PPO Preferred Plan Formulary — Drugs Covered (Formulary — PPOB)
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for all EmblemHealth policy alerts
Know when EmblemHealth releases new policies or updates existing guidance.
Monitor payer policy activity
This document is the EmblemHealth PPO Preferred Plan drug formulary (list of covered drugs) as of Apr 1, 2026 and explains coverage tiers, limits, prior authorization, and how members/providers can use the formulary. It affects members and providers covered under the PPOB formulary.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria and Formulary Listings
General Coverage Principles
Coverage and utilization management apply as follows:
Members/providers should consult the Certificate of Coverage or Member Services (833-998-5430, TTY 711) for plan-specific coverage and copay details.
Formulary coverage (listing)
Covered products with administrative qualifiers
No clinical necessity decision trees are present in this extract; follow the listed Requirements/Limits for claims and prior authorization.
Formulary coverage with utilization controls
Coverage entries and constraints as listed in formulary lines (per product):
Providers must obtain PA when Requirements/Limits = PA and must observe the stated QL when submitting claims; exceeding QL may result in denial or require PA.
Coverage mapping by tier/flags
Coverage guidance as expressed by Drug Tier and Requirements/Limits entries in this fragment
Exact clinical PA criteria are not included in this excerpt — follow the Requirements/Limits field and full policy for authorization details.
A medicine appearing on this formulary is not an absolute guarantee of coverage for every member. Coverage depends on the member’s specific benefit plan and the plan’s Certificate of Coverage. The formulary may list utilization controls (for example, PA for prior authorization or QL for quantity limits) that must be satisfied before a claim will be paid. Members and providers should check benefit details and contact Member Services for plan‑specific copay and coverage rules.
This segment of the formulary excerpt does not contain additional explicit coverage criteria beyond the product listings, tiers, and Requirements/Limits shown on each line. Where no Requirements/Limits are listed, coverage is still subject to the member’s Certificate of Coverage and any plan‑level rules.
Some entries are designated OTC in the Requirements/Limits column, indicating over‑the‑counter availability and differing coverage handling. Examples in this extract include oral glucose products, many glucose test strips, and alcohol preps. OTC designation may mean no prescription is required and that coverage and quantity rules follow the OTC handling shown on the product line.
This fragment does not state clinical exclusions by diagnosis; instead, coverage is expressed via product flags and limits. Several items carry administrative designations such as LA (limited availability), SP (specialty), and QL (quantity limits) which may restrict how or where products are provided and require additional authorization or specialty pharmacy handling.
No explicit additional policy statements or expanded clinical rules are present in this segment beyond the line‑item Requirements/Limits (e.g., OTC, QL) and tier assignments shown on each formulary row.
This extract does not include statements labeling items as 'Not Medically Necessary.' Coverage determinations are indicated by tier and the Requirements/Limits flags on each product line.
Within the provided segments there are no explicit product lines or language declaring therapies or supplies as 'Not Medically Necessary.' The document uses tiering and administrative flags (PA, QL, OTC, SP, LA) to communicate coverage controls instead.
This fragment does not identify any items as explicitly Not Medically Necessary. Instead, preventive and commonly used items (for example, selected prenatal vitamins, smoking‑cessation aids, and aspirin products) are listed with Drug Tier assignments and, when applicable, OTC flags or other Requirements/Limits.
