effective date when applicable.
Requests that exceed the stated maximum dosing regimen for the product/diagnosis (for example higher mg/kg, more frequent dosing, or an unlisted route) are not supported by the quantity limits and may be denied or require prior authorization and additional justification. Specific examples include weight- and age-stratified limits for tocilizumab (CRS dosing capped at no more than 4 total doses, per-dose maxima as listed) and infliximab products (maximum maintenance doses up to 10 mg/kg depending on indication).
For denosumab products the policy distinguishes indications and schedules. Osenvelt (Denosumab-bmwo): for giant cell tumor of bone, hypercalcemia of malignancy and many palliative bone metastases regimens are Subcutaneous 120 mg on days 1, 8, and 15 of month 1, then 120 mg every 4 weeks; for osteopenia/osteoporosis in systemic mastocytosis the regimen is 60 mg every 6 months. Ospomyv (Denosumab-dssb) dosing for osteoporosis and some oncology-related prevention indications is listed as 60 mg every 6 months. Coverage requires adherence to the indication-specific schedule shown.
When dosing for an indication exceeds the listed maximum regimen the request falls outside the quantity limits. For example, the Cytokine Release Syndrome entry for tocilizumab limits dosing to weight bands with per-dose maxima (e.g., no more than 4 total doses, given at least 8 hours apart and with per-dose mg caps). Similarly, infliximab-type products include explicit upper induction and maintenance caps (up to 10 mg/kg in some scenarios). Exceeding these numeric limits may require prior authorization and will be subject to denial risk.
Ustekinumab products (IV and SC) have indication- and weight-based regimens. Otulfi (Ustekinumab-aauz) IV induction single doses are weight-tiered (<56 kg = 260 mg; 56–<86 kg = 390 mg; ≥86 kg = 520 mg). Otulfi SC maintenance for Crohn’s disease and other indications uses adult SC schedules (e.g., 90 mg every 8 weeks, with option for every 4 weeks for incomplete response) and distinct initial/maintenance schemes for plaque psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis by age/weight band. Coverage requires matching the route and weight/age band specified for the indication.
Exceeding the listed maximum dosing regimens may affect authorization and payment. Infliximab entries (Remicade, Renflexis, Inflectra) specify induction and maintenance ceilings (for example initial 5 mg/kg on weeks 0, 2, 6 with maximum induction or maintenance up to 10 mg/kg depending on indication and response). Requests proposing higher per-dose mg/kg, more frequent maintenance intervals than listed, or unlisted induction schedules are inconsistent with these quantity limits and may be denied or require documented justification and prior authorization review.
IV immune globulin (IVIG) products are included with many diagnosis-specific maximum regimens. Examples across products include CIDP induction and maintenance (initial 2 g/kg divided over 2–5 days then maintenance 1 g/kg every 3 weeks), solid-organ transplant allosensitization regimens (up to 3 g/kg divided over 2–5 days, max 1 g/kg/day), and Stevens–Johnson syndrome/TEN regimens (up to 3 g/kg per course). Use at doses or frequencies above the listed IVIG maxima is not supported without additional justification and may be considered not medically necessary.
Coverage of IVIG products requires that dosing and frequency match the product- and diagnosis-specific entries. Privigen, Panzyga, Gamunex-C, Gammagard/Gammaked/Gammaplex and other IVIG brands each list maximum regimens per diagnosis (for example, Privigen and Panzyga commonly use 2 g/kg per treatment divided over 2–5 days for many autoimmune indications, with maintenance schedules noted where applicable). Requests that exceed those brand-specific limits may be denied or require prior authorization with supporting documentation.
Provider requests that exceed maximum dosing regimens—either total course amounts, per-dose mg/kg caps, or frequency limits—are at risk for denial or will require prior authorization review. The document frames coverage as conditional on adherence to the listed maximums for each medication/diagnosis pair; deviations should be justified in the clinical record and submitted with any authorization request.
When submitting authorization requests for IVIG or other specialty agents, include documentation of diagnosis, patient weight/age (for weight-based dosing), planned dose and frequency, and the product name and effective date referenced. Many IVIG indications require explicit induction versus maintenance dosing (for example, CIDP initial 2 g/kg divided over 2–5 days, then maintenance 1 g/kg every 3 weeks), so supporting notes in the medical record should align with the table entry.
