Loading...

    Explore
    • Policy Monitoring
    • Live Policy Feed
    • Billing Codes
    • NPI Medicare & Medicaid
    • Healthcare Providers
    • Health Insurance Payers
    • States
    • Service Lines
    • Taxonomy Codes
    Lookup tools
    • Billing Code Lookup
    • CPT Modifier Lookup
    • Provider Taxonomy Code Lookup
    • Healthcare Provider & Facility Lookup
    • Health Insurance Payer Lookup
    • Payer Contact Directory

    Policy & Benchmark Tools

    • Prior Authorization Lookup
    • Coverage Criteria Lookup
    • Timely Filing Lookup
    • Billing Code Reimbursement Rates
    • Payer Comparison Dashboard
    • Facility Comparison Dashboard
    • All tools

    Company

    • About OpenPayer
    • Data Sources
    • Trek Health
    OpenPayerby Trek Health
    LinkedInYouTube

    © 2026 Trek Health. All rights reserved.

    OpenPayer is built and maintained by Trek Health.

    v1.0.28
    OpenPayerPolicy UpdatesPharmacy & Specialty DrugsSierra Health and Life denosumab Coverage Update |…
    Ask Trek AI about this page

    OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.

    Modifiedsierra health and lifePolicy 2026D0068S

    Denosumab (Prolia, biosimilars) medical benefit drug policy — non-oncology coverage criteria

    Customize your policy alerts

    Sign up for sierra health and life Policy 2026D0068S alerts

    Get alerted when Policy 2026D0068S changes without checking for updates manually.

    Monitor payer policy activity

    Receive email alerts as soon as relevant payer policies are published or updated.

    Defines medical necessity, preferred product rules, diagnosis-specific coverage criteria, and applicable billing codes for denosumab products for non-oncology indications for UnitedHealthcare Commercial members (Sierra Health and Life). Affects providers requesting authorization for denosumab formulations including branded and biosimilar products.

    Policy Summary
    Payersierra health and life
    PolicyDenosumab (Prolia, biosimilars) medical benefit drug policy — non-oncology coverage criteria
    Policy CodePolicy 2026D0068S
    Change TypePreferred product criteria revisedcoding updates
    Effective DateApr 1, 2026
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionObtain prior authorization and document prior trials of both Prolia and Stoboclo (or documented intolerance/contraindication) plus physician attestation when requesting a non-preferred denosumab.
    SourceLink
    POLICY UPDATE CHANGES

    Preferred product criteria changed to require prior trial of Prolia and Stoboclo (both) rather than Prolia or Stoboclo (either).

    Physician attestation requirement revised to compare expected superiority against Prolia and Stoboclo (both) rather than Prolia or Stoboclo (either).

    Intolerance/contraindication criterion revised to require history of intolerance, contraindication, or adverse event to Prolia and Stoboclo (both).

    HCPCS codes Q5158, Q5159, Q5161, and Q5162 were added; descriptions for Q5136 and Q5157 were revised.

    2Preferred products
    12 monthsMax authorization
    J0897, Q5136–Q5162Listed HCPCS
    ≤ -2.5DXA threshold
    Major ≥20% / Hip ≥3%FRAX thresholds
    +4HCPCS edits

    Coverage Criteria for Denosumab

    Preferred Product Criteria

    Treatment with Jubbonti or other non-preferred denosumab products is medically necessary when ONE of the following paired conditions is met:

    Preferred product exception paths

    • Path A: Trial and physician attestation: History of a trial of adequate dose and duration of Prolia and Stoboclo resulting in minimal clinical response; AND physician attests that the clinical response would be expected to be superior with Jubbonti or other non-preferred denosumab product compared with Prolia and Stoboclo.

      Prior trial must include BOTH preferred products (Prolia and Stoboclo).

    • Path B: Intolerance/contraindication and physician attestation: History of intolerance, contraindication, or adverse event to Prolia and Stoboclo; AND physician attests that the same intolerance/contraindication/adverse event would not be expected to occur with Jubbonti or other non-preferred denosumab product.

      Intolerance/contraindication must be documented for BOTH Prolia and Stoboclo.