Code Lists, Formulary Entries and Quantity Flags
| APRETUDE | cabotegravir im extended release susp 600 mg/3ml |
| DESCOVY | emtricitabine-tenofovir alafenamide fumarate tab 200-25 mg |
| Truvada | emtricitabine-tenofovir disoproxil fumarate tab 200-300 mg |
| YEZTUGO | lenacapavir sodium tab 300 mg; subcutaneous soln 463.5 mg/1.5ml |
| ABRYSVO | rsv pre-fusion f a&b vac recomb for im soln 120 mcg/0.5ml |
| ACTHIB | haemophilus b polysaccharide conjugate vaccine for inj |
| COMIRNATY | covid-19 mrna vac tris-pfizer im susp pref syr (various strengths) |
| GARDASIL 9 | human papillomavirus (hpv) 9-valent recomb vac susp pref syr |
| PREVNAR 20 | pneumococcal 20-valent conjugate vaccine sus pref syr 0.5 ml |
| VACCIN | covid-19 mrna vaccine-moderna im susp pref syr 10 mcg/0.2ml |
| MRESVIA | rsv mrna pre-f vaccine im susp pref syr 50 mcg/0.5ml |
| NUVAXOVID | covid-19 subunit vacc-novavax im susp pref syr 5 mcg/0.5ml |
| PEDVAX HIB | haemophilus b polysaccharide conj vac im susp 7.5 mcg/0.5 ml |
| PENBRAYA | meningococcal acyw (tet conj)-mening b (rcmb) vacc for inj |
| PNEUMOVAX 23 | pneumococcal vaccine polyvalent soln pref syr 25 mcg/0.5ml |
| PREVNAR 20 | pneumococcal 20-valent conjugate vaccine sus pref syr 0.5 ml |
| SHINGRIX | zoster vac recombinant adjuvanted for im inj 50 mcg/0.5ml |
| ADACEL | tet tox-diph-acell pertuss ad inj 5-2-15.5 lf-lf-mcg/0.5ml |
| BOOSTRIX | tet-diph-acell pertuss ad pref syr 5-2.5-18.5 lf-mcg/0.5ml |
| ANNOVERA | segesterone ace-ethinyl estradiol va ring 0.15-0.013 mg/24hr |
| KYLEENA | levonorgestrel releasing iud 17.5 mcg/day (19.5 mg total) |
| MIRENA | levonorgestrel iud 20 mcg/day (initial) (52 mg total) |
| NEXPLANON | etonogestrel subdermal implant 68 mg |
| PARAGARD INTRAUTERINE COP | copper iud |
| FARXIGA | dapagliflozin propanediol tab 5 mg, 10 mg |
| GLIMEPIRIDE | glimepiride tab 1 mg, 2 mg, 4 mg |
| GLIPIZIDE | glipizide tab 2.5 mg (and ER formulations) |
| BAQSIMI | glucagon nasal powder 3 mg/dose |
| MOUNJARO | tirzepatide soln auto-injector (multiple strengths) |
| OZEMPIC | semaglutide soln pen-inj (multiple strengths) |
| JANUMET | sitagliptin phosphate-metformin hcl tab 50-500 mg, 50-1000 mg |
| JANUVIA | sitagliptin phosphate tab 25 mg, 50 mg, 100 mg; Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = . |
| JARDIANCE | empagliflozin tab 10 mg, 25 mg; Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL (30 tablets/30 days). |
| mifepristone (Korlym) | tab 300 mg; Drug Tier = 1; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (120 tablets/30 days), SP |
| MOUNJARO | tirzepatide soln auto-injector (various strengths); Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days depending on strength). |
| OZEMPIC | semaglutide soln pen-inj (various strengths); Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (1 pen/28 days or 3 pens/28 days depending on strength). |
| RYBELSUS | semaglutide tab (3 mg, 7 mg, 14 mg); Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (30 tablets/30 or 180 days depending on dose). |
| SOLIQUA 100/33 | insulin glargine-lixisenatide sol pen-inj; Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL (6 pens/30 days). |
| SYNJARDY / SYNJARDY XR | empagliflozin-metformin combinations; Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL (30-60 tablets/30 days varying by strength). |
| TRIJARDY XR | empagliflozin-linagliptin-metformin er; Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = QL (30-60 tablets/30 days). |
| TRULICITY | dulaglutide soln auto-injector (0.75,1.5,3,4.5 mg); Drug Tier = 2; Requirements/Limits = PA, QL (varies: 4 pens/28 days or 2 pens/28 days). |
| QL (204 strips/30 days) | Quantity limit for many glucose test strips as shown (e.g., CONTOUR, FREESTYLE, PRECISION XTRA) |
| QL (120 films/30 days) | Quantity limit for Suboxone film 2-0.5 mg |
| QL (60 tablets/30 days) | Quantity limit for buprenorphine hcl-naloxone 8-2 mg tablets |
| LA | Limited access designation (appears for BRIXADI, SUBLOCADE) |
| SP | Specialty designation (appears for SUBLOCADE, VIVITROL) |
| OTC | Over-the-counter requirement/limit flag |
| No codes listed |
| V-GO 20 | insulin infusion disposable pump kit 20 unit/24hr |
| V-GO 30 | insulin infusion disposable pump kit 30 unit/24hr |
| V-GO 40 | insulin infusion disposable pump kit 40 unit/24hr |
| VARISOFT INFUSION SET/23" | insulin infusion pump supplies - infusion set |
| VARISOFT INFUSION SET/32" | insulin infusion pump supplies - infusion set |
| VARISOFT INFUSION SET/43" | insulin infusion pump supplies - infusion set |
| WEBCOL ALCOHOL PREP LARGE | alcohol swabs |
| WEBCOL ALCOHOL PREP MEDIU | alcohol swabs |
| WIDE-SEAL SILICONE DIAPHR | diaphragm wide seal (various sizes) |
| ZEVRX STERILE ALCOHOL PRE | alcohol swabs |
| DEXCOM G7 15 DAY SENSOR | continuous glucose monitor sensor |
| DEXCOM G6 SENSOR | continuous glucose monitor sensor |
| DEXCOM G6 TRANSMITTER | CGM transmitter |
| DEXCOM G7 RECEIVER | CGM receiver |
| EXTENDED INFUSION SET 23" | extended infusion set |
| EXTENDED INFUSION SET 32" | extended infusion set |
| EXTENDED INFUSION SET 43" | extended infusion set |
| EXTENDED RESERVOIR 3.0 ML | infusion reservoir |
Prior Authorization, Documentation and Billing Requirements
Prior Authorization, Documentation and Billing Requirements
Prior Authorization Required. Certain drugs and supplies listed in this formulary require prior authorization (PA) before the plan will cover them. If prior authorization is not obtained, the claim may be denied.