For denosumab products, oncology and bone indications have different schedules and total exposure implications. For example, Osenvelt lists a loading schedule of 120 mg on days 1, 8, 15 then 120 mg every 4 weeks for giant cell tumor of bone and oncologic uses; Prolia/Ospomyv-style regimens for osteoporosis use 60 mg every 6 months. These differences affect supply requests and authorizations; verify the indication to select the correct maximum regimen.
Otulfi (ustekinumab IV/SC) dosing is indication- and route-specific; IV dosing uses single weight-tiered amounts (<56 kg = 260 mg; 56–<86 kg = 390 mg; ≥86 kg = 520 mg), while SC maintenance for adults commonly uses 90 mg every 8 weeks (with option to increase to every 4 weeks for incomplete response). Requests must match the route and weight band shown for the diagnosis to be covered under these quantity limits.
The policy provides numerous examples where coverage requires both a listed diagnosis and adherence to the maximum dosing regimen. For biologics such as tocilizumab and abatacept (Orencia), dosing differs by indication and age/weight band (for example Orencia IV for acute GVHD prophylaxis uses 10 mg/kg in ≥6 years up to a maximum of 1000 mg on specific transplant days). Prior authorization submissions should mirror the exact diagnosis-specific regimen listed.
Infliximab products and biosimilars carry explicit induction and maintenance caps that vary by indication and age group. Inflectra and Remicade entries show initial induction doses (commonly 5 mg/kg on weeks 0, 2, 6) with maximum induction or maintenance allowances up to 10 mg/kg and, for incomplete response, intervals that may shorten (e.g., every 4 weeks). Coverage and quantity limits are tied to these numeric ceilings.
IVIG entries emphasize both total course amounts and per-day maxima where applicable (for example some transplant or SJS/TEN entries allow up to 3 g/kg divided over 2–5 days with a per-day cap of 1 g/kg). These numeric constraints should be applied when adjudicating supply requests to determine if the request is within the stated maximum dosing regimen.
Brand-specific IVIG examples illustrate similar patterns across products: Gamunex‑C entries list regimens such as 400 mg/kg dosing schedules for pediatric indications and courses up to 3 g/kg for severe dermatologic toxicities. When multiple regimen options appear for a single diagnosis (product variants or pediatric vs adult dosing), the provider should apply the product-specific line that matches the requested product and patient characteristics.
For rituximab products (Riabni, Rituxan) the table lists many oncology and autoimmune schedules with explicit per-dose and frequency constraints (e.g., common regimens of 375 mg/m² weekly or 1000 mg dosing patterns for certain autoimmune indications). Use beyond the documented frequency or dose (for example more frequent weekly dosing than allowed) may not be supported by these quantity limits and would need justification for prior authorization.
The document does not explicitly label separate "Not Medically Necessary" statements for most entries; however, it consistently indicates that dosing above the listed maximum regimens is not supported. Therefore, use at doses, frequencies, or for diagnoses not listed in the product entries may be considered outside the quantity limits and would require additional review.
IVIG overuse or requests exceeding per-course maximums (e.g., total grams per treatment or per-day caps) are specifically highlighted by multiple product entries. Examples across Privigen/Panzyga/Gamunex‑C/Gammagard show common maxima such as 2 g/kg per treatment for many autoimmune indications and up to 3 g/kg courses for severe conditions; exceeding these will likely require prior authorization and clinical justification.
Where weight- or age-based dosing applies, providers must document the patient’s measured weight and age used to determine the mg/kg or weight-band dose (for example to compute tocilizumab or ustekinumab doses). Failure to provide weight/age supporting evidence can impede authorization when the regimen is weight-tiered.
Numerical exceedances have explicit implications: orders above per-dose mg caps (e.g., tocilizumab per-dose maxima of 800 mg for CRS weight tiers or giant cell arteritis caps) or above maintenance ceilings (such as infliximab maintenance > 10 mg/kg) are inconsistent with these limits and may be denied unless appropriately justified with clinical documentation.
IVIG use beyond the listed frequencies (for example retreat intervals shorter than those specified or higher cumulative monthly exposure) is identified as potential overuse and may trigger payer review. Examples in the table make clear the usual maintenance intervals (e.g., CIDP maintenance 1 g/kg every 3 weeks) and typical retreat intervals for other diagnoses.
Some product entries include explicit effective dates (many show Effective 1/1/2026); when present, authorization requests should reference the effective date line for the product/diagnosis to ensure the applicable maximum dosing regimen is applied.