    Policy Summary
    Payersierra health and life
    PolicyDenosumab (Prolia, biosimilars) medical benefit drug policy — non-oncology coverage criteria
    Policy CodePolicy 2026D0068S
    Change TypePreferred product criteria revisedcoding updates
    Effective DateApr 1, 2026
    Next Review DateN/A
    Key ActionObtain prior authorization and document prior trials of both Prolia and Stoboclo (or documented intolerance/contraindication) plus physician attestation when requesting a non-preferred denosumab.
    SourceLink
    On This Page
    Coverage Criteria for DenosumabApplicable Billing and Diagnosis CodesProvider Requirements and Authorization ActionsInitial Therapy Criteria and EvidenceReauthorization and Continuation of CareStep Therapy RequirementsQuantity and Dosing LimitsSite of Care and Medicare ConsiderationsPreferred Products and Biosimilar NotesBackgroundDefinitions and Key Terms
    ref

    Diagnosis-Specific Criteria

    Denosumab is covered when ALL of the following are met for the specified indication:

    Initial Therapy - Osteoporosis: Diagnosis of osteoporosis; AND patient is at high risk for fracture (e.g., history of osteoporotic fracture, multiple risk factors for fracture, or failed/intolerant to other available osteoporosis therapy); AND dosing is in accordance with FDA-approved labeling; AND authorization is for no more than 12 months.
    Reauthorization - Osteoporosis: Documentation of positive clinical response to therapy; AND dosing is in accordance with FDA-approved labeling; AND authorization is for no more than 12 months.
    Initial Therapy - Glucocorticoid-induced Osteoporosis: Diagnosis of glucocorticoid-induced osteoporosis; AND patient is at high risk for fracture (examples as above); AND dosing is in accordance with FDA-approved labeling; AND authorization is for no more than 12 months.
    Reauthorization - Glucocorticoid-induced Osteoporosis: Documentation of positive clinical response to therapy; AND dosing is in accordance with FDA-approved labeling; AND authorization is for no more than 12 months.

    Unproven/Not Supported Indications

    Denosumab is considered unproven (not supported by this policy) for the following indications:

    Unproven Indications: Combination therapy with intravenous bisphosphonates; Hyperparathyroidism; Immobilization hypercalcemia; Osteogenesis imperfecta; Osteopenia.

    These indications are listed as unproven in the policy.

    Medical necessity for denosumab

    Covered when documentation supports an osteoporosis diagnosis or related pathological fracture and clinical rationale for denosumab therapy

    Primary coverage criteria: Member has diagnosis of osteoporosis or pathological fracture (see listed ICD-10 codes) AND one of the following: DXA T-score ≤ -2.5 OR presence of fragility/pathological fracture OR FRAX 10-year probability meeting US thresholds (major osteoporotic fracture ≥20% or hip fracture ≥3%).DXA T-score ≤ -2.5; FRAX major ≥20% or hip ≥3%

    Clinical documentation (DXA, FRAX, or fracture history) required; denosumab mechanism (RANKL inhibition) supports use to reduce bone resorption.

    FDA-labeled Indications

    Covered when consistent with FDA indications and clinical trial-supported uses:

    FDA-indicated uses: Treatment of postmenopausal women with osteoporosis at high risk for fracture; increase bone mass in men with osteoporosis at high risk for fracture; treatment of glucocorticoid-induced osteoporosis in men and women at high risk for fracture; increase bone mass in men receiving androgen deprivation therapy for nonmetastatic prostate cancer; increase bone mass in women receiving adjuvant aromatase inhibitor therapy for breast cancer.

    Based on FDA prescribing information for Prolia, Jubbonti, and Stoboclo.

    Supporting Clinical Evidence

    Clinical evidence supporting efficacy:

    Key trial findings: Denosumab increased BMD versus alendronate and showed reduced risk of subsequent osteoporotic fractures in FREEDOM and its extension; trials in men demonstrated increases in BMD and acceptable safety over 12–24 months.60 mg Q6M

    See FREEDOM analyses and randomized phase 3 trials cited in the policy.

    For oncology indications, refer to the Medical Benefit Drug Policy titled Oncology Medication Clinical Coverage and the NCCN Drugs & Biologics Compendium. This denosumab policy addresses non-oncology uses only and does not define coverage criteria for oncology therapy; oncology-related requests should be evaluated under the referenced oncology policy and compendia.

    This policy segment does not list explicit broad exclusions beyond the stated scope; specific contraindications or exclusions referenced in product labeling are addressed by individual prescribing information and may be considered during medical review.

    Coverage for experimental, investigational, or other unproven treatments may be permitted only when the member-specific benefit plan or applicable state mandates require it. Review the member's certificate of coverage and any state-specific mandates to determine whether an otherwise unproven use may be authorized.