- Examples of drugs requiring PA: mifepristone (PA, QL, SP), MOUNJARO (PA, QL), OZEMPIC (PA, QL), TRULICITY (PA indicated where listed), many GLP agents
- Specialty or limited-access products (flagged SP or LA) may have additional PA criteria (e.g., extended-release buprenorphine products such as BRIXADI are LA and SP)
- Prior authorization is required for specified insulin pumps and pump kits (e.g., ILET pump and starter kits, OMNIPOD intro kits, OMNIPOD 5 kits, TWIIST starter kit)
- V-GO disposable pump kits (V-GO 20/30/40) require PA and are subject to quantity limits (PA, QL — typically QL (30 systems/30 days) or as listed)
- PA applies to other specialty injectable or extended-release formulations as indicated on the formulary rows
Prior authorization / Quantity limit triggers
Prior authorization and Quantity Limits (QL). Requests that exceed published quantity limits or that lack required PA documentation may be denied. Follow the Requirements/Limits field on each formulary row when submitting claims or PA requests.
- Examples of QL enforcement: FARXIGA (QL 30 tablets/30 days), JANUMET/XR (QL 60 or 30 tablets/30 days), insulin pens/cartridges (various QL values), CGM supplies (e.g., test strips QL 204/30 days)
- Pump/kits QL examples: ILET pump (PA, QL 1 kits/720 days), OMNIPOD intro kits (PA, QL 1 kit/720 days), OMNIPOD pods (PA, QL 30 pods/30 days), V-GO kits (PA, QL 30 systems/30 days)
- GLP and tirzepatide agents show PA plus pen/pen-count QLs (MOUNJARO: PA, QL 4 pens/28 or 180 days; OZEMPIC: PA, QL 1–3 pens/28 days depending on strength)
Documentation expectations for PA/QL/LA/SP items
Documentation expectations for PA/QL/LA/SP items. When a formulary entry lists PA, QL, LA (Limited Access) or SP (Specialty), provide clinical justification and supporting documentation with the PA submission. Use the plan's PA forms and include relevant clinical notes, prior therapies tried, and dosing/quantity rationale.
- Include diagnosis, prior treatment history, and reason for the requested drug or device; for specialty drugs include monitoring plan and handling requirements
- For QL exceptions or requests exceeding the stated limit, provide rationale and supporting clinical information
- For LA/SP products, include documentation that the member requires the specialty formulation or product and that standard alternatives are inappropriate or contraindicated
Claims and PA documentation
Claims and PA documentation. Pharmacy claims must include accurate NDC and days' supply consistent with the formulary QL. When 'PA' is indicated on the formulary row, ensure PA fields are populated on the claim or a PA has been submitted and approved prior to dispensing.
- Populate PA fields on the claim when a formulary row indicates 'PA' to avoid adjudication failure
- Verify NDC, quantity, and days' supply match the approved PA; mismatches may result in denial or reversal
- For device/supply items billed under medical benefit, include HCPCS/CPT as appropriate and attach PA approval when filing claims
PA required for pumps/kits
Required documentation for PA for pumps and pump kits. Prior authorization submissions for insulin pumps and disposable pump kits must include clinical justification, history of insulin therapy, evidence of frequent glucose monitoring or hypoglycemia as applicable, and prior therapy attempts when requested.
- Specific pump/kits requiring PA: ILET insulin pump and starter kits (PA, QL), OMNIPOD DASH/OMNIPOD 5 kits and pods (PA, QL), OMNIPOD INTRO KIT, TWIIST starter kit (PA where listed)
- Supply frequency and device replacement intervals are governed by QL (e.g., 1 kit/720 days for many pumps; pods often QL 30 pods/30 days)
- Include physician order, pump training plan, and supplier details with PA submission
Special program requirements
Special program requirements and specialty/limited-access flags. Products flagged with 'SP' (Specialty) or 'LA' (Limited Access) may require enrollment in a specialty program, specialty pharmacy dispensing, or additional monitoring and documentation.
