Hypertrophic Scars and Keloids
Customize your policy alerts
Sign up for Aetna Policy 0389 alerts
Get alerted when Policy 0389 changes without checking for updates manually.
Monitor payer policy activity
Defines Aetna's medical necessity and experimental/investigational determinations for interventions to treat hypertrophic scars and keloids, and lists associated CPT/HCPCS/ICD-10 codes; applies to Aetna members/providers.
No material clinical or coverage changes in this revision.
Coverage Criteria
Medical Necessity — Aetna considers the following interventions medically necessary:
Medical Necessity — Aetna considers the following interventions medically necessary:
Fractional Ablative Laser — Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Fractional Ablative Laser — Covered when ALL of the following are met:
Experimental and Investigational — Interventions considered experimental/investigational for hypertrophic scars or keloids
Experimental and Investigational — Aetna considers the following interventions experimental and investigational for hypertrophic scars or keloids because the effectiveness has not been established:
Evidence summaries by therapy — Evidence summaries and comparative outcomes from systematic reviews, meta‑analyses, RCTs, animal and in‑vitro studies
Evidence summaries by therapy — Evidence summaries and comparative outcomes from systematic reviews, meta‑analyses, RCTs, animal and in‑vitro studies:
Background evidence (no coverage criteria in this excerpt)
Background evidence (no coverage criteria in this excerpt) — key study findings and context:
Coding
| 15769 | Grafting of autologous soft tissue, other, harvested by direct excision (e.g., fat, dermis, fascia) |
| 15771 | Grafting of autologous fat harvested by liposuction technique to trunk, breasts, scalp, arms, and/or legs; 50 cc or less injectate |
| 99183 | Physician or other qualified health care professional attendance and supervision of hyperbaric oxygen therapy, per session |
| 11042-11047 | Debridement; subcutaneous tissue, muscle/fascia, bone (related CPT debridement codes) |
| J0702 | Injection, betamethasone acetate 3 mg and betamethasone sodium phosphate 3 mg |
| J3300 | Injection, triamcinolone acetonide, preservative free, 1 mg |
| J9190 | Fluorouracil, 500 mg |
| J9040 | Injection, bleomycin sulfate, 15 units |
| J0585 | Injection, onabotulinumtoxinA, 1 unit [Botox] (listed as not covered for indications in CPB) |
| A6025 | Gel sheet for dermal or epidermal application (e.g., silicone), each (listed as not covered) |
| L90.5 | Scar conditions and fibrosis of skin |
| L91.0 | Hypertrophic scar [keloid] |
| 17110 | Destruction (e.g., laser surgery, electrosurgery, cryosurgery, chemosurgery, surgical curettement), of benign lesions other than skin tags or cutaneous vascular proliferative lesions; up to 14 lesions [covered for keloid scar documented to be painful, ulcerated, pruritic causing a functional impairment (i.e. restricted movement)] |
| 17111 | Destruction of benign lesions; 15 or more lesions [keloid scars] |
| 11900 | Injection, intralesional; up to and including 7 lesions [corticosteroids] |
| 11901 | Injection, intralesional; more than 7 lesions [corticosteroids] |
| 0479T | Fractional ablative laser fenestration of burn and traumatic scars for functional improvement; first 100 cm2 or part thereof, or 1% of body surface area of infants and children |
| 0480T | Fractional ablative laser; each additional 100 cm2, or each additional 1% of body surface area of infants and children, or part thereof (List separately in addition to code for primary procedure) |
Provider Actions and Authorization
Prior Authorization for Fractional Ablative Laser
Prior authorization may be required for fractional ablative laser (CPT 0479T, 0480T) when used for burn, traumatic, or post‑surgical scars. Authorization is generally considered only when documentation shows significant functional impairment (for example, restricted movement) and prior trial and failure of conventional conservative therapies (e.g., hypoallergenic paper tape, silicone gel/sheeting, pressure garments) have been attempted and documented.
BTX‑A Prior Authorization Consideration
Botulinum toxin A (BTX‑A) injections have RCTs and meta‑analyses reporting improvements in scar width, VSS/VAS scores, and patient satisfaction; prior authorization may be considered on a case‑by‑case basis depending on plan benefits and submitted evidence.
- Evidence: multiple RCTs and meta‑analyses (e.g., Zhang 2016; Qiao 2021)
- Consider documenting scar location, prior treatments, and objective measures
Prior Authorization for AFL Procedures
Given evolving practice patterns and evidence that CO2‑AFL has been associated with reduced length of stay and anesthetic time in some series, prior authorization for ablative fractional laser (AFL) procedures may require additional clinical documentation supporting medical necessity and that conservative measures were tried.
- Document expected clinical benefit and prior conservative therapy
- Consider operative/anesthesia implications when determining authorization
Authorization Likely for Radiotherapy and HBOT
Authorization is likely for excision with adjuvant radiotherapy and for hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) when supported by clinical documentation consistent with the Clinical Policy Bulletin and plan benefits.
- Radiotherapy for chest keloids: recurrence data support use as adjuvant therapy
- HBOT: meta‑analysis suggests reduced recurrence after surgery/radiotherapy
Prior Authorization per Clinical Policy Bulletin
Coverage and prior authorization requirements are governed by this Clinical Policy Bulletin and the member's individual plan benefits. Providers should follow Aetna procedures for submitting prior authorization requests and supporting documentation.