    Use of denosumab for indications listed as unproven in this policy — for example, combination therapy with intravenous bisphosphonates, hyperparathyroidism, immobilization hypercalcemia, osteogenesis imperfecta, and osteopenia — is not supported by this policy and will generally be considered not medically necessary unless the member's benefit or applicable mandate dictates otherwise.

    Absence of supporting diagnostic documentation (such as an applicable ICD-10 diagnosis from the M80.*, M81.*, Z78.*, or Z79.* groups) or absence of required clinical data (e.g., DXA T-score, FRAX probability, fragility fracture history) may result in the request being deemed not medically necessary due to insufficient documentation to support denosumab therapy.

    FDA approval is provided for informational context only. FDA approval alone is not a basis for coverage; authorization requires that the member also meet the policy's clinical criteria and documentation requirements to establish medical necessity.

    Applicable Billing and Diagnosis Codes

    Applicable HCPCS CodesHCPCS
    J0897Injection, denosumab, 1 mg. Brand Name = Prolia.
    Q5136Injection, denosumab-bbdz (jubbonti/wyost), biosimilar, 1 mg. Brand Name = Jubbonti.
    Q5157Injection, denosumab-bmwo (stoboclo/osenvelt), biosimilar, 1 mg. Brand Name = Stoboclo.
    Q5158Injection, denosumab-bnht (bomyntra/conexxence), biosimilar, 1 mg. Brand Name = Conexxence.
    Q5159Injection, denosumab-dssb (ospomyv/xbryk), biosimilar, 1 mg. Brand Name = Ospomyv.
    Q5161Injection, denosumab-kyqq (aukelso/bosaya), biosimilar, 1 mg. Brand Name = Bosaya.
    Q5162Injection, denosumab-nxxp (bildyos/bilprevda), biosimilar, 1 mg. Brand Name = Bildyos.
    Applicable ICD-10 CodesICD-10
    M80.*Multiple ICD-10 codes for age-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture (various sites and encounter types) as listed in the policy.
    Applicable ICD-10 Codes (selected examples from long list)ICD-10
    M80.051AAge-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, right femur, initial encounter for fracture
    M80.051DAge-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, right femur, subsequent encounter for fracture with routine healing
    M80.051GAge-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, right femur, subsequent encounter for fracture with delayed healing
    M80.051KAge-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, right femur, subsequent encounter for fracture with nonunion
    M80.051PAge-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, right femur, subsequent encounter for fracture with malunion
    M80.051SAge-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, right femur, sequela
    M80.052AAge-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, left femur, initial encounter for fracture
    M80.059AAge-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, unspecified femur, initial encounter for fracture
    M80.08XAAge-related osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, vertebra(e), initial encounter for fracture
    M80.811AOther osteoporosis with current pathological fracture, right shoulder, initial encounter for fracture
    1–10 of 17
    1/2
    Applicable HCPCS Codes (updated)HCPCS
    Q5136Revised description (per policy history)
    Q5157Revised description (per policy history)
    Q5158Added (per policy history)
    Q5159Added (per policy history)
    Q5161Added (per policy history)
    Q5162Added (per policy history)
    inv-17: DXA T-score — threshold value used in diagnostic criteria
    DXA T-score thresholdT-score ≤ -2.5 defines osteoporosis (WHO diagnostic threshold)
    DXA measurement sitesLumbar spine, femoral neck, total hip, or one-third radius used for T-score assessment
    Osteopenia range (context)T-score between -1.0 and -2.5 indicates osteopenia
    inv-18: FRAX 10-year probability — thresholds supporting clinical diagnosis
    FRAX major osteoporotic fracture thresholdFRAX 10-year probability ≥ 20% (major osteoporotic fracture)
    FRAX hip fracture thresholdFRAX 10-year probability ≥ 3% (hip fracture)
    FRAX purposeEstimates 10-year probability of hip and major osteoporotic fractures with or without femoral neck BMD
    inv-19: DXA T-score duplicate key value entry (policy defines ≤ -2.5)
    DXA T-score (duplicate)T-score ≤ -2.5 defines osteoporosis per WHO criteria
    Diagnostic confirmationT-score ≤ -2.5 must be interpreted after ruling out other causes of low BMD
    Anatomic sites referencedLumbar spine, femoral neck, total hip, or one-third radius
    inv-20: FRAX 10-year probability duplicate key value entry
    FRAX thresholds (duplicate)Major osteoporotic fracture ≥ 20% OR hip fracture ≥ 3% support clinical diagnosis of osteoporosis in the U.S.
    FRAX with/without BMDFRAX may be used with or without femoral neck BMD to estimate 10-year probabilities
    Clinical useElevated FRAX consistent with diagnostic criteria when combined with clinical judgment