- BRIXADI buprenorphine extended-release products are flagged LA and SP and have special handling and dispensing requirements
- Some agents (e.g., certain injectable or extended-release formulations) may only be available through contracted specialty pharmacies
Prior authorization indicated; Quantity limit enforcement
Quantity limit enforcement and PA indicated. Dispensing beyond stated quantity limits or without required PA may result in denial. Review the Requirements/Limits column for each product and obtain PA when 'PA' is shown.
- Examples: test strips often limited to 204 strips/30 days; many insulins have pen/cartridge QLs; GLP agents and tirzepatide have pen-count QLs tied to strength
- V-GO kits and OMNIPOD kits explicitly list both PA and QL — ensure both approval and correct quantity to avoid denial
No explicit authorization or denial rule
No explicit authorization or denial rules in some formulary rows. Certain segments of the formulary simply list product names, tiers, or OTC status without an explicit PA, QL, ST, LA or SP indicator; these entries do not imply PA is required unless noted elsewhere.
- When a product row does not list PA, QL, LA or SP, standard coverage rules and the member's Certificate of Coverage apply
- If in doubt, verify coverage and authorization requirements by contacting Member Services or checking plan-specific documents
Step therapy not specified / Step therapy flags
Step therapy and step-therapy flags. While many formulary rows do not specify step therapy sequences, some device/sensor items are marked 'ST' indicating step therapy requirements; absent an ST flag, step therapy is not specified in that segment.
- Examples: Dexcom G6/G7 receivers, sensors and transmitters include ST flags along with QLs (e.g., QL limits for receivers/sensors/transmitters and ST designation)
- Most drug rows in the provided segments do not list step therapy sequences — follow the Requirements/Limits field and plan documents for any ST rules
Contact for assistance
How to get help. For plan-specific coverage, PA forms, or assistance with prior authorization submissions, contact EmblemHealth Member Services. The member's Certificate of Coverage remains the definitive source for benefit details.
- EmblemHealth Member Services: 833-998-5430 (TTY: 711) — 24/7 assistance
- Refer to the member portal (my.emblemhealth.com) and the Certificate of Coverage for plan-specific details and PA form access
Abbreviations and Definitions
Step Therapy Rules and Flags
| Step therapy summary |
|---|
| Step therapy (ST) may require trying specified first-line drugs before the plan will cover another drug for the same condition (member must trial preferred agent(s) first). |
| Step therapy summary |
|---|
| This segment does not provide explicit step therapy sequences; formulary lines shown include Prior Authorization (PA) and Quantity Limit (QL) flags but no ST rules are specified here. |
| Step therapy summary |
|---|
| Several GLP-1 receptor agonists and related agents are listed with Prior Authorization (PA) and Quantity Limits (e.g., MOUNJARO = PA, QL (4 pens/180 days or 4 pens/28 days depending on strength); OZEMPIC = PA, QL (1 pen/28 days or 3 pens/28 days)). An explicit step sequence is not provided in these lines. |
| Step therapy summary |
|---|
| No explicit step therapy steps are listed for specialty or long‑acting products in this fragment; entries show Requirements/Limits flags such as LA (Limited Availability), SP (Specialty), and QL (Quantity Limit) but do not define ST sequences. |
| Product | Requirements/Limits (ST indicated) |
|---|---|
| {"text":"DEXCOM G6 RECEIVER","status":""},{"text":"QL (1 receiver/365 days), ST","status":""} | |
| {"text":"DEXCOM G6 SENSOR","status":""},{"text":"QL (3 sensors/30 days), ST","status":""} | |
| {"text":"DEXCOM G6 TRANSMITTER","status":""},{"text":"QL (1 transmitter/90 days), ST","status":""} | |
| {"text":"DEXCOM G7 RECEIVER","status":""},{"text":"QL (1 receiver/365 days), ST","status":""} | |
| {"text":"DEXCOM G7 SENSOR","status":""},{"text":"QL (3 sensors/30 days), ST","status":""} | |
| {"text":"DEXCOM G7 15 DAY SENSOR","status":""},{"text":"QL (2 sensors/30 days), ST","status":""} |
Quantity Limits by Product
Site of Care and Specialty Handling
Background and Scope
Background: This document is the EmblemHealth PPO Preferred Plan formulary (list of covered drugs) effective 2026-04-01. The formulary lists both brand and generic drugs and assigns each a Drug Tier (for example, ACA for certain preventive drugs). The formulary may change over time as generics become available or products are added or removed. For plan‑specific coverage, copay, or benefit questions, refer to the member’s Certificate of Coverage or contact EmblemHealth Member Services at 833-998-5430 (TTY: 711).
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.