For IV or single-dose weight-tiered biologic administrations (such as IV ustekinumab/Imuldosa or Pyzchiva IV), the policy lists discrete weight bands with single-dose amounts (for example <56 kg = 260 mg; 56–<86 kg = 390 mg; ≥86 kg = 520 mg). These single-dose weight bands govern coverage for IV induction dosing and must be applied exactly when adjudicating requests.
Otulfi/ustekinumab entries include both IV single-dose weight bands and SC maintenance schedules; coverage requires selecting the regimen that corresponds to the route and indication: IV weight-banded single-dose induction or SC schedules such as 90 mg every 8 weeks for maintenance (with 4‑week option for incomplete response).
Dosing exceedance implications are consistent across agent classes: if the requested regimen would result in cumulative exposure, per-dose mg, or frequency greater than the table’s maximum, the request is outside the specified quantity limits and may require prior authorization review or be denied. Examples include denosumab schedules (120 mg loading plus q4w maintenance versus 60 mg q6 months), infliximab upper mg/kg caps, and IVIG per-course maxima.
When multiple products treat similar diagnoses (e.g., several IVIG brands), coverage is tied to the product-specific line and its maximum dosing regimen. Providers should ensure the requested brand and regimen correspond to a listed entry — otherwise the request may be treated as beyond the quantity limits for that product and require justification.
Osenvelt and Ospomyv entries illustrate that the same active ingredient may have different dosing schedules by indication (e.g., oncologic/palliative loading vs osteoporosis maintenance). Confirm the indication when matching the request to the correct maximum dosing regimen.
Where weight-band tables are used (ustekinumab/pyzchiva entries), the policy requires weight to determine the single IV dose; for SC maintenance dosing providers should document the chosen interval (e.g., every 8 weeks vs every 4 weeks for incomplete response).
IVIG dosing limits repeatedly show both per-course totals and per-day caps; adjudicators should apply both constraints (for example a 3 g/kg course divided over 2–5 days with a max of 1 g/kg/day). Requests that would exceed either the total course or the per-day cap are outside the listed maximum dosing regimens.
Throughout the document, exceeding the documented maximum dosing regimens (dose, frequency, route, or age/weight band) is explicitly identified as a basis for denial or requirement for prior authorization review. Providers should align supply and authorization requests to the product- and diagnosis-specific entries to avoid denials.
Coding — Product and Billing References
| No codes listed |
| Actemra (Tocilizumab) | Actemra (Tocilizumab) |
| Adcetris (Brentuximab vedotin) | Adcetris (Brentuximab vedotin) |
| Alyglo (Immune Globulin Intravenous) | Alyglo (Immune Globulin Intravenous) |
| Alymsys (Bevacizumab-maly) | Alymsys (Bevacizumab-maly) |
| Aralast NP | Aralast NP |
| Asceniv | Asceniv |
| Bivigam | Bivigam |
| BKEMV (Eculizumab-aaeb) | BKEMV (Eculizumab-aaeb) |
| Botox (OnabotulinumtoxinA) | Botox (OnabotulinumtoxinA) |
| Byooviz (Ranibizumab-nuna) | Byooviz (Ranibizumab-nuna) |
| Gammagard S/D | Gammagard S/D (IVIG product) |
| Gammaked | Gammaked (IVIG product) |
| Gammaplex | Gammaplex (IVIG product) |
| Flebogamma DIF | Flebogamma DIF (IVIG product) |
| Bivigam | Bivigam (IVIG product) |
| Privigen | Privigen (IVIG product) |
| Bivigam | Bivigam Immune Globulin Intravenous (Human) |
| Flebogamma DIF | Flebogamma DIF Immune Globulin Intravenous (Human) |
| Gammaplex | Gammaplex Immune Globulin Intravenous (Human) |
| Gammagard S/D | Gammagard S/D Immune Globulin Intravenous (Human) |
| Gammaked | Gammaked Immune Globulin Intravenous (Human) |
| Privigen | Privigen Immune Globulin Intravenous (Human) |
| Infliximab-dyyb | Inflectra (Infliximab-dyyb) — dosing for Ulcerative Colitis and Uveitis |
| Bevacizumab-nwgd | Jobevne (Bevacizumab-nwgd) — multiple oncology and ophthalmology indications |
| Denosumab-bbdz | Jubbonti (Denosumab-bbdz) — breast cancer, osteoporosis, prostate cancer dosing |
| Ado-trastuzumab emtansine | Kadcyla — dosing for breast cancer and NSCLC |
| Trastuzumab-anns | Kanjinti (Trastuzumab-anns) — multiple oncology indications and dosing schedules |
| Pembrolizumab | Keytruda (Pembrolizumab) — multiple oncology indications and dosing schedules |
| Alemtuzumab | Lemtrada (Alemtuzumab) — multiple sclerosis dosing |
| Ranibizumab | Lucentis/Byooviz/Cimerli (Ranibizumab products) — ophthalmology indications |
| Bevacizumab-awwb | Mvasi (Bevacizumab-awwb) — parallels Jobevne dosing entries |
Provider Actions — Authorization, Documentation, and Denial Risk
Request prior authorization consistent with listed dosing limits
Prior authorization is implied by the presence of specified maximum dosing regimens for specialty medications; providers should request authorization consistent with the diagnosis‑specific dose limits shown.