    Provider Requirements and Authorization Actions

    Prior Authorization

    Prior Authorization Required

    Prior authorization required for non-preferred denosumab products (e.g., Jubbonti and other non-preferred denosumab). Requests for coverage must document trials of preferred products and meet the Diagnosis-Specific Criteria. Coverage for Prolia and Stoboclo is contingent on meeting the Diagnosis‑Specific Criteria; members already receiving a non-preferred product may be required to change to a preferred product unless they meet the exceptions below.

    • Prior authorization required when billing non-preferred denosumab for osteoporosis or related pathological fracture.
    • Authorization limited to a maximum of 12 months per approval period for initial and reauthorization requests.
    Denial Risk

    Non-preferred Product Denial Risk

    Requests for non-preferred denosumab that do not document required trials of Prolia and Stoboclo or the physician attestation described in Preferred Product Criteria are at high risk for denial.

    • Non-preferred denosumab coverage contingent on meeting Preferred Product Criteria; absent documentation, deny as not meeting medical necessity.
    • Members currently on non-preferred products must switch to Prolia or Stoboclo to continue coverage unless they meet exception criteria.
    Documentation Required

    Diagnosis Code Requirement

    A supported diagnosis corresponding to the policy’s listed ICD-10 codes must be submitted with the request. Use of denosumab without a matching covered diagnosis may result in denial.

    • Include the applicable diagnosis code(s) (e.g., osteoporosis or related pathological fracture codes) on the prior authorization and claim.
    • Requests without a listed, policy-supported diagnosis code may be returned or denied.
    Documentation Required

    DXA / FRAX Documentation

    Document bone mineral density (DXA) results and/or FRAX 10‑year fracture probability consistent with diagnostic thresholds when indicated. The policy follows WHO/FRAX thresholds for osteoporosis/high fracture risk.

    • Provide DXA T-score (lumbar spine, femoral neck, total hip, or one‑third radius). A T-score ≤ -2.5 supports a diagnosis of osteoporosis.
    • If DXA T-score is between -1.0 and -2.5, provide FRAX showing 10‑year probability ≥20% for major osteoporotic fracture or ≥3% for hip fracture, or documentation of prior fragility fracture.
    Documentation Required

    Required Plan‑level Documentation

    Coverage determinations must be made in the context of the member-specific benefit plan. When there is any conflict between this policy and the member’s plan or federal/state mandates, the member‑specific benefit plan or applicable mandate governs.

    • Verify member benefits and any applicable federal or state mandates before approving therapy.
    • For Medicare Advantage members, review Medicare Part B Step Therapy Programs and applicable LCD/LCA guidance.
    Step Therapy

    Preferred Product Step Requirement

    Coverage for non-preferred denosumab requires prior trial and inadequate response to BOTH Prolia and Stoboclo, or documentation of intolerance/contraindication to BOTH, plus the treating physician’s attestation that clinical response would be superior with the non‑preferred product.

    • Document prior trials of adequate dose and duration of Prolia and Stoboclo with minimal clinical response, OR document intolerance/contraindication to both.
    • Include physician attestation that the non-preferred denosumab is expected to provide superior clinical response compared with both Prolia and Stoboclo.

    Initial Therapy Criteria and Evidence

    Initial Therapy Criteria

    Initial therapy coverage conditions

    Initial Therapy - Osteoporosis: Diagnosis of osteoporosis; patient is at high risk for fracture (e.g., history of osteoporotic fracture, multiple risk factors, or failed/intolerant to other available osteoporosis therapy); dosing is in accordance with FDA-approved labeling; authorization up to 12 months.

    Denosumab refers to all denosumab products; dosing per labeling.

    Initial Therapy - Glucocorticoid-induced Osteoporosis: Diagnosis of glucocorticoid-induced osteoporosis; patient is at high risk for fracture; dosing is in accordance with FDA-approved labeling; authorization up to 12 months.