- Follow Clinical Policy Bulletin procedures and individual plan benefits
- Prior authorization determinations depend on submitted documentation and plan terms
Prior Authorization Not Specified in This Section
This section does not specify universal prior authorization triggers for all listed interventions. Some therapies may be subject to prior authorization depending on plan benefits, coding, and whether interventions are considered experimental/ investigational for the indication.
- Not all interventions in this section have explicit prior authorization rules
- Check member's plan documents for applicability
Background Evidentiary Implications
The evidence base includes heterogeneous study designs, variable quality, and evolving literature; experimental or insufficient evidence for some therapies increases the risk of denial if clinical justification or high‑quality supporting data are not provided.
- Heterogeneity and low quality of some trials may affect authorization decisions
- Experimental/insufficient evidence treatments (see policy list) are at higher denial risk
Verapamil vs Triamcinolone Recurrence Risk
A randomized split‑scar RCT showed higher keloid recurrence with verapamil compared with intralesional triamcinolone (hazard ratio 8.44); verapamil was safe but less effective, and the trial was terminated early for inferiority. This impacts expectations for verapamil as an alternative to corticosteroids.
- Study: Danielsen et al (2016) — verapamil vs triamcinolone; higher recurrence with verapamil
- Implication: document rationale if verapamil is used instead of triamcinolone
P‑RF for Keloids Excluded in Reported Series
Patients with keloids were excluded from reported plasma radiofrequency (P‑RF) ablation series due to unsatisfactory results; P‑RF for keloids lacks supportive evidence and may be considered unsuitable or experimental for keloid treatment.
- P‑RF studies excluded keloid patients due to poor outcomes
- Treating providers should document rationale if using P‑RF in atypical cases
Experimental / Insufficient Evidence Risk
Therapies listed as experimental or investigational in this policy (e.g., adipose‑derived stem cell therapy, intralesional botulinum toxin for keloids, dermal substitutes, extracorporeal shock wave therapy) carry an increased risk of denial due to insufficient evidence; provide robust clinical justification and supporting literature if requesting coverage.
- Refer to policy's Experimental and Investigational list for non‑covered interventions
- Submit peer‑reviewed evidence if requesting exception
No Explicit Authorization or Denial Triggers
There are no explicit automatic authorization or denial triggers listed in these supplemental provider‑actions; decisions are determined by plan benefits, evidence quality, and the adequacy of submitted clinical documentation.
- Authorization decisions are individualized
- Lack of explicit triggers means documentation quality drives decisions
Suggested Clinical Documentation
Suggested clinical documentation to support prior authorization requests includes objective scar severity assessments (e.g., Vancouver Scar Scale, Manchester Scar Scale, POSAS, UNC4P), standardized pre‑ and post‑treatment photographs, description of functional impairment, dates and details of prior treatments, response to prior therapies, and proposed treatment plan (dose, frequency, and number of sessions).
- Include validated scar scores (VSS, POSAS, Manchester Scar Scale, UNC4P)
- Provide dated photos, prior treatment history, and objective measures of functional impairment
- For intralesional corticosteroids document concentration, intervals, and number of treatments
Combination, First‑Line, and Stepwise Approach / Conservative Therapies Prior to Advanced Interventions
A stepwise, combination and conservative approach is reflected in the evidence: intralesional corticosteroids (triamcinolone) are a preferred first‑line non‑surgical therapy; combination therapies (e.g., surgery plus intralesional steroid, cryosurgery plus steroid) are commonly used; and conservative measures (silicone sheeting, pressure therapy, hypoallergenic tape, onion extract) are often recommended prior to advanced interventions such as laser or surgery.
- Preferred first‑line: intralesional triamcinolone (10–40 mg/mL)
- Conservative therapies trial: silicone gel/sheeting and pressure therapy for 8–12 weeks where applicable
- Combination therapies are frequently used and supported by some studies
Provider Resources and Links
Providers may find additional resources and links on Aetna's site for policy details, glossary, mobile app, FAQs, and program provisions. Use these resources and the Clinical Policy Bulletin for guidance on benefits, submission procedures, and administrative questions.
- Aetna Clinical Policy Bulletin Notes and plan‑specific procedures
- Glossary: https://www.aetna.com/glossary.html
- Aetna Mobile App: https://www.aetna.com/individuals-families/using-your-aetna-benefits/aetna-mobile.html
- FAQs and Program Provisions available on Aetna website
Background
Background and pathophysiologic context note that keloids and hypertrophic scars result from dermal tissue proliferation after skin injury and that laser therapies, pressure therapy, intralesional agents, and surgical approaches have varying levels of evidence; the policy’s evidence summaries and cited studies provide clinical context but do not replace individual plan coverage rules.
Keloids and hypertrophic scars are described as abnormal dermal proliferations arising after skin injury; epidemiologic estimates in background sections indicate these lesions occur in a minority of wounds, and common first‑line or adjunctive therapies include silicone gel sheeting and intralesional corticosteroids, while many novel or device‑based interventions remain investigational.
Definitions
Revision History
Policy became effective.
Policy last reviewed.
Next scheduled policy review date per Clinical Policy Bulletin governance.
OpenPayer is powered by Trek Health's payer performance platform. Trek continuously ingests, validates, and normalizes Transparency in Coverage data alongside payer policies and other commercial payer data to create a structured payer intelligence foundation. OpenPayer uses this foundation to deliver personalized search results, dynamically generated policy pages, and tailored policy monitoring based on each user's payers, specialties, billing codes, and areas of interest. The same intelligence powers broader payer performance workflows, including reimbursement benchmarking, contract evaluation, payer negotiations, and financial decision-making.