Align requests with the listed diagnosis‑specific dosing
Ensure prior authorization requests align with the product‑and‑diagnosis dosing shown (route, dose, frequency and any age/weight bands) and reference the effective date where applicable.
Request PA for quantity/dose exceptions above limits
If requesting doses that exceed the tabled maximum dosing regimens, submit a prior authorization request for a quantity exception and justify why the higher dose is needed.
Quantity limits are listed; no PA procedure shown here
This document lists maximum dosing regimens for specialty medications but does not provide explicit prior‑authorization procedure or code instructions in the excerpt.
Obtain prior authorization for specialty medications when required
Prior authorization is implied for specialty medications when coverage is governed by these maximum dosing regimens; obtain authorization when required by payor rules or when dosing requires verification.
Seek prior authorization for IVIG with product, indication, and dosing
For IVIG products, prior authorization is implied and requests should specify the IVIG product, indication, and confirm the dosing matches the listed IVIG regimens.
Request PA consistent with table‑specified quantity limits
Prior authorization is required for requests that must adhere to the quantity limits in this document; submit approvals consistent with the listed route, dose, frequency, and age/weight bands.
Prior authorization required for medications in this table
Inclusion in the Medical Specialty Medication Quantity Limits table implies prior authorization is required for coverage consistent with the listed maximum dosing regimens.
Ensure PA matches the listed diagnosis‑specific dosing
Prior authorization requests must reflect the diagnosis‑specific maximum dosing regimen (dose, route, frequency, age/weight strata) as listed for the medication.
Include diagnosis and dosing limits in PA requests
Prior authorization is implied for specialty medication dosing; provide the diagnosis, indicated dosing schedule, and confirm the request does not exceed the listed maximum regimen.
Align requests with the maximum dosing regimens
Align prior authorization and supply requests with the maximum dosing regimens (route, dose, frequency, age/weight details) shown for the product and indication.
Obtain PA for specialty medication dosing per table
Prior authorization is implied for specialty medication dosing; request authorization consistent with the listed dose, route, frequency, and indication.
Provide diagnosis and dosing schedule for PA of specialty meds
When requesting specialty medications, include the diagnosis and dosing schedule consistent with the listed maximum regimen to support prior authorization.
Submit PA when dosing exceeds payer’s maximums
If dispensing or requesting doses above the payer's stated maximum dosing regimens per indication and route, submit a prior authorization for the dosing above limits.
Adhere to the listed induction and maintenance dosing regimens
Adhere to the listed maximum induction and maintenance dosing regimens (route, age/weight bands and schedule) when requesting coverage and prior authorization.
No step therapy specified in this excerpt
No step‑therapy or sequencing requirements are specified in the provided excerpt.
Step therapy not specified in this segment
The document does not specify step‑therapy rules or required prior agents for sequencing in this segment.
Step therapy not specified
No step therapy or agent‑sequencing requirements are specified in this document segment.
No step therapy requirements listed
No step therapy requirements are specified in the provided excerpt.
Step therapy not specified (none listed)
No step therapy requirements are specified in the provided segments.
Document diagnosis and dosing to support PA
Provider documentation should support that the diagnosis and dosing align with the product‑specific maximum dosing regimens listed (route, dose, frequency, age/weight bands and effective date where applicable).
Support requests with the listed diagnosis, dosing and effective date
Authorization or dispensing should reference the diagnosis‑specific maximum dosing regimen and effective date for the product when submitting requests.
Provide required dosing details (dose, frequency, age/weight)
Include diagnosis, route, age/weight strata, dosing regimen (dose and frequency), and effective date in the request as shown in the entries.
Document dose and schedule to match listed maximums
Document the exact dose and schedule to show that dosing and frequency match the listed maximum dosing regimens for the indicated diagnosis.