    Initial therapy

    Initiation criteria

    Initiation: Initiate denosumab when member meets diagnostic criteria for osteoporosis or has fragility fracture and clinical documentation (DXA, FRAX, or fracture history) is provided to justify therapy.DXA T-score ≤ -2.5; FRAX major ≥20% or hip ≥3%

    Denosumab mechanism (RANKL inhibition) supports use to prevent bone resorption.

    Initial Therapy Evidence

    Initial therapy evidence and dosing used in trials

    Typical trial dosing: Denosumab 60 mg subcutaneously every 6 months demonstrated significant BMD increases and favorable safety compared with comparators in trials of postmenopausal women and men with low BMD.60 mg Q6M

    Used across multiple cited randomized trials (Brown et al, Langdahl et al, Orwoll et al).

    Reauthorization and Continuation of Care

    Reauthorization / Continuation of Care

    Reauthorization requires documentation

    Reauthorization/Continuation: Documentation of positive clinical response to therapy; dosing is in accordance with FDA-approved labeling; authorization limited to no more than 12 months.

    Clinical documentation must be provided at reauthorization to demonstrate benefit.

    Continuation therapy

    Continuation supported when initial clinical benefit and ongoing indication persist.

    Continuation criteria: Ongoing treatment with denosumab or biosimilar may continue if member has prior approval and clinical response/stability; clinical documentation should demonstrate ongoing need (e.g., fragility fracture prevention, continued low BMD, or fracture history).

    Document prior authorization and evidence of response where required.

    Continuation Therapy Evidence

    Continuation/long-term therapy evidence

    Long-term benefit: FREEDOM and its Extension show continued fracture risk reduction over up to 10 years of denosumab therapy and decreased risk of subsequent fracture among those who fractured while on denosumab.

    Post-hoc analyses reported lower exposure-adjusted fracture incidence for denosumab compared with placebo.

    Step Therapy Requirements

    RequirementDescriptionCoverage Label
    Physician attestation of superiority
    Physician attests that, in their clinical opinion, the clinical response would be expected to be superior with the requested non-preferred denosumab (e.g., Jubbonti) than experienced with Prolia and Stoboclo.
    Coverage contingent on attestation
    RequirementDescriptionCoverage Label
    Physician attestation re: intolerance/contraindication
    Physician attests that the same intolerance, contraindication, or adverse event would not be expected to occur with the requested non-preferred denosumab (e.g., Jubbonti) compared to Prolia and Stoboclo.
    Coverage contingent on attestation
    Step-Therapy RequirementDescriptionCoverage Label
    Prior step-therapy specified
    No explicit prior step-therapy requirements are described in this segment of the policy (diagnosis-specific criteria and general authorization rules apply).
    Neutral
    Step-Therapy RequirementDescriptionCoverage Label
    Prior trial or intolerance to preferred denosumab products
    Approval of a non-preferred denosumab requires history of trial of adequate dose and duration of both Prolia and Stoboclo with minimal clinical response, or history of intolerance/contraindication/adverse event to both Prolia and Stoboclo, supported by physician attestation as specified in policy.
    Coverage contingent on prior trials/intolerance

    Quantity and Dosing Limits

    inv-51: Denosumab dosing — 60 mg (trial dosing used in Prolia studies)
    Trial dosing used in Prolia studiesDenosumab 60 mg subcutaneously every 6 months (Q6M)
    Route of administrationSubcutaneous injection
    Efficacy endpoint context60 mg Q6M produced significant BMD increases vs comparator in phase 3 trials

    Site of Care and Medicare Considerations

    Note

    Site of care not specified in this policy segment

    The policy segment does not specify a site‑of‑care restriction; site‑of‑care requirements are not specified here and should be confirmed elsewhere if needed.

    Note

    Medicare site‑of‑care and Part B considerations

    For Medicare members, outpatient injectable denosumab furnished 'incident to' a physician's service may be covered under Part B; check the member's benefit and applicable Medicare rules.

    • Medicare Advantage members should also be checked for Part B Step Therapy Program applicability.

    Preferred Products and Biosimilar Notes

    Billing Rule

    Prolia and Stoboclo are preferred products

    Prolia and Stoboclo are identified as the preferred denosumab products; coverage for these products is provided when diagnosis‑specific criteria are met.

    Billing Rule

    Jubbonti is typically non‑preferred/excluded

    Jubbonti is typically excluded and treated as non‑preferred; exceptions may be considered only if the Preferred Product Criteria are satisfied.