Document indication and planned dosing regimen
Prescribers should document the indication/diagnosis and the planned dosing regimen (dose, frequency, route, duration) consistent with the product‑specific maximum dosing regimens.
Ensure medical record supports diagnosis and dosing
The medical record must support the diagnosis and dosing consistent with the product‑specific maximum dosing regimens (e.g., diagnosis linked to the stated mg/kg or g/kg regimen).
Document patient age and indication for age‑limited dosing
When dosing is age‑specific (e.g., Kawasaki syndrome), document patient age and indication to support the dosing regimen.
Document patient weight and age for weight‑based dosing
When dosing is weight‑based, document patient weight and age to support the selected mg/kg or weight‑band dosing within the listed maximum regimen.
Include dose, route, frequency, and diagnosis in documentation
Include dose, route, frequency, and diagnosis in the prior authorization or prescription to demonstrate adherence to the listed Maximum Dosing Regimen for the specific product and indication.
Document diagnosis and exact dosing regimen in PA
Prescriptions or prior authorization requests should document the diagnosis and the dosing regimen (route, dose, frequency, age/weight basis) matching the listed maximum dosing for the medication.
Support PA with medication, diagnosis, and adherence to maximum regimen
Provide the medication, diagnosis, and evidence that the requested dosing adheres to the maximum dosing regimen (route, dose, frequency, duration) when seeking authorization.
Document weight/age when applicable to support dosing
Document the diagnosis and the patient’s weight/age when dosing is weight‑ or age‑based to support the selected maximum dosing regimen.
Supply patient weight and indication for weight‑band dosing
When dosing by weight band (e.g., mg/kg or weight tiers), supply the patient's weight and the indication to support dosing within the listed maximum regimen.
Document effective date when applicable
Document the effective date shown for entries (e.g., Effective 1/1/2026) when it is relevant to the request or authorization.
Claims exceeding listed maximums may be denied
Claims for doses that exceed the listed maximum dosing regimens for a specified diagnosis may be denied.
Requests above quantity limits are inconsistent with policy
Requests exceeding the listed maximum dosing regimens (quantity limits) for a given diagnosis and product would be inconsistent with the limits provided and may be denied.
Quantity‑limit exceedance may be denied without justification
Requests exceeding the listed maximum dosing regimens for the specified diagnosis, age/weight, route, or frequency may be denied; provide justification if exceeding limits is necessary.
Exceeding listed maximums may trigger denial or require justification
Requests that exceed the listed maximum dosing regimens (higher mg/kg, greater units, or more frequent dosing than specified) would trigger quantity‑limit denial or require justification.
Exceeding product‑specific maximums may prompt denial
Requests exceeding product‑specific maximum dosing regimens for the diagnosis/indication may be subject to denial or quantity‑limit enforcement.
Dose over limit may be denied
Requests exceeding the maximum dosing regimens listed for the diagnosis (e.g., doses above specified g/kg or frequency) may be denied.
Dose exceeding maximum may be denied
Requests exceeding the listed maximum dosing regimens for a medication/diagnosis may be denied.
Quantity limit exceedance may trigger denial or require justification
Prescriptions or requests exceeding the stated Maximum Dosing Regimen for the specified diagnosis and product may trigger denial or require justification.
Exceeding maximum dosing may trigger denial
Requests exceeding the listed maximum dosing regimens (dose, frequency, or route) for the specified diagnosis may trigger denial.
IV/other dosing beyond limits may be denied
Requests exceeding the listed maximum dosing regimens (e.g., IV dosing beyond stated grams/kg or frequency) may be inconsistent with the quantity limits and could trigger denial.
Prescriptions exceeding listed maximums may trigger quantity‑limit denials
Prescribed dosing that exceeds the listed maximum dosing regimens for a given diagnosis and route may trigger quantity‑limit denials.
Exceeding listed regimen may trigger denial or PA review
Requests exceeding the listed maximum dosing regimen (dose or frequency) for a medication/indication may trigger denial or require prior authorization review.
Dose exceedance risk — may result in denial
Requests exceeding the specified maximum dosing regimens (e.g., doses above listed maximum maintenance or induction doses) may trigger denial.
Background — Scope and Policy Context
Background: This policy segment enumerates specialty medications relevant to immunology, rheumatology, neurology, oncology, transplant, and ophthalmology and establishes maximum dosing regimens by product and diagnosis (often weight‑ or age‑based). Many entries indicate an effective date (commonly Effective 1/1/2026), and coverage is conditioned on adherence to the listed regimen.
Definitions and Key Terms
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.