    Billing Rule

    Biosimilars recognized; same RANKL mechanism

    The policy recognizes denosumab biosimilars; they share the same mechanism and RANKL target as the reference product.

    Note

    Policy revised to require trials of both preferred products

    Policy revision (effective 04/01/2026) revised the Preferred Product Criteria to require prior trial of both Prolia and Stoboclo before approval of non‑preferred denosumab; Jubbonti is listed as non‑preferred.

    • Revision replaced prior 'or' language with 'and' for trials, attestation, and intolerance/contraindication requirements.
    Billing Rule

    Prior trial of both Prolia and Stoboclo required

    The revised criteria explicitly require a prior trial of both Prolia and Stoboclo before approval of a non‑preferred denosumab product.

    Background

    Denosumab and its biosimilars are RANKL inhibitors that reduce osteoclast formation and bone resorption, resulting in increased bone mass and strength. The products have FDA-labeled non-oncology indications including treatment of postmenopausal osteoporosis in women at high risk for fracture, increasing bone mass in men with osteoporosis at high risk for fracture, and treatment of glucocorticoid-induced osteoporosis in patients at high fracture risk. Medical review for coverage requires documentation of an osteoporosis diagnosis or related pathological fracture and demonstration of fracture risk consistent with diagnostic thresholds (for example, DXA T-score ≤ -2.5 or FRAX 10-year probability meeting US thresholds: major osteoporotic fracture ≥ 20% or hip fracture ≥ 3%), as described in the policy.

    Definitions and Key Terms

    inv-34: Denosumab — policy refers to all denosumab products (branded and biosimilars) collectively as 'denosumab'.
    Collective referenceAll denosumab products (branded and biosimilars) are referred to collectively as 'denosumab' within the policy
    Includes biosimilarsPolicy scope includes Prolia and denosumab biosimilars (e.g., Jubbonti, Stoboclo, others)
    Implication for documentationClinical and authorization criteria apply to any FDA‑approved denosumab product
    inv-35: T-score — definition and threshold for osteoporosis (≤ -2.5)
    Osteoporosis definition (T-score)T-score ≤ -2.5 (standard deviation below young adult reference) defines osteoporosis
    Measurement sitesDiagnosis applies when T-score ≤ -2.5 at lumbar spine, femoral neck, total hip, or one-third radius
    WHO sourceThresholds established by World Health Organization per policy background
    inv-36: FRAX — Fracture Risk Assessment Tool definition and US thresholds supporting diagnosis.
    FRAX definitionFRAX is the Fracture Risk Assessment Tool estimating 10-year probability of hip and major osteoporotic fractures
    US diagnostic thresholdsClinical diagnosis supported when FRAX 10-year probability ≥20% (major) or ≥3% (hip)
    Use with BMDFRAX may be used with or without femoral neck BMD to assist clinical decision-making
    inv-37: Denosumab mechanism — RANKL binding monoclonal antibodies.
    Mechanism of actionDenosumab and its biosimilars are monoclonal antibodies that bind RANKL, preventing RANK activation on osteoclasts and reducing bone resorption
    Biologic effectInhibition of RANKL/RANK interaction decreases osteoclast formation, function, and survival, increasing bone mass
    Clinical relevanceMechanism supports use to prevent bone resorption and reduce fracture risk in osteoporosis
    inv-38: T-score duplicate definition entry.
    T-score duplicate definitionT-score ≤ -2.5 defines osteoporosis (WHO criteria) — duplicate entry consistent with policy definitions
    Context for diagnosisT-score interpretation requires exclusion of other causes of low BMD
    Related rangesT-score between -1.0 and -2.5 indicates osteopenia
    inv-39: FRAX duplicate definition entry.
    FRAX duplicate definitionFRAX 10-year probability thresholds: major ≥20% or hip ≥3% — duplicate entry aligning with policy diagnostic thresholds
    Role in documentationFRAX results can be submitted as part of clinical documentation to support medical necessity
    Can be combined with BMDFRAX may incorporate femoral neck BMD but can be calculated without it
    inv-40: RANKL inhibitor — defines agents in class including biosimilars.
    RANKL inhibitor classRANKL inhibitors include denosumab and denosumab biosimilars (e.g., denosumab-bbdz, denosumab-bmwo)
    Class actionThese agents bind RANKL to inhibit osteoclast formation and function, reducing bone resorption
    Examples listedPolicy lists denosumab-bbdz (Jubbonti), denosumab-bmwo (Stoboclo) as members